Reading Reviews for The Great Game
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by fairytaled The Knowledge

15th April 2012:
THIS STORY, ohmygosh. This story is too amazing. I love LOVE Albus, your characterization is awesome.

A mafia group? HOW EXCITING.

I'm sorry, this review is a bad mix of squealing and caps-locks, but the writing is so good that it literally excites me. I promise to leave a more coherent review, for the next chapter.

Amazing!
-Nell :) xx

Author's Response: Hii,
Wow, thank you! Caps-lock and squealing goes down well in my book :3 Hopefully I'll get another chapter up soon but school and exams will, I'm sure, be the death of me.

Tasha


 Report Review

Review #2, by megpeg101 The Knowledge

5th March 2012:
I LOVE THIS STORY!
I can't believe I haven't seen it before (or maybe I have and just haven't clicked on it). I love Al's character, its so different to how he's usually portrayed in next gen fics. The way you write flows so well and I feel like its written how Al speaks, if that makes sense.
The story's very intriguing and I love the concept of it, with all of the gangs, the heists and the security. Anyways, I can't wait to see where this story goes and I'm really impressed with the way it is written.

Author's Response: hello,
thank you so much! hopefully updates will be more frequent than they have been xD

- Tasha


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cirque Du Freak The Intrusion

24th February 2012:
SO MUCH HAPPENS IN THIS CHAPTER. OH MY BRAIN. ITS SO EXCITING (':

Hahah, i actually love this so much - the clothes, the 'restocking' the everything. Having to go to lunch (because how can you have a next gen story without a big family lunch?!) and then BAM!
Obviously you can tell I've just read this again and have no coherent thoughts whatsoever.

There's just so much information you've given us and its brilliant! Alexei being one of the people Albus had gotten one over spectacularly (hence tying up Max's threats) and now we know of a greater sort of power that deals with a certain type of magic, but isn't a wand which is how Albus works around the no-wands issue, which must mean that it works in the DM so that some sort of magical aspect, but not pertaining to a wand goes down there.
Adgsdjhsfjahefr.

Now we also know there's also all sorts of exciting other experiments going on and secrets and just argh yes!

I just love this chapter so much and I'm sorry for the lack of comments, but I'm just useless when chapters get me this excited xD

BRILLIANT X

Author's Response: AHH I LOVE YOUR REVIEWS AS MUCH AS YOU LOVE THE CHAPTER ^^ I know, a little too much happens here so I'm going to try and slow the pace down :/

I basically took the Russian mob stereotype and made it funny for Alexei, simply because I love how over the top Russian mobsters can be (:

Much more to come soon!
-Tasha


 Report Review

Review #4, by Cirque Du Freak The Visit

24th February 2012:
Yay! I like this chapter in particular, because we get to see a lot more about the DM - I find it really interesting that you've sectioned it off to be the only department to not have any magic occurring whatsoever! Obviously you'd have to do so because of the Muggle stuff, but it also still begs the question, what exactly goes down there?

I also like how Albus' office is a replica of 221A The Quay and how there's a little bit more of a description, because it lets us in a bit more to his 'personal' life and how really he lives for the thrill of getting away with things that no one else does. He's very standoff-ish in a way, i think, but since when isn't that a charming thing to read about? :P

I really like this sort of 'introduction' of Tarquin, because even though he's an arrogant, idiotic bloke he just doesn't have a clue about anything and I feel a bit sorry for him because he really doesn't have a mind of his own at all. I can't wait to see another chat between Albus & Jemima - seeing as she was the brains behind this poor inquisition.
I wonder how much of a role they'll play in the big scheme of the plot. :P

Fab chapter again!
X

Author's Response: Ahh your reviews make me happy :3 The department has a very important role in this so I'm going to drip-feed little clues about it along the way.
I'm really enjoying exploring Albus so expect lots more characterisation and as for Tarquin... I try to dislike him but it's hard to. He's such a pathetic and ridiculous figure!
-Tasha


 Report Review

Review #5, by Cirque Du Freak The Warning

23rd February 2012:
AND SO THERE IS A PLOT.
I love this chapter because you get to see the introductions of the family and you're not shy to include speech from major canon characters and thats fab that you have the confidence to do that because it shows that it works! I love the reaction from Rose (who is by default always Al's best friend) and Harry - them banding together like that was really effective, i think.

I adore Lyra and Nick and all the brilliant Muggle technology! I love the fact that there are clocks in the room and that they've had their own hideout.

The fact that they had just been prepped with new phones with all their oh-so very important information on them just before Nott comes in has that extra sort of thriller appeal to it and its worked out brilliantly.

I love that you've established an enemy and that this is sort of in the middle of a story where the reader has to work out exactly how everything came about and pick up the clues as to why they are enemies (or, perhaps, nemesis could be the better word?)

I honestly can't wait to see what else Max has up his sleeves and the fact that there may or may not be scheming that we can be apart of by Albus and the rest.

Dhvdudgjddenhffjr - is my current state in mind whenever i read this. (':

Rather fabulous chapter. ;D
X

Author's Response: asjdjkdl your reviews are always so lovely :3
I loved writing this chapter purely because I got to say some of Albus' lines out loud and imagine myself yelling at Percy, which would probably be my default reaction upon meeting him :*

I was a little nervous about introducing such blatantly Muggle technology but I'm glad that it's going down well. And as for Max and Al being nemeses... the problem with being popular is that you're always going to have a lot of people that dislike you...

- Tasha


 Report Review

Review #6, by LeCygneNoir The Intrusion

23rd February 2012:
Excellent story, I of course can't judge for grammar and format, but you definitely have got style, and you really master dialog. It makes it really pleasant to read, and fun to follow.
I also love your interpretation of the next-gen characters, it's unexpected to say the least. And the particular atmosphere it gives to your world.

I'd argue that it's a bit fast-paced for my liking. Descriptions, or even narrations are good, but too rare. It seems to be fully intentional, it gives it a sort of urgency, a "shoulder cam" rythm if you like -definitely cinematographic.
But I still think you could take the time to install an ambiance, through details maybe. Maybe you've seen "Once Upon a Time in America", well, the endless coffee stirring scene would be awesome in your story.

Anyway, I'll follow the Game.

Author's Response: Helloo xD Thank you, and I'm glad that it's unexpected- it's much more fun to write if people can't predict the events.

Timing is an issue, I guess, and it will slow down. I wanted to establish basics at first and, as you said, inject some urgency, but it will slow down and give you time to breathe xD

-Tasha


 Report Review

Review #7, by Cirque Du Freak The Beginning

22nd February 2012:
So although I haven't reviewed as of yet I have currently read all 4 chapters of this (since yesterday and always eagerly wait to see this in the 'Recently Added Stories' list), but it is high time that I have reviewed and tell you how absolutely fabulous it is!

I adore this completely and its become one of my favourites on the site! I don't really like stories that include Albus, because he's always made out to be the smart, responsible replica of Harry and it bores me. In this you've proved the exact opposite and I love you for it! I adore that Albus, Albust Potter - son of the saviour of the wizarding world, etc. etc. - was taken to the Wizengamot in front of everyone for stealing a Muggle painting - why would the Potters' associate themselves with Muggles unless its a TV or computer? - and got away with it in a purely realistic manner!

I love that you made him Head of the Department of Mysteries, because you can show us so much more insight into it because its actually interesting. I love that you made the point of the Head having a higher jurisdiction than the Minister, because its actually a plausible idea.

I love the characterization - of Teddy, Hugo, Harry, Rose, James...everyone! I especially adore that you came up with the unlikely pair of Albus and Hugo its absolutely brilliant.

You've done a fab job at keeping this the most different and exciting thing I've read with this particular genre and I can't say enough about it. Its got that Ocean's eleven/twelve/thirteen feel about in a beautifully british way.

I love the style of the writing, i love the characters and i love the plot.

Hats off to you for winning my intense love (a record) and keen interest after only this chapter.
X

Author's Response: Wow, what a lovely review :3 You're making me smile so widely! This was such a crazy and random bit of inspiration so it's great to see people are enjoying it.
Hugo has always been one of my favourite characters, along Al, so I really wanted them to play off each other.
Thanks again and hopefully, chapters will be frequent.

-Tasha


 Report Review

Review #8, by Snapdragons The Intrusion

21st February 2012:
I just read this all in one go - I couldn't quite bring myself to stop in between each chapter because I wanted to keep reading!

I seriously love what you have here. It's really original - and I love it. Albus, DoM head and criminal as well - it's refreshing to see a new side of him portrayed, and I think I can safely say it's a version of Albus that I've never read about before.

It's a little confusing, but not overly so, and it feels like it'll be explained in later chapters. Mystery is always fun! The fast pace makes it fun to read - action is also always fun. :P

Overall, I think this story is great, and I'm really looking forward to reading more of it. Awesome job! :)

Author's Response: Hiii- thank you for such a lovely review! It's so nice to see this rather odd plot going down well, especially with Albus being so atypical. Everything will be explained in due course, so thanks and keep reading xD

-Tasha


 Report Review

Review #9, by Cacoethes_scribendi The Visit

9th February 2012:
this is very interesting so far! and just my style.

keep up the good work and update soonnn!

Author's Response: Thanks, and will do xD

 Report Review

Review #10, by RosieQueen The Warning

7th February 2012:
Slightly confusing, but I like it.

Author's Response: Thank you xD

 Report Review

Review #11, by Onomatopoeia The Warning

3rd February 2012:
Hi Tasha, it's Marney :)
I love this, it's so different to what you would usually read on here and is written so well. The characters are so interesting to read about and are some of my favorites.

Wonderful, keep writing.

Author's Response: Marneyy love :3
Thank you so much! Glad you like it- still loving the banner!

Tasha


 Report Review

Review #12, by sugarydust The Warning

3rd February 2012:
Excellent story so far. I'm excited to read the rest. I love the premise and the characterisations of Al, and especially Hugo. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Hii,
Thank you! They're fast becoming my favourite characters, too xD
-Tasha


 Report Review

Review #13, by NextGenna14 The Warning

1st February 2012:
I really like this story! :)

Author's Response: Hii,
Thank you! It'll be updated soon, hopefully (:
-Tasha


 Report Review

Review #14, by Manga_girl The Beginning

1st February 2012:
Great first chapter xx

Author's Response: hii, thank you! xD
-Tasha


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login