Reading Reviews for Watering Petunias
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by soufflegirl99 Wither

25th June 2013:
This one shot is so awesome! I love the unique characterisation of Petunia - it's brilliant, and her thoughts, emotions and OCD is amazingly portrayed in such an inventive and original way.

I loved the bits that were in italics; her thoughts slipping through and the delivery of them in classic as well - you managed to slot them in just the right tone of the story. Sorry if that doesn't make sense!

The last line really punched me in the stomach (not literally...) and the way you wrote it...ah! It was just awesome, and the whole theme of gardening, and cleaning was maddeningly addictive and riveting. I've never seen Petunia as well written as this...you managed to perfectly capture such a complex character - combining her flaws, regrets and the real her we don't see much of in the book. I love the way you wrote her with a bit of a dry sense of humour, I always imagined her with that, and I thought it was really sweet how Vernon always kind of cared and looked out for her. That bit was really touching!

You describe OCD astonishingly well - I'm glad to say I've been lucky enough to never experience anything like it, but even little things like the way she dreams of the feeling of washing her hands is really shocking. Oh! That brings me to another thing; the relationship you write about between Lily and Petunia. I love the way how it isn't just Petunia winding Lily up, but Lily (who's often portrayed as this perfect figure) is just as mean and unkind back - especially with the whole cleaning thing in the last paragraph. Seriously, that was a low blow. The bits about how Lily mentions hogwarts makes me seriously empathise with Petunia, and I can kind of understand why Petunia hates magic now if all she can see of it is the bits Lily shows her.

Altogether a really memorable and fascinating one shot - aha, I can see why you found it horrible having the number 19!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Siriusly89 Wither

8th December 2012:
Hey! Siriusly89 here repaying you for your wonderful review :D

Oh. My. God. I seriously cannot see how you are not jumping up and down with pride for writing this! It. . . . . . . there are no words to describe this! Everything from Petunia's obsessive cleaning to the way that she hates but loves her sister so much its driving her crazy, and she's trying so hard to keep everything normal, but then she just lets everything fall apart! It is just. . . . . Wow, just wow! I love this so much! Seriously! And the reference to flowers, and the way she is still so spiteful, but your heart just goes out to her! I dislike her so much, but then I feel so sorry for her, its frightening! Just wow! 10/10!

 Report Review

Review #3, by hedwigs_theme Wither

2nd October 2012:
10/10!

Hi!

Before I begin with this review, I just want to apologize because this one-shot was so good that as hard as I try, I really can't find any faults, so this review will probably be just me raving!

This story is so unique, I haven't read anything quite like it before, ever! It has such an interesting plot (how on earth did you come up with something like that!) and fantastic metaphors, which I love.

I loved your characterisation of Petunia, it was perfect! I honestly don't know how you did it though because she is really difficult to write :0

Your quotes were beautiful, especially this one in particular:

The truth is the world is so full of dirt and grit that it is near impossible to avoid it. You can try. You can clean and you can scrub until your skin is red raw with the effort, but that will not change the fact that your parents are dead and your sister is dead and magic is real and you are still not a part of it. You can scrub until the whole world is sparkling, but there will still be mountains of crap that you cannot move.

And once it has all been cleaned, you find yourself looking for it again, just to wash it away once more.

Lastly, I can't believe you thought of Muriel for the Dursley's to live with of all people! It made it very interesting.

I hope you actually understood some of that what with all of my raving :D

~ht

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much Hedwigs theme! I'm so glad that you liked my little one shot enough to stop by and review (its something that I find every so every so important).

Plot... well, I was given 'Petunia' in the unquiet mind challenge and it just kicked my brain into gear and, well, this sort of thing is something I'm really interested in (not to get into too much detail, as it's very much a family/self centered interest) and well, yeah... then I just had to write and I'm really glad I did! :)

Muriel/Petunia friendship is just... I REALLY want to write about it at some point. But I reckon that they'd want to fob the Dursley's off on someone fowl and... there's Muriel ready with open arms(ish) ;)

Thanks for a lovely review!

-AC


 Report Review

Review #4, by Cirque Du Freak Wither

10th September 2012:
Okay so I have to say that the first couple of lines were just oh-so very pretty and that I haven't even read the next bit yet, but yes. Side-along reviewing is so /not/ me.

All these little parts are all so perfect and could be read by themselves and could still drip perfectness in themselves. They're just so small and simple and perfect. Its oh-so very pretty in the way that it makes me almost ache.

As a sidenote - its just so interesting that you made the Dursleys' live with Muriel out of all people.

the itch to clean is almost contagious - it makes me want to scrubscrubscrub until...until everything is sparkling and even then it wouldn't be enough. Not even the air is clean and it would be so unsatisfying for objects to just disappear the more you clean it. Its not what its there for - its there to be cleansed and sanitized over and over again and then maybe, one day, it would be clean enough. However, Petunia would never hold her breath.

This has taken me the longest time to read and although I was rather nervous when I saw the next bit was a flashback of Lily and Petunia together thinking that the ending would leave me unbalanced as this whole fic as indubitably I was gladly mistaken. It was such a perfect end, because its the exact way she is now apart from the grief of it all. The heavy weight of not ever knowing what to do.

You really know how to get under Petunia fingers in this one and whilst she'd be appalled at such a metaphor you should be proud. It left me ruffled beyond compare because it was flowery and yet so haunting at the same time. I think thats what really hit me about it. It was just so easy to read and to understand and the process one's mind goes through is so very strange and yet makes so much sense in the end.

This is one of those fics I just can't seem to shake off or stop reading every now and then. Its creates such a horrifying impact and such beautiful insight to what Petunia's world is.

Its positively traumatizing and positively my favourite one-shot of yours.

Author's Response: Reaalyy? I love side along reviewing personally, but then I have to use two laptops or else it just gets way to confusing for me because I have to scroll up and scroll down or open two tabs and that gets confusing but, well, my netbook is pretty small so you can't read it and it's like WHATS HAPPENING.

The Muriel thing? I could not RESIST. I really want to write a friendship NOVEL about Petunia nad Muriel because it's just so perfect. Plus, I figured the Dursleys had to be staying with someone magical and it was mention that Muriel's house was being used as a safe house, I believe? Except NO ONE would want to go to Muriels... so what better use than to stick the Dursleys - who they all hate anyway - with someone fowl? It's my head canon, for sure.

Ack, you know me and my love of writing about the slightly messed up. So yes, I love writing this and I'm so glad you liked it and EE I think it might be my favourite too.

-AC


 Report Review

Review #5, by missclaire17 Wither

10th September 2012:
this was so brilliant!
ieven though in the beginning of Lily's hogwarts career, it had been Petunia and Snape's fault why petunia ended up acting so horrible to lily, I can see why Petunia resents Lily in the last scene, when Lily was talking about fighting in the War. It would be so difficult to hear your BRILLIANT sister talk on and on about things that you dont understand and have her reference you to things you dont understand, meanwhile, your parents just keep looking on and dont do anything to intervene.

on the other hand, I like seeing Petunia's thoughts about Harry and the War and everything. It was always Vernon who was so evil while Petunia just sort of sat in the background, really only caring for Dudley. I liked seeing that Petunia really regretted not saying anything to Harry while she had the chance because I don't think Petunia is anywhere near as evil as Vernon is.

Of course if I was Lily, I would be angry at Petunia for letting Vernon be so horrible to Harry, but this inside look to Petunia, which I believe Lily would be able to see from wherever she is, really tells a lot about Petunia and her regrets.
Even if Petunia doesnt specifically say it, it's almost evident that she feels regret and wants to redo some things over.

I love this one-shot because I think you depicted Petunia beautifully, putting her in a more sympathetic view that makes the readers understand where she is coming from, yet you don't completely absolve Petunia from her previous faults.

This was amazing. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack Wither

28th August 2012:
Despite the agonizing (perhaps I'm being a little melodramatic) wait for a new chapter in TAOS, you cannot get rid of me. Sorry 'bout that. Therefore, as result of my boredom, I've decided to review almost all of your stories.

So here goes: Wow. Simply and totally wow. Could you, just once, stop being so awesome? My self-esteem is curling up in a ball right now.

But seriously, you mentioned things in the begining (like the imagining someone without a soul part) and then you tied them in at the end and I was just sitting at my computer with my mouth hanging open. Honestly.

Can I also just say perfect characterization? I mean seriously. It was Petunia and every sense of the name. All of her regrets and sorrows and habits and feelings and miseries. It was all there. You captured Petunia.

And then there were the little details about Dudley and Vernon and Muriel that totally captured the characters. And then how you showed us what life was like for the Dursleys during the war. Gosh.

Really, superb one-shot. Truly brilliant. And I agree, 19 is an annoying number.
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: AGONISING WAIT OVER! Maybe it's one of those things: the minute you commit yourself to reviewing almost all someone's stories as they haven't updated the NEW CHAPTER COMES OUT THE QUEUE. Well, either way - that's ready and waiting for you whenever! And also this was a lovely review and I'm realy glad you decided this was a great way to remind me to update ;)

I loved writing this. Petunia, ack, I actually really want to write like a Petunia/Muriel friendship novel - the only thing stopping me is a lack of plot (and time, but welll. what's another WIP amongst friends?) - but, well, maybe one day.

This is one my favourite things that I've written and I'm SO glad you liked it and this review made me feel squishy inside so thank you very very much :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #7, by Luna Dominique Potter Wither

14th August 2012:
I really liked the overall feel of this story. So . . . I don't know how to explain it, but really well done. :) I also liked Petunia's "cleaning thing"; that gave me chills but it was a wonderful twist for the story.

Author's Response: Awh, thank you so much! This is one of my one-shots that I'm most proud of. I really liked how it turned out and thank you so much for such a lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Elizajane Wither

28th June 2012:
I feel like you really understand JK's characters and can flesh them out in a very believable way. Well done. :)

Author's Response: Awh, thank you very much Elizajane! I really enjoyed writing this one :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by NaidatheRavenclaw Wither

26th March 2012:
Well now I see why this one the best characterization award! I should have come and read it before, I really should have, but I am here now :D

(I swear I'm going to have reviewed everything on your author's page by the end of the year if I keep going on like this :P)

Petunia in this, however, was impeccable (sp?). I don't think I've ever read a Petunia-centril fic during the Second War, so this was fresh and new. And I know your aversion to canons, though Petunia isn't one of the main characters, so that just makes this all the more amazing. She was really spot on for me. The repitition of cleaning was the best part of this. Coupled with the sections in italics, it made her character so much more than a mean old aunt. It was just wow.

And then the description. Your description is always flawless, of course, but this had some of my favorite lines. There are so many that I could point out but this one is one of my favorites: "You can scrub until the whole world is sparkling, but there will still be mountains of crap that you cannot move." That entire section was written so well, but I love this line in particular because it seemed to sum up the entire story, and in a way, life. You can try as hard as you like to make everything perfect, but all you're really doing is shoving stuff off to the side. There is so much that you can never get rid of. And that message was so clear throughout this story. I never thought I'd say this, but the cleaning imagery was some of my favorite of yours.

And the flower imagery was great as well, of course.

I loved the little addition at the end of them as kids. I especially like that Lily was not free from blame. She was attacking Petunia just as much as Petunia was attacking her, and they just felt like two sisters. A family with much bigger problems.

I feel like I end every review the same way (well, I do, I end it with my name, but the line before that is always pretty much the same so let's change it up a bit)

OH. I HAVEN'T USED AMAWEFANSUDIBLE YET.

So the end of my review this time is going to be:

Keep on being amawefansudible! ♥

-Naida

Author's Response: -review response number. four, is it?-

HEY. I feel like you're also getting a bit of a day in the life from me here, as I keep coming back to these at different points in the day. Now its post-school and I'm hungry again, just if you were curious ;)

AH. I'll stop sending you hugs on twitter but I'm overwhelmeed withh lovve (had a nice day, so am feeling sentimental). Shut up, Helen. Channel it all into fluff. Answer the damn review.

So. Characterisation. Petunia.

(i'm totally okay with you having reviewed everything on my page, I'd love to have someone who could say that - although that probably means I should have less stuff).

I actually had such a crystal clear version of how I wanted this to be and I still can't decide whether or not it met my expectations, but then I think it's not all that bad.

I really really liked that quote, actually :D

Bah, flawless description? I just go overboard and start throwing things at the screen being like METAPHOR take a SIMILIE COMPUTER b, thank you all the same. Life is a wonderfully imperfect thing. I mean, life is like England - crap, but I love lovelovelove it.

Damn sun, making all my thoughts sunny. How am I supposed to write angst now?

Ee, thank you so muchly. I've always thought that the Evans's must have been partially, not responsible, bu the way they acted must have really hurt Petunia. I'm facinated in the relationship between siblings, not least because my relationships with my siblings are... lacking at time, but that's what it's like to have sisters and brothers, right? It's a wonderful yet amazing thing. Anyway, yeah. I'mma stop now.

You're amawefansudible! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by DracoFerret11 Wither

14th March 2012:
Hey there! I saw this in the SOTM topic in the Ravenclaw common room on the forums. I'm DarkRose over there if you want to say hi. :D

I thought this was a terrifically-written story. I absolutely loved it. It was beautiful.

There was something compulsive about Petunia, but you made it so realistic that I couldn't complain at all. It really brought her to life and I could completely believe the characterization you were showing.

Description-wise, this was brilliant. I almost felt like I was there in Muriel's house with Petunia while she was falling apart. How tragic and beautiful...

The plot of this was really intriguing. I thought it was touching that Harry was an underlying regret for Petunia, even though it wasn't emphasized much. I always wished she would have said something to him when she left.

Terrific job with your style and voice. I really felt like it was something professional. I'm going to favorite this story when I'm done writing here. :]

So, great job! Keep up the good work and good luck with the SOTM!

--Emily

Author's Response: Hey Emily/DracoFerret11/DarkRose! Oh wow, it's great that you came over to read this from seeing that! I'm definately going to stalk you on the forums and say hi in a minute, but thank you so much for this lovely review!

I think Petunia being obsessive and compulsive has become part of my head canon now and I really did love writing this one shot and I'm amazed by the shiny reception it's gotten.

Ahh, your compliment are all so lovely and I'm really really glad you enjoyed this! Thank you very very very much! I'll be coming to find you on the forums... right about now ;)

AC


 Report Review

Review #11, by Snapdragons Wither

7th March 2012:
Helen. This is magnificent. I seriously think it's one of my favorite of all your one shots that I've ever read because it's so so so good and the style it's written and the imagery and Petunia and GUH.

A thick waxen surface and a delicate frill of a petal always, there were differences. One from seeds and the other from a bulb maybe their differences had always been encompassing. And then the bit about her thinking how just being flowers should have been enough - gah, I loved that. You took the idea of comparing the two based off of their names and did such a great job of it, really well done. One of my favorite images that stuck with me throughout the whole thing.

Then, she has the power; Petunia has the power to clean, to scrub, to make things normal. Nothing is impossible to clean, if you are dedicated enough to the cause. That too. EEK. I loved how you used this idea of Petunia being obsessed with cleaning because it worked as such a good metaphor on so many levels and made the inner English student geek in me squee.

There's definitely no way I can give this characterization of hers enough justice in this review other than to tell you how much I loved it. You really did make me feel sorry for her, understand her - and Lily and Petunia's relationship has always been one that I love to read about because it's so sad but interesting and bwuh. But I absolutely loved her here.

Also, grammar wise, you did a nice job. Nothing glaringly stood out, so yay! (look, see, I'm giving almost constructive feedback instead of total fangirling!)

Lily and Petunia were perfect. I loved the way you showed their arguments and back-and-forth, but at the end, had Petunia missing her, regretting all of it in a way while still being terrified of magic, the thing that had taken her sister away.

Also- "Can you imagine somebody without a soul? ...Well, Petunia didn't need much imagination for that. Just a healthy dose of self reflection." SO GOOD AHH. Honestly brilliant.

This is definitely some of your best work to date. I wouldn't have guessed you had any trouble writing it at all! It's gorgeous and I do love a story that does lots of character reflection. Always so interesting!

YOU'RE AWESOME.

Author's Response: HEY HANNAH.

So this is a really pretty review.

I mean, a /reaaaly/ pretty review. The sort I'd quite like to print off and stick on my wall, if I had a printer or if it wouldn't cause my parents to ask quite a lot of questions about things. Oh my days. I really want to get a notebook and print all my favourite reviews and put them in it. okay. I just need to find a notebookk and I'm golded. Yes. That's such a good idea.

Ahem.

AHHH. I do love this one-shot. Cause it was like 'unquiet mind' 'Petunia' and then I was like YES YES YES YES YES YES I HAVE SUCH A PLUNNY and although it was difficult to get said plunny into words I did eventually :D


Aha, all I can do is fangirl over this review though. Realistically, I can respond properly but for saying THANK YOU HANNAH YOU LOVELY-JUBLEY PERSON FOR BEING SO KIND and I'm really glad you enjoyed my Petunia :D

AC


 Report Review

Review #12, by HarrietHopkirk Wither

1st February 2012:
OH MY GOD ASDFGHJKL; THIS IS REALLY VERY PRETTY!

The opening is very, very beautiful - obviously Lily and Petunia are named after flowers, and you have used the metaphor so wonderfully. A thick waxen surface and a delicate frill of a petal always, there were differences. One from seeds and the other from a bulb maybe their differences had always been encompassing. (Please note that this review will probably just contain squees and flails and a lot of quoting :D)

The section about the roses was also really pretty as it shows Petunia's dislike for the extraordinary: her dislike of the 'sparkling' roses and the fairytale colours of the others - fairytales, magic, la de dah. I also love your use of present tense: it's my favourite tense to write and you do it so well! Gahhh...

Basically, this is awesome. The descriptions and the imagery and the emotions and the characters are all there and it's a wonderful pile of luscious writing. Really, you've done so well.

Congratzzz! 10/10

Author's Response: In my mind I'd like, totally gone way overboard with the whole Lily/Petunia lets-talk-about-flowers again, so I'm glad you thought it was artsy and pretty rather than just excessive. It's good to know :)

Eee! Thank you so much for this lovely squee-flail-y reviewy type things. Ah, thank you so much. This review, in itself, is very pretty.

Thanks :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #13, by icanspeaktosnakes Wither

31st January 2012:
I thought that the tense that you wrote this in was strange but apart from that it's fabulous Helen-wa :)
'Bet there worth a bit'< you know what to do ;)
I really liked the flower theme you kept referring back to also. x

Author's Response: You mean... the... the. present tense?

Ahha, you make me laugh Billie-Wa and yesssh I'll go back and CHANGE THAT FOR YOU.

-sigh-

See you tomorrow ;)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #14, by Rosethorne Wither

30th January 2012:
Hi there,

Its Rose m your requested review and I'm so glad you requested: D This is beautifully written! I loved how you portrayed Petunia in this, it was nice to see another side to her. I think your characterisation is perfect and I loved how you put the bit in about her cleaning :) I loved the parts with her and Lilly as well and her views on that. I think you really get inside her head with this. The descriptions are seriously good and I think you have the flow about right.

Amazing story, hope this is the sort of thing you where after :D

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you very much for stopping by here with my review Rosethorne :)

Awhh, thank you so much! I'd never thought about writing Petunia before this challenge and then it seemed too good to resist. I'm definately glad I've written this.

-AC


 Report Review

Review #15, by TheGoldenKneazle Wither

30th January 2012:
Hellooo there :)

I absolutely loved this. It was such a heart-wrenching look into Petunia that we never normally get to see; I think you have laid out all her desires and regrets so well for us to read.

I love how you wrote Petunia's obssession with cleanliness. It's mentioned only a very small bit in the books, but it seems so obvious the way you've written her. It is such a clever metaphor you are using, how she likes to be in control of her life and make it as normal as she can because everything else is awful.

It was so sad, how you showed her losing control and struggling to regain it as she regretted not making it up to Lily and Harry. Her relationship with both of them was so sad, and I love how we could see it so completely from Petunia's point of view. It does seem very unfair that she was always so hated for things that Lily had pushed her to do, and you wrote their comparisons so well.

The repetition of flowers was also brilliant; they haunted and taunted her, and you showed her torment and wish for control over them wonderfully.

This is just so beautiful, and I love how your last line was so haunting, bringing the theme back around. It was so heart-breaking, an absolute 10/10. Now I'm just going to go find tissues for the sobs :'(
~Lottie

Author's Response: Hey there Lottie! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving me such a lovely lovely lengthy review, I realy reallly enjoyed it and it made me very happy for quite some time :D

I feel like I can't take the credit of for the idea. Beeezie essentially handed it to me on a plate by giving me the challenge to talk about someone with an 'unquiet mind' and then giving me Petunia. Everything then just all slotted into place and it wasfunfunfun.

I'm glad people seemed to like the excessive mention of flowers, rather than be all like 'wuuhhhtt AC why are you talking so much about planntss' so THANK YOU VERY much THANK YOU THANK YOU. and I like you.

Lots.

-AC


 Report Review

Review #16, by CloakAuror9 Wither

30th January 2012:
Hello there!

I'm sorry is the review came late. Personal reasons, but don't you think a wedding in three months time is a bit soon? Ugh.

Any who, on with the review?

'They wouldn't put you in a house - they'd just put you with the house elves.' This line made my night! I laughed for such a long time because I found it that funny.

Terrific work! The way you wrote Petunia is just fantastic. I love it. I'm on awe right now. Your probably tired of hearing this but you truly are an amazing author.

Petunia is just...Petunia! You captured the Petunia Dursley I knew from the books and added a little bit more of character into her. I knew Petunia was a clean freak but this story just emphasized that idea. Its funny how such small detail in the series can turn into something bigger and better.

I really have no idea how you can be worried with the result. The descriptions were perfect. It was like each word was at their right places ad it made the story so real. The flow of the story is just magnificent. Your story is one of those story you don't need to stop and think about if you got the things right or if things seem awkward. I just read-on, only stopping to chuckle or laugh, and by the end of it...I was literally speechless. I stared at an empty grey box for Merlin knows how long before actually writing stuff in.

Ah. Such a flawless work. Your an amazing writer, no lies.

Ta-ta for now,
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: Three months for a wedding? Good luck, my friend, good luck. Although don't be ridiculous about the review being late! I'm awed by how quickly you move through your queue! I take about a week and that's when its a good week.

Tired of hearing I'm amazing author? Never. My arrogance needs feeding and thankyouthankyouthankyou. -squee moment to be insert here-

I knew exactly where I wanted to go with this and what I wanted to end up with, and in my head the result was going to be awesome. Then I had trouble with the execution so thank you for the reassurance and thank you for the lovely review and thank you thank you thank you for the lurrvvvellly review.

Thank you.

Yeah.

-AC


 Report Review

Review #17, by Miss Muggle Wither

29th January 2012:
Soulless. I can completely understand how Petunia feels. She seems so real.
I really like this one-shot. It is well-written and believable. I can perfectly picture this being Petunia.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! Ah, I love random reviews and I love this. I loved writing this one-shot, even though it nearly drove me to tearing my hair out (which would have almost been ironic, really).

Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Elenia Wither

28th January 2012:
Jeesh, I don't even know how to start my review! That was just simply mind-blowing, excellent, magnificent and every other adjective that equals with how brilliant writer you are! This story was just so profound!

It was hard to write? Well I couldn't see even the tiniest hint of that! Everything just fit! Each single word walked hand in hand with the previous one, making this a breath-taking story! I'm just awed! I think it took like a decade for me to read this since I had to stop after every sentence to think how perfectly you managed to describe yet another thing.

Petunia was amazing! She was so real and very, very true to her character. You did a marvellous job with her (and everything else too). I could really feel her every emotion and the drive, her despair to make everything like it was before. The maniacal cleaning was so her, something I always thought she did every single time something was stressing her. And with everything that had happened in her life, it had at some point turned into an obsession. I think you captured that flawlessly.

I loved the idea that the Dursley's were hiding in Muriel's place. Their insecurity about magic would make them more cooperative and stop them from making stupid decisions like going back to Private Drive where they might have gotten themselves only killed.

I wanted to read more, but I think this works just perfectly as a one-shot. Because there really isn't anything you might need to add to it. I know I'm not being helpful at all as I'm just praising but there really isn't anything you could have done differently in my opinion! I hope I at least managed to give you a boost to write more as beautiful stories as this one. Amazing job!

Author's Response: Ahhha! Thank you so much!

Sorry about the short delay in getting to answer this review. Review-responding is sort of a bit of an issue for me, but New Years resolutions dictates answering everything and.. I get behind.

ANYWAY, thank you so very much for this lovely review! I totally cracked up at the idea of Muriel with the Dursleys. Honestly, it made me want to write an entire Muriel/Petunia friendship fic... but no more WIPS! So I shoved everything into this chapter and hoped that it works.

Hence I'm really glad you've say there's nothing that needed adding. I'm prone to wanting to start longer stories, so that was very very helpful actually :)

Ahha, you're so lovely and this is such a beautiful review that I'm just going to lean forward and hug my screen to be close to it. Okay, thats a lie, but thank you very very very very much and just, yeah, cheers m'dear xD

-AC


 Report Review

Review #19, by Jen Wither

26th January 2012:
Truly brilliant.

The things we do to prevent ourselves going insane... especially when we don't realise that we are in fact already almost there. This was a wonderful depiction of how I have always imagined Petunia in my head... Her behaviour in many ways is symbolic of someone who is trying desperately hard to cope and you have captured that beautifully.

Well done (again!)

Author's Response: I may quote you on that, its just such a lovely line.

"The things we do to prevent ourselves going insane..." thats beautiful. Maybe you should be doing the writing?

I'm so gald you decided to check out this story! Its nice to see your name cropping up again, Jen :)

Thank you!

-AC


 Report Review

Review #20, by Beeezie Wither

26th January 2012:
Here to review for the challenge!

Well, you may have had trouble writing it, but you did an amazing job with it. Everyone was beautifully in character but expanded at the same time - you took some tendencies that Petunia clearly had in the books that I never really thought about in this light before and made them deeply disturbing and real. You did an amazing job of portraying her breakdown, and her past, and her emotions.

This was terrific. Definitely one of the best stories I've read on the archives.

Author's Response: One of the... one of the. thank you so much! Ahh! Thank you!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it and I loved writing for your challenge - it was just so, ah, good :)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #21, by LunarLuna Wither

24th January 2012:
The way you portrayed Petunia is precisely why I like this fic so much. Many people make her all sweet and sad and hiding her emotions. I never imagined her that way. Not heartless but... bitter, and a little desperate. You gave her that exact feel. I liked the cleaning anlogy, it wasa interesting and seemed to fit her story to the core.

I swear I had shivers down my spine at "Can you imagine somebody without a soul?" it's a simple phrase, what made it so powerful was... the placement? I don't know how to explain it...

The only critism I found was that Muriel had way too many people caring enough to go go check on her xD

Seriously tough, it was really a great One-Shot, you can sense the work and effort you put behind it. Good job!

-June

Author's Response: Hi there! I haven't forgotten about your review, I'd just gone to bed before I got your reply and wasn't sure if we're still on. I'll drop by and leave it for you tomorrow!

I loved writing Petunia so much for this, it was just sooo fun. I wanted to turn it into a longer story, but... I'm not allowed. Too many WIPS.

In my head Muriel more or less bullied people into visiting, but I guess that wasn't very clear. Ahha. I may edit another line in about that.

Thanks for the lovely review! :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #22, by ariellem Wither

24th January 2012:
Ok Genius, what are you going to write next?

I mean wow, just wow. Why did you not enter this in the Writer's Duel? You would won for sure! You were somehow able to keep everyone in character and yet you felt sympathy for them all.

I bow before you. :)

Author's Response: N'awwhhh.

-blushes-

Thank you so much! Well, this wasn't written untill after the writers duel closer, or else I might have submitted it. Hopefully my actual entry will do all right though :)

Thanks! :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by lizmusic45 Wither

24th January 2012:
This is stunning. I'm not just saying that, this was really, really beautiful! I loved this one-shot with all of my heart.

You kept the same Petunia, but you gave her a side, a side that seemed so her, but yet she wasn't evil she just wanted perfect. I honestly believe that her parents, without meaning to, put so much praise on Lily, that it her hurt.

You are truly, truly brilliant there isn't one thing wrong I can say about this one-shot, not one single thing. Amazing really just amazing.

I give this one-shot all my love,

Lizzie

Author's Response: Eeee! Thank you so so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

I actually had a lot of fun writing Petunia, when she actually decided to work with me instead of being so bloody resistant, and I'm really glad that you liked her!

Eee! :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #24, by xjamesandlilyx Wither

24th January 2012:
That's a really, really good way to portray Petunia. I think you got her down almost perfectly. It's almost exactly how I imagined her thinking. Thank you for writing this!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading this! Awh, I'm so glad you liked it! Eeee :) :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #25, by Manga_girl Wither

24th January 2012:
HELEN!!! I love this so much! Your description is amazing, you describe Petunia so well and it just works! And there is the bit I helped with in here! Yay! Love this so much,

Emma x

Author's Response: THANK YOU EMMA!
Also, I'm really embarassed now because I thought I'd put in my A/N that you'd helped me then I realised I hadn't and I was like OH NO SHES GOING TO THINK I'M A TERRIBLE PERSON.

So, I've edited you in. You should appear in a couple of days... :)

Thanks for being my first reviewer on this story! :)

-AC


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login