Reading Reviews for Perdition & Valhalla
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Faith100z Salt Skin

17th October 2012:
I found this really interesting. I never liked this ship and always dismissed it as completely unrealistic. But you wrote it in a way that seemed more plausible, the way Minerva fell in and then out of love with Tom.

Minerva's characterization was quite good, and I think you did a really good job preserving the personality we see in the books while still having her act younger. Good job!

- F

Author's Response: Thank you! This ship is truly amazing and if you're really looking for good Tom/Minerva look at Violet's stories - she writes amazing ones :D

Thank you!
Jasmine, x


 Report Review

Review #2, by thesinandthesinner Salt Skin

1st March 2012:
This was a very interesting take on an unusual relationship. I liked how you portrayed McGonagall here and there, but at some parts I thought she was a little OOC, rushing into marriage. I found your illustration of Tom Riddle very eloquent. Half of me thinks this was the perfect amount for this writing, but another half me would have liked to see it expanded into a short series. I enjoyed the ending, I love sad/tragic endings and this one did the one shot justice.

xoxoxo

Author's Response: I love Tom/Minerva!
Thank you. I've been told it's a little rushed and OOC, maybe I'll change that one day.
Thank you!
Jaz


 Report Review

Review #3, by Sachita Salt Skin

25th February 2012:
Great story with a very sad ending. Then again, those two are very tragic. You truly write them very well :) !

Author's Response: Thank you! I got most of my inspiration from a really sad Supernatural episode. They are a very tragic couple aren't they? but then again, aren't the best always tragic (ten/rose, amy/eleven, jack/rose, jack/ianto. THe list is endless haha)
Jaz


 Report Review

Review #4, by SilentConfession Salt Skin

5th February 2012:
Hi, i'm here for that review you requested. I have to say, i am sorry for the long wait, my life has gotten pretty hectic.

First off, i think this was an interesting take on this relationship. The whole idea of her coming into a courtroom to try and make people see the human side of Tom and i think you have some really great lines here. Especially the idea that the devil was an angel once and how we all know Lucifer became Satan. That was a really strong statement that i really loved.

Saying that, i really felt like there should have been more back story with them. To me, it seems almost impossible for Tom to really love anyone and he seemed to use people for whatever devices he needed. You definitely have hints of that here, with him wanting her to cover for him. But i also felt like their love, well, it needed to be explained more, there needed to be something to convince me that his whole thing with Minerva wasn't just a facade on his part and he was using her for some greater purpose. I liked the idea that maybe he knew some sort of love, but since JKR has made it such a big deal that the difference between him and Harry was Harry's ability to love really makes me need that something extra explanation there.

Some other things that I wondered about was why there was a big deal about her name and why she was in the courtroom to begin with? Maybe i just completely missed that but perhaps make that clearer for readers like me who get confused. I think that would have made the ending stand out more though, to know why she was in the courtroom telling them all these things. Would she have gone just to let them know that he wasn't always a devil?

The marriage itself seemed a little off to me and I felt like Minerva wouldn't be so ready to jump in after a 6 month separation from him, and especially after hearing what she did with Bellatrix. I think she would have been a bit more hesitant, especially if she was unsure of him.

I think you have some great parts in here, i liked his reaction to her refusal to buy into his little game, i liked that he then went on to show that he had power over her and killed her mum without any apparent remorse or feeling. I can see Minerva being very strong when she's explaining what happened between them and you portrayed that well as well.

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for taking your time to leave such a length-y review! Don't worry about the lateness, I know how hectic life can get.

Yeah I know several people have mentioned the back story but I didn't feel that it needed it because she was only showing the memories that she found "useful" so to say. Maybe if I ever go back to edit this I'll give them a backstory and a few more memories.

Yeah the name thing as well was confusing as well. I think I may have to make that clearer as well.

I think I may just go back and edit the story completely. I wasn't 100% with the finished result of this story but I posted it nonetheless; a fault on my behalf.

Thank you again for such a useful review! I'll defiantly be coming back and re-requesting :)
*huggles*
Jaz


 Report Review

Review #5, by Ashling586 Salt Skin

27th January 2012:
I like the idea behind this one shot, however I thought that it was a bit rushed. You could easily probably turn this into a short story of three or four chapters, expanding on the memories a bit to show more of the human side of Tom. At the same time I kinda of like it just the way it is. I felt that the flow was nice, even though it was a bit rushed as well. I love the devil was once an angel line, so true and very classic. I wish I knew why there was such a big deal about her name, that she was lying about her name, when her file never says anything about being married. You might want to try and make that a bit more clear.
Overall, good job.

Author's Response: Hi again!
A short story you say? Hm, I can see why you think that but I've never been for writing short stories (it's either a one-shot or a novella) but thanks :D I'll take that into consideration next time I write a story like this.

The 'deal' about her name was that legally she was Minerva McGonagall but she secretly married (eloped) to Tom (as it says in the story) and as such, she is supposed to be known as Mrs. Minerva Riddle, but then he died she became a widow (unbeknown to everyone else). Sorry if that wasn't made clear.

The reason I made this a one-shot instead and didn't expand in this story (which is what I normally did) is because this story is very biased, being told from Minerva's POV, and she only showed the memories she dubbed important.

Thanks for the review anyway, it was very insightful and helpful :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Elenia Salt Skin

26th January 2012:
Hi!

So many things I liked about this story!

Firstly Minerva/Tom, a 'ship that I simply adore. I think they could have been amazing together if only he wasn't so obsessed with his beliefs. I've always wanted to write a fic about them but never actually dared to stir that cauldron. Maybe one day! Until then I'll keep reading amazing stories like this one!

I liked the courtroom theme very much and the fact that she told firmly about what had happened. She didn't show embarrasment even though the court was certainly expecting that. Minerva was true to her character. It was nice to see her tender side, something you don't so often see. She is such a harsh lady, but there has to be something that has made her the way she is and this story is a very good example of what could have happened.

I would have liked to read more about their story, but I think this was just an appropriate amount to be told in a courtroom. They don't need to know every single detail, just get the bigger picture.

In my head Voldemort could never truly love anybody, not even when he was just Tom Riddle, but it was still nice to read about his softer side too. You did make it very beliavable anyways!

I liked the ending very much, I think it was the best part of the story. Even though she loved him there are just things you could never forgive, and he chose to take that path by killing her mother.

I think the quote fit perfectly in the end, it just tied everything together.

Very good work!

Author's Response: Hi!
Thanks for such a speedy review :D *hug*

Finally someone who loves Tom/Minerva! Almost everyone else who reads my stories are so skeptical about them. You should write a story about them! It would be amazing :D

Thank you. I was so worried about the courtroom theme because its so basic and I've never attempted anything so blunt before.
I'm glad you saw that it was supposed to biased, because some people are saying that it could do with more description and more insight from Tom.

Oh good, I'm glad the ending was good. I was so worried about it!!
Thank you for such an amazing review! I'll defiantly be popping back in another time for another review!
Jaz x


 Report Review

Review #7, by charlottetrips Salt Skin

23rd January 2012:
This is my first Voldemort/Minerva story and for a one-shot, it was very well written. I'd personally have liked more on the backstory as the beginning of their love seemed abrupt. But once I let that go, I just immersed myself in the language.

I mean that we could tell everyone of our little slice of paradise but when we do people being the flawed humans they are would tear at our Paradise until there was nothing left This shows Voldemort coming out.

I didn't quite understand Minerva's willingness to hang onto him so much after they'd graduated but the twist with the marriage and why she called the meeting was interesting.

This line is so powerful to me: She used to tell me when she tucked me in that angels were watching over me. She was wrong. There was nothing protecting her. There's no higher power, there's no God. There's just chaos and violence, random unpredictable evil, that comes out of nowhere, rips you to shreds.


If you were to write more, I'd definitely be interested in reading it!

Author's Response: Yay! I love introducing people to new ship (whether they like them or not is another story haha)
I thought about adding backstory in but I thought that because it was a courtroom case that it would seem kind of pointless, but thank you!

Thank you! Yeah, it was a bit OOC but I guess it was because she was in love. People do crazy things when they are in love :)

That line, unfortunately, was not written by me (as much as I want it to be) it was written by the talented Supernatural writers :) but yes, it is one of the most powerful quotes that I think I've stumbled across in a long time.

Thank you for such an amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Salt Skin

23rd January 2012:
Ah! I love that quote and Supernatural! And it just fit this fic perfectly! It is absolutely plausible for Tom to love, I just think he chose not to.

The only thing that got me was the formatting. There are no speech marks only squares and Zs; it kind of makes it hard to understand when something is being spoken. Other than that I really enjoyed this fic. :)

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi!
I know! That quote is amazing and thank you! I'm always so worried about basing a fic around a quote incase it doesn't fit.

Thank you for pointing that out! Something must have gone wrong when I copied it from my document. Woops. I'll fix that right away!!

Jaz


 Report Review

Review #9, by Illuminate Salt Skin

22nd January 2012:
Hi! Tag!

This is a great story- I really like how you've inserted this possibility into the canon. I think you've got the ruthlessness of Tom and Minerva's steel down perfectly. It seems like definetely something that Tom would do to just go and kill her mother when she rejected him. So evil!

Great job!

Author's Response: Hi!
Thank you! I am a slight canon freak as of late and like everything to go canon (as much as possible)
I was really worried about the characterisation because Tom is such a defined character but I'm glad you think I got it right :D
Thank you again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login