Reading Reviews for Lily's Gift
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Nicole Lily's Gift

1st October 2013:
My OTP is Jily, so you can guess how surprised I was to actually convince myself to read a Snily fic.

My favorite part is the ending - I can totally imagine Severus reading that well-worn book every single Christmas. D'aww.

That Christmas, and every Christmas after for the rest of his life, Severus Snape read the small, well-loved paperback, the first real Christmas present hed ever received. It was, after all, Lilys favorite.

I love your work! :-) I'm currently reading your Sneth trilogy. Whooo, Snape/OC!

~ Nicole

Author's Response: Thank you for such a sweet review! I actually ship James/Lily hardcore -- but I ship Snape's side of unrequited Snape/Lily. That really makes absolutely no sense at all, but I try not to question it. Nonetheless, I'm glad you gave this story a chance and enjoyed it!

I think if Lily ever gave Sev a book, or even recommended one, he would read it, Muggle filth or not. ♥ It's just so him. He was very passionate -- he loved nothing halfway, and maybe that's one of the reasons I like him so much.

I'm so excited you're reading Sneth, too! :D I hope you like it, and I'd love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Gosia Lily's Gift

9th August 2013:
Lily's so cute as a little girl! ( heart in here )*
She brought so much good into Severus's life. I don't even want to imagine where he'd be if they never met. Or if she didn't mean so much to him. And you perfectly showed her influence on him.

There's only one thing I'm going to point out a bit - Snape reading (every year!) "Pride and Prejudice" is... Ekhem. At least equal to Snape singing ;D

* Can't put a proper heart because every time i try to do so, my phone cuts off the rest of the review and still the heart's not there. So I leave it to your imagination :)

Author's Response: Lily absolutely and profoundly affected Snape's entire life -- there isn't a question of that! :) He would have been so dark and twisted and ugh if they'd never met (unless, of course, he had Beth!). I'm not a huge Snape/Lily writer, and I'm glad that, for you, it worked here.

Snape reading "Pride and Prejudice" is, yes, a bit of a stretch... but hey, it was Christmas, and I was trying to include things Hannah liked. Creative license! ♥

Thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by MissMdsty Lily's Gift

13th March 2013:
Snape as a child breaks my heart! You can see how Lily's youthful and care free attitude has such an impact on the boy that comes from a broken home where the parents don't even care to celebrate Christmas. Something about the light around her may have pushed him to seek it in himself.

The fact that Lily thought to give him a gift is proof that her kind and accepting nature was something she nurtured even as a child. The ending just broke my heart. It's so fitting that the book she gave him as children could hold so much meaning in their adult life. "Pride and Prejudice". I can think of all sorts of parallels, like Severus' pride in the path he choose and the prejudice they held for Lily's kind and how in the end it all blew up in his face. Beautiful!

The writing was impeccable, as usual and your style is very good! I can't find anything to comment about style-wise! Good job!

Ral

Author's Response: Oh, thank you for reviewing this for me! This story hasn't seen a new reviewer in ages. I'm so happy you enjoyed it -- it was my first attempt at Snape/Lily, and I've got a fond place in my heart for it. :)

I love your analysis of Lily's impact on Snape, and I do think that without her, he would have been a much darker person. He wanted to find the good in himself because of her, to be more like her, and even though it didn't work in the end as far as his getting her for his own, it altered his character dramatically.

I never thought of "Pride and Prejudice" that way before! I knew Hannah (who I wrote the story for) liked Jane Austen, so I put that in there, but wow. ♥ I think if she had given him a book, too, he would have kept it forever. Although somehow imagining Snape reading "Pride and Prejudice" is a bit... well.

Thank you again for taking the time to review this for me! It really does mean a lot to me that you took the time to do so, and I really hope to see you back soon. You're awesome!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by slytherinchica08 Lily's Gift

26th April 2012:
Oh this story just makes me want to read and write some Snape/Lily which I do plan to do somewhere down the lines but this was just so darn sweet and innocent and I just loved it to pieces! As always Jane you tell an absoolutely wonderful story with just the perfect touch of description and oh gush! I will forever be in awe of your writing and will forever be reading it thats for sure! I loved how the story dealt with how Snape has never had a real Christmas and Lily staying true to her character gives him a gift that means so much to her.

That little bit at the end though is just so darn heartwrentching to think of him sitting in front of the fireplace or something curled up reading this book that she had given him years ago even though she has already passed on from the physical world. I thought that it did a wonderful job of showing his love for her over the years without having to go into the detail of it!

Characterization for this is just wonderful! Lily has that headstrong, if she wants to do something shes going to do it no matter what. Even Snape was wonderful with his feelings towards Lily and actions towards not having his own Christmas ever! I loved the bit where she always has to shake his hand after making a deal as if a hand shake means you can't break the promise or deal.

Ok well I could go on for ages about just how much I love your Snape/Lily and how it makes me want to write my own but I shall stop it here! So Great Job as always and i really enjoyed this piece.. yeah as a matter of fact its going to be favorited!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Let me know whenever you write your Snape/Lily! ♥ I'm a massive fan of this pairing -- but only written in canon, so basically, one pining for the other. Which I guess is strange, but I am who I am. :)

I LOVE the end, if I can say so! I do think that it's something Snape would do, to read a book every year just because Lily gave it to him. (I did happen to pick P&P because of Hannah, but it fit well, I think.) And I'm so glad you liked the characterization, too! It is something I work hard on, in every story, because no character should ever be like another. (Stepping off high horse now.)

♥ I cannot even begin to thank you enough for leaving me all these lovely reviews. You seriously made my day, and then some -- I'm so amazed you were willing to come and do this! You're fabulous, Erica. :3


 Report Review

Review #5, by thesinandthesinner Lily's Gift

14th February 2012:
This was such a lovely one shot. The details really were the icing on the cake and I enjoyed the pacing and tone of this one shot. Great job!

Author's Response: Oh, wow -- thanks so much for that! I've always loved the idea of writing a Severus & Lily one-shot, but for some reason never got around to it. So Christmas was the best time and opportunity for it. :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review -- it really does mean a lot to me! I hope to see you back around again soon!


 Report Review

Review #6, by charlottetrips Lily's Gift

8th February 2012:
Yay! I love Severus and Lily stories, the kind that paints more of a background of their BFF relationship.

You’ve managed to draw that invisible line between Severus and Lily in these two first paragraphs. I see distinctly that Severus is from the “other side of the tracks”, that his life is far different from Lily’s as she stand there wrapped warmly against the cold he is barely protected from.

Lily is so easy to love here. She wants to help her friend but doesn’t really know how.

Commenting at this point on your descriptions. Love them. There were a few more moments of thick, cottony silence, - this was awesome. I don’t actually truly know why, only that I really liked it. Everything else too was strung together quite nicely.

And just, oh, just, they’re so cute! It makes me all warm and gushy just reading this and seeing these two small people make each other so happy by something so simple as a well-loved book being passed between two friends. Yes, Severus would read that book every year. Lady, this was wonderfully written!

Author's Response: Hey there! Sorry for the delay in responding. Nevertheless, I am here now, and that's what matters in the end, right?

I'm so glad you liked this story! Snape/Lily's been something I've been wanting to write for a while, but I never really got the excuse until I got the opportunity to write Hannah a Christmas story. And since she likes Snily, all the better. :D

And thank you for the comment on descriptions, too! I think that's one of the things I focus on most in my writing, without knowing I do, if that makes sense. I see scenes so vividly in my head that I sort of just put down how I see them without thinking about it too much. :P

Thank you so much for the review, and I am glad you picked this story, too! I am rather fond of it. :D And I'm pleased you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Woodrow Rynne Lily's Gift

13th January 2012:
Aww.. :'( I'm going to be honest (and don't feel bad :P) but this made me cry. Probably something to do with the fact that Snape is my all time favourite character, but mostly because GAHHH...your characterisation!! So. bloody. fantastic. Gimme your skills lady, seriously!! You wove this one-shot so seamlessly. I think it's fo shoo' your strongest point. You can write characters of any age, yet pull it off very well.

And this, this was heart-breaking. Oh, poor Sev. Most people find his love creepy, but I find it timeless. Sort of makes me wish James Potter had never been born (yes, I said that, kill me XP).

More than anything though, the sweetness, angst of this piece- what I loved was how you show us parts of Snape's personality that became more pronounced later on, but you can still see them in his 11 year old mind.

This line was fantastic: “Besides, I – I don’t want to have a Christmas.” But even as he tried to convince himself of this, he knew that what he wanted more than anything at that moment was to spend the following day with Lily, doing everything that she talked about – the tree, the cider. He didn’t even need the presents, if he could be awarded that. "

as was this-“I didn’t get you anything,” Severus said sullenly, not willing to take the present while feeling incredibly touched that she had gone to the effort to wrap something for him"

I don't know, but I find them very much /Snape/.
Oh dear, that wasn't very coherent, was it? Anyway, I loved this to bits. I loved the little Lily too! She suddenly sounded unsure of herself, as though maybe she had gotten him the wrong sort of gift Adorable :D
100/10!

Author's Response: IT MADE YOU CRY. Oh, that just made my /day/. And that probably sounds really masochistic and a bit odd, but that I evoked such emotion from a piece that is generally thought to be fluffy... There are many dances of happiness occurring right now. You got the underlying emotion perfectly!

Severus is /so/ my favorite character, too, and I honestly look for any chance to write him I can. :) And that fact that you, a fellow admirer (if we may call ourselves such), found those lines to embody him is just -- gahh. I have melted in happiness.

Seriously, thank you so much for these reviews -- I can never tell you how much they mean to me. It really does just make me so appreciative when people take the time to write opinions on my stories. They are parts of me, as all stories are parts of their authors, and compliments are just... I can't explain it. ♥ Just thank you, so much!


 Report Review

Review #8, by forsakenphoenix Lily's Gift

11th January 2012:
So, yeah, I'm sure you know my thoughts on Snily by now. When Amanda PMed me and proclaimed you her new best friend because you wrote a lovely Snily, I thought, "How nice. I probably won't read it, though." But I couldn't help myself. Mostly because it was written by you.

There's something so innocent about this one-shot. I love reading stories and just feeling...content, and this totally put me into that mood. The words you choose, the detail of your description, everything just makes this story so precious.

Lily is perfect here - sweet and sincere, determined to give her friend something to remember her by, something small and special to celebrate a first Christmas. Snape is wonderfully shy and embarrassed by his family life and his adoration for Lily.

You have this way of ending your stories that makes me want to die - in a good way. It always feels like a punch to the gut, you know? Powerful, and very emotive. Imagining Snape pulling that book out every Christmas and reading it, because Lily gave it to him and it was her favorite, it reminds us of the torch he held for her for all the years he was alive. He never forgot her and that's important to him as a character.

I adored this - and you know it's really good that I said that, because it's Snily. I'm convinced you can do no wrong.

Author's Response: You /so/ did not have to read this!! Of course, I am extremely glad you did, but I am even more bowled over knowing, as you said, your thoughts on it.

This is a rather light and fluffy piece -- a little different from some of the things I've been writing recently -- but somehow, it feels right, you know? I don't know. :P I am REALLY glad you appreciate my story endings, though, seriously -- I always try and leave the reader with something at the last line of every chapter of every story. It's the most important line, to me, even more than the first, because I think it's the one people remember the longest. But look at me ramble.

YOU ARE SO AMAZING. ♥ Thank you so much for giving this a shot, and I'm so glad you enjoyed it, too!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Snapdragons Lily's Gift

11th January 2012:
Eek. First of all, I'm sorry that it took me a bit to review- school may or may not have eaten me up. But I wanted to say thank you thank you thank you so much! This one shot is perfect and brought this silly looking smile to my face. It was just incredibly sweet, and I thought it showed their friendship perfectly.

Snape and Lily are two of my favorite characters to read about, because I think they've got such an interesting relationship - I mean, when you think about it, if they hadn't been friends growing up and if Snape had never met Lily or they had never been friends, Harry probably would have died. o.o All right, stopping that thought before it gets too rambly...

Lily's just so earnest and innocent in this that it was heartwarming, as strange as I feel using that word. I love the picture of little Lily with her mittens and Wellies, using handshakes to seal a deal.

(also, I may or may not have felt like giving Severus a hug)

Pride & Prejudice is one of my favorite books, and I think it's definitely worthy of being first Christmas present material. I could totally see Snape rereading it every Christmas! :)

Thank you so much for writing this - you're a genius and so wonderful! This completely made my entire winter. ♥

Author's Response: No worries, Hannah! I didn't expect a review at all -- it is your Christmas present, after all! I am so, so glad you enjoyed this, though, because although the pairing melts my heart, it is the first time I have attempted Snape/Lily.

Severus just needs a hug. Trufax. And also a true story, I sort of creeped on your profile to see if you mentioned any books you liked, and P&P fit perfectly for this! So that's thrown in there for you, as well. :D Excuse the creeping!

You're fantastic. ♥ Merry Christmas once again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotter Lily's Gift

11th January 2012:
That was a really lovely story! I liked the whole feel of it- it was that warm fuzzy one you get in the pit of your stomach, you know? I also think you made a great choice having Lily's favorite book be Pride and Prejudice, because it's a Muggle classic, and I feel like Lily is a Jane Austen person. 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Warm and fuzzy feelings were exactly the sort of tone I was aiming for -- thank you for commenting on that! Totally makes my day. :) I, admittedly, have never read Austen (although I've dabbled in a bit of Bronte), but it seems fitting!

Thanks so much, Cassie! I'm so glad you enjoyed this little story, and it really, really flatters me that you've taken the time to review all these things! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by CC Lily's Gift

9th January 2012:
Really, really cute and sweet. You should consider writting another one!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I really enjoyed writing this, and I'm just glad the recipient liked it. :3

I'll definitely consider writing another one! Snape is my absolute favorite Harry Potter character, and I actually write a lot of him -- I think this is the fourth story on my page where he's a central character? Something like that. So maybe someday I'll do another Snily! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, too, I appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #12, by BKL8008 Lily's Gift

9th January 2012:
This was just lovely. I wish I'd found it sooner. Normally, when I see anything James and/or Lily in the title, I run. I am glad I took a chance with this one. I will spare you the usual "Ewww, Mooosh!" that I normally give others who know me well, in jest of course! ;) I hope your Christmas was as wonderful as this is touching.

Author's Response: James and Lily are some of my favorites to write about, actually! I get to write them a fair bit, too, doing the Marauders trilogy, so I'm in a happy place.

All forgiven (in jest as well)! I've actually become more averse to romance since getting more into -- for lack of a better word -- more serious fan fiction, which is why my old novel makes me cringe fondly, but sometimes I am required to indulge it. :D

Thanks so much for the review, I'm always so glad to see you've returned!


 Report Review

Review #13, by academica Lily's Gift

8th January 2012:
Oh my gahhh this is getting favorited right now. It's no secret that I love Snape/Lily, and I'm probably going to ask you to write me another one for my birthday, and this one is actually HAPPY, and ohmygodmarrymeletsbefriends. Le sigh.

I think the adorable factor might kill me. This is one reason why I love Snape/Lily so much -- they're got such a beautiful friendship, even if they never work out romantically. I think just having Lily as a friend would have been such an immense relief for adult Snape, although it would obviously never be what he really wanted. You wrote them so delicately and perfectly, complete with a little best-friend handshake. I love the attention to detail in the descriptions and the way you contrasted Lily's cute little winter ensemble with Snape's poverty. It's so like her, the way I picture her in my mind, to want to give him the real Christmas that he's never had.

Pride and Prejudice! Adorable. I can totally picture Lily loving it, and I can also see Snape reading it faithfully year after year, pretending that he could be the Mr. Darcy that swept Lily (as Elizabeth, of course) off her feet. I love that she was unsure about it but he so openly, honestly loved it. This kind of thing is what I'm talking about when I tell people that I see his love for her as less "stalkery" and more innocent, the kind of earnest devotion that covers all sins, even James Potter.

Seriously, I've spent all afternoon working on these stupid evaluations for my progress in my grad program and it's super boring and stressful, and this made my day. Thank you.

Amanda

Author's Response: AMANDA YOU GLORIOUS PERSON. ♥ I don't even know how I'm going to respond to this review. Prepare yourself for a prodigious amount of rambling. (Plus, your first paragraph brought lots of appreciative laughs that came out as snorts! :3)

You've got the exact view on Snape/Lily that I have, and I'm so grateful for that. I definitely have never understood the people who claim that Snily is a bit of a stalker-ish pairing, because I have genuinely never seen it this way. He just had true heartfelt feelings for her, and loved her unconditionally, even when she fell in love with one of the people Severus hated most.

/You/ made /my/ day, and I am glad this provided you with a bit of relief from evaluations -- that is not ideal, I understand. :( But yes! So much love for you, and this review, and your brilliance. ♥ I cannot wait for more swapping in the near future!


 Report Review

Review #14, by magicmuggle01 Lily's Gift

8th January 2012:
Excellent. You really showed how much Snape loved Lily, even after his silly slip of the tongue. And to have him honour her memory by reading the book every christmas was totally beautiful and wonderful. 10/10 and awaiting your next fantastic surprise.

Author's Response: I love Snape/Lily, although I think in writing Snily fic you have to have a really delicate balance -- and I'm so glad that you enjoyed this! It was my first shot at the pairing and I'm glad it came across well.

I am so honored you keep coming back here, that's just so amazing. :D Every time I see your name pop up in my unanswered reviews, it just makes my day! Thank you so much! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login