14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Black_Dahlia The Soul of a Soldier by Snapdragons

8th June 2012:
wow that was amazing! I had chills while I was reading it! Awesome!

 Report Review

Review #2, by GotstaHaveMyHardy The Soul of a Soldier by Snapdragons

1st June 2012:
Oh god my heart hurts now. Fantastic fic but damn, the FEELS!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Cavell Fleur's New Family by TheGoldenKneazle

11th March 2012:
Ah - you wrote Fleur so beautifully, and gave her a past some of us (me) never would have thought of. I love how almost everyone she encountered they reminded her of someone else. She seems so kind and generous, and I loved that about her. Brilliant story, and a very enjoyable read, so nice job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Cavell The Soul of a Soldier by Snapdragons

11th March 2012:
This was a brilliant read, and you most certainly deserved to win. I loved your portrayal of Augusta, and I'm pretty sure I almost cried more than once when I was reading this. She had lost so much, so young and yet she still holds her head high and marches on. A fantastic story, so nice job!

 Report Review

Review #5, by NightCrimson Petunia: A Seed Is Planted by Chocolate_Frog

10th March 2012:
That's a really good story! Love it! Keep writing more awesome stuff! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by NightCrimson The Soul of a Soldier by Snapdragons

10th March 2012:
The story is absolutely touching! You've done an AMAZING job! I love it! The idea is really good and your writing is also marvelous..:D:D
Completely worthy of the award! :D
Keep writing such amazing stuff!

 Report Review

Review #7, by magicmuggle01 Toes In The Sand by JANNER

27th February 2012:
This is to quote a phrase from Ron Bloody brilliant.
I never expected the girl to be Ginny. Your description is great and leaves a hell of alot to the the imagination. A great story and I wish that you could respond to this review.
Maybe you could do what I did and spread it into something more. Just don't publish the same chapter, you could enlarge it and print more. 9/10 and I hope you enlarge it, if you do plz let me know in a review or pm me on the forums.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Hogwarts27 The Surprising Life of Hermione Granger by magicmuggle01

1st February 2012:
Your love of Sci-Fi is obvioulsy showing here, and while this was a very creative Sci-Fi idea, and was basically well-written, it went so far into a far-fetched Sci-Fi realm that Hermione didn't feel anything like herself at the end. You changed her by adding an external Sci-Fi element to her life rather than by bringing out a facet of her internal canon character, which I thought was what the theme prompt was essentially after when I went back to check it. Ultimately you focused more on developing the Sci-Fi details of this story than you did on showing us a character's inner attributes. Ron's romantic language felt quite out of character too - in fact he struck me as the better character study, expressing this more romantic side of his character than Hermione was. This story struck me more as being a development of a Sci-Fi plot rather than a study of a character's inner qualities, so I'm not so sure you actually fulfilled what the theme prompt was aiming for with this piece.

 Report Review

Review #9, by shadowcat2 The Soul of a Soldier by Snapdragons

29th January 2012:
I just teared up. But it's because your story was so moving. It was absolutely flawless.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Wistful Tommy Boy by Millarz

23rd January 2012:
That was just intense, and it was very emotional in my opinion. It shows exactly how Tom turned the way it was, abully often end up being the victim of bullies. I just loved it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Hippothestrowl The Soul of a Soldier by Snapdragons

21st January 2012:
This was very moving for me. It reminded me a little of Mrs. Ryan in Saving Private Ryan. To lose another child would just be one too many.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Janner The Surprising Life of Hermione Granger by magicmuggle01

18th January 2012:
I agree with the first reviewer. An interesting idea but the theme is too large for a one-shot. Take the idea and stretch it to 10-15 or even more chapters and you could be onto something very good. Good luck!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Hippothestrowl The Surprising Life of Hermione Granger by magicmuggle01

16th January 2012:
A good story idea but hard to fit in one chapter so the ending is too sudden and lacked depth and believability. It becomes too fairytale sweet when it could have been much more. This would work better with 3 chapters or more with Hermione breaking it to her friends more gradually over months instead of minutes and more detail and description of their feelings and how the transition to a new life would be made. Ron, Harry, Hermione, the entire Weasley and Granger families, should all be agonizing over this for a long time before they could adjust and accept the loss of the ones they care about.

It definitely fulfils the prompt theme but probably too ambitious an idea to squeeze into one chapter. I enjoyed the first 4/5ths though thanks.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Hippothestrowl Tommy Boy by Millarz

16th January 2012:
This is a great story idea - original and food for thought. If I could vote separately on story idea I would give it 10/10. The difficulty for me was how do you express the inner experience of a toddler in a continuous thought stream? That must have been a real challenge. People don't verbalize every feeling inwardly - but if you overlook that and treat the words as an abstract expression of what happened then yeah - good one. It reminds you that the most evil of people always start off as innocent babies and this is about the only way you could get a new impression of Riddle. It definitely fits the prompt.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login