Reading Reviews for Enchanté
  
74 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Freda_and_Georgina Festivities

4th April 2014:
Fleur's mounting panic is so believable, since she has no clue what's going on yet. What's even more ironic is that she had just recently debated dumping him gently.

What a tough Christmas for Fleur. "Too English for France, too French for England." The girl's just trying to find her identity as she makes ends meet. Yet she doesn't realize that Bill has it just as rough, if not worse. Maybe that's why they get along so well, they have common ground that way.

Fleur's mother becomes so much more sympathetic, not that she wasn't sympathetic when she wanted to keep her daughters safe and home.

I'm so happy the (current) latest chapter isn't a cliff hanger; at least it works as a satisfactory ending, if it can't be simply a pause. I would really like to see this story continued, perhaps up through her wedding day? I guess I shouldn't set hopes high.

Thanks for writing/sharing, I really enjoyed it and I hope you continue it someday.

--Freda

 Report Review

Review #2, by Freda_and_Georgina Dates

4th April 2014:
I like that the two of them see each other as equals and share a mutual respect. I wonder why Bill seems so immune to her veela charms, maybe he's more emotionally mature and responsible than his co-workers?

Ok, so Sara was making up her dates with Bill. (Or maybe they dated once in the past?)
I'm at a loss as to how anyone can 'subtly' summon a coat from another country, unless it's made invisible and doesn't hit anything.

Gornuk! I feel bad for Bill, but I thought Gornuk was one of the two goblins the Trio overhear in DH; the one who got re-captured. (I could be wrong, or maybe that book came out after you started this; I didn't start the books until after they were all out.)

It took me a minute to remember why Bill disappeared. Fleur's inner dialogue is interesting to watch unfold as she realizes she actually likes Bill.

Overall, I enjoy how you write both perspectives, and allow the readers to see both sides since both characters are keeping secrets. I occasionally come across a sentence I have to re-read. Other than that, I really like this story. I hope you continue it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Freda_and_Georgina Offer

4th April 2014:
Bill seems really overprotective of this mission, which is quite understandable, but he made me want to chastise him. ("Stop! You're making it worse!") I'm guessing he got nervous when the conversation went somewhere he didn't like.

Hmm, what's up with Sara and the Vault selection? At first I thought she was trying to find an excuse to work with Bill or something, or maybe something else? I might be reading too much into it.

Heehee the piece of Bill's mind using Charlie's voice was great! I hope you work in an encounter with Charlie, especially if he meets Fleur. :)

I'm not sure why Fleur would make Bill's department explode, the couple guys seemed to fall for her charms. Maybe all the females would explode?

Tante Isabella sounds like an interesting character. Her veela lessons seem to explain a lot about why Fleur seems cold, but I see how in some ways she needs to be in order to protect her heart from those who fawn over her purely for looks.

You've made Fleur such a sympathetic character, I love the human venerability you've given her, even if (for now) only seen from her view.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Freda_and_Georgina Allied

4th April 2014:
Ooo, an abandoned crime scene at night? Chillingly mysterious, and I'm sure there are some people who would consider that an enjoyable date. With the historical context we know that disappearances like this are significant as well. It adds depth to the mystery, I hope you come back and finish this soon.

And now they're "partners" in crime...-solving. Since we know Fleur and Bill end up marrying, and I look forward to watching how their relationship unfolds in your story.

Author's Response: Teehee oh yes! I ~love~ abandoned crime scenes at night, probably influenced too much by the excellent writing of Violet Gryfindor haha. Ooh depth of mystery is what I was aiming for, thank you!

Oh yes, I do love Bill and Fleur's interesting relationship in crime context... thanks so much for these lovely encouraging reviews!
~Lottie


 Report Review

Review #5, by Freda_and_Georgina Confrontation

4th April 2014:
Ah so it was a dare that Bill was acting so oddly! I thought it seemed out of character.

As for "manipulating her right back", I'd have to say Fleur naturally has the upper hand, but it's neat that they share a desire for answers through investigation.

Oh, Bill and Sara are technically a thing. I thought that might have been Sara making it up.

Author's Response: Haha I do like putting my characters through the mill, seeing how they perform in different situations. Fleur's distaste for her natural upper hand is second to her annoyance at weakness in a situation, so although both her and Bill prefer going on personality, she is definitely not above using her looks for her own ends!

I can't really remember Bill and Sara oops, I should reread this... although it won't be a 'thing' for long if it is ;)
~TGK


 Report Review

Review #6, by Freda_and_Georgina Investigators

4th April 2014:
Haha LOVED the detail about the haircut!

It's turning into quite the mystery, though the context we readers have gives us a better hint of what probably happened that Fleur gets.

I should have closed the computer a while ago, but this story "won't let me". (That's meant as a compliment...)

Author's Response: Ooh thanks!! I always loved the details in the seventh (?) book about Bill's unwanted haircut, so it's accidentally made its way here...

That is one of the problems I had writing this, probably why I stay away from Hogwarts era in general: you know the ending already. However I do want to at least try and get Fleur's POV across!

Ah thank you so much!! All your reviews are so exciting because I don't usually think about my fanficion that much any more (school sapping time etc) but... I am definitely back to thinking about it now :D
~TGK


 Report Review

Review #7, by Freda_and_Georgina Disappearance

4th April 2014:
Whoa, it sounds like Fleur has a gut feeling that Black's not really the one behind this.

It's very interesting to see this side of Bill.

Golly, I never thought of Fleur potentially not having life so easy (since we only see her when she does), but goodness her poor sister, and all of them!

Author's Response: Ooh I wonder why? ;) I really do want to contrast Fleur's pretty looks with her actually pretty sharp mind! She was always portrayed as so vapid in Harry's eyes and then ends up marrying Bill, so what happened in between is what I'm interested in :D I just really wanted to uncover her backstory because everybody has an interesting past and she is so badly represented in the world of fanfic!
~TGK


 Report Review

Review #8, by Freda_and_Georgina Prologue: Games

4th April 2014:
Wow this is a really awesome opening. I sometimes wonder what this scene may have looked like from outside, since Harry's viewpoint was slightly preoccupied.

--Freda

Author's Response: Ahh thank you! When I was originally thinking about writing this story, it was such a key scene, because it's such a turning point for Harry and the wizarding world, and the way the films highlight Fleur's screams too... also the unfairness of her being pushed out of the final because she was cursed by an Imperio'd Krum really annoyed me ;)

Thanks for the review!
~TGK


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jchrissy Prologue: Games

4th February 2013:
Hi m'dear!

You have an incredibly easy style to read. Not that it's simple, but you word things to have the most impact they can without hiding that impact in confusing sentence structures. This prologue felt like It was finished as soon as I started it. Annndd I just got a work email. Okay, this review is going to be terrible but I want to leave it before I respond to my work thing or else I'll continue to the next chapter without reviewing later.

The way you took us through what Fleur felt during the tasks was perfect. You gave her such a personality, without making her this shallow woman we see so often. She's intelligent. She's fierce. She came to win and she was upset she didn't. That's incredibly realistic. But she wasn't this brainless, mean thing.

I honestly couldn't think of a more perfect way to start us with this story. It got me so interested, and those last lines were amazing. Fleur loves Bill enough to literally die for him. She understands what the risks of being a Weasley are, and even her wedding day getting destroyed isn't enough to make her want to walk away from the man and life she chose.

She's such a complex character and I love that you're already showing that. So excited to continue!

♥ Jami

 Report Review

Review #10, by RupertsPheonix Festivities

26th December 2012:
I have just favorited this. I lalalalove it! I love Bill/Fleur, and I am really enjoying this look into the early months of their relationship. :)

Great work, and Happy Holidays!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jenny Festivities

21st October 2012:
I was so happily surprised to find out this story had been updated! This chapter was too adorable with Fleur realizing she wants to keep Bill, it really shows how much she is beginning to grow. Please update again soon, I really love this story, and I like how Fleur is insecure about dating and relationships. I want some Bill point of view dealing with his thoughts on their relationship post Arthur chat, and definitely a longer chapter! Good work!

Author's Response: Haha thankyou! It sort of surprised me, too :P I am glad that awkwardness didn't take over from adorableness (I'm not good at this stuff!) but I do want to do them justice :3 I will try to update soon! And I love writing about Fleur's real insecurities, giving her real flaws and real virtues, because she's so often portrayed as an evil witch! There'll definitely be some post-chat Bill coming up soon, and hopefully a longer chapter too :D Thank you for your lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Aphoride Festivities

19th October 2012:
UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE! Ahem, I'm glad you updated :D (As if, you know, that wasn't obvious)

Fleur's met Arthur! Gosh, that was quick! I feel as if were you any other author and this any other story, it would be much, much too fast and far too soon for her to meet his dad, but it's Bill and it's Fleur and it's you and this story and so it's just so wonderfully perfect :)

I love how you mentioned about her returning to France for Christmas and seeing her family again. I felt as though I learned so much about her family in the few sentences you talked about them, and yet we haven't actually seen all that much of them. All of them feel as though you know them so well, even if we don't know them that well yet, but we will by the end of it... I feel like I explained that very badly... O.o

Anyway, I love this story so much and things are developing so neatly, but in ways I never expected. They still haven't worked out what's happening with Mhairi in the bank (or at least, Fleur hasn't, Bill might have already) but they're so far past that that it doesn't seem to matter any more. I love how their relationship has almost literally exploded without Fleur noticing. It's a bit like a snowball, I guess: picking up momentum until it's completely out of control and nothing and no one can stop it, except that big rock which is death, lol.

The only thing I did notice is you said 'inter-country' when talking about the Apparition Bureau. Wouldn't it be International instead? :P It's just a small thing...

Gah, this story is so very, very lovely and I'm glad I helped to encourage you to keep writing - even if just in a small way! :D

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #13, by soufflegirl99 Festivities

16th October 2012:
YAYY!! First to review ;)
Aw so sweet and awesome and cute :)
The way you portray their personalities is so perfect as they kind of slot together (cheesey metaphor coming up) like two puzzle pieces.
I love the way the plot is so original and creative.
Your description is very much like Rowling's herself, along with the dialogue - very realistic.
I like the way Fleur is so furstrated with Bill - yet still clings on like she is strangely fascinated by him. The immaculate detail on the chapters really paints the scene in your head and helps readers to really see it, even if they have a weak imagination, it does all the work for you through your words.
This story is extremely awesome, kep updating! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by daliha Prologue: Games

27th July 2012:
I think I remember seeing you post about this fic. It's curious to see that you started with the last task of the triwizard tournament, throughout this chapter your interpretation of Fleur was flawless, I wish though we could have more of her in the maze even if she didn't last very long. It's interesting to see that even after she hears Harry's words Fleur decides to stay in England. My favorite part of this chapter though was the way you described her anger, even angry she seemed elegant :) I'm going to read on so expect to see me again :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by BoOkWoRm24 Offer

18th July 2012:
This was another excellent chapter. I really enjoy reading the dynamic of Bill and Fluer's relationship. I feel like they would win funnest couple, if we did superlatives. Especially from the way they did the I'm going to be later than you thing. As I said before it was fun to read.

Just as in your previous chapters I love the way you are including the french, except this time I noticed the translation at the bottom, which made things make a bit more sence :)

I want to know more about what's going on with Mhairi!! The way she is acting just doesn't seem normal for someone who's kids are missing.

Anywho great chapter as with the last. Keep up the good work

-BoOkWoRm24
~House Cup 2012

 Report Review

Review #16, by BoOkWoRm24 Allied

18th July 2012:
Horray for plot progress.

I love that you brought Fluer and Bill together while looking through Mhairi's house. It was different seeing someting that wasn't along the linese of 'Bill and Fluer love at first sight'. Instead you're writing it so that Fluer is sort of headstrong about it. Its very in character of her.

I love the way you're writing her. I can see the triwizard champion in her in this chapter which is commonly overlooked in fanfiction. People like making her materialistic, and while she might have been to a level, she also had her name chosen out of the goblet. I see that half of her here, as well as the fashionable half. Its great

I also love your description. Everything time there is a ew character introduced, or a new scene you paint this really crisp image of it in my head. It is really lovely.

Also I like that you're inculdinng a lot of French. I can tell you're pretty educated in the language (maybe even fluent?). And while I don't understand a word of it, the use of it really adds to the verisimilitude of the novel (hows that for a large litterary word :p)

Anyway keep up the good work :)

-BW24

~House Cup 2012 (Go 'Claws!!!)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Aphoride Dates

18th July 2012:
Oh my gosh! I loved this! I loved it so much - I can't believe I haven't read it before. Bad Laura - I should have been here much earlier! :( Anyway, it was amazing, as usual (and congratulations on getting Ravenclaw SOTM, even if it's very delayed :P).

I loved how you made the time pass by using different little segments. None of them were too short - they all showed something important and the details you included were just wonderful. I feel like I'm actually there, you know, with Bill and Fleur, learning about each of them in turn as they learn about each other. It's lovely. I also love how you're not giving too many details away - just mentioning that Fleur's aunt has had more than one husband and Bill's story about Charlie with the chickens... ha, that was so funny!

I also loved the whole fight for control angle you brought in. I've never considered that it could be like that, you know, and I've never seen anyone do it like that, so it's really interesting. I love how Bill is Fleur's equal and how she doesn't have control and it's throwing her off. It's those little human touches :D

Gornuk! I'm actually kinda upset - I have a heart of stone, so well done! :P - even though we never actually met him. I dunno, it's the way Bill says that he doesn't want to grieve because Gornuk wouldn't want it. So bittersweet! Also, that bit reminded me oddly of a Terry Pratchett story O.o No idea why - I think it was the phrase 'he is golden now' which was a fabulous touch, btw.

So yeah. Loved it. Would love to see more soon, pretty please! :D

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #18, by Aphoride Offer

18th July 2012:
Okay, okay, I couldn't resist! I've read this before - twice before, I think - but I had to come back and review this chapter! It was too good an opportunity to pass up! Plus, I love this story to pieces so it was on my list to do! :D

Bill is amazing. I'm just... gah, he's wonderful. He's so real and full of conflicting traits. It's literally like you've taken a real person and somehow pushed them into ink or something and created them on the screeen in this fic. It's incredible. I love how sometimes he's a bit almost angry with Fleur, about her conversation with Mhairi, and then when she says she forgot to take a note he's almost consoling her. It's such good characterisation... ah, he's just wonderful :)

I love Fleur almost as much as him, too! She's so manipulative and clever and all perfect hair, perfect smile... it's so impressive and so her! I just love it. Also, kudos on writing the accent in - I did it for a one-shot but I could never have done it for a story this long. It would have driven me mad! :P

Ooh, they're going on a date! I'm so excited! I can't wait to see where this goes - how their date goes, how their investigation continues and... everything. This is such a good story, I'm so in love with it... :)

Also, one last thing: 'pwetty French girlie'. Oh Charlie, oh Charlie... he's so wonderful and I haven't even met him yet ;)

Aph xx

House Cup 2012! :D

Author's Response: Ahha thank you Laura!! I do love reading your reviews on each of my chapters, you're so encouraging and lovely :3

I LOVE BILL SO MUCH, and I am so glad you like him too! I do so want to keep him in-canon and realistic, but keep him within my personal fanon, which often leads me astray with inconsistent characterisations :/

I LOVE writing Fleur, too! She's such a tricky character since I want readers to like her, but to keep her as her own person with real problems. Hee RELATIONSHIP PROGRESSION :D

Haha I'm very glad it's keeping your interest for the date! I am trying to keep this away from the twee end of the spectrum, so I do hope it's not too contrived-sounding :P But YAY INVESTIGATION, more to be revealed soon ;)

Charlie is fab, I can't wait for you to meet him too - you're his biggest fan and we've not come across him yet! :D

TGK xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by Bia Dates

8th July 2012:
I absolutely adore Bill/Fleur, and this story is so absolutely wonderful. Please don't abandon this. I have never read a take like this--where Fleur clashes with her mother, is afraid of getting too close to Bill--on their relationship, and I just need to read the rest of this! I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Eep thank you so much! :D I have no thoughts of abandoning Enchante, because I love Bill and Fleur far too much, and I'm very glad that you like my interpretation of them too :D I will try to update soon - and thank you for this lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by LittleWelshGirl99 Dates

27th June 2012:
Mehehe, I've stolen my brother's laptop today (which is far cooler and faster than mine, although I'm going to overlook the skull stickers everywhere) and decided to celebrate my sneakiness by reviewing meh favourite gal's new chappie! ♥

This was just the most perfect way in the history of perfected perfect-ness to have Bill and Fleur's first date! Homg, the way they were fighting for control and trying to act dominant (;'D) they reminded me of a couple of headstrong primary school kids. AND I LOVED IT! I couldn't imagine it any other way.

All the descriptions, the way you link together so smoothly, the characters~ it's just so fabby Lottie! I particularly love this description- 'She was a calm lake with no ripples of anger or hurt, just peaceful stillness inside.'

AND THEN OH NOES WHY YOU HAVE TO GO AND DO A ROTTEN CLIFFIE? YOU SMELL :P

He's gone? *launches herself onto bed and sobs* Has he left her or has he been kidnapped? (Or would you say man-napped?)

Loved it as usual you talented thing, you. xox

Author's Response: Ahha that laptop sounds AWESOME 8O Send it to me so I can update faster, skull stickers and all? And aww thankyou so much Annon! :D

I'm so glad you liked their first date! It took me so long to perfect it because I wanted to capture their characters so much in this turning point, but in the end, I just couldn't imagine doing it any other way either! :D

Mehe thankyou!! I do try to keep it all smoothed together but struggle most of the time, so I'm glad there's not a weird imbalance or anything. Aww thankyou :D

YES, ROTTEN CLIFFIES KEEP PEOPLE HANGING *evil laugh*

You'll find out soon(ish), don't worry! Just think over certain prewritten events... ;)

ooh thank you so much for this lovely review! :D
~Lottie xoxo


 Report Review

Review #21, by lily_evans_ginny_weasley Dates

26th June 2012:
Oh, I love how Fleur so desperately wants the upper hand and Bill won't let her have it. It's very sad, though, how she won't let herself have feelings for him. Liking, or even loving, someone is just what Fleur needs, and she is not letting it happen. Ah, I love this. Thanks!

Author's Response: It's so sad to write them like that, but poor Fleur - there's reasons she's set herself apart, and things will go their way eventually! Their even-matched-ness is why they can have an equal relationship, though :D Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Dizzy73 Dates

24th June 2012:
I can't believe I didn't find this earlier! This story is best Bill/Fleur story I ever read. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Aww thankyou so much!! I'm really glad you liked Enchante so much :3

 Report Review

Review #23, by Hope's Mom Dates

23rd June 2012:
Hi - I am a new reader. I like your Bill and Fleur. I feel a bit sorry for Fleur that she won't let anyone get close and let "feelings" get involved. Is Bill on a Order mission? I look forward to reading more - thank you for sharing your story.

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm so glad you like my story, and Bill and Fleur in that. I feel so sorry for Fleur as I write her, because it's really not her fault that she's been programmed that way :( And yes, he's definitely partly on an Order mission! Yay, I'm really glad you're liking it~ I love writing it so much and I'm glad it shows :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by UnluckyStar57 Offer

20th June 2012:
Uh-oh... Broom closet time?! It was like a cliche that wasn't a cliche anymore, because it was about the mission instead of a random snogging session.
Fleur's character is showcased so well in this chapter, I think, especially since Bill is starting to like her a little bit. She's definitely a manipulator, but he isn't drooling over her. He's in control of himself, and he complements her perfectly!
There were a few confusing sentences this time around, but I managed to work them out for myself. Other than that, I think a few words could be taken out or rearranged here and there. That's really all I saw that I was iffy about.
I hope the next chapter comes out soon, because I want to know about the date!! :)

Author's Response: Yeah, I had so much fun with that - I just couldn't think of anywhere else to have them enclosed in a small, dark space, and hoped for the best :P I'm really glad you liked Fleur here, too! I'm trying to do them both justice without sugar-coating things. Bill and Fleur's strength is certainly fun :D

Aargh I do have trouble formulating what I want to say sometimes; thanks for pointing them out, hopefully an edit will sort them! I'm trying to update as much as possible, and thank you for such a lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by UnluckyStar57 Disappearance

20th June 2012:
Yes, flirtatious Bill!! :D
He was just perfect, not too much, and not too little. If you'd have spent paragraphs and paragraphs on him, it would be boring, but only a glimpse was not enough. What you wrote was just right!
When you spoke of Fleur's waitress job and then went right back in to her job at Gringott's, I felt like there was something missing. Not a HUGE something, but enough to be slightly befuddling to me.
Again, the suspense builds with the brilliantly-added newspaper article, but I feel like the last sentence is a bit choppy after the action that it follows.
I must stop writing this review now... The rest of your story is calling my name!

Author's Response: Now don't tell anyone, since it'll make them wonder why I don't update faster, but flirtatious Bill is the absolute bee's knees to write XD I'm so glad that you found him easy to read, because I love writing him like that so much and really wouldn't want him to be boring - I do often find myself rambling for paragraphs and often need to remind myself to demonstrate it instead :P

Yeah, I did have trouble switching from one job to another, since it felt clunky at the time but I couldn't work out how to smooth the transition over more :/ Thanks for pointing it out!

Yay, I'm glad you liked the little add of canon - I want to set the scene a bit more for the war, but don't want to make it seem to random. And thanks for the point on the last sentence - it's hard to keep it suspenseful and not clunky :P

Thank you for such a lovely review! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>