Reading Reviews for Down Comes The Night
  
114 Reviews Found

Review #1, by casual_chaos Chapter Eleven

3rd September 2014:
This was a perfect ending of an amazing story. Every part of Helga's and Salazar's tale was perfectly captured and I am so happy to have been able to read it. I'm afraid this will be a short review but I still wish to thank you for writing Down Comes The Night and I am looking forward to reading everything else you have written. :)

- Andy

Author's Response: Oh Andy, you are too wonderful! These reviews mean the world to me. I am so happy you enjoyed this story. It was a huge part of my life for two years and I worked really hard on it. Thank you so much for reading it, and I hope you do get to check out some of my other stuff! I will respond to your other review in more detail just as soon as I can. Thank you again!

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #2, by casual_chaos Chapter Four

1st September 2014:
Hi, Maggie!

Let me start this review by saying how I absolutely love this story! Now that we got that out in the open, I apologize for not reviewing the previous three chapters but I simply couldn't stop reading! So instead of reviewing one by one, I'll try to put all of my fangirling here, I hope that's okay. :)

First off, the flow of the story is excellent; the descriptions of Helga's childhood, then friendship with Godric and finally the transition to founding Hogwarts, it all ran smoothly and was very enjoyable to read. You also managed to give very detailed portrayals of the main characters in only a few chapters and, what I loved best, you consistently threw in these subtle hints connecting each of the founders with the main 'trait' of their house. When Godric said: 'It is cowardly, Helga!', it actually made me laugh a little, despite the conversation being serious. Physical characterization wasn't too detailed, which is something I am very fond of. In my opinion, it's always best to give an outline of a character and then let your readers fill in the rest. (Which reminds me, I should really stop picturing Rowena as Mortitia Adams.)

Which brings me to Helga. She must be one of the most lovable characters I've ever read. She is intelligent, thoughtful and kind but you still kept her very real, with fears and flaws that normal people have. But the thing I probably loved most about Helga, and the whole story for that matter, is Helga's voice. When I was in a choir many years ago, our choir leader would sometimes tell us to sing 'the way honey flows, as if from a spoon'. I always liked that metaphor and while reading your story, I connected it for the first time to a voice telling a tale. Because you made Helga's voice warm and poignant and each of her descriptions is filled with some profound emotion (I often cannot even figure out what this emotion is, only that it exists) and it all flows so seamlessly well. I still don't get the feeling I managed to stress just how much I love reading from Helga's point of view. :)

Salazar is, of course, much harder to read into. I like how we get to know more and more of him with each new chapter and how we don't always get what we expected. The relationship between Helga and Salazar is evenly paced and very intriguing and I can't wait to see how it will develop. It is always exciting to see two very different characters having so much natural chemistry.

And of course, as any great story does, yours has these charming little details; Helga's bare feet, Godric and his son, Helga turning Salazar into a cat (I could write a whole paragraph about this scene!), Helga's fascination with people's laughter; which make me especially warm around the heart.

I shall end this review now and you can expect hearing from me again (although I don't have nearly as much time for this site as I wish I had). Have a nice day! :)

- Andy

 Report Review

Review #3, by Phoenix_Flames Chapter Eleven

18th June 2014:
Ah, Maggie! I finally did it! I'd taken a long break off from HPFF, and I've only recently come back. So I finally got around to reading this last chapter! I can't tell you how perfect and yet how bittersweet it was. I loved it so much. I think it was the perfect way to end it, given the circumstances.

I thought you wrote Salazar's time away from the castle perfectly. I could tell Helga was just so upset by everything, and it was all just so perfectly written. Especially the beginning of one of the sections when you wrote Helga as describing herself as a ghost that was as grey as the stone. Oh my gosh, most perfect description ever. It was so beautiful and it really got the emotions across perfectly. I was surprised Godric was able to bring him back! I have no idea what he said or did, but I was just glad he did it!

And then Salazar's letter! It was so sweet and emotional. I don't blame Salazar at all for having those emotions. I like that you wrote him as wanting to hate her but completely unable to. I think it's sad that they couldn't go back to the way they were, but I also think that reconciling without love is honestly the best outcome that was possible for them. I don't see Salazar ever being able to go back to the way things were, so it really was the best outcome.

And then Elaine's birth! Oh my gosh. It was just the perfect way to end the story with a child that can appear as the silver lining to their feuds. I was honestly concerned for Elaine's life, but I was so happy that she was okay! And that the baby was healthy! And I love that you made the child have red hair! That was just precious, and I don't know who the Weasleys descended from that far back, but I'll just imagine that it was possible they descended from Godric's second son! I would like to think that.

This was all just so perfect, and as always you blew me away with your words and your ability to make everything sound so whimsical and so moving. I love this story so much! I'm so glad I got around to finishing it!!

Well done, Maggie!! :)

Author's Response: Drue! I have attempted to respond to this review a bunch of times, but RL kept getting in the way :( But I just don't even know how to express how thankful I am that you read this story, and that you took the time to leave such wonderful reviews. Your support has meant so much to me over the course of writing it!

Even though I always knew how the thing was going to end, I was still a little sad writing the ending. So I definitely get the bittersweet feeling. I'm glad you liked the mood, though, especially at the part when Salazar was gone. I'm still working to get more comfortable with those big sections of no dialogue, when it's basically all bound up in the narrator's head. But I thought it was appropriate for Helga's despondent mood in that section. I'm glad you liked the descriptions! And haha, I don't know what Godric said or did either, but I guess he is very persuasive and inspiring :)

The letter! It was one of my very favorite things to write in the whole story. I tried to really get the conflicting emotions and thoughts across. Sometimes I think I was a little too heavy-handed with it, but mostly I like the way it all turned out. I agree with you; they needed to reconcile, but friendship is the best option for them. They'll be okay :)

You know, I almost didn't even include the birth in the story, but then I realized I couldn't leave out the Gryffindor baby! Aww, I never thought about the Weasleys being descended from the Gryffindor line, but I love that idea. It does seem like a lot of important characters in HP have red hair, so I thought I'd throw a ginger into this story as well :) I thought a baby would be a perfect way to bring a hopeful feel to the ending; I wanted to bring everyone's eyes to the future (especially since the sequel is up now!)

You are so wonderful! I am just in awe of everything you've been able to write and contribute to HPFF, and I just hope to catch up with you someday! This review means the world to me, and I am so glad you enjoyed Down Comes the Night. Thank you again for your kind words and encouragement!!

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan Chapter Five

9th March 2014:
Hufflepuff Review Tag!

I love the first few paragraphs of this. Love it. So much. The descriptions of how she's adapting to her new "friendship" with him are lovely, you absolutely paint a picture of feelings with your words (Uh, that made more sense in my head). Helga is so confused and flustered, and I bet it's clear as day to Salazar, who it seems is kind enough to not point it out :p

I loved the scene with all of them considering how to defeat boggarts. Salazar was quite a moody jerk after Godric shared his happy news, but I loved the conversation between Helga and Salazar soo much. Seriously because of your fic I'm 100% a Helgazar shipper. (Which makes it difficult to keep writing my own Founders fic now, haha. )

Rowena is really sweet at the end, and I enjoyed seeing the two of them have some time for girl chat together. Man, she is in a tough place. I don't envy her.

I've probably mentioned this before but your dialogue really is fantastic. I struggle with writing Founders era dialogue and in this fic it just seems so effortless, it's really great.

Yay! Amazing chapter!

Author's Response: UGH KRISTIN. Why am I so awful? Why am I just now responding to this? *hangs head in shame* You are so sweet to keep coming by and reviewing every once in a while, and I love hearing from you!

ANYWAY. Response time! :)

I think I really like to have big chunks of description in my stories, and I'm always concerned that they will drag. And this one was particularly tough, I remember, because I needed to gloss over several weeks of time in a couple of paragraphs. It took me forever to get it anywhere near what I wanted! But I'm really glad that the feelings came through :) And you seem to have a perfect read on both Helga and Salazar, which makes me really happy!

Haha, they say once you go Helgazar, you never go back! (They don't actually say that. I don't even know who "they" is, really :P). But in all seriousness, that conversation is one of several turning points they've had, and it was great to have them begin to understand each other. I loved writing it! It was a lot of fun working with all the characters at this point in the story, because they're all getting to that point where they are comfortable letting their guards down a bit. Helga and Rowena's conversation at the end is my favorite part :)

Thanks again for coming by, and for your encouragement! I'll definitely have to check out your Founders fic again very soon and get caught up :) You're wonderful, Kristin!

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshp Chapter Eleven

19th February 2014:
Hey!

OMG I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS IS FINISHED!! SO MANY FEELS!! ASDFGHJKL;

*deep breath*

Well, I really loved this chapter. It was very bittersweet and I am glad it ended on a hopeful note. I have to say, you really have grown as a writer in the course of this story, so congratulations =)

I think both Helga and Salazar are written beautifully and realistically, and their relationship has been a great pleasure (and sometimes pain - heartache kind) to read. Godric and Rowena were also written very well, and I loved your portrayal of the four founders and their relations.

This chapter tied all the loose ends very nicely. I am glad Salazar came back though it was sad to see the way he acted around Helga. The gradual passing of seasons was also efficiently done and your descriptions were truly magical, especially of Helga's turmoil. My favourite line was: "I would no longer be Helga then, but simply a churning mass of grief and tenderness, longing and bitterness, all housed in the body of a stranger." I think you've described the pain of a broken heart very well here, of the struggle of not being able to talk about it too.

Then, I loved the letter Salazar wrote. It suited the personality you've carved for him in this story, and it made me want to smile and tear up at the same time. He really has grown as a character too. I just wanted to hug Helga then and later hug Salazar too (though he wouldn't have appreciated it xP). And Helga's response to it was also very believable. I am glad it somewhat bridged the distance between them.

The childbirth scene was also nicely done - Godric's reactions were perfect. I also liked the little interaction Salazar and Helga had, and then of course the ending brought it all together so sweetly - so great job!

All in all, I loved this chapter. I think it was perfect to end the story with it. The entire story of course was amazing and I loved every bit of it. I hope you write a sequel as I'll be more than delighted to read it.

Truly speaking, this is one of the best stories I've read on HPFF. Congrats on writing something so wonderful once again and seeing it through until the end =)

I'll be back to check out your author's page from time to time as you've become one of my favourite authors and I'd love to read more from you!

*bids adieu to Down Comes The Night*

If it wasn't emphasised enough, I want to say it once again, I loved this story and found it simply beautiful. Great job!

Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: I've been really struggling to find an adequate way to respond to this wonderful review, AD. I just...I don't even know what to say except thank you so much for your support and encouragement throughout the process of writing Down Comes the Night. You were one of the readers that kept me inspired and kept me going to the end! Honestly, I'm not sure I could have finished it without you! I know it's been a really long time, but I'm going to try and give you the response you deserve.

I"m so glad you felt both the good and the bad of Helgazar. They have so much potential to be a great couple, and yet there is just so much in their way. Although, many of their problems are brought on by their own stubbornness, I think. They just aren't ready to commit to each other and all the baggage it would entail. I knew it would end this way, but it was surprisingly sad to write it! I was glad to see people rooting for them, and there just might be hope for them in future stories (or not? Haha, time will tell!)

I'm so happy that you enjoyed the descriptions, especially in that section that showed the passing of months. I've been working really hard on that kind of thing over the course of this story, and I feel like I've improved a lot. It means so much that you think so too! I definitely look at this story as sort of a writing journey--reading it from beginning to end shows how far I've come as a writer over the past couple of years.

The letter was my favorite thing to write in the entire chapter. I knew Salazar would be much more expressive in an indirect way, such as a letter. And I really wanted the readers to be able to see what was really going on in his head, and his heart (and to give him a chance to show off his romantic side.) So a letter seemed like the best way to do it. Ugh, I was so tempted to use it as a way to get them back together immediately! Haha, I had to really force myself to end the story the way I felt it should end, because I hated to cause these characters pain. It's funny how that happens. I didn't really believe people who say they are so attached to their characters that it's hard to put them through tough situations. Now I totally get it.

The birth scene was unexpected! I wasn't sure how to end the story, and I hadn't intended for the Gryffindor baby to make an appearance. But the arrival of a new life seemed like a great way to show hope for the future, so I decided to include it. I'm glad I did, and I'm so glad you liked it! I'm already planning adventures for the Gryffindor boys to have in the castle :)

Oh goodness, I wish I could thank you enough for all your support, AD. It means the world to me that you followed DCtN all the way to its end, even though it took me forever to get there. I just love you! You're the best! *hugs*

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #6, by Brightpaw Chapter Eleven

5th January 2014:
I thoroughly loved this story! I started reading it ages ago, but had to stop because I was so into it I couldn't bear to see them break up, which I new had to be coming up... So when I saw it was completed I just read the last few paragraphs and then backed up. Aren't I terrible? Well I only do that very rarely with published books... so it means this is really good, right? ;)

Helgazar had never occurred to me before I read this and I think it's perfect. Helga is overlooked too much...

I really really really hope you write a sequel! Somehow because I've never heard of Helga and Salazar being together it's implanted in my true-to-canon brain that they can't be so I feel like they're going to turn out to be just-friends! Which would be awful so you need to write a sequel!

Author's Response: Hi, and thank you so much for reviewing! I'm so sorry I'm just now getting around to responding, but RL has been absolutely crazy lately. But anyway, I'm so glad you decided to push through and finish reading!

Haha, I do the exact same thing when I read. I have to know how things wrap up before I invest more time in getting there :) So I completely understand! And I totally agree with you about Helga. I think she really needs to be represented more often in Founders stories, and that was part of my motivation for writing my own. I'm so so happy you liked my take on her, and on Helgazar :)

A sequel is in the works currently, and hopefully I can get the first chapter finished pretty soon! Helga and Salazar will play supporting roles, but I'll try to give them some important and interesting things to do :) Thank you so much for coming by and leaving a review, it means the world to me! I so appreciate your time and your feedback.

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Chapter Four

1st January 2014:
For day 6 of the 12 days of reviewing!

MAGGIE ♥ Ah, I can't believe how long it's taken me to come back to this story, I'm so sorry! I really loved the first three chapters. And I loved this one too!

Aw, the conversation between Helga and Mary was very sweet :) I'm sure I've said before, but I LOVE the way you write Helga. She's so free spirited and caring. Which leads me to my next point - the boggart seems appropriate for her. How terrifying :O

I really liked the way Salazar finally displayed some emotion to her, even if he doesn't trust her enough to share his secret, about his greatest fear. Teehee, Helga totally has a crush. I love that she's so free and honest about everything, it's quite the contrast to Salazar who is very distant and keeps his true self locked up. I guess it'll take him a while to get out of that habit. Although I notice at the end of this chapter Helga's honesty is taking a turn - or at least, less free, with concealing the truth about her heritage...

You wrote Godric so well too - he would be super protective of her like that, and wish he'd gone in her place because that's the noble thing to do! And she's like "Whatever I don't need a man to save me." :D I absolutely love their friendship.

Lovely chapter! I am so glad I came back to read this and I hope to read more soon :)

Author's Response: Hi Kristin! Oh my goodness this review is so wonderful! I'm so sorry I've been away forever, but I want you to know that it makes my day every time I read it :)

You always hit the nail on the head with your perceptions of Helga, and it makes me happy :) I'm glad you saw her free spirited nature, and that you thought the boggart was a good touch. I worried a lot about that part as I was writing, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed it. I wanted it to be dramatic but not over the top.

One of the things I love most about this chapter is the fact that we see cracks in Salazar's perfect shell. It was really fun to write, especially from Helga's perspective :) And yes, this is where we see Helga first starting to wrestle with the issue of honesty about her blood. For me, the most interesting conflicts are always internal.

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, Kristin! I'm so ashamed of myself for going MIA, but I love hearing from you and I really appreciate your thoughts :)

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #8, by Rumbleroar goes roar Chapter Eleven

31st December 2013:
Oh, this story was just perfect! As was the bittersweet ending. I so want Helga and Salazar to work everything out but I understand why the can't do that immediately.
It was such a wonderful, beautiful story and I have to thank you for writing it because I enjoyed it so immensely. :)

Author's Response: You are such a sweetheart, seriously! I'm just so happy that you liked the story. I worked on it for so long (and honestly I still have a little editing left to do), so it's just extra wonderful to hear that there are people out there that read and enjoyed it :)

I loved all of your reviews so much! Thank you so much for dedicating all this time to reading and reviewing. I know how much effort that takes, and I'm just so akljsd;f honored that you did it for me! *hugs*

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #9, by Rumbleroar goes roar Chapter Nine

31st December 2013:
This chapter was so wonderfully done! Godric's fear was such a good twist. I so envy your writing! Can't wait to read on now :)

Author's Response: You are making my LIFE with these reviews. I'll get to work responding to all of them as soon as I can! Asjfjfksaj thank you so much! :D I'm so glad you're liking this story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Rumbleroar goes roar Chapter Seven

30th December 2013:
Oh my god! This chapter!! I have no words! :D :D (I loved it!)

Author's Response: My favorite chapter! It was so, so good to finally get Helgazar to come to fruition :) I loved giving the two of them some happiness together, and Salazar's story is one of the most dramatic scenes in the whole story (in my opinion, at least). I loved writing it and I'm SO thrilled that you liked it! And have I mentioned that all your reviews just make me smile every time I read them? You were so sweet to do all this!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Rumbleroar goes roar Chapter Six

30th December 2013:
Such a wonderfully written chapter. I especially liked Helga's thoughts on the sorting. "If anything, I wanted my legacy to be one of unity, not division." I really loved that!
Aww Salazar sticking up for her too. These characters are just so wonderful and interesting. :)

Author's Response: I loved getting to show a little bit of Hogwarts history in this chapter, and to explore how the founders might have discussed the possibility of sorting. It just doesn't seem like a very Hufflepuff concept to me, so I saw Helga fighting back against it. Unfortunately for her, we all know how that debate eventually resolved :/ And I loved writing Salazar defending her! I think it's the point where it really becomes obvious that he cares about her :)

Thank you thank you thank you! I'm slowly but surely getting all these responses done...I'm almost there, I think! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Rumbleroar goes roar Chapter Five

30th December 2013:
Agh! I love this! It makes me so sad to think that this story can't have a happy ending though... I hope it's not too tragic. Beautiful writing, as always!

Author's Response: This chapter is kind of the point when Helga really starts to imagine the possible consequences that could come about because of her lie--to me and to Helga, a lie by omission is still just as dishonest. I thought this would be a good time to start raising the stakes a little, and also to solidify the bond between Helga and Rowena (who I really loved writing). I'm glad you thought it turned out well, and that you liked the style of the writing :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Rumbleroar goes roar Chapter Three

30th December 2013:
Oooo it's a boggart! :D That's so clever! Really loving this story.

Author's Response: Haha, I'm already running out of creative ways to say thank you! I wanted to incorporate a boggart because I thought it would be an interesting way to show another dimension to my characters. So thrilled that you liked it! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rumbleroar goes roar Chapter Two

30th December 2013:
I think I love Slytherin even more now that I'm picturing James McCavoy (thanks to the chapter image) :P
I love the character interaction and how we are learning more about each character, yet not all the information at once. It really makes me want to read on! Oh and so does that cliffhanger :P

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad you liked James McAvoy as Salazar! I debated forever on which actor to choose (Tom Hiddleston was definitely in the running as well), but I ended up going with James simply because he looks a little younger. And that chapter image by Carnal Spiral really brings Salazar to life, I think :) I'm glad you enjoyed the gradual development of the characters, that's something I sort of struggled with in the early stages. So happy to hear it turned out well! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Rumbleroar goes roar Chapter One

30th December 2013:
Oh, I am so excited to be reading this story! I really like the characters so far and can't wait to read more of them. Helga certainly seems like a treat and (as a fellow Hufflepuff) I love that I'm reading it from her point of view. I also like the little detail that she is the chef, perhaps because the Hufflepuff common room is located near the kitchens. :)
This pairing is certainly interesting and I can't wait to see how their relationship develops! Great job.

Author's Response: You are so sweet and wonderful for reading and reviewing, and I'm sorry I'm so late in responding! But all of your wonderful reviews put a huge smile on my face, and I just don't know how to thank you enough, really *hugs*

I'm a Puff as well (in fact I think I might have seen you around the common room a time or two), so I really wanted to work with her. She's not explored as much as the other founders, I think, so I thought I should change that! Haha, she is definitely a food lover and the CR location reflects that :) Thanks again for all your wonderful kind words!

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #16, by bellatrixlestrange123 Chapter Four

27th December 2013:
Here for our review swap! I have been reading this story for a while so it was quite good that you offered a review swap because I always forget to review stories *guilty sigh*

Firstly, based on all of the previous chapters, I am completely in awe of your writing! It's so completely emotive and any problems your characters face, emotionally or empirical, are written so well that us readers are able to really empathize and wish, pray, beg for a solution :p

In any case though, I am here to review this chapter in it's own right :)

Firstly, you write Helga so well! Her nature is so caring and mother like and she reminds me of a younger Mcgonagall would be like, or what I have always imagined a younger version of her to be like. Also, I admire her morality and the way you write her values. Obviously they match the values of Hufflepuff house but it is always interesting to read about how those values got there :)

Slytherin is quite the character too and the scene with him and Helga in the dungeons was so well written! Aside from the fear and claustrophobia and the realistic feelings I got from the scene where Helga is trapped in the iron bars, the way Salazar handled the situation brought out his caring side. It seemed as though he opened up more now that she had seen a side of him not many had, or now that they have shared a common scary experience.

Over and above that, as I said before, you write problems very well and Godric's dilemma about bringing out the truth about his blood status was obviously something both him and Helga held important and I really felt that with your writing, well done!

All I can say is I cannot wait to carry on reading and keep up the great work!

Bella x

Author's Response: Hi Bella! Thanks so much for the swap, and I'm so sorry to have taken so long responding to your wonderful review. But I'm here now, and I really really appreciate all your kind words. And don't worry about forgetting to review! Haha we're all guilty of it :)

I'm so glad you like Helga! I've grown really attached to her over the course of writing this story, and I hoped that people would love her as much as I do. I love the comparison to McGonagall...I've never heard that said about Helga before, but it makes so much sense! And yes, she does have a very strong conscience that guides her. She does her best to follow it, but sometimes it's hard for her to live up to that standard she sets for herself.

I loved writing that dungeon scene! Helga is such a free spirit, so I thought one of her greatest fears would be feeling trapped in any way. Hence the bars :) And I just loved writing their connection in that moment. You're right, the experience of shared fear did bring them closer together :)

A lot of the conflicts and problems in this story are more internal than external. I wanted this story to be character-driven above all, so most of the drama tends to unfold from the characters' own thoughts, emotions, and personal hangups. I'm glad you felt that they were well done, because I did worry about that! I hoped that being inside Helga's head would be interesting enough without adding a lot of outside happenings. Plot-driven stories aren't really my strong suit. That may be why my narrators tend to be characters that over-think, or at least tend not to be very action-oriented. And I'd say Helga fits this bill :)

Thank you for the lovely detailed review, Bella! I'm so glad we got a chance to swap!

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #17, by patronus_charm Chapter Eleven

23rd December 2013:
Iím being slightly naughty and skipping to this story in my review thread when I havenít done the others but I had to see how Helgazar tied up!

The follow up from the big revelation was perfect. Perfect in a sense of the characters reactions now in how I wanted them to react which would be Salazar professing that he didnít care about love and then swiftly proposing to Helga, which didnít happen sadly. :( I could really sense the pureness of Helga though and how she simply just didnít want to hurt anyone by bothering them from her reaction, which was just like her.

It was the silent things about how she doesnít usually feel envy which showed it, because this sign just showed how much Salazarís actions were hurting her and how much she wished they could have been different. I suppose one never really gets what they wish for.

I love the small cameo from Atticus! It was just like the Blacks to try and peek into someone elseís letter and find out what they were up to.

Gah, the letter *falls to ground and sobs to death while stuffing chocolate in mouth*. The language used in there was spot on with the time period and fitted in really well and that was a really great addition and care for detail. But the content was so heart-breaking. Iím so proud of Salazar for recognising all the good things about Helga, and how she was that, but the fact he canít just remember that and forget about her blood status made me want to throw things at him. it was so sad and horrible.

I really wish that Helga would have written that letter. I could sense her pain so much when she was beginning to compose it and I wanted to hug her because of it.

Wah, Salazar came to the birth, wah Salazar and Godric had an important talk, wah there may be hope for Helgazar. Iím sorry those thoughts arenít composed in a better way, itís just all I can really think for the moment about that situation as itís just so wah worthy with all the hope in it. You ask if it ended well, but with the hope given there, I couldnít have been happier!

I really loved the sign of hope at end because a. it gives hope for a sequel b. It contrasts nicely with the madness of starting a school in the prologue and c. Helgazar!

This was such a fabulous story, Maggie, and Iím so glad that I could be a part of its journey as it had such a lovely ending!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Kiana! I literally don't know how to thank you for all the incredible support and encouragement you've given me throughout this process. If it weren't for your help, I might still be agonizing over what Helga's Riddikulus charm would look like :) And every review you left inspired me to keep working on this story even when I was really swamped and discouraged. I don't know if I wold have made it to this point without you!

But anyway. Mushy stuff. Sorry for all that, but you're seriously the best *hugs*

Now for the actual response! I think a lot of people were kind of expecting Salazar to come back and profess his undying love for Helga, and the romantic in me wanted to make that happen :( But I knew from the start that this was the right ending. The relationship that is Helgazar has a lot to overcome, and it couldn't happen overnight. But sequels are planned. You never know what could happen, and honestly I'm not sure myself at this point!

Of all my reviewers, you're the one that's been the hardest on Salazar, I think. I love it! He says and does infuriating things, and sometimes I want to throw things at him too! But he has such potential for good as well, and I think the letter was a high point for him. I wanted him to have a moment where he could be honest about his conflicting feelings toward Helga, but I also knew he'd rather pull his hair out than do it face to face. Your reaction to the letter was EXACTLY what I was hoping for--it's one of my favorite parts of the chapter, because the romantic in me got to come out for the first time in a while :)

I hated writing Helga so unhappy in this chapter :( But heartbreak was pretty much inevitable for her. That was part of the reason I chose to end the chapter on a note of hope, like you noticed. I wanted everyone to start looking ahead at brighter possibilities, even if there's still sadness there. And what better way to symbolize hope than the birth of a new baby? Your stamp of approval on the ending puts a lot of my fears to rest, so thank you for that. It was a long wait and a lot of buildup, and I wanted this chapter to be worth it.

Alksdjflkdshg I can't believe it's over! Thank you so much, again, for everything you've done and all your help. I'm so thankful to have found an HPFF friend in you, Kiana! :)

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #18, by Calpurnia7 Chapter Eleven

22nd December 2013:
Hello there!
What an early Christmas present! I have been waiting for this chapter for ages and finally here it comes! Let me tell you something: you did a great job with this story and not only with this chapter.. I have to admit that I was expecting something more "spectacular", a "coup de theatre", but what you did and the way you did it is perfect and a lot more realistic than some far fetched turns of events, and I loved the open ending, too. Your Helga is my Helga! I have always pictured her more or less the way you describe her and I have always thought that she would have ended, one way or another, with Salazar. If I am to be honest, I must say that I am a bit sad that all this is over and I do really hope that you will add something else, like another short story companion to this one! Have an happy Christmas!
Bye bye ;)

Author's Response: You have made me the happiest author on the planet with this review! Thank you so, so much for coming by, and for liking this story all the way to the end :) I'm so sorry to have kept you waiting this long, but I hope the end result was somewhat worth the wait!

I was really nervous to see what people would think of how I chose to end this, because of exactly what you described. I thought it should end with a fizzle rather than a bang, and the uncertainty and longing that came with it fits this pairing well, I thought. I'm so glad you were happy with it!

Bringing Helga to life has just been a privilege, and it makes me so proud that I have readers who love her as much as I do. And yes, there is a sequel in the works! I hope you get a chance to read it when it goes up :)

I'm just on cloud nine right now! You have no idea how much it means to me that you came by to review. Thank you so much for your time and your incredibly kind words, and of course for enjoying this story.

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #19, by Courtney Dark Chapter One

20th December 2013:
Tag!

Oooh, this was such a great first chapter, I really enjoyed it!

I've always loved reading Founders stories, but unfortunately I haven't been able to find many on this site. Therefore, I am absolutely delighted that I have stumbled across this one.

I loved the way you introduced this story in this first chapter. Somehow, you managed to give so much information about Helga's backstory and the characteristics of the four Founders, without information dumping and giving me a headache. It was easy to read, and the pacing was great. And I really like the tone that you have set, too.

I love that this is written in first person! I have never read a Founders fic before that way, and it makes me feel so much more connected to Helga as a character.

I already love the relationships that you have built up between the characters, especially between Helga and Godric and Helga and Salazar. I love the whole backstory between Godric and Helga, how they have been friends since childhood, inventing their own spells and whatnot. And I also like the fact that they are both of Muggle birth - will Salazar ever find out, I wonder?

I loved the scene at the end, when Helga turned Salazar into a cat. That's definitely putting him in his place!

This was a great chapter, and I definitely intend to read more!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi Courtney! Thanks so much for tagging me :) I'm a Founders lover as well (clearly), so I definitely see where you're coming from. I'm glad you enjoyed this opening!

Haha, this first chapter went through several extensive edits so that it would hit the right notes. It definitely did not start out with the flow it has now! I'm glad to hear that it doesn't feel like an information dump, because that means I did my editing right :)

I love writing in first person! It just helped me feel so much more attached to Helga while I was writing, and I think her voice came through so much more clearly this way. It's great to hear that you felt the same way! If I had done third (which I'm not nearly as comfortable with), this would have felt like a very different story.

The dynamics you've picked up on have been some of my favorites to write. If you read on I hope you continue to enjoy them. And the Muggle-born thing will be an important element, I will say that. But you'll have to read on to find out exactly what role it plays :)

Thanks so much for coming by, Courtney! I really appreciate this sweet review and I hope you keep enjoying the story :)

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #20, by Phoenix_Flames Chapter Ten

25th September 2013:
Oh my goodness, oh my goodness!! First off, I must apologize!! I can't believe it took me so long to get around to this chapter!! My schoolwork has kept me way too busy lately, and I only had the time to read this!

And I'm so glad I did!! Why didn't I have the time sooner?! I'm so glad you updated!! And you dedicated this chapter to me!! You are TOO SWEET!!! LOVE YOU!

Anyways, on with the review! I loved this chapter. I guess after all my anticipating how Salazar would react, I guess this isn't the worst. Thank goodness for that. I mean, yeah. He's mad. Wow. But I still have hope for them! Is that good? Or are you just stringing me along and are then going to crush my dreams in the next chapter?! :P I love them together!!

As always this was just a marvelously perfect chapter. So flawless. Your dialogue continues to amaze me. I just feel like I'm watching a movie or reading a book right out of this time. Reading/watching Game of Thrones, or the movie Tristan + Isolde. Or something like that. Even JKR writing the founders herself. That's what I feel when I read this. You just have this era down to a T.

Ahh, my dear! I loved it!! Thanks for the wonderful chapter as always! And the dedication!! You are too kind! :) I hope to read the next chapter soon!! :)


Drue

Author's Response: Oh Drue, I'm so sorry I haven't responded to this review before now! RL has so hectic over the past few months and I kept forgetting. But I'm so so happy you liked this chapter, and that you came by to review. And OF COURSE I dedicated it to you! You were the one that really got the wheels turning when I was stuck, so I had to thank you :)

I love them together too! But yeah, he's none too happy with Helga after this revelation. I actually had a really hard time deciding how harsh his reaction should be. I wanted it to be intense, but my 15+ rating is also really important to me. So I tried to get his devastation across--everything he knew about Helga has gone out the window, he feels--without being /too/ over the top.

I'm so flattered (and floored, really) by the Tristan + Isolde comparison, because that's one of my go-to movies to find inspiration for this story. It's always so great to hear that people really feel the antiquated-ness of the story, and that they're transported to another time when they read it. Thank you so so much!

I just don't even know how to say thank you for all your wonderful kind words! I'm frantically working on the final chapter (I WILL get it into the queue before it closes!), and I can't wait to see what you think of the ending. You are wonderful, darlin!

--Maggie



 Report Review

Review #21, by MissesWeasley123 Chapter Five

14th September 2013:
Wa Maggie I hope you don't think I've forgotten about you and Helga!! I needed to come on and just realized I wasn't logged in but I really want to review this chapter so yeah. SO many feels!!!

asdfghjkl THEY ARE FALLING IN LOVE!!

Okay, so maybe I ought to calm down a bit.

So, again, the fact that Helga Hufflepuff found the countercurse to a boggart makes me so happy. So happy.It just breaks all stereotypes of houses and is kind of like a slap in the face to people like Draco or Voldy even.

I loved the developement in relationship that you showed in this chapter. It's so warm and kind of troubling because we all know that Slytherin's a bloody jerk. Oh well.

Hopefully I can log back in to review the next chapter!

-Nadia

Author's Response: NADIA. I can't believe I'm just now responding to this review. RL has been absolutely crazy, as you know since you've seen me complaining on the forums :P But anyway, I so appreciate the review, and I'm just thrilled that you're enjoying the story!

Haha I totally agree about the countercurse! I just really needed Helga to have some moments where she proves herself to the others (and in doing so, shakes up the house stereotypes that we tend to hold in our minds).

Wow, Salazar gets no love from you, huh? Haha that's probably a very wise attitude, though I hope to show some unexpected sides to him as well as Helga. And I love that you're enjoying the connection between them; it's definitely growing!

Thanks again for the lovely review, Nadia! I'll look forward to seeing what you think of later chapters :)

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #22, by dobby88 Chapter Two

27th August 2013:
I could have sworn that I've left you a review before now but I haven't, I started reading this a while back but I forgot to favorite it so I sort of lost it- but when it was voted for best founders in the keckers I found it again! And I'm so glad I did! I love Helga/Salazar!

I love the whole way it's written- the way they speak is how I imagine the era to have been, and it seems quite accurate with nobles/peasants and how they all dress :) It must be so hard to write though! It's very effective and makes the story feel realistic

In this chapter I love how Helga is just getting glances of the true Salazar behind all the snideness, and I can't wait to read on :D

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for the review (even if I am several months late in responding...sorry!) I so appreciate you coming by to review, and I'm really happy you've enjoyed the story!

I absolutely love writing in this style. For some reason it hasn't been nearly as hard as I imagined it might be...I think I've found my niche in the fanfiction world, haha. I'm so glad you like the feel of it. And don't worry, there will be plenty of Helgazar moments to come! I hope you get a chance to keep reading. Thanks again for coming by! This review makes me smile every time I read it :)

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #23, by Aphoride Chapter Eight

26th August 2013:
Hey there, again! I'm so glad to see you back so soon - I really do love this story! :)

I realised when I started reading this chapter that I should probably apologise, lol, for the fact that my reviews are supposed to be, I dunno, helpful, and they tend to be full of gushing and just 'I love this!' ;) Ah well... :P

Anyway, addressing your concerns first, I don't think you have anything to worry about with the voice or style of this chapter compared to the one before. I read the chapter before as well to compare and it seemed exactly identical. The way you use your words, and your word choice, is just so unbelievably clever - you always manage to pick the right one to invoke the time period and yet not sound out of place. It's pretty incredible.

Also, how do you manage to write a chapter about how everything is going well and everyone is happy and getting on with each other and still make it so riveting? Seriously?! It's some kind of skill you have there... I could never do that.

Moving on! Ah, I love Salazar (and I share his fondness for sweets, too ;D) to bits. He's trying and he's not sure if he wants to try, but he is because she thinks he can do it and it's just too sweet. Mahaha, I loved it when she teased him as well, when she realised he was unsure of what to do and how to act and things. It was a lovely little thing to add in - a nice, odd vulnerability for him to have, I think, though it suits him very well.

Helga is amazing. End of. There's a reason she's nominated for a Dobby - I mean, she's exactly the way she's been described in canon (not that there was much of that) and yet she's not perfect either. She's nice, but impatient; calm, but almost timid. It's a really, really great balance of traits you've given her. She just seems so real.

Her relationship with Godric is brilliant, as well - he's kinda like her older brother. 'Something powerful behind closed doors' - I will admit that I smirked and sniggered at that point. It was just so perfectly timed... poor Helga :P

Gah, I just love this so much - I have a bad feeling that something is going to explode in a while, but this was such a feel-good chapter... Helgazar are so perfect for each other! :) I genuinely adore this story. It's incredible!

Please, please re-request! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: I am a terrible person. I have read this review so many times over the past several months, intending to respond, and just never was able to carve out the time. Because I wanted to be thoughtful, and give this wonderful review justice! Thank you so, so much for all your kind words, Aph!

Haha, I always worry that the happy parts aren't very interesting, and yet I think they're necessary. I didn't want this to be a total downer! I'm glad you liked the fluffiness of this chapter. The Helgazar love was so much fun to write :)

I have to admit that I really love Salazar in this chapter too; I tried to portray him at his best. Deep down he has a little bit of a soft side, and it's starting to come out when Helga's around :) And it occurred to me that Salazar wouldn't really have had much experience with romance, since he has such a solitary nature. I wanted to play that up, and I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Haha, I still can't believe Helga got nominated, and that she was a finalist! It blows my mind when I think about it, and I'm just over the moon that you guys enjoy her. I did want her to be well-rounded and not put her on too much of a pedestal (though I am partial to her over the rest of the founders...she's just always been my favorite!) It makes me so happy to hear that she seems like an actual person and not just a caricature of Hufflepuff traits. And oh, Godric. He's definitely got the big brother thing down, especially at that moment.

Thank you so much for the review, even if my response is so shamefully late. I'm so happy you've enjoyed DCtN so far, and I hope you'll be able to read on! I've got the next chapter in the works :)

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #24, by Valťrianne Chapter Four

24th August 2013:
Awesome. Might be the best fanfiction I have ever read ...

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I am so thrilled that you're enjoying this story. I'm working hard on the next chapter, so stay tuned!

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #25, by MissesWeasley123 Chapter Four

23rd August 2013:
Okay. I take back what I said about Salazar. Only a teensy bit though of course...

Review 90? I think so! Congrats :)

Okay, so I loved how you began this chapter! Helga is such a sweetheart, and she just makes me grin all over the place. The entire scene with Mary was priceless, but of course Salazar had to ruin it. *sigh*

Again, wonderful job on the detail! The whole scene with the boggart was well scripted and highly enjoyable to read! I gasped when I read this line though:

His tone was heavy; there was a world of experience in it. How you came up with that Maggie... that was so poetic. Just saying!

The thought of losing her freedom scares her :( Awe...

Another part that made me very feelsie was when Helga began comparing what Godric (gosh it feels so weird to call them by their first names) would've done if he was in Salazar's place...

But it was still sweet this chapter :D I loved it!

Great work lovely!
Nadia

Author's Response: Nadia! I'm looking at this lovely new skin we have, and it's inspired me to get back to review responding (especially since I can't escape the "unanswered reviews" button now :) But I've been meaning to get to this for ages now!

Haha, do I sense a Godric/Helga shipper in you? I've had a few of those, but I'll have to be disappointing and say that they remain best friends. But I'm thrilled that you're enjoying Godric. And I hope Salazar keeps growing on you! He'll start to get much more tolerable soon, I hope :)

Thank you for noticing that line! I'm so happy you liked it. And I loved writing the boggart scene, so it means the world that you thought it was done well.

Thanks for another wonderful review! I hope to see you back soon :D

--Maggie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>