Reading Reviews for Birthday Gift
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by True Author Birthday Gift

13th February 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap! :D

I know you would rather have a review on your new
stuff, but I'm not comfortable with slash and I
had already reviewed Grief and Love. I hope you
don't mind! :)

Haha, I loved this! I kind of knew that this was
what Rowling was hinting at but it was never
confirmed of course. But you have managed to
capture Ginny's state of mind perfectly. I was
feeling kind of bad for her from the beginning
because I knew that Ron was going to open the
door. :P Poor Ginny! But anyways, her emotions
were very well written and sweet.

The descriptions of their kiss were sooo
beautiful! Aah! Hinny feels! ;)

Great job overall!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi! Don't worry, I love getting reviews on any story!

Thanks for this review swap! I'm glad you like this scene. It's one of my favourite moments in DH. I would love if Harry's and Ginny's relationship were a bigger part of the books, so I love missing moments and such with H/G.


 Report Review

Review #2, by StarFeather Birthday Gift

1st February 2015:
Hi, Molly. I stopped by from Gryffindor Common Room.

I was reallly impressed by your writing about the scene J.K.Rowling wrote in Book 7, which made me think of writing the same scene from Harry's point of view for response to your Ginny's point of view. I'll promise, I'll try it and thank you!

I'll check your other stories.

Author's Response: Thank you! Please tell me if or when you post your story so I can read and review! :-)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Unicorn_Charm Birthday Gift

23rd January 2015:
Hi there! I'm here for our swap! :)

I always love reading scenarios that happened in canon from another persons POV. I never really gave much more thought to that kiss and just always took it at face value. That it was just a kiss to remember her by. But now that I've read this one-shot, I'm seeing that moment in a completely different light. Like how she tells him that she wanted to give him something to remember. It makes so much more sense that she would have been planning on more than what happened.

There were a lot of good points brought up. Either one of them easily could have died during that war. And I think if Harry didn't survive, Ginny would have felt like a piece of her died as well. I really, really liked that line about her taking a part of him rather than giving herself Harry. That said so much it so few words. I just loved it.

I wonder what would have happened if Ron didn't come barging in. I guess we'll never know, will we?

This was a great look at Ginny's thought process that morning. I really enjoyed this! Thanks so much for doing the swap!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

I'm glad you liked it! Yes, it's always interesting with a different POV. Ginny is one of my favourite charcters, and I woulld like to write her POV more often.

Oh, what if Ron didn't came in...? I have a clear picture (obviously) about Ginny's plans, but I do think that Harry would have stopped it. Maybe. Not sure... ;-)


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Basilisk Birthday Gift

11th January 2015:
This wass a fantassstic sstory. I've come to expect nothing but the bessst from you, though.

I've always loved these sort of missing moments stories, where we get a touch in on someone's mind surrounding a canon event. There are some parts of this story that mesh well so with who we know Ginny is, according to JKR, which only helps enhance the benefits of a missing moments story.

You're ace at characterisation, for sure. There are a few sentences that are kind of awkward, "That thought is eating me, ripping me apart, actually." But it's not enough to really take away from the flow of the story. All in all, I am extremely glad to have had the chance to come across and read this story! You've left me in awe of your talent. :p

Ssssee you later~

The Basilisk

Author's Response: Thanks you for reading and reviewing! Ginny is one of my favourite characters, and I wo have loved if there was more of her in the books. She is strong and determined.

 Report Review

Review #5, by HPmum14 Birthday Gift

7th January 2015:
Well done, very true to canon xx

Author's Response: Thanks! :-)

 Report Review

Review #6, by adluvshp Birthday Gift

11th December 2012:
"Holiday Review Extravaganza Event Two"

Hello! This was a nice little one-shot. I liked the insight into Ginny's mind, on how she felt about Harry, and how she missed him so. Her intentions for his birthday "gift" were nicely weaved into what actually happened in canon. I do think though that if she had intended to do what she did, she'd have locked her room door, lol.

But anyway, this was a sweet little fic. I liked reading it. I didn't spot any grammar or spelling mistakes either, so good job!

8/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, it would have been a good idea to lock the door, wouldn't it? ;-)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jchrissy Birthday Gift

3rd October 2012:
I really, really liked that you put more behind what we read in the books with this sense. At first I was wondering if you'd change it, and make this some unknown thing that happened behind the scenes, but then when her brother interrupted them I felt myself giggle about how perfectly you tied it all together.

Ginny's sense of determination throughout, her mixture of loving Harry, wanting Harry, regretting what he has to do but understanding why, and thinking through her own feelings.. all that felt very right to me. I don't understand Ginny. I never loved her in the books, and I think she's one of those characters that I feel like I can't put a personality too. But you gave her a sort of strong patience and wonderful self confidence without making it seem unrealistic, and I absolutely adored that. I also liked that she was nervous, because who wouldn't be? Regardless of those nerves, she knew what she wanted.

You make it clear through this that she isn't moping about what happened. She's upset that she's had to miss him, that she'll continue having to miss him, but she is so stable and I can feel her commitment to him even here. And I think that went miles in taking away some of the whiny girl tendencies I seem to get from her.

There are a few parts that feel over formal, I think adding some more contractions would help clear that up. And I kind of caught myself imagining a blank room, so maybe while she's thinking on how she's waiting in her room for him to wake up, you could slip some details about her room to give me an idea of where she's sitting, what she sees... Both of those are very small critiques obviously, but I thought I'd throw them out!

This is a really heart warming piece, and a pleasure to read!

Author's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! I'm sorry that it took me so long to respond to it.

Ginny is really one of my favourite charachters, and I have thought a lot about how she probably felt during HBP and DH. I'm glad that you liked this story even if you are not very fond of Ginny.

Thank you for pointing out some things that could be improved. This story was among the first I wrote, and it is un-beta'ed which I guess shows in the language.

Thanks! :-)


 Report Review

Review #8, by louisemae1 Birthday Gift

19th August 2012:
Would've been awkward if Ron walked in 5 minutes later! I wish I could write as well as you do! :D

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words! :-)

 Report Review

Review #9, by CambAngst Birthday Gift

5th May 2012:
Tagging you from the Review the Person Above You thread in the common room.

This was really sweet and touching, from start to finish. I thought you did a terrific job of capturing Ginny's feelings for Harry, both in terms of the obsession that she's had with him since she was very young and the very real need to be with him that she's developed over the years. This embodied the full range of her desire, from the very immature all the way through to a more grown up sort of connection.

The way you continuously repeat the words "love him" and "miss him" really helped to reinforce the single-mindedness of her purpose. By the end, it made perfect sense why she was set on doing what she was planning to do.

As far as constructive criticism, I'll start with a small thing:

"There was times this spring when we got close..." - should be "There were..."

Aside from that, I think it would have been interesting for you to explore more of Ginny's feelings aside from just the way that she misses and loves Harry. She says that she needs him, specifically that she needs him to survive. I thought you could have expanded on that quite a bit. What does she see in her own future? What are her fears and anxieties? And where does Harry fit in all of that? How does her decision to "take him" help her with this uncertain future?

Overall, I thought this was very nicely written. Even though it was short, you captured a very poignant moment from the books and even managed to end it on a note of dry humor.

Author's Response: Thank you for a thoughtful and lovely review!

I'm glad that you appreciated how I tried to piture Ginny both as a very young and naive girl, and as a mature and determined young woman.

I'm happy to get some cc on this fic too. I guess I could elaborate more about her feelings.

Thank your for pointing out that grammar mistake too! (It's just the kind of mistake I frequently tend to make, since I'm not a native English speaker...)


 Report Review

Review #10, by maddy Birthday Gift

25th January 2012:
hahaha that was so amazing! you are so talented! keep on writing

Author's Response: Thank you! :-)

 Report Review

Review #11, by hp481516 Birthday Gift

20th January 2012:
This was an awesome story! I really felt for Ginny and loved how you kept repeating "I miss him." You did a great job using some of the lines from the 7th book while creating your own at the kissing part.

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words! I am glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by jellybean2109 Birthday Gift

6th January 2012:
aw!! that was sooo cute and very intresting i wish you would have carried it on a bit you know gone a little deeper with the kiss or cut it short with an introuption by ron or if you had gone really far into the kiss maybe got introupted by Mrs Weasley any way great story :-D

Author's Response: Well, maybe I will... I'll think about it. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Loopy456 Birthday Gift

6th January 2012:
Ooh I like this :) Poor Ginny! I wish you'd carried on a bit though. I'm wondering what happened afterwards - whether Ron interrupts like he does in the book or if they manage to stay undetected. Did you think of continuing it? It's still nice, regardless :)

Author's Response: I think Ron interrupts... But it would be nice with a "what if..?"-story where he doesn't...

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login