Reading Reviews for Awkward
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by daydreamer12 Chapter Three

25th January 2012:
o Gus.you is awkward :) I actually really like Al's character-can't wait to learn more about him!! Please update ASAP

 Report Review

Review #2, by AC_rules Chapter Three

25th January 2012:
Ahha, this chapter was lovely.

I'm a big fan of Awkwardness. Mostly because, being myself, it's sort of unavoidable - some people are just awkward, and I would be one of those people and it seems like Gus would be one of those people too... but that's fine. I guess you get used to it.

My favourite part of this chapter was definately the bit between Gus and Al - it just seemed really natural and lovely. There was one line especially, but it wasn't 12+ but... to paraphrase the 'its fun to watch you mess around' - I just thought that was so REAL.

And then, poor Gus with Bones. Oh dear. Although, that seemed to be the most awkward part of the chapter for me - in all ways of looking at it.

And then, with James! I've used 'I have to go wash my house elf' before in a story, and this bit just reminded me so completely of that. It really amused me :)

-AC/Helen

 Report Review

Review #3, by AC_rules Chapter Two

25th January 2012:
Hello there Elle, back here for chapter two as previously stated in the review for chapter one.

This chapter was just as fabulous as the first, I think, and I really enjoyed it. Poor Gus, with silly... er... Jill? Being all mean and insulting her when she's all lovely and stuff. I really like Gus. I love how's she's not ridiculous down on herself, but there's a level of self-deprivation. There's a sort of undercurrent of her not being entirely comfortable with herself, but she's not spending the whole time weeping into her bed covers because someone suggested she was on the tubby side. I like that. She's strong.

And she's not a headcase - well done, Gus.

I really liked the explanation of the James stuff - it seemed in the last chapter like there was going to be a romantic sort of issue, but I thought it was so much better when it was a friendship thing. But I still liked that there was the orginal ambiguity about it.

Man, I'm rambling again.

Anyway, I really enjoyed it. And now I want toast. Nom nom.

-AC/Helen

 Report Review

Review #4, by AC_rules Chapter One

25th January 2012:
Oh I really really enjoyed this!

I was going to review this after my exam tomorrow, but then I got rejected from this uni and I needed something to cheer me up - and this certainly did.

This was so like... smooth. The words just all flowed off the page and into my head, which was just lovely. There were none of these moments when you have to read sentences, it was actually sort of blissful (which works for me, considering this is officially my revision break). It just felt really NATURAL. Really, a pleasure to read (sorry about the rambling, it's late :P).

And then Gus, oh I love Gus. Already I think she's wonderful - I loved her dry comments about how everyone seemed to be congratulating her on not becoming a train wreck, she seems so lovely and wonderful. And, what's this - a fic with a character who eats a lot and doesn't stay a stick-skinny-twiggy-no-legs? Ah, realism meets fanfiction. How refreashing :P

And, oh, I don't like to think of Neville being left and alone... that really makes me sad but I guess I'll forgive you as I really enjoyed this chapter. What's the deal with James?! I loved all the Weasleys. And good old Lucy :')

Basically, I loved everything about this and I'm really glad that I got a chance to come and read it! I'll definately be reading and reviewing the rest of the chapters. Probably right now, as its much too early for bed but too late for more revision.

- Ac/Helen

 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Two

24th January 2012:
Recently I've gained some weight so Gus and I are in the same boat it seems with the sensitivity from weight jokes or just plain mean sayings from friends. What I really like about this is that you make Gus very relateable because we've all had those friendships where the friend makes digs at us or we've drifted apart or we've had weight issues or family issues, whatever the case may be I see myself wanting to be Gus's friend and just being there for her because the girls she surrounds herself with right now don't seem to be all that understanding.

 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter One

24th January 2012:
I cried a little while reading this even though it's supposed to be funny but Gus reminds me of myself when I was younger at a really really awkward stage. The discomfort she felt brought back memories and I just wanted to squish her. Oh! I turn to mush whenever anyone brings weight into their fics. I like Gus so far and Neville. I actually don't know what you have in store for us but I hope Gus will be comfortable in her own skin without changing herself in the future. :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ravenclaw333 Chapter Two

21st January 2012:
I love you for writing this.

Seriously.

I don't think I've ever actually read a story with an overweight OC and it's so refreshing and realistic and relatable and gah. I'm a bit on the chunky side myself, so I can so relate to this. And the 'memory of the friendship I'd had once upon a time.' I've been there. So thank you heaps for writing this and I really look forward to reading more, this is the kind of story I wish I could write myself, and you have restored my faith in fanfiction.

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, this review has me blushing like crazy. You are just too nice. I am seriously, like, dying. Also, I just realized who you are (Southern Cross?!) and I squeed a bit. I wrote Gus cause I got a bit bored with the usual suspects, and I really didn't know if anyone would like her, but the positive reviews I've gotten have kept me going! Chapter three in the queue, chapter four is in the works and I think I'll be sticking with this for a while, so I hope I see you back! Thank you thank you thank you, this reviews was just e :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by daydreamer12 Chapter Two

19th January 2012:
poor Gus :( She really doesn't have a very fun life at the moment...I hope it turns up soon! I have sympathy for Gus, but I'd love it if she pushed herself more to get out of her funk.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Yeah, Gus will eventually get her head on straight. Not in the next chapter, or even the one after that. But everyone has to grow up eventually, and that's what this is about! I hope you stick around to see how it goes!

- Elle :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by potterheadlove Chapter Two

18th January 2012:
Wow, I really did love this! thank you!
I was kind of losing hope for next-gen ff haha, but this one stands out, so props for the banner and the summary ( straight to the point, intriguing, original).
The first chapter was indeed a bit clumsy at the beginning, maybe because you went straight to the background, but i still like it. I love how it is not cliché - but realistic. The whole Neville/Hannah stuff, the "i'm in the same year as Albus and Rose but there are not my bff/nemesis", and even Gus' roommates are really interesting (i usually hate the secondary characters because they are so stereotyped/dull).
The second chapter was really good! i loved it, and now I can't wait to read more (so update soon *hints hints*) .
And about Gus... I ALREADY LOVED HER. At last, a real awkward character! i'm so sick of crazy pretty pseudo-awkward ocs. Gus looks real. I relate to her. I understand her . Gah low self-esteem and weigh issue? that is what 17 yo average girl's life is about hahaha. And damn i can't wait to see her interact with James again! how awkward will it be.

So yeah, to close this big review(sorry), it was really good and refreshing, and (please please please) don't give up on it, lot of good stories get abandoned for lack of reviews, but i really wish this story will stick around. keep writing! x

Author's Response: Ah! I am speechless. This review just made my day. Thank you for all the kind things!!

I'm super glad you like Gus. I love her too, obviously, and it's good to know other people do, since I really don't feel like big girls get enough love in fanfic. I'm trying to keep her real, so I hope I can keep it up!

I'm sorry for the clumsy first chapter :( I am in the process of editing everything, slowly but surely. Hopefully things will start coming together soon!

I'll have chapter three in the cue tomorrow I think, and there will most likely be some awkward James action, don't worry :) Thank you again, this really was such a lovely review, I hope I see you again!

- Elle :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by BriIsASlytherin Chapter Two

11th January 2012:
Ok This one was fantastic :D I loved it :D -Bri

Author's Response: Aw, good to hear, thanks for coming back! I hope I can keep it up in the next chapter. - Elle :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Stormwolf33 Chapter Two

8th January 2012:
This story sounds really good so far! I love how Gus really acts like a Longbottom - she seems a bit more realistic than most of the other stories I have read

I can't wait for you to update!

Author's Response: Thanks for the sweet review! I hope to get the next chapter up soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by BriIsASlytherin Chapter One

5th January 2012:
Its good but its kind of has a weird background I don't know how to put it. Its good but not the best. Don't get mad at me its my opinion but overall its ok -Bri

Author's Response: No worries, thank you for reviewing! It's a rough start, I'll probably edit it later. I'd like to know what was weird, maybe I can clear it up at some point!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login