Reading Reviews for After the Storm
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by evans_4eva Just another Keeper of Secrets

6th December 2012:
This is so sad :( It made me cry! Amazingly written though :) xx 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks very much Evans_4eva! Sorry it made you cry though :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Cirque Du Freak Just another Keeper of Secrets

12th September 2012:
Gah, this is so pretty. After thinking about it I'd have to say that this is my next favourite one-shot of yours after WP.

They're almost alike in a way - the need to have cleanliness in their lives is something that stands out and the fact that they're both grieving in their own way still. Both important and poignant beyond compare.

There's something so lovely about Remus drinking tea and coffee for every person that he loved and lost in those moments. Commemorating them in a very special sort of way, but it breaks my heart the way he reminds himself of them every single day as if he could have done something to change the course of events. Reminding himself because he thinks about them anyway and sinking into this unhealthy depression where he does what he can to survive, but never tries to live.

And then the ever-present "we" of Remus and Sirius together. Because there can't be another relationship other than what they are when they're together. They are the way they are and there can't be any other way to it when they were young. They can't get passed that because too much has happened to them in their short lives and they're much too close for their own good.

Its only when Sirius comes back that it all changes and that last line when Remus sees what's become of them now. How everything has changed, because they believed different things in the past, but that some of those beliefs no matter how you try to get past them are always going to be the knife at neck.

Blah. I'm trying to say I really like this and its just coming out as some sort of running commentary of how my thoughts were when I read this. Ignore me. Love this.

Author's Response: So after this review I went through and read the whole thing all over again to see how it was going and, yeah, I forgot how much I'd loved writing this with all the ittle bits of the Maraudery goodness which I just LOVVEEE.

So many feels towards Remus/sirius and you know slash isn't usally like my thaanng so ah, so many feels towards this and I'm really glad you liked it (and I really like you) so thank you greatly for everything and just generally being totes wonderful.

-AC


 Report Review

Review #3, by tovsy Just another Keeper of Secrets

3rd August 2012:
beautifully written. I especially love the 'we' and the different drinks Remus has to mourn for his loved ones. exceptional 10/10

Author's Response: Ack, thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed it :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by kittsophialovegood Just another Keeper of Secrets

2nd June 2012:
I cry everytime I read about Sirius/Remus, but I do feel such a gut wrenching sadness.

But, this story made me cry. Actually, it made me sob. I loved it.

Fantastic job.

Author's Response: Awh thanks for leaving me such a lovely review! Sirius/Remus is just heartbreaking and horrible and ssooo god, so thank you very very very very very very very much :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lillylover22 Just another Keeper of Secrets

27th April 2012:
That was nice.i always feel sorry for remus 9/10

Author's Response: Same! Poor guy. I feel sorry for all of them, really. Thanks for breaking me into double figures! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jen Just another Keeper of Secrets

18th March 2012:
This is the only one of your stories that I hadn't gotten around to reading. I'd been putting it off a bit, as I am not a fan of slash... I have never really understood the wierd fascination with Drarry fan fics for instance - Harry/Snape is just wrong IMHO... But this was actually kinda nice. It was sweet and sad and real. I feel a bit silly for ever being scared to read it, as it is a story about two young men who truly loved each other.
Well done. Again. You write so very beautifully. :)

Author's Response: Hey there Jen! I'm not really big on slash, but since writing this I do have a little soft spot for Remus/Sirius. Idk, they just seem so -cute- I think. I've never understood a lot of slash fics, but I think I'm okay with this one.

Thank you for the lovely review! And I'll love you forever for deciding to r&r pretty much everything I've ever written :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by PrancingPoetry Just another Keeper of Secrets

25th January 2012:
Just wanted to say that I found your petunia story really really good! It mucked up when I tried to leave a review and then wouldn't let me review again! This is really good as well. I find Sirius, Remus and Lilly to be some of the saddest characters in harry potter :( Keep on writing!

Author's Response: Hi there! I've just reported your review for the Petunia story, so if they delete it you can always stop by and try again - but thank you very much for caring enough to come read this too! I really appreciate it!

And thank you very very much! Reviews like this make my day :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #8, by TheGoldenKneazle Just another Keeper of Secrets

18th January 2012:
Hi there *team blue*!

This is so beautiful, and so heart-breakingly sad. I love how you've ordered it to show memories against the present, and how Remus has a different drink for every person he loved in his life. It's so sad, and the way that he is constantly fighting for order in his mess of a life - I just love it.

I though you characterised everyone so well in this. In Remus' memories, we got a snapshot of everyone, and it was enough to show us what his relationship had been with them. And I love the subtlety of his and Sirius' relationship too - it was quiet and unsure, and out of Remus' control, so he didn't know how he felt about it.

Your ending scene was just brilliant, because it gave us some closure over what Remus had gone through all those years, but there wasn't a proper we. Your repetition of the Sirius/Remus 'we' was just amazing, and I loved this so much! 10/10!

~Lottie

Author's Response: Thank you so much! E.

I've missed writing the Marauders, I can tell you that. I might just go on a Marauder-writing explosion type thing. It'll be really fun and exciting. Yeah.

As being a completely new person to slash, I didn't think I could pull off anything more than this very very subtle relationship - but it was like super fun. So I'm really glad you liked it! Thank you oh so very very much.

(and I'm still not a stalker xD)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #9, by Olympia1863 Just another Keeper of Secrets

17th January 2012:
Ah! I am so happy we got paired up for the review exchange. This was so good!

Alright, getting to specifics. First, this is so, so, SO well-written. It just flows perfectly. You've got such good sentence variation and, and you really kept Remus' voice consistent. And Remus' voice is perfect. It would have been so easy to make this melodramatic and dark, but that's not Remus, is it? Instead, he is perfectly introspective (as you said) and he reminisces and is sad and angry without being over-the-top. You also did a lovely job keeping up the theme, 'that we meant two'. The way Remus takes his tea or coffee differently for each lost friend, the way he has routine and how that really does fit perfectly in with the way he feels about his lycanthropy.

The style was also really engaging. You managed the quick switching between flashback and present without making it confusing or halting. Normally I find present-tense hard to read, but you made it work beautifully here!

The flashbacks themselves were gorgeous, and so realistic. They really do seem like things that would have happened, none of them contrived. I especially liked the bit about their second year Christmas, and Peter asking if it would go on forever. It was bittersweet and worked with the story.

I also liked how you worked in the slash. Hinted, but never affirmed really. I personally never saw that between Remus and Sirius, so normally I find it a bit weird to read, but you made it nearly believable... nearly :) But yeah, well done there.

And most of all, I loved the ending. I think it was great that you chose to end it on a semi-positive note. Of course, there is no way to go back to how they were. And of course, they are always going to be a bit angry at each other, for never being honest. But they will be together, naturally, even if things aren't the same, and that's what counts.

Over all, this was just so good. I can't even... ajkhajgda. Definitely one of my new favorite Remus fics. 10/10.

- Elle :)

Author's Response: Awhhh! Thank you so very very very very very very very very much :D

I can't wait to read your story either - I'll probably get on it this weekened as I've got exams at the moment. As in, in a couple of hours. So why I'm answering this I really have no idea... but you know...

Yeah, I'm not much into the Sirius/Remus pairing either - hence why it wound up so subtle, but I actually really really enjoyed writing this. I might think about reading some more of these stories, just because I loved them.

Ahha! So many compliments! -dies- but, yes, thnak you! I loved writing the flashbacks... a couple of them especially just made my heart melt as I read themi. It was such good fun!

Thank you so much! And thank you for spending the time reviewing my story. Hopefully my return review will not dissapoint :) :) :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #10, by SilentConfession Just another Keeper of Secrets

16th January 2012:
Hello Ac-rules i'm here for your request!!

wow, that is all i can say, this is such beautiful work, i almost have no words for this. Gosh, just so beautiful i could squee about this all night. i have never read a Sirius/Remus before and i loved how you've written their relationship so subtly. The repetitive use of that 'we' and how that disitinguished their relationship and even the coffee and tea and how he used each one to grieve different people in his life.

I loved the ending bit, you could literally feel the life these two men lost because of what happened. Somehow so much meaning was infused in that short scene with them sitting opposite of each other and Sirius just saying "forget it". I'm not sure why i grabbed onto that, but i guess there are just some things in life that you just can't explain and there are just no words for. Loosing 13 years of friendship/ something more might be one of them, but i could feel the hurt that was rippling off these two men.

That must have hurt Remus so much to have his best mates not there for him at his changing, he's had that for so long and suddenly there isn't anyone there and he's back to feeling like some unloveable monster.

I adored the style of this and the structure of how it switches between the past and present. The part where he's alone for christmas was brilliantly well done. The contrast between his depression and anger was in such contrast to Frank and Alice's bright christmas, but it made me feel sad knowing that their time too was soon to be over.

When you were talking about how Remus hoped that Sirius was brought by something or he hoped he was brought by something, did you mean bought perhaps?

I've been going back through this wanting to highlight the things i loved the most but i feel like i'm just highlighting the whole thing. I find no fault with this and i'm adding it to be favourites. Such a lovely piece of work.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks very much for finding the time to come and review this for me - I really appreciate it :)

I've never written a Sirius/Remus or anything that has slash in before, hence how it ended up so subtle you hve to squint - but I really really enjoyed writing it.

Eee! The ending bit was such a whim for me, but I guess I'm glad I included it then. I just think, awwhh, Remus and Sirius just had it all so bad. Its so sssaad.

Being a bit of a Marauders fan anyway it was a great excuse to come back and write a bit more of them. Ooops, yep that should be bought - goes back to edit that immediately - and THANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOU.

:D

:D

:D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #11, by NaidatheRavenclaw Just another Keeper of Secrets

5th January 2012:
Well, someone's gone update crazy today xD I came looking for this one shot, and it was already fourth or fifth on the list. Not to say that doesn't excite me, though! Updates are FUN.

Anyways, I really liked this one shot. I was suuuper interested to see how you'd do with slash, since we all know that you can write Sirius and Remus really well. But I think you were able to get that small bit of romance into the story without really making it romantic, which I loved. Some of the descriptions you had of Sirius were lovely, and I like how their relationship in this wasn't physical. It was a fresh take on a Sirius/Remus, which is my one guilty slash pleasure xD I also loved the repetition you had with the coffee/tea. That was really sweet, and I'm a sucker for little motfis like that. I also liked the progression of time, and all the jumps from present to past. It was different for you, but you definitely wrote it just as well!

Another lovely story, and I love to see you write canon characters!

-Naida

Author's Response: Oh Naida, someone needs to stop me. One of my chapters got through the queue in like 15 minutes... and... and, I'm not sure I remember anything that happened after that. But I logged on today and... there's been five chapters and there's another in the queue and... I'd even planned not to submit all my edits till the queue had clamed down for the sake of not flooding the validators but... I'm just a bad person (although I think it is mildly impressive, I'm a writing MACHINE). Ahem.

I didn't think I was ready to pull off a really physical sort of relationship, so this is my not-quite-Remus/Sirius but I loved writing it :D I think I might have a canon character addiction soon (and this will result in more WIPS I fear - or at least more one-shots)

Thank you so much for your lovely lovely reviews.You know I adore them (and you).

(guess what has 0 reviews at the minute... chapter 5 of infringement. -cough-)

THANK YOU MY WONDERFUL FRIEND :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #12, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Just another Keeper of Secrets

5th January 2012:
Ah! I just wanted to scream, "Remus, you idiot! It was Peter! Peter's to blame! Stop hating Sirius and kiss him at some point!" LOL. Wolfstar love! :D

This was written beautifully. I admit, I wanted to cry a little. Remus just seemed so angry. I loved that he does the little things that remind him of his friends; drinking their favorite drinks was such a little thing, but it brought a big meaning; his grief.

And I miss James. :(

10/10!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hehe, thank you so much for this lovely lovely review (and promoting me on the forums! Eeee! You're so lovelly!!!) I've never written anything with slash in and although this was like, very subtle hint of the Wolfstar loving I really really enjoyed it :D

I miss James too.

-AC


 Report Review

Review #13, by forsakenphoenix Just another Keeper of Secrets

5th January 2012:
Oh, Helen, I don't even know what to say. This is so heartbreaking and gorgeous and guh, my boys. You've given them such personality in this, all of them needing some sort of constant in their life. Remus drinking his tea, each time different, each time a reminder of someone else, someone dead and then his coffee - black. I think that breaks my heart the most.

I love how you switch from past to present. Going through Remus's routine as he deals with the grief of losing everything he's ever known, as his control slips away from him, and interweaving it with moments that remind us that they were just boys thrown into a war that none of them were ready for.

One of my favorite scenes is when they find out that Remus is a werewolf, and Sirius goes off on extra baggage and whatnot, and he just says, "Bite me." I don't know why, but it just seems like a very Sirius thing to do.

The subtlety of their (non-?)relationship is beautiful. The moment when they're sitting in front of the television and Sirius just kisses him, for real. Oh, boys, I love them so much.

Eugh, and then with Halloween, with Sirius and Peter forgetting about Remus and the full moon. That must've hurt Remus, to have to go through that alone after having them with him for years, and despite the fact that he rarely sees him - he still has faith that no one is the spy.

THEN THAT LAST SCENE. Just...Sirius, why? Of all the people he could have blamed, he blamed Remus just because he needed to blame someone. That hurts, a lot. I like to think that maybe it was because Sirius was afraid of Remus, of the feelings he probably had for him, afraid that he'd lose that control he had over his life. At least in my mind if I think of it that way, it makes sense and I don't want to smack Sirius for being an idiot.

Just, oh my god, thank you so much for writing this and for being such a lovely Secret Santa. This is seriously one of the nicest things anyone has done for me and I just love the way that you wrote this, and my boys, and everything about this is perfect. Thank you.

Author's Response: Okay, you're gonna have to give me a minute to die after such a lovely review (because if I just stay living I'll get really arrogant and... that would be bad...) so, okay. Death. Right, I'm back with you.

THANK YOU SO MUCCCH.

I've always been a bit in love with the Marauders and I've certainly missed writing about them, so I'm so glad I had the chance to do this. The coffee :(

The bit about the extra baggage was actually my favourite. I'd never planned that scene, but then it just sort of happened and every time I read over that bit I grinned at the 'bite me' - I just wanted to hug them all :D

The last bit! (I'm skipping around with this response so sorry about that). Yeah, in my head the reason why Sirius blamed Remus was because he thought that he was mostly likely to let something slip to him, and because Remus suggested HIM he was like 'what if he thinks he can trick me' sort of thing. Basically, Sirius being very paranoid about the people who love him most (which is why I didn't smack him at the end). And then I figured Remus couldn't have thought ANYONE was the spy because... no one would have ever expected Sirius, then there was only Peter left - and if he'd pointed the Peter thing out they'd all surely have seen. (Plus it reminded me of the bit in DH when he's like 'we can't trust anyone!!' learn by experience, much :/).

Anyway, honestly I loved writing this so much (and the bit where Sirius kisses him kept me up all night wanting to write). Thanks so much for this lovely review and this lovely new ship that I've found through this ♥

-AC


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login