Reading Reviews for The Price of Freedom
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by tangledconstellations ...Is a Lifetime of Misery

1st July 2012:
Hello!

I was just creeping about on your authors page and thought this looked really interesting, and, well, it was! I think you've addressed PTSD really well here. It's not as though Lucius feels guilty or responsible or is dwelling purposefully on the past - he is just literally plagued by it. I really got a sense of his overwhelming tiredness in this piece and actually I can feel the link between this and Moonlight Sonata, too. There's a brooding silence about them both.

Narcissa and Lucius are a couple that as of late I am really starting to like, and this one shot helped to solidify this further. I love that she is a strength for him and that he knows he needs here. There's also something really beautiful and noble about the way Narcissa keeps trying to get through to him. Here, you've written them both so wonderfully. :)

I honestly love everything you write. Give me your awesome talent! I enjoyed this loads, and am definitely favouriting so I can read it again some time :)

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Hey Laura!

The truth is, I could have written any character having PTSD after the battle, but it would sound the same for all of them. Writing this from a death eater's point of view - especially Lucius - makes the feel of the story drastically different. He's not asking for redemption, he isn't even sure if he deserves it. The story shows a snapshot into his post-war life where his relationship with his family is strained, and he isn't quite sure what to do about anything any more. Having lost so much in the war, as he was an exceptionally proud man, being like this is crippling.

When I wrote this, 'Moonlight Sonata' was on repeat till even I got a little lost near to the end. There is something so incredibly sad about that instrumental which fits this situation.

Oh yes? That's brilliant. I shipped them hard for years! Anyway, Narcissa is his light. She has the strength no one thought she could muster. She could be compared to Molly Weasley in this regard, because they would do anything to protect their families. Just how Narcissa fought so hard to keep them together during the war, she isn't going to slack off after it. The war may be over for everyone else, but there's still another going on in her husband's head.

Hee :) Thank you so so much! Your reviews are always so kind.

Lia


 Report Review

Review #2, by Aiedail ...Is a Lifetime of Misery

29th April 2012:
OKAY. OKAYYY. Lucius Malfoy has always been a person I've been unwilling to sympathize with, though you have clearly demonstrated that that was all fault at my end. It's not quite a trope, but you play into this idea, very real, and very sad, of a past shaping a person so well that I couldn't help but feel this sorrow for the loss of Lucius's life, one that arguably, he didn't have even before the PTSD, but especially now. We know Narcissa is a woman capable of love, but I don't know, I had never really seen Lucius as worthy of it. Which is awful. Horrible, really, that I have always unwittingly been able to make that judgement. SO HERE IS WHERE YOU MAKE ME A BETTER PERSON WITH YOUR AWESOME WRITING AND STUFF~

I love that, as music, and I am not an expert but here is what I know: you've woven something here, a story of a person, of a human, in that no experience is its own, especially for someone with this particular disorder, and that the slight confusion and sadness of this piece mingles the past with present, it reminds me of the low notes in Moonlight Sonata kind of underscoring the general narrative. There are moments in this song where things almost pick up, but hit a sharpness you don't expect--there are brief moments of clarity in Lucius's mind, where he loves and feels sorry, where he says to his wife he is sorry, but then he's lost again to the trap of his past. And then, what really gets me is the way that, reading this a second time through actually listening to the music, it feels like it is the story of the song.

You obviously have talent, and I can also see places where this story has been crafted particularly, something a mixture of creative spark and hard work reward well :) The last line, by the time we get to it, after enduring this--what feels like almost real, physical struggle, this battle with the "ghosts" of Lucius's past--is so, so immeasurably sad. That is really a spectacular achievement. To me, it is always the mark of a good writer, or, rather, an excellent writer, who can not only make an unlikable character human but who can make a reader sympathize with him. There are a lot of characters to whom writers have given an explanation in terms of a pardon, but you don't attempt this, and I love this piece so much more for it, that this torture in a sick way (and I don't mean to say this about ANYONE ELSE IN LIFE EVER), is a product of his failures, mistakes, frailties. I think this piece can really serve as Lucius's plea for forgiveness because, honestly, I'm really ready to forgive him.

That snuffing out. That fizzle, fade. The last line is a master, here, but this whole piece is wonderful. I might comment on a bit of syntax construction here or there, but to me it doesn't really matter to me. Your writing has done it's work, as far as I'm concerned.

Wonderful job.

-lily

Author's Response: LILY! How can you expect me to respond to this!

YAAYY! You at least sympathise with him! That's better than nothing. I guess I did my job here then ;) I have a habit of sympathising with the perceived villains in almost everything - whether it be television or books. Well, most of the villains anyway. I feel that they should be given some sort of redemption for what they've done. I believe that there's always something that drives them to this point - like Draco in HBP - he didn't want to kill Dumbledore, I think he was in way over his head there, but he had no choice, he wanted to save his parents. And I completely agree with you there, Lucius lost his life way before the PTSD came, he lost it the moment he got that mark on his forearm.

Of course she is. Everyone is capable, but that doesn't mean that they actually show it. I can see why you think he was never deserving of anything - he was portrayed as a real piece of work in the books, but after Azkaban and after he'd lost so much, one couldn't help but feel sorry for him. I was drawn to these characters long before DH, so imagine my joy when I saw he was out of Azkaban. Ultimately, he's a human being - forget all the blood purity, old money, and pride. He's been dealt a horrible blow. Yes, he's been through a war like everyone else, but they came out of it knowing that they can be happy, but as a former death eater, he can't.

Hey, I'm no expert either. When I wrote this, I wanted to listen to something that was sad, and none of the other songs would do. I, like Lucius, got lost in this and played it for hours until I finished writing. Another reader pointed out something similar - she compared the high notes to Narcissa's screams, and the low ones were the shadows surrounding Lucius. Shadows of his past, maybe? The ones that still continue to haunt him. It helps with the mood of the story as well, it's such an incredibly sad song. The song of the story, indeed. Three cheers for song analysis!

It's not an easy thing to get out of. Even if he is brought to the surface, the most of his body that's above water is his head. He's still struggling, and perhaps will continue to struggle with all of this for a long time. He has a lot of ghosts, and a whole heap of scars. 'The words are lost, and so am I' - this line shows all that. The fact that this doesn't have a happy ending makes it all the more realistic for me. I'm giving my explanation for his pardon in my response, but no I agree. I prefer to show someone why this character deserves pity rather than telling you. IT IS! That's exactly what it is. It's the price he has to pay for all that he's done, and the freedom he was granted otherwise. You don't know how happy I am to hear you say that.

Thank you so much, Lily. This was a super-review!

Lia


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cirque Du Freak ...Is a Lifetime of Misery

17th April 2012:
Wow, I honestly don't know what to say. This was beautifully written and in few word you've made such a huge impact - its really amazing.

I love the simplicity of your words and the flow between all the sentences. Its such a humbling experience to read something so heartbreaking and serious.

You've made Lucius and Narcissa seem like two people, rather than two prominent figures in the books. You've succeeded in making them into normal people who had to deal with not-so-normal circumstances. You've really built up the sympathy for the almost-but-not-quite enemy.

Your ending is open-ended, which I love the most, because it gives the reader the chance to decide what could be in store for them afterwards, even though its unlikely to change at that moment.

I adored every minute that I spent reading on this - the contemplation of what only a few words can bring. What a gift!

Hanzi xx

Author's Response: Hey Hanzi,

Sorry I'm so late in responding to this!

Oh wow, thank you! I'm not one for a lot of big words, even though I think they are lovely. But I also appreciate simple things, even for something as serious as this.

That's how I see them, you know. As people. I choose not to overwhelm them with titles, and such things that I really don't think they deserve. They've been through a lot - as a couple, and individually - obviously Lucius has experienced a whole lot more. A lot of people don't particularly like them as characters because of what they were known for. But I like them because I thought there was something behind the darker characters, something I want to explore. Maybe I'm biased, but there's always more to the story. I tend to feel bad for any antagonist, to be honest….well, most of them.

You're the first to point that out :) Exactly! What would become of Lucius and Narcissa afterwards? Would he succumb to the darkness, or would his beloved save him? There's this one-shot someone wrote a few years ago that makes me think about how this might end badly for both of them. The author made Lucius in such a state of delirium that he thought his wife was dead, and he ended up dying in the end because he couldn't live without her. Broke my heart, actually.

Thank you so much! I enjoyed responding to this review, it made my afternoon :)

Lia


 Report Review

Review #4, by Violet Gryfindor ...Is a Lifetime of Misery

20th February 2012:
Oh my gosh, this story! There's so much feeling and pain in this - you've taken readers right into the heart of Lucius Malfoy and, however heart-wrenching that experience is, you do so brilliantly, making him immensely sympathetic, a broken man caught up in things far, far beyond his control. All of his greed and ambition were no match for Voldemort's cruelties - they're both a very different breed of villain, Lucius being more of scheming capitalist while Voldemort can destroy all of that wealth and security with the flick of a wand. I'm not a big fan of Lucius, but here you've made me take his side and, like Narcissa, I want to help him, get him out of that dark place (which is also partially the effect of spending time in Azkaban, I expect, the dementors making the PTSD ten times worse with their terrible powers). It's amazing how much feeling you were able to put into a short snapshot of Lucius's thoughts - this story has incredible power behind it.

I can definitely see the influence of Moonlight Sonata in this - it comes through in the flow of the words, the low notes translating into the shadows that surround Lucius, the high notes becoming Narcissa's screams. Having that song playing in the back of my mind while reading this (I've played it enough times to not need to actually hear it anymore :P) made the story that much more disturbing and affective. I love it when authors are able to be so influenced by music. :D

There was one little bit of wording that hit the ear a little strangely, disrupting the flow - "for fear that she might fall away from me further". "Further" should come sooner in the sentence, perhaps like "she might further fall away from me" - that sounds a little smoother. It's a nitpick though. I can't think of anything else to critique in this story. It's amazing work! Seeing such a sympathetic portrayal of the elder Malfoys is a wonderful treat, as they're fascinating characters, and too often given the short end of the stick in fanfiction. I'm really glad that I got the chance to read this! ^_^

Author's Response: Holy cow! This review! I really didn't know what to say, or do when I read it. Granted, it's been 2 review exchanges ago, and I've now gotten to respond - which I am very, very sorry for! A review like this requires a very good response, so I shall try :/

Lucius Malfoy happens to be one of my favourite characters in all of HP fandom - for some reason I've taken a liking to some of the villains because I felt that there's another side to their story. I like to do some justice to their characters - like you said, they receive the short end too often. For a man like Lucius, he has lost so much in such a short space of time. I can't imagine how hard it must have been to leave a comfortable post-war lifestyle for Azkaban, Voldemort's cruelties. Not to mention his home being occupied by all sorts against his will, using his son as a means of punishment. At the end of it all, he's a human being, so beneath all that pride there was a lot of suffering. I agree that Lucius and Voldemort are different breeds of villain. Voldemort was driven by hate, and blinded by the need for vengeance. Lucius and the rest of the purebloods were never wronged the way Voldemort was. They had beliefs etched into them by their ancestors. While Voldemort didn't care about anything or anyone, the others did. As master of his household, Lucius had a family to think of.

I'm glad I could make you feel sorry enough to want to help him. Azkaban certainly wasn't kind to him, and he'd lost all he worked (or schemed for). His ancient family name was tarnished as well as his pride. It's not surprising that after all that, he would have PTSD.

Moonlight Sonata. I wanted something melancholy, and wordless - it was the only song that came to mind. When I started to write then, I was lost. I'd pause, and just stare at the words until they became blurry. I think for the hour or so I spent on this, the music became a part of me, and by extension, it blended really well into the story.

Hm. Ok, I see what you mean about that sentence. I'll see what I can do. Heh, there's always /something/. It's an honour to read such a stunning review from an author such as yourself. I'm really glad you enjoyed reading this! Thank you so much!

Lia



 Report Review

Review #5, by Aderyn ...Is a Lifetime of Misery

18th February 2012:
Hello, first off, I just want to say how well written this is. I know that it sounds glaringly general, but it's obvious there was a lot of thought put into both concept and word choice.

Though this piece isn't too long, I feel like every word was important and carried a lot of weight. For a piece this serious, there has to be some heaviness to the language, and you made it somber without being overpowering.

Your use of metaphoric and figurative language really adds to the atmosphere of the story. Even the fire seems menacing to Lucius. It's heartbreaking how confused he is and how desolate.

I never sympathized much with either Malfoy in the books, Lucius in particular seemed snobbish and cruel, but here, you show a whole new, yet plausible, side to him. While JKR does begin his downward spiral in the books, you take it to an entirely different, psychological place, that is painful to read, because he is suffering so much- while he committed atrocities during the war, he didn't sign up for them all, and had no way of backing out. I also sympathize with Narcissa, who has to watch her husband be in pain and be powerless.

The way you twist the world so that you show how Lucius sees it is really wonderful. He is terse, and confused, and everything seems inevitable. All of this is established in less than 700 words, before the end, and yet there is still time for you to inject redemption and hope into the end. He may be lost, but Narcissa is there to try to help him.

I suppose I should critique the piece, beyond just praising it, though that's hard to do. I think that the first sentence is a bit confusing in the context of the rest of the piece. He thinks he has lost the will to sleep. The word 'will' is tripping me up. He seems so powerless in this, and uncaring about the will to do anything. It seems more like he no longer cares about sleep. The will to sleep implies effort.

Anyways, I won't nitpick anymore, because it would just be arguing about a few bit of word choice, which are insignificant, really. I want to commend you on writing this piece about a mental illness. PTSD really is an awful disorder, and you portray it here as such--not sentimentalized or made 'prettier.' I really enjoyed reading this portrait, though it was painful to see suffering, the language really helped carry the reader through to the less severe ending. Wonderful job.

Author's Response: Hello! I'm sorry for now getting to this. I've been rather busy these days. This still took me a while to digest because you spoke of so many things. I'm still trying to wrap my head around this and another review I got around the same time.

There's nothing about taking part in something like a war, that does not take its toll on a person eventually. Things might have been different during the first war where he was younger, prone to arrogance, and thought he didn't have much to lose. But who's to say that some of the things he did when he wore that mask never gnawed away at him during the night? Maybe he was relieved when it was all over, and he got away with merely a smudge on his reputation. The second time around was different. He had grown comfortable to the life he made for himself. He had a wife, and a son. I doubt he was prepared to deal with Voldemort and all the horrors he brought with him. I doubt he was prepared to lose it all - which he did. I agree with you. He didn't sign up for some of those things, but he essentially signed away his life.

I have a habit of siding with any antagonist in fiction, and the Malfoy Family holds a certain soft spot. Maybe I think all of them can be saved - I dunno. They always get my sympathy. There are always two sides to the coin, we only saw one from Harry's POV. Anyway, the family's scenes in DH struck me as those who were at their wits end, practically looking for anything that might spare them. Lucius' behaviour was desperate, and in the end he chose the side of family. They all did. For Lucius, he became less of a man - he lost his wand, and his wife saved them - not him. Assuming that all these purebloods are strict traditionalists, he probably took it very hard that he could not provide for the people he vowed to protect. This adds more onto all that had happened to him - Voldemort's return, prison and its horrors, family name smashed to pieces. Of course he's lost now. Of course he's confused.


The use of 'will' in that sentence is an interesting point. I agree, he does appear powerless, but your mention of the word 'uncaring' confuses me. If I'm understanding you correctly in this paragraph, then he should be 'unable' to do anything at all despite trying. I guess 'uncaring' makes sense because he just sits there. He doesn't sleep because he doesn't want to face his dreams. Hmm. If I use 'will' then it would imply that he still has something left. Okay. I understand.

PTSD indeed is horrible, and for me I wrote it as I thought it was. In any context, it equates suffering.

Thank you so much for your review. I love discussing my stories with readers. You've given me a lot to think about.

Lia



 Report Review

Review #6, by Indigo Seas ...Is a Lifetime of Misery

2nd January 2012:
This was absolutely, positively captivating. In one of those "I'm going to suck you away for four minutes and block out the rest of the world" type of ways.

From the first line, the story was deep and dense and thoughtful. It was really apparent to me that either a) you have a great natural style or b) you had carefully thought out each line or c) a little mixture of both. Because honestly, each paragraph and phrase, strung together or kept apart, were original and, quite frankly, breath-taking.

And God, the creativity of this was so refreshing! I loved the PTSD (which sounds odd, but, you know, applied to the story...). I've never read a piece quite like this one, and I was blown away.

Absolutely fabulous.

xx Rin

Author's Response: Hey Rin :)

I'll admit, I put a lot of thought into that first line. Lately, I've tried to make use of the challenges I did in the past. Writing in this style comes much easier to me than anything else - I don't have to think so hard about what I want to say, and the music helps me a lot too. After reading this, I went to re-read this one-shot, so I can see what you're talking about. I really appreciate your compliments (and spotting your choice for 'Story of the Week').

Haha, I know what you mean. The choice of character carried the weight for the choice of disease (if that makes sense). It could've worked well for another minor character on Voldemort's side, but it wouldn't have been quite as dark. Lucius Malfoy - one of my secret faves - had a very difficult time, and thus had a lot of regrets. I suppose his post-war story needed to be told.

I'm really glad you liked it so much! Thank you for your review, my dear!

Lia


 Report Review

Review #7, by Rose Wilts ...Is a Lifetime of Misery

21st December 2011:
Hey there, it's Laura or laura&co'' from TGS here to review your story. Sorry it's taken me a few days!

I don't have an awful lot to say I'm afraid. I'll admit to seeing this challenge and being very excited to view the responses - so I'm glad you've given me one to read.

The way you write is lovely. I think you write in a clear, simple prose, but there's something about that that is very beautiful - particularly in this circumstance. Your descriptions are wonderful. I just found them so simple, but so ... haunting I guess. This was one of my favourite parts - "Days pass into nights as I sit alone, patiently waiting for the floor to implode, so that I can fall into the jaws of hell which certainly await me. Most might say I deserve it. There is no rest for the wicked, after all." I liked how you used a lot of shorter sentences. I thought it gave the fic a very dry, callous, matter-of-fact kind of feel. Sort of an example of the terror and cold-heartedness of what Lucius had done. Perhaps that was never your intention and I am reading ridiculously far into everything, but I thought it worked wonderfully all the same haha.

Also, I'm so pleased you chose to tackle the typical, one-dimensional characterisation of Lucius. He can't be all bad, he must occasionally show remorse. You portrayed this wonderfully.

Overall, this was a lovey, enjoyable read. Well done!

Author's Response: Hey Laura!

This fic turned out much darker than I intended, I even surprised myself at the end, but I think it was the music that made it so. The sonata itself is quite haunting, as you put it, so I suppose my words mirrored it in a way. JKR described Lucius as a broken man when he left Azkaban, and he would have become more so after the war ended. Since his family's fall from grace and switch of loyalties, he's done a lot of thinking. He put them through a lot, for reasons he thought at the time were good ones. I see Lucius as a family man, but a very proud one. The outcome of the war most likely did him a turn.

The short sentences weren't my intention, but you brought up an interesting point anyway. Callous. That's a lot like him, isn't it? Callous and matter-of-fact, with a thin outer layer of silk. I find most antagonists to have very well-rounded characterisations, and Lucius is a character I love to see this in the most. He has layers, but of course we aren't going to see them all in canon. One scene that struck me the most about him was in DH where he was begging Voldemort to let him go, so he could find his son. So no, he isn't all bad - at least not to me anyway ;).

Thank you for your review!

Lia


 Report Review

Review #8, by academica ...Is a Lifetime of Misery

20th December 2011:
Hey Lia! I'm here to review your entry :)

What an interesting choice for PTSD! And yet it makes sense -- the Death Eaters obviously witnessed a great deal of trauma while living in Malfoy Manor, let alone during the remainder of their careers under Voldemort, and Lucius most of all because he clearly began to emotionally fall away from Voldemort earlier than most of the others in Book Seven. His family was singled out by Voldemort, and so I can appreciate the likelihood of him suffering lasting effects.

You did pretty well with accuracy here. You mentioned flashbacks, obviously, and I could sense a hint of avoidance when Lucius failed to make it all the way down the stairs. Difficulty sleeping is also a prominent symptom of PTSD, so you did well to include that. Overall, all necessary symptoms for a diagnosis seem to be present. Well done!

I didn't notice any errors in terms of spelling, grammar or punctuation, so the quality of writing is very good, like with the other pieces you've written that I have also read. I didn't really expect to find errors in your work, though :)

I liked the imagery in this piece, particularly the way you used Narcissa as a sort of lighthouse to guide Lucius away from his terror. It paints a nice picture of their relationship, and the contrast between light and dark is really interesting. The ending, especially, provided a nice moment of healing between them, however temporary it may be. As for the dark side, I think this was my favorite line: "Days pass into nights as I sit alone, patiently waiting for the floor to implode, so that I can fall into the jaws of hell which certainly await me." That moment alone does a good job of summing up Lucius's pain and the inner torment that is characteristic of PTSD.

Characterization was lovely here as well. You've done a good job of having Lucius really reflect on what he went through, and that's a nice contrast from the haughty, self-assured attitude he adopted for the majority of the canon series. I also like the idea of Narcissa being a sort of delicate angel, ministering to him in his time of need. Very touching.

Great job! This was a lovely piece, despite the darkness. You clearly did your research and satisfied all challenge criteria. Thanks for entering -- I hope you enjoyed writing for it! :)

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda :)

To tell you the truth, this isn't my first fictional stint with PTSD, but this time I wanted to do it properly. It would've been too easy to chose someone on the 'good' side to depict this illness because that's what people would expect. But the thing is, they're the ones who didn't suffer as much - of course they saw the aftermath of a passage of Death Eaters, and the destruction that was left, but they never had to suffer the fate of working for someone whose ambition was driven by hate.

Lucius was a very likely candidate for this, because as you said, he and his family were one of the first ones to pull away, and who also suffered the most because /he/ was in their home. No doubt there are stories untold about what happened under that roof. As much as they wanted to be free, they really weren't. Having to have his family put in danger isn't what he wanted either. He fell from very high, and unfortunately brought them down with him. Once a prominent figure in society now faced lifetime in Azkaban. He got out the first time, and spent 13 years making a name for himself - a respectable one at that. Now all of it is gone to waste because everyone knows who he really is, and what he has done.

Narcissa really came to the forefront as a character for me in HBP. I'm assuming that Lucius always took care of any problem that arose before that, but now she had to take charge because he wasn't in the state to do that - even after he got out of Azkaban, he was a right mess! If she got them through the war relatively unscathed, then she could be the beacon her husband needs to pull him out of this. Besides, Lucius/Narcissa is my OTP for this fandom, it /needed/ to pop up somewhere ;)

After all that happened to him, Lucius was bound to sink into a hole - he was certainly guilty of things, but then shame comes into it, and makes everything worse. No doubt there will be things he wants to forget, but they'll still eat at him. I think by a certain point, he will feel remorse, but have a warped perception of who he his - hence waiting to fall into the jaws of hell.

I'm glad you liked it, and I really enjoyed your challenge. I'm sorry it was a bit dark, it wasn't my intention in the beginning, but there you go.

Lia


 Report Review

Review #9, by Fleur Delacour ...Is a Lifetime of Misery

18th December 2011:
I wish you a merry Christmas... ♥

I saw that this had appeared on your author's page since my last jaunt, and figured you might really like a review on it for one of your presents. And as soon as I saw the nature of the challenge it was for, I clicked on it with even more haste -- I LOVE studying psychology and psychopathology, exploring those veins.

You did so much justice to the idea of post-traumatic stress disorder, and I think you could have picked no one better to tell your story through than Lucius. And the way you described his emotions -- I know I've oft repeated this over and over in these reviews, but I think they are one of the strongest suits in the stories of yours I've read. You have such a way of describing things with uncanny realism, and that is my absolute favorite thing to read, so I very much applaud you for that.

I went back and re-read the entire thing while listening to "Moonlight Sonata" after reading your author's note, too -- that is such a beautiful song, and I see very much how it inspired this piece, too! Narcissa was just as beautifully written as Lucius, too. Like in this line --

My beautiful flower is now wilting, and its my fault my Narcissa.

That is just gorgeous writing, plain and simple. :) I love how a lot of your stories use parallels like that, especially natural ones, because I think it takes a lot of talent to be able to make those sorts of plausible comparisons. Which you obviously have. I really enjoyed this so much, and best of luck to you in your challenge! This definitely deserves a good place!

Author's Response: Jane :D

Lucius Malfoy happens to hold a special place in my heart among all the other minor characters I adore. I think there' s so much more to him than just the self-righteous, arrogant man he is often portrayed as. I often like to say that Death Eaters are people too, who have their own internal struggles. He doesn't have to wear his heart on his sleeve to show that he can actually feel something. So, when I saw Amanda's challenge, and picked PTSD, I thought of writing it from Lucius' point of view.

After living a normal life with his family for over thirteen years, he's thrown back into the middle of things with Voldemort's return. His stint in Azkaban, and the torture of his family clearly cast a lot of doubt throughout them all. But, I think the aftermath of the war affected him the most, as he had much more to lose - his family name was dragged through the mud, so was his pride, his relationship with his son was strained. There really was no way of him getting out of it unscathed - sure he dodged Azkaban for the second time, but his emotions were in tatters.

I'm glad you like my use of description, it's something I think I struggle with.

Ah yes, that song. Now, I don't pretend to know much about classical music, but I felt compelled to listen to this one when writing this one-shot. There's something so sorrowful about it, and dark which fits the one-shot very well.

I like that line too. As you can tell from the other one-shot I wrote with Draco/Pansy, I have a thing about using flowers :)

Thank you so much for your review! You really are too kind :) I'm really glad you like it, even if it is a dark piece.

Lia


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login