Reading Reviews for Never There
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Owl Girl Scenes at a Graveyard

4th June 2013:
It's an interesting relationship, the man and the tombstone. You could very well create this story into a fiction, with all the copyrights and all. But only if you want to. I can't seem to connect this story and Reid with magic, just an everyday, well, muggles. Great story line, though. Still, I would introduce Reid earlier in the story, not in the third paragraph and the introduction (although, I wouldn't keep the introduction).

Author's Response: He's part of a larger series of stories, so he's already appeared in two novels, a novella, several one-shots, and a short story. This is sort of a final chapter or epilogue for him. But thank you for your comments.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Becca Scenes at a Graveyard

27th March 2013:
I'm literally trying not to bawl right now. Reid and Cecilia were my favorite couple. This is so beautiful. I am absolutely in love with all of your writing, even though things didnt quite turn out the way I wanted. This story seems like a right fit for Reid. Thank you for your wonderful stories.

Author's Response: Oh wow thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed my writing, and I always feel weird saying but I do take making-people-cry as a huge compliment, since to me it means I touched their emotions with my story. So, I very much appreciate hearing that - thank you very much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by a;sljd Scenes at a Graveyard

2nd January 2013:
Wow. That was very powerful. Crying the whole time. My favourite of your whole series, even though it is one of the shortest. Very well written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the kind review :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by UnluckyStar57 Scenes at a Graveyard

9th December 2012:
I'm here from the review battle in the Ravenclaw Common Room. :)

So, usually when I come across well-loved and well-known authors like you, I try to review the least-reviewed thing that you've written. And this was it.

In truth, I read all the tales of the Unsinkable-verse quite a while ago, and like a hobo, I didn't review. Of course, that's kind of good because I actually have something to review now (even though I'm kind of not doing it justice at the moment).

But I digress. On to some actual commentary about the actual story. :)

I really loved this story. Reid and Cecilia were always such a dynamic pair, and watching him age as she stayed eternally youthful (but unseen and not on earth) was sad. His emotions through the years were perfectly fitting; he was a lost soul without someone like her to give him direction. I thought it was interesting how most of his wives had "a"s at the ends of their names, like Cecilia did. Was that intentional? Either way, it was pretty cool.

His final chance at happiness, in the end, was perfect. I'm super glad that he didn't hang on to Cecilia forever. Because sometimes, life needs to move on, and that's what he finally did. This one-shot was a fabulous wrap-up for a lovable character.

You're awesome. And your writing is supermegafoxyawesomehot. Because even the awesomeness of Starkid can't really compare to it. :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much! And I always feel surprised when someone calls me well-known or popular, I certainly don't think of my stories that way. It's very sweet, thank you!

I'm a terrible reviewer myself since becoming a staffer, so I never get mad at people who say "I read it but didn't review", cause that's pretty much how I roll too. Sad really, I should be better at it. Oh well, I do what I can where I can.

Reid and Cecilia were definitely dynamic. Fiery and slightly insane. Not sure how well that would've played out if she'd lived. Poor Reid, I really throw a lot of pain and heartache at him. His wives' names ending in A is not intentional, it just happens because a lot of feminine names end in A. They do all physically resemble Cecilia to varying degrees, which is intentional. Up until he marries Oriana Daintree, who looks nothing like Cecilia. It took him a long time (and some unofficial therapy, really) to move on, but he's able to have a life past Cecilia with happiness in it. And even be friends with Oriana's sons from her first marriage, though he never has children of his own. It actually might have been good for him to have had a kid, but...

Anyway thank you so much for the review! I really appreciate it. And for all the compliments, you are too kind!


 Report Review

Review #5, by NaidatheRavenclaw Scenes at a Graveyard

18th July 2012:
AHHH YOU WROTE ANOTHER UNSINKABLE STORY AND I DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT IT :O Reid's story was always my favorite. I adored his love stoy wth Cecilia and her death was the first time a fanfiction ever made me cry. I'm so glad that you wrote this and gave him a bit of closure.

This one shot was of course, absolutely gorgeous. I love how you went through each of the women in his life and how he never made it work until the end. It made this bittersweet and all the detail was flawless. I love your writing style. I think I've said this before, but it reads like a published novel, even in a more description heavy piece like this one shot. In fact, your writing is better than 90% of the novels I've read ♥

An absolutely wonderful one shot. Beautiful in every way.

-Naida

Author's Response: You missed the last Unsinkable? I'm glad you saw it now! Poor Reid. I had to give him a happy ending, since I've been so mean to him up until now ;) It took a few wives to get it right, but he does eventually. And this may sound weird but I'm glad I made you cry, since I wanted that story to hit hard. So thank you for that! And I'm sorry, too.

zomg, thank you so much! I try to be polished, and I don't use an editor/beta reader so I'm always sort of leaping off the cliff on my own when I post a story. I'm glad it reads published (so to speak) :) I try for that level.

Thank you thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by katti4493 Scenes at a Graveyard

18th April 2012:
I'm crying, that was so wonderful, and so sad! Please keep going with this series, I love it! There was never anyone else for Reid other than Cecilia, but he death forced him to move on. That was brilliant, thank you for that!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I'm not sure if I'll write any more Unsinkable, but I never say never. :) Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Gryffin_Duck Scenes at a Graveyard

30th March 2012:
This was so sad! But I loved it all the same. Angst is my favorite genre. Your descriptions were beautiful, from the way you described the graveyard to the way you added in little details about Reid. I particularly enjoyed the way you called the people buried in the graveyard "inhabitants".

The emotion in this was very good. I could easily feel what Reid was going through as he talked to Cecilia about all his various wives. Just the fact that he spent so much of his life having wife after wife really demonstrated how unsettled he was with moving on. Well done!

Lastly, I was easily able to figure out what was happening and what had happened despite not reading the previous stories. You did a great job of giving just enough detail to clue the reader into what happened previously without bogging down the current story. Great one-shot! :)

Author's Response: I was going to say I don't write a lot of angst, but when I looked over my page, I actually have several. Apparently I just don't realize that I write angst haha. Well I'm glad you liked it! Even though it's sad.

Yeah Reid is really unable to move on for a very long time - Cecilia dies when he's 18 and she's nearly 18, and he divorces wife #5 (technically) at age 45, so... Sad guy. But then he marries a psychotherapist, which is luck for him haha

I'm really glad this works on its own, since it's part of such a larger whole I really didn't think it would. Definitely a relief, thank you! And thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Singularity Scenes at a Graveyard

7th March 2012:
Ah, closure! Thank you so much for writing this!
I always loved Reid and Cecilia, and was a bit crushed when she died. I worried about Reid after her death, he didn't seem to be handling it very well, so I really appreciate getting this little glimpse into the rest of his life.

Reid was exactly how I expected him to be. I thought his repeated marriages to women who shared this or that quality with Cecilia was so in character for him. He spent such a long time trying to win Cecilia over, it makes sense that he would spend even longer trying to find a way to kind of get her back.

The dialogue (or monologue, I suppose) was great. The humor completely fit into the Reid we know and love, but there was kind of a heartwrenching earnestness underneath that. He really loves Cecilia, and really wants to recapture that relationship the two of them shared. I think he's more broken up about his failed marriages than he lets on, but maybe that's just me.

I worried a bit when I saw the heading for the last section was acceptance. I was afraid that he would be accepting that Cecilia was the love of his life and there was no one else for him. I'm glad that wasn't the case. I want Reid to have a happy ending, and it seems that, after 30-some years, he might actually get one.

I love everything I've read of your 'Unsinkable' universe, but I think this might be my new favorite.

Author's Response: Yay a review on this one! Thanks so much for coming by and leaving such a fantastic review :)

He didn't handle her death well at all - Hattie prevented wholesale insanity, but he certainly wasn't healthy. It gets better the older he gets, but he does keep marrying the wrong women for a while there. Including Acacia Bushby-Ferris! haha.

I'm glad you thought it was in character - I think he's the type that would keep looking for another Cecilia, so to speak, but every time he fails he is devastated all over again. He's definitely more upset by his multiple failed marriages than he pretends, but Reid never liked showing his real feelings.

I titled the last section acceptance because he had to come to know himself better, and accept that he wasn't going to have Cecilia back, before he could move on from her. His sixth wife (man, she's brave to marry a dude with five ex-wives!) is nothing like Cecilia, he fell in love with her on her own merits and that's why it works. On all his other marriages, he only came to Cecilia's grave after he had married and failed at it, but with Oriana he comes there first. He's got a different perspective on what's happening - marrying the wizarding equivalent of a psychiatrist has its benefits ;) I love a happy ending, so he does get one: I picture him and Oriana together the rest of their lives, hanging out with Hattie and her husband, and visiting Oriana's sons (who are grown-ups by the time she marries Reid). Reid never has children of his own, but he gets along fine with his stepsons.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Margravine Scenes at a Graveyard

24th January 2012:
oh.. this was magnificent. I've all but left fanfiction these days, and it's rare that I find anything new here I truly want to read, but this reminds me of all the reasons I've loved this site - it's so beautifully written and had me utterly captive.

I always loved Reid and Cecilia, because in many ways I am quite similar to her, and I was overjoyed when I saw this because my heart broke at her death. I think this was just pitch perfect: the closure Reid, and all of your readers needed, while being realistic (so believable!) and not diminishing the love Reid had for Cecilia.

anyway, the gist of this confused ramble is that I adored every line, and you drew out emotions with your usual enviable finesse and skill. Just brilliant.

Author's Response: I haven't seen you around in a while! It's good to see your name pop up again :D Thank you for stopping by to review. I haven't gotten a lot of responses on this one so I really appreciate hearing your thoughts on it.

I'm still kind of sad at having killed off Cecilia, so I wanted to give Reid something to bring him back up again after laying him low like that. It did take him a long time, probably far too long, but he does wind up happy again eventually. Oriana the artificially-ginger Ravenclaw therapist is a great foil for him, in different ways than Cecilia was. Sad I didn't get to give her a cameo in a story yet, but in my head she's pretty rockin ;)

Thank you very much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Moonyxluna Scenes at a Graveyard

2nd January 2012:
awh :)

He married Acaia!? God I hope Cecilia came and haunted him every day for that one. EVERY. DAY.

This was really sweet, I'm glad Reid could finally be happy. After searching for another Cecilia, it's good to see he found someone else that made him happy, who was nothing like her.

I hope I'm not missing any from your Unsinkable series, because they are all truly brilliant. I THINK... I've read them all?

(I hope not..)
:)

Author's Response: I don't know what he was thinking! haha. Well, I tell a lie, what he was thinking (subconsciously) that Acacia looked rather like Cecilia and acted sometimes like Cecilia, and he was hoping she would be Cecilia for him. Sadly, no one else can do that, so it was futile all along. Poor guy. It's good for him to finally settle down, however late he waited to find someone appropriate.

Well, let's see, in chronological order it goes:
Fireworks
The Unsinkable Molly Prewett
I Will Follow
Shift
The Black Velvet Band
What It's Worth
At The Hour
Over The Anvil
All Things Life Must Be
Cherry Blossoms
Never There

Whew. That's a lot of stories. Thank you for reading and reviewing! I've really been enjoying reading your reviews :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by GuardedHeart Scenes at a Graveyard

14th December 2011:
Oh my goodness. I've been reading/creeping on your Unsinkable universe for ages and I positively love it. I probably ought to have left more reviews...

But this was heartbreaking and hopeful and beautiful and perfect. I love Reid/Cecilia in your stories and it always made me so sad the way they ended, but I suppose not everyone can get the happy ending at eighteen. I'm glad Reid found somebody who makes him happy at last, though; he deserves it.

And now this review is rambling and probably doesn't make any sense but whatever. I love these stories (you just make me care so freaking much about your OC's! hahaha). Thank you for your amazing work. :D

Author's Response: Well I do love reviews ;) but I understand. I'm not the most dedicated reviewer myself these days, even of stories I really love.

It makes sense! Possibly because I'm a rambler as well, but hey it's all good. I'm really glad you enjoyed the story, and the bit of redemption for Reid. He wasted way too much time trying to re-create his relationship with Cecilia with all the wrong women, poor guy. Good thing he finally found Oriana. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Georgia Weasley Scenes at a Graveyard

11th December 2011:
Moved to tears. Reid, in all his cocky, bull-headed self-assurance, needed Cecilia to balance him. He spent far too much of his life trying to find someone who was no longer there. Thank God for Hattie. And I am so happy he finally found someone. Cecilia wouldn't have wanted him to suffer unless she was the one there causing it. ;) Beautifully written and so emotional.

Author's Response: Thank you! Your reviews always mean a ton to me; I'm so glad you liked it. Reid really did spend far too long looking for Cecilia in all the wrong ways. Women who look remarkably like her, but don't have the things that really made her who she was. Fortunately he wound up marrying a psychiatrist ;) And Oriana can keep up with him. And of course, big bonus, Hattie likes Oriana. lol. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login