Reading Reviews for Parachute
  
86 Reviews Found

Review #1, by victoria_anne Make Bedrooms Out of Closets

11th March 2016:
Hello darling, talented, oh-so-clever Branwen!

You know what sucked me into this story? One word:

Next generation Dursley.

Oh, wait, that's three words...

I know there's plenty out there but this is the first I've read, hooray! Special times! And I absolutely love the idea of it! How perfectly normal life with Edwin is going to be (or so Lily thinks, mayhaps...?)

But seriously, poor Lily! I understand completely where she's coming from! To be part of a family so reckless and to live with all that worry - my heart gave a wee squeeze for her. Although, I do hope da fam make some more appearances. I like your Albus! (Hehehe that sounds funny. But for realsies, I like your characterisation of him so far).

Such a cool, original idea and I can't wait to see what you've done with it.

OOH ALMOST FORGOT - Lily living in a cupboard! Can I get a throwback?! That is such a sweet little detail. *it's the ciiircllleee of liiife!*

Dialogue on fleek.

Love Bianca

 Report Review

Review #2, by TearsIMustConceal Make Bedrooms Out of Closets

6th February 2016:
Hi Branwen, here for the BvB.

I loved this chapter! Especially meeting Edwin properly. I think his character is great and it makes me think 'what if', in terms of is this what Harry and Dudley's relationship could have been like if the circumstances had been different? I also love the fact Edwin seems disillusioned about magic, if that makes sense? Like, he's not particularly impressed or surprised about Lily's bag or when she changes his closet – but from the way you've described James and Albus visiting over the holidays, I guess it's not particularly surprising, is it?

I really love the way you've managed to include the Dursley's in this – not a lot of stories do and in all honesty, it doesn't make sense that they wouldn't have any contact with each other, so I like how you've managed to include Edwin seamlessly into their lives. He fits perfectly or as perfect as a muggle can who is related to wizards.

Lily's comment about the phone – it's so realistic that she wouldn't know much about muggles and technology, the same way Edwin probably doesn't know much about the wizarding world. I feel like this is the perfect opportunity for them to learn about each other's worlds – like family bonding, and you never know, Edwin may come to like magic and all it's capabilities! I also can't wait to see her interact with muggles – I can imagine it's going to be a lot of fun!

Amazing chapter Branwen and I can't wait to read the next one!

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #3, by RavenclawFTW Frequent Visits to St. Mungo's

6th February 2016:
Heya Branwen! I'm here for BvB, but I actually read this story a little while ago and failed to review because I'm the worst. I'm sorry!

That said: I love this story, and I totally relate to Lily! She seems so overwhelmed, and I totally relate to how she reacts to the constant danger her family is in. I started feeling anxious myself as she listed all of the terrible things she had been through, and it must be so overwhelming for her! I love how Scorpius understands what she's feeling, and it makes sense that he does, given that he too is outside of all these crazy decisions. Their relationship in general makes me really happy, and it's wonderful how you've illustrated their connection here.

The details you include are always so spectacular, and the image of them eating gazpacho is weirdly hilarious/awesome to me for such a conversation. It really helps bring the story to life and helps set the backdrop on such an important moment.

I also think the idea Lily has to get away-- going to stay with Edwin, a Dursley, of all people-- is really wonderful and unique, and I can't wait to see how it goes. The relationship between Harry and Dudley is something that really intrigues me because it seems like Dudley has matured a lot by the end of the series, but we don't get to see how they deal with it after the War. I really love the idea that Lily is close(ish) to her cousins, though!

While I love Lily's decision, I do think it seems impulsive and definitely like something that a stressed teenager would come up with, so I would've appreciated fleshing out the conversation with Harry/Ginny a bit more. it didn't necessarily feel too short, but I was very surprised that it was resolved so quickly, and I would've liked to see Lily explaining herself a little bit more to win her parents over more. Something about the conversation didn't sit exactly correctly with me, but it definitely works as is, and you don't have to change it or anything-- that's just where I think there could be some improvement.

Alright, I think that's about all I had to say! I'm really excited about this story, and I can't wait to see Lily grow more throughout the story. :)

--J

 Report Review

Review #4, by TearsIMustConceal Frequent Visits to St. Mungo's

20th January 2016:
Hi Branwen, here for the BvB review battle!

I felt like I haven't read anyhting of yours in forever so I was pretty excited when I saw you were the next person to review!!

Obviously, you are the Queen of Next Gen so I was super excited to see your authors page and although I know i've started to read CINAS, I saw this and I was just drawn to it, probably because of the amazing banner, but I guess i'm shallow like that :P

But anyway, onto the story...

I adore Lily here. I've not particularly read much about Lily and definitely not as the main character of a story so I was instantly intrigued about her and what you were going to do with her! And I was not let down in the slightest! I feel like her reaction, though completely reasonable in any other case, is completely atypical coming from the family network she comes from yet this is the reason it really works and that Lily really shines as a character! It's not expected of her to disapprove and dislike her family's actions, she's expected to be part of that once she gets older and yet, she's upset about everyone being hurt and no one else seeing the seriousness and I honestly love that and I feel like it makes her such an original character!

I adore Lily and Scorpius' little interaction – I feel like they have a little connection here, as they're both affected by the many St Mungo's trips and it's heart-warming to see him be there for her, as possibly the only sane one amongst them all and someone who mostly agrees with her.

I really liked the conversation between Lily and Harry and Ginny – it just shows how different life is for Lily now, compared to how it was for her parents. The countless hospital trips probably just seem like the norm for Harry and Ginny, considering what they had to grow up around but obviously for Lily, it's not normal, especially because I can imagine comparing her family life to friends at Hogwarts. I can understand Harry and Ginny's, almost blasé reaction to the whole situation but I can also understand how difficult it must be for Lily because no one seems to get where she's coming from, aside from Scorpius. It must be hard for Lily, especially not sharing the thirst for adventure because I can imagine her always feeling left out and that makes me want to give her a hug.

I love the way Lily just left without actually asking if she could stay with Edwin – there's the Potter streak coming out. A little reckless but if I was in her position, I would have done the same!

Amazing story Branwen, like usual and I hope I get to read more sometime soon!

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #5, by Pookha Frequent Visits to St. Mungo's

4th January 2016:
BvB review.

I don't think the conversation was too short. You really didn't need to fill in that space with the whole dragged out thing, so summing up was fine. It is okay to tell once in a while instead of showing and sometimes it's right when it's a long tedious conversation (like Lily's wheedling probably was here).

I like the feel of Lily not wanting to follow in the family's footsteps. She wants to do her own thing and be her own person.

You do very well at connecting the reader to Lily's feelings and we understand just how tired of feeling worried for her family she is. She's not just tired of going there, but she's also tired of worrying.

My favorite part is how you make us care about the characters.

 Report Review

Review #6, by BellaLestrange87 The Rickety Walrus

2nd January 2016:
Hi Branwen! I was here for BvB but I was beaten but I'll post this anyways.

How convenient is it that I open up your page to leave a review for BvB and this has a new chapter? *sticks tongue out because I don't think emojis/smilies/whatever they are work on the archive*

I love the little details you added in about The Rickety Walrus, like the creaky floors, the door that opens in, and how Lily used those to really relate to the building and love it without even meeting anyone in there.

I really like Annie. She seems like a genuinely friendly person, and I really like that small joke she made at the end (footballer DNA), to try and get Lily more comfortable. I also like that Lily's chosen last name was related to her, although I feel like the fact that she's using a fake surname might come back if Harry or anyone else she knows from the wizarding world come looking for her and greet her by her (actual) surname.

I love Lily's commentary about Mario Kart. I can't wait to see her future thoughts on other Muggle pastimes. (Have Edwin take her skiing in the winter! I'd love to hear what she thinks about that!)

It's really nice that Scorpius is checking up on her to make sure that she's okay and everything. Although how did he know she was working there? Did I miss an owl to him?

I can't wait for the next chapter!

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #7, by cherry_pop94 Frequent Visits to St. Mungo's

2nd January 2016:
Hello Branwen!

I'm here for BvB! So this is a super interesting start! You don't know how excited I was to hear the surname Dursley! I don't read much about their interactions with the Potters, but I'm glad it seems like Edwin and Lily are least somewhat friendly with each other.

I really like how you've characterized the Weasley/Potter family. Each of them doing some wildly dangerous career. I laughed a little when you said Victoire was attacked by something.

Lily's reaction to always being in the hospital is really well-done. I can completely understand why she'd be so emotional over it and especially bothered when the rest of her family seems so nonchalant about it. I'm glad Scorpius is there to help her through it.

I can't wait to read more of this! I'll definitely be back soon!

Stefanie

 Report Review

Review #8, by BellaLestrange87 Make Bedrooms Out of Closets

2nd January 2016:
Hi Branwen! I'm here for BvB!

I really like Edwin. He seems like what Dudley could have been if he hadn't been raised the way he was. I also like the way the relationship between Lily and Edwin seems to be. From what I can tell, they act like they know each other, but aren't involved in each other's worlds at all but can get along just fine. Exactly like me and my cousins. *laughs*

The descriptions of James and Albus over for Christmas made me laugh. I haven't read any of your stories featuring James *yet*, but the little tidbit about him bringing sphinx ornaments and being surprised at what happened was very funny. It also reminded me of Fred, George, and Dudley with the Ton-Tongue Toffee in GoF. Continuity: Muggles related to wizards receive short straw. Like father like son.

“Is that all you brought with you?” he asked her, glancing at her bag. “It holds more than you think.” Edwin made a face. “Of course it does.” *dies* He sounds so resigned to the weirdness of magical life.

I loved Lily's use of magic in cleaning out the closet and turning the bathroom wall red. It really reminded me of Ginny. It also sounds like something I would do if I was ever given a wand. *nods*

Lily still wasn’t quite sure how his phone seemed to know that - as far as she knew, phones were meant to be a way to talk to people. Maybe Edwin knew a bed frame expert. I love this sentence, and how it shows the level of ignorance witches and wizards have about Muggle life, even those related to Muggles. Google's only existed since approximately 1998, after all.

I really enjoyed this chapter and I will definitely come R&R the third chapter when it's posted. *waggles eyebrows*

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #9, by BellaLestrange87 Frequent Visits to St. Mungo's

29th December 2015:
Hi Branwen! I'm here for QTR Holiday Fun!

I think you wrote Lily really well here. Lily's my favourite next-gen character so I'm really happy to see another novel with her as the main character (which is why I picked this fic instead of Wrinkles or Shenanigans). I love her reaction to her family's constant in-and-out injuries that result in trips to St Mungo's, and her opinion on Albus's reaction to James being hurt (AGAIN). Making wisecracks about your best friend being really busy at work is not an appropriate way of responding to your brother being hospitalized. At all.

I also like the friendship between Lily and Scorpius. I really like how he's supported her and provided someone sane to talk to, someone not in a dangerous career.

I can really sympathize with Lily here. It would really suck to be the only person in her family not involved in a career that could potentially get them killed, and having to hope that they didn't get hurt, day in and day out. I imagine that the stress of being pulled out of Hogwarts a lot to go to St Mungo's is really grating on her.

I think the conversation between Lily and Harry and Ginny showed the major differences between their upbringings. While Lily is stressed out and wants to get away to destress, Harry and Ginny never had that option; Voldemort would have followed them anywhere they went.

It seems just like her parents that Lily didn't actually ask Ed at all before packing a bag and leaving.

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #10, by Eddie the Elf Make Bedrooms Out of Closets

7th December 2015:
HO HO HO MERRY CHRISTMAS

That's Santa's line but I love it so much I decided to steal it for the time being. I'll give it back, don't worry!

This is a great start to a story! I really love that Lily is one of the only ones who seems to be sane and the only one who actually gets emotional/worried about her loved ones in the hospital! It's a normal reaction, and the other family members seem to be extremely abnormal. It's hilarious that almost all of them love that risky danger and poor little Lily is the only one who actually thinks: "HELLO YOU CAN DIE ONE DAY"

Edwin seems to be very laid back! If I was in his situation I wouldn't be as calm, that's for sure!

Oh my goodness, the bit about Lily changing the walls and magicking the apartment was fantastic. I loved it so much. It was hilarious that Lily can't seem to master everything and I can just imagine the wall colours a ridiculously bright colour.

And the phone 'conversation' hahahahahahaha I love the idea that Lily is completely ignorant of the magic world, especially with the idea that there are search engines on our phones! We basically have a walking library at our fingertips and she knows nothing of it! I adored that lil tidbit!

I can't wait to see how close she and Edwin become, and how she interacts with more muggles and the friends she'll make! I think it's going to be a super interesting story and I will definitely continue on! ;)

Hope you have a very merry Christmas and an excellent New Year. May 2016 bring you your happiest year yet!

- The mysterious Eddie the Elf ;)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! Yeah, Lily is definitely a little out of place no matter where she goes, which is a problem. I'm glad you enjoyed Edwin, though - he's a fun character to write about, and I'm loving portraying a super confused witch. :P Merry Christmas, and happy new year! ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by Anon Make Bedrooms Out of Closets

4th December 2015:
Hi! This story has a really interesting premise; I'm looking forward to seeing how Lily adjusts to living in the Muggle world :)

Just one tiny thing; I think in the first chapter you say Lily goes on the Metro. Here in England it's generally called either the Tube or the Underground :)

But overall, great stuff - really excited to see what happens next! :)

Author's Response: Whoops, thank you so much for correcting me - I've fixed it. :) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Cameron 

6th August 2013:
Please, please, please, please update this! I know it's been a long time... and you probably don't remember all the plot lines... and you're probably working on other stories... but you must know the intense feeling of sadness that comes from reading a really good story and then getting to the last chapter and realizing it's unfinished.

In the name of the god of Good Fan Fiction, PLEASE ADD TO THIS! Because it's really awesome and does not deserve to be abandoned.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm working on it, I promise. I'm a full-time student, though, and I work part-time as well, so my time to spend on fanfiction has been unfortunately very limited lately. :(

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lily 

31st May 2013:
Arsenal! Whoo! There the best! More this is so good! Why did you call it the Albatross though??

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! :) Glad to see a fellow Gunner on the site. :P

In The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, an albatross can be considered an omen of good luck or bad, depending on the situation, which is how I see Lily as feeling about the magical world just now. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by blueirony 

24th February 2013:
So, um.

Better late than never?

Gulp.

Yes. I know it's been almost a year... or more like eight months. And I suppose eight months is better than a full twelve months but it's still... yeah. At least I'm here. It's better than nothing! I tell people that I promise to never forget about them and I don't. So here I am.

You know what I like about your writing? You don't over-dramatise it. There are so many stories which really build up to a kiss and while they do keep me on the edge of my seat and keep me clicking "next chapter", it's nice that the kiss between Anthony and Lily was nothing special. It happened, they sort of laughed over it and that's the end of that. I think that more closely resembles how it is in real life than in movies where you the entire plot leads up to a kiss. I like that.

I liked this chapter! Lol, trust you to put your beloved soccer into it. And, yes, it is called soccer. Not football. :P I also liked that you didn't give us a play-by-play rundown of the entire game. It tends to not add too much to the story unless the sport is pivotal to the story. And I liked it in this. It was nice.

I wonder who the person is that Lily saw! I don't know who it could be. And I won't bother guessing because I suck at that type of thing. Should be interesting to see, though.

A lovely two chapters!

Jasmine :)

Author's Response: No worries - I'm about three months late responding to this. I understand how RL can get. Thank you so much for getting to me now. :)

I'm glad you liked the kiss - I think that there's definitely a time and a place for a crazy build up, but that it often isn't really necessary. I mean, sometimes kisses just happen, you know? They're not always a big deal.

I'm also glad that you felt like I balanced the description of the game well. I know that most people aren't in love with the sport like I am, and I didn't want to overdo it.

Thank you for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lord Dissick 

30th September 2012:
How could you?
First the kiss cliffhanger, where I was like wahhh???
And now this? It would be okay if you updated three seconds after finishing the cliffhanger with the voice that she'd know anywhere.
WHOS VOICE IS IT?! I MUST KNOW, NOW, PLEASE!!
You're driving me insane!!!

Author's Response: Aw, sorry! I've gotten distracted from this, though I do love it. I'll get the next chapter posted asap, though I will give you a hint - it's one of her cousins, who happens to really, really dislike Spurs. ;)

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Awesomeness The Rickety Walrus

30th September 2012:
This would be a good chapter...
But the MarioKart reference made it brilliant!!! Ahaha I bet you thought I was gonna say something like "there just wasn't enough pole dancing" or "where were the explosions? A story with no explosions isn't a story at all!"* but I really rather liked it.
*completely true. The only exception is in Harry Potter fanfictions because an explosion at this point in the story would be pointless. Duh.

Author's Response: Now I kind of want to insert a dream-sequence explosion just for the sake of it. :P

I'm glad I'm not the only MarioKart fan. :) Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Sophie 

23rd September 2012:
I'm really loving your story so far it's very interesting as it is a very unique story and not like any others I have read. I also love all of your OCs they fit in well unlike some I have seen in other fics that just don't fit. I really hope she will get with Annie soon! Please post some more soon :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) I'll post more asap - I've been a little bogged down lately, but I definitely haven't forgotten about Lily. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by AC_rules The Rickety Walrus

24th June 2012:
Okay, first off I'm so incredible sorry that this review took much such a long time to get to. Well, an unforgivable length of time (four months, ack) but well... I was thinking about closing my thread for awhile due to school and general life chaos, but I'm definitely back on course with this now. So, sorry!

I've started by going through and picking out all the little things, if that's okay and then I'll go on to talk a bit more generally at the end :)

First, I really loved the little details you included about Lily in this bit "It was silly, but one of her least favorite things about the muggle world was the fact that most stores didn’t have bells above shop doors." and the bit about Lily loving doors that opened into a building rather than out. My knee-jerk reaction to that was just to smile goofily, then I was trying to get my critic brain on and was trying to work out whether these details were actually relevant, but you used them in such a way that they make me feel like I know Lily's quirks and...awh, it make me smile. I feel like through that you managed to say a lot about Lily's character without explaining what she was wearing or trying to definie her character: show not tell, after all.

This bit There were also matching brown leather couches sandwiching a table that both looked like they would be more at home in a stuffy office – like her uncle’s – than a tea shop, though the man who had scorned the fuzzy white armchair that sat only paces away in favor of the no-nonsense brown leather clearly would have disagreed with her. really confused me. I think it's probably just me being thick as its one in the morning and my brain still hasn't recovered from the amount of revision I forced upon it - but it seemed a little too wordy, maybe? Your style is so crisp and easy to read but I got lost with the sandwiching and the uncle and then the other man and the white armchair and also the brown leather couches. Possibly just find a way to split that up into more than one sentence or something?

"But I love them, I do! " This seemed quite... melodramatic from Lily here. I have a bit of an aversion to the use of exclamatives but... i don't know, it seemed like Annie wasn't really accusing her and it sounded defensive? And that something like "I do love them" would have worked better at that point.

"If Ed says you’re good people" -- should that be 'a good person?' I'm thinking it's just a colloquial thing that I've never seen because I live under a rock.

Okay, that was all very picky stuff that I picked up as I was going along and feel free to ignore any of it at will. I really do love this story - it's so easy to read and so crisp and lovely. You have quite the way with words that means that your writing itself a pleasure to read, not just your characters and plot too. And then I really like all the characters in this. I said up there ^ that I liked the way youv'e characterised Lily and I stand by that - she's quite simple, really and I can completely imagine her not to have the reckless tendency like all her cousins. Its nice a refreashing and I really like her.

Annie was interesing too so it was good to meet her. Although not much has happened yet, I think you've done enough as a writer to keep us engaged and wanting to read more.

Sorry if this review is a bit rubbish, but I really do love this story and feel free to rerequest for future chapters! Its a lovely story and I'm only sad that it took me so long to get to reading the next chapter.

Thanks for writing!

-AC

Author's Response: No worries about taking awhile to get to the review. I can be the same way, and it's taken me two months to respond. *hides* I'm sorry - my unanswered reviews built up, and then once I'd made a dent in them I put off answering yours because it really is a lovely review (not rubbish at all!), and I didn't want to answer it with just an inadequate, "Thank you."

I definitely see what you mean about the little awkward bits you pointed out - I can occasionally get a bit wordy, and I definitely did there. I'll have to go back and rephrase it a bit.

"Good people" is indeed a colloquial thing, although now that I'm thinking about it, I think I picked it up from American relatives, so it may not be standard use in British English. It's a little hard to explain, but it's not quite the same as "a good person" - it's really about somebody's character. I guess "good person" is too, but... argh, it's difficult to articulate. It's different. At any rate, yes, it is an idiom, though I don't know that you've been living under a rock to have never seen it. :P

Thank you so much for the review, and I'm sorry again for taking so long to answer it. I'm glad you liked the story, and I'll keep an eye out for an empty spot in your thread. (... assuming you still have it, anyway. :P)


 Report Review

Review #19, by just jennifer 

5th June 2012:
I'm really curius now about who the O/C is because I don't think it's Anthony, so who?? I quite like how confused Lily is about all the football stuff (and I'll sdmit it really helps me understand it all when you explain cause I have no clue about teams south of the border) and I like Edwin and his growing interest in the wizarding world, but I'm not sure about the whole running away thing, but I'm willing to go with it since I love the story that follows :) update soon please because my curiosity is killing me!

Author's Response: Yeah, I don't love my set up for the running away bit... it's something that I think makes sense in my head because I know how Lily feels, but I haven't communicated it as well as I could have. I'll probably be going back to edit this story some eventually to help back that up more. I'm glad you like the story enough to go with it, though! :)

Thank you for the review! I'll update as soon as I can. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Allison 

3rd June 2012:
Oh, rats. I was hoping for Lily/Anthony. But he played that rejection very cool - I think I would have gone home and cried! I keep getting the sense that the pairing is Lily/Annie, though I don't have much to back up that theory. I just keep getting that feeling when Annie's in a scene.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #21, by lily_evans_ginny_weasley 

26th May 2012:
Oh goodness. Ok, so the person who recognised Lily is definitely going to be a relative from the magical world, I reckon. I'm going to hesitantly guess one of her brothers, but I really have no idea. It'll definitely add some more drama to Lily's life though!

As for Anthony, well, I have never seen anyone play rejection so cool. You'd expect some mild embarrassment, at least. But I hope they can keep being friends! (And what I really hope is that Lily falls in love with him and it gets all romantic and cute.)

Thanks, looking forward to the next one!

Author's Response: :) Thank you for the review! I'm working on the next chapter, and I hope to have it up soon.

I actually have a cousin who plays rejection about as cool as Anthony does. It's really entertaining to watch, and since Anthony seemed like that sort of person, I thought I'd draw on that a little. :P


 Report Review

Review #22, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

25th May 2012:
One thing:

She continued talking to Edwin about the kiss

^ Do you mean 'considered'?

Lily made herself busy pulling out tea bags so no one could see the smile that had spread across her face, too.

^ I'm sticking to my theory (and nope I won't PM you because I like to find out the pairing when it actually happens!) that the pairing is Lily/Annie. It seemed like you were dropping little hints in this chapter. Lily has never really been interested in boys. She doesn't understand why. Hint. Hint. Hint.

Lots of football talk but I'm interested to know who is behind her and now I just figured it out after I wrote 'football'. It's Dom! Duh! Because she's the only one in the family that is interested in football. Right? Am I right?

Trying to pull one over on me Beeezie! :D

Author's Response: Oops, yes. Thank you!

Regarding Dominique - yes, you are right! :P Arsenal (Dominique's club) and Spurs have a rivalry, so she's there rooting against Spurs. :P

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Allison 

17th May 2012:
Once again, I'm completely floored by how well your stories all work together! I really like you've done that. I would imagine that it's nice to have a set of characters and descriptions at your disposal.

I really enjoy Lily's character. I would probably feel the same if nearly my entire family was somehow putting themselves in danger on a daily basis. I think her reaction to everything that happens in her life is reasonable. And I love that she runs away to Edwin Dursley's! I've always liked the name Edwin - nice choice! I feel that it's something someone like Dudley would name their child.

Being the Rose/Scorpius shipper that I am, it's great to see that they're still together this far in the future. Not that I thought they wouldn't be considering the most recent events of "Curiosity" but conformation is nice! I adored the image of Scorpius playing Nintendo! I hope we get to see that "in person" in a future chapter! That's too good to leave out.

Ha ha, Annie's football obsession makes me laugh. I can't really fathom loving a sport so much, but I suppose I feel that way about history. I studied it in college and want to be an archivist and I just get so excited when talking to other people about history. So naturally I like Anthony quite a lot and I'm interested to see where his storyline with Lily goes.

Wonderful!

Author's Response: I forgot to say this in my last response - yes, I do have a huge database (and also a lot in my head). I'm really a geek that way - among other things, I have at least a partial list of every Hogwarts year from 2006 to 2027 (for the years of the next-gens, it's usually more detailed), a list of who works in the law and beast divisions at the Ministry and when, schedules for the major characters for Rose's fifth and sixth years, a list of who in Rose's year as well as the other next-gens and their closest friends take what for OWLs and NEWTs and what they get on them, Quidditch teams, and backstories for several different families (including the Greengrasses and the Dedworths).

... yeah this was what I did my last year of school when I wasn't working on my thesis. :P

I love the football stuff I can work into this - I'm a huge, huge fan (though I don't really care much about Liverpool - Dominique already likes my EPL team, though, and I can't have everyone be an Arsenal fan!), and especially now that the season is over and I was unhappy with many of the results, I'm probably going to be working in snide comments about my least favourite teams doing poorly in the 2020s. :P

I do understand liking history that much as well, though - history was one of the things I studied in college, and I really just loved all of my classes. One of the careers I'm considering is actually archiving, too, so I can completely understand the appeal!

Thank you so much for another lovely review. :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

2nd May 2012:
I have to say I agree with Edwin but Lily needs to figure everything out herself, he can't push her one way or another. It isn't going to help her out. Aw, I really like Anthony but I'm kind of upset that I really thought the pairing would have been Annie/Lily and I was warming up to the idea. I never can find well written slash stories that much and I'm sure if you wrote one I would enjoy. But I do like Anthony, I do, I just think Lily will probably dodge the kiss or something because it kind of came out of left field.

Author's Response: Yeah, I tend to agree about Edwin - this is something Lily needs to deal with, and pushing her isn't going to help.

I'm not going to spoil what the pairing will eventually be for you (unless you want me to :P), but I will say that what happened with Anthony in this chapter is not going to immediately lead into something. (I am trying to phrase myself very carefully.)

Thank you for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

2nd May 2012:
"Your friend Scorpius stayed for a couple hours. He stole my pizza and played FIFA with me."

^ Haha. That did amuse me. Too bad we couldn't actually see him play. I would have loved to see his facial reactions and how Edwin roped him into playing. I wonder if he enjoyed it. Oh, Scorpius!

Learning all about these things is kind of awesome. I know next to nothing about football but my friend used to play (writing football confuses me! Haha! I'm such an American) and she was actually quite good but she stopped playing once she started college, well soon after she started because it was too much work. But I remember her watching the games and she used to travel a lot to Italy and such to play against the teams over there.

Which kind of leaves me to my next question. Do you play football?

Author's Response: Oh, you'll see Scorpius playing either a first person shooter or FIFA at some point during this story! It's just too hilarious not to include. :P

I'm really glad you're enjoying learning a lot about football! I'm kind of insanely obsessed with it and think that everyone in the world should basically be into it because it's the best sport ever, and I mostly have to cram my football obsession into this fic and the fic I'm writing about Dominique starting a football tournament at Hogwarts. (Which is hilarious.)

I play some. I played a lot more when I was a kid, but since I got older it's pretty much limited to occasionally kicking a ball around with my friends. :(

Thank you for your review! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>