Reading Reviews for A Nearly-Headless Account
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan A Nearly-Headless Account

5th August 2013:
Tag!

This was really entertaining. I've never seen anything from Nearly Headless Nick's perspective and he's such a great character so I'm glad you decided to write this. And you totally did him justice - he had the perfect mix of pretentiousness and humour and tangential ramblings and matter-of-fact-ness (I don't think that's a word, but I'm going with it).

I do wonder how Nick published a book when his hands would go straight through a pen. Maybe he had to dictate it to some poor house-elf, whom I hope got shared writing credit. :P

There were so many things I loved about this. "It rhymes with Lughorn", haha. And I loved the jab at "Ironic" - it has always bothered me that none of the things in that song are actually ironic! Nick's speech that was not included sounds oh so inspirational. And Voldemort's weakness still being classified. Omg you are really a genius. As always a wonderful read :)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

I think Nick is pretty underrated, and I imagine he would have been pretty disapointed about being left out of the movie, so he had to get his side across somehow.

I pity the poor elf that must have written this book:)

I know right! Rain on your wedding day is a sad coincidence, there is nothing "ironic" about it. Thank again!


 Report Review

Review #2, by HollyStone73 A Nearly-Headless Account

17th July 2013:
Hee Hee! This was cute! I love Nearly Headless Nick and could almost envision him puffing out his chest as he was speaking this story! LOL! I exceptionally love his little additions to the story about his thoughts and feelings about everything. Like his mistrust of Snape, his intolerance of Professor Umbridge and defense of Professor McGonagall. This was very well written and very fun to read!! Great job!!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! I was pretty disapointed that they left him out of the last movie, and I imagine he wouldve had something to say about it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by marauder5 A Nearly-Headless Account

2nd June 2013:
Review tag!

Okay, so this was NOT what I expected when I clicked on this story, but man, was it a good surprise! I was practically laughing at every other sentence - you, my friend, are hilarious! Thank you for such a great humour addition to the archives :D I'm surprised that you managed to turn the tragic events of the Battle of Hogwarts into something so thoroughly funny! :)

So you started out with having us imagine a boxing match between Nick and Professor Binns! Just that little thing is enough for loving this story, i think! ;) Here are some of my favourite snippets:

"Old William did not see fit to include me in his plays, but since he’s a second rate actor rather than a true historian we can give him a pass for now." - I love how casually he talks about Shakespeare!

"It must be said that young Tom Riddle, while already scheming and evil, was studious and exceedingly charming, in addition to actually having a nose.Most Hogwarts professors, especially a certain Potions master who‘s name I will not mention here, (but it rhymes with Lughorn) were completely fooled by Riddle’s charms and could not see him for what he truly was." - the nose part! It cracked me up! :) And also, it rhymes with Lughorn - brilliance. It kind of makes me wish I knew you. I bet you're a fun person to be around, haha!

I also love the whole idea of the story - Nick promoting his book. It's so original, and yet, not completely AU. It might be because I loved this story so much, but I can almost imagine him doing something like this, haha! :) Well, I loved this, thank you so much for writing it and making me laugh so much! :D

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for such a great review!

I was trying to capture some of the pompous attitude I picture Nick having, but do it in a light-hearted way. Mostly because the guy from Monty Python played him in the movies, I picture Nick being kind of hilarious.

And I can't imagine that Nick would be too happy about being left out of the final movie, so he would probably want to get his side of the story across.

Thanks again!



 Report Review

Review #4, by Illuminate A Nearly-Headless Account

8th May 2013:
Hey! Review Tag!

This is absolutely brilliant! xD You have a unique sense of humour, and this comes through excellently through your prose as Nearly-Headless Nick. It's the kind of quick wit and consistancy I wish I could get with Fred and George in my story xD

You also manage to do this while keeping your flow smooth and your characterisation of Nick so believable it slams me right back into reading the original books, and every time that Nick appears.

He's so authentic, so cocky, pompous and so desperate to big himself up to something he isn't. You do all of this while entertaining the reader throughout.

I LOVE the quip about Rita Skeeter, and the Alanis Morrisette reference xD

Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

I'ma big fan of Nick, and I think he had a lot of underutilized potential in the movies.

And on a side note, I'm still bothered by that song, I mean rain on your wedding day is an unfortunate occurrence, but its not "ironic."

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Athene Goodstrength A Nearly-Headless Account

5th March 2013:
Well, I never thought I’d come across a story in which Nearly Headless Nick gives his valued opinion on Alanis Morrisette and Snily. But I’m glad I did, because this was great.

I actually read the whole thing with John Cleese’s voice in my head, which is never a bad thing - that’s how well you got Nick’s pompous, friendly, slightly ridiculous way of speaking in this.

You’ve done a really good job of filling this whole story with jokes and references without making it look like a list of jokes and references.

I liked the bitterness about Shakespeare - do I recognise a Shakespeare in Love reference there?
Actually, old Nick’s pretty bitter about a lot of things! Not that I blame him - he’s not had much luck. And then to be cut out of most of the films! Well, I’m with him on that. Utterly unforgiveable.

The boxing match between NHN and Professor Binns is a hilarious idea - I imagine a lot of circling, fist twirling and ‘have at thee!’-ing.

I had a good laugh at Nick’s opinion on popular fanfic ships and tropes. But you’ve still managed to make him sound very proud of those who fought for Hogwarts in the battle. Even if he really is just trying to shill his book.

I noticed one or two typos but they were minor and didn’t detract from the story as a whole.

This was one of my favourite lines: “ The Fat Friar, while a nice enough man, is simply too obese to be of much use to us.” Oh, and the usual dig at Voldemort’s lack of nose - really, that never gets old! Love it.

You. You’re funny.

Athene xo

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a great review!

John Cleese's portrayal definitely factored into the mental image I had of Nick, and I was really trying to capture the proud and pompous tone I imagined him having.

That's pretty much exactly how I pictured the boxing match too:)

For some reason, i imagine Nick has a really high standard of what he expected ghosts to live up to, and that the other Hogwarts ghosts likely feel far short of that standard.

Thanks again, glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by 800 words of heaven A Nearly-Headless Account

15th February 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

Hahahahaha!!! Reading this on a Saturday morning has just made my day! This sounds a lot like how I imagine Sir Nick thinks and talks!

Of course, this is a pretty serious issue here, the Battle of Hogwarts, but you've maanged to inject some much-needed levity into the subject! Sir Nick just seems to ramble on! And I adore his little asides and references to Shakespeare and what-not! I particularly enjoyed the jibe at Rita Skeeter - I thought that was very Gryffindor!

I also think what was very Gryffindor, but more, very Sir Nick, was how he played up his role in the goings on significantly. It was very charming, because we all love Sir Nick!

I think you have a really nice author's voice, which is quite easy and entertaining to read. I look forward to reading some more of your stuff!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

I think Nick would have taken offense to being left out of the last few movies, and I could totally see him releasing his own version of the story to counter it.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Courtney Dark A Nearly-Headless Account

14th February 2013:
Tag!

Oooh, this was really funny! I wasn't quite sure what to expect when I first read it, but I decided to have a gander because it looked so different to anything else I had read here before...and I turned out to be right. This completely unique and original, and had some very humourous moments.

I loved the way you described Rita Skeeter's review and also that little mention of Lily and Snape. Very nice! And I also thought that your characterization of Nearly Headless Nick, merely through his thoughts, was excellent.

Very enjoyable read, thanks!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

I think Nick is very underrated, and he was completely left out of the last couple movies, which I imagine he wouldn't have been to happy about.


 Report Review

Review #8, by CherryBoom A Nearly-Headless Account

11th October 2012:
Hi! It's always nice to find a fellow history buff.

I loved Sir Nicholas's account of the battle of Agincourt. It was a very good idea to give him a role in muggle history, although knowing him, there might have been some embellishments there. =)

I laughed out loud at Rita Skeeter's book review. That was excellent shot and very Skeeter-like, but luckily Sir Nick's self-importance is undefeatable. I was genuinely amused about the thought of Sir Nick giving the speech, that undoubtedly was delivered with great pomp. Maybe you could do another one-shot that has a focus on it?

This was very fun one-shot, I loved the history references and Sir Nick's willingness to promote his book in every possible turn.

There was a couple of typos (Delores Umbridge) and something else, that now escapes me, but on the whole this was the exceptionally well written and very amusing fic.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

Knowing Nick, I'm sure his actual role was quite a bit less than what he was portraying it as.

It is quite tempting to write about the speech, but it;s so epic I don't know if I can do it justice.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Moondanser83 A Nearly-Headless Account

3rd September 2012:
For some reason, by the time I hit the second paragraph of this story the voice in my head turned into the Monty Python narrator. LOL.

It reads like a text book that is being read by a professor who thinks hes funny, but never quite hits the mark... which makes it all the more amusing.

I enjoyed Nick's account of what had happened, though I found the reference to muggle things such as the 90s pop song...

(sidenote: I JUST had this conversation about that song with a friend the other day... A little too ironic, dontcha think? LOL)

...and Rocky Balboa seemed a little out of place. But overall it worked nicely. ;)

Good job darling!
~Moon~

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by HappyMollyWeasley A Nearly-Headless Account

11th August 2012:
Oh, this was a really funny one-shot! I didn't really know what to expect when I started to read it, but you managed to surprise me! It is hilarious! :-)

I've never realised the similarities betwwen Gilderoy Lockhart and Nearly-Headless Nick, but I guess they are more alike than one usually think?! The shameless self-plugging and name-dropping is great.

The line "in addition to actually having a nose" made me laugh out loud! :-) I loved the comment for the Snilly fans too!

Well, what can I say more than that I'll be rushing right away to Flourish and Blott's to buy the book? And I'm waiting for the film version as well!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

Nick is a lot like Lockhart now that you mention it, but I hope he wouldn't stoop to stealing people's memories.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #11, by The Last Marauder A Nearly-Headless Account

21st July 2012:
I just love the style you wrote this in, i don't know how to describe it, you used the phrases and words Nearly Headless Nick would. I loved all the little jokes - the jibes at Rita Skeeter, the joke about Snape and Lily (is to too soon?), and Nick not knowing what a Kindle was. It just made me laugh.

I really liked the idea that Nick was writing a book, and that his fic was basically his advertising his book. I loved that he considers himself the authority on Harry Potter.

This was a great idea to do - I had never passed much thought on Nick, but now that I think about it, he is probably a really interesting character to do a story about - just because of everything he has seen at Hogwarts. You should do a blow-by-blow account of The Battle of Hogwarts in Deathly Hallows from Nick's point of view. That would be brilliant!

Anyway, great fic, I really enjoyed it :)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

I think Nick is underrated, and I was quite disapointed with how much he was left out of the movies. We don't get to see much of his personaliy, but I totally pictur him being witty and at least a little pompous.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jchrissy A Nearly-Headless Account

21st June 2012:
Here from review tag!
My reviews tend to be a little hectic because I review while I read for the first time, then I go back and talk about the story as a whole. Try and hang in there with me!

I love how humorous this is starting out! This line is so perfect: I will only be giving you a very brief excerpt here.  However, I am contractually obligated to inform you that if you order right now through this exclusive offer, I will personally autograph your copy

Love it, this is great!: (I will forever curse Christopher Columbus for stealing the significance of that date from me)- hahaha

Your one liners are absolutely perfect. I am very engaged with this version of Nick!:
In fact, I can honestly say without a hint of irony that I would willingly die for Harry Potter.  Alright, maybe there’s just a little bit of irony there.

Oh my gosh, as a person who despises Snape and Lily together, this just made my day!
Lily Evans. (Yes, I went there.  Sorry Snape fans, is it still too soon?) 

Hahahaha:And no, it is not available in kindle version; I don’t even know what that means.


Okay, this was an absolutely hilarious piece. I think you captured N-H-N pompous but charming personality, perfectly! I really was not expecting to read a something funny when I chose it for Tag, but it made my morning.

I think your flow is perfect, your word choices are spot on, and the entire thing just really makes for a few minutes of great entertainment!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

I think Nick is very underrated, and I was dispointed at how much he was left out of the films. I'm glad you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #13, by BeaJerry A Nearly-Headless Account

15th May 2012:
'and no, it is not available in kindle version- i don't even know what that means.' omg dying
hey, i'm here from the review tag!
so this was pretty damn hilarious. you captured the tone of sir nick perfectly, and this is definitely one of the funniest, most accurate canon pieces i've read- your writing is so incredible!
honestly have nothing negative to say about this. i love his references, and the way he compares himself to shakespeare, and lord nelson; you caught the perfect pompous tone, without going too over the top.
i also love the way you describe his relationship with the other ghosts. it sounds like something out of monty python, that ghosts' meeting! god, i wish there was actually a book on that.
this was an amazing read, congratulations!
10/10- even though you're a spurs fan. i don't even care anymore, arsenal is what, third? hahahaha, unlucky...
ps- i noticed you typed 'honour' as 'honor'; this is a bit of a personal question, but what side of the pond are you from? because you follow british football, but that's an american way of spelling it ;)
bea xo

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, glad you enjoyed it!

I totaly picture Nick being all pompous, but kind of in a humorous and endearing way.

I'm actually American, but I love a good footmball match!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Noblevyne A Nearly-Headless Account

12th April 2012:
You really got down Nick's pompous persona! A very interesting perspective on the whole thing - he'd have been there from start to finish, seen how it evolved from political conflict to all out war.

The humour was a nice touch, I think John Cleese's portrayal (albeit brief) certainly added to my image of him being a very droll sort. And I loved the idea of this being a 'teaser' for his new book - and the line about the kindle was rather genius.

Also, I noticed a tiny spelling error: 'it may be de-classifid'

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

I imagined Nick being pretty pompous and self-righteous, but in an amusing and humorous way. I also don't think he would be too happy about the way he was left out of the films. Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #15, by BKL8008 A Nearly-Headless Account

22nd March 2012:
More sheer genius! I loved it. I can see Sir Nick writing it up just like this.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by javct A Nearly-Headless Account

21st March 2012:
Tag!

I really liked this (apart from the Tom&Minerva part haha) this was a very unique story. Nearly Headless Nick is one of those underrated characters in the HP fandom. I love the way you wrote this! It was amazing and made me laugh in a few places. You captured his characterisation brilliantly!! I loved it!

Jaz

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! And Nick doesn't really like any Sytherins, so he definetely isn't a fan of Tom haha.

 Report Review

Review #17, by charlottetrips A Nearly-Headless Account

7th March 2012:
I completely loved this whole thing! It was so Nick with the inflated head and ego, his tendency to be in the thick of a recounting that he wasn't in. I especially loved this line "Severus Snape and Lily Evans. (Yes, I went there.  Sorry Snape fans, is it still too soon?)" even though I am a total Snily fan, the whole communication was so appropo. :)

xChar

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! I definetaly always pictures Nick being fairly witty in addition to somewhat pompous and self-righteous, so I'm glad to hear that came accross well. And he definetely would not approve of Snily haha.

 Report Review

Review #18, by potter4ever731 A Nearly-Headless Account

5th February 2012:
I liked that you ended with a snappy comment! It's funny when the muggle world and wizarding world clash:) You use excellent word choice, it was an entertaining piece:)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #19, by TheHeirOfSlytherin A Nearly-Headless Account

30th January 2012:
"Yes, I went there. Sorry Snape fans, is it still too soon?"

Oh, I had a real good laugh with this bit. For quite a few minutes, if I'm being honest. I love the humor in this; Nick is so funny. And the way he kind of goes off topic in little bits is brilliant.

What I love most, though, is how you made it like a book extract; it was different to read and beet awesome!

10/10 for this!

Sam.

And I would never buy the kindle version of your book, Nick. *hates them* :P

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review Sam!

I'm so glad you enjoyed the humor, I definetely pictured Nick being pretty funny, but also a little pompous. And I think Nick hates kindles just as much as you do haha.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Akussa A Nearly-Headless Account

23rd January 2012:
Hi! You're tagged!

For some reason, I was convinced I had already read that story, which is why I never reviewed it before. But as I began reading this, it was clear I had never seen this before and I was glad I gave it a look!

It was another great story. Once again, your humor sets you appart from most writters on this site. The pop culture and FF references scattered through this piece made me giggle.

Your characterization of Nick was spot on in my opinion. The slight pompous attitude and exagerate drama were perfect. I also loved your explanation as to why it's nick and not Binns that is making this historical review; I would have given good money to see that boxing match!

Another great story, you really know how to make my days a little brighter! Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! It's always a great feeling when people get my humor.

I definetely pictured Nick being kind of pompous and self righteous but also very witty, so I'm glad that's how it came across. I would definetely pay to see that match too!


 Report Review

Review #21, by baletgir A Nearly-Headless Account

20th January 2012:
I think you really get Nick. You had his character dead on. It really seemed like him talking. YOu had everything, his slight self-importance, and love for embellishments. And there was just an air of sophistication with his language that worked. Even though the characterization was good, you lost it every so often. I think you were trying really hard to make this somewhat humorous, and the places where you tried were OOC for Nick. He's stuck in Hogwarts he doesn't know anything Muggle. It was actually funny on his own, you didn't need to add in the narrator touches, they threw off the flow to be honest.

You said "hindsight is always perfect." The actual saying is Hindsight is always 20/20.

I think this was really interesting. Good job!

:)BaletGir

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and I'm glad you liked Nick's characterization.

I can see your point about the pop culture references, however I could claim that there were enough muggle born students at Hogwarts that he may have been exposed to it, and also my stories aren't really meant to be taken seriously.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #22, by WitnesstoitAll A Nearly-Headless Account

15th January 2012:
I don't know if I've ever left you a proper review before, but I've read all of your one shots and continue to be blown away by your sense of humour and your ability to combine the real world (with the HP films, politics, pop culture and the like) with the world of Harry Potter. It's really quite effective for this sort of writing.

I loved the made for TV add quality that this one-shot had. It really was a unique approach to a re-telling of the Final Battle of Hogwarts. Nick was funny and a bit self righteous, much like he is in canon. Really, I could ramble on forever about how clever this was, but instead I'll leave with a few quotes that literally made me laugh out loud.

the forces of good, which consisted of the Order of the Phoenix, Dumbledore’s Army, the Hogwarts Faculty, and the Gryffindor quidditch team, -- aha. it's so sort of funny to think that the fate of the entire wizarding world is left to such a ragtag bunch of people. I always wondered how the gryffindor quidditch team happened to be together when the battle commenced.

Honestly, that pairing is about as likely as Queen Victoria and a Russian Czar, myself and Moaning Myrtle, or Severus Snape and Lily Evans. (Yes, I went there. Sorry Snape fans, is it still too soon?) Not much else to say other than the fact that your commentary on the FF culture never fails to make me giggle.

All in all this was fantastic!
Melissa

Author's Response: Hey thanks a lot for the review!

I definetley imagined Nick being pretty witty, mostly since John Cleese plays him in the movies I think. I wanted to capture that, along with his sense of pride and bravado, so I'm glad to hear that came across well.

I know! I thought that was so random when Oliver, Angelina, and Katie just showed up together out of the blue.

Thanks again, and I'm glad you enjoyed the humor!

James


 Report Review

Review #23, by ericajen A Nearly-Headless Account

14th January 2012:
Hello again! You know, there aren't many stories about Nearly-Headless Nick out there in the fanfic world, but he is a rather interesting character and it's always fun to explore the possibilities of the character we don't know so much about, such as Nearly-Headless Nick.

I liked this one-shot because, well, it just kind of makes sense. I mean, he would have a lot of knowledge about all things Hogwarts. You don't roam around a school for 500 years without learning a few things about it and the people in it.

The humor in this is certainly more subtle than in the other story of yours I've reviewed - Voldemort and the Epic Recession - but it is definitely there! It was really very funny. The casual little digs totally made the one-shot. Loved the little quip about Snape and Lily. And who doesn't enjoy a few insults tossed Rita Skeeter's way? And I definitely giggled a little bit at the Rocky Balboa comment. I guess even ghosts can't resist Stallone.

Very nice story! I really enjoyed it. From what I've read so far, you're a fab writer!

Erica.

Author's Response: Hey again! I dfinetely think Nick is an underrated character, he relaly doesnt get written about much, and they cut him out of most of the movies as well.

I'm glad you enjoyed this, I definetely thought Nick would have a unique perspective on things given how long he's been there. I also thought it was pretty unusual that nobody gave a big motivational speech before the battle, so I'd like to imagine that Nick gave one. (I can totally see him five hiving the other ghosts at the end and saying 'Yo Adrian, we did it!', but I digress)

Thanks a lot for the review!

James



 Report Review

Review #24, by daliha A Nearly-Headless Account

11th January 2012:
This sounded just like Nearly Headless Nick. It really does and it made me laugh in some parts especially "it is not available in kindle version"

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Secret Santa A Nearly-Headless Account

29th December 2011:
Hi there!
It isn't available in kindle? How sad, I was looking forward to reading Sir Nick's brilliant recounting of the second rise and fall of Lord Voldemort, but in some ways we already have that don't we. As always I have only brilliant things to say about your writing style, it is easy to read and has a brilliant mixture of humour amongst the story itself so that it is not overdone, but it is still present, and from reading your stories over these past few days I have come to appreciate humour much more than I ever thought I would, and I find that I look forward to being able to sit down to read and review your work for it is the writing that has me so in awe of what you do!

I particularly like the voice you've given to Sir Nick, I could almost swear that I heard him reading this in my mind, as it seemed so perfectly in character for Nearly Headless Nick that it just seemed to come to life as I read it and that happens so rarely! You've captured such an interesting side to him, which while I never pictured him as a funny ghost, I pictured him as someone so proud of whatever little achievements he made during the war that he would love to talk about them and you've captured it perfectly.

I love the little review Rita Skeeter gave the book, it seemed very much in character for her, although I always thought she changed her ways a little following being imprisoned in a jar for a year, then again she did write that awful book about Dumbledore, so I might be wrong. I also loved the shameless plugging of his book throughout the story, it was very Gilderoy Lockheart of Nick to say such things, well, that's what my initial impression was anyway. Once again, a great story that had a very interesting take on the events of the Final Battle and the moments leading up to it and following it as told by a man we don't often get the perspective of.

Another fantastic story! Well done!
~ Secret Santa ~

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the present, and its so great to hear that you're coming to appreciate humor! I definetely imagined Nick being funny, mostly because John Cleese from Monty Python played him in the movies and he's one of the funniest people alive in my opinion.

You would think Rita would know better by now, but I think she might be one of those people that just never learns. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>