18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MsErrol It's Foolproof!

9th October 2013:
hahahahahahahaha! i love it

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rainpixie It's Foolproof!

18th April 2013:
You capture Ron and Hermione's relationship perfectly. Rob would worry so much about her gift that he would forget ire completely and Hermione would wear the "perfume" until the bottle was empty. Have I mentioned how much I love your writing??

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! Have I mentioned how much I love your reviews?! They are so wonderful!

Romione is my absolute favorite Potterverse ship, so I get nervous every time I try to attempt writing it. My favorite thing about Hermione is that despite her common sense, which is in abundant supply, she'd cherish a gift from Ron and use it all up to the last drop just because of its sentimental value.



 Report Review

Review #3, by Remus It's Foolproof!

8th December 2012:
Hey Perelandra here from the forums! :D

I'm a big Ron/Hermione fan so this was the perfect story to choose from your stories! XD

The whole time I was reading this, I had a big smile across my face and in some moments it made me chuckle a bit. Ron's decision to buy Hermione the perfect gift was something I'm sure he would've thought of and even done. Within the first paragraph I knew that you had managed to get Ron's personality down.

She had a glass of orange juice levitating nearby and it was sloshing around...Mundungus Fletcher was hiding in the corner, his robe pockets stuffed with faulty cauldrons...there was a large squid bathing in the toilet, waving hello with one of his tentacles..."

^ I couldn't stop laughing with that one line! That happened to me once except that it was a talking toilet instead.

The entire story is brilliant. Of course he would procrastinate. Of course he would panic in the end. The end, though, that's what got me. I thought what Ron did for her was cute and it made me 'awww' at his idea but what Hermione thought it was...that just cracked me up! Poor Ron! I couldn't stop giggling throughout the entire story, really.

This was such a cute and fluffy story!! I loved it! Once I get some extra time, I'll be sure to read some of your other work! :)

--Rosie

Author's Response: My idea for Ron giving Hermione perfume was inspired by canon; In OotP, at Christmas, he really did give her perfume. She called it 'unusual'. So I took that and ran with it, and I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it!

A talking toilet, lol. I wonder what a toilet would say if it could talk. Probably nothing pleasant.

Ron's such a master procrastinator, and this is the one occasion where he can't depend on Hermione to do it for him. Seeing his thought process on such a thing was amusing for me to flesh out.

Aww, thank you for the wonderful compliments! If you do read something else of mine, I hope you like it. :) Thanks for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #4, by momotwins It's Foolproof!

8th December 2012:
I just want you to know that I had a really hard time choosing a story of yours to start on, because they all sound awesome. I wound up with this one because I love this ship, and it certainly didn't disappoint. It's adorable and hilarious - like Ron! - and I loved it.

Galleons in a sock as a Christmas present. XD I'm dying. Oh Ron. Bless. Him talking to himself, and procrastinating buying a gift for so long that he wound up forgetting, that is just perfect. I love it. Fantasizing how Hermione dueling Malfoy XD haha. I love this story, it's cracking me up. The idea of Ron attempting to make cannolis is especially hilarious. Bet that'd be good!

The fact that his primary method of selecting a Christmas present for her is to either steal it from a sibling or from Grimmauld Place is really hilarious. Sheesh. And him dumping out memories down the drain. OMG. I can't stop giggling. Hermione would probably be horrified by that. And random stuff in a fake potion... Oh man. This whole story is too funny. I love it!

I definitely, definitely want to read more of your stories!

Author's Response: Romione's always a good choice. XD I wrote it as a Christmas present for TenthWeasley last year, and she said she wanted to read a Ron/Hermione. This intimidated me because I'm admittedly afraid of trying to write Hermione without butchering her, but thought I could more accurately get inside Ron's head, so that's why we ended up seeing Christmas through his eyes.

I would love to see Hermione dueling Malfoy - and not in the underlying-sexual-tension sort of way. And then afterwards she and Ron could ride off into the sunset on a hippogriff.

Ron's immediate instinct is to just take something from someone else. XD lol. If Hermione knew Ron had destroyed someone else's memories, she would probably have a fit.

Loved this review! Thank you so much for reading. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by MissMdsty It's Foolproof!

6th December 2012:
Hello there! I just had to read this because I love Ron! :)


From the start you've described him perfectly. Messy (I leave my shoes all over the place as well, I can relate), forgetful but full of good intentions. And the fact that of all things he should forget Hermione's gift makes... perfect sense come to think of it.

I liked how you walked us through his internal struggle, from realizing his predicament to finding the solution to it. And a very Ron-like solution it was. To get rid of some substance he deemed unimportant and make a potion for Hermione.

The ending was very sweet, with Hermione thinking it was perfume and wearing it. Those two are so sweet when they pretend they don't like each other. *gush*

This was a perfect little piece of fluff, I loved it!

Author's Response: A fellow Ron lover! *high five*

Ron's one of my favorite characters, so I was intimidated to write him. I was worried I would botch him. One of my favorite parts of the Ronmione ship is how he covertly admired her for a few years before they actually got together. It's amusing to see inside his head and imagine what he really thought of her.

Thank you for reading and reviewing this little piece of Christmas fluff! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by Jchrissy It's Foolproof!

5th December 2012:
Okay. Fine. You took my heart and you made it into a fuzzy mushy pile of Ron Hermione feels.

I've been reading Memory Dust lately, and it's been making me desperate for a bit more of this pairing. I'm just so picky about how they are done, because for it's very easy not to like them.

ANYWAY. You never, ever fail to disappoint and I just want to float away in a warm cozy cloud nine. Not only did you make Ron's frequent fall asleep and wake ups make perfect sense, but I really could follow his half consciousness train of thought! Which makes you incredibly impressive, not that you've ever been anything but..

And really? Girl like pretty, shiny things right. Hahah, oh God I want so much to argue with that. But I do like pretty shiny things! hahah. And really, he dumps out a memory?? It could have been anything, Ron! I wouldn't include that little fact when I give Hermione the gift, if I were you. But then it was so cute that he took his bear back, and now I'm wondering if it was the one Fred and George turned into a spider..

Oh God! Now look what you've done. Given me even more feels somehow because even though it was disgusting and has BUTTER in it, Hermione thought it was perfume and wore it all the time. Bah. Fine, I'm mush.

Awesome one shot, not that I thought you'd deliver anything but.



Author's Response: Jami! ♥

One of these days I need to put aside time and read Memory Dust, because I hear it's really good. I really love Romione.

Romione is a pairing I love to read, but when it comes to writing it I get really intimidated. It's easier for me to get into Ron's head than Hermione's, because my personality is more similar to Ron's.

Yep, that's the bear Fred and George turned into a spider! TenthWeasley wrote a story called Growing Up Weasley that features that bear.

Hermione and Ron and buttery perfume. ♥

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ginger Lust It's Foolproof!

28th September 2012:
I love this piece. I read it late last year but had just joined up and didn't know how to get to this page to review.
I really enjoyed it. Typical Ron. Forget something so important then try to make up for it in a rather pitiful (if enduring) way!
And Hermione... must be love! I wouldn't wear such a ghastly.. ah.. fragrant. lol
Wonderful story. Thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for coming back after such a long time to review! What a kind thing to do. :)

Ron is adorable, arguably my favorite Weasley (it's so hard to choose favorite Weasleys!). Poor Hermione, wearing butter everywhere just for Ron. XD

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by hdawg It's Foolproof!

16th July 2012:
This looks like such a lovely story, and being in love with Ron/Hermione (and with your writing talents etc and Janechel's impeccable taste) I knew I had to read this the moment I saw it.

"she was the most important person on the list to shop for" my little shipper heart is screaming with happiness at this line.

Oh I could cry: "If he'd owned any, he might have decided to wrap up a few Galleons in a sock and give them to her." It's like you know my weaknesses! Oh Ronald, I love you.

"there was a large squid bathing in the toilet, waving hello with one of his tentacles..." Best. Dream. Ever. And to think I just tend to dream about JGL and Benedict Cumberbatch...

"She didn't mess around with superficial stuff, Hermione. Just one of her many glorious qualities..." I LOVE HIM. If only he was in love with me and he could adore me like this too :(

Wow, your Kreacher is exactly like JKR's! I congratulate thee. It's brilliant. (And I'm starting to sound like Ron mixed with John Watson...)

No Ron! "But I can easily take care of that," Ron said matter-of-factly to no one in particular, and went over to the sink, dumping the foggy contents down the drain. From behind him, Kreacher gave something like a yelp, a spasm, and then he fainted to the floor." My mind is racing imagining what could be in that bottle. Why would you do this to me?!

MY SHIPPER HEART! "she assumed that Ron would expect her to wear it. And all of the brilliance and sensibility in the world could not have stopped her from doing just that." That's it. The HMS Romione has officially set sail and I am sad that the books and films are over, and now I have all these feelings because it ties in with canon and I love you and I am rambling but this was brilliant.

Thank you. I am eternally jealous of Janechel for getting such a wonderful present from such a wonderful writer for Christmas.

Author's Response: HANNAH. ♥ THANK YOU FOR INSISTING ON BEING SUPER AWESOME AND VISITING ME TWICE. You are like a little fairy going around leaving reviews, making days, etc. Or maybe an elf. It depends on your mythical creature preference.

I'm imagining that in that bottle is Kreacher's memory of Regulus and the locket, and oh hey Albus, if you could've just found this in OotP before Ron dumped it down the drain, you wouldn't have gone to the cave and also would not have died and they would have found the horcrux before trying to throw it out, to which Kreacher stole it back, and so on~

RON, YOU OAF. YOU RUIN THINGS. ALL FOR MELLOW BUTTER AND WHATNOT. DAISIES.

Romione is the best ship, I &heart; it muchly. And baww, you are so nice. Thank you! But if you think this is anything, you should have a look at the one Janechel wrote for me on her page, Baker's Dozen. Homg, so jealous of her talents. Incredible, incredible one-shot.



 Report Review

Review #9, by :) It's Foolproof!

3rd March 2012:
This was a totally sweet fanfic. It was totally Ron too - and I love the way Hermione's intelligence (ie. it is NOT perfume) seems to go to pot around him. Also, I've not encountered Mr Stuffing before, so, naturally I'm off to check out your Growing Up Weasley fic now ;)

Author's Response: I've always loved that Hermione seemed to lose a little bit of her better sense because of Ron - like when she Confunded Cormac and when she invited Cormac to Slughorn's party just to irritate Ron. I love those two together. ^ ^ Growing Up Weasley is one of my absolute favorite stories on the archive - it won a Dobby, too. It's by TenthWeasley, who is a genius.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by forsakenphoenix It's Foolproof!

20th January 2012:
Okay, now that I'm actually reviewing after saying I would do days ago...

I feel like, for a moment while reading this, that I wasn't reading canon. You managed to characterize everyone so perfectly in this that it just seemed to fit in quite easily with what has already been written in the series.

Ron was wonderful - a great comedic relief with a bottomless stomach and a certain clueless-ness that endears him to all of us. I simply adored when he was trying to think of gifts for Hermione and he would doze off or start thinking about something else. I can't believe he thought giving her money in a sock would be a good present, by the way! What would that say to her? I'd be horrified to see her reaction to that present. Though taking a book from the Black's collection isn't that much better either. Nothing says, "I love you and you're my best friend" like giving them a previously owned object.

Kreacher is fantastic here. I giggled over his loincloth and him fainting all over the place. AND MR STUFFING! I got so excited to see his return. I love Ron's slight bitterness over the fact that Ginny was holding onto his bear and then wanting to keep it safe but forgetting about it in his excitement over figuring out Hermione's gift! Oh, Ron.

And poor Hermione. At least she was kind enough to accept any gift from Ron, but really, butter? Dear Ron, you are not a potion-maker. End of story.

This was such a light-hearted, sweet story. It was nice to see something of this nature set during a tense period in their lives, what with Arthur injured and all that. And Sirius still being alive, knowing he had company for his last Christmas made me so happy. It was also extremely well-written (but I can't say I'm surprised at this revelation considering all the good things I've heard about your writing) and the descriptions were fantastic.

Loved this to bits. I'll be sure to read more of your work soon when I get the chance. :)

Author's Response: Hi there! Oh my goodness, thank you for the wonderful review! I'm very flattered that you stopped by and that you liked one of my stories. :)

Kreacher sort of stole the show there with his loincloth flapping and all that. He can't help it. Kreacher should have been on Broadway, what with his theatrics. Can't you picture him in a little top hat and coattails, waving a cane around while he does a tap dance? -I digress-

I'm very pleased that so many people recognized Mr. Stuffing. It just goes to show the popularity of Growing Up Weasley. It might be my biased opinion because I adore it so much, but I think that story really resonates with those of us who wish there were still more HP books, looking for a bit more canon to cling to.

As sorry as I felt for Arthur being injured, I was thrilled to see that Sirius got company for Christmas. It always worried me to see how negligent the Order seemed to be when it came to him. Dumbledore was more than aware that Sirius was lonely and itching to get out, so why couldn't he have smuggled him out on the weekends via apparition to someone else's house? He could've stayed at the Burrow or with Remus or with Andromeda for a few days, and it would have really improved the quality of his life. Why was it so necessary that he be shut inside that place all day every day, when Dumbledore had the resources and know-how to move him around without being seen by the Ministry? I mean come on, it's called Polyjuice Potion! Let him get a breath of fresh air, for goodness sakes! Sorry about the rant, that always irked me. I'm still quite irritated on Sirius's behalf. -_-

Thank you so much for reading - it really made my day. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by BKL8008 It's Foolproof!

9th January 2012:
Not sure how I found this one, but I am glad that I did. I was surprised to see Mr. Stuffings again, from the wonderful stories I'd read the other day! What a coincidence! Anyway...I was laughing at the end, it was just so "Ron". And Kreacher was great -fainting, having a seizure. I was so sure that something awful was going to happen with the bottle, though! Wonderfully entertaining read!

Author's Response: Mr. Stuffing reigns supreme~

Growing Up Weasley is such a fantastic story, I very much agree. I'm lucky to be friends with the author, who I wrote this story for as a present, so it was very satisfying to be able to use him in my own writing. It was an excuse to borrow Jane's lovely little character. :3

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by tydemans It's Foolproof!

23rd December 2011:
Secret Santa has to hit the Christmas story, too.

"-she would be able to decode subconscious messages in gifts that the givers themselves never realized they'd intended." Oh, poor Ron, and I do wonder what a few Galleons in a sock would say, subliminally.

I love Ron and this was prime-time Ron! I think he is one of the most intimidating characters to take on. It's so great to see him done so well.

I can't believe she wore it! Well, actually I can. That was too perfect. Oh, those two!

Author's Response: Thank you, tydemans! What lovely gifts :)

I would say that a few galleons in a sock would say that Ron had to think of a gift at the eleventh hour, to which Hermione would probably not be very impressed. I agree about Ron being difficult to write - I'd never paid him his dues in fanfiction before and he's such a favorite of mine that I was afraid of butchering him. It was a lot of fun, though.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jen It's Foolproof!

12th December 2011:
Gorgeous. You have beautifully intertwined bits of Canon with bits of Growing up Weasley. I was quite delighted when Mr Stuffing made an appearance. :)
I so hope that the memory was not important and don't quite understand why Kreacher collapsed on the floor, but I love your Ron. Quite charming and goofy and useless and sweet all rolled together. :)
And Hermione's reaction to the perfume bottle was just gorgeous. I think if she worked out that it was supposed to make her fat rat yellow, she would seriously love it. :)
Merry Christmas. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you, Jen! As soon as I set out to write this story, I knew it wouldn't be a proper Ron fic for TenthWeasley without Mr. Stuffing. :P Kreacher collapsed to the floor because Ron dumped out a memory that belonged to someone in the Black family, and also because Kreacher's sort of insane by this point in his life.

Merry Christmas!


 Report Review

Review #14, by academica It's Foolproof!

12th December 2011:
This reminds me of poor Neville and his Remembrall in Sorcerer's Stone. It helps you remember that you forgot something, but you can't recall what you've forgotten! How cute.

Your characterization is adorable. I literally smiled the entire time that I read this! You've got Ron down to a T, with his treatment of Kreacher and disdain for his siblings and secret admiration of Hermione. I also liked what you did with Harry and Hermione; again, very amusing and very true to canon. I half expected Sirius to turn up and ask why Ron was going through his belongings, staying just long enough to shame Kreacher for his hoarding, but I like that Ron accomplished this little eleventh-hour mission on his own. In the fleeting moments of heroism he gets in canon, he can be quite capable. Speaking of Kreacher, loved him as well! :)

This was just lovely overall. Poor Hermione, what a gift! But it's clear that Ron put all the thought he could into it, given the time constraints. And I like how she appreciated it at the end. Hermione would never rudely turn her nose up at a gift.

Very sweet, I'm sure Jane loves it :)

-academica

Author's Response: Amanda, I suck forever with review responding BUT HOORAY I AM FINALLY GETTING AROUND TO IT. Eeep this review made me feel so floaty. I'm glad it made you smile. Oh my goodness, I really did entertain the idea of making Sirius show up. But I got the distinct feeling that if I gave him a cameo, he would soon steal the show. I have an undying infatuation with Sirius and wouldn't be able to resist making the Romione story one long monologue about Sirius. And possibly, depending on how late at night it was, a Sirius/Sarah story.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Georgia Weasley It's Foolproof!

12th December 2011:
You managed to capture my favorite characters perfectly. Even Kreacher, with his hatred borne of training and mistreatment, was there as JKR created him. This was beautifully done, and I loved Ron's inner (and sometimes outer) monologue with himself as he desperately sought out some gift for the impossible Miss Granger. His thoughts were hilarious, and so true to character. My favorite part, of course, is the ending. Hermione wore the 'perfume', regardless of the smell. Just because he gave it to her. So sweet. Great job!~GW

Author's Response: I have taken a ridiculously long amount of time to get around to review-responding, which I try to justify in many colorful ways, but in the end it can be attributed to downright laziness. So it's in no way a reflection of this review itself because I must say, when I saw it, I have no shame at all in admitting that my jaw got lost on the floor somewhere and I had to look all around to find it. A Georgia Weasley review! Must scamper to the forums immediately and see who is online so that I can brag via PM!

It means a lot to me that you thought I did a pretty canon job with the characters, especially since I never write Ron or Hermione and was intimidated to try it. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by TenthWeasley It's Foolproof!

11th December 2011:
I am trying so hard to say something intelligent and coherent in this review to you, but it's going to come out a lot like the responses I already showed to you, and for that I apologize in advance. Nothing -- /nothing/ -- could have surpassed this. I am dead serious: One of the absolute best Romiones I have ever read.

You have everyone /so in character/. Ron was the perfect, perfect, PERFECT comic relief, exactly how he is in the books. I laughed so many times while reading this, and it takes a lot for me to laugh in fic, but you know that it's my not-so-humble opinion the best humorist here. The best author here, and this has reinstated that a thousand fold. The loincloth, and him waking Harry, and Kreacher being a melodramatic git and fainting all over the place, and Ron putting butter in the potion (RON YOU ARE NOT GOOD AT POTIONS OR GIFTS, WHAT ARE YOU DOING).

Kreacher was phenomenal, simply phenomenal. I slipped into that mode -- that reading-the-canon-books mode, during every single one of his lines. There was no difficulty in placing this seamlessly in canon. People say that all the time, but this is the first story I've read where my God, it is so /true/.

Hermione's reaction to the potion -- why were you even worried about this, I swear to all the deities that be. It is the absolute best representation of their convoluted and beautiful relationship, and that glimpse into each of their head's, revealing they really DID care for each other even at this age -- it's genius. You know these characters so well, and it shows in your writing, and that makes it all the more enjoyable to read. (Although I suspect you could write the most OOC Ron in existence and I would still be your biggest fan.)

Oh my God, I loved this /so much/. You make it seem to easy and I know that if I'd attempted this there would have been so much miserable fail, and you have a gift like no one I've ever come across. It's like you don't even have to try -- you are /such a naturally talented writer/. I would read anything by you, anytime, without thinking twice, because you are just... I say it a lot and I hope by now you believe me, because you are one of the best writers -- not fan-fic-writers, WRITERS -- it has ever been my pleasure and privilege to read.

I am so, so, so, so grateful that you were willing to write me this story. It is one of the best Christmas presents ever -- because you spent time on it, and effort, and you will never fail to amaze me. This was top-notch, and there are not enough adjectives in the world to describe how fantastic I thought it was. I love you muchos, more than muchos, and I will be your biggest fan until I die. ♥ I LOVE YOU!

Author's Response: Okay, so there is no reason why this took me so long to respond to, but you love me anyway, so that's my way of justifying things. Ahem.

LET ME JUST SAY HOW GLAD I AM THAT YOU LIKED IT. Because literally, the very day we exchanged plot ideas for writing each other one-shots, I was telling people in skypeland that the ship I could probably never convincingly write and was the most wary of ever trying to tackle was Romione. Of course. SO OF COURSE THAT'S THE STORY YOU WANTED. I have half a mind to suspect that you were log-lurking and just wanted to toy with me. :3

Kreacher! I loved writing Kreacher. And I was surprised at how much I enjoyed writing Ron. I haven't read many Ron fics lately and it's been a long time since I've read the HP books, so he wasn't fresh in my mind, but it wasn't too bad (tooting my own horn here like a boss). lulz, OOC Ron. That would be, like, Quidditch-god Ron with more abs than are anatomically possible, with Lavender and Hermione oozing affection all over him (well, I suppose Lav Lav did that, anyway), and he does all of his homework and he's very tactful and he looks more like Bill (cue wolf-whistling).

YOU ARE AMAZING AND THIS REVIEW IS AMAZING AND MERRY CHRISTMAS. ♥ LOVE YOU!!


 Report Review

Review #17, by rowan It's Foolproof!

11th December 2011:
ahahahaha!

priceless.

she thought it was perfume, and wore it, even though it smelled odd.

Author's Response: that's true love for you. )

 Report Review

Review #18, by Lady Mouldywart It's Foolproof!

8th December 2011:
I remember Mr Stuffing :D And this story is brilliant! Loved every second of it :) But hey, honey and daisies don't smell bad at all, right? Even mixed with butter. Ron should open a business with such natural talent at making perfumes :P

Author's Response: Ron is clearly very talented with perfumes. Who doesn't want to smell like butter, am I right? lol, thank you for reading! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login