Reading Reviews for The impossible task
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lumos_x The impossible task

31st October 2012:
I really liked the way you wrote this, with all the different names swirling around in her head after each little paragraph. The story was flowing and made you want to read it just to find out the name they finally settled on! :P
You wrote Victoire well, she's a likeable character straight away and Teddy is a sweetie! Alicia is a nice name. Cute story! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked how I wrote this. I was playing about with different writing styles and I think it worked to some extent.

They finally found a name and I must admit it is rather sweet! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #2, by LyrisLovegood The impossible task

18th June 2012:
Awe this was so fluffy I love it.

It's cute!

I love Alicia :D such a beautiful name.

Author's Response: Hello and thank you so much for the review!

I write so much fluff! so I'm glad you think its cute!
Also the name Alicia is fab right?


 Report Review

Review #3, by CocoCupcake The impossible task

15th April 2012:
This is so cute! I like the name that they finally came up with, Alicia. When you said, "a tiny little flutter in my stomach", I smiled. I really liked this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

I'm glad you like this and also liked the name!


 Report Review

Review #4, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The impossible task

8th April 2012:
I thought this was such a cute one-shot. I love fluffy one-shots and I love babies and naming babies so this was great for me! My sister is actually seven months pregnant and she agonized for months over what to name her baby (she's having a girl!). I actually got on her nerves more than anyone because I was constantly flipping through the books and going online and texting her name after name. My list was so long it's crazy and in the end she picked a name that wasn't even on my list.

I tell yah!

It's funny that at one point she was thinking about how her family just said 'whatever makes you happy' because my mother was not like that, hahah! She kept saying no to every name my sister was coming up with (and so was I). So I really felt for Victorie. Pregnant women don't get enough credit.

I feel bad that you see, obviously, that they can't do what they normally could but everyone expects them to still run around like they don't have this child inside of them (oh bosses, husbands and annoying family members, I'm talking about all of you! Hahaha!)

Did you go through the same trouble trying to figure out the name for your daughter? What made you choose Lily? Do you think choosing a name will be harder next time?

Oh just two things:

More name spun - should be 'more names spun'
savouring ever bite - should be 'savouring every bite'

Author's Response: Hey. Thank you for the review!

I'm glad you thought this was a cute one-shot. It took a lot of effort and when I had Lily I agonised for weeks even months over her name and everyone was constantly texting me and i was like Hey chill out.

My family weren't like that either but hey I don't like to make everyones mother's sound like crazy people! You totally can't do as much as you can whilst not pregnant whilst pregnant.

I had a hard time choosing Lily's name... she was an Angelina, a Josephine, a Florence but I decided on Lily and I definitely think choosing a name will be harder!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Beeezie The impossible task

8th April 2012:
Hey!

First off: I want to point out a couple little typos. In the chapter summary, you spelled "truly" "turly," and in the title in the actual chapter, you wrote "Mother's" when it should have just been "Mothers." "Mother's in the making" would mean "Mother is in the making," which I don't think is your intent. :P There were a few instances of this sort of thing; you had one or two their/there/they're mix-ups as well.

There were also a few points where your word choice was a little off. For example, in the first paragraph, I think that, "Reading the same baby naming books over and over, I soon found a list" would have flowed a little more naturally than "Reading over and over the same baby naming books." Does that make sense?

You also occasionally switched tenses. Most of the story seemed to me to be written in past tense, but there were points (e.g., "It infuriates me") where you lapsed into present. I'd just be doubly careful about it.

Sorry - just wanted to point those little things out. :) You know me; I'm a bit grammar obsessed. :P I'd actually suggest PMing someone from the one-shot beta thread who says they're good at grammar to look it over; it probably wouldn't take a decent beta very long, and I think it would improve the story.

Other than those minor mechanical things, I thought that the story was great! I liked the short list of names in between each paragraph; you didn't overdo them, so it ended up being a really nice touch that definitely helped me get into Victoire's head. I also felt like you did a very nice job at getting across how annoyed she was with having to be so stationary when she was generally a very active person - that's definitely a major frustration, but it often gets overlooked. (Not that I need to tell you that, of course! :P)

I also liked your characterisation of Victoire and Teddy. You obviously didn't get into it too much detail, since this is just a one-shot, but I felt like the Victoire you were portraying didn't fall into a lot of the tired old cliches that often end up getting used with her. She felt like an interesting, real, dynamic person, and she also came across as very likeable. The same was true of Teddy.

My only issue with the actual content was that I did feel like you exaggerated the number of names Victoire was considering a little; I mean, I know that prospective parents often obsess over names, but 300 names/a parchment that reaches four feet in length seemed a bit excessive. I had a hard time believing it. I mean, I did understand that she was considering a lot of names because she was feeling really indecisive, but something about it seemed strange to me. I think that part of it was probably the fact that she was thinking about specific numbers, when if she was really feeling that overwhelmed with the names, I'd have thought that she'd be thinking, "It feels like hundreds." Does that make sense?

All in all, nice story. :)

Author's Response: Hey :)

Thank you for the review on this story. I appreciate you taking the time to leave one that's so long.

I shall definitely PM a beta about this!

Haha thanks. i wrote this when I was about 6 months gone so I was a bit annoyed about being extremely heavy so I tried not to overlook everything which I knew went on in a real pregnancy. It took me a long time to know if I was doing the right thing by including the name but many people said it was a nice touch.

I tried not to fall into the cliche with her so did try and make her very likeable which is why this was very hard to write! And I didn't feel the need to divulge excessively about their relationship as it was mo
re about picking a name for her baby than about their relationship.

The idea about exaggerating the number of names was based on me and the fact that I agonised for months over Lily's name and I did in the end have about 6 A4 pages of those I liked. I agree though that maybe not putting in the number may be helpful :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Siriusly3 The impossible task

5th April 2012:
Aww this is cute! I love how sweet they are and just everything is so adorable, from the name she picked to how Teddy speaks to her (in my head he's gay but in this he seems perfect) to how Victorie knits cute clothes! This story flows really well with the names coming through between paragraphs

Author's Response: Hey thank you for the review!

I'm glad you think it's cute I really do love Teddy and Victoire although generally in my stories there is a problem with their relationship but it is all fine :D I'm glad you like how she knits cute clothes


 Report Review

Review #7, by watchoutfornargles The impossible task

2nd April 2012:
This was a lovely story, Victoire's baby letting her know what she wanted to be called. I think you did a good job with characterization, and i felt that the reader really got insight into Victoire's personality.

Author's Response: Hey :)

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you liked my characterisation with Victoire and Teddy and the way that Victoire's baby chose it's own name :D Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Cassius Alcinder The impossible task

24th March 2012:
Review tag!

You did a really good job of portraying the stress that Victoire would be dealing with here, and how she is considering every possible name and also attempting to distract herself and mostly failing. It seemed totally believable, and I'm sure most mums related to it.

I also found it very interesting that they picked a pretty normal name, rather than something like "Alpha Centuari Buttercup" like those next gen OC's tend to have. Maybe it would have been nice to have a couple lines about why Alicia was significant to them, but on the other hans, I'm sure that sometime parents just simply like the name with no other reason behind it.

Do you plan on writing more about Teddy/Victoire?

Author's Response: Hey :D Thank you for the review.

I'm glad you thought I portrayed the stress well as it was very difficult to do this story. I did try and make her fail a little bit! This is because she's a Weasley so doesn't have so much willpower to distract herself!

I hate the stories where all of the next gen kids have really silly names! There wasn't really a meaning to Alicia it was just a random name plucked out of the air!

I do plan on writing more Teddy/Victoire at some point! So stay posted


 Report Review

Review #9, by CloakAuror9 The impossible task

9th March 2012:
Aww! That was so cute! So adorable..so lovely!

I remember having to help my cousin pick her baby's name. It was something one shouldn't really look forward too. You give her a suggestion and she finds every single thing wrong in it. 'It's too long!' 'Its too short' 'Its hard too pronounce!' 'Its very common!' 'People can tease her for it!' Jesus, I don't want to go through that again.

Any way...that was off topic, but I want you to know that you really wrote such a lovely story and I enjoyed every bit of it!

Awesome story,
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review!

I'm glad you liked it and yep most mothers find problems with most names!

I'm really glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Aderyn The impossible task

8th March 2012:
Hello :D

This is a cute story. I can imagine that it would be hard to pick a name for a child. I like the constant list of names throughout the story it really shows that Victoire is really having problems deciding.

I wish she could have said a bit about what sort of names she preferred though. I mean, does she want a name with French connections, or a family name. If she doesn't want those, you might say that too. Those are the sort of things people tend to consider.

I did notice a few grammar/spelling errors. For example: I knew that he’d got iT.. You just have a typo there. And there was a place where you didn't capitalize 'Merlin.'

Other than those little things I really enjoyed reading this :D It was cute, and I liked that the baby eventually decided her name for herself. That's an adorable ending!

Author's Response: Hey thank you for the review!

I'm glad you liked this story and the structure was very difficult to come up with as I was undecided as to whether it would have worked well or not.

She didn't really want those names and that's why I tried to use different names throughout with some being family names and some being normal names as she didn't really know what she wanted.

I will have a little look over it and fix the typos!

I'm glad the ending worked!


 Report Review

Review #11, by academica The impossible task

8th March 2012:
Hey (again)! Thank you for the swap :)

Oh, poor Victoire! It must be so, so hard to choose a name for a baby. I personally dread having to make the decision myself one day, and so I can definitely sympathize with her.

I really how Victoire distracted herself a little bit from the "impossible task" by working on her knitting, which only served to bring her closer to her unborn child. I kind of liked how the baby "decided" the name with a kick, but I also wish that the name chosen had been something more meaningful to canon and Victoire and Teddy's relationship. "Alicia" just seems a little bit arbitrary to me, you know?

Nice work!

academica

Author's Response: Hey again! Thank you for the review!

Picking names for babies is so much harder than picking names for characters!

Victoire was just struggling as she had a bit of an OCD tendency so she had to make sure everything was going to be planned and organised. The name really wasn't at all meaningful to canon because I feel it's just too overdone and really I just wanted to overcome the clique.


 Report Review

Review #12, by SexyDoorFrames The impossible task

4th March 2012:
Hey :) I really liked the way you organized this one shot, you read the names and then your back to the narrative. I really liked the name they chose at the end, I just adore the name Alicia. I really like the spin you've done on Vic. I usually hate the way she is portrayed in fanfiction but I found your portrayal of her really enjoyable to read. In all, I found this really sweet and I really enjoyed reading it.

- SexyDoorFrames

Author's Response: Hey, thank you again for this review!

I'm glad you liked it because this structure was very painstaking and long as I was trying to get it just right. Victoire normally isn't portrayed very 'normal like' with her seeming either too vain and conceited so I really wanted people top see a different side of her so I'm glad that it came through!


 Report Review

Review #13, by peace2lovepotter The impossible task

4th March 2012:
This was absolutely adorable! I am a massive fan of Teddy/Victoire, and as soon as I read the summary I knew that I was going to have to read this. I loved how there would be a small list of names, then a paragraph, the a list, and you get my point so I'm not going to warble on any more. And as soon as I as I saw my name I was like YES! My name is famous! Pick my name! Choose Olivia! Eventually they didn't but I love the names Alicia so I'm not complaining! I loved the tenderness between Teddy and Victoire, how amazingly cute they were in this. I could not see any mistakes, grammar or spelling, which is amazing because no matter how many times I read my work through there's always a mistake. I hope you write some more Tecdy/Victoire one shots, because this was amazing, your making me look bad. :| 10/10 Love Livvy xxx

Author's Response: Hey :)

Thank you so much for the review! I love Teddy/Victoire too and have quite a few other stories planned for them. One a short story which I am dying to write!

The structure of this was a source of much stress for me but I think I presented it in a way that worked as it helped people see just how much the names were playing around in her mind.

I'm glad you liked it and honestly I'm not that good of a writer


 Report Review

Review #14, by ravenclaw_slytherin The impossible task

1st March 2012:
This is such a cute little one-shot! I love Victoire's personality, and I loved how confused she seems here...how she's confused about her life changing due to pregnancy and motherhood, all amplified in confusion over what to name her baby. I think you portrayed her emotions extremely well, and I love how you inserted a few baby names after each paragraph..It added to the confusion and frustration that Victoire was feeling over not having a name, and showed how picking a name was beginning to feel like an obsession.

I love the fact that "Alicia" was chosen for the baby's name...When I saw this story, I expected Teddy and Vic to give their daughter either a family name or a war hero name, and I'm glad this story strayed away from the cliche...It seemed very realistic!

The only thing that I thought was kind of odd and distracting was the fact that you used ' instead of " for quotation marks. I may be incorrect that " is correct, but it kind of distracted me, as a reader from the story. Also, in the sentence, "Okay how about Alicia?", I would put a comma between okay and how just to improve flow.

Overall, I loved this one-shot! 9/10 for an awesome story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review.

Victoire has very mixed emotions at the very beginning of this story as she doesn't really think she can rest until she has picked the 'perfect' name. There is so much confusion in her life because of the ever changing circumstances and that was the effect I was aiming for by putting in a lot of different names.

I tried to stray away from the clique because there are so many people who write the pairing of Teddy and Victoire.

I write all of my fics with the single '. Both are correct to use it's just preferences and I just prefer to use that.

I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #15, by fancy The impossible task

1st March 2012:
This was so lovely! My god, you must have your own baby names book to have come up with so many different ones!
I really liked this one, I'm working on a Ted/Vic fic myself so I've been reading up on other stories and this one was great.
I found Victoire really relatable and the whole dilemma she was having was very believable.
I liked how you had a paragraph and then 4 or 5 girls names afterwards which really reiterated the fact that this decision was completely encompassing Victoire's thoughts.
I also enjoyed the small snippets of Victoire's thoughts of Teddy and obviously how much she loves him - it was just done in a really nice and subtle way.
And of course at the end where all three made the decision!
A very enjoyable and cute one shot.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked this story! And yep I have several baby name books (or websites :P) at my disposal.

I find Ted/Vic such an interesting couple to write about so I love reading other people's stories about it too.

Vic was a hard character to write because she was so confused and just entangled within the whole story trying to find a name.

I'm glad you liked the story and thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by alicia and anne The impossible task

29th February 2012:
This was really cute! Such a wonderful idea, its got to be so hard picking a childs name (although I've totally had mine picked out for years, haha I just need to actually have a baby haha)
You're such a wonderful writer, I'm really enjoying your stories.

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad you thought this was a good idea. I wrote this when I was thinking of baby names myself so I hope the actual angish came through!

Thank you so much for saying I'm a wonderful writer!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Miss Muggle The impossible task

25th February 2012:
I think this is really sweet. I love how the baby responded to the name. The descriptions of everything Victoire does are also great.
Some of your sentences are a bit clunky, though. Like "The names just kept coming as I turned on the stove to cook some potatoes, I was completely addicted to them, especially when they were sauted, well the baby liked them anyway." I had to read it twice to understand. Maybe breaking up or rearranging some sentences would help?
The format is great and fun to read, with all the names running through Victoire's head.
I like this story a lot. It is very sweet and cute!

Author's Response: Hey :D

Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad you think it was believable and my descriptions were good!
I will go through the sentences and try not to make it so clunky.

It took a lot of work trying to incorporated the format within it but I'm glad you think that enhanced the story!


 Report Review

Review #18, by the_edge_of_love The impossible task

19th February 2012:
Aw... this was so sweet!

I have to admit that I expected this to be the story of how Teddy and Victoire decided to name their daughter 'Dora' after his mother, because that's what most writers do. You, however, completely changed this by adding the two in a real situation in which as parents are looking for a name that they feel suits their child.

I really liked this change. It was not only original, but also very well-writtena and interesting. And the ending definitely made me smile! So cute!

~ Angie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this unexpected review. It made my day!

I didn't feel that Dora could have worked in this situation because it was almost a follow on from one of my other stories. The name I feel will suit their child very well as they're growing up.

Thank you for saying it's well written and interesting. It was really adorable to write!


 Report Review

Review #19, by charlottetrips The impossible task

14th February 2012:
Hi there! Over here from the Review Tag!

I do a running review so comment on things as I see them and unfortunately, the first thing I saw was this [Mother’s] in the making - should be [Mothers] as there is no possessive noun.

I can totally see a young mother pouring over naming books (I guess I can see it because it totally does happen) and making a four-foot long list to choose from! You've painted an adorable scene as she just wraps these names around her head while trying to go about her usual tasks.

‘Oi’ I say jokingly swotting him round the head with my hand as he lifted me up off of the sofa. - You switched from past tense to present tense here.

Awww, it's just adorable this little scene between Teddy, Vic and Alicia :) I love how they get the baby's input and how you used her kicking to communicate back! :) Such a cute little story!

Author's Response: Hey thank you for the review!

I'll change the title as soon as I can :) I didn't even realise, force of habit really!

I know the feeling of pouring long and hard over name books and then having a ridiculous amount which you have to sift through because you don't realise how much you're putting down! It was meant to show an adorable little cottage scene with her trying to pick her names so I'm glad you think it showed.

I'm glad you liked the scene with Teddy, Vic and Alicia and the baby's input was really important in that!


 Report Review

Review #20, by JamesSiriusPotterLover The impossible task

10th January 2012:
Ahhh.. It's so sweet, Okay, I'm sorry I've been a rubbish secret santa, I also accidently did the reviews in my account which may have confused you a little. So Sorry. Anyway it was a nice little story and I love how in the end they found their perfect name.

Author's Response: Don't worry about being a rubbish secret santa. I wasn't exactly great either!

I liked the fact they kept your name, it gave me those little unexpected reviews which boosted me.

I'm glad you liked the story and the fact they found their perfect name!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Secret Santa The impossible task

20th December 2011:
Ok, before you read this review, imagine you're opening a present in the shape of a. snitch!


This was so adorable!!! I really loved it.
You know, I find it Ironic that it's a story about picking a name, but I can't tell you mine lol.
There were a couple errors like words that weren't quite finished, but they were all easy.
Great job! I hope you liked your first Secret Santa present!

Author's Response: Haha I really like the idea of the present shaped like a snitch :P@

I'm glad you liked this. It was really based upon my own experiences with names for my 6 month old bump so I'm really glad it came across well. I'll have a look over it and try to fix some of the words. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #22, by EverDiggory The impossible task

19th December 2011:
Awh this was too cute! I wish this would be more then a one shot. I loved how names were constantly running through her mind, that was a lovely touch. I was never a huge next generation shipper,but this made me one(: this was way cute! Also,Alicia is a beautiful name. I would have liked to seen more on their relationship! I love it

Author's Response: Thank you! I couldn't have done this any longer than a one-shot really as it was for a challenge but I must admit I had a lot of fun doing it! I love the Ted/Vic ship(not as much as ScoRose but a close second). I have a huge database with names so it was just one that jumped out at me at random and I really liked it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by SeverusSnape15 The impossible task

15th December 2011:
Hello, thank you for entering my challenge. I'm sure you're wondering why I'm reviewing so early, but I'd like to get it done now.

Well, it was pretty good for a one-shot. There were a lot of grammarical errors, but those can be fixed. Other mistakes, just some misspells, nothing too big. I wish you would have told what Victoire looks like, as well as Teddy, besides his hair. I liked the description, but it could do with a little more. I liked the end of the story though, it was my favorite part.

Was it intentional to put some of Vic's cousins names in where she was thinking of what to name her kids? Or was that a mistake? Just curious. Anyways, you did pretty good.

~Cierra

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!
I didn't feel that a large amount of description of the characters was completely necessary in this story however I may have to add some more in.

This was sort of a follow on from another story I've been writing so the names were meant to be there :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by CambAngst The impossible task

11th December 2011:
Hi, there. I'm tagging you from the Review the Person Above You thread in the common room.

I know I've been somewhat critical in some of my reviews of your other stories, but this story proves why it was worth my time to be. Once all the spelling and grammar problems are fixed, your writing is really good!

I could instantly relate to the topic. We have twin boys, so we actually had to pick out two names. Moreover, they had to sound alright together, since they'll spend their entire lives being frequently mentioned in the same breath. Layer in other considerations (Jewish great-grandmother on mom's side, southern family on dad's side, a general distaste for non-traditional names) and let's just say that we could have filled yards of parchment with all the names we considered and rejected.

You really captured the essence of the process, and also delivered a very believable pregnant Victoire with her cravings and odd reactions to everyday stimuli. Overall, very well done. At the risk of sounding like an overbearing professor, this is the story I've been waiting to see from you!

P.S. - We ended up with Christopher and Cameron.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

My spelling and grammer isn't always great but I generally think it doesn't affect the context of the story but I'm glad you think my writing is good!

Although this story was actually for a challenge it was exactly what I'm going through at the moment chosing a name for my unborn daughter. I ended up with Lily Esme!

I'm glad you think it was relatable and that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login