Reading Reviews for Summer Solstice
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Trista Summer Solstice

13th August 2012:
This should not be a one shot cause i wanna know what happens Next its so good

 Report Review

Review #2, by Beeezie Summer Solstice

24th April 2012:
So I'm a big fan of femmeslash, so when I saw Emma's nomination for this in the Golden Paw Awards, I jumped on it. Helga/Rowena is also my favourite Founders pairing, so I was doubly excited to read this.

And you did not disappoint. This was an absolutely lovely story. Your prose was an excellent example of how less is sometimes more - the scene wasn't at all explicit, but it was poetic, and you conveyed a real sense of intimacy between Helga and Rowena.

I also loved the way you characterised Helga herself. It was creative while still in keeping with the qualities of Hufflepuff house that I imagine Helga herself would have had to have.

You did a really excellent job with this. Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by babewithbrains Summer Solstice

13th March 2012:
Oh wow, this was lovely! You've got some beautiful turns of phrase here; this one is my favourite: "We both wordlessly watch as a shower of white flower petals gently cascade like fallen snow, occasionally being swept away by the sudden breeze or else gently fading to ash before reaching the soft vibrating soil of Mother Earth."

Simply lovely. And what a wonderful pairing, too. There aren't enough Rowena/Helga stories out there. (I've written one too, if you're interested -- it's called The Caustic Ticking of the Clock; just click on my author page and you'll find it there :)) You really got into Helga's head so well, and her voice was pulled off brilliantly.

The only thing I can pull you up on, and it's entirely stylistic/grammar related. When you have dialogue and a dialogue tag, you don't have to capitalise the dialogue tag. For example --

"Turn around," She says.

It should be

"Turn around," she says.

The "she" isn't supposed to be capitalised. It's only when the dialogue tag begins with a proper noun (i.e. a name, so if, say, it was 'Rowena said') that you would capitalise it. Otherwise, it should be in lowercase.

But that is a very minor nitpick. This was a gorgeous story, and I thoroughly enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Manga_girl Summer Solstice

21st January 2012:
I love this so much! You are such a great writer, the language is amazing! I don't read much slash and have never read femmeslash before but I really liked this!

Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I'm flattered :D. Yeah, this was my first attempt at writing a slash story, so I'm glad that people seem to like it :).

 Report Review

Review #5, by Houlestar Summer Solstice

2nd January 2012:
This is a very nice story. Well done! I like your descriptions. They're pretty, I can see everything happening, and they really set the tone for the story. I love how you've included Natural Magic in this piece, which is something that always makes Founder Era fics so enjoyable to me. (Maybe it's just because I like those kinda of Earth-Magic stories...) You've got a sweet little scene here and with lots of nice descriptions and a definite feel of the era. It works well. The tone and imagery is consistent throughout the piece, as well as the "mood" which is something that a lot of writers struggle with, so props to you for having a solid scene.
Thanks for entering the Femslash Challenge.
-Houlestar

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review. This story was pretty challenging for me to write. It was a pleasure for me to enter the femslash challenge :D. It was fun to write in general.

 Report Review

Review #6, by DracoFerret11 Summer Solstice

28th December 2011:
Hello there! This is the ever-slow DarkRose from the forums with a review you requested a few weeks ago...sorry I've taken so long to get to this!

Anyhow...I think it was brilliant! That's how I'll begin this review: with my honest opinion. I truly think this was written gorgeously. I loved your descriptions and characterization. It flowed smoothly and wonderfully and it captivated me 'til the last word. Very, very well done.

So, there were very few grammar or spelling errors, and none that distracted from the story. That's definitely a plus. I liked your characterization of Helga and Rowena, though I had trouble understanding just why Helga was trying so desperately to be reserved. That wasn't particularly clear.

I enjoyed how you described things: from the emotions to their surroundings to Helga's memories, it was all done very subtly which fit the story perfectly. I liked it a lot.

For the relationship with Helga and Rowena...I thought you wrote it well. The simple, yet passionate, moment when Rowena is braiding Helga's hair and kisses her neck was perfect. The only place where their interaction seemed a bit strained or awkward was how you described Helga turning and throwing herself on Rowena. Tad off there, but not awful.

Overall, I think you wrote this beautifully, especially for a first attempt at femslash. Well done. :D Again, I'm sorry I took so long to get to this review; I hope it was worth the wait.

--Emily

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review! :)
It was definitely worth the wait. Once the queue closure is over, I'll skim over the story and fix some of the errors and maybe add a few things here and there to clear some stuff up :). I'm glad that you thought I wrote this story well in general :D.


 Report Review

Review #7, by LoopyLemon Summer Solstice

25th December 2011:
This is beautifully written. The words flow perfectly. It is a story that begs to be read aloud so that each word can play its part. There are no words wasted on unneeded descriptions and feelings. Every piece has a place and every piece is in its place. This piece is beautifully written.

It is unusual to see a piece written from Helga's point of view. As far as I can tell, she is a slightly overlooked character. I love her though because she is the most compassionate of the three and that compassion is her stand out feature. Where the other three are known for their bravery, wit and cunning she is known for something that is often overlooked and dismissed. You use the soft exterior of Helga to tell a story of deep love and to reveal that there is more to Helga Hufflepuff than most people realise.

The form of this piece is amazing. Your paragraphs are constructed beautifully and I just love reading this piece. I like how Rowena realises the depth of Helga's feelings for her before the readers fully grasp it.

This piece opens so beautifully. It is soft and flowing and really shows your prowess as a writer. I'm impressed.

I love this piece and hope you continue to write so beautifully
.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this wonderful review :D
I'm so glad that you enjoyed it and it really means a lot to me. It encourages me :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by CambAngst Summer Solstice

14th December 2011:
Very interesting read. I don't normally go for stories like this, but I thought this was exceptionally well done. You captured the subtle feelings and nuances of the encounter very well. Your characterizations were very believable: resolute and reserved Hufflepuff contrasted with decisive and unyielding Ravenclaw. Without explaining the history that leads to the moment, you sort of imply that it occurs during the effort to establish Hogwarts, which makes sense.

The only thing I wasn't wild about was the very last sentence. I wasn't sure what you were trying to say with that. I read back through and tried to find something to link it to, possibly contrast it to, and the only thing I came up with was "I, Helga Hufflepuff, am alone. I'm always alone." I think a statement that contrasts to that one would make for a stronger ending.

Otherwise, terrific little story. Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this insightful review and I'm glad that you find the story believable :D. I'll play around with the last line a bit to end the story on a stronger note. Again, thanks so much and I'm glad you thought it was terrific.

 Report Review

Review #9, by EverDiggory Summer Solstice

9th December 2011:
First off,this was so beautifully written. Which is a definate compliment. This was an odd ship,but I think I was more distracted by just how beautiful this was. The descriptions of everything was just,mind blowing. You have a way of hypnotizing your readers,you could have convinced me you were an alien queen if you talked that flowing and hypnotizing. I enjoyed this piece despite my lacking interest in slash. You brought writing to a whole new level and you should be proud of this. This is definitely worthy of a dobby. The only part in which you should focus,is maybe a bit more on Rowena...Maybe a little more on the setting,but other then that it was absolutely fantastic!
Hugs and Kisses,
Ever btw 10/10

Author's Response: Oh my goodness!!! Thanks so much for this lovely review!! It made my day! I feel so flattered that you think it's worthy of a dobby and thank you for reading it and complimenting it despite your lack of interest in slash. I, myself, am not a general slash writer, but I like to challenge myself. Again, thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by CloakAuror9 Summer Solstice

6th December 2011:
Hello there, first of all I'd just like to say a quick apology for taking days to do this review. School's just been busy lately and things just kind of went out-of-hand for a few days.

Moving on...

I really enjoyed this story, it was very cute and sweet.

The word choice was fantastic! You used really great words that match the era of the story which in turn made in more 'believable.'

The characterisation was really great too. I particularly liked the bit where you described Rowena's features since it made it more clear to me on how she looked like and even about her feelings towards Helga. I also liked the way you based their attitudes and ways of thinking on how we knew it from the books.

Overall, I think you did a very awesome job and should be proud of this story!

I loved it!
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review this!!! It means alot! I'm also glad that you enjoyed it :). I'm glad that you think the word choice is good because it's hard for me to make it sound like they're really in the middle ages, especially since Helga Hufflepuff is from medieval Wales (where the celtic culture was still present.) Again, thanks!!! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Roots in Water Summer Solstice

4th December 2011:
It's Roots in Water here with your review!

I think that this one-shot was done very well. The descriptions are poetical, beautiful descriptions that really do remind me of the Middle Ages.

I think your story flowed nicely from start to end. Helga Hufflepuff started out as lonely, slightly depressed, and then bubbled into a pleasant mood at the end, where she was present, and happy.

I also think that you displayed Helga's emotions very well in a short time and gave them good reason to be there. There was no passionate love affair, no deep confessions of love, which worked because that wasn't what was needed. Instead you gave Helga a reason to live, to feel happy and warm in the warm days, just like she used to be.

I did notice one thing throughout all of your description. As Helga's narrating she says that she tucks a "lock of golden hair" behind her ear- would she describe the colour of her hair? For me that's not something a person would do because they are so used to themselves that they wouldn't feel the need to refer to themselves using simple adjectives in everyday actions.

I also think that you handled the FemmeSlash portion of this piece very well. Considering the time period, these sorts of actions, these sorts of thoughts would have been deemed unnatural but it didn't in this piece. This was probably because you intertwined nature so thoroughly into this story, referencing Mother Earth and describing the beautiful day in so many different ways, that it seemed so natural of the time. As well, I'm glad that Helga and Rowena only kissed- anything more would, to me, have ruined the sweetness and pure joy of the moment you were creating.

All in all I really enjoyed reading this story and I think that you did a lovely job with it. I hope that you do well in your challenge! Thanks for requesting and I hope that my comments were helpful!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review and I'm glad that you found it pretty enjoyable. It's sort of unnatural for me to write slash, but I always like experimentation! Thanks for pointing out the description piece about Helga. I may go back and change that. Again, thanks for the feedback :).

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login