Reading Reviews for World's Smallest Violin
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Spaz Ob-La-Di

11th January 2012:
I followed this story the whole time, and I just wanted to say, that it is amazing. This ending was great, but I have to ask, what is Draco asking Andromeda about? Why didn't she tell him what? This story was great,and your writing was superb! Great job! :D

Author's Response: Thanks very much for the review. I'm glad you liked the story.

To answer your question, I left it ambiguous on purpose. In my mind Draco is asking why Andromeda didn't tell him the reason why Narcissa sent him to stay with the Tonkses, especially since this was only necessary because Lucius chose to protect himself by staying in Azkaban rather than protecting Draco by breaking out. I think that Draco would have spent some time wondering if things would have gone differently for him is he had gotten that information from a kind source like Andromeda rather than Tonks using it as a weapon.

Thanks again for the review.


 Report Review

Review #2, by HermioneJGranger Ob-La-Di

4th January 2012:
Wow! I loved this story! I don't normally like Draco much (especially since he's often written so unrealistically) but you gave him a lot of depth and made me actually able to empathize (if only a bit) with him. I definitely loved the way he was written four years after the fact--not out of character, yet repentant. I think you got the right mixture of regret and acceptance for his past as he reflects on his choices and everything.

I loved how you wrote Tonks! I enjoyed the switching between Tonks and Draco, and as I said I enjoyed Draco, but I was definitely more excited about Tonks! I especially thought the chapters on her feelings/thoughts during the first muggle attacks (Chapter 11?) were great. I did very much enjoy both her mission with the werewolves (perfect for her to see Remus' reality and for him to have yet another reason to fear for her safety) and your portrayal of her realization for her feelings for Remus (how she liked him without realizing it at first, which her patronus reflected--a clever detail).

Although I would've liked to have seen a bit more with Remus (it sucks to leave their relationship at the hard part), I definitely understand the way you portrayed their interactions and the ending. Their relationship is, in my opinion, super complex, and I think it's hard to imagine what kind of past they have prior to the hospital wing scene in HBP, since we're only given small clues. I think your version of them getting together (or rather taking the first steps on a painful road that ends with them together) is quite believable, even if I do like to delude myself into thinking they had some happy times during OOTP ;)

I loved the last scene, and I think in the whole thing, but especially the last chapter, Andromeda is written very well! My only question (which is quite possibly a dumb one) is what does Draco wish Andromeda'd told him? I understand that you may have not elaborated very intentionally, to make the reader think (you've succeeded there), and I guess I could see it being a number of things, but I wondered if you had something in mind or wanted to leave it up in the air.

Well, that's my very long winded way of letting you know that I absolutely enjoyed this fic! I definitely read most of it in one go (1-11, that is, and then this just now) and loved each chapter, but since it's completed I thought one long review at the end would be more appropriate than leaving a bunch of little ones. Thank you so much for sharing this story--it's absolutely brilliant!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. I'm really glad you enjoyed the story.

To answer your question about what Draco wished Andromeda had told him, I intentionally made the question ambiguous, though perhaps I was a bit too ambiguous. In my mind at least, Draco is asking Andromeda why she didn't tell him that he was staying with the Tonkses for his own protection, particularly since that measure was necessary because Lucius decided to protect himself by staying in Azkaban rather than protecting Draco by breaking out. He's probably spent some time wondering what he might have done if he had gotten that information from a kind source, like Andromeda, rather than Tonks using it as a weapon against him.

In response to what you said about wanting to see more of Remus, I actually did consider adding chapters from his perspective as well, but there's a long winded reason why I eventually decided against that. Continuing the format through HBP wasn't something that really interested me since Tonks and Lupin don't really make any progress in their relationship until the end of that year, and we know pretty well what Draco was up to. Anyway, maybe you'll find it interesting to know that while I was writing this I had it in my head that Lupin did have feelings for Tonks, and did more or less since they met, but he never acted on it and thought it was innocent enough until Tonks started to reciprocate.

Thanks again for the review.


 Report Review

Review #3, by DracoGirl1 Fight

19th December 2011:
I loved this chapter, you depicted the battle brilliantly! I love the way that you involved Fred and George, it fits their character exactly. A little suggestion that honestly does nothing more than add a little bit of humor to the story: could you tell us what number 17 on the list that lost Tonks money is? Just curious. Great job with this chapter!

Author's Response: Easter egg: Number 17 was the bat-bogey hex. I would have included that in the chapter, but thought it was somewhat uninspired and never came up with anything better. Thanks for asking, though.

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter.


 Report Review

Review #4, by academica Fight

18th December 2011:
Awesome chapter! Again, good job with the fighting sequence. How interesting that the Death Eaters Imperiused a dueling club to do their dirty work for them! I liked the inclusion of Fred and George as well - the idea of edible Dark Marks made me laugh.

I liked the interaction between Tonks and Remus as well. It'll be interesting to see how the mission actually goes, although I suspect that it's too much to hope that neither of them gets hurt. I did notice one little thing -- once, toward the very beginning of the chapter, you used 'Rebecca' in place of 'Rachel'. Just something you'll want to go back and edit.

Nicely done! The story as a whole is very, very entertaining, and I'm excited to see what chapter eight will bring :)

academica

Author's Response: That was a boneheaded mistake. It's been corrected and thanks for pointing it out.

I love writing Fred and George. Any time they turn up it's like a breath of fresh air.

Thanks again for all the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #5, by academica News from the Front

18th December 2011:
I loved this! Draco's opposition to asking Ted for help was priceless, and I loved his comments about Tonks being a Hufflepuff and Tonks' surprise at him taking N.E.W.T. level History of Magic (which sounds truly awful, to be honest). Their conversation seemed almost innocent, though still with a touch of animosity, and then all of a sudden it just dissolved effortlessly into a battle of wills and opposing viewpoints. You did that so well, and it was interesting to watch Draco disarm his cousin with his questions.

Wonderful! Moving on to the next chapter.

academica

Author's Response: Thanks again. I really enjoyed getting to write the interactions between Tonks and Draco. I think that under different circumstances they could have been quite close and I hope that comes across.

 Report Review

Review #6, by academica Change

18th December 2011:
I really like how you keep alternating between the story unfolding with Draco and the Tonkses and the Tonks/Lupin storyline. It keeps the story fresh and makes it easy for me to just sit here and keep reading! :)

This was so cute. The mission definitely sounds dangerous, but I imagine it will do some good things for the relationship that is forming slowly but surely between Tonks and Lupin. I especially liked the last bit, with her punching him in the shoulder. Poor Remus must have been quite embarrassed.

Great job! I'm on to chapter six.

Author's Response: Thanks. I think Lupin needs a little good natured ribbing from time to time.

 Report Review

Review #7, by academica I Come Seeking Knowledge

18th December 2011:
Interesting interaction with the Muggle girl. Draco really doesn't know how to socialize with people who aren't stuck-up Slytherin purebloods, does he? Hah. Also, not with dogs, apparently.

Another good conversation between him and Ted as well. At least they can both appreciate Quidditch, even if they're cheering for teams that are opposed to one another.

Nice work! I'm moving on to chapter five now!

academica

Author's Response: Thanks again. I really enjoyed writing Mallory, in my opinion she's an excellent sparring partner for Draco.

 Report Review

Review #8, by academica Fight

18th December 2011:
Oh, how interesting! The turn of events concerning the Patronus, I mean. I personally feel like it's a little early in the relationship for her Patronus to actually switch forms, at least permanently, but it makes sense as a temporary form of protection (assuming that she thought about something safe and comforting) and it's a good way to hint at the relationship plot-wise. I think you did a good job describing the Dementor altercation as well. I find it hard to write combat sequences, but your pacing and description was very well executed.

It was interesting to watch Draco and Tonks... bonding? Bonding seems like a terribly inappropriate choice of word, but even with the tension edging their conversation, I can imagine them hunched over a textbook together in the sitting room. Maybe the silence won't be so pervasive after all.

Great work! On to chapter four! :)

academica

Author's Response: About the Patronus, I've been writing the relationship from the perspective that Tonks' heart is much further ahead than her mind. I like your explanation, though.

Thanks again for the review.


 Report Review

Review #9, by academica Prisoner's Dilemma

18th December 2011:
I kind of love how you've characterized Draco as a reader. It gives him a more introspective, intelligent feel, and it gives his character increased depth compared to what we see in canon. It did kind of seem that way to me in the films, particularly in Half-Blood Prince when he was so careful to investigate the two vanishing cabinets and learn all he could about them. Yet you've also included his classic easy slip into boredom, which is an important part of his canon characterization. Good job giving him just as much accuracy and depth as you gave Tonks in the previous chapter.

Draco's interaction with Andromeda and Ted, however, was the highlight of this chapter for me. It's so interesting to watch the interplay between Draco and his aunt, about whom he knows so little. I loved the juxtaposition of his comment about her needing a house elf and her slow, steady attempts to erode the sense of entitlement that's been bred into him. Ted is so patient and blithe with him, and then he drops that bombshell comment about Voldemort! It'll be very interesting to watch their relationship change and grow in the future.

Very well done! I'm on to chapter three.

academica

Author's Response: Thanks again for the review. I'm glad you like the characterization of Andromeda and Ted. Since we see so little of them in the books I got to take a little liberty with them.

 Report Review

Review #10, by academica Remember

18th December 2011:
Hi there! I caught this on the Recently Added list, and the summary looked so interesting that I couldn't resist bookmarking it for a later date. Now I finally have time to read!

So obviously the concept is interesting. I love this covert effort to protect Draco in the wake of his father's arrest. You've put Tonks in a good place of sympathy in her objection to her parents' attempts to help the son of the enemy. In fact, I love so much about her characterization here. You've done well with keeping the Tonks from canon and expanding on her a bit. For instance, I really liked her little jabs at Draco about Catcher in the Rye. It's so like him to just pick things up (like in the scene at Borgin and Burkes from Book 2) and so like her to take an opportunity to give him a hard time here.

The comic book conversation between Tonks and Remus was absolutely touching, and I'm excited to watch them fall in love in this story. It'll likely be more satisfying than it was in canon, with everything happening quickly behind the scenes.

Your imagery and word choice were both great. I did notice a few spelling mistakes and typos, but nothing that I couldn't gloss over and continue reading.

Great job! I'm moving on to chapter two.

academica

Author's Response: Wow, a whole bunch of reviews. Thanks very much. I'm glad you like the concept and characterization.

To be honest, I never quite understood the Tonks/Lupin relationship as it was presented in the books, to me it seems to come out of left field. One of my secondary objectives in this story was to try and understand how it might have started. I hope you find it satisfying.


 Report Review

Review #11, by DracoGirl1 News from the Front

17th December 2011:
Just so you haven't given up hope on me reading your chapters, I'm going to comment, thoug I am currently unable to read your next chapter... Sorry... Anyways, I like the way you have Malfoy and Tonks interacting with each other, it shows another side of their character that Joanne didn't. I promise, I'll read and comment on your next chapter soon!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you're still enjoying the story.

 Report Review

Review #12, by DracoGirl1 Change

11th December 2011:
Oh, Lupin :) Anyways, good job on the last two chapters (sorry about not reviewing on the last one) though, I'm starting to wonder how Draco living at the Tonks's residence is going to have an effect on the story... And nice job on the Lupin and Tonks in the bathroom part :D

Author's Response: Thanks. No need to apologize about not reviewing the last chapter, you're under no obligation.

As for the effect of Draco staying with the Tonkses, all I'll say for now is that I tried to stay true to canon as much as possible.

Thanks again for the review.


 Report Review

Review #13, by DracoGirl1 Fight

6th December 2011:
Haha, totally love the Herbology comment :) And by the way, this story is too good to have me be your only reviewer, just thought I'd let you know!!!

Author's Response: Thanks I'm glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by DracoGirl1 Prisoner's Dilemma

30th November 2011:
First off, I'd like to comend you with coming up with the idea of having Draco live with the Tonks. One suggestion, though, is that you improve your summary. I, of all people, know that it is very difficult to come up with a good one, but keep in mind that this what readers look at when they are looking for a new story to read. I almost passed over your story simply because I found your summary boring. Give a little background, make it engaging, use a few more lines. It can be hard to determine when a summary is too long, but I always find that a long summary is better than a short one. So far, your story has been written fairly well, and I'm eager to see what you have in store! And please, don't get offended by my review, it's only my opinion and I'll be perfectly happy if you decide to ignore it. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm not offended at all, in fact I'm grateful for the advice. I'll do some thinking and see if I can't come up with a better summary.

Thanks again.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login