Reading Reviews for Albus's Story
  
190 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Unicorn_Charm - Round 5 *Attack Post* Struggling

10th April 2015:
*Attack*

Hey Molly! Back again! :)

I always forget that Al and James were close with Teddy. I don't know why, but that always seems to slip my mind. I can definitely see him being the type that Al would feel comfortable talking to. It's too bad that he moved so far away. :( Maybe he will end up writing him a letter. He can't keep all this bottled up, he'll go mad.

Hmm... So it seems like Fred knows something about Scorpius, huh? It's sounding like maybe Al will have a chance with him after all. I wonder how Fred knows? And I am dying to see how his sister and Roxanne will react once Al starts dating Scorpius. Because HE BETTER START DATING SCORPIUS!! *glares at screen*

Oh god, the ice pack!! :D :D I love Arthur so much!

I think Hermione is also noticing something is up with Al. Maybe he's not hiding his depression as well as he thinks he is. I'm glad that his mother told him all that. He has this idea of Harry that isn't very accurate at all. I'm glad he knows how awkward the hero of the Wizarding World once was. :) I hope he tells his mother, though. He'll feel better with that support.

Loving this! Can't wait to read on!! :) ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #2, by looneylizzie Dreaming

10th April 2015:
CTF - Round 5 - Jailbreak Post!

Awwwe! Albus!

Forget what I said about him being confident. Well, I guess he still is, at his core, but it's keeping it a secret that is shattering his (and my) heart into a million pieces.

I think the hardest thing is that on the surface, things are great, and not just looking great, I mean, really, truly, great. His family loves him, he has good friends and a good life. The worst thing is that he feels alone (and figuratively IS alone) because he's keeping this whole other part of himself hidden away from the rest of the world.

You've done such a good job at describing how he is feeling, and what he's going through. It feels VERY realistic, and I'm amazed at how well you've written it.

Another excellent chapter! Can't wait to read more! (and I'm actually reading this in order!)

LL

 Report Review

Review #3, by Unicorn_Charm - Round 5 *Attack Post* Dreaming

10th April 2015:
*Attack*

Hi Molly! :)

Well this chapter kind of broke my heart. And by kind of, I mean really. Poor Al. I can't even imagine what he's going through. I mean, having feelings for someone who you're not sure feels the same way or not is hard enough. It has to be brutal hiding his feelings because they're for another boy. No wonder he wakes up crying. :( It's just awful that he has to pretend to be someone he's not.

I really felt horrible when they were at the beach and he was watching the happy couples. That kind of loneliness is just unbearable sometimes. I totally felt for him there. And then when Fred was going on about the blonde, and he had to try to feign interest in her, too. The poor thing, I just want to hug him.

Ugh, but the worst part. The part that actually had me tearing up, was when he mentioned his Uncle Ron. The sad part is, I could actually see that happening. Ron has never exactly been delicate with what he has said to or around people. And know we know it's pretty much his fault that Al feels ashamed of who he is. Because I don't think that Harry would be bad about it. I think that Harry and Ginny would be extremely supportive of their son.

Ugh. This chapter. It just made me so sad/mad. :( I really hope things pick up for him soon!

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #4, by looneylizzie Talking

10th April 2015:
CTF - Round 5 - Jailbreak Post!

Albus is adorable. It's so funny to watch how much he struggles with spending time with Al. This seems like such a contrast to how they are in "Life Was Meant to be Easy Now". I know, I probably shouldn't be comparing them here...but seeing that difference makes me extremely interested to see how things develop. As I see more of Al's personality take form, I can see how you've created a really layered character. One with contrasting thoughts and feelings and actions, which is human. SO very human. He is confident in WHO he is as a gay boy (man? is he old enough to be considered a man?), and internally has no qualms about it.

On the other hand, he is self-conscious around Scorpius, but I think that's only because of his attraction to him. It's no different than if this were written as a heterosexual couple. That is probably my favorite thing about this story. It's not written as if it is any different. It's a love story, plain and simple.

Part of me knows that he isn't reading into Scorpius' actions, I'm spoiled since I know the outcome. But the middle part, the journey of it...THAT is the fun part. I can't wait to see what's next!

Although, we do have a flag to find...so ta ta for now!

LL

 Report Review

Review #5, by Unicorn_Charm - Round 5 *Attack Post* Talking

10th April 2015:
*Attack*

Hey Molly!

Ahhh! They had a little "date!" Well, not really, but I'm going to pretend they did. Scorpius sounds so sweet and cute, no wonder Albus has it so bad for him haha! I think I would too. I loved that line about how Ron would probably be more angry about them being friends than Harry would. I could totally see that. Harry wasn't really one to hold a grudge like Ron was.

I'm glad that when he finally spoke to Scorpius, Scorpius didn't turn out to be a jerk and actually seemed better than Al imagined. There really is nothing worse than building someone up in your head, only to really talk to them and realize they're - as Lily Evans would call someone - a complete toe-rag. ;)

I think Albus and Scorpius are adorable here! I want them together like right now!

I wonder what James is going to say later on about Al's new friend...

Excellent chapter! I'm loving this so far!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Thanks Meg! I remember I enjoyed writing this chapter. It's the first glimpse of Scorpius's personality in this story. :-)

 Report Review

Review #6, by looneylizzie Watching

10th April 2015:
CTF - Round 5 - Jailbreak Review!

Molly,

It seems as though I'm reading your stories in the wrong order! I should really fix that!

Anyway, this is a really great start to the story! It digs right into the heart of what this story is going to be about with out any extra nonsense or unnecessary detail. One of the most interesting things I find about Al is that he is both confident in himself, but afraid and self-conscious of what his friends and family will think. He clearly knows that he is gay, he's accepted it and doesn't want to be anything else.

On the other hand, he is (legitimately so) afraid of what his friends and family will think, and is extremely cautious about showing his feelings for Scorpius.

I feel so bad for him! You can see how torn he is. He wants to be himself, but thinks that he won't be accepted if he is. That's a lot to struggle with, and you've demonstrated it beautifully here!

One question about Michael...is he Lee Jordan's son? It's not explicitly said, but sort of implied. My only CC would be to clarify that. Otherwise, a very good start and an excellent taste of what is to come!

LL

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm pleased that you like the start of this. You're right, you started reading in the wrong end in a way. I hope it's not too confusing to do that. :-)

Molly


 Report Review

Review #7, by Unicorn_Charm - Round 5 *Attack Post* Watching

10th April 2015:
*Attack*

Hey Molly!

Aww poor Albus! He's completely heartsick. I don't think that his family would react poorly to him being gay at all. He's just over worrying. I really can't see the Potters or Weasleys being anything more than supportive towards him, so I hope that he does come out to them. Now as far as being interested in a Malfoy, they might not be as accepting of that. ;)

OH MY GOD! I Just realized that Michael's name is MICHAEL JORDAN!! HA! I love it!!

This is certainly a different Al that I normally see, but I do like him. I've almost always read an AL, gay or straight, who loved Quidditch as much as the next Wizard or Witch. Not only loved, but played it, too. And I love how he thinks that his father was always brave and never shy. He should had seen him before the Yule Ball! :p Not so brave then haha.

Aww I hope that Albus finds the strength and courage to confide in someone. Hopefully he can talk to Rose about it. And most importantly, I hope Scorpius ends up feeling the same way about Albus!!

This was a great start, Molly. Scorbus has become my OTP, so I'm definitely going to be back for this!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Thanks for this lovely review! I'm glad you like this first chapter, and "my" shy and insecure Albus. He'll grow up in many ways through this story, and its sequel.

Molly


 Report Review

Review #8, by pointless_proclamations Watching

12th February 2015:
Dear HappyMollyWeasley,

THIS IS SUCH A CUTE STORY!

But I'm getting ahead of myself. . . I think you've set the entire story up so effectively with this first chapter. We have Albus internally swooning over Scorpius and not feeling as though he could tell anyone about it. He seems like such a sweet and shy character. You've made him out to be adorable and completely loveable. I adore him!

Aww and his family and friends. How they kind of hate on Scorpius. That's a bit sad after seeing Scorpius from Albus's perspective. Is there also a wee bit of house rivalry/prejudice here? That's sure to keep things interesting in an Albus/Scorpius pairing where they are in two different houses.

It seems as though everyone close to Albus is in a relationship, which may amplify the loneliness he feels. Now I REALLY need to see Albus and Scorpius finally start talking because maybe then he'd have someone to be honest with.

HappyMollyWeasley, you write wonderfully and I really cannot wait read on into this absolutely lovely story of yours!

Thank you so much for the swap. :D

Cheers,
Em

Author's Response: Thank you Em for this lovely review, and thanks for a great swap!

I'm happy you liked this first chapter! I know it's kind of slow, which a lot of Albus's thinking and feeling. There will be more action to come, though.

I believe the house rivalry together with the inherited family prejudices are the reasons they don't like Scorpius. They don't know him at all. Yet. ;-)

Once again, thanks for reading and reviewing!


Molly


 Report Review

Review #9, by AdinaPuff Watching

25th January 2015:
Review swap!

Ooh this caught my attention really quick. I'll definitely be reading on. I love Albus/Scorpius one shots. I've never really read a novel on them though, but this will be a first!

I like how Albus is so easily distracted by Scorpius. James tried to get him to talk but to no avail. It shows just how captivated Albus is with Scorpius.

His train of thought was good for a first chapter. It explained the situation and how he was afraid to tell Michael. We haven't met Michael too well yet so I don't know how he would respond, but I hope he doesn't have a problem with it. For Albus's sake.

Speaking of responses to Albus's secret, I can clearly imagine James's flabbergasted look if Al was to admit it. I can't wait for him to come out and see the reactions everyone has.

Al seems pretty disconnected from the world. Even when his friends were talking about Scorpius he didn't pay too much attention.

Oooh, way to end it with Scorpius catching the snitch. I like it. Proves everyone who was trash talking him that he can be better than James.

Well done! Loved it.

-Leigh

Author's Response: Thank you for a lovely review! :-)

Oh yes, Albus can be disconnected from the world at times. He is thinking too much. ;-)

I'm glad you like the story! :-)

Molly


 Report Review

Review #10, by Maelody Wishing

12th January 2015:
Hey! I recognize this chapter! Only, it's in Scorpius' POV! ;)

Seriously though, I love that you do sort of parallel this chapter with the first chapter of the sequel. It shows just how meant to be these boys are! I love Albus in this chapter because he's just so lost in loving Scorpius that he goes through the whole dinner with his parents. We know he's a shy character, and he worries what people think of him more than anything else, but he does this for Scorpius because he loves him. That's what I love about your story here. It's about love, and it's beautifully shown through your characters! I can't wait to continue on the journey with you through the sequel! We'll have a wonderful time!

Author's Response: Yes, I'd like to think of this as a love story. It's not primary about coming out, or about wizards, but a story of how the first time in love can be. Albus is so much a version of myself as a teenager. (Although very different, his feelings and thoughts are mine, if you know what I mean.)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Maelody Celebrating

12th January 2015:
I was so happy to see that Harry could put his differences with Malfoy aside to agree to talk to him about their sons! Not that I ever really expected him to not do so, but it just shows us the initial growth he's come to that we as fans missed out on because the books don't go that far. ;) Also, Albus practically pleading him to was sort of adorable. I love how he wants everyone to be OK with their relationship, though I sort of think maybe he needs to tone it down a bit. It's great when people are happy for you, but sometimes they have to come in at their own pace, you know? :)

~Mae

Author's Response: You're totally right! Albus is too anxious and he wants everyone to be happy...

 Report Review

Review #12, by Maelody Introducing

12th January 2015:
I think this chapter really brought back the initial beginning of the story, which I love. The beginning we see a family who is so wrapped up in being a family and arguing about family things, and then we see how one of the family members (Albus) goes off and completely changes his life. Then we're brought back to the scenes where the family is together again, and it's like nothing has changed. I think that beautifully sums up everything the Potters are about. This is perfect!

~Mae

Author's Response: Yes, I lik to think about them as a loving and functional family.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Maelody Forgetting

12th January 2015:
I like Dorinda. I'd like to see Albus and her become friends in the sequel. ;) I also like that there's someone out there that can read Scorpius a little better than Albus. It's sweet. I was just excited that Scorpius would be spending the Christmas break with Albus! Even if his family isn't speaking to him at this point, I had hoped he would be at the Potters' anyway before this point came up. :)

~Mae

Author's Response: You'll see more of Dorinda soon! ;-)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Maelody Accepting?

12th January 2015:
I don't know which I loved more from this chapter! The Prophet story, or the letters from his parents! Both of them are the perfect reactions where they should be, and both of the fit so remarkably well within this chapter! I think Harry's letter is my favorite, though. I don't know, maybe it has something to do with the fact we've read seven books based around him, but having his approval really seems more official. ;) Loved this chapter!

~Mae

Author's Response: Thank you once again for reviewing all these chapters! :-)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Maelody Falling

12th January 2015:
This is it! This is my favorite chapter! The one where everything is officially out in the open, whether they're aware of everyone who knows or not! I just love how matter-of-fact you made Albus care about Scorpius when he thought he was dead. And when Scorpius' first thought was to introduce Albus to his parents as his boyfriend, I cheered! My favorite chapter of the story right here!

~Mae

Author's Response: This was the start of the story in a way. I had this scene worked out long before the other chapters.

This scene, and the various letters is from another fic I wr a few years ago. I would have published it here, but it is not ok at HPFF as it is a sample of letters only (no other text), so it doesn't match the ToS. It is called Letters and can be found on FF-net. :-)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Maelody To be honest

12th January 2015:
Too bad that truth actually came from Albus in the long run technically. ;) I love this Scorpius view chapter as a whole! As I should since I will get o beta the sequel to this one which, lucky me, gets to be in Scorpius' view! Yay me! Also, I love how Scorpius has his own morals here other than the ones his father has adopted.

~Mae

Author's Response: I'm happy you like Scorpius's thought as there are lots of it to come. :-)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Maelody Fighting

12th January 2015:
This chapter was the one that took me most by surprise considering it happened right after such a beautiful moment. I always wondered what it was that made Scorpius at that very moment want to be exclusive. I know it's been an issue with them from the beginning, but I can't help but wonder if something/someone else made it clear to him that he wanted his relationship open.

~Mae

Author's Response: Maybe I can write some kind of explanation for this in the sequel? I'll think about that.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Maelody Loving

12th January 2015:
I hope this doesn't make me sound pervy, but I was super looking forward to the time that Scorpius and Albus would get to lay with one another for the first time! It did not disappoint, either! I think it just showed how much these two boy really care for one another and were ready to take that next step in life together!

~Mae

Author's Response: This was the most difficult part in the story I think. :-)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Maelody Hiding

12th January 2015:
Lily has to be the best little sister ever. I think she did Albus a favor in telling his cousins and brother because honestly, I don't think it was in Al to ever tell anyone really. Honestly, it was brave enough for him to even step out and admit he's gay to Scorpius so he can have a boyfriend in the first place haha! Really though, I hope there comes a time when Albus sits and appreciates Lily for doing what she did. Sure she reacted poorly when she first saw the pair, but she had her reasons, and she was shocked. He was a little over dramatic with the whole two days thing, though ;). Poor Scorpius could have had more kisses instead of having to worry about his beloved!

~Mae

Author's Response: Oh yes, he is certainly overreacting. Albus is sometimes too concerned about himself to see those things...

 Report Review

Review #20, by Maelody Flying

12th January 2015:
I know he doesn't have that big of a part in your story here, but I love your Teddy so much! He's one of my favorite characters and I think you've picked him out perfectly. I think he would have communicated better with Albus simply because he is the middle child. So seeing these letters made me extremely happy because they were just so Teddy-like!

~Mae

Author's Response: A Teddy-spin off next...? ;-)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Maelody Worrying

12th January 2015:
I've always thought the most 'sexy' relationships were the secret ones. Once everyone learn you're in one your life just changes forever, doesn't it? Maybe Scorpius should have reveled in the secrecy while he could have. Now people are constantly going to picking on him for skiving out of things to see his boyfriend and probably won't let him go. Before if he said he was too sick to come, he was just too sick. Now every excuse he has will end up with him 'wanting to snog his boyfriend'. Poor Scorpius, should have learned while you were still naive ;).

~Mae

Author's Response: He is too honest you know... ;-)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Maelody Wanting

12th January 2015:
Aaaah! This is the chapter where they ended up kissing! I must admit I was way more excited for this than I thought I should have been (I should have seen it coming considering). But the way you placed everything and the timing of it was perfect. I was more excited for their first kiss than I was for my own. :p This was another one of my favorite scenes throughout the whole story!

~Mae

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it! :-D

 Report Review

Review #23, by Maelody Flirting

12th January 2015:
I actually thought this story might go in a direction in which Albus would end up dating Sarah just to please everyone, then it would deal with him being with Scorpius and having to break it to Sarah and everyone else. I can honestly say I'm glad this didn't end up being the case. Albus stayed true to himself, regardless of the possible suspicion anyone may have had of him. Though I wonder if Scorpius has ever dated a girl in his past to please everyone else? ;)

~Mae

Author's Response: I think that both of them are too true to themselves to date girls for appearance only. Albus could probably have felt himself forced to do so, but not Scorpius. :-)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Maelody Struggling

12th January 2015:
I really love the scene between Al and his mom. It's just so tinder and sweet. I think Al suffers from what I like to call 'middle child syndrome'. Ginny is just how I would imagine her as a mother, and I think I realized here that she thought of the possibility of her son being gay, but didn't mention it for the fears that she expresses later. It's a beautiful scene, really. I can tell you're a mother. :p

~Mae

Author's Response: The scenes between Albus and Ginny is the easiest part of the story to write. Being a mother myself probably helps. ;-)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Maelody Dreaming

12th January 2015:
I like the side relationship with James and Jennifer. It's not even all that prominent, but it's really comfortable to read about and see. It's one of those things that you just grow used to knowing, even though it has nothing to do with Albus. Little details like this make me really happy that I get to work with you! :)

~Mae

Author's Response: Thanks! :-)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>