Reading Reviews for Perfect: That is Me.
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heaven Perfect: That Is Me.

27th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I'm here to shower some review love on my fellow Slytherin 2k15 participants because you're all wonderful!

Can I just say how happy I am that not only does your body of work increase the number of Slytherin-centric stories on the archives, but that you also increase the number of stories about Slytherins who are often ignored. I think this is the second Pansy story of yours that I'm reading (and it's weird that I haven't read it already?), and upon seeing it I was just like E. Angie has another Pansy story! And yes, I figured this out when I read your story summary on your author page :P

I really enjoyed this, actually. It's a nice change of pace from most other stories I've been reading recently, where external forces move the plot along. Here's it's just a short character study of Pansy. I really liked that. You managed to give her narcissism and superficial tendencies a depth that she definitely seems to lack in canon! So thank you!

This was a really enjoyable read :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Thunderstorm Perfect: That Is Me.

22nd May 2015:
Hello again, Aditi! Sorry it took me so long to get back here.

Is the character Pansy Parkinson? That's my guess! What made me think that was the reference to the Golden Trio, because I can't remember them ever interacting with any Slytherin girls besides Pansy.

I have a couple of issues with this; the main one is that it reads sort of repetitively right at the beginning ("I did this. I did this. I did this"). The other one is that the part where she sees ink on her finger seems kind of out of place. I don't think you need to take it out - maybe just move it closer to the beginning?

I did enjoy this though! I've never read a fic from this challenge before and I don't think I've ever seen a story done this way on any other sites or anything. I think that you did a really good job of getting across who your character is as a person instead of relying on her name to tell people for you (by those people going off of what they know of her from the books).

Good job!

Yours,
Thunderstorm

Author's Response: Hey again!

Yes, the character is Pansy. I tried to make it as obvious as possible so I'm glad you guessed it xD

Thanks for pointing out the issues. This is one of my older works as well so it needs editing and I'll surely be able to do it better with your help.

Thanks once again for reviewing and I'm pleased you liked it over all =)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lostmyheart Perfect: That Is Me.

16th April 2015:
Hi Angie!

This is just perfect. It's amazing you did that without mentioning any names, and no - I had no idea who your main character was. A black haired Slytherin, who has a rich boyfriend that's behaving oddly during their sixth year?
Hmm. Who can that be? I honestly don't know :b

Haha. It's our lovely Pansy! I love how you portrayed her. Of course she thinks she's perfect - everything is going exactly how she wants it, except with Draco being absent most of the time (we all know why). She seems so fake, really, really fake. How she can throw a tantrum and do other things to get what she wants, it's scary how manipulating she can be.
You've captured that egocentric personality very well, she'd be absolutely horrible to know in real life - one of those that care more about themselves than other people.

As usual, you've written this story exceptionally well! I love your writing style and how you make the characters express themselves - in their mind and when they speak.

I hope you're having a nice day!

Big hug,
Avi

Author's Response: *hugs back* Thank you for your wonderful comments Avi. As always, your review made me smile, I am pleased you liked my take on Pansy and found the story well-written. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Maelody Perfect: That Is Me.

4th February 2015:
I do believe I am reading a piece about our one and only Miss Pansy Parkinson. Am I right? :p

And her perfect Slytherin Prince is Draco Malfoy.

And the bookworm girl with her own ink splotches is Hermione. :p Though, I might add, in their sixth year, I don't think Hermione was bucktoothed. I think she fixed that in her fourth year just before the Yule Ball. Then again, maybe Pansy is so keen on focusing on only herself and her boyfriend that she hasn't even noticed. ;)

This piece is quite funny! Of course Pansy would think she is perfect! She practically does nothing but antagonize others in the books, yet there's nothing else really to her. So this makes perfect sense to see what's going on in her mind! xD I have no doubt that she either enchanted her skirt to be shorter, or threatened to jinx Madam Malcolm if she didn't hem it up. ;)

This was a cute little piece! I love reading pieces like this one, where you have to guess certain things. It's a nice little mystery, and sometimes, it gets me second guessing myself. Like, from the very beginning I thought it was Pansy, but then I started wondering if maybe Draco was dating someone else at times. Or if maybe it was another boyfriend (until he had something to do that was important to the Dark Lord did I become sure of Pansy's character). So this was a very interesting, funny little piece! Great work! :D

~Mae

Author's Response: Haha yes you're right - it is our very own Pansy Parkinson!

You guessed all the characters right - after all I made it quite obvious xP As for Hermione being bucktoothed, I'd say that Pansy would always think of Hermione as bucktoothed and Harry as scarhead even if Hermione's tooth get okay and Harry's scar vanishes - she's just that kinda person if you know what I mean!

Haha I am pleased it was a bit funny - humour is not my forte but I tried to kinda make it so vain and thick that I felt it ought to have been a bit funny!

Thank you for such lovely comments as always!


 Report Review

Review #5, by jillyomg Perfect: That Is Me.

26th March 2014:
wow this is such great writing and so funny! im guessing this is pansy ahah - btw you were my first ever review and Im so thankful that I read all your stories - I LOVE them all! I think im going to put you on my fav authors list! love your wrting so much!

can I ask a question though, how do you do the banner things for the story? because all mine are blank :( and I don't know to make them or apply them.

love your work! keep it up!

Author's Response: Hello! I am glad you found this funny. It is Pansy yes, haha. This was a totally over-the-top weird kind of piece but I am happy you enjoyed it xD And wow I am so honoured that I'm your first review yay! Apologies for such a late response! I am pleased you like all my stories, that's so awesome!! Thank you!
And yes, once again, sorry for the late response but for the banners I place requests on this website: the-dark-arts(dot)net =)


 Report Review

Review #6, by maraudertimes Perfect: That Is Me.

14th March 2014:
Hello!

Let me guess: Pansy Parkinson? I hope that's right, because it seemed obvious to me, but I'm not usually one for riddles...

Anyways, this was really good and I loved how I knew who the characters were, even without the names. It was a really cool concept and I think you pulled it off expertly, especially when talking about Draco, while simultaneously not saying his name.

I really liked getting into Pansy's head (although, this would be embarrassing if it weren't her), and to see how she was feeling around this particular time, especially when the Trio's story around this time has already been told, really helped round out the HP verse in a sense, and gave the war a bit more oomph, if that makes sense, as we're seeing it from both sides.

I also loved how you characterized Pansy. She is vain and haughty, and though she's described as pug-faced in the books, you've really shown how much she thought of herself by believing herself to be the most beautiful and perfect girl. I thought that was genius, especially when she believed others were jealous of her.

This was a great piece and it was surprisingly enjoyable to read, in the best way possible. I've always despised Pansy, but funnily enough, I loved reading this through her POV. So, congratulations of making me feel that way! It takes a lot of talent, I think, to be able to change the reader's mind.

Absolutely stunning job!
Lo:)

Gryffindor vs Slytherin Blackout Battle Round 3 Review 12/20

Author's Response: Hey!

Yes, it is indeed Pansy. It is a very simple and straightforward "riddle" really xD

I am pleased you liked how I wrote this, and enjoying getting into Pansy's head. She is certainly self-centred and vain and that made it fun to write.

I am happy you liked reading this, thanks!


 Report Review

Review #7, by ginnys twin Perfect: That Is Me.

21st April 2013:
I'm guessing Pansy Parkinson?

Anyway, I loved the subtle (mostly) clues as to who she was. The mirrors were a nice touch, although I just can't picture them in the common room. I just don't think the girls would like getting thier make up on in the common room. I just don't see it happening. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. The ink was also a nice addition, just to show her opinion of the golden trio in a way that was a bit smoother than just a random thought.

Overall, I liked it and it's one of the less common approaches and characters.

-katty01/ginnys twin

Author's Response: Yes, it's pansy parkinson.

I am glad you liked the subtle and not-so-subtle clues. Well, I lived in a boarding school once and we had a huge mirror in the common room and most of the girls put their make-up on there, so I got the idea from that. I am pleased you liked the ink addition too.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFan Perfect: That Is Me.

20th April 2013:
Well, it was really obvious by the thought of process of this girl that she's quite full of herself. I mean really, saying that you like to stare at your reflection because it makes you feel better practically screams "IM VAIN!"

Anyway, despite the fact that that sounds really negative, I actually really liked the narration to this. For some reason it really amused me how the girl was thinking.

Okay, I'm going to guess on who this is so my guess may be way off. I'm pretty sure that this is Pansy Parkinson talking and the Slytherin Prince is Draco.

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. Haha yes she's quite vain.

It was quite negative, but I was going for an amusing effect as well, so good to know I achieved it.

And yes, it's Pansy and Draco. Thanks a lot for your review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by sapphire25 Perfect: That Is Me.

13th April 2013:
Pansy Parkinson. Am I right? She dated Draco Malfoy that year, with the whole 'Dark Lord's business' stuff. And the 'Daddy's money buys us stuff we probably don't need and just use to boast about' thing. Anyway, it's good! A different perspective of things.

Author's Response: Yes, it's Pansy Parkinson. You got everything right. I am glad you liked this and found it a fresh perspective. thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Bobby Dazzler Perfect: That Is Me.

2nd March 2013:
Hi AD, how's it going? Here for the review tag :)

So, Pansy, obvious, lol. Now that that's over and done with... You did a good job keeping it in first present tense the whole way through, and I'll forgive you that given the fact that Pansy was just so vain and obnoxious to everything else going on around her, because well, it's Pansy and that was the point of the story, to show things from her self-centred POV, so you did acheive that, though it did annoy me slightly just because it's Pansy lol.

There were a few grammar mistakes in this, unnecessary capitalization at times which really stood out and sentences that didn't flow as good as they could've due to extra commas. Maybe a little grammar revision wouldn't go astray? :)

I feel sorry for Draco about to walk in to a room where Pansy will unleash on him, as I'm sure in keeping with HBP canon (I guessed it was that year...), he's been busy doing work for Voldy, which did show through in your writing too. Nice background, but obvious, plot.

Overall, aside from a few niggling grammar issues, I thought it was a nice one shot of a very vain Pansy, which is exactly who she is :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing. Apologies for the delay in responding.

Yes, it's Pansy. I am glad you found the present tense done well, as that's something I tend to have trouble with. Haha I am sorry it annoyed you but pleased that I got the self-centred POV across.

Thanks for letting me know about the grammar mistakes and unnecessary capitalization and commas, I'll read through and try to fix this.

Yes, Draco is going to go through hell ;) I am glad you liked the background, and well the entire point of the story (and the challenge for which it was written) was to keep things as obvious as possible.

I am pleased you liked it overall, thanks.


 Report Review

Review #11, by alicia and anne Perfect: That Is Me.

11th February 2013:
Trust the Slytherins to get a big mirror put into the common room :D
It's Pansy isn't it? I love how self centered she is, that's so like how I imagine Pansy to be and you've portrayed her amazingly.
That was really well written and amazing considering you couldn't say who it was and for not using dialogue. Loved this!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! Haha yes, Slytherins can be a little vain xP

Yes, it is Pansy! I am glad you liked the self-centred character I built of her. Thanks again, I am pleased you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #12, by patronus_charm Perfect: That Is Me.

8th February 2013:
Tag!

I know Iím going to regret reading this, because whenever I do read a story where the narrator is unknown I get annoyed as I donít know who it is! But I decided to take the risk anyway!

I liked how you left us little clues, such as the colour of her hair, her house, and that her boyfriend was influential, as it was enough for us to have a vague idea as to who it was, but not too much for it to be given away completely.

Even though it was rather short I found it effective as it kept you guessing, and for the purpose of this story, if it went on for any longer, it perhaps would have become a little boring!

A good one-shot in my opinion and Iím going to guess Pansy Parkinson due to her hate for Hermione, and the boy probably is Draco. Please tell me if Iím right or not!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

Haha I hope I didn't make you too annoyed!

I am glad that you liked the concept of the "clues", and that you found it short but effective. Its a relief to hear that it wasn't boring as it is!

Thank you so much for your review, and yes it is Pansy Parkinson and Draco Malfoy. It wasn't too hard to guess xP


 Report Review

Review #13, by BellaCamille Perfect: That Is Me.

1st February 2013:
Hi! I'm Camille from the review tag.

I'm really glad I chose this story. I rarely read Pansy Parkinson stories mostly because I don't like the era very much. But I wanted to challenge myself.

I really liked the premise of this story because this type of character portrait is something seldom seen in stories. I find it very refreshing and original.

I actually found this amusing because you didn't hold back in this piece and there just wasn't room for questioning your purpose. It was so hilariously ludicrous. (in the best way! I swear!) I loved her reveling unashamedly in her popularity and her blatant attitude about most things. It made for such an interesting and entertaining character.

Her attitude about Draco and his whereabouts is also very well done. She is so unaware and so unperceptive to the obviously serious issues that Draco is facing and it really fits well with the character. She is clearly so much more concerned about herself than what Draco may be going through to cause the behavior.

I really only have a few minor concerns/critiques for you. Mainly, I wanted a bit more about her feelings surrounding the Draco issue. You touch on it some, but mostly just what she plans to do about it. I wanted to hear more about how she is angry with him and maybe some specific examples of when he blew her off or dismissed her. This is a character portrait, so her feelings and experiences are vitally important to the story and I just wanted to see more of that. I think it would have added a bit of depth.

The next thing is pretty small: The second paragraph seems a little odd to me. I understand the intent of it and I like that, but it feels a little unnecessary and misplaced. I think the extra information about Draco's father and the description of the mirror and the girls is unnecessary and clogs up the really great parts of the piece. I think that maybe a better way of portraying her vanity would simply to remove that paragraph and skip right to the next one. I think it would be more direct and have a bigger impact. Of course these are just my opinions. (:

I really quite enjoyed this story, thank you.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing!

I am glad that you chose this story too, especially since you dont usually read Pansy Parkinson stories.

I am pleased to know that you found this refreshing and original. It was my first time writing such a character portrait too =)

It's great to hear that you enjoyed her ludicrous personality, and found it interesting and entertaining.

You're absolutely right, she doesn't care about Draco, just about herself, and its good that you could understand that, as that was my aim.

Thank you for your comments. I'll see what I can do about touching more on Pansy's feelings regarding the Draco issue, and if I can include any flashbacks or so.

As for the second paragraph, I just wanted to focus more on her vanity through that, but since it didn't work as well, I'll re-think about that paragraph being there =)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #14, by CloakAuror9 Perfect: That Is Me.

30th January 2013:
Hey there! (:

It's Pansy right? I didn't it'd be anybody else other than Pansy after reading the third paragraph then again I might be wrong.

Anyway, Pansy or not, I thought you did a great job writing the character's thoughts. She really seemed full of herself but also daring, after all not a lot of Slytherins would dare confront Draco during that time. So, I think you did her character justice all in all.

The writing was really well done! The descriptions wasn't too much or too little, it was just perfect for someone like Pansy's character. Everything flowed really well and gah, I wish I could write as well as you do! ♥

Amazing job!

~Izzy

84th review out of 100

Author's Response: Hey again!

Yep, it is Pansy. Not very difficult to guess xD

I am glad that you liked this and think that I did a good job with her thoughts, and that I did her character justice.

I was afraid that my descriptions were a little too much, so its good to know that you found them fitting! Naw, you're flattering me now, I am sure you write just as well. I am not a great writer at all! But thanks a ton!

I am loving your reviews =)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Alopex Perfect: That Is Me.

24th December 2012:
I chose this story because it has fewer reviews than most/all of the others on your page and also because it's been podcasted. Seeing as this is an HPPC gift exchange, it seemed appropriate. So I am actually listening to the podcast and reading along at the same time.

One thing I noticed: Typo in "Unblemishing Charm" (you left out the N).

Well, the male character is pretty obviously Draco, so I'm going to have to guess that the female character is Pansy. I'm not entirely sure how I feel about her characterization. This level of vanity and self-centeredness is pretty extreme. She's also pretty convinced everyone else notices how beautiful and perfect she is.

I don't really think this is how other people would necessarily see her. However, I can buy that she'd see herself this way. Also, I definitely think she'd be pretty annoyed by Draco not paying her enough attention. :P And honestly, he really didn't have enough free time that year to have a social life, so I can totally understand her refusing to put up with it (even if she is a bit of a . . . well, you know).

I'm also glad I listened to this as a podcast rather than just reading through it. If I had only been reading, I don't know if I would have been able to get past how off-putting Pansy was. In the podcast, though, you were able to really show her attitude, which made it more believable (if that's the right word, which it isn't quite).

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

I am glad you listened to the podcast too while reading this story, thanks :)

Oh I did? Thanks for pointing out that typo.

You guessed it all right :) My aim in this fic was to show how Pansy saw herself, not how others see her, which is why she is convinced that she is so awesome and perfect, lol.

Haha I totally get that yeah.

I am glad you liked this overall and the podcast made it more believable of sorts for you. Thanks!

{and I am sorry I am so slow in responding to all your reviews, my sincere apologies!}


 Report Review

Review #16, by Phoenix_feather123 Perfect: That Is Me.

1st December 2012:
Phoenix here from the review tag!

I thought this was very interesting, and it took me a while to figure this out. I think that the main character is pansy right? and the slytherin prince is Draco? I think you also mentioned Hermione. Please tell me if I am right!

So, now to the main flow of your story. I read this smoothly and didn't see any mistakes and I read it. Though I think you said smirked a few times. I don't know, since my stories are like that too.

Over all I thought that this was enjoyable and hope to see more of you writing soon.
~Phoenix

Author's Response: Hi Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Yes, the main character is Pansy and the Slytherin Prince is Draco. And I did mention Hermione too :) You got all that right!

Thanks for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed this!

Cheers!
AD


 Report Review

Review #17, by Cleopatraa Perfect: That Is Me.

3rd September 2012:
I really liked your banner. Itís really pretty and your summary intrigued me I wanted to see if I could guess who it was. At the moment for some reason my first guess is Pansy Parkinson and after some thinking I think it could also be Astoria Greengrass ( without having read the story yet).

With reading your story I think my first guess was right. It was Pansy. So yeah for me. I though this was really well written. The imagery, the descriptions and her personality especially. You really made a strong character of her, which some people donít do. Iím glad to not see her as the snivelling girlfriend of Draco but a strong and perhaps not very likeable pureblood girl. Itís nice to see her reaction to Dracoís mission and I have to admit you have a rather unique (than most) and very realistic approach to it. The only regret I would have if this piece would have been longer is that you only see the negative side of her. If it were longer you should have made her more complex but for this size itís ( her character) good.

Author's Response: Hi thanks a lot for reading and reviewing! Yeah you guessed it right, it's Pansy :)

I am glad you found her a strong character, and that you think my approach was unique and realistic.

Well, yeah if it were longer, I probably would have shown the other nicer side of her, but since this was it, I think it worked.

Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing once again!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Shortie Perfect: That Is Me.

27th July 2012:
OMG! Can a girl be that vain? Of course she can. She's a damn pureblood! She's so vain and thick and... Ugh I can strangle her.

Hehe that's what happen when you impersonate someone this well. Well not literally impersonate but you know what I mean. You really know the Slytherin lot you know? Of course you do! You're a Slytherin yourself.

So, I'm going to favourite you ;) I mean, you're only just great, amazing, super, cool, supercool, awesome and whatnot. So yeah ;)

Coming back to the story, it's amazing. I told you right? The characterization is impeccable. I love it. You've got her right as in really REALLY right. Whoa. That's really something you know?

Grammar and all, as usual no mistakes there. Seriously, you're such a Slytherin :D

*Hugs*

Author's Response: Haha, your review made me smile, thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

Haha yes she's Pansy Parkinson of course she can be like that :P

That's the biggest compliment you can give me, I am a slytherin through and through yay xD

Haha thanks a lot. I am happy you find it amazing, and that you really liked it so much.

Thanks a ton!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Goddess Faith3 Perfect: That Is Me.

26th March 2012:
I think you did a wonderful job at describing the people. I understood that the main character was Pansy and you did mention Draco and Hermione there, but never there names. You did a really good job at that. The only thing I have to add to this is your wording. At times I had to read over a sentence three or four times before understanding it because the wording was a bit confusing. That was only in a couple of places though. Other than that, it was an excellent story!

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much for your review! I am glad you like my descriptions and understood the characters :D I'll re-read this and see where my wording is confusing, and edit it whenever possible. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #20, by EnigmaticEyes16 Perfect: That Is Me.

15th March 2012:
This was a nice little one-shot. The character is clearly Pansy, of which I had my suspicious just from reading the summary. She seems very like J.K. Rowling has canonized her, being full of herself and thinking she's perfect and being cruel to anyone who she thinks isn't. I did not see any typos, and I think this was very well written. Good job and good luck with the challenge!

xxEnigmaticEyes16

~green with envy 2012~

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading & reviewing! I am glad you liked Pansy's characterization, and that you think this was well written :) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #21, by the_edge_of_love Perfect: That Is Me.

30th January 2012:
You caught my attention with that summary! Readig it, I'd say it was Bellatrix. Then, I realized I was forgetting the first lines: this is boy trouble! There's no way it would be Bella:P

So Pansy it is, right? Judging from the boyfriend's 'aloofness' in their sixth year xD

It was an interesting way to characterize her. I liked that the story is written from her POV, and we get to see what she thinks of herself. I also ennjoyed having the opportunity to look into Draco's sixth year though the eyes of someone who's near him.

The whole time I was reading it, I had a smile on my face, but the funniest part was definitely this one:
"To my dismay, I discovered there was a small blotch of ink on one of my knuckles. I gasped. These kind of things happened to that bushy-haired bucktooth Gryffindor bookworm, and I couldn't for the life of me think how on earth ink landed on my hands!"

Overall, I'd say this was a smartly written story: it was funny despite the fact that if you really think about it, it's quite ironic how Draco's being through what he's being through and she's all 'okay, whatever':P

~ Angie

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks again for your great review!

Haha, there's no way it could be Bella! Bella and boys is a no go :P

Yep it is Pansy, kudos for getting it right xx

I am glad to know that you think the characterization and narrative was good, and that it brought a smile to your face :) I love that line too btw, and I had fun writing the whole thing!

Thanks a lot for your wonderful comments! I showcased Pansy the way I pictured her and glad to know it turned out well!

thanks!


 Report Review

Review #22, by SmileChild Perfect: That Is Me.

21st December 2011:
It was really well written, I am guessing the girl was Pansy and her boyfriend Draco? It was quiet obvious after the first paragraph or so.
You wrote it just like I imagined Pansy would be, quite shallow and vain!! Well done!

Author's Response: Hey there!! Thank you!! Yes it was Pansy and Draco. Thanks again :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Michelle Perfect: That Is Me.

11th December 2011:
very good. able to easily tell who everone is. girl: pansy parkinson boyfriend: draco malfoy golden trio: harry potter, ron weasley and the "bushy-haired bucktoothed Gryffindor bookworm" : hermione granger and i think thats all who was mentioned

Author's Response: yep! you got it all right :) Thanks for reading & reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by academica Perfect: That Is Me.

5th December 2011:
Hey! I've come around at last with your second review :)

I liked this little look we got at Pansy. I did always kind of wonder how she reacted to Draco's mission and whether it marked the beginning of the demise of their relationship.

Two things occurred to me while reading this. One is that your characterization seems a little shallow, though I can definitely see Pansy feeling that she and Draco are both perfect. Maybe it's just my distaste for overly optimistic depictions of Draco speaking there. The other is that I wish this had been a bit longer! It would have been interesting to see Draco unravel Pansy's perfect little plan with his news and his utter disregard for matters not related to his mission.

I did love the bit at the end about the ink stain. You would definitely expect bookish Hermione Granger to end up like that, not Pansy, who surely has minions to do her work for her. It was a neat look into the nuances of her personality, and maybe that's what I thought could have added to the characterization here.

Nice job! :)

academica

Author's Response: Hey!

Well, I actually wanted her characterization to be 'shallow', that's how I wrote it. About it being longer, well if I had extended it, I wouldn't have been able to keep everything Unnamed (haha). Maybe I'll do an extension once the challenge is complete!

I am glad you liked that ink stains part, and overall the personality.

Thanks a lot for your review!!

Cheers!
AD


 Report Review

Review #25, by SilentConfession Perfect: That Is Me.

3rd December 2011:
Hello! I'm here for the final one! I'm so happy i have time today to fill in both your requests! This might be shorter, only because it's a short piece ;D

On with the review! So, i felt disgusted by this, only because the unlikeableness of Pansy. She really is terrible isn't she? I think though that you captured her well and it was easy to imagine her. I think your Pansy fits well with how she was in the books.

I think you have some nice details in the story which makes me believe more that this story happened at Hogwarts and not just some random boarding school

There were a couple things that i couldn't quite imagine, like the accessories by the mirror... people's personal accessories? school accessories? Did the girls come to the common room to do their makeup? If so, why didn't they use their bathrooms in their dormitories? I think some more distinct imagery there would have answered those questions.

Overall though, i think this is a decent piece and i feel like you captured Pansy well. There was one particular line i really liked the "looking into the mirror because there is nothing i like doing better" or something like that. Really captured her well, made me groan :D Also, something as mundane as putting on her lipgloss, usually i hate when authors describe everything their characters are doing while looking in the mirror. I have always felt like it was an uncreative way of decribing a character. BUT i felt like with Pansy, it worked perfectly and enhanced her characterization :D Great job.

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thanks a lot for your review :)

It's good to know that Pansy's unlikeableness came across well and it fitted, because that's what I was aiming for :) Also nice to hear that you got the "feel of Hogwarts"!
I got a few pointers on the accessories thing in other reviews too, so I think I'll go and edit that and elaborate more. I will definitely give more detail and imagery! Your comments are appreciated, thank you :)
I am flattered that you think I captured Pansy well and that you think the little bit about applying her make-up enhanced the character.

Thanks a lot for your kind review :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>