8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Paris The Sorting of Dudley Dursley

16th January 2013:
Very well written and quite interesting!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review... :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Joan Destination Hogwarts?

14th August 2012:
Three Bolts is another great AU. I like Saint Potter a fraction better but this one is great.

Author's Response: I'm pleased you like them both and that you found your way over here from where I have Saint Potter at present to this work too...

 Report Review

Review #3, by magicmuggle01 Touching Magic

4th March 2012:
Another wonderful chapter. I found it to be very exciting and could visualise the entire trip through Iraq. And back.
Though I had to smile at Vernon acting like James Bond. Excellently written and 10/10.
Can't wait till the next chapter.

Author's Response: Apologies for the delay in getting back, but I'm currently busy posting on a different site where I have a number of other stories on the go. Thanks for the review. To a certain extent, in this piece Vernon is in a bit of a James Bond situation, except without quite the mayhem that James Bond (who has a license to kill, after all) tends to leave in his wake.
I'm afraid the Draco piece I had hoped to get up here is proving rather awkward, so there's a short piece of Binns coming instead (if it's formatted okay)...


 Report Review

Review #4, by magicmuggle01 Bawled Out

13th February 2012:
Well all I can say is that the Sarge was only looking out for his daughters safety. But did his daughter ever receive the letter? Good chapter and 9/10 plz update soon.

Author's Response: She received the letter, yes, because otherwise, as with Harry and his letters in canon, I assume they would just keep coming (as the deputy headmistress warns).

 Report Review

Review #5, by magicmuggle01 Gatecrashed!

13th February 2012:
This Lily is so different to the one I'm used to reading about. Which is a good thing. I like to read a refreshingly different approach to a character. Another good chapter and 9/10. Moving on.

Author's Response: I'm assembling some writing regarding events in 1980, principally involving Lily and Severus, but it's a bit slow going at the moment. This Lily was rather put through the wringer in the immediate aftermath of the Battle of Godric's Hollow (in this universe) in 1980, and it took her a while to recover. She became a very different person in the process of pulling herself back together.


 Report Review

Review #6, by magicmuggle01 Peter Pettigrew: Making the Most of Things

13th February 2012:
Another good chapter. This is really good and unusual, I had to laugh at the thought of Peter working for MI5.
I just love au stories in real life and this fits my preference perfectly. 10/10 and moving on.

Author's Response: Pleased you like it. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by magicmuggle01 The Sorting of Dudley Dursley

12th February 2012:
An unusal start to a story. I wonder how Dudley actually ended up at Hogwarts if he didn't have magic as you said in your story? I must move on. 9/10 and moving on.

Author's Response: Dumbledore playing politics! I have an exchange of correspondence sitting in my Word files I may try to post part of some day...
Thanks for the review.
NB
This is a compilation of short stories that cover the background to an alternate universe Hogwarts/Grassguards sequence I may try to post some day, but I'm still a long way short of having enough of a feel for the characters and situations to commit to the bigger effort.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aufeis The Sorting of Dudley Dursley

24th November 2011:
This looks like it could be very interesting!! I love hat dialogues and I can just imagine Dudley sitting there whilst the hat's scheming away to itself. Does this mean that vernon will be in shape now? Rather than a walrus? If he's able to kill basilisks and the like then I imagine he must be some kind of 'Indiana jones' as Dudley says! Looking forward to more, especially the new potter/snapes.

Author's Response: I find hat dialogues very easy to write, which is why I posted this glimpse first. Glad you like it, and thanks for the review.
Vernon is in much better shape, yes. It comes from the running through jungles or being chased around the home counties by crazy cultists trying to steal the books/scrolls he's been off to some corner of the world to fetch.
I'm assembling pieces of background for this alternate universe, before trying anything more ambitious. Amongst other things I'm working on an exchange of correspondence between several figures which led into Dudley going to Hogwarts (which I'm not sure is in a format suitable for posting on this site - I'll have to check) and a short piece about what the Peter Pettigrew of this universe is doing. (He was awarded the order of merlin, second class, for his part in bringing down the Death Eaters and their leader, but has since found employment in non-magical society.)
Lily and Severus pieces are proving tricky to write, since they've gone so far off the script of regular canon following the Battle of Godric's Hollow in 1980. (No night raid by just Voldemort on Hallowe'en in 1981 in this universe but a full blown Moody organised trap/battle.) I'm not sure if Harry would have siblings beyond Celia; at present I think there might have been one born at some point in the mid 1980's at a time that Lily is starting to feel more confident and have more time for other things away from frantic research. (Horace told her at James' funeral about the Riddle horcrux situation which almost finished her sanity off, knowing that Riddle/Voldemort would be back one day, and likely have her in his sights...) By the late 1980's though, they've moved into a newly built house called Grassguards on the Hampshire Downs, and are practically recluses from regular wizarding society. Asides a few friends/contacts of Lily, Lily and Severus are looking much more in the direction of the world of magic which exists outside the neat little world of wand-using witches and wizards. Until, of course, Dumbledore starts to pester Lily to try and get her to send Harry to Hogwarts...


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login