51 Reviews Found

Review #1, by theblacksisters The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

9th December 2013:
The characters are hopelessly OOC, the plot is dumb, and Mary Sue is a one-dimensional character.
Feel free to take that as a complement, as I'm sure that's what you were aiming for. Completely ridiculous-keep writing! :)

Author's Response: Thankfully that is what I was going for. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Queenie Kapoor The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

19th September 2013:
... You're joking, right? RIGHT?! This... Thing is so, so bad! I
mean, if you were meaning it as a joke... Oh my god. You're
really not serious?

Author's Response: I realize it can hard to pick these things up on the internet, but do you really have to ask?

 Report Review

Review #3, by nutellugh The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

29th July 2013:
This story basically wraps up almost every Sirius/OC fics out there.

The parody is well written, and I liked the bit where you added the well known time travel cliche. Also Angst!Harry was a nice touch.

10/10

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! And sadly, I've seen most of these devices used un-ironically.

 Report Review

Review #4, by zipzin The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

12th July 2013:
This is the single greatest fic ever. I don't know how to exclaim how much I enjoyed reading this. It's just so so so awesome! 'Nuff said.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

2nd June 2013:
Oh my goodness, I loved this. I was laughing out loud the entire time. "Her heart was as pure as her blood status" "Emptier than Arsenal's trophy case" "Cedric Diggory's horrible vampire movies" LOL. I think you managed to include every possible cliche of this fandom into the story. I'm so glad I found this, it was hilarious! Great writing, and I'm totally favouriting this :)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by HeyMrsPotter The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

1st May 2013:
Words cannot describe how much I adore this story. Honestly! As I was reading through it, laughing hysterically I might add, I was thinking "must mention that line in my review, and that one, oh, and that one!" Then I realised I would be basically copying and pasting this entire work of art into the review box. Instead, I'll just say (in case you haven't already realised) I LOVE THIS!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! Glad you enjoyed it! As you can imagine, it was pretty fun to write.

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheHistoryGirl The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

20th April 2013:
Yes yes it appears that I am now stalking your work because your one shots are so amusing to me.

"And she felt emptier than Arsenal's trophy case." Best line of the whole story! I think that's the first time I've seen a football joke in a fan fiction and it was a football joke about a team that I dislike which is even better!

As usual your story had me in stitches. I think you covered just about every cliche that this fandom has to offer and I don't think there was a moment when I wasn't laughing.

I also really liked Harry's "... I don't know what to do! Teenage angst!" As ridiculous as you made him seem the exclamatives kept him surprisingly in character haha.

This was hilarious!

Author's Response: Thanks again, and no worries, I welcome stalkers!

As a Spurs fan, I had to take a dig at Arsenal there, and its always great to run into fellow football fans.

Harry circa Book 5 just seemed to have this uncontrollable angst, and it sometimes tends to get amplified even more in fanfiction. Glad you liked that part!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by MissMdsty The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

28th January 2013:
You are the king of parody! I swear, the things you came up with in this story just blew my mind! Whiter than an albino polar bear? Seriously? :D

I love reading about Mary Sues (it's a guilty pleasure, okay?) and yours was perfect! As in perfect in every way, skilled in time travel and also able to make Nintendos not blow up when surrounded by the magic of Hogwarts. I'd take her home, she seems like a good luck charm!

What I'm actually trying to say and I keep getting distracted (they were so popular an entire era had been renamed to reflect their awesomeness? Brilliant!) is that your story made my day, even though I wanted to read an epic story on war and thought about your Dumbledore story and that's why I came to your Author Page in the first place. Getting distracted is quickly turning into a pattern. I suppose I will get there eventually, after I'm done laughing myself silly at your other humor stories.

'Till next time!

Ral

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

Who doesn't love a good Mary Sue? I have to say that this was a very fun story to write, and I hope that as ridiculous as the protagonist is, somehow you just can't help but root for her.

Thanks again

-James


 Report Review

Review #9, by someone___1 The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

18th November 2012:
I love Mary Sue parodies! They're just too fricking funny! And this is probably one of the best I've ever seen. Bravo!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by pen and paper The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

1st September 2012:
"It's called a Nintendo, and it will change your life." Lol YES :D

It's pen and paper (Charlotte) from the review tag :) I love this one shot, it had me laughing the whole way through. Yay for parodies and Mary Sues!!!

10/10

Author's Response: Thanks a lot!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Athene Goodstrength The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

18th July 2012:
Okay, so I started writing this review by picking out the lines that made me laugh. Then that turned out to be almost every line. So, to save me from actually copying your entire story into this review box and writing ‘This part made me LOL’ next to it, I will just try and pick out the bits that I wanted to read out loud to everyone else in the room.

‘her heart was as pure as her blood status.’ - Okay, I was giggling quietly from the start of this, but this line just made me burst out laughing. Nice.

‘Mary Sue explained, “The sorting hat lets you choose, and I chose Gryffindor because I’m brave.”
“Wow, that was so brave of you,” said Lily admiringly.’ - BWAHAHAHA. That is all.

“Lily, you should really give James a chance. He really likes you and I think you’re destined to be together. In fact, I would go as far as to say that the future of the wizarding world depends on you two being together. I know this because I’m good at Divination.” - I just seriously LOVE this.

I can’t even pick out a favourite line from the Marauders walking into the common room because it’s all SO FREAKING GREAT.

This bit makes me wish I had your MAD COMEDY SKILLZ: ‘“Ladies, fill these forms out and start a queue. I will gladly snog each and every one of you, but don’t expect any commitment, because Sirius Black does not do relationships.”
“He’s such a sweet gentleman,” Mary Sue swooned in the background, not being noticed.’

I’m genuinely not using hyperbole when I tell you that this bit made me cry with laughter:
‘“I’m perfectly single and available though!” Peter Pettigrew spoke up eagerly.
“Shut up Peter, nobody cares!” said Sirius as he punched Peter in the face, just for the fun of it.’

And then this bit brought forth yet more tears of mirth:
‘“Peter go away, nobody likes you!” Lily snapped. She turned around and threw an erumpent horn which exploded in his face. (A little OOC for Lily, but come on, it’s Peter, everybody hates him. I mean seriously, why is he even in this story?)’

‘She knew his name was Harry because she was good at divination’ - yet more hilarity.

Your characterization of Harry is just totes amazeballs. From his emerald emerald eyes, to this line - ‘I don’t know what to do! Teenage angst!’ ... well, it’s just SO Harry!

‘“So if Voldemort is your father, and Umbridge is your mother, then that means…OH MERLIN NO!” Harry cringed in pain as his mind was assaulted by the worst mental image it had ever conjured. It was even worse than watching one of Cedric Diggory’s vampire movies.’ - If people ever actually rolled on the floor laughing, that’s what I’d be doing right now.

Yes! Beautiful ORBS! Any minute now, Voldemort will turn up dressed as Gerard Way.

‘ Meanwhile, Harry realized that his long friendship with Hermione easily lent itself to imagined sexual tension, and that it would be better for the sake of the story if he realized his love for Hermione in this moment.’ - I’m realising my love for YOU in this moment.

OMG, if only J.K. Rowling had thought of the Nintendo solution.

I added this story to my favourites before I’d even finished reading it. 10/10.

~For the House Cup 2012~

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

As you can imagin, this was a very fun story to write because I got to take everything that I usually think is terrible and put it all together.
I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks again for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jchrissy The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

18th July 2012:
Oh. My. Gosh.

This was so, so funny. One of our fellow Gryffindors (deeds) and you seem to share some similar humor traits. You would like her stories!

Anyway, this was actually very well written for a parody. I'm happy you didn't decide because it was humor not to take the writing aspect of it seriously.

Could have have fit any more cliches in? It was great. I laughed so hard! I love that you even had her going into the future to make sure you could get those cliches in also!

The part where Lily just decides to give James a chance out of nowhere was my favorite, probably because it's the most tired cliche in my opinion.

Anyway, this was great, so happy I picked it for review tag!

Jami

Author's Response: Hey!

So I've actually read a few of Deeds' stories, and she is hilariously awesome.

I pretty much tried to fit as many cliches as I could into on story, so I'm glad yout hought it worked! I've written a couple other stories just about Dramione cliches, because I think they deserve a story of their own.

Thanks a lot for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Kaya The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

12th July 2012:
Wow. I'm glad that was a parody.

Author's Response: So true, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Gray Raven The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

18th April 2012:
Haha... I laughed all through the story! Oh, this is just amazingly hilarious! Hats off to you :D

Author's Response: Thanks a lot, glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by xxJazminexx The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

13th April 2012:
'Mary Sue did not sneer at anybody, because unlike everybody else in the story, she was determined to remain completely in character.'

OH MY GOD! I'm so happy I went on tag. THIS WAS AMAZING! I couldnt stop laughing it was so funny some of the things you put in. Awww poor Peter was all I could think through most of it and Remus the tortured soul xD
Oh dear, this should be terrible because of the Mary Sue but because thats the whole point its awesome. I could read another chapter... or 10 of these because it was so funny.

I loved the 'oh how brave of you bit' when Lily asked why she was in Gryffindor xD Yes that was very brave, very very very. I loved it, the whole line up for a kiss, NO I WILL NOT COMMIT! and her divination skills. I cannot fault this story and I will not, because I love it and I shall favourite it and love it forever and show my childrens childrens this story in the very far away future because I love it so much.

10/10 :D

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!! I tried to incorporate as many of the cliches from the era as I could, and doesn't Peter always seem to get the raw end of the deal? Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Riverwind The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

23rd March 2012:
Fantastic, This story has all the elements of all the love stories I have come to expect from this site. It had the right gag reflexes in all the right places and I did not sneer at anybody.

Thank you, best laugh I have had in a while, I hope you write a sequel where Harry walks on water, that one has not been done in a while.

River

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, and i have to say that sounds like a brilliant idea for a sequel!

 Report Review

Review #17, by BKL8008 The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

20th March 2012:
I laughed all the way through this! I saw your name on a review for TenthWeasley's "Growing up Magical," and thought it interesting, so here we are. You have captured and satirized so many of the most annoying elements of fanfiction. And it's just masterful! I am still snickering. This is truly Mary Sue at her best. I didn't see where she was an Animagus unicorn or phoenix, though? Or did I miss it? All in all, masterful hilarity! Genius!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, glad to hear you enjoyed it!

And true, that would be one major Mary Sue thing I missed.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Siriusly3 The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

19th March 2012:
Now I feel I'm annoying you but I don't even care. Do you know how funny you are? You are SO funny. I lol'd and lol'd and lol'd. The funniest fan fix I've ever read because it's all totally ironic and hipster and totally col. LOL x a million.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot, and don't waoory, I love getting reviews!

 Report Review

Review #19, by watchoutfornargles The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

18th March 2012:
I don't know whether to write this off as literary genius or sheer stupidity. I'm going with genius :) This made me laugh so many times. My favorite line was: "It was even worse than watching one of Cedric Diggory’s vampire movies."

Author's Response: So I'm sure you realized that this story wasn't serious, because I would definetely shudder in horror if it was. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by atellam The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

18th March 2012:
Oh god. The indescribable emotion! The teenage angst! What am I going through?

I just cannot express how much I love this story. Oh, the woes of being a Mary-Sue.

Dear god, I loved this. Absolutely brilliant. I'm going to go stalk my way through your other stories now. There wasa Voldy parody - I mean story - that caught my eye. :P

You're an excellent writer. I can't even pick my favourite part because it was all so brilliant. Haha.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review and the compliments! As you saw, this wa a pretty serious tale of romance and angst.

 Report Review

Review #21, by ariellem The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

16th March 2012:
Considering I've joined your Mary-Sue challenge, I thought I'd read this. :)

By the way, my favorite part had to be the end where they're playing Mario Brothers. I've been on a video game kick for a while. Especially when she says shes the Princess. :)

Also when everyone was sneering, that was hysterical. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! And Mario Brothers has to be one of the most epic things ever. Can't wait to see what you come up with for a Mary Sue!

 Report Review

Review #22, by BeaJerry The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

13th March 2012:
ARSENAL TRA LA LA ARSENAL TRA LA LA.
Arsenal are amazing. I can't believe you made that amazingly realistic and really quite witty remark about our ridiculous recent luck.
And I was so happy that Mary Sue achieved her dreams in the end, because what would Mary Sue be without Sirius in her life? She might do something like jump off a cliff, and I can't blame her, because you know, love conquers all!1!
What would any woman do without a man in her life, anyway?

Author's Response: So I have to admit that I'm a Tottenham fan, so I couldn;t resist a dig at Arsenal :)

And poor Mary Sue, she needed a happy ending, otherwise she woulndt really live up to her name, and she realy needs Sirius because otherwise she would have to develop depth to her character or something, and we can't have that.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Elenia The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

5th March 2012:
(Tag!)

Oh lord, this was amazing! (x I just had to pick this one from the list because the summary was so great and I was in the mood for something funny. Clearly made the right choice since I kept chuckling from the very first sentence till the end. Just brilliant.

I didn't think I'd ever say this, but I loved your OC because she was so Mary Sue d: I mean everything about her was so perfect.

I really loved how you included so many cliches in this, especially the ones about Marauders. I always feel so bad for Peter, since nobody seems to like him /:

It's so funny and sad too to think that all these things you used actually happen in so many stories.

My favourite lines:
"They were so popular and awesome that the entire era had been renamed to reflect their awesomeness."
&
"Mary Sue did not sneer at anybody, because unlike everybody else in the story, she was determined to remain completely in character."
- You just cracked me up with these two. Perfection!

Amazing job!

~Elenia

Author's Response: So I think I got all the Mary Sue bases covered: beautiful and talented, in love with a canon character, misunderstand, and has a dark past haha.

And poor Peter usully won't appear in this type of story at all.

Thanks a lot for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Moonyxluna The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

19th February 2012:
haha... god this was fantastic. I'm literally laughing myself to tears right now. Every time they shouted "Go away Peter no one likes you!".. brilliant stuff (:
Draco's orbs are here too! And Harry's angst :D
This cheered me up so much, thank you for writing this. I loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reviewing! I think that pretty much sums up how Peter is treated in most fanfics. Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Sheriff The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

18th February 2012:
Brilliant. Tongue so far in cheek throughout it's a wonder you didn't swallow it. I think the only "bad fanfiction" classic you missed out on lampooning was writers' inability to spell canon names.

Now excuse me whilst I go bleach my eyeballs. I have to ask how that particular mental image got into your mind in the first place...

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

And yeah I probably should have thrown a few "Darco Mayfly's" in there

I was trying to poke fun at how these Mary Sue characters always seem to have this "mysterious past" and are secretlly related to major canon characters. That was the most ridiculous one I could think of, and I apologize for any lasting emotional damage.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>