Reading Reviews for 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by thepencilwarrior 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

8th December 2013:
Nice story, and awesome for your first humor fic, too... Fred and George fics can be great if done well, and this one certainly was! I won't lie, I was giggling to myself just about the whole time.

One thing I would say is to add a bit more detail/make it a bit longer, at times, it seemed a bit rushed.

Other than that, though, fantastic job! The ending was absolutely perfect, right down to the last line; I don't see cliffhangers like that all that often in humor! If you ever write more with Fred and George, I'd love to read it! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I do love this little one-shot so I am really glad you liked it. I did write it a bit rushed though, so I'm not surprised it comes off that way.

But thank you so much for the review. I love that you loved the ending, it was definitely one of my favorite parts of the story and, as much as some people wanted more, I thought it just had to end there and be over.

I hope that I do get the chance, and inspiration, to write the twins again along with Melina.

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

25th July 2013:
I don't see this going well at all! Especially with Fred and George involved.
I loved the reason for Lee's detention, poor Harry!

I have a feeling that they're going to get into a lot of trouble just kidnapping muggles like that.

I loved the poor muggles reactions, if I was kidnapped by them I would have thought that they were crazy as well!

This was hilarious! I loved reading this so much! :D

Author's Response: Haha, I love this story. Even when I re-read it, sometimes I'm just like, this is funny, who wrote this? Seriously. I really enjoyed writing Fred and George. And Lee's reason for detention, I still want to actually write that into it's own one-shot, but have yet to do so.

This story was just super fun to write. I tried to keep it as canon as I could without taking it too seriously. I just sort of wrote what came to mind and hoped others would find it funny because at the time, I didn't know if it was or not.

I am so glad you liked and thank you so much for the awesome review!

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #3, by soufflegirl99 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

2nd March 2013:
The title immediately grabbed my attention, and I am very glad it did, because this story is brilliant!
I can't believe it's your first go at humour - because it's really funny and quirky. The dialogue is sharp and witty - I love the way you portray Fred and George - just as Rowling did.

Not only is it such an awesome imaginative idea - it's written with a unique style - that's really gripping. The tension that's built up as McGonagall realizes is comical, and absolutely hilarious. The cliff hanger at the end with the speech is so effective, and leaves the reader laughing and wanting more.
The way Fred says "“They’re everywhere,”" certainly had me cracking up ;)
It's just the right, perfect length as well - that keeps the reader fascinated right from the top to the bottom of the page. The way you describe facial expressions, the admirable range of sentences and the dialogue makes this such a funny, awesome and gripping story! :D

Author's Response: Well, hello there, nice name by the way before I begin my gushing.

This was a lovely surprise to randomly check my page and see my review count just a little bit higher when I'm not expecting it. Thank you! I am so happy that you liked it. I mean, it's not like I don't include humor in my other stories but they are all more drama based, and this is the first one that was just meant to be fluffy and fun and random and I wasn't trying to be perfect, I was just writing along thinking "I hope people find this funny because I'm not sure if it is or not!"

I'm glad you like the portrayal of Fred and George, although even I have to admit, they were a bit naive throughout the whole thing... I do still love the scenes with the muggles though. A year later it cracks me up more than it did when I wrote it.

Anyway I'm so super ecstatic that you liked it and thanks again for taking the time to review! You're awesome!

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshp 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

17th January 2013:
Slytherin review tag!

Haha this was a funny little one-shot indeed! I gave an entry for the same challenge too (Charm Those Words) and it was fun writing it, but reading the other entries is more fun as well :D

I loved your concept, and how Melina made this all up to just have a little fun without thinking of the aftermath. The scenes were written well and with the humorous edge required. It was all kind of silly but made for a nice read. I chuckled a couple of times too xP

I would have liked to see the aftermath of the events though. It would have been nice to know what McGonagall did and such, and what "punishment" she gave to the twins and Melina. The ending really left me curious.

But anyway, this was a fun read, good work!

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I read you're entry, too, back then and loved it. I'm still not sure why I hadn't reviewed it then. But yeah, it is fun writing silly stories.

Haha, I'm glad you enjoyed the concept of how Melina made it all up and how it was just supposed to be silly and fun, other people always ask me questions "is it a real day?" or "is she trying to get the twins in trouble?" and "what was the point?" and no, I don't think she is, but I also didn't put that much thought into when writing cause it was just supposed to be fun and I wasn't going to worry about every single detail (except for the muggles, partway through I was like, "I have to treat the muggles with canon, and they won't be able to see the castle, how is this gonna work?" but it turned out alright in the end). I have to admit I was worried people wouldn't find it funny enough, and that they wouldn't get my sense of humor.

I know. A lot of people want to know what happened, but I just wanted to leave it on a funny note and a cliffhanger for pizzazz. I didn't want to ruin it by adding more and take away from the humor.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it.

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #5, by BluebirdBrigade 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

27th December 2012:
This was a hilarious story, I started to imagine afterwards what it would be like for me if Sao done just randomly ran up to me, grabbed me by the arm and told that I was now a hostage and to become part of the traditional 'Bring a muggle to school day'. I love the way Fred and George don't even really question it, just follow Melina and grab a muggle. But I have to say my favourite part was when they couldn't see the castle and there was a momentary panic in all of them and then they finally start questioning the validity of 'Bring a muggle to school day'. So is there such thing, I'm guessing not since mcgonagal goes skitz when they turn up, but why would Melina make it up? I would have liked to find out I'd she was tricked or something into believing that this was a real tradition or if she had just made it up as a prank that went wrong or something. But I do like Melina and her impulsive nature:P

Your writing, again, is flawless. I loved the little interactions between the muggles and the wizards and the comments that were made by the 'hostages'. I think you ends the story quite cleverly with the muggle managing to cause mayhem for the Wizards and not the other way round. Poor Minnie, she probably isn't best pleased with whats just occurred. I really like the way you tell a story, it's got a lovely organic process and this story was especially original. I really enjoyed it and I hope you write more humour because personally, I believe it's a strength of yours.

Lots of love,
Mazzayyy

X

Author's Response: Aww, you write awesome reviews. I can't even imagine what I'd do if someone actually grabbed me and apparated and told me all this stuff I didn't understand.

This was so much fun to write. Although in the beginning I really didn't think it was that funny nor did I know what sort of response I would get.

I love the bits with the muggles too, and not being able to see the castle. I had so much fun writing it, but I knew I had to take into consideration everything I knew about Hogwarts and the Wizarding World's protective charms so that I wouldn't get yelled out from some serious by-the-book devotee, but all in all I think it worked out really well. I was going to have them drag the muggles into the castle, but the thought of McGonagall finding them first was so much more tempting.

Just to be clear, I don't think there is actually a 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day considering all their wizard statute of secrecy and all. But did Melina just make it up? Did someone else tell her about it? I don't know. I too like Melina though, I'd like to write another one-shot of her. Actually I've started one, but it's not so much about pranking as this is.

Haha, the muggles do cause more mayhem for the wizards than the other way around. That is true. The trio is clearly in trouble at the end and the muggles will have to be obliviated and sent home.

And, again, I'm so happy you like my writing and thought the story was original. I had a lot of fun writing it. I didn't put as much planning into it as other stories, I just sort of let this one flow. I would like to write more humor, but everything always turns into angst for some reason.

Thanks so much for the amazing review!
xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #6, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

8th February 2012:
Oh, boy indeed! LOL. This truly made me laugh so much! It was just so... Rediculus how Fred and George went along with it, despite not fully believing her. Awesomely so.

I'd never trust her again, though, if I was the twin; they could be in so much trouble for what they did. But I wish Bring a Muggle to School day was real, imagine all the things that could happen. :P

Amazing one-shot. Brilliantly written.

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi! Yes I know it was ridiculous but I'm glad it made you laugh. Haha, and I don't think the twins will be so willing to follow along with whatever plan she comes up with next. I'm sure they were in a lot of trouble for what they did. But McGonagall secretly admires the twins, so I dunno. I wish it was real, too! Although I don't live in London so that would never happen for me.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it!

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #7, by Miss Muggle 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

22nd January 2012:
“We swish and flick our wands, say a few words we don’t understand, and magic happens.” Very nice.
This story is so funny. I can't believe Fred and George were so gullible, though. I'd love to see them actually drag the muggle's around Hogwarts. That would be hilarious!
I love this. Very creative.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it! They were kind of gullible, I know. Haha, I think it would have been funny too if they had been able to drag the muggles around Hogwarts as well, but that would have made the story so much longer. Thank you so much for review!

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #8, by academica 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

22nd January 2012:
Hey! Here from Slytherin Review Tag :)

This was super cute, and well executed. It was really funny to imagine the twins and Melina hunting down the Muggles like animals that they had to sneak up on. I also totally love that Fred and George had all these questions and still fell for Melina's trick. It's pretty impressive that the pranksters got pranked, and I can only imagine what kind of creative punishment McGonagall will come up with for all of them.

The story had great flow, and I didn't notice any errors. Overall, this was wonderful. Nice job! :)

Amanda

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you! Haha, yeah, I thought it was funny, too, how while instead of actually luring the muggles anywhere, they just attacked them and apparated away, cause originally I think my goal was to do the former, but anyway... Yeah, I never really thought of it as her playing a trick on them. I haven't really decided yet if she did it as a prank or if she's just a bit deluded. But if they were really pranked by her then that would be impressive. I have no idea what McGonagall must have done to them, haha. As much as I'm sure people would love to know, I figured the story must end before it stops being funny.

Thanks so much for the lovely review. And thanks for looking out for errors because I'm always ready to fix things if necessary, and a lot of errors in one-shots looks bad. And again, thanks!

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #9, by Moonyxluna 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

9th January 2012:
First, now I need to move to London, and walk around fifty years after this happened. Then I could go to Hogwarts! (even if I couldn't see it, w/e)

I love Melina's character. She's showing up the twins on pranks, that's pretty awesome! :)
I think you wrote Professor McGonagall very well too, I got a perfect picture of her shocked face when she realized what the three had actually done.

Oh! and I'm glad you included Lee Jordan. 98% of the Fred and George stories I read, Lee doesn't exist, even though in the HP books, he was right there with them. so bravo :)

Have you ever thought about continuing this? I'd love to read more.

Overall, very very funny! Fred and George are some of my favorite characters, so I always love a good story with them. Thanks for suggesting it! Exactly what I was looking for :)

Author's Response: Haha, too bad I made up the whole Bring a Muggle to School Day or else I suppose that really could happen.

I'm glad you like Melina's character and McGonagall's portrayal. I really enjoyed writing McGonagall's reaction, too. And yes, I did include Lee, even though he doesn't actually make an appearance his existence is made known.

I have thought about--well, actually, I've started it--writing another Melina fic with the twins, although I've been having some trouble with it. And it wouldn't really be connected to this, it would pretty much stand on it's own. Hopefully I will be able to figure it out eventually and post it in the future.

I'm so glad you liked it and that it was funny. I love Fred and George too, and they are so fun to write. Thanks so much for the lovely review!

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #10, by Millarz 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

6th January 2012:
Hehe! Silly Melina! This was a fun little story! I think the twins were a bit duller than usual, but this story IS just for fun :D I found it quite entertaining, especially when the twins mostly knew it was wrong but went through it anyways since Melina told them to. Nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, the twins are not as awesome as I'd want them to be, but I was sort of powering through while writing this. I am slowly working on something else though with Melina and the twins. I'm really glad you liked it though and that you found it entertaining. Thanks so much for the nice review!

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #11, by slytherinchica08 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

3rd January 2012:
this was a really funny piece! I had almost entered this challenge myself but since i didn't have the time i wasn't able to but i really liked what you did with this piece. I thought it was funny and like how all of the characters came into play with this one shot. Although I really dont see the twins being so dumb that they don't realize what's going on but if they really liked the person and were very close with them they might over look some things and just go along with what they say. so altogether i thought this was a well written and very funny piece! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, I did make a serious effort not to forget any of the characters. The only one you don't really see or hear from is Lee. Yes, the twins were a little dumb, and I don't really explain their relationship with Melina but they are good friends and they trust her and so they just kind of went with it. I really wasn't trying that hard while writing this, to be honest, I just wanted it to be short and simple and funny. But I'm really glad you liked it and thanks so much for the review!

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #12, by ginnypotter242 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

29th December 2011:
Haha, this was so funny! Just one bit...

""Is something wrong, Melina?" George asked as both twins quickly turned around to face me."

It's in first person there, but the rest is third. So.yeah, that's the only part. This was such a good fic! So funny!

Author's Response: Oh my. Thanks for pointing that. I will fix it right away. Think I must have started this out in first person at first and then decided on third. Thanks so much for the review though! I'm glad you liked it.

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #13, by Dramionie_Child[the effort to sign in is too great] 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

26th November 2011:
Haha!! I love this :D It made me laugh so much - very appriciated in the humour section of my brain :) and I think you're a very good writer, just for the record!
Might go and read your authors page now...just to see what else you've written :D x x
Childy
x x

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! I'm glad it made you laugh! I definitely loved writing this story, but I have to admit I was worried it wouldn't be funny enough because I've never done much humor.

I hope you do go check out my author's page. Everything on there is a bit different from the next, though. Like I said this was my first attempt at real humor. And thank you so much for the review!

xxEnigmaticEyes16


 Report Review

Review #14, by xxJazminexx 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

15th November 2011:
I read this a couple of days ago and was like Hehehehehe but I didnt review XD So here I am review ready... just had a quick skim through again to refresh my memory!

I really liked this story. You did great with the twins I think they seemed quite canon (Cant go wrong with a bit of Fred and George :D) I loved the ending so much. I was like

"Haha BUSTED!" then I was like "Oh no! Poor Gred and Feorge" :( And I really felt sorry for the muggles!
I wish you the best of luck in the challenge x

Author's Response: Haha, yes. I'm glad it made you laugh. It's good that you thought the twins were very canon, I wanted them to be canon, even though I couldn't really delve into their minds much. I really enjoyed writing them.

I like your reaction to the ending. The "busted" part was kind of what I was going for, I guess, with the way that I left it. And yes, poor Fred and George, what will happen to them? And what will happen to the muggles? Well, they'll be obliviated and sent home obviously. But the trio are probably in for some serious detention time, since you certainly can't expel Fred and George.

Thanks so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Sarah 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

14th November 2011:
LOL IlLOVE MELINA!
10/10 (< duh...)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks!

 Report Review

Review #16, by BoPeep 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

14th November 2011:
I'm not really a fan of one shots exactly for this reason. As soon as I finish reading them I wish there was another chapter.

This story is quite funny, I'm surprized that it's your first humor fic. And not only is it funny, but there's no inconsistencies like there usually are in Muggle/Wizard fics, which constantly bother me. I'm also glad for the correct use of grammar, but that can almost go unsaid (who likes fan fics that have bad grammar?).

Of course, I'm biased, since I adore the twins, but great one shot! (Again, I keep on catching my self trying to say that I can't wait for the next chapter...)

Anyway, great job, but my keyboard is acting up on me so I better stop before it completely stalls out...

Author's Response: Haha, I know what you mean. While it's nice writing one-shots because you don't have to spend near as much time on them, and the end is always in sight, it is sad to read them when you really wish there was more. I'm sorry there's not. I really wanted to do a series of one-shots of pranks and other funny happenings, but I really need to focus on other things. Maybe when I have nothing else to do, I'll try my hand at writing humor again. It was fun after all the angst I normally write, especially after my other one-shot which I completed just before starting this one. Oh, it was terrible. I was so depressed writing it. It turned out pretty awesome though, which was good.

Anyway, I'm getting very off-track here. I'm so glad you found it funny! I like writing funny, but it's usually sarcastic funny. This story... well, I don't really know what this story was. It was carefree humor. I really didn't try that hard. I wanted it to be sporadic and simple. I do know what you mean about muggles and inconsistencies, and I tried to keep that situation as tight as I could while making my characters a little clueless in the process.

Yes, I adore the twins, too. I've never really written them before. At least not in a very, very long time, so that was fun. I didn't get to delve much into their different characters though, in this story they were kind of a set, if you know what I mean, they were more like one person than two.

I'm sorry again that there's no next chapter. I'm so glad you liked it though and thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Beauxbatonsgirl 'Bring a Muggle to School' Day

13th November 2011:
:) it's a really good story and quite funny :D I like the character of Melina and I think the muggles are funny, i'd like to see some more of them. Keep up the good work
9/10
xoxx Beauxbatonsgirl

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you like Melina's character, I really didn't try too hard in fleshing her or the others out. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login