Reading Reviews for neither created nor destroyed.
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UnluckyStar57 i.

12th July 2014:
Wow, this is beautiful and poetic and sad.

I don't normally ship Dean and Luna, and this story didn't make me ship them so much as it made me think about what their relationship could have been like. I find it interesting and very fitting that they were not each other's "one and only." The horrors of war could definitely lead to them seeking comfort in the arms of several people.

But after seeing the beautiful scenes of them together, with him thinking about how much he'd like to draw her, to create something again, I sort of wish he'd asked her first. I love that you used his artistic ability in contrast to his extreme guilt about the man he killed, and also in contrast to the relationship that he inadvertently destroyed by not being the first one to ask Luna to marry him. And just when he was starting to draw again, too...

It was a beautiful thing to read. Thanks for sharing!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #2, by married to black i.

6th May 2012:
Wow, this is one of the best piece of writing I have ever read on here! Absolutely marvelous. 10/10. (:

 Report Review

Review #3, by DramioneGirl9 i.

27th December 2011:
Beautifully written. I could see Luna's character clearly without any insight into her mind during this time. Dean, is basically a whole new character. Which is good because I always pictured that everyone would be different but Luna after the war. I really enjoyed it. I love Dean/Luna.

 Report Review

Review #4, by confusedlover i.

28th November 2011:
very lovely.

oh my! this was beautiful! amazing job with this one-shot. it was so very short but it had all of the components--a tragic story, love, and a bittersweet ending. i absolutely loved this story. wonderful job. keep up the amazing writing!! (:

Author's Response: Thank you!! Hopefully I'll be posting more soon :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by rich_blonde marauder23 i.

25th November 2011:
Oh my god. So beautiful.

You should definitely write more, because you have a talent. The way you write flows really well and I got sucked into the story when I read it- it was enough even if it was short, descriptive enough so as to feel Dean's pain and written well enough to see the beauty of how he saw things- the artist.

A really beautiful short story. :) Your characterizations were really fabulous, and it all seemed so realistic- Luna saying yes to Rolf first just because he asked her first, Dean's Gryffindor bravery.

It was magnificent and heart achingly beautiful.

Definitely 10/10

xxx
Sofia.

Author's Response: What a kind review! I'm really glad you enjoyed the characterizations, because they're very important to me. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by redherring i.

22nd November 2011:
Wow. So, so beautiful. I wish I could write like this! I loved how you described his feelings about the war, his obsession with the man he killed, and especially the effect the war had on some of the other characters. Parvati was particularly affecting, I thought.

I really liked this line - But he is a Gryffindor, and Gryffindors see morality in black and white. / He killed a man. There is no grey. Just... wow.

Best one-shot I've read in ages. Loved it!

Author's Response: I have to say, that is one of the lines I'm most proud of, so I'm glad to see it had its intended effect :) I think that the effects of the war on these young people is so interesting, and we didn't get to see it at all in canon, which is why I wanted to write about it a little. Thank you for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Aasiya333 i.

22nd November 2011:
Loved it...that was very well written and just really great

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Woodrow Rynne i.

22nd November 2011:
This was more than beautiful. It was artistic and genius and brilliant and just so, so heart-wrenching and character-involved, that I don't quite know what to say.

I suppose you'll know how much I love it if I say, I seriously wish to write like you one-day. Seriously. :)

Author's Response: Wow, that is... honestly one of the nicest things anyone has ever said to me. I really can't impress upon you how much it means. Thank you so much for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by jadore_jaune i.

22nd November 2011:
Very, very well done. Your writing is haunting, but beautiful at the same time. I love the idea of taking the spotlight away from the trio and seeing someone else for a change- you've portrayed Dean and his characterization post-war in such a way that's incredibly believable. Some Gryffindor's probably wouldn't have a problem with killing someone because of their right and wrong attitude, but it's obvious that not all people are the same, and their idea of right and wrong would be clearly different. Excellent. great job once more :)

-jj

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It means a lot that you took the time to review, and I really appreciate your kind words :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by justonemorefic i.

22nd November 2011:
I knew you came from livejournal as soon as I saw the styling of the fic! 8D Oh man, have I missed reading in this style. Great imagery, subdued but effective. Death is so often glossed over in fic, and I've always been interested in the Post-Hogwarts era and how all those involved in the battle of Hogwarts (war vets!) turned out. What a way to get kicked into adulthood, eh?

His relationship with Luna and his struggles with the war are perhaps a little bit disconnected from each other, like two separate spheres of his life loosely joined together, but that's just a tiny personal nitpick. I love how you characterized them, especially this line: "But he is a Gryffindor, and Gryffindors see morality in black and white./He killed a man. There is no grey."

Very beautiful oneshot! :)

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much! I'm a huge fan of your fics, so I'm a little starstruck at the moment *___* I'm fascinated by the war and the post-war elements of this series. I'm drawn to the darkness in it and want to know how it affects everyone in this series.

Anyway. Thank you so much for the review! It means so much.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login