Reading Reviews for The New Skin
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adad The Meeting of the Waters

16th October 2012:
Just finished reading the whole story on Fanfiction as well as the sequel. I loved both stories and especially Dick. I have read a lot of Snape stories and of all of them I think that Dick in the only one to show REAL concern and grief when he thought his friend was dead. I found that it meant a lot to me that someone created a character that cared for Snape in a way that did not depend on what Snape could do for them but to be a true friend unconditionaly and offer him help without strings attached. Also, seeing Snape in such situations that were so outside his comfort zone and still stay in character was refreshing and stimulating to say the least. I can honestly stay that this is an OUTSTANDING story and can not recommend it enough. Well done.

 Report Review

Review #2, by adad The Meeting of the Waters

24th August 2012:
Love the pictures at the begining of each of the chapters...very original I thought. And the story is well written and very gripping right from the begining...I like the idea and the story. read all the way to the end and was sorry it ended. I look forward to another chapter.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ardeith The Meeting of the Waters

1st August 2012:
Snape is playing rather well with others here, isn't he? I thought something might be happening with Ulrike! Will be interested to see what happens next.

I love how Snape stays in his competitive/paranoid character throughout. I loved these:

"However, it wasn't the remarks in and of themselves, I decided, it was how the RAs were taking them. They simply hadn't been trained properly, and didn't understand how to take them. If I could train my snakes, I could train anyone."

and this:

"I knew it was all a joke. No one had a wand drawn, except for me. I felt almost elated, in one way. We had won, but my heart was still pounding and I was gripping my wand so tightly that my hand ached. I forced myself to put it away and shake out my fingers. Nothing is happening, you don't need it now."

And the whole bit with Park and the high five. :-)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ardeith Start Over

16th July 2012:
Oh, I don't know I think Dick is pretty good at being a benevolent tyrant, just look how he handled Snape here!

I found this chapter very amusing with Snape not playing well with others. :-)

This was a great line: "Having a little chat with Grossman about my shortcomings in lab was about as far down on my list of things I would enjoy on my half-day as I could get, just marginally above a picnic lunch with Sirius Black or a nice heart-to-heart with the Dark Lord."

Though I don't think I'd want to work for Snape! I'm looking forward to their trip on the river. :-)

Author's Response: Ha, yes, Dick is quite good at 'managing' Snape, even though Snape doesn't exactly like that he has to be managed. I wonder how thoroughly he coached Grossman before they all had their little chat.

In some ways, I wrote this chapter to get rid of all my personal excuses for Snape's bad behavior. I do love Snape's character, and it's just too easy for me to come up with mitigating excuses for how he acts as a teacher: he's just strict, trying to get uncooperative kids to do the work, he has to be mean because potions are dangerous, he's under too much stress to be calm and reasonable, it's all through Harry's biased view, etc. I wanted to put him in a situation where these excuses don't apply. He's got a skilled and dedicated crew of grad students who actually love potions working for him. His boss is no longer exploiting and manipulating him. The war is over, he has no more role to play, and yes, he still treats the RAs unreasonably. I felt like he couldn't get anywhere as a character until I took away some of his excuses and forced him to come up against his bad behavior and its possible consequences if he kept going down this same path. Now let's see if he can actually break his mold!

Thank you so much for your review! I always look forward to hearing from you!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #5, by Ardeith Another World

25th June 2012:
Are you proud of me that I guessed correctly at the translation of "puta merda"? Maybe I can be exposed to a tiny amount of Portuguese without too much risk. ;-) Oops..no more inappropriate joking in the review box!

Great chapter -- Snape's assessment of and interaction with the research assistants made me smile -- so in character! Your Snape is such a perfect extension of canon Snape.

Seems like Ulrike is trying to make a friend, wonder if he will let her? And I'm wondering if we should mistrust Benji or is that Snape's paranoia rubbing off?

Author's Response: You should be proud! It is a very useful talent to be able to swear in other languages. When I visit friends in other countries, that's one of the first things they teach me.

There's lots more interaction with the RAs coming up in the next few chapters, and you may get more of an assessment of Benji's character then. Various characters may indeed be reaching out to Snape, but I'm not sure if 'plays well with others' could have ever applied to him. Let's see how he does!

Sorry about the delay in answering; I've been out of town forever, but now that I'm back I should have the next chapter up soon.

Thanks so much for your review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ardeith In Order

18th June 2012:
First, thanks for protecting your readers from the Portuguese! ;-) I hate it when writers include languages that I don't speak and don't include the translation and I definitely don't speak Portuguese!

One thing I like about this story is that I don't really know where it is going? Is Snape safe and this will settle into an account of his inventions? Or will the terrible something that ate Bella track him down and he will have to flee again? Will the "evil, hungry fish" come in handy later on?

What was the letter from Snape's mom that Dumbledore had? Should I know that or will we find out more later?

And since this is a review of questions...How do you pronounce Funke's last name? Is it "Funk" or "Funkee" or something else? I like to have things right in my head while I read. :-)

Love Snape getting all paranoid over Grossman's song!

Author's Response: And my Portuguese would have been ridiculously terrible, too.

Well, of course I won't tell you where it's going, but I'm glad you are intrigued. Yes, the fish will have a role to play, but that's all I'm saying!

I'm also going to be a bit vague about the note. There will be a few more hints later on, but it won't be entirely spelled out. It's part of the limitation of the first-person viewpoint in this story. I don't know if you've noticed, but here and in The Clear Cut, Snape really doesn't like to think about the traumatic things that have happened to him. If a memory or reference comes up, he avoids it as much as possible. The note was pretty traumatic for him, even though he didn't read it, so he doesn't want to think about it. There are just a couple of clues, though, here and in chapter 15, and there will be a few more in upcoming chapters. Hopefully that's not too frustratingly vague!

Professor Funke is German, so that final 'e' does get pronounced. It's roughly 'Foon-kay'. Her first name Ulrike is 'Ool-ree-kay.'

Yes, for some reason Snape just can't seem to relax and trust people, silly guy.

Thank you so much for your review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ardeith A Good Cause

25th May 2012:
That was the best chapter!!! Sorry it's taken me a while to read and review.

Love the young Snape ... so perfect with his fear of receiving handouts. I like your portrayal of the Dark Lord. I love that you stopped to think about why and how this movement appealed to half bloods. You're absolutely right that there would have to be a Lord side, who would join a movement run solely by the Beast side. I imagine the Dark Lord knew just how to talk to each of his followers. He certainly played the young Snape here...appealing to his intellect and sense of unfairness.

As for the prophecy and Dumbledore, we know good old Albus is definitely not above managing events. I'm not sure exactly why here, but that could be because I am not so clever. To make the Dark Lord paranoid?? To set up his demise??

Love your look at Felix Felicis. That's one of my favorite potions from canon (yes I have a favorite potion!) and I often think of it and wish I had some :-). My idea of how it works accords with yours. For example, I had an audition last weekend and at the end she asked "do you want to read for any other role?" If I'd had Felix Felicis, I would have had the right response to that question, instead of just mumbling "whatever you think I'd be right for" . (In the off chance that you're curious, I got into the play but only for the chorus, though they don't take everyone. But should I have said I'd read for Gloria??)

Thanks!

Ardeith

Author's Response: Thank you!

To me, personally, the more charming and persuasive Voldemort is, the scarier he is. By the time we see him in canon, he's already lost it, whatever it was that made his movement attractive to followers. He's all beast.

I based his propaganda in part on my very amateur studies of genocidal movements and how they gain support. One very common factor is a real or imagined state of victimization and fear among supporters. Wizards in canon do have real reasons to feel victimized by the Ministry, which has a terrible judicial system and denies the very basic right of freedom of speech. I wouldn't want to be a subject of the ministry! I tried to mix in some imagined victimization at the hands of muggles as well (though that victimization is based on the historically real victimization at the time of the witch hunts in canon). I do want to leave it up to the reader how much of his propaganda Voldemort buys himself and how much he just uses as a tool to attract followers.

With Albus and the prophecy, I was inspired by a long speech (I think in HBP? I can look it up if you're interested, just message me) from Albus to Harry about the prophecy and how Voldemort is the agent of his own downfall by following the prophecy and choosing and marking Harry. It struck me in that speech how important it was to Albus' plans that Voldemort should follow the prophecy and choose and mark someone.

Felix is so interesting! It's the only potion we see that apparently has an effect not on the drinker but on events around them. I hypothesized that it just alters the drinker's timing, perspective, relaxation and confidence. After all, good luck is very subjective.

Congratulations on your part, and thanks for the lovely review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ardeith Introductions

14th May 2012:
Ola! Hope you had good travels! Glad to see you back.

I love how even in "safety", Snape retains his paranoia! How his main thought upon being given a window office is that he'll have a second exit! You write him so well, always in character. :-) I liked how quick Snape was to decide the alchemist was his enemy (even before I read your end note).

There were a lot of characters, here. I hope I don't have to keep them straight, though you did an excellent job of walking Snape and the reader through his new environment and colleagues.

And I laughed at the idea that Snape thought Boston had bad heat. I've been to Boston (I have relatives there ) and it's definitely not hot! :-)

This is a new beginning for our Snape and I can't wait to see where you are taking the story from here.

Author's Response: Thank you, it's good to be back! I should be able to get the chapters submitted more quickly now.

Yes, it's not really in Snape's nature to accept that he is 'safe.' It is, however, in his nature to take an instant dislike to certain people, based on, oh, their parents... or their job... or something like that.

Snape will only have regular interactions with a few of these folks, so you don't have to worry too much about keeping track of them.

In comparison to where he was, Boston can get steamy in the summer, but in Brazil he's way out of his depth!

This is a new beginning for Snape, but the question is, can he really leave the past behind in a fresh start?

Thank you for your wonderful review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ardeith Transported

10th April 2012:
Awww ... Snape finally has someone looking after him (I hope)! I like the way you portrayed his state of mind here ... he still can't completely trust, but after all he's been through, it's nice not to have to make all the decisions for a change. I like the way Dick gets it, but doesn't quite understand Snape's level of paranoia after all he's been through.

Can't wait to see what happens next.

Ardeith

Author's Response: Goodness, I've been very lax about answering your review or posting the next chapter. I was traveling most of last month and I haven't had a chance to answer you, so sorry!

Dick is, in a way, the mentor figure that Snape has always needed but never had, someone who truly isn't interested in using Snape for his own purposes. Having someone like that around, though, is not an instant cure for Snape's very deep-rooted and usually justified paranoia. We'll be seeing a lot of Dick from now on. Well, after my very long delay, I should have my next chapter up in a few days.

Thank you so much for your review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #10, by thehpyears Sanctuary

7th April 2012:
I invite you to read "The Potter Years" and share it.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'll check it out!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ardeith Meeting

26th March 2012:
This was a great chapter in a different way. I loved the glimpse of Snape in happier times. If Snape can be said to have happier times. :-) Even in safer times, he's trying to outmaneuver his "opponents" in terms of Minerva and Pomona and using his spells without a glimpse of conscience (altering Dick's letter to get him a lecture fee). A very Slytherin trait...

Intrigued by the first look at Dick. Hope that here is finally someone that Snape can kind of, sort of trust. Love the way Snape expects everyone to be as paranoid as he is ("wasn't he wary at all").

When your chapter...what?...blurb? mentioned the badger sinking its teeth into something, I thought it was going to be another creature after Snape. Maybe the paranoia is rubbing off! :-)

Ardeith

Author's Response: One of my conceptions of Slytherins is that they are game players; they are almost addicted to games. This chapter is my attempt to bring out the good side of playing games with your friends. Games are fun, right? Even if you are messing with people's heads, just a little bit. When Snape isn't in a situation where he is playing for his life, then he can simply play for entertainment, and the game can come out win-win for himself and his friends. This is in contrast, of course, to the Slytherin games that ended up lose-lose for everyone.

There will be a lot more Dick in the next few chapters and some background on how Snape began corresponding with him.

Well, I should hope that the paranoia is rubbing off. Snape would say you're only being sensible.

Thank you for your excellent review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ardeith Wrecker

20th March 2012:
What a great start to the chapter with the skin coming through the letter flap! Gave me chills! :-) Another Dark Magic brainstorm from you I guess... I'm thinking skins are like Inferi (sp?) made from poor dead people. So, this spell sounds not just Dark, but rather evil (and I love your distinction between them! The distinction only Slytherins quite understand.) If I held any hope that the tracker might wish Snape well, I'm guessing that's not the case now. And it still could have been from one of his enemies, right? Because the skin gets around his alert things...

Love this story!

Ardeith

Author's Response: Thank you!

I'll be going into more details about how the skin works and they are made as the story progresses. I was once again, as I am so many times, inspired by the 'Sendings' of Icelandic folklore, a magical construct or undead creature that a wizard sends against his enemies.

Yes, at the moment, Snape's clever alert beads don't help him at all, since whoever sent the skin is letting it do the dirty work.

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ardeith Traces

7th March 2012:
Once again, Snape is right to be paranoid! Can't wait to find out what/who? is tracking him.

Love the author's note, made me feel much better about Bella! Especially as her name is only two "l's" away from my cat. :-)

Anyway...as always like the glimpse into Slytherin House. I actually felt for the poor little things "trying not to show anything" when their housemate died. Made me think that it can't have been easy to be in Slytherin.

Can't believe how absorbing your story is when there is hardly any dialogue. This made me realize how alone Snape really is now.

Agree with you that it is odd to have just one wand. I mean I have two pairs of glasses and really only wear contact lenses in public. A wizard would at least have one old wand that they would only use in the house on lazy weekend mornings. :-)

And wow! You've really thought about Dark Magic and evolved it from canon. I'm sure JKR meant Dark = Evil. Not to knock her (ever!), that distinction wouldn't fit in the books. I have to admit the laws were a little over my head (along with all that sort of science! though don't hold back on your theory). But it's the patronus spell that is clearly good but would fit under "Dark" by your definition, right?

Next question...in your world, how precisely do you need to envision your apparition point? Will Snape be able to get back to all those similar woods-y areas he saw just once in this chapter? I mean, I know I could apparate to my bedroom right now, I can feel my bedspread under my fingers, know the exact angle of my legs when sitting on my bed... but in my rules of apparition, I'm not sure I could apparate to the field house in another city where I went for a track meet last weekend. I can picture it, but not as precisely. I can't remember what the bleacher seats were like etc. Maybe Snape is better than I am :-) or maybe you define it differently, e.g. you just have to have been there and have an idea of it in your mind. Would be interested to hear... (If this gets too much for the review box, I will PM you:-)).

Anyway, thanks for another great chapter!

Ardeith

Author's Response: Thank you!

It's very strange; I'm much more bothered by the death of an animal in a book or movie than I am about the death of a human. I don't know why, but I think it has something to to with the helplessness of the animal.

Yes, Snape is very alone at the moment, but there will be more human contact and dialogue eventually.

I suspect I might spend a little too much time thinking about Dark Magic! Anyway, my theories were influenced by the wonderful essays of Terri Testing, who proposed that there is a technical definition of 'dark' but that the general wizarding population simply uses the term as a shorthand for 'bad.' This might explain a 'culture-clash' between Slytherin and the other houses, where the more old-fashioned Slytherin house is using the technical definition and is very interested in Dark magic, which is powerful and dangerous and fascinating, but everyone else is using the popular definition and thinks they're all just evil.

(Yes, by MY definition, the Patronus spell is Dark! Unlike a light spell, it requires a memory that is specific to the caster and is very dependent on the caster's mood and thoughts. I like the thought that it takes a Dark spell to get rid of Dementors.)

I haven't given apparition as much thought, but I have put together a few basic guidelines.

You can only apparate to somewhere you have been or somewhere you can see (such as the students learning to apparate can travel to a spot they see on the ground a few feet away.).

For someplace you've been, yes, you have to be able to picture it to some degree. I'm a little vague about how well you need to be able to picture it. Then again, Snape does appear to have plenty of mental and memory training; I suspect he's very good at memorizing things quickly.

In my other story, The Clear Cut,Snape is trying to find a good apparition point in the woods at night, so he has to walk to find a landmark (in his case, a stream) that he can see well enough to 'fix' the place in his mind. In that story, I also have the feature of a hospital having an emergency public apparition point that you can find in a phone book, so you can apparate to the hospital without having been there. I don't go into detail in the story, but I imagine it would be possible with a large-scale color, 3D wizard photo to give a close enough picture of the spot to apparate there.

For the purposes of my story, I've also added that over long distances, apparition becomes very physically difficult, and over extremely long distances, impossible. Similarly, many short apparitions in a row will make you ill. Otherwise, apparition is just too powerful, if, for example, Snape could nip back to England from Boston any time he pleased. Also, in canon, didn't Ron go with his family to Egypt once? While they were desperately on the run, camping in the wilderness, he could have apparated them all to Egypt, right? It makes more sense if there's a distance limit on apparition.

Thanks so much for your very thought-provoking reviews! Yes, feel free to PM me if you want more details on my crazy magic theories.

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ardeith Damage

27th February 2012:
Great chapter! More of your awesome inventiveness! I loved the hairs in the book and the proximity amulets. I never thought Snape had another motive for the book other than setting up his potions business. I wonder do most wizards know these spells or are these special dark spy spells? I can't imagine most are hiding their extra wands inside their arms!

Thanks for the back story which you introduced naturally as Snape mused over his proximity amulets. Perhaps AU, but believable... Surely some Death Eaters had to wonder about the very slow unfolding of the Dark Lord's plans. :-)

Oh, and thanks for the tidbits on the hunt. I would love to see your full take on life in Slytherin House.

Author's Response: I was actually amazed in canon that most wizards only seemed to have one wand. That doesn't make much sense to me. After all, to a wizard, a wand is your flashlight, water bottle, car and house keys, and first aid kit all rolled into one. I personally have at least three of all of the above items. If I were a wizard, I'd have one wand in my pocket, another in my backpack, another on my nightstand, and one in a safe-deposit box.

As for Dark Magic spy spells, yes, that's exactly what Snape is using here. For the purpose of writing this story, I decided to come up with my own definition of Dark magic to fit what little we see in canon, as well as traditional magic systems. I'll go into a little more detail later in the story, but for now here's my made-up definition.

WARNING: TECHNICAL MAGIC DISCUSSION FOLLOWS: EXTREME BOREDOM POSSIBLE

Dark Magic is not a subjective value judgment. Dark Magic is a technical designation for any magic spell or process that meets two or more of Frazier's three principles. The first: the part may affect the whole, and the whole the part. (With the corollary: a symbol may stand for an object, and an object for a symbol.) The second principle: all energy must have a source, and finally the third principle: the caster may affect the spell, as well as the spell the caster.

All potions abide by the second principle, since the material ingredients and heat applied to the potion are the source of energy. Some potions, such as Polyjuice, which abide by the first principle as well (the hair is the part which stands for the whole) are classified as Dark.

Spells which require a certain intent, mood, or determination on the part of the caster (such as the three Unforgivables) abide by the third principle. The three Unforgivables also abide by the second principle, in that their energy comes from the body of their target, so they are also Dark spells.

This is all in contrast to the many light spells that we see in canon, such as lumos, which seemingly could be cast in your sleep as long as you got the words and wand movement right. Light spells don't take any special intent or use up energy. No one seems to get tired from casting light spells.

On the other hand, Dark spells are much harder to block or counteract, since they have their own energy and intent behind them. A simple finite won't cut it. They are also more flexible, since the mood or intent of the caster can change the outcome of the spell.

And of course, all this means that there is nothing inherently evil about Dark Magic. In fact, certain Dark spells can be powerful forces for good. Perhaps you can think of such a spell in canon, which takes its energy from the caster, depends on the mood and intent of the caster, and makes use of a symbol. Hint: it's one of Harry's favorites.

Anyway, all this is just my own made-up definition. I love this kind of stuff, so if you have your own definitions, I'd love to hear them! Feel free to PM me.

I'm actually thinking of writing another story set amongst the kids of Slytherin and featuring the Hunt and all of their little traditions. I've got at least one other story ahead of that one though, so it will be awhile.

Thank you for your review, and sorry for this super-epically long-winded response!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ardeith The Wager

20th February 2012:
I love the depth and breadth you bring to your wizarding world!

So Dumbledore had made promises to Lucius, huh? Promises that didn't involve 15 years in Azkaban... Hmmm... maybe Snape is right to be paranoid (not that he could be anything else.)

Author's Response: Thank you! I think that's a big part of why I write fanfic, imagining the wider wizarding world is so much fun!

There will be a little more on this point in the next chapter. Of course, it will do nothing but fuel Snape's deep and often justified paranoia.

Thank you for your reviews!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ardeith Pardon

20th February 2012:
This was the best chapter! I love your subtle (Snape-like) humor, e.g. naming the cat Bella because she likes to torture. :-) I loved your ingenuity in placing the wizarding world entrance through the diorama. (I love dioramas, because they are little worlds! Maybe that's why I like fiction, too...)

Can't wait to see what happens next...

I was also confused by Snape's musings on Lucius. I thought he would have thought the sentence was too short. Not a criticism really...maybe you've explained it and it's been weeks since I read that bit.

Author's Response: Well, cats are a lot like death eaters: vicious, cruel, disorganized, easily distracted, and very cute.

As you can probably tell, I am also a big sucker for dioramas. I love what you said about them being a little world: exactly! Well, the dioramas I used in this story are real, and if you do a google image search for 'Stimson diorama' you can find some nice photos of them. The tragedy is that the Boston Public Library also used to have two amazing dioramas of children's book scenes: one from Alice in Wonderland, and I think the other was from Dickens, but they've been under repair and off display for years.

That's what is so tricky about posting a story serially: plot points and information that seem perfectly clear to me, who has the finished piece in hand, can seem much more obscure for the reader who has to wait a week between installments. I'll say that parts of the Lucius backstory are cleared up in the next two chapters, but I think I should make Snape's emotions a little clearer here as well, based on your reaction.

Thank you for your helpful review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #17, by BoOkWoRm24 Sanctuary

17th February 2012:
Alright so I'm enjoying your story so far (I've only read the first two chapters. Snape's characterization seems to be pretty accurate. This is pretty impressive because personally I think that he is the hardest character to write for cause he has such a distinct personality. The little origional magical inventions are great. They make your story seem much more realistic to the Harry Potter world. Just one question. Where did DWFKAHWMNBN come from? Is it just a bunch of letters? Does it mean something? It seemed kind of random and I was wondering. Anywho good job so far, I'm interested in seeing were this is going. I'll try and read the rest of it ASAP as I am currently being dragged away from my computer. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I personally feel that characterization in general is one of the hardest things to get right, and one of the most important things in writing, so this is very high praise indeed!

The DWFKAHWMNBN is the 'Dark Wizard Formerly Known As He Who Must Not Be Named," as they call him in the article. I was trying to poke a little fun at the Wizarding World's tendency towards ridiculous acronyms and roundabout allusions. Sorry if that wasn't very clear!

I hope you continue to enjoy the story, and thank you very much for your review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #18, by Hippothestrowl Pardon

14th February 2012:
Good reading. Believable that it would not be easy to find a wizard's quarter - especially when you don't want to ask anyone. I was distracted by real life disturbances though so broke my immersion. Damn. I ploughed on and finished in a mood as black as Snape's.

The expression 'fat chance' struck me as funny. I recently uploaded a short story on another site then too late realized I'd used that expression about three times - probably from two different people. No matter.

I've lost track of Snape's relationship to Lucius. Was he annoyed the 15 years in Azkaban was too long or too short? I suspect long. I ought to look back. Maybe he did a deal and Malfoy was relying on Snape's testimony? I've read so many fics I get them mixed up.

Will await the next chapter. When I say wait I don't mean I'm actually going to stay here and wait. I'm going to do some other stuff.

Author's Response: Thank you! Too bad you were being bothered. I hate it when things interrupt me while I'm reading.

It's ridiculously easy to repeat yourself while writing! Even after proofreading several times, I always run into repetitions I have to clean up. For me, it's often the word really. I really like use the word really and I really use it a lot.

I'm with you, It's hard to remember the context and characters after reading several different fics in a row. In short, Snape is upset at how long Lucius' sentence is. I didn't go into the reasons in this chapter, but I will be giving some more information on that later.

Thank you very much for your review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ardeith What Purpose?

30th January 2012:
I like your inventiveness with spells beyond canon spells. It's something most fan fiction writers don't really do.

Is Snape just being paranoid about Aberforth and the pardon? In canon the pardon would be real...

Author's Response: Thank you!

I love adapting folklore to make up new spells. I've always felt that what we get to see directly in Hogwarts must be just a tiny slice of all the magic that's out there.

Is Snape paranoid? Yes. Absolutely, categorically, completely and without exception, yes.

Is he wrong about Aberforth and the pardon? Well, now that's another question entirely, though you may see something in two chapters that will give you a hint.

Thank you for your review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #20, by Hippothestrowl What Purpose?

27th January 2012:
OK, I'm kinda into this now. It's good. Well written. But happening in a void and without interaction with others and dialogue it's a desolate, lonely void without a direction. Yes, that's where Snape is right now but is it good fiction? Don't know. The last chapter (5) name sums it up. I'm trying not to ask is this going somewhere. Then I see it's a prequel so presumably that's where it's going.

The fact is I've now read five chapters so it's interesting enough but I'm hoping for more. I do like survival fiction and I do like it when the hero has a brain and does reasonable things so that's what's keeping me going so far but I think I really need a target. Somehow I don't think a chapter on Snape working sweeping up in bar is going to be enough no matter how well written. We'll see.

Author's Response: Hello,

Fair enough. One person's slow build of suspense is another person's dead boredom, so the pace of this story might not be for you. There is a mystery plot... but it will be introduced slowly, and there will be more of Snape's day-to-day survival as it develops. Hopefully there will be enough to hook you, but if not, I understand. You can't say I didn't warn you though, my note at the end of chapter one said right out that this will be slow moving. ;)

That said... if you like the overall idea of a survival story with a mystery thrown in, allow me to toot my own horn and recommend the sequel to this story, The Clear Cut. It is completely posted, and it stands alone, so it doesn't matter if you jump to that now, and the plot is much faster moving. It's also fully illustrated, so you can just check out the pretty pictures if you want.

Thank you again for your reviews, and for giving my story a chance, even if it's not exactly to your taste. I really appreciate it.

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #21, by nitra_black The Reverse

26th January 2012:
i like your banner and chapter images, its really refreshing to see some original artistry, haven't read the story yet but when i do i'll let you know what i think :)

~Kim

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm an artist first and a writer second, so I'm very pleased that you like the images!

(Just fyi... my other story, The Clear Cut, is also illustrated if you want to see any more images.)

Thank you for your review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #22, by Hippothestrowl The Reverse

26th January 2012:
Hooray - good, original artwork instead of the poorly laid out, copy and paste teen romance stuff all out of the same mould. This is the only reason I'm reading this - to look at the chapter art.

Hang on, story's not bad so far and well-written - though I don't usually like 1st person Potter fics. Oh well, guess I'll bookmark it and carry on to chapter 2 later. It's only so I can see the art you understand? I'm not going to enjoy the story. I know I'm not. Probably. But I'll just read one more chapter anyway... ;)

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm an artist first and a writer second... who's just been messing around with stories for the past couple of years to see if I could write at all.
I actually started posting my stories on another site first, and only started posting here as well because ffnet doesn't allow images.

It's been great fun to try to come up with the perfect images to encapsulate a chapter without giving too much away. I'm glad you're enjoying the pictures.

I hope that you continue to not enjoy the story as you look at the pictures! ;)

Thank you for giving it a chance, and for your review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #23, by Ardeith Day Tripper

12th January 2012:
Continuing to enjoy your story! Poor haunted Snape, based on your other story, not sure he will ever relax and be happy. That wouldn't be in character anyway!

I liked the accent stuff, though it wasn't tell I learned that it was in "dewadda" that I knew what a "shock" was. :-) Of course Snape would be snarky about accents.

Author's Response: Hi!

After what he's been through, it's going to be a long time before he lets his guard down.

Yep, it's the Americans who have the funny accents. Snape speaks PROPER English with no accent at all. So there.

Thank you for your review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review

Review #24, by academica Day Tripper

11th January 2012:
Hey again!

Interesting choice for the chapter image! It's very eerie, thinking of the historical context of that and combining it with the fact that the Slytherin mascot is a serpent. Then to see you point out that the seven pieces could identify with Horcruxes... super creepy. Nice choice, indeed.

I really liked the beginning of this, with the contrast between Voldemort knowing Snape's secret and the realization that he's not there anymore to do anything about it. Poor Severus really can't get any rest, can he?

That little nightmare back in the Great Hall was really creepy. It kind of reminds me of how Snape must have felt in the Headmaster phase of his double-agent role, having to carefully treat the students like dirt while simultaneously wanting to protect them, especially Harry and his friends. The second "nightmare" was also quite chilling, and I fear that Snape will not find any rest or comfort anytime soon.

Personally, I found your accent mockery entertaining, and quite in character for Snape. This, of course, is coming from a girl who has been known to let the occasional "y'all" from childhood slip out when home to visit with her "own kind".

Great chapter! Looking forward to the next one.

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi!

I've always thought that the distinction between 'heroic freedom fighters' and 'traitorous revolutionaries' is pretty fine and depends mostly on which side of the battle line you're standing on. Snape naturally sees 'JOIN, or DIE' very differently than an American would.

I do have fun messing with Snape's dreams. No rest for the wicked, Snape, no rest for the wicked.

Yep, I just couldn't resist poking fun at my Boston friends a bit!

Thank you so much for the review!

Susan


 Report Review

Review #25, by academica News

23rd December 2011:
Whoa, this was an amazing chapter! Look, Snape has a heart! I really, really liked being able to see his reactions to the events of the final battle, since we obviously don't get any of that from canon. His efforts to help out the resistance are made so plain here, and his frustration is both tangible and understandable. But Lily... was it true? Was it not true? I read that section several times to try to comprehend it, and it seems like he did know her but maybe didn't have as strong of feelings for her as he let on to Harry... is that right?

This was easily my favorite chapter of anything you've written. It'll be tough to top it, but I look forward to seeing what you've got next for us. Enjoy your time out of town! :)

academica

Author's Response: Hi!

Yes, from Snape's point of view the battle would have been a disaster, for most of the deaths were completely unnecessary. He's just the kind to beat himself up over all the 'if onlys.'

I'll be going into the Lily situation a bit more in future chapters (it will be a while, though). Not to say anything about his feelings for her at the moment, he did imply with his choice of memories that she was the one and only reason that he turned and worked against Voldemort. That is the sort of simple, black and white reasoning that could bring Harry around quickly to his side without long explanations and persuasions. I'll be getting in to this more, later, but my own explanation for his turn will have a bit more to it.

Thank you so much for your glowing review!

Mottsnave


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>