Reading Reviews for Minutes Of A War
  
74 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ficlit Dwindling Hope?

28th October 2014:
Is there no hope? Is this year of darkness destined to go on forever?

All drama aside, I'm just checking in to see if this story is abandoned. Please let us know if you're not planning to make anymore updates. Then I will know to simply list this awesome tale with the other unfinished gems of the fandom.

Otherwise, I will continue to shield my little flame of hope and sporadically check in here for a new chapter. It's a good story and I'm willing to wait to see how it ends.

Also, whatever the prognosis for the fic is, please let us know if you're still in the land of the living.

Your faithful reader,
ficlit

 Report Review

Review #2, by GinnyWeasley_13 Calm Before the Storm

1st January 2014:
Have really enjoyed this story, and I urge you to write some more! I think its a wonderful concept and I have enjoyed the swapping of people's points of view ans tie ins with the deathly hallows, particularly the bit about potterwatch, and the relationship between remus and Tonks. Seeing Ginny's point of view was wonderful, as was Dudley's.

 Report Review

Review #3, by santosh Calm Before the Storm

8th November 2013:
Please write some more I love this story!!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Curious Calm Before the Storm

12th May 2013:
Is this story abandoned?

 Report Review

Review #5, by zipzin Year Gone By

9th April 2013:
Well, I know that the story is hard to keep up with and I hate to point out your faults, but here's what I think you might have gotten a little off in canon.
1. Ron fell into Snatchers which caused the Weasley family to go into hiding.
2. Luna was taken during Easer I'm pretty sure
These aren't really important to me, and I wouldn't do much about them, but this story is really good and just wanted to let you know. I may be wrong as it is, so if I am, don't mind me. But this is great!

 Report Review

Review #6, by ficlit Calm Before the Storm

18th March 2013:
Hi Leo,

So glad to see you're back. I've found that I really like stories that cover the secondary characters during seventh year and "Minutes of a War" is my favorite of the bunch. As always, I look forward to seeing more of the well-rounded Slytherin characters like Nora and Astoria.

It feels like we're at the lowest point emotionally (the scenes with Dean and Ted were really rough), so hopefully the final battle is on its way. I'm not sure how much more angst I can take!

Keep up the excellent work.

ficlit

Author's Response: Yes, back among the writing guild ;)
Thanks so much for your comments, and more so for sticking with me! Next chapter: Malfoy Manor, and of course how others see those events.
I'll try to get it up as soon as possible!

Cheers, Leo


 Report Review

Review #7, by Curious Dwindling Hope?

8th February 2013:
Is this story abandoned?

Author's Response: No, although I have indeed been slow on updates. There's something in the queue at last ;)

 Report Review

Review #8, by LilypotterII Dwindling Hope?

5th January 2013:
Please post another chapter again!!! Love the whole idea!!

Author's Response: Thank you! Life's pretty busy at the moment, as soon as I can squeeze it in ...
Thank you for the feedback :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Dlskin Dwindling Hope?

11th December 2012:
I still love this fic, I really hope you update soon! I miss it :)

Author's Response: Life's been crazy, but I try to update after the queue closure!
Thank you for the encouragement :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by John Dwindling Hope?

27th November 2012:
When's the next chapter due. Was really liking this story.

Author's Response: Oh, with all the Christmas hype I've barely had time to look in here. Next chapter after the queue reopens! Thank you for dropping by :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by True Author Wedding Interrupted

3rd November 2012:
Lots of action and adventure!! I always wondered what happened after the trip left and I think this is something believable. =] Oh and without a spelling or grammar mistake!

Loved this!

Author's Response: That makes two of us ;) and it's the reason this story came about. Thank you for the encouraging comment!
Cheers, Leo


 Report Review

Review #12, by hiddenbyhair Dwindling Hope?

23rd September 2012:
TED!!! NO! LUV THIS CHAPTER! Sorry about all the yelling... More chapters please

Author's Response: Sorry, had to be done, since I intend to stick to canon as much as possible. And poor Andromeda, he's not be the only one she will lose, as we know.
Thanks for commenting, there should be more soon!


 Report Review

Review #13, by :DP)( Growing Awareness

19th September 2012:
Amazing :) Are you English?

Author's Response: Thanks for that!
And no, I'm not, though I think it's safe to say that Harry Potter, and subsequently fanfiction, helped me a great deal.
Cheers, Leo


 Report Review

Review #14, by Precious Rin Wedding Interrupted

18th July 2012:
I love the idea of this story, picking up when Harry, Ron, and Hermione left. A couple of suggestions: you have some minor typos and awkwardness (i.e. she saw the other two too. try using "as well" instead). Also, I'd like to see you slow the chapter down a bit. Draw out Fleur's inner monologue at the beginning of the chapter. I'm a little confused as to the point of view. You seem to switch from Fleur to Molly halfway through the chapter. I suggest sticking with one character or making the switch more distinct. Can't wait to read more!

 Report Review

Review #15, by healme13/darkhalm7 Perceptions Altered

6th July 2012:
Omigosh, I love Dudley's point of view. Apparently, your story is one of the few to send shivers of excitement down my spine.

Author's Response: Hello :)

Haha, contrary to what I first thought, Dudley's POV turned out one of my favourites. Thanks for your feedback, and I hope you'll be back!

Cheers, Leo


 Report Review

Review #16, by The Last Marauder Developments

3rd July 2012:
I have been waiting for an update on this story for a long time, and I just loved this chapter.

I loved Tonks hugging Lupin, to get him covered with paint. I really liked how you captured Dudley maturing and trying to cope with his new situation. And I just loved the touching moment between Ted and Dean at the end - it was just great.

Loved the idea of the international Apparition - and that the Order were seeking out Madam Maxime.

This story is really brilliant, please keep it up - congratulations on your Golden Paw Award too! Very much deserved!

Please keep writing and please update soon!!! :-)

Author's Response: Ah yes, I was feeling bad about not updating; that award turned out a fine incentive :)

Remus and Tonks; it's so sad to know what will have to come - and I haven't yet decided whether I'll write about their last moments or not. I do intend to stick to canon as close as possible.

Until the next chapter, and I try to keep the wait (a lot) shorter this time ;)


 Report Review

Review #17, by ficlit Warming Up

29th April 2012:
Hi,

I have to say I'm really enjoying this story because it encompasses so many different perspectives outside of the Golden Trio. It's especially entertaining to watch Ginny and Neville's development. Remus and Tonks, too. By the way, if one of those two gets a happier ending than what's in the book, I'm sure no one would fault you for such a departure from cannon (wink, wink, nudge nudge).

Btw, my first reaction to Nora was skeptical, but now I've grown to like her. I'll admit that one of the things that irked me about the books was the way that all Slytherin's were portrayed so one-dimensionally. Slughorn and Snape are put up as examples of "not so bad" Slytherins, but Slughorn's a sleazeball sycophant and Snape...well, he's my favorite character, but he was ready to see James and Harry killed in order to save Lily. These are not characters that one can empathize with easily.

Most fanfic makes the same mistake in flat Slytherin characterization or goes to the other extreme by having someone like Draco do an uncharacteristic 180. The great thing about Nora is that we know from the get-go she's more of a moderate pureblood moderate. She truly believes that purebloods are magically superior but when confronted with the logical conclusion of the ideals that she had been passively accepting, she has to make a choice: keep going along or fight. This is a choice we all face on a smaller scale and, therefore, causes me to connect with Nora much better than Slughorn or even Snape. Bravo!

Whew, that little rant ran a bit longer than I intended. Bottom line? Yes, count me in as wanting to see more Adventures of Nora the Conflicted Slytherin!

Waiting with anticipation for the next chapter,
ficlit

Author's Response: Hi!

So glad you agree; I've always been wondering about what everyone else was going through while we followed Harry.

Nora has grown on me too, although I was hesitant to introduce an OC when there are so many canon characters, some of which we might only know by name. But yes, Nora (and Fred!) will be back.

Thank you so much for that awesome review :) xox Leo


 Report Review

Review #18, by cantbebotheredtologinbutmynameispotterepicriddle Warming Up

22nd April 2012:
I'm tired and I don't have much to say right now, but do know that this story is still amazing :) 10/10

Author's Response: Ha, your 'alias' made me laugh! Logged in or not, I appreciate the review :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by RosieQueen Warming Up

20th April 2012:
I loved this!

Ginny's characterization was perfect, ans so was everyone else's! I love how you portray the mood of what happens during a war. Spelling, punctuation, and grammar was perfect, which is fabulous. I can just feel that things are going to get exciting soon! Keep it up!! :D

~Rosie

Author's Response: I never liked Ginny that much at the beginning, but it's getting easier writing in her POV. It means a lot to know you think I did her justice!
Thank you for the wonderful feedback so far :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by The Last Marauder Warming Up

20th April 2012:
Another great chapter, really enjoyed it!!! I really like the Creevey brothers, and I loved how you captured the DA and the Gryffindor Quidditch team at Hogwarts at the start. Who is trying to attack Andromeda's place though? Interesting... Loved your Potterwatch on the Weird Sisters, that was pretty cool.

Anyway another brilliant chapter, can't wait for more, please update soon!

Author's Response: Hello again!

Andromeda's place? I thought Bellatrix might be up to no good again - or it was just a good way to end the piece ;)
I like writing the Creeveys, and lumping them together with Dudley, hehe. So sad considering we know what has to happen soon.
Thank you for reviewing! Cheers, Leo


 Report Review

Review #21, by potter_epic_riddle Beginning

18th March 2012:
Why didn't you like this chapter? I thought it was pure awesomeness :) Seriously. Do. Not. Give. Up. Writing. Ever. Or. I. Will. Come. And. Find. You...

Author's Response: Okay okay, it shall not happen again :P
But honestly, thank you for the encouragement!
Cheers, Leo


 Report Review

Review #22, by The Last Marauder Beginning

15th March 2012:
You said you don't like this chapter very much, well you should, it's really good. I loved the bit at the end where they all payed homage to Luna, by pretending there were Nargles and Wrackspurts all over Hogwarts. It was a really creative and imaginative thing to include, something I don't think anyone else could have come up with, so fair play to you! It really was brilliant!

I really liked Dudley and Petunia's piece too, and I loved the conversation between Lupin and Petunia, that was my favourite piece of the chapter! If anything, I'd love you to flesh it out a little bit more, but then again it's also great as it is and maybe fleshing it out would ruin it... hmmm... Anyway, it really was brilliant. I really like how you are showing another side to both Dudley and Petunia that we don't get to see in the books, it really is so interesting and enjoyable to read.

As I said, you should be proud of this chapter, it really is great! Can't wait to read more, please update soon :)

Author's Response: Hello hon!

Did I seriously miss responding to this? I thought I'd answered all reviews of this chapter, at least. Huh.

Anyway, the feedback is great as always, especially for a chapter I wasn't too confident with. I had the idea of a little revenge for Luna for the beginning, but it took me ages to come up with the actual prank. Great to hear it played out well :)

Thanks so much for your (continued) support!
Cheers, Leo


 Report Review

Review #23, by Akussa Beginning

15th March 2012:
Hello, hello!

What a different and yet highly interesting chapter. I absolutly loved the change of perception, setting and bringing in new side-stories.
Having the Ravenclaws as main focus was brilliant and very well executed. It is touching to imagine them them recognize Luna's absence and the impact she has / had on them all.

The Petunia and Remus moment was perfect; I love how you made it happen. It was highly emotionaland touched the subject of Petunia and Lily just enough to make ir believable considering how Petunia never really talked about her sister. I absolutly loved it! And Dudley was perfect as well. Really well done!

I spotted a couple little things :

"...and was in my year.” Colin added through clenched teeth.” ..."; there shouldn't be quotation marks at the end

"...Michael couldn’t stop himself, and tipped an invisible hat cheekily, like he’d done Seamus do several times the previous evening, much to Neville’s annoyance. ..."that sentence is ackward around the 'Seamus' part..

Overall a great chapter that showed us a different side of the war and yet an essential one. I love your choice of character and points of view and the delivery is, as usual, easy to read and engaging.

Author's Response: As usual, I adore your feedback! When I do get around eventually to those edits, I'll definitely look up the things you pointed out.

I had fun writing the Petunia bit, and how she realised too late what she had lost. Maybe she'll do better with Harry when/if she gets the chance. Or maybe not ;)

There'll be glimpses into the other houses, so look out for those!

Cheers, Leo


 Report Review

Review #24, by megthechef43 Wedding Interrupted

15th March 2012:
Leo,

Fleur (though not my favorite character normally) played her part well. Her wedding was the meaningful thing in her life and it's horrible it was interrupted. The whole Weasley clan has been violated in this chapter. But, that is war.

I'll be reading on.

Megthechef43

Author's Response: Yes, war is that way. It seemed like the perfect starting point to pick up when Harry and his two friends left.
Thank you so much for commenting :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by RosieQueen Year Gone By

11th March 2012:
50th review!!! I feel so special XD Another amazing chapter, as always. I can't wait to read about the next year because that's when most of the action happens. Please update soon?

~Rosie

Author's Response: Yay! 50 reviews? Sweet :D
You totally owned this one XD I hope the rest of it won't disappoint, next chapter is in the queue!
Cheers, Leo


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>