34 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Juicey_Moosey Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I've got a feeling I've read most of your Voldemort one-shots before, but for some silly reason I never reviewed. :( at least I'm here now?

I really do love your writing style in this story, it is fantastically humorous, and the ideas behind the plot are brilliant! I totally love the idea of Voldemort in everyday situations, and I really did enjoy reading this!

I love the idea of "Britain's Next Top Death Eater", and Voldemort acting as a villain in the film. I thought the use of modern day applications such as twitter were brilliant, and really made me laugh!

The Flatmate part of this story was fantastic, and it was just so funny imaging Darth Vader and Voldemort sharing a flat, having the typical fights you'd expect flat-mates to have!

This was an absolutely brilliant read, and really put a smile on my face, so thank you for such a great story!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

In this story, I wanted to poke a little fun at the whole celebrity culture, and seriously, can you imagine if the HP characters all had facebook and twitter? I can only imagine the mischief that would ensue.

The flatmate part was a lot of fun to write. I mean, even evil villains can have a normal home life, right?

Glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heaven Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

17th June 2013:
Hello fro review tag!

Oh, my goodness! I didn't know how much I needed this, until I read it! Darth Vader and Voldemort? One of the best bromances of all time! I'm shipping it!

Your writing is hilarious and wonderful, as usual. I adore that you can be funny without skipping out on all the other things that make a good story - such as description, characterisation, and well-written dialogue.

I wonder where Voldemort's adventures will take him next?

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

I love the idea of evil villains interacting with each other in a mundane way. Voldemort's next adventure involves exclusive interviews on tv talk shows, hope you enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

2nd June 2013:
After reading your Mary Sue parody story I had to see what other stories you had, and I'm glad I did. This was a great one. Voldemort and Darth Vader as flatmates - their bickering was so funny, fighting over the remote and such. And the hug it out. They have a great bromance. :p

Also loved the Doctor/Barty Crouch showing up. And the other pop culture parodies like "Britain's Next Top Death Eater". This is really fantastic. You are great at writing humour. Nice job! :D

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, glad you enjoyed it!

I would pay a lot of money to see the two of them interact, and even more if it showed Hayden Christiansen meeting the young Riddle.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lululuna Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

1st May 2013:
Tag! :)

I'm really glad I got a chance to come back and review this story considering how much I loved your other Voldy story I read. Again, you do not disappoint.

I love how much you play around with satirizing pop culture and joking about general Voldy stuff. The story of the unfortunate miner made me laugh: clearly he was having the most cliche night of unfortunate events possible. It makes perfect sense that he would accidentally Avada the film actors, and I laughed at how nonchalant the producers were about the death... RIP Steve.

Also, the description of Voldy being "sheepish" is really great. I actually think Avada Kedavra-ing the contestants on his reality show would make it that much more exciting: raise the stakes a little bit at least.

Cedric. Barty. Darth Vader. Twitter. Love!

Poor Voldy, having to share a flat with such an awful flatmate. It made me laugh as well how they're constantly trying to kill each other: wish I could play that game with my flatmates, hmm... (kidding...). I really do feel for him, having to see that evil Potter's face everywhere he goes. Guy really can't win.

I'm sorry this review isn't more interesting besides my just repeating everything I loved about this story! Honestly though, it was really perfect and hilarious, I really enjoy your writing style and sense of humour here! :)

Author's Response: Hey, glad you made it back!

It seems that many horror films today are constantly topping each other in there pure over-the-topness that it was a pretty easy thing to make fun of.

I've always wondered how evil villains from various stories would interact if they met each other. On the one hand, they can relate and form an alliance since they're both evil and everything, but on the other hand, they might see each other as a threat.

Thanks again for the great reviews!


 Report Review

Review #5, by inkwell Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

25th August 2012:
Voldy and Darth! I don't dare think what would happen if they ever joined forces! :0
It's funny how Voldemort thinks that Darth is the weird one! Clearly he has a very distorted self-image...
I love your popular culture references! :)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Phoenix_feather123 Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

6th August 2012:
Ha ha take that voldy! And his roommate is Darth Vader? This is getting better and better

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by caoty Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

19th June 2012:
Hey, I'm just reviewing for fun~

Oh Lord. There are not enough superlatives in the world for this fic. I love all of it; Twitter, every reference to Draco Malfoy, Britain's Next Top Death Eater, the amateurish assassination attempts and DAVID TENNANT OMG.
The awkward hug and the cereal box with HP's face was the perfect ending, too. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot! This was a fun one to write, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by The Quiet Girl Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

7th June 2012:
Darth Vader is Voldemort's perfect flatmate! I don't know how you came up with the idea, but it is pure genius! They really do have so much in common, but I get the impression Vader is stronger- maybe because he can hide behind his helmet and his voice always sounds awesome.

Oh, and Rita Skeeter as Voldemort's publicist? Even more epic, totally believable, and awesome. That movie gig, however, had me going for a bit. I was wondering how that tied in until I noticed Steve rationalized his unrational behavior a little too well and the ghost story was a bit cheesy. Totally awesome work, again.

This story seemed better than the first, and I look forward to reading more of these stories focusing on our favorite Voldemort!

Author's Response: I love picturing the two of them together!

Thank you so much for the reviews, it's great to hear that you enjoyed the stories!


 Report Review

Review #9, by charlottetrips Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

24th March 2012:
I am so loving this series. Voldemort has EPIC FAIL written all over him. Turning to Skeeter, killing off actors, REALITY TV?!? What has his world turned into? And then rooming with Vadar, where they both battle for dominance...omg too much.

This sent me over the edge though: Voldemort rose to his feet and gave Darth Vader an embrace that was twenty times more awkward than the one he had once given Draco Malfoy at the Battle of Hogwarts. - Literally laughing out loud - something I don't do often in reading - BECAUSE IT'S SO TRUE!! When I saw that scene in DH2, I was like "What the...?"

So thank you for making my day!

Author's Response: Yeah Voldy has really fallen on some hard times here, and I totally laughed out loud in the theater when that scene with Draco happened.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Siriusly3 Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

19th March 2012:
Cried with laughter again. Cannot wait to read the next two. OMFSWJDJEWCEHBCG you are hilarious!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by TenthWeasley Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

15th March 2012:
Of COURSE Voldemort would have to room with Darth Vader. I don't know how it could be any other way. And of course Rita Skeeter's got to be his agent! I don't know how you do it, but I'm immensely glad you do. And I'm really rather impressed with how you take canon characters and twist their attributes to be delightfully wacky, and yet serious enough that I can barely restrain from clicking over to the next story almost as soon as I finish one. These stories are massively addicting, and I'm giving you mad props for the ideas. ♥

I was dying with laughter through this entire thing -- especially the little battles between Voldy and Vader. (Out of curiosity, what sort of ice cream would Darth Vader eat?) I think my favorite bit of the whole thing was the tweets from Harry and George. SO SNARKY, BOYS. Even picturing Harry sending that tweet is giving me the giggles. :D

And I LOVE all the endorsement deals you've connived Harry into. It's cruelly clever, because it makes me actually like Voldemort over Harry here. And that's an EXTREMELY difficult thing to do! Cereal boxes, Harry? You little so-and-so.

I am seriously so glad I saw your swap offer. This was nothing short of brilliant, and I can't even begin to tell you how much these stories of yours make me smile. They're so funny. :3 Thank you for writing them, and thank you for swapping with me!

Author's Response: Welcome back for part 2, Jane!

So the idea for this whole series just started randomly one day when a couple friends and I were debating who would win various battles, and while we were stuck on Voldy and Vader for a while, I just had this idea that they would end up sort of being friends but secretly trying to kill each other, and that somehow grew into this story.

I could see Vader liking chocolate ice cream to stick with his whole dark motif, but I could also see him going for something completely random like rocky road.

I'm a little worried that young Harry might be letting all that fame get to his head a bit:)

Thanks a lot for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by SiriuslyPeeved Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

25th February 2012:
Your stories always make me laugh when I'm having a trying day -- thank you for that! I love your lampooning of the marketing machine surrounding our favorite pop culture icons, and I love how you've made Rita Skeeter Voldemort's publicist. (somehow, I could see that happening if he'd somehow survived and not been thrown in Azkaban!)

My favorite part: "First Voldemort had placed a deadly curse on Vader's tub of ice cream. Then Vader had planted a thermal detonator in the shower. Things had escalated from there, but they found that as long as they could dodge each other's amateurish assassination attempts, they could make their tense relationship work."

I wonder if there's any potential for a sequel with the roommate's annoying kids visiting? "Dad, it's not fair!" ;) Thanks for the laughs & see you around TGS!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

For some reason I could see Luke Skywalker and Book 5 angsty Harry becoming the best of friends.

Thanks again, and I'll definetely see you around TGS!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Phantom of the Claw Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

26th January 2012:
Yes!!! A story with Darth Vader. Cool, but more to the point: DOCTOR WHO ! (If there was a Hogwarts House for Whovians, my family would dominate it.) Everybody loves to see their favorite villians, but the Doctor is the best!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by daliha Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

18th January 2012:
I've been covering my mouth trying not ot laugh. I love Darth Vader and the bit about the light saber killed me.

But the best part was the end with Voldy and the cereal box XD Great one-shot!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot, glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by academica Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

14th January 2012:
Hey! Back for another delicious parody :)

I love the beginning. Leave it to Voldemort to mess up another opportunity for gainful employment! The saga continues... Also, I would definitely watch Britain's Next Top Death Eater, particularly if Voldemort actually did that when a contestant was booted off the show. Nice touch, there.

I LOVE that you brought the Crouch/Doctor parallel to light, and also the inclusion of the Tweets. Hilarious! But I literally laughed out loud at the thought of the remote being suspended between Voldemort's spell and the Force, especially when Voldemort started screaming about wanting the telly. And then they HUGGED IT OUT. I'm dying here.

Fantastic, as always. I'll be back, I'm sure, to read the rest of the series. You do such a phenomenal job of pulling in all the details and stitching everything together so thoroughly, and I think that is what makes these little stories so entertaining.

Wonderful! :)

Amanda

Author's Response: Hey again!

This was definetely a very fun one to write, I think portraying caricatured versions of himself in horror films might actually be a viable carerr for Voldy, but he just can't seem to do anything right.

It was really fun for me to imagine the dynamics of two dark lords interacting in normal situations, and I'm sure I'm not the only one that laughed out loud in theater when Voldemort hugged Draco, so I wanted to pay homage to that.

Thanks a lot for the great review!

James


 Report Review

Review #16, by Secret Santa Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

28th December 2011:
Hello!
I've decided to review these insights into this very much interesting and entirely hilarious side of Voldemort. While the epic recession was hilarious, I have to say the fact that Harry continues to mock him over Twitter was all too funny for me! I love this addition to the story, and I have to admit I don't think I've ever seen something that even remotely looked like a tweet in a story so it was certainly a lovely feature! :) I also love the additions/references to Doctor Who and The Twilight Movies, something I absolutely love within your stories, I don't exactly watch either series, but I love the references, and it's something that you don't often seen done well in fanfiction, but I believe you write these little references in so perfectly that they well and truly belong in these stories and don't seem at all out of place.

Now, I don't understand much about Star Wars aside from who Darth Vader is and his conection to the rest of the story, but still that was enough for me to understand everything that was going on, so you've provided enough detail for people like me who don't get it which is a nice touch. I also like the interactions between Darth Vader and Lord Voldemort. Two evil men who tried to rule the world (I think that's right anyway) living together? Brilliant! Plus the fact that you have them hugging is even more entertaining particularly because of this line: "Voldemort rose to his feet and gave Darth Vader an embrace that was twenty times more awkward than the one he had once given Draco Malfoy at the Battle of Hogwarts." I just could not stop laughing, purely because those words brought the entire scene right back to me as a I read over this.

I also love their calling of each others first names it was quite funny to see them using them against one another particularly when they reinvented their own names. The one thing I noticed, and I suppose it's not particularly a big deal, but it was the spelling of 'sequal' in the story summary, it should be
'sequel' instead. But aside from that one small thing I noticed nothing else grammatically or spelling wise that really drew all that much attention.

Well done on yet another hilarious and interesting insight into the life of Lord Voldemort! :P I am absolutely loving reading these and I cannot wait to read more! Happy holidays!

~ Secret Santa ~

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed the twitter part, I just find so much humor in pocturing Voldemort doing everyday tasks, especially nonmagical ones. I thought the references would work well since Dr. Who and Barty were the same actor and everything.

I'm glad I'm not the only one that laughed out loud in the theater during the Voldy/Draco hug, and I wanted to top that with an even more awkward one.

Thanks for the present and happy hollidays!


 Report Review

Review #17, by house elf Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

11th December 2011:
Haha this one's probably my favourite of the three, mostly because Barty/the Doctor made an appearance :D

'But I'm not a death eater, I'm a Doctor!' Crouch protested.

'Doctor Who?' asked a very confused Voldemort.

*giggle*

And I love how Voldemort has a twitter... it reminds me of Lord_Voldemort7 ;P

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked the Dr. Who part! This was definetely a fun one to write.

 Report Review

Review #18, by littlemisssnape Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

9th December 2011:
haha hug it out! What a great one-shot1

Author's Response: Thanks a lot! I feel like that hug would be even more awkward than Voldy/Draco in the movie

 Report Review

Review #19, by Roots in Water Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

3rd December 2011:
Tag!

I never would have suspected Darth Vader to room with Voldemort... I really enjoy the weird twists your stories take. You make the unreal work because everything is unlikely to ever happen.

Killing fellow actors? Muggles competing to be Death Eaters? Darth Vader and Voldemort hugging? I don't think I could have ever thought of those.

I also like the ways you're linking all of your one-shots together- it really makes it seem like a series and that they're all happening in the same universe.

Rita Skeeter was another nice touch, though I can't imagine her as the ideal publicist, which just makes it funnier. She would probably blackmail everything into working out for her, an idea which Voldemort would totally go for.

I did really enjoy reading this story- it was very funny!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I just find great amusement in picturing Voldemort in situations he really doesn't belong in. I'm sure I'm not the only person that laughed out loud in the theater when voldy hugged draco, so i had to find a way to incorporate that.

I think Rita's slytherin like ambitions might make her a perfect partner for voldy. I'm glad you thought it was funny!


 Report Review

Review #20, by ginerva_molly_weasley Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

1st December 2011:
I love this almost as much as I love Voldermort and the epic recession.

Voldermort being stranded in the muggleworld where everyone knew him and worshipping Harry Potter must have been so hard to take but I found myself literally laughing aloud to the idea of him having to take in darth vader as a flatmate!

Another very good story

GinevraMollyPotter

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #21, by theelderwand Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

30th November 2011:
ROFL! This was ludicrously excellent! Brilliant work!

Eldy

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Muhahahahahahaha Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

26th November 2011:
I Loved it! I loved it! I loved it! I loved it! I loved it! I loved it! I loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot!

 Report Review

Review #23, by bri_5_stars Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

22nd November 2011:
Dear Merlin this is probably the funniest thing I've ever read! The idea of it is so unique and just epically funny, that it makes it all work. Good job here mate! I commend thee! Vader's lightsaber is pink lol.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by accioHPFF Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

21st November 2011:
Haha, this was brilliant!

I love the fact that you wrote this in a very unique style, and you made it really funny and comical throughout.
The anecdote at the start made me laugh, and genuinely, I thought it was a great, multi-layered story which incorporated so many things. :)

accioHPFF

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review, I'm glad you thought it was funny!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Woodrow Rynne Voldemort and the Horrible Flat Mate

19th November 2011:
Hahaha...that was brilliant! :D A unique and hilarious idea. The beginning was perfect!

"One day, a miner walked away from work, and wandered into these woods to have a poo. But before he could finish, he was attacked and killed by a band of robbers, struck by lightning, and eaten by a bear!

*Snort* Seriously? :P

I couldn't stop laughing throughout! I'm so glad I read this fic- it made me feel sympathy for /Voldy/. Gawd. Seriously, though, I loved it, loved it, loved it. You've a very wry sense of humour. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

I'm glad you liked the opening, I was trying to make fun of the whole horror movie genre there.

I'm glad somebody gets my humor!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>