Reading Reviews for Canis Major
  
287 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ribbons Conversations and Confrontations

7th December 2014:
I'm leaving this review when it's late and I have to sleep, but after seeing you say that reviews make you cry, I thought I'd drop one for you.

This is a truly incredible story - I read it all in one sitting - and I love the characters. The dynamics between them are really something else, and you've done a very good job of making each one of the three dimensional.

There are a few things that really stood out to me: Sirius and Keira's chemistry is AMAZING. I want them to kiss OH MY GOD.

Henry is a very good character and a very good boyfriend, I liked how he seemed like a genuine person and that they broke up for normal reasons, not a rotten dude that you created to serve as a problem for your lead characters. He's not a pawn to advance the love story, which I like.

Sirius is REALLY well written and he makes me so happy and frustrated all at once, you've done good work. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do a Sirius POV chapter?

Keira's eating issue is really nice because it's not the dominant aspect of the fic, but it's an underlying root and something she will have to confront at some point. The same thing goes for her other self-image problems and the feeling that she goes unnoticed.

Overall this is a really great story that I'm definitely going to favorite. You're a really incredible writer and I would love it if you'd update another chapter, because this is fic (as well as its fans) are BEGGING for more. I need more Keira/Sirius action! PLEASE!

Much, much, MUCH love,

Alena

 Report Review

Review #2, by Pretense Of Perfection Off to a Flying Start

28th May 2014:
Some of the bits of Kiera's thoughts and internal dialogue just make me crack up. And that's rare.

Some of the sentences are a bit choppy, and seem kind of out of place. It's not a huge deal, it's of course still readable, but I just thought I'd point that out (although I'm sure many people before me have done).

Your quidditch scenes are full of suspense, and easy to follow. I always find it hard to write (I forget the rules, and lost my quidditch through the ages of course), but it seems to be one of your natural talents. I envy you for that!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretense Of Perfection Smelling like Slytherins

27th May 2014:
What an awesome start to a fic! I love how unique you've made your ocs. And the chapter length is amazing, almost double what lots of authors (including myself) write!

The only thing I found a little confusing was the sheer amount of ocs introduced in this chapter. Things got a little confusing differentiating all of the sixth and sevethh years girls.

 Report Review

Review #4, by IDIDNOTWANTTOHAVESEXWITHSIRIUSBLACKITWASMYPMS Conversations and Confrontations

19th May 2014:
write more, soon. this is so real, I love it.

 Report Review

Review #5, by dracodarlingxx Conversations and Confrontations

16th May 2014:
hey a xx
i love this chapter, it's great so what're you complaining about?? xx but it does make me sad because i loved henry and keira together; they were just too adorable :* :*
i like how you've written olivia to be nice because usually people say sirius black's gfs are
stupid jealous blonde bimbos, so this is cool :)
all the girls are awesome, of course :D, and sirius is amazing (when is he not? ;) )
hope your exams went well and your family's okay.
please update soon xx :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jess the Enthusiast Conversations and Confrontations

13th February 2014:
Adele!
I'm so excited that you updated!! I really loved this chapter and I don't know if it's just me but it seems like Sirius might have a thing for Kira! WO! So excited about that, as I'm sure you can tell haha.
But I'm so excited for the next update ah :D
~Jess :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by JT4HP Conversations and Confrontations

11th February 2014:
YOU UPDATED!

I am so happy! I thought this chapter was good! Not bad to read, at all. Don't worry. I likeee how she kind of yelled at Sirius. I can't wait to see another chapter with those two talking or whatever they do in it (maybe kissing?!).

Anyway, it was all great. Can't wait for the next one!!!

 Report Review

Review #8, by zelectrodez Conversations and Confrontations

9th February 2014:
This chapter made my day! I was so happy to see an update that I started jumping up and down!
Ah rumors got to love them right? Keira handled it pretty really well though. Can't wait to read the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Hope's Mom Conversations and Confrontations

8th February 2014:
Henry and Keira really make me sad! They really miss each other but definitely seem to need a break. The chapter is a little choppy but I have no problem understanding what is going on. Thank you for the update and good luck with all the balls you juggling.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Charlene Conversations and Confrontations

8th February 2014:
It's a good story :) don't fret! I'm also very glad you've found yourself a boyfriend who is so supporting :) keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Padfoot14 Conversations and Confrontations

5th February 2014:
AHHH KEIRA

Author's Response: AHH, I KNOW RIGHT?

 Report Review

Review #12, by ohmymerlin Conversations and Confrontations

4th February 2014:
Hey, Adele!

Don't worry, this chapter is far from being a mess! I actually quite liked it, even if it was a bit fillery. It just wrapped everything up nicely :)

Hmm... there's still something off about Henry for some reason. I've always felt that way but I can't put my finger on it. He's nice and all but he just seems... wrong. :p

Anyway, I really liked this chapter! I can't wait to read the next one! :D

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by miluv Conversations and Confrontations

4th February 2014:
oohhh a boyfriend! lol congratulations:) and great chapter as usual, can't wait for the next one:D

 Report Review

Review #14, by greenbirds Wanting Warmth

7th January 2014:
keira is unbelievable. as an idealistic and insecure teenage girl, i can relate to her so much- can't thank you enough for creating this character! she is a shining beacon amongst a sea of pretty stereotypes and annoying girlfriends. you rule. i already wrote you a really long note on tumblr, hahaha, i just wanted to write a note here. bea xx

Author's Response: Ah, I have found you! Thank you so much! I'll respond to that as soon as I can, but things have been pretty crazy in my life lately. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Seriously. I've tried so hard to make Keira believable, so I'm so glad that she is for someone.

- Adele ^_^ xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by RedFusion Wanting Warmth

29th November 2013:
I love your story! I was a little afriad to read it since it has been awhile since you have updated it but im happy i read it anyway! Keep up the great work! How is chapter 13 coming along?

Author's Response: CHAPTER 13 IS NOW COMPLETE! (Three months later, oops). But I'm happy you read it too. Life's been a bit crazy at the moment, hence why it's taken me FOREVER to get back into writing, but yeah. Things are hopefully on the move again, haha. Thanks for much for the review. The new chapter should be up shortly. :) x

 Report Review

Review #16, by SundayGirl Wanting Warmth

19th September 2013:
How is the next chapter coming along?

Author's Response: It's getting there. I'm just not happy with the last part, but I might have to just get over my perfectionism and post it, because I know you guys have been waiting forever, and it's not fair. :( I start my last ever exams on Monday, and they count for 50% of my final mark and wether or not I will get accepted into my University course, so I've been a bit distracted, you understand, haha. Regardless, I'll post the next chapter ASAP.

Thank you so much for sticking with the story, regardless of my horrible updating. >_<

- A. :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Sarah_Bee Smelling like Slytherins

28th August 2013:
I usually try to see what my reviewers are writing as I am constantly looking for new fics to read, and I like to see their writing styles, and I was curious what fanfic eras and pairings you liked to write. For a first fanfiction, this is quite good. You have taken a very used group of characters with James, Remus, Sirius, Alice etc. and given them a fresh look, which is very difficult to do. I have read lots of Marauder fics over the years here, but yours is like a breath of fresh air. It's very different, which is good, and you bring new characters to the table that are very likable. Your OC is wonderful so far, and you have really developed her. I'm curious to see where this fic goes. Good work so far. :)

Author's Response: I totally get what you mean. I always go hunting through people's favourites or their published stories to find new things to read, haha.

And thanks. :) My writing has come a long way since I first published this chapter, and even with edits, it's not up to the standard I'd like, although it's closer than before, haha. I'm glad you like how I've used the characters, because coming from you, who's used Poppy Pomfrey in such a wonderful way, that really means a lot.

I'm so glad that you like the story so far, and if you chose to continue reading, I hope you enjoy it!

Thanks for the wonderful review.
- A. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #18, by BBWotter Wanting Warmth

7th August 2013:
It's kinda sad that they broke up, I really like Noah despite him not wanting her to play Quidditch. I hope he still stays in the picture as her friend. Thanks so much for the chapter :) xx

Author's Response: I'm really glad you liked Henry, as that's what I tried to get across in the lead up to this point in terms of his characterization. He's a great guy but he's a Ravenclaw, so it's hard for him to look past the statistics saying she'll get hurt, and just trust her to be okay. Henry'll stay around, although he won't be a major part for a bit. But yeah, you'll have to wait and see as far as everything else goes, haha.

And no problems. Thanks for reading and reviewing!
- A. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #19, by Hannah Wanting Warmth

6th August 2013:
It's been far too long.

NEED.NEW.CHAPTER.

Author's Response: It's coming, I swear! I just have a bit left, and then it's done! Life has been much too crazy, and I'm so sorry, because I'd much rather be writing Canis than anything else. The next chapter will be up soon!

- A. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Wildflower Wanting Warmth

8th July 2013:
Great chapter and you are almost half way complete with the next one! Good luck on the second half!

Author's Response: Thank you! It should be up soon. There's not much left to write. I just have to finish off the last scene and then I'm done. I'm glad you liked the chapter.

Thank you for the review!
- A. :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by LadyLikable Wanting Warmth

6th June 2013:
Heyy, you're back!

And I'm back too! Sorry, I'm a bit behind the times it seems - I was checking for new chapters regularly, but the story never seemed to be updated. So I stopped checking. And now, once I stopped checking, BAM! like five new chapters! Made my day, it did!

So I really want to leave a thorough review but I need to get up early tomorrow so I'll have to think it over a bit before I do. All in all this is still definitely my current favourite story and I enjoy it immensely! Keep up the good work!

Just something I thought about though - Henry's reason for agreeing to break up seems a bit, I dunno, flimsy? I mean, there's a war raging with maniacs killing muggleborns like Keira and he's all "quidditch is too dagerous for girls". He's worried about quidditch. Not Death Eaters. What? I just keep thinking I'm missing something about Henry and the breakup and I'm sooo curious about finding out more!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Nel Wanting Warmth

6th June 2013:
Hey! I usually leave a review on your Canis Major blog but it takes up a lot of space and I thought it would be better to start leaving reviews on HPFF instead! Now with that out of the way I just wanted to say I was so surprised to see a new chapter! I love it when stories are updated faster than they said they would be; it’s fantastic!

Now, onto the chapter! Okay, this is one of, if not the best chapter in Canis Major yet. Seriously. It was AMAZING! Really, truly brilliant.

I’ll start off with Henry. I think you could not have done it more perfectly. Really, they were mature about it and it ended on good terms. There wasn’t some ridiculous, dramatic fight. No one cheated and it wasn’t because she realized she was in love with Sirius even though she still barely knows him but apparently he’s ‘the one’. I really do love Henry and I hope they stay friends because he’d still make a great friend. It took me by surprise as well! I really wasn’t expecting that but in a good way. It felt right and it wasn’t too soon. “I love you. Always will”: I kind of broke down inside at that point, it was so sad! But I was kind of too shocked to cry or anything. Will he really always love her? And will there always be a part of Keira that loves him too? Or will it kind of fade into a deep affection or something? Because I don’t really know, I always figured that when you fall in love, even if it isn’t meant to be, there’s a part of you that will always love them. Oh, I feel depressed again just thinking about it. Oh God, okay, moving on to brighter things.

I am loving the development between Keira and Sirius. They aren’t quite friends yet but that’s what I love about it; it’s realistic. That’s what makes you such a good writer, you don’t rush it and what I love about each chapter is that something happens in each one, something significant, not always massively significant but significant none the less. I can see what you meant when you said that these chapters affect Henry a lot now! Back to Sirius though; “I caught a glimpse of him still standing there as I went to shut the portrait hole behind me”, I can’t tell, was he watching her, or was he just lost in his thoughts? Anyhow, it made me think to ask you this. It was sweet that he went to find her and that felt he owed her. And I love that you’re showing how observant Sirius actually is because a lot of people seem to forget that he is a very good reader of personality. Did that even make sense? Probably not! They do have natural chemistry though, or maybe I’m imaging that but that’s what I’m getting. Sirius is obviously attracted to her, which I gathered from past chapters not recent ones. He did keep ogling at her chest! “He was standing behind me. It was remarkable how much better I felt when he was. He was like a shield, blocking anything from touching me, from seeing me.” I loved this paragraph. There are small hints like this dotted around that they will be really good for each other. I love what Sirius said to her, and Keira needs to believe it! They both kind of have a natural understanding of each other I feel, because they’ve known each other for barely any time yet Sirius can already gather this about Keira and Keira obviously has some sort of understanding about him from what she’s said and observed. He picked her up… To quote Keira (or you to be more exact), “Bet he got a lovely view of [her] chest then”! I was really sweet that she fell asleep in his arms! ‘Wanting Warmth’ – “He was warm. So warm.” I loved that. And I also loved the difference in Henry’s smell and Sirius’ – Henry’s expensive cologne is slightly overpowering whereas Sirius – “He smelled like soap and something else that I couldn’t put my finger on. The first thing that came to mind was dog, although that couldn’t be right, so I dismissed it lazily.” I don’t know if that was intentional or not but I liked it!

Anyway, this is over 800 words long so I think I should probably wrap it up. I loved this chapter and I can’t wait for the new one!

Nel

P.S. What was Sirius’ “expression” when Keira asked him why he went to look for her? Just curious. I ask way too many questions but when you can actually ask the author what they meant without having to guess you kind of give in!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Holly_Mist Wanting Warmth

3rd June 2013:
Hello :)

I just read all twelve chapters in one go and all i have to say is that i absolutely love the way you've written out the entire thing! I normally don't read Marauder fics but your summary was very intriguing and i'm glad i gave your story a go :)

I really like how the whole thing is not rushed. I mean you've taken your time to introduce everyone and the entire setting for the story, which is great! I really like all the characters, especially Mel! i don't know, i think she seems the most spirited one!

Naw, Sirius and Keira action! I think it's really cute :') Though, i really loved Henry! But the fic must go on, yes? ;)

Update soon :)

Author's Response: Hooray! I've converted another one! Haha, but in all honesty, I'm glad you have my story a go as well. I would have your lovely review otherwise. :)

I'm adamant that taking my time with setting up characters and characters relationships, etc. is the only way I'm going to make this story believable and have it set apart from so many others. I love Mel! And yes, she's definitely spirited, haha. I love Henry too, but indeed, the fic must go on. :P

Thanks for the wonderful review and updates are on their way!
- A. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #24, by anon Wanting Warmth

2nd June 2013:
incredibly well written, thank you

Author's Response: No problem! I'm glad you liked it. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

- A. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #25, by RoseWeasley7 Wanting Warmth

5th May 2013:
I loved this chapter, it is definitely my favourite so far!! Abra is so cute!!! And Keira and Henry broke up!!! He annoyed me so, Yay!! Please update soon!!!

Author's Response: Hooray! I'm glad you like it. And Abra is my favorite, too. She's so cute. :)

Yes! They broke up. I'm sad to hear that Henry annoys you, although if you're a Keira/Sirius shipper then I understand, haha.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I've not got much of the next chapter left, so hopefully it will be up soon.

- A. ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>