Reading Reviews for Christmas in Prison
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by tangledconstellations Christmas in Prison

28th August 2012:
A little review for a beautiful one-shot (:

I stumbled across this one and genuinely did fall in love with it! It's so lovely. It's so calm but so stormy and I think you've captured Draco's anxiousness so well. It must have been awful in his shoes. Luna too - the way she slips into desperation. :( so powerful, considering she is so airy most of the time. By the end of this I kind of felt numb, just because I felt so much for each of the characters in such a short time. This slips back into canon so well too - it was just brilliant.

Your writing is just so wonderful and I really should read more of your things :} ♥

Laura xxx

Author's Response: eee thank you! it was a wee bit hard to write, so it's always so lovely to get positive feedback on this one. I've written Draco and Luna countless times but I still struggle with both characterisations so this fic was especially tricky in parts. I'm so glad you liked it and that you felt for the characters :3 thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by Icouldn'tcomeupwithanawesomename Christmas in Prison

19th August 2012:
So. Incredibly. SAD. And all the more beautiful because of it. Actually sad's not the right word, but I can't find a word that's fitting. But there's so much hope, and then for Draco it's crushed, but Luna says 'Harry'll come'.

And I could totally picture Luna's expression and Draco's shaking hands.

Wow. Just... touching.

Author's Response: thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it - both characters are especially difficult to get right and this fic was a little tricky in places. thank you for reviewing :D ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne Christmas in Prison

22nd July 2012:
This was lovely.
It was interesting to read it from Draco's point of view, to hear his take on Luna. She's such a mysterious character, it must be hard to write what others think of her, especially in a situation like this.
I really love the expression "a splinter of a creature".
I'm not sure why, it just seems... right?
Anyways, beautiful story, very sad too.
~Gill

Author's Response: thank you so much! draco/luna used to be a favourite pairing of mine, but I've never quite got used to writing either character - they're both incredibly hard to pin down.

thank you for reviewing and I'm really glad you liked it :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lily Christmas in Prison

14th July 2012:
Excellent. That is all =)

Author's Response: thank you so much! :D ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Christmas in Prison

1st May 2012:
Oh wow. So different compared to your humor. I really enjoyed this. I have an obsession with Luna currently, moreso how she would have acted when her mother died and how their relationship was. So this was great to read because I think you nailed the Luna I have in my head and in canon. She's powerful, isn't she? She's a fighter and even though people called her Loony and made fun of her she was one of the strongest people to fight and to back Harry. I think she's great and this was great. :D

Author's Response: back in my natural habitat of angst! heee. Luna's my favourite canon character but she's very difficult to write, so I'm so pleased that you said that :3 thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by XharrysdarlingX Christmas in Prison

10th March 2012:
This was wonderful, I loved it!! brilliantly written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by Dreaming_of_Daisies Christmas in Prison

1st February 2012:
This is brilliant. I actually have chills!
That's never happened before... xD

This story is excellent though, I like all your work that I've read, you're a very prolific writer, but this is possibly my favourite. I especially liked the conversation between Nott and Avery about how she wouldn't talk and how Avery (or Nott) didn't want to hurt her because of his own daughter...

It made them seem real somehow, less like just bad guys and more like men with lives who aren't very nice but who have a family.

Again, I really enjoyed this.

~ Alice x

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much for saying so! It's a fic that's been in the works for a very, very long time, and it was a bit of a struggle to get it posted here. I guess it sort of reflected my feelings about the last two HP books generally, especially about the Malfoys - you know, war is never black and white, but shades of grey. It was a pretty interesting experiment to write (:

Really glad you liked it, and thank you for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by SunSation Gal 07 Christmas in Prison

23rd December 2011:
Ooh, I always had a soft spot for this ship. This and Neville/Luna. But this was brilliant and I could see this happening while she was there. And you got her perfectly. So totally and completely Luna. Merry Christmas!!

Author's Response: It was once an OTP of mine (in the absolutely unrequited sense, of course, haha. I like my angst and my unhappy endings). Luna's very hard to write, so I'm really flattered you think so! Thank you very much, and a merry christmas to you too ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by Eleni D. Christmas in Prison

8th December 2011:
How your fic remembers me the so many movies of the Second War I'd seen before, you couldn't even imagine. I know Rowling made Harry Potter thinking in those years too, the saddest stories of the people who lived it, the hope in the eyes of thousands like Luna or Ollivander, the fear so deep of persons like Draco who managged to make something or to not make something just for help others, just to save their lives, just to save their families, just to save their souls...Your work with this captivated my mind and stole my heart, I wish you never stop with this talent you have, never.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, that's so kind! I am pretty interested in Draco's character and the difficult decisions he had to make. I'm really glad you liked it, and thank you so much for the wonderful review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by Snapdragons Christmas in Prison

29th November 2011:
Stop it. How is this fair? You write humor like no one else, are the queen of gloriously silly, and yet you can write angst like this. Not even close to being fair. In no universe is this fair. :(

This was beautiful though. And I'm not a Draco/Luna fan... actually, I'm just not a Draco/anyone fan in general. YOU HAVE WON ME OVER. The way you wrote both of them was so so perfect and so canon and just so lovely all around.

I do love reading about Death Eaters (okay, that sounded creepier than I intended it to) and I especially like reading it where they're given a heart, to some extent. Even Avery was not pure evil. And Draco - you managed to keep him canon and yet likeable.

Your imagery was breathtaking. I could picture Luna as the ghost, ethereal, barely real. It was sentences like this that just painted this beautiful picture in my mind: A moment took a century to pass. Her smile faltered. Silence settled over the scene like thick dust, then was scattered - the lock turned and shut her out of his mind, his dreams, for good.

I could go on forever about this. But basically... I love this. I love everything about this. It's so beautiful - I know I keep reusing that word but it really is. And I'm really impressed by it - this is so different from SA and yet equally wonderful.

And I'm really, really glad this made it onto the archive. GOOD CHOICE. I love this. ♥

Author's Response: Even the silly and cracky among us must, occasionally, take breaks to angst away through the medium of microsoft word *ponderous look*

Oooh thank you so much~ although both draco and luna are stupidly difficult to write ;A;
Draco/Luna was once an OTP of mine, you may be surprised to know. Not anymore, but, you know, I still have a certain fondness for the pairing. That said, I don't like fics where they're happily in true wub. Being an angst magnet, I like Draco/Luna fics where it's all unrequited and there is no such thing as a happy ending (sadist, me, wot?)

Death Eaters and dodgy types are my favourite to write too. I love exploring all those shades of grey in fic. I don't think any of them were purely evil (well, Bellatrix and Voldy aside...) and it's interesting to write about that.

Eee thank you so much! Although this fic has been a long time in the writing and it's been kind of hard at times, I ultimately enjoyed writing it, and, well, glad you liked it too!

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by WitnesstoitAll Christmas in Prison

21st November 2011:
Oh my word. Julia, this is brilliant. Everything about it is so perfect, that I could very easily regard this as canon. The torment Draco endured mentally, Luna's stoicism in the face of doom, the description of the balance of the world powers and how life in the manor is. It's brilliant. I'm sorry to use that word again, but I really can't wrap my mind around any other right now. The dialogue was effective as well. The most powerful two lines, that sort of defined their relationship to one another in this fic was when draco said he cannot kill and when Luna reminded him he had not locked the door. It really was quite moving and powerful. It is such an unfortunate twist of fate that this generation was robbed of their youth and shoved into a game that had began long before they were even thought of. :(

Booo.

Anyways, I'm done rambling. This was gorgeous. Well done!!
melissa

Author's Response: Eee, thank you so much! This fic has been stagnating on my computer for ages...this literally must be the tenth rewrite or something. I'm so interested in both of these characters (and I'm on an infinite quest for the perfect characterisation of Draco) and I've always wondered what sort of dynamic would exist between them, if any. I feel that Luna's the most understanding of all the characters in the HPverse, and if she ever did meet Draco (I doubt it, but in my headcanon...she did) she'd be the type who would try to understand and help him. Aaanyway, haha.
Thank you so much for such a beautiful, wonderful review :') ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by YourNo1Nargle Christmas in Prison

17th November 2011:
This is the best one shot I've ever read. Ever.
It had me captured from the beginning and the end is literally heart breaking, you did such a good job with the characterisation too!
And the imagery. Is. STUNNING. :O

I can't find any flaws at all, this is just seamless!

Well done, I'll definately read more of your stories in the future!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so honoured that you think that :D this is...this is such a lovely review ♥ This story has been in the works for a very, very very long time (I've never been able to get it off the ground before, haha!). Thank you so much for leaving this review! ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #13, by GubraithianFire Christmas in Prison

16th November 2011:
Julia ;_; my soul. My soul. Whimper whimper silent cry in the corner, tears prickling, heart heavy. My soul, Julia. There are no smilies that can properly explain the sad state of my soul. Or my sad. Taste my sad.

You know, whenever I'm busy (like now, sadface), I tend to not miss fic and all that comes with it so much. I convince myself that I don't need to be here, really, that it's about time I move on and do whatever it is I want to do with my life. But then when I give myself a minute to troll the interwebs and I find something wonderful, I remember why I still am here. That's what this fic did for me, so thank you.

But seriously my souuul. And I completely didn't see that it was a dream so I was all like DRACO YOU WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL BOY and then the end and my soul :( To quote Gina, complete and utter headcanon, and it makes me sad because it's so sad and perfect and my headcanon for Merlin's sake do not mess with my headcanon. Or my soul. ;_;

Thank you again for this.

Author's Response: Gubby, your soul! Quick, siphon it into a beaker before it's lost forever lolwut this response should not be cracky I'll stop now.

I...I think I might decline a taste of your sad. All your creys, then. All your creys.

D'awww. You're too nice. And...even though I've been writing this fic for something like three years ago and I've tried it as a novella, as a tiny one-shot, as drabble, and as this - the ending is the one thing that has never changed. Of course he'd never have set her free. It's the one feature of the story that's been present from the very beginning. You know me, I like my angst.

Consider soul messed with ;~;

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by The Wizard of Potterland Christmas in Prison

14th November 2011:
It was beautifully written. I really liked it :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #15, by justonemorefic Christmas in Prison

14th November 2011:
OMG DRACO/LUNA I MUST READ.

You actually reminded me that the Death Eaters are human. I mean, horrible horrible people, some who are literally insane, but some of them with families and then you get reminded of the harsh truth: ĎNo, of course I did. What do you think? Iím not going soft. Thatís how you get killed.í

The descriptions of Luna ;_; Omg there is downtrodden and then there is heartbreaking. The little details -- her eyes, the sweater -- I can actually see her strength through all of it.

AND I DID NOT SEE THAT DREAM COMING D: and now I am sad, because for a moment I was like YES DRACO, BE A GOOD BOY.

OH GOOD, HE'S TRYING.

Omg I love your dialogue. I love everything about this conversation. Also, I love that she thinks he's going to poison her.

Oh, burrrn. they say Iím worthless and youíre only fit to deal with the worthless people-í

;_; desperate Luna. Like I don't know how to say it BUT IT'S PERFECT AND THIS IS SO HEADCANON I CAN'T. And the last part is SOULCRUSHING ANGST OMG JULIA WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO ME. Clinging to the little bits of hope and then her faltering smile when he goes back to lock the door and oh my god Draco just escape with her to the countryside and make a happy AU now please.



Author's Response: EEE HELLO~

I've always kind of thought of them that way...I felt that JKR really worked to present them like that in the books with the fate of the Malfoys, etc. Not just black and white but shades of grey etc etc~

Downtrodden is like...my genre, baha.

The dream was...the dream was probably the only bit I /didn't/ rewrite. Except it wasn't a dream in the first few incarnations, which were sloppily written and very shippy indeed. This fic has been stagnating on my hard drive since like...2008. I kid you not.

THIS IS 100% MY HEADCANON. Heh. And of course it's angsty, you know I love my angst! And /of course/ he couldn't have let her go. Draco's a cowardy custard. In all incarnations of this fic and variants that I've never written...it always ended with him locking the door. SORRY TO KILL YOUR DREAMS. (the dream is collapsing)

thank you thank you thank you for such a lovely review! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login