Reading Reviews for If Only In My Dreams
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp If Only In My Dreams

11th January 2013:
Hey! Here for review tag!

Well, seeing that I was the one who beta-read this,
I figured I should review it too.

And, on that note, you should probably get a nice
little banner for this lovely story :) Banners always
attract people to stories =)

I really liked your plot concept here. Blaise and his
unrequited love made me go 'awww'. I think you've
written this beautifully and expressed Blaise's
feelings really well through your narrative. I merely
helped you a little, but the major ideas, concepts,
and narrative was yours, after all! I liked the whole
'dream' quite a lot, it was written in a lovely
manner.

All in all, this made for a really nice and pleasant
read and I am glad I could help you out for this
story!

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Yes I do need a banner for this story dont I? Anyways, thank you so much for being my beta reader for this story. I really loved the way that this turned out! Honestly, I'm still not sure where this plot idea came from, all I know is that I had the song on repeat while I wrote! I dont know what it is about Blaise and Ginny that really has me interested in them being together but I do like them. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #2, by Remus If Only In My Dreams

25th September 2012:
Heya! Perelandra here with your review! :D

So I've been meaning to read this one for a while so I'm glad that I finally got the chance.

I always knew that Blaise had a thing for Ginny! He never fooled me in HBP despite the fact that he admitted that she was attractive. Even though this is short, I really felt bad for Blaise here since it was pretty much a one sided ship. His anger, his frustration for not being the one Ginny married, the disappointment that he feels that he never had a chance with her...it all felt very realistic here. The narrative is what made the story very believable.

The daydream charm was great! But, still! I continue to feel bad for him because its only a temporary fix to his desire. It almost made me wonder if he could get addicted to that charm in order to live in his fantasy world instead of the real world where Ginny is with Harry. Could be possible now that I think about it...sort of like his personal drug.

Overall this was a great piece! :D

On a side note though. Here you have that Ginny has "Sapphire blue" eyes. Putting aside the point that Ginny's eyes are brown, sapphire is already a blue color so it feels like you're saying Ginny's "blue blue eyes". If you drop the 'blue' and keep the description as sapphire, it would work without feeling repetitive.

Other than that, I enjoyed this one-shot a lot! :D

--Rosie

Author's Response: Yeah I forgot to look up what color her eyes actually are so I accidentily put in blue and I can see how that bit is repetitive so I shall look into fixing that small mistake! I feel bad for Blaise in this as well! he wants to be with her, but puts her happiness above his own! It's rather sweet! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cleopatraa If Only In My Dreams

5th August 2012:
Seeing I have this image of Blaise Zabine being kinda hot ( letís hope he inherited his momís good genes) and I was quite intrigued about that little train scene in the book. I knew I had to read this. But first thing first I would recommend getting a banner for this.

You would look up at me with those sapphire blue eyes of yours and after a momentís pause a big grin would form over your face and you would wrap your arms around me.

Doesnít Ginny have brown eyes instead of blue? ( Or am I just plain wrong). Anyway I like the fact that this is unrequited love I mean it sounds harsh but in life you will not always get the one you want and neither does Blaise. Though I would prefer Ginny with Blaise instead of Harry I never had the idea they really fitted together. I thought this was very sweet and I really felt sorry for the poor guy!

Author's Response: I'm not sure what color Ginny's eyes are really, I never looked it up. I'm glad that you enjoyed this oneshot though! I knew as soon as I got the song for the challenge that I wanted do this and managed to write this in just a matter of an hour or so after getting the song! I really enjoyed writing this so I'm glad that you enjoyed reading it! Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #4, by academica If Only In My Dreams

2nd March 2012:
Hey there! Here from Slytherin Review Tag :)

I really liked this! I think what I liked so much is not so much the ship itself but the fact that, up until the end, I feel like it could have been the story of any Slytherin and any Gryffindor, any pair of star-crossed lovers that could never be. I really felt the pain in Blaise's words and the frustration he felt over the fact that the love he wanted could never be. I also liked how he didn't totally lose himself in fantasy but forced himself to acknowledge the reality that Ginny would probably never react to him the way that he wanted her to. Still, the moment at the end was very touching, and it definitely makes the reader want a different end for Blaise.

Great work! :)

Amanda

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you liked this oneshot and that you could feel Blaise's pain for his love over Ginny. Blaise just loves Ginny so much that he wants her but he also wants her to be happy more than anything so he wont disrupt her life instead coming to terms with it and allowing himself these small moments where he can pretend she is his! I'm glad that ending makes you wish for a different one for him as i was hoping to make people feel bad for him! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #5, by TenthWeasley If Only In My Dreams

16th February 2012:
So, it's with no small amount of guilt that I come by this particular one-shot. Because I KNOW I promised you a review on it ages ago, and it's really not fair to keep you waiting on it so long. :( And so I am here now with a lot of apologies and begging of forgiveness!

I felt so sorry for Blaise throughout this, because it really did seem like he loved Ginny, you know? (Well, yeah, you probably do know.) But I thought the emotions were written quite well here, and nothing seemed melodramatic or forced. It came very naturally, and I think that's really important, especially in a short story like this. And I sort of just love how a whole pairing like this can be built on one line from canon too! If JKR hadn't included that small snippet in HBP about Blaise finding Ginny attractive, then this might not even exist. Yours is one of the more realistic spins I've seen on the pairing, too.

And I loved the inclusion of the daydream charm, as well. I've seen several variations of that charm in fic here and there, and I love it because everyone seems to write it differently -- such different interpretations of one canon thing. I don't know why, but it's just something I like reading about. :)

I really am sorry this took me such a long time to review, Erica. Every time I remembered about it, I was wrapped up in something I'd already started, and every time I was free, it seemed to slip my mind. Remind me about these things when I forget -- I won't take offense! ♥ Excellent work!

Author's Response: EE! Jane! you made my day with this! I was so excited to see this review from you! I'm so glad you liked it and thought that I did the emotions well! Also I'm super happy that you think this is a realistic spin on the pairing as well. It is interesting how we can all come up with different ideas for one thing. Don't worry about it! I'm just glad you finally got around to it! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #6, by charlottetrips If Only In My Dreams

12th February 2012:
What an interesting premise! I don't think I've actually read a Ginny/Blaise story before. His intentness and determination to have her coupled with his honoring of her marriage for her, it's an interesting dichotomy. You did switch from Blaise talking to Ginny to him talking about her in the end but otherwise it was a well-written.

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! I've read some dramione's where blaise and ginny are on the side as a romance as well and have really enjoyed them and after listening to the song I was given for the challenge I knew this is what I wanted to do with the story. I'm so glad you enjoyed it and I will look over that little bit at the end. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #7, by I_trusted_Snape13 If Only In My Dreams

4th January 2012:
Hey there :)

So, I'm glad we did a review swap because this was a GREAT one shot!

I had never read a Blaise/Ginny ship story before, I always thought it was too far fetched, but this just sounded...good. I was glued to the story from the beginning.

I like the daydream aspect, that was nice.

I felt bad for Zabini!

I think you captured the feelings one would be experiencing really well! I liked the way he described how he wanted to go in there and interrupt her wedding and be her knight in shining armor, but how he didn't do it.

I absolutly adored the ending! It was just...perfect!

Only critique: It was too short :) I wanted to keep reading! I know it told the whole story...I was just really caught up in it!:D

Great job :)
10/10
~Hanna

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm really glad that you enjoyed it and that you liked the dream concept of it as well. Also that you thought that I captured the feelings in the piece well and that you liked the bit about wanting to interrupt her wedding. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16 If Only In My Dreams

3rd January 2012:
Aw, this was a really sad but cute one-shot. It was short and brief, which I liked, although I'd liked to have read more. But it was very sad and emotional that he's always wanted her but always known he could never have her. It was also very well written and beautiful. You did a really good job on this.

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words! I really enjoyed writing this piece and it came almost instantly and had it finished the same day i started it! I wanted it to be sad in that he loved her but that he loved her so much he wouldn't want to take away her happiness. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #9, by Emerald_Eyed_Bookworm If Only In My Dreams

29th November 2011:
Great writing!!! Although I'm not sure I can judge the characterization because I'm not to familiar with Blaise's character. Other than that, the story reads like a very angsty love song - which is a perfect fit for the plot. I felt like I was in a smokey cafe listening to a poetry slam.

Again, good job and sorry for the delay.

-Em

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm really glad you like the story and that it reads like an angsty love song since it is supposed to be like that.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #10, by Dramionie_Child If Only In My Dreams

8th November 2011:
Aww, this is so sweet! I felt really sorry for poor Blaise :( (Though I may, or may not, have laughed out loud at the thought of Ginny's face if he ruined her wedding day...) I loved this, even though I haven't exactly heard this song. I shall go and look it up now!! I hope Blaise, one day, gets the girl he's always wanted - not some stupid, stuck-up pureblood gal that isn't ginger. Then he could at least have the gingerness! As I said earlier, I felt very sorry for Blaise, and dream almost made me sob.

But I never sob, EVER.

Hope you liked my review, and our review swap went well :D Lot's of writing love,

Childy

x

Author's Response: first let me say i'm sry i haven't gotten to your review swap yet! I've been so busy with school and work and then christmas i haven't really had any time for anything plus i did NaNo this year so that ate up a lot of my time as well. I'm really glad you liked it and that the emotions i was going for really seemed to come out to you! Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ring_Felton97 If Only In My Dreams

7th November 2011:
Slytherinchica08,
I really enjoyed reading your story. You did a great job conveying the emotions through your words and I think that you really did capture the essence of the song in your story. I could feel the anguish and the agony that Blaise felt and I think that how you described him in a very selfless way as he cared more about Ginny's happiness than his own was great. I love how you incorporated the one lyric from the song ("It's only you and me.") in such a casual way, meaning that if you didn't know the song, you wouldn't have guessed that it was part of the song but the impact of the lyric to those who knew the song was deep because it fit perfectly with the mood and it showed in one sentence how much Blaise really loved Ginny and how desperate he was to be with her. I also liked the idea of using the daydream charm. I've read it done before but the way you used it was very flowy and not at all choppy or cheesy. And finally; since it's getting a bit long; I think your choice of ship was perfect for the lyrics and the message of the song...Or I could be biased since I'm a hard-core Dramione shipper... So great story and I'm very glad you decided to write this challenge! :D

~RingFelton

Author's Response: EEK! your review has completely made my day! I am also a huge dramione shippper and have never attempted writing ginny/blaise but i've read stories with them and i like it. Thank you so much for the absolutely wonderful review. I really enjoyed writing this story and am really happy with the results of the story. I'm so glad you enjoyed it and that you felt my placement of It's only you and me fit really well and showed how much Blaise loves Ginny! Again thank you so much for the absolutely wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #12, by LunarLuna If Only In My Dreams

6th November 2011:
Aww!! This was such a sweet and gentle little story. It made me smile even if it's sad...

There was something so... innocent and pure in this story. I can't really explain it. Maybe it's just the fact that he wasn't jealous of Harry, not really, he was heart broken, but he didn't want to take Harry's place. He just wanted to hold Ginny in his arms and be the one to make her happy.

There's a major difference and I think you pulled this story off really well. Where it could have sounded like the cheesiest story ever written if it wasn't turned well, you made it sound like a beautiful love story...

I'm stunned that you managed to put so much emotion in so little words without it sounding overcharged. It was very easy to read, very... flowing :) i'm really glad I read this!!

It's really fantastic, well done!

-June

Author's Response: Aw I'm so glad you liked it. I had fun writing this and wrote it all in one day! I'm glad its not cheesey but has a beautiful love story. I didn't exactly want blaise to be jealous I mean in a way he is but he loves her so much he just wants her to be happy so the only way he can be with her and be happy too and let her stay happy is in his dreams! I'm glad you liked it thanks so much!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #13, by LittleWelshGirl99 If Only In My Dreams

6th November 2011:
For some reason I was singing these words in my head, they sound really amazing when I read it like that!

It's a nicely written story, and a ship that I have always liked! I love Gryffindor/Slytherin ones. (not the founders, people from those houses :P).

It is very much focused on Blaise's love for Ginny, with not much background detail on Blaise or anything like that. Blaise seems a tad OOC as well, but it just depends what the readers might like! I prefer a canon Blaise personally, but as we don't really know much about him from canon this works :D
Well done, great story!
LWG :)

Author's Response: aw thanks so much. Yeah I figure he is slightly ooc but when someones in love the boundries blur. I'm really glad you liked it. I also enjoy gryffindor/slytherin esp. dramiones! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this for me!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login