Reading Reviews for The Yule Ball
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 The Yule Ball

18th July 2012:
Heya!

It's great to read about the minor characters of Hogwarts. I always get a thrill when I find more stories like these because to me reading about the less mentioned characters completes the world of Harry Potter. Expands it beyond what we know from Harry's point of view.

I must admit it. Romance is not my favourite genre to read but this one shot bubbled the fluff inside me. I have never experienced something like this (being asked to dance) so your story helped me imagine how it would be like. I loved the light hearted style of it and how you managed to introduce us to a new character, almost an OC. From what I've read she seemed pretty real. A girl with normal thoughts and desires for her age. A girl who wishes to feel part of a group, a community. I take it that she didn't get along too well with her fellow Slytherins.

There are some minor things I could suggest, if you'd like. "sloppy note to home" - to me, I think "a sloppy note home" would sound much better and would keep the flow of the story intact. Also, "Theo and I were able to get inside the doors" - I think "get through the doors' would suit that phrase much better.

A lovely read it has been. Kudos for having the courage to write from a Slytherin's point of view and pull it off nicely!

REVIEWED FOR THE HOUSE CUP 2012 COMPETITION

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I will look into those suggestions and possibly give this oneshot an edit sometime soon! I'm glad that while you dont normally read romance this stick gave you fluffy feelings! Tracey and Theo are one of my favorite pairings and I'm so glad that you enjoyed reading about them! Thank you again!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #2, by Siriusgirl The Yule Ball

10th April 2012:
This was a cute story! I totally ship Theodore and Tracey, and almost paired them for the Yule Ball. Great job. Love it!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm really glad you liked it! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #3, by charlottetrips The Yule Ball

17th February 2012:
Hi! Here with the Review Swap! I noticed a few of your summaries had the name Tracey Davis so I was trying to find the earliest one so I could keep up with your OC. I think I failed because in the first few lines of this story, Tracey calls herself the ďUnnoticed SlytherinĒ and I saw you had an earlier story named such *cries*

...and I'm fine now! Onto reviewing.

It's interesting to have an OC as a Slytherin. Most OCs authors write are either Ravenclaw or Hufflepuff (I think because there were so little from that House seen in the books).

I feel like these questions: How should I have my hair? What do you think of my dress? I wish so-and-so would ask me. - should either be quotation marked or italicized to set it apart.

It's funny to think of a Slytherin reading but I guess if it's a sappy romance novel, she can be excused :)

I did have attention on the fact that you kind of skidded over the Yule Ball preps and while I understand that she was asked out last minute, I still think there could've been more building up to the main event. Also, do we find out in a later story how Theo even thought to ask her out or what exactly attracted him?

However, the way you've described the whole Yule Ball is great and very descriptive. I'm very much there with Tracey, in all her nervous excitement. It's so cute because it is like a first date. The two have barely spoken to each other (which I don't know if you meant to do that, but that's kind of the awkwardness I experienced as a young gal dating).

Aw, this was so cute!

xChar

Author's Response: Technically Tracey isn't an Oc character as she is mentioned on J K Rowlings list of harry's classmates though she is never mentioned in the series. I'm glad you enjoyed the bit about the actual yule ball yeah I figured first dates are usually very quiet.. or at least awkward of some sort. I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #4, by daliha The Yule Ball

6th January 2012:
Did I say I love minor characters! This was a sweet one-shot giving us a glimpse at the Yule Ball from a different perspective, I like how you mentioned Pansy and her girls. :)

I'm glad to see Tracey got to have a good time

Author's Response: Thank you! I just love this pairing and wanted to experiment with them going together and what it would be like from a pov of those who are not champions! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #5, by Cleopatraa The Yule Ball

9th November 2011:
Review Swap!
Well here I am with your review! Sorry I took so long I sorta forget. This is the second fic I read of yours and both coincidentally are Tracey/Theodore so I think you are rather fond of that pairing or not. Not that itís a bad thing as I enjoy the pairing myself! Aww I really felt for Tracey when she thought she was stood up or if it was a joke for a sec I thought you wanted to do that but Iím glad you didnít ! Because most others authors forget that most of us are still writing about teenagers and teenagers do have their moments of insecurities. So kudos on that! This was incredible sweet and I think you a great job! Lovely one-shot!

Cleopatraa

Author's Response: I love tracey and theo, i dont know what it is about them that has captured me but they have. I think everyone has their insecurities not just teenagers but even adults have them and honestly they are what makes life interesting sometimes, thinking someone has stood you up but really they are only running late or something of that nature. I'm glad you really liked it! Also I'm sry about not getting to your review swap yet.. i've been super busy with the last few months of school and then christmas and work has me there almost everyday so it makes it really hard to find the time to read. i hope to get to it really soon though.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16 The Yule Ball

1st November 2011:
Oh, it was so sweet and fluffy! I loved it! Tracey and Theo are such a cute couple.

Author's Response: Aw! thank you so much for the unexpected review! I'm so glad you like it and think that Tracey and Theo are a cute couple! I can't wait to begin putting up my NaNo for people to read- hopefully you will give it a shot!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #7, by TenthWeasley The Yule Ball

31st October 2011:
Hey, Erica! I said I'd review this after work, but as it turned out I had to work the circulation desk for an hour or so instead of shelve, so I got to read it during the sort of slump periods in between checking out books. :D So here I am!

This was so cute and romantic, and I always love reading stories about the Yule Ball -- and yours certainly did not disappoint! I'm even more excited now about your Tracey/Theo NaNo project (which is around seven hours away -- eek!). I can tell you love writing them, and that just makes the story so much more enjoyable for the reader. :)

Your description only improves with each further story I read from you, and I love how you're giving life to the characters of Tracey and Theo -- canon, but that's as much as we know about them. The kiss was especially darling! I got warm fuzzies in my heart. ♥

Great job, Erica, this was a lovely story! One of your best. :3 You should be proud!

Author's Response: Aw your review is just so wonderful! I can't wait until I can start putting up my NaNo piece for you to read! I do love writing them very much and I can't wait to see the reaction that other people have with them so we shall see! I'm so glad you think my description is improving with everything I write that really means a lot to me! Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #8, by AC_rules The Yule Ball

31st October 2011:
Will this was the cutest darn thing.

Seriously, 100% golden fluff. And I loved it.

I thought the characterisation of Tracey being unsure about herself and thoes normal teenage insecurities (surely esspecially so given the Slytherins) was really well done - not so much that I felt like she was whining and I wanted to slap her, just enough to be believable and beautiful.

Theo, now he was very cute. Your characterisation of him was really consistent and I want him to ask me to the next yule ball.

Grammaticaly, there were a couple of missed commars but other than that it was pretty sound.

Lovely!

-AC

Author's Response: EEK! I'm so glad you like it! I absolutely love Tracey/Theo which is probably why I'm doing this pairing for my NaNo as well. Not many people write about them so I'm always very nervous about the reaction I will get from people. Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm so glad you liked it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login