Reading Reviews for Pride & Pestilence
  
137 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ohnobeans The Trouble With Cousins

10th December 2014:
I'm loving this story! You've done a marvelous job interweaving the magic of the Harry Potter world with the magic of the early 1800's. I was too wrapped in the other 10 chapters to even THINK about reviewing! You have me hooked!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ink Lover The Trouble With Cousins

19th November 2014:
You write so beautifully! Please continue :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by oldershouldknowbetter The Flowers of London

15th October 2014:
Dear Violet Gryffindor,

It was with the greatest pleasure I received your latest reply; pleasure and relief that our correspondence wouldn't be seen as improper and hence could continue.

Before I comment upon this chapter, I wish to address a note you raised in your last letter. I do indeed believe and maintain that for Rose marriage is the enemy. Unfortunately in these modern times it has become the fashion to vilify and hate the enemy. I believe your rejection of my assertion was based on this view of 'enemy'.
In the days of yesteryear it was not deemed necessary to hate your enemy; rather, the common soldier might hate the aims and goals of the enemy or their leaders, but they would treat the enemy, once brought to their knees, usually with honour and respect.

This is the enemy that rose faces - the casting of an able and capable person (a woman) into an insipid role that almost requires one to become brainless to survive. This is what I meant, she must strive to defeat it, to rein it in and bend the marriage state to her fit or otherwise the Rose we know and respect, I fear, will be lost forever.

Now onto this, the third chapter.

Malfoy has left, but his shadow casts a pallor still across the Potter residence, at least amongst the young ladies therein. We are not privy to Rose's thought upon the matter, but we see Lily's in detail. Ashamed she is by her cousins head-strong and disrespectful nature; I wonder whether she is dreading if more and worse is to come at the Ball.

Two new players enter our tale as we meet two of the male Potters; the Mister Potter and one of the Master Potters. Only now have I realised that the appellation of Master Potter sounds like Albus is in trade - how droll that must sound.

Mr Harry Potter appears to us very statesmanlike and almost reserved and austere. Though I think this outer appearance is a mere facade that he presents to the world and the unworthy. Instead of reserved, methinks it should be more correctly said that he reserves his emotions for only those he wishes to share them with. Instead of austere he is simply not ostentatious with either his dress or his abilities. If any further confirmation of his underlying goodness and generosity of spirit is needed we only have to look at his indulgent treatment of his wife, his daughter, the callers spoken of in the previous chapter that are always desirous of his opinions and especially his son.

His son, Master Albus Potter, what a contradiction he presents; such a commendable person in some regards yet so unsympathetic in others. I shall skip over his gaudy clothing, its use in your narrative to reinforce his percieved appearance is obvious and requires no further discussion. Instead I want to focus upon what Lily says of his 'lack of brains'. This reader at least hopes that Albus is not entirely stupid. The text seems to support this hope - surely the witless could not wrest secrets from the courts of Europe; nor would he possess the fortitude of character ascribed to him and would instead be intemperate. So, hopefully this 'lack of brains' speaks more to his magical talent and not entirely to intellect. I feel as the story continues the depths of his character may be revealed to a far greater extent.

Our suspicions from earlier in the chapter are confirmed by Lily herself - she is worried about what Rose will say, how Rose will act. Though as Albus himself observes, Rose is attractive and from him it also means that she is dressed well; so she won't shame Lily in that respect, at least. To use the modern parlance, she 'scrubs up well'.

To serve Lily's character any justice it must be said that the characters whom engender the greatest respect from your devoted readership would not be those who do so for Lily's contemporaries; indeed it would be entirely contra-wise. We, your modern audience, respect Rose and the elder Potters for staying true to themselves and damning what society thinks (excuse my use of the vulgar). The opposite is true for the society of the time. Lily would be seen as the normal one, which is why she cannot understand the actions of Rose or her Parents. Especially when she believes her mother is about to allay her fears of Rose's upcoming behaviour and instead supports Rose, increasing her unease. To the society of the time, Rose's ideals of marrying where she will, despite her low status and inferior connections, is absurd at worst and hopelessly naive at best.

Lily shows she does have some true feelings, some vivaciousness: her cheeky response to Albus; her 'country' unsophistication at seeing the finery and splendour of the city; and even her little doubts as to marriage being the only option open to her.

So with this chapter done, we have finished most of the important introductions. The stage is set and the pieces have been put into place. The only other major possible player from cannon, conspicuous by his absence, is James. Though the way these fictions normally run, usually only one of the brothers has a major bearing upon Rose and hence the story - in some it is James, in others it is Albus, but rarely are both equally as important - so his lack of appearance may not mean much (then again ...). The hints that you drop concerning the society outside our little sphere of interest are tantalising and speak of a rich landscape which will surely impinge upon our tale ere long.

So with the introductions out of the way ...

Lily left alone upon the dance floor - I feel the plot is about to begin.


Yours Faithfully,

OlderShouldKnowBetter

Ps. Blackwoods would be sure to run your periodical and be glad to have it - no matter the gaps between chapters - because I am sure that each issue that carried your writings would jump in circulation.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Paddlewaddle The Trouble With Cousins

12th October 2014:
I have waited for this moment for so long that I almost got the preceding events of this chapter. I shall go reread it now but I cannot wait for more!

And yes, I find it incredibly hard to find Historical AU fics for Scorpius and Rose, especially anything in the victorian era. There are many modernised Romeo and Juliet style fics, but very rarely do I find one that emulates the essence and period of Pride and Prejudice which I think is perfect for Scorpius and Rose. If there are any good and completed historical AU Scorose fics you know, please shoot them my way as I will be forever greatful!

 Report Review

Review #5, by oldershouldknowbetter The Pestilence Comes Forth

22nd July 2014:
Dear Violet Gryfindor,

Like yourself, I must begin this letter with an apology about my tardiness in response. I had mislaid my correspondence to you in such a manner that in examining letters received after yours, I inadvertently passed over your response. I cannot hide behind any better reasons for my delay as could you. I feel too much time may be wasted in our correspondence if our first paragraphs are always to be given over to apologies; so let us forget any lateness of reply to come and instead chuse to forgive each other afore-hand for any possible future delays.

Also, I must admit to one area of concern. My good lady wife pointed out that such a correspondence between a man of my years (not too great I assure) and a young lady may be misconstrued. To allay any such fears could you please forward my details to your guardians so that I may squash any notions of impropriety.

Enough with the formalities and now let us on to examine and explore your wonderful work.

After the introduction of your principal character in the first chapter, I must say that this follow up in which our hero's protagonist is first glimpsed, does not disappoint. There is a lightness of touch about your words that oft times brings a smile to this reader's lips at least. It serves though as a wonderful counterpoint when drama and seriousness is needed in your narrative.

The beginning of this chapter acts as an introduction to the Potters, the parents at least. Lily was introduced in the proceeding chapter and the two elder brothers are still conspicuous by their absence. As too is the father throughout the entirety of his introduction, though being a larger-than-life figure, his absence is a mere trifling matter. He, unlike Rose's honourable father, did not fare too badly either during the war or its aftermath. His natural modesty and disinclination for personal power prevent him from accepting the highest post in the land. In this respect he takes after his mentor, except in his mentor's case, it was due to believing he should not be entrusted with so much power; Mr. H. Potter's motives for declining the post are far more virtuous.

The Mrs. Potter does make an appearance however. She esteemed herself in the war and in other pursuits, despite the supposed limitations of her sex. She should be viewed by Rose as somewhat of a role-model; being as she is a strong, almost independent woman who knows her own mind. Her wealth, her connexions and especially a loving and tolerant husband allow her to indulge herself in pastimes and a freedom of behaviour denied to a lot of her sex.

Rose cannot see how wonderful an equal marriage of partners who can truly respect each other can be. Perhaps she is blinded to this realisation due to her proximity to the family, having observed and grown up with the Potters all her life she cannot see it for the example it clearly is. It is what she should be striving for, to find a partner who will bolster and support her person and her endeavours. Instead she sees matrimony as the enemy and to be avoided at all costs.

Using her dislike for Quidditch as an excuse, Rose refuses her Aunt's offer to accompany her into society, well a section thereof at least. A society moreover that Rose would have less trouble with than that found in pursuits involving Lily; though Rose's naievity involving the world at large prevents her from realising the truth of the matter. Instead she is forced to practice dancing, a pastime she has no inclination and no aptitude for. Practicing with Lily only serves two purposes: the first is to frustrate her cousin; the second being to introduce Master Malfoy into your little drama.

He enters the proceedings with impertinence, a smirk and a general air of being disdainful for the feelings of others. His manner and voice immediately serve to antagonise Rose. The encounter does nothing to alter any preconceived notions about the scion of the Malfoy House that Rose may have garnered from her father's opinions. Poor Miss Potter is left shamefaced by Rose's words and manner, but Rose feels no contrition in the slightest. Her dislike of Master Malfoy is only deepened upon the revelation of the object to her scrutiny. So ostentatiously fashionable and rich and superior and arrogant; she believes him to be all this, but as the reader knows, it is on too superficial an inspection. No, if this is what she must strive to attract, then Rose is even more decided that she wants no part of modern men or marriage.

It is significant that Master Malfoy takes his leave of Miss Potter but doesn't say that it was at all a pleasure to meet this particular Miss Weasley.

This chapter is still mainly introduction, but no less for being so and is enlivened by being the first meeting between our two major players.

As ever I cannot wait to read further,
Your Faithful reader,
OlderShouldKnowBetter

a small p.s. if I may,
In my last letter I mispelt two as tow, I cannot look back upon my recording of the letter without shame. Please, please ignore it and I will strive to do better in the future.

Author's Response: Gentle Reader,

You need not worry about my tender years, which are, I must admit, long past, nor about your small errors in writing. Ink is indeed a cruel medium and the scratches of a pen can rarely be trusted to navigate a correct course through the maelstrom of the poor, low language of the Britons. Safely ensconced in my spinterhood, I must unfortunately beg leave to make this response brief so that I may employ the few moments I can spare for the story in question. It moves forward at the pace of a freezing glacier. All I can offer are my humble apologies for allowing myself to be so overcome with other tasks that I have neglected this story. Time passes so quickly when one fails to watch the clock, and only now do I realise that it has been nearly a year since the last chapter was published! If this had been a true serial, printed in Blackwoods (if I may be so bold as to suggest such a high-ranking periodical of our time), I surely would have lost my place!

Your interpretations of the characters are in accordance with mine own, which is of course a great pleasure to see. Even the absent Mr. Potter has a certain presence, visible in the structure of his household and the position he (unlike some) worthily holds. For myself, Mrs. Potter is the character of greater interest because she is a clear role model for Rose: she is accepted as a "lady" by society, yet she has also made her own choices, not allowing society to dictate her life for her. This may not be a tasteful trait to some, but for those like Mrs. Potter and Rose, it is essential to survival. They are not the type to do as expected - their mortal bodies contain too much life for it to be repressed by society's petty ways.

I do not know whether Rose views matrimony as an enemy. She does not like the thought of it, particularly because she is being pressured into that state. It is one she will only accept if she herself desires it, and that is of course always a possibility. The question is, with whom? It must be someone she can respect, whose intellect challenges her own. She cares not for appearances, which, as you will see once other young gentlewizards enter the story, may cause the greatest challenge of all. (One delightful aspect of writing in the Regency period is that young men are as, if not more, excited by fashion than the young women.)

Eagerly do I await your next missive to see what you will think of what occurs next. The following chapters do include some scenes of interest, and perhaps your observations will offer inspiration to this poor despairing author.

Yours,
Violet Gryfindor


 Report Review

Review #6, by paddlewaddle Equals and Opposites

4th June 2014:
You write beautifully and it is INCREDIBLY HARD to find a historical AU Scorose fanfic - INCREDIBLY HARD. Did I mention it was my favourite genre? This story is perfect and I hope you update soon cause this tension is getting hotter and hotter and I don't know how to handle these emotions! GREAT STORY SO FAR!

Author's Response: Is it that hard?! But it's a great ship for historical AUs. *shakes head in wonder*

Thank you very much for stopping by to read and review! It's fabulous to hear that you've enjoyed it - I'm working on the new chapter now, so it shouldn't be too long until the next update. :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by Guest Equals and Opposites

31st May 2014:
You're such a lovely writer. I I have loved the story so far and can't wait for more. The way you've incorporated history into the story is really interesting and above all else I adore the way you write in a similar style to that of the time. It's really refreshing. If you don't mind me asking, what are you studying at uni? Hope you are having a lovely day and thank you for writing!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! It's lovely to hear that you've enjoyed this story so far, especially its style. It's sometimes awkward, but usually fun to write this way - it means using words in an entirely different way that we do now, and I find it a refreshing change as a writer too. :)

I'm studying Victorian literature at uni - it's later than the Regency, but reading Vic lit all the time helps making writing this story much easier. :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by oldershouldknowbetter Sense and Insensitivity

16th May 2014:
Dear Violet Griffindor,

Forgive my forwardness for I know we have not been formally introduced. If you would allow it, I wish to make your acquaintance. In this society, as it is the custom not to use our proper names, I must make myself known to you by the sobriquet, OlderShouldKnowBetter.

This letter comes, in no small part, due to my recent perusal of this particular work of fiction. I was searching titles of the _ _ _ _ _fictions for a particular word when your work came to my attention. You cannot imagine how delighted I was to read your precis, only to find the setting for the tale to be in the Regency Period. My own belief holds that Scorose is perfectly fine no matter what time or setting, but apparently this was not the case for your good self.

My penchant for the exploits of Scorose has been stated elsewhere, though I shall restate the most apropos point here. I believe that the mere outlines of the two young persons, as originally laid down by that noted author J. K. R., describe a framework upon which such diverse characterisation of the tow can be laid. By setting your work in such a time and place, it is a wonderful way to emphasise certain points of character that other works do not.

Society's expectations have laid so much upon the doorstep of poor Miss Weasley, the most important being that she is not allowed to be her own person. Circumstance and family fortune, being what they are, have conspired to curtail her already limited options. Happy would she be, left to her own devices and not too great a burden would she become. Alas, she must pursue a marriage, almost the opposite of her desires.

We are presented with a brief introduction to her parents. A mere few words hint at so much, such wonderful economy by the author. I have always found Mrs H. Weasley's fascination and preoccupation with the plight of house elves to be not just overused in other author's fictions, but also to be a massive downplay of her outstanding abilities. Readers of subsequent chapters will know of revelations which throw a strong light upon this unhappy enthrallment. This reader, at least, is impressed with the author's rationale and the sense it makes of her situation.
Mister Ron Weasley is also mentioned as being an old war hero. A patriarch of very modest means, we get the impression he feels for his lovely, intelligent daughter but knows her options are limited.

To London then she must be bound, to be taken by her cousin and the Estimable Potter family; drawn into a society so greatly elevated over her previous one. Miss Potter's attentions are firmly set upon finding herself an eligible match. To do so she strives in the accepted feminine arts of fashion, needlework and simpering over unworthy, but rich, men.
Miss Weasley is not sympathetic to the custom that forces young ladies to renounce their abilities, their talents and even their intelligence in the vague hopes of finding a suitor of worth. She desires, nothing more and nothing less, than to be accepted for who she is by any man. She cannot see the advantage in a union which would be decidedly to her disadvantage in every way except monetary.
The Miss Potter points out the unwelcome truth - Miss Weasley must marry. Rose accepts the offer reluctantly knowing that the matter had probably already been decided betwixt the parents of each. Knowing as she acceded to the request, the outcome was likely to be far from good.

Thank you for doing me the honour of reading this missive, I await eagerly your response.

Yours most faithfully,
OlderShouldKnowBetter

Author's Response: Dear Reader,

It has given me the greatest pleasure to receive your message, and I must apologize for the tardiness of my reply. This author's time is unfortunately not her own, leaving her to steal whatever moments she can to indulge in her pastime. I have not at all regarded it forward of you to have contacted me without prior introduction - indeed, I am quite pleased that you have taken the time to express your admiration for this story and its characters.

There is something about the Regency period that makes the so-called Scorose ship more compelling. The young Mr. Malfoy is perhaps too well-suited to the role of Mr. Darcy and the character of Miss Weasley is equally admirable in the role of Miss Bennett. I cannot conceive of the relationship within its own period, but on moving it forward in time some two hundred years, I found myself nearly enchanted by its prospects.

The problem with this relationship is that it requires at least one of its parties to gravely disappoint their families with the match. It seemed wise to separate Rose from her parents so that she would be more able to make her choice for herself, but the question was, of course, how? I then thought of how potentially damaging an injury the then-Miss Granger may have acquired as a result of her tragic imprisonment. It is unfortunate that the traumatic after-effect of this imprisonment and, I must say it, torture was not more closely scrutinized and explored within Ms. Rowling's novel. Miss Granger does not emerge unscathed, and while she maintains most of her intellectual faculties, she finds it difficult to engage with the outside world, and thus prefers to reside in the country where she need not concern herself with the anxieties of urban life and society. There are occasions when she partakes in political schemes in the nearby village and surrounding county, but on the whole she finds herself better-suited to the life of a quiet academic.

I must once again offer my thanks for your kind missive, and I pray that you will continue to partake of this story's meagre offerings and that they continue to please.

Your servant,
The Author


 Report Review

Review #9, by Audrey Equals and Opposites

31st March 2014:
This is wonderful! It's been a while since I've read such a lovely piece of writing, and it is so so refreshing :) You write beautifully. I don't know if it's just me, but I feel like the fanfiction community mutually decided to stop writing one night haha. I really hope that you keep writing this story! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad to hear that you've been enjoying this story! :D This style of writing is refreshing to write, and it's fantastic that you find it as refreshing to read.

It's definitely going to continue - I've just been short on time lately. The next two chapters are partially written, and I hope to have at least one finished by May. It's that time of the year - winter term at uni is murderous, which is probably why we all had to stop writing at the same time.


 Report Review

Review #10, by em Equals and Opposites

15th January 2014:
Love love love this!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by AlexFan Equals and Opposites

2nd January 2014:
Hey there, I'm here for the 12 Days of Reviewing. This gave me the push that I needed to actually read the new chapter for this particularly awesome fanfiction.

I was so excited to see what had caused Adela to faint like that and I kept hoping that I would find out while reading but it never happened. However, I do look forward to when Rose does find out about why Adela fainted like she did.

The tension between her and Malfoy was so thick you could've cut it with a knife. Wow. I'm beginning to expect the two of them to either attack each other or hug each other (probably not hug though).

That last scene where Rose went to the Malfoy household to check up on her friend and instead met Scorpius was great. I could picture it in my head so clearly. It was just like a movie playing in my head.

But anyway, brilliant chapter!

Author's Response: It'd be no fun to reveal things too soon. ;) Not only was it necessary for Rose to have an altercation with Scorpius, but I think it'd be better to show more of Mr. Fitzgerald before hearing about the scandal so that readers can decide for themselves what kind of person he is.

Perhaps more importantly, the longer that Rose doesn't know, the more tension there is between her and Scorpius. It also draws her further into the Malfoy family, which is both a good and bad thing for obvious reasons. ;)

I'm so glad that you enjoyed that last scene! I hadn't planned it initially, but once I started writing it, all of the pieces fell together so easily, especially the visual aspect. :D

Thank you very much for stopping by to read and review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by ruby_slippers Equals and Opposites

1st January 2014:
LOVE IT!! So keen to "watch" all this pan out! Your style of writting is amazing and I love the way you have adapted Rowling's world and characters into this period piece. It is such a fascinating and elegant read! God Bless!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! You're way too kind. ^_^ I'm so glad to hear how much you've enjoyed this story!

 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderfan Sense and Insensitivity

27th December 2013:
Review tag! After you left me some lovely reviews on my story, I figured it was time to return the favour! :) I've been seeing this story crop up a lot and it was really about time I read it.

This is such an entertaining first chapter, I enjoyed it immensely. I think what I like most about it is that it's a rather silly idea combined with excellent writing - it's just so fun! Your writing flows a lot like Austen's, it's a very beautiful writing style. I feel like I could be reading some lost manuscript of Austen's, except that it's about Weasleys, haha.

I absolutely love the historical setting. This is by far one of the most clever ways I've seen to write next-generation fic. I love that you've managed to incorporate Muggle history in there as well as the wizarding wars, as this is just after the French Revolution - I like the way you integrated the two.

You've done a great job with the characterisation of Rose and Lily, keeping them interesting and original while at the same time confining them to the customs of the era. And of course, as the parallel to Lizzie in Pride and Prejudice, Rose is on the low end of the social spectrum here because of her blood status - it's neat how you wove the wizarding world into the sort of class distinction Austen mentions, it works very nicely. And I love how you've kept the canon-ness of the familiar canon characters as well, what with Hermione ensconced behind a stack of papers about house elf rights! Seems only fitting no matter what decade she lives in.

This is a really excellent start. I only can't believe it took me so long to begin reading this story! I've favourited it and will absolutely be returning to read more later! :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! You didn't have to, but it's lovely that you did! It means a lot to hear that you thought the writing excellent. ^_^ Oh it would be wonderful if this was Austen's lost manuscript - perhaps she was a witch after all, or she knew about the magical world through a relative. It helps a lot that JKR herself is a fan of Austen, and I've found that many aspects of her worldbuilding and characterization are founded on Austen's approach. The Weasley family easily lent itself to Austen's descriptions of the Dashwoods or Bennets, and the story keeps falling together from there.

This story is a fantastic opportunity to explore my love of that period from the French Revolution into the late-Regency, and I'm very glad to hear that you like how Muggle history and this alternative magic-verse have been integrated. :D It's the perfect period to work with - everything matches up nicely, right down to Hermione advocating for house elf rights when, in Muggle history, intellectuals were advocating for the abolition of slavery and expanded rights for women. Hermione's work is on a much, much smaller scale, but she still works from similar ideals - the desire for equality and justice that drove the radicals of the time.

Thank you again for this fabulous review! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by AriesGirl40 Equals and Opposites

23rd December 2013:
Rose was full of fiery energy at the end,, I almost wish she had finished her sentence.
I really enjoyed the chapter, see you soon!
Merry Christmas

Author's Response: Rose's anger was wonderfully refreshing to write, especially in a story with so many people being polite or guarded with their words. I almost which she had completed her sentence too, but it felt right to have her cut off her words - she knew she was going to say something she'd regret, something she wouldn't want revealed about herself or her family.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed the chapter! Enjoy your holidays. :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by Courtney Dark The Pestilence Comes Forth

16th December 2013:
Hey there!

This was another awesome chapter! I was absolutely hooked the whole way through!

I adore the characters you have created, almost as much as I adore how you have so perfectly written this time period.

I really loved your descriptions of Ginny in this chapter. It's awesome how you've managed to make the characters so canon (even a little bit cooler than canon) even though they're living in the 1800's.

Again, I loved your characterizations of both Rose and Lily. In many ways, they seem like such polar opposites, that it's amusing to read their interactions. I also love the little details you add in which somehow make me feel like I'm actually reading a book that was written many years ago - like the fact that Lily keeps addressing Rose as 'Oh Rose'. That made me smile!

Oooh, I loved Scorpius Malfoy's entrance! Your descriptions here were perfect, and I love that Rose made her opinion of him before she'd even seen him.

I'm looking forward to reading more!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: It's lovely to see another review from you! I'm glad to hear that this chapter hooked you in so well, and even more so that you've liked the characterizations. Adapting the next-generation fic for the Regency period has been more fun than I could have imagined. Ginny, even as a somewhat rebellious witch, fits perfectly into this society - in the Muggle world, she'd be an avid horse woman, very active yet also very involved in society. Harry is the progressive politician, Ron the disgruntled ex-soldier, Hermione the abolitionist/reformer, Draco the old blood aristocrat - they all fit just right. :D

Yep, Rose shows her prejudice mighty quick, though Scorpius is equally guilty of it. They're fated to clash, even more so in this story than in the books because of the fraught history between their families. It makes for wonderful tension, though!

Thank you again for reading and reviewing! I look forward to hearing what you think of the rest of the story!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Courtney Dark Sense and Insensitivity

11th December 2013:
Tag!

Oh my goodness this was an incredible first chapter! I am planning on adding it to my favourites already, and I've only just read the first chapter!

I can't believe I haven't stumbled upon this story already, because I am a HUGE fan of stories set in this time period, and haven't seen very many of them in fanfiction before! And, so far, I think you've written this time period perfectly. You've got the precise language down packed and the imagery and characterizations are all spectacular!

So far I love Rose's character! She is exactly what I imagine Rose would be like, if she lived in this time period. And I also love the contrast between Rose and Lily! Again, Lily is exactly as I would have pictured her - eager to find a handsome husband and attend balls and be the perfect wife. So different from Rose, who simply wants to be free.

I don't know what else I can say about this chapter, other than it was amazing, and I'll definitely be back for more when I get the chance!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Thank you, Courtney! It's fantastic to hear how much you already like this story - hopefully you enjoy the rest just as much. :D

I love reading and writing stories about this period - there's a lot of history and culture to build from, and for some reason, the way they used language fascinates me. There's a lot of subtlety in their way of speaking, which is one reason why Austen is wonderful to read.

I'm very pleased to hear that you like how both girls are portrayed so far, too. I didn't want them to be complete opposites - rather it's as you've pointed out, that Rose just wants her independence whereas Lily loves the glitz and glamour. They also have different, but not always opposing, views of how women should behave in society, and I've been enjoying playing with the tensions this creates.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Delusionist Miss Potter's Observations

25th November 2013:
I just stumbled across this story and I must say, I LOVE IT!

I have a feeling this is a mixture of Pride and Prejudice and Northangr Abbey, but at the same time, it's new and refreshing. I like how you combine history with the Harry Potter universe and make it seem, like it really could have happend that way, if Magic existed.

Is Malfoy always in a bad mood whe he is at parties, because a certain Red Head wasn't there?

And Mr. Fitzgerald, what could he have done? Due to the fact that Magic exists in this Story I would love it if you came up with another great idea about what he has done and do not take the original sin for your plot. Maybe something with dark Magic?

I hope you update soon! See you then :)

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you! It's fantastic to hear how much you've enjoyed this story so far!

The story combines parts elements from all of Austen's novels, some more than others (some probably more obvious in my head than on the page, too :P). I'm really pleased that you nevertheless think this story still feels new and refreshing - that's the best thing any author can hear. I love the possibilities of Regency-era fantasy stories, and it's fun to be able to write one for myself. :D

Haha, yes, Scorpius would likely be in a better mood if Rose was there (to shamelessly stare at).

Your idea regarding Mr. Fitzgerald is perfect! Thank you very much - I hope you don't mind if I build upon it because making him a rake like Wickham wasn't a satisfying prospect. I'd like him to be something more, but not particularly bad either.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! ^_^ I appreciate hearing from you!


 Report Review

Review #18, by WeasleyTwins The Pestilence Comes Forth

7th November 2013:
Hello Susan! I'm so sorry I'm so late getting this to you. They always told that teaching would be difficult and time-consuming, but I had no idea! Anyway, I'm here now :)

I know you said that I could review any chapters I wanted, so I'd like to go chapter by chapter. It's just easier for my brain since I've got so much going on! It also helps me when it comes to critiquing and such.

Okay, I do have a question. Are you doing a comedy of manners like Austen did (or so some critics like to propose)?

Even though this is the only second chapter, I feel like your plot is flowing nicely. The dialogue helps to move the plot along. Personally, I feel that your description is far superior to Austen's. It isn't stagnant - you don't just describe for the sake of having description; it's all purposeful. In this moment, I feel that moving any quicker would make the plot seemed rushed because of the tone and atmosphere you're trying to create and recreate based on the French Revolution and Austen's novel. As I go through the story, I'll be sure to pay special attention to the plot. For right now, I think you're on point.

Again, it's only the second chapter (second chapters are so ornery!), but I don't believe the romance aspect is at all overshadowed by character development. I think for an AU, character development is critical so that when the romance reaches its climax, we as readers will understand character reactions, dialogue, gestures, etc. You've presented this AU so very well, giving meticulous details so that readers are not disoriented. To me, the romance is like those fancy decorative flowers on a wedding cake: necessary for the occasion, but not the certain point. That make sense? Probably not, haha! The character development, plot, and setting are the game and the romance is the prize. So basically, Susan, I think it's going splendidly.

I did see a small typo, but now that I go back, I can't find it! It wasn't prominent. An ordinary reader wouldn't have caught it (I make myself sound like an English god or something :P).

Can I say that I loved Ginny so much here? You've stayed so true to canon, even with such an obviously AU story. She's so independent and unconcerned with the nonsensical feminine things - it's a great mirror to the Ginny we see in the books. Is Lily the literary foil for Rose here? They're at such a contrast with each other in all senses of the term, that it struck me as well crafted. Often times, we see writers who try too hard to make a character as unrealistic and quirky as possible or an exact replica of their protagonist - you, however, have crafted them so well. It's magical.

Overall Susan, I truly admire what you've done here. As always, I'm in complete awe of your talents. You deserve much applause for this story. I didn't find any aspect that needed CC. I cannot wait to keep reading!



Shelby

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review, Shelby! Your reviews are always a treat - when I receive them makes no difference. ^_^

This is a comedy of manners, I think. It's not really a romance, though of course there's no way to avoid including a marriage plot within the story. But I've found that the story is more about Rose's navigation of society, working past the prejudices against her to make her own way in the world. There's already been a point where I became so caught up in Rose's story that Scorpius fell by the wayside, but that's something that also occurs in Austen's novels - each story is as much (if not more so) about the heroine's personal growth as it is about the relationship between her and the hero. Lizzie and Emma are the best examples of this, of course.

Wow, thank you for those compliments about the descriptions! I'm also very pleased to hear that the story flows well in these early chapters. Finding the right way to situate readers within an AU without including too much backstory is a challenge, more of a challenge than I expected, so it is a relief that it's working so far.

"The character development, plot, and setting are the game and the romance is the prize." - this is very important! I can't describe how happy I am to hear someone saying it! How a romance develops depends far too much on those three factors for them to be placed in a secondary position. I like it when stories make the romance seem incidental, almost an accident that somehow happened along the way. It makes the story fuller, richer because it doesn't forget that there's a world outside of the romance, that there's always a world beyond the relationship between the two characters.

It's wonderful to hear that you like Ginny's characterization. She is quite a strange character to write, at least for me - fanon's perception of her is difficult to work around, but she's also a very unconventional character. I especially like how unpredictable she can be. She's an important mother-figure for Rose in this story, providing the role model for a witch who has found the perfect balance between family, her own interests, and society.

Your compliments are making my day - I'm actually glad that I held off responding to this review so that I could relive its positive effects when I needed them most. It means so much that you've enjoyed the story and its characters, and I look forward to hearing your feedback on future chapters. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #19, by AlexFan Miss Potter's Observations

6th November 2013:
It seems like Lily has found the man that she's been looking for, by the sounds of it anyway. Mr Fitzgerald sounds like a lovely and intelligent person, I'm sure that he and Lily would get along great with each other once they got to know one another.

I thought it was quite funny how all of those men were throwing themselves at Lily and showering her with compliments. It's amazing what a last name and a lot of money can do for you, isn't it? I'm so proud of Lily for not buying into any of the things that they said to her. It shows that she's a proper lady but she's not a foolish lady.

And my goodness, what has gone on between Adela and Mr Fitzgerald to cause such a reaction (I assume something bad). I've got an idea of what might have happened but I don't know if I'm right.

Author's Response: But perhaps he's too perfect for her. :P Though I do want her to be happy - she is so frustrated with her family all the time that she needs someone in the world who actually pleases her.

It's actually a positive scene for Lily because she's disgusted by their behaviour - she is surprisingly aware of the position her family name and legacy awards her, and it's to her benefit that she doesn't buy in to their compliments. She can tell genuine people from the fakes, something Rose would never give her credit for. I'm glad that you liked that aspect of Lily's character. :D

You'll see in the next chapter, haha. Thank you again for reading and reviewing! It's been wonderful to follow you through this story!


 Report Review

Review #20, by AlexFan Frivolity and Friendship

6th November 2013:
I think the reason that Rose didn't learn much about society and being a proper lady from Lily is because Lily was going about it the wrong way. Lily was more forceful and got annoyed really easily, which probably didn't help Rose in the least.

But wow, Rose has some big plans by the sounds of it. I can see where the problem might be though in having her name written on the book. Of course, Rose found a way. I wonder if she'll actually go through with the idea and write a history book (I'd read it, but that's just me).

Author's Response: Yes! You got it in a nutshell! Rose thought that she had it all wrong, but really Lily is the one approaching the role of witch from a strange perspective. She wants to be a traditional lady, even to the point of playing down her magic. And Lily certainly didn't have any patience for Rose's clumsiness - both physically and mentally. Rose isn't afraid to ask why, whereas Lily avoids that question whenever she can.

I'm glad to hear that you'd read Rose's book. It would be fun to see how she'd put it together - would it turn out like the Potter series, or would she take some other perspective?

Anyway, thank you again for reading and reviewing! It's been great to follow you through the story!


 Report Review

Review #21, by AlexFan A Promise Given

6th November 2013:
Scorpius's cousin seems like a really nice person, compared to Scorpius at least.

It must've come as a bit of a shock to Rose to hear such good things being told about her, and especially from Scorpius Malfoy of all people!

But the ending was definitely my favourite part of it this. It's amazing how much Rose seems to have grown on Scorpius after just one duel. I suppose that he was impressed with the fact that she beat him though so that's probably got something to do with it.

Anyway, great chapter!

Author's Response: In his own strange way, Scorpius is impressed by Rose's behaviour at the duel. He likes her in spite of himself and everything else about her, and this makes his cousin /very/ curious. Who knows, it's probably equally a mystery for Scorpius himself.

And yes, anyone - much less any /girl/ - who beats him at duelling is worth a second glance. I could say more, but I want to avoid spoilers. :P But just thinking about Scorpius's motivations has been helpful, so thank you for bringing them to mind!

Thank you also for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by j Miss Potter's Observations

31st October 2013:
I just love this story! I'm a big fan of happy endings, so i'm reading anxiously. I would love to read more about the young Malfoy! His thoughts... And, of course, i think all of your readers are waiting for their interaction! Tks for sharing and updating!

Author's Response: This one will definitely have a happy ending - I can at least give you that assurance. It'll be a bit rocky in places, though, so hold on to you hat. ;)

The next chapter will include a lot of Malfoy. I realized too late that he's been distant from the last few chapters, and now it's time to change that. :D

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad that you're enjoying the story!


 Report Review

Review #23, by AlexFan The Field of Dishonour

31st October 2013:
Oh snap, just oh snap. That was my only thought throughout this. At first I was confused because I thought that Rose wasn't in the chapter but I didn't question it and just went along with it to see where the story was going.

Honestly, I should've seen the fact that Rose was dressed up as Louis coming, I really should've. How else was she going to show up to the duel?

But going by the description. it doesn't sound like Rose has the gracefulness or agility to be a dueler but she can definitely hold her own if the outcome is anything to go by.

She sounded fierce though with the description that you used and I was silently cheering for her to win.

The ending though was pure brilliance, I almost got up and started clapping when I got to the end of the chapter. Scorpius's reaction though was a surprise as well.

I hadn't expected him to react in such a way, I was expecting something more overdone or childish with him or at the very least cold but this was a lot different than I expected. But the way that he admitted that he would never duel a worthier opponent put a smile on my face and made my ship Rose/Scorpius even more than I do.

Author's Response: Yay, the mean author that I am, I'm pleased that the narrative trick caught you. :P Rose of course has to be there, but the question is how? And she's really not graceful at all - it's also the reason why she's so bad at dancing. She knows the spells very well from her father, but it's the technique that still needs work.

It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the end of the chapter so much! Scorpius could definitely have played poor sport and either insulted her or just walked off the field without saying a word. But he respects her, both for her duelling and for the risk she took - she's got guts, and he likes that. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing! It means so much to hear from you!


 Report Review

Review #24, by AlexFan In Which History is to Blame

30th October 2013:
I kept chanting in my head "DO IT DO IT DO IT" because I wanted Rose to go to the duel even though she wasn't supposed to participate. I was almost disappointed because I thought that she was actually going to obey her Aunt Ginny when she said that women didn't participate in duels.

Naturally, that's not a Rose thing to do so I got really excited when Rose took Harry's advice and decided to go to the duel. It was such a Harry thing to do as well, telling her to go even though she wasn't supposed to.

Author's Response: Haha, I know! It would have been terribly disappointing if Rose had obeyed her Aunt, not to mention out of character. Hermione would happily ignore the rules if she knew that they were wrong, and in this case they are. Rose should be able to defend her own honour, if she pleases, rather than leave it up to Albus.

I'm glad to hear that Harry did the Harry thing - he knows his friends and knows what their daughter would be like. :D

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #25, by AlexFan Of the Prejudiced and Proud

30th October 2013:
I like your version of Victoire. More often than not, she's portrayed as either really mean or really ditsy and that can become really annoying after a while. It was refreshing to see Victoire as an actual mature person and kind to her cousin.

I was actually a little bit shocked when I came across her giving Rose advice, it's so unusual to see a version of Victoire that is actually caring and nice!

And I like how Rose isn't embarrassed about the fact that she isn't being asked to dance and that she's being left alone. I had prepared myself for her to realise that and blush or something but when it didn't happen, I was pleasantly surprised.

Yep, Rose is definitely becoming one of my favourite characters.

Author's Response: Wow, it's a surprise to hear that about Victoire! I've always assumed that she wasn't often depicted as mean, which is why I've written her that way in the past (well, not mean really, but not the nicest person either). But I'm pleased that you like the portrayal of Victoire in this story. Because she's the eldest cousin, she's almost more of an Aunt to them, and she wants the best for all of them. So she's affectionate while also very worldly - she knows everybody worth knowing, and that will help Rose a lot in the future.

I think that Rose would be more embarrassed at being asked to dance because she knows how poor she is at it. At least from the sidelines she can't make a fool of herself, poor girl.

Thank you again for reading and reviewing! It's wonderful that you like Rose in this story!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>