Reading Reviews for The Meaning of Lonely
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by javct The Meaning of Lonely

21st May 2012:
This was adorable!

Luna was one of my all favourite characters in the Harry Potter fandom so any one-shots about her I absolutely love. This was no different. The way you wrote Luna was brilliant - it was a new side of Luna that I don't think I've read before :) I liked how you made her vunerable and very conscious of what people thought of her :)

Really good!
Jas

 Report Review

Review #2, by charlottetrips The Meaning of Lonely

1st May 2012:
What a perfect mix of sequitur lonely Luna and the Luna that we see in the books, the one who doesn't seem to realize the strange effects she creates with her random pronouncements. I don't know how you managed it but you did capture her words, her thought process, enough to make me think that this was Luna I was reading about!

The small poem or whatever it is you had in there was beautiful. I don't know if you wrote it yourself or took it from something (which I don't think you did as there is no credit given).

Overall, the effect of this piece was getting the feeling of Luna being lonely, but still Luna to the core.

xChar

Author's Response: Oh I'm so glad you liked it! This is probably my favourite of all my fanfics, so to hear you thought it worked is really good!
The poem wasn't mine, it was given to me by the user setting the challenge. You can see the credit at the top!
I always love your reviews, so thanks for popping by again!
-Livi x


 Report Review

Review #3, by ravenclaw_princess The Meaning of Lonely

15th December 2011:
This is a sweet and meaningful story. I really felt Luna's loneliness. She was wonderfully characterised and I love how you brought in the 'imaginary' creatures and also her fathers influence on Luna's perceptions. I think this is a true perception of what it would have been like for Luna before she met Harry; she did seem quite alone before they met, with everyone avoid her and her eccentricities.

The song/poem was really nicely used with this fic and accompanied it rather than stop the flow. The whole story was well put together. Grammar was also really good.

I just want to go and give Luna a big hug now. Well done. I really enjoyed your story.

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad you enjoyed this, I'm really proud of it and so it makes me really happy to see that someone enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by justonemorefic The Meaning of Lonely

14th December 2011:
It kind of sounds like a younger Luna! Maybe during her first years at Hogwarts. I think it's an interesting way of viewing how she treats her imaginary creatures (I like how many you included!) and at how much her dad's influenced her. Especially since her dad was probably the only person in her life for a very long time.

There's a bit of modern slang mixed in there, you might want to watch, like 'totally' and 'haters' ;)

I don't know if Luna would be so bitter toward people, but that's probably why I feel like this is a younger her. Maybe before she's learned to accept the flaws of the world. It's always intriguing to try and understand how Luna became the Luna she grew up to be :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'd always thought of this being Luna at 14 or 15, because I think she retains that childish streak throughout her life. I think she also unknowingly probably becomes a little bitter inside, though she stays flawless inside. Just my opinion on things!
Thanks for reviewing,
Livi x


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lily Evans Potter ROAR The Meaning of Lonely

9th December 2011:
Aww, that is so sad but meaningful. You're not alone Luna I don't think you're crazy! Well not that...crazy. I love that this one-shot is short, cute, and has a meaning. I would never want to be alone either.

It is beautifully written and looks deep inside the characters feelings and thoughts. I'm going to have to add this story to my favorites.

-LEP
(Shoot for the Stars 1999 @ hpff forums)

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by June Knight The Meaning of Lonely

5th December 2011:
That was amazing and I love the way you captures Luna;s feelings and thoughts. This was a completely stunning poem fic (?) and I love your writing style! It really captivates the reader and I can find no fault. A great read! Congratulations

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by lunaweasley The Meaning of Lonely

26th November 2011:
WOW. That's really unique. WOW. Everything seems real-like JKR wrote it. Not relly, your styles are different. But this is an amazing piece that seems real. I love this piece and I shall faveriote this right NOW!

20/10

Author's Response: Oh thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I love Luna and her eccentricity and I had to have a go for myself at getting her in character, because she's one of the hardest characters to get right. I'm glad to hear that I did something right somewhere!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Timechild The Meaning of Lonely

17th November 2011:
Nice one-shot

Showed emotions well.

Nicely done

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you thought it showed Luna's feelings well!

 Report Review

Review #9, by AbbeyAndEleanor The Meaning of Lonely

11th November 2011:
Hi, I'm the person who made your banner for you :)
I tried to message you on TDA but you were offline before I could get to you. So what I wanted to say was could you credit me please? You've put the banner up but forgotten to credit.
It's enchantress @ TDA.
Thanks!

(good story btw)

Ellie

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so so so so so so so so so so so sorrry! I must have forgotten, I'll do it right away.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Millarz The Meaning of Lonely

10th November 2011:
This is beautiful! It's so sad and shows the deep dark secrets of Luna's thoughts in a quiet but revealing way. I liked it a lot! I especially liked how you said the whispery creatures went away. It's like her innocence and naivety is leaving her. So sad :(

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. The idea of the story is to leave you feeling sad and a little confused because the sadness is so innocent and naive but so deep that you don't know what to think of it, if that makes sense! Anyway, I'm glad it had the desired effect!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Bobby Dazzler The Meaning of Lonely

9th November 2011:
Howdy, leaving another review for the blue/bronze battle!

This is just a general observation and in no way a reflection on your story, but I'm surprised it got validated - there's a lot of poem in this which I think you're only permitted like 3 lines of a poem or quoted text or something to that effect, as stated in the ToS. How did you get it approved???

In regards to the formating, just a quick note, there is a lot of unnecessary blank lines between the text blocks. I'd suggest revisiting that just so your story reads easier without as much scrolling, because as it is it looks abit messy and is slightly distracting.

I love Luna, I think you did a nice job capturing her inner demons and the fact she's alone and misses her dad, that was sweet and sad. I understand that it's a glimpse into her mindset and not as much description is required I suppose, but it does rely heavily on the poem to move forward which is slightly unfortunate. I would've liked a bit more depth to support the story on its own, rather than based on the influence of a poem, but it was still enjoyable. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your feedback! In this challenge, the point of the story was to have the poem as the main focus of the story, describing how the poem relates to the character, if that makes sense, or that's how I interpreted it anyway, and I quite like it this way! I'm going to do something about the formatting though, people keep saying about that. As for the validating, nothing seemed to come up about the number of lines, I don't know how that worked!

 Report Review

Review #12, by LittleWelshGirl99 The Meaning of Lonely

3rd November 2011:
That's beautifully done! you've captured Luna's personality almost perfectly and the poem is really moving. Really love it!

Just a few typos that I spotted somewhere...but they aren't biggies.
10/10

LWG x

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I swear I'd already responded but maybe not, ah well!

 Report Review

Review #13, by SeverusSnape15 The Meaning of Lonely

2nd November 2011:
First, I want to thank you for entering my challenge! You did really good on this fic. It's short, but sweet. It didn't need anything more. I really liked it. It captured the poem PERFECTLY. It was great :)

Good job. The spacing could use some work, but that's all right and a very easy fix. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'll do something about the spacing at some point!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login