Reading Reviews for Purity Always Conquers
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SerpentineOffering The Tapestry

14th May 2012:
This is a very good one-shot. It's very simple. I don't mean that in a bad way but a good one. Very easy to read, I really enjoyed it. It's nice to see behind Malfoy's mask once in a while.

"Sanctimonia Vincet Semper. His arm burned still, reminding him of the only remaining truth."

I loved that line. I thought it was perfect for the story. You did such an amazing job! Well done!

Recenseo

Author's Response: Hey! Yeah, I meant this one to be sort of simple, and I'm very glad you enjoyed it and found it easy to read. It was definitely interesting to look at how Draco might have felt at this time.

Thanks for your kind review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #2, by Goddess Faith The Tapestry

27th March 2012:
TAG!

I loved it! I love Draco's POV and I think you did a very good job at writing how he felt during a life changing moment for him. It was really good. Thanks for writing it!
~Goddess Faith

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for coming by!

I'm glad that you felt like I captured Draco well and that you enjoyed the story :)

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lexi Black The Tapestry

17th January 2012:
I loved this story pretty awesome. It's so deep and heart felt, that I can imagine Draco thinking them thoughts.

Author's Response: Thank you! I appreciate you taking the time to review, and I'm glad you liked the story and thought that I captured Draco well :)

Thanks again for your kind review!

academica


 Report Review

Review #4, by Anon The Tapestry

14th January 2012:
Great story! I really enjoyed it! I think you did a fantastic job getting into Draco Malfoy's head!

Author's Response: Hey, thank you! I'm very glad you enjoyed it, and I appreciate your kind review :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #5, by slytherinchica08 The Tapestry

3rd January 2012:
I found this to be a wonderful snap shot into draco's thoughts after getting the dark mark and getting his task to kill dumbledore. I loved how he looked at the family tree and it spiked some of the different thoughts in his mind. Your ending was great, summing up the different relationships in his life and how they were all coming to a close because of his new mark. I thought that it really protrayed that wonderfully especially since he is such a loner in their sixth year busy with his task. You did a great job with this piece!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Thanks! I definitely wanted to explore Draco's feelings about his family and those close to him and contrast that with the isolation he must have been feeling throughout this part of his life. I'm glad it all worked well for you! :)

Thanks for your kind review!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #6, by Roots in Water The Tapestry

31st December 2011:
Tag!

I really enjoyed reading this story and I think you did a great job of capturing Draco as he was as a teenager. I particularly found it interesting the nightmares he experienced as the night of his initiation into the ranks of the Death Eaters approached. The imagery was very well done- the image of Nagini eating Narcissa was horrifying, yet suitable for the subject matter.

I hadn't really thought about all the roles he had had to assume during that time period before but I found it very interesting that he felt as though he would be losing himself. It makes for a very interesting look into his mind, because, as you mentioned, Lucius could be held responsible for ruining the Malfoy line, and Draco must now uphold Lucius' values, not necessarily his.

I enjoyed how you centered the story around the Malfoy Family Tree and the family motto. It had the very powerful effect of explaining Draco's struggle and how his mind works without overtly saying so. The conclusion, the ending sentence, finished this story off brilliantly because it explained, in very little words, what his decision was and how he would be proceeding in his life. "He would be needing his strength"- yes, he certainly would.

I'm glad I read this and I think that you did a fantastic job of explaining an integral part of Draco's life.

Author's Response: Hey! I always love getting reviews from you!

Good, I tried to make the nightmares seem like something that would really bother a person. It's clear from what we know about him in canon that Voldemort would do literally anything to anyone else in pursuing the accomplishment of his purposes, and I think it would be really scary to exist as a pawn in that plan the way that Draco did.

I did try to convey the sense that Draco was helpless and was really realizing for the first time that he was a tool for his father's use. I felt like there would be an undercurrent of resentment running under the facade of pride. He's under a tremendous amount of pressure for a sixteen-year-old, something that is kind of unique to the Death Eaters. The Order was uncomfortable recruiting underage wizards and witches at first, but not so for Voldemort.

Thanks for another very kind review! :)

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #7, by EverDiggory The Tapestry

22nd December 2011:
Holy goodness greif!
This is amazingly mind blowing!Its out of this world! I'm not sure how I'm expected to find something wrong with this...

I'm coming up short with something for you to improve on,honestly. I loved how the emotions just overpowered all of my emotions,it was just crazy! Great,fantastic,amazing,beautiful,creative(that one doesn't go with the rest of the words..but oh well)just wow!Wow! Amazing job!Truly! 11/10

Author's Response: Hey, it's okay if you don't find anything wrong when giving reviews... sometimes it's nice just to let an author know that they're doing well :)

I'm glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for the very kind review!

academica


 Report Review

Review #8, by Beeezie The Tapestry

6th November 2011:
Here for review tag!

This is really, really excellent. I love the way that you introduced doubt in himself and his family without making it seem contrived or out-of-character. Draco didn't seem soft or weak or friendly to muggles here, but he did feel sympathetic. It can be a hard line to walk, to humanize a character without whitewashing him, and I think that you did an amazing job. I personally really like Draco, so I loved reading this, and also added it to my favorites. :)

The only thing that seemed a bit odd to me was Draco's referring to Voldemort by name; wouldn't it make more sense for him to think, "The Dark Lord" or "You-Know-Who" or something?

Other than that, this was awesome. (Also, "Losing My Religion" is an amazing song.)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the review :) I do love the song, and isn't it kind of perfect for Draco?

I'm glad I did his character justice. I agree that it's important to toe the line between sympathy and reality, and while Draco did have a bit of an unfair time, he still has a number of unsavory personal characteristics that cannot simply be ignored. I tried to show that bad things can still happen to people who by all appearances look like they've got it all together, that those things can break you down no matter how strong you think you are. You make a good comment about Voldemort. I guess I was thinking that this was in third-person and thus not directly from Draco's thoughts, but nevertheless I agree that Draco would be hesitant to refer to such a fearsome wizard by name. "The Dark Lord" or simply "He" might be most appropriate.

Thanks again for your kind review! :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #9, by darker side of happy The Tapestry

25th October 2011:
This was a brilliant portrayal of Draco.
He has always come across to me as a young man torn in two.

The responsibility laid at his feet for a family who has more sins and burdens than a man of Draco's age should have to bare. I think the desire to uphold the Malfoy name is strong in him, a value instilled literally from birth. But I feel Draco is lost on how to uphold this. He lacks his father's ability to destroy in its name so indiscriminately, yet he desperately wants to succeed in doing so.

The uncertainty of taking the Dark Mark and the consequences it held weighs heavily on him and I believe you did an amazing job in portraying that strong emotion.

The idea that Draco is alone was a focal point or so it seemed to me and I think you nailed it on the head in this piece. No matter how hard he tried to win respect or honor it always seemed to backfire for him and for the worse at that.
All though so many surround him Draco is well and truly alone in his task, his life and his mind.

I truly enjoyed reading this and I'm glad you entered the challenge so that I could have the opportunity to do so!

Author's Response: Yay, you made it :)

I agree, I think Draco was pitched into difficult circumstances and forced to wear shoes much too big for him. It would be a difficult mission for anyone to undertake, let alone a sixteen-year-old boy. I'm so pleased that I did the emotion justice here, as it's obviously the centerpiece of the story. Draco is definitely very alone, and I think you can see that reflected well in his desperation in the sixth book. He's much more goal-oriented than he was before, almost a totally different person.

Thanks for the kind review! I always enjoy an opportunity to write about my beloved Malfoy men. I look forward to seeing the results of the challenge :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #10, by charlottetrips The Tapestry

21st October 2011:
Hi! Here from the Review Tag :)

“Either the burning in his arm or the nightmare in his head woke him up.” – oh, such a good way to start a story.

Wow what a very descriptive way to describe getting branded. That was way descriptive. It fits so well into the dark undertone of this story. Have you burned something before?

I like how you put emphasis on Draco’s concern and worry over his mother’s safety. I definitely feel that this was a driving force behind Draco’s acceptance of the Dark Mark and the continuing of the horrible task to kill Dumbledore.

Also the way you point out how family is the most important thing to the Malfoys, for different reasons: Lucius’ borderline obsession to see to it that the “glory” of the Malfoy name continues on and Narcissa’s and Draco’s concerns that they all survive, even at the expense of others.

What a bitter and cold-hard moment to write about. I feel that you handled it well. Draco was forced to mature just as the others at his age in this time and I can really see it here. What’s sad about it is that he very clearly sees it.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for coming to check out my stuff :)

Haha, well, I like to cook, so I've definitely burnt my fingers from time to time while handling hot pans and food. I also have a tattoo, but no Dark Marks here! I'm glad I was able to convey a realistic sensation without having personally experienced something so drastic.

Yeah, you're right in pointing out that family is important to each of the Malfoys in different ways. This story is one attempt to describe Draco's feelings of being unsure whether to follow his dad, who is all about blood purity and superiority, and his mother, who really does care about her family and loves them from the bottom of her heart.

I'm also glad that I caused you to look upon Draco with some pity. That was one of the driving forces behind the piece. Draco is put into a difficult situation just like the "heroes" of the story, and though he doesn't come out all brave and perfect at the end, he does experience some growth as a result, I think.

Thanks so much for your lovely review! :)

academica


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login