Reading Reviews for One Summer
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Live Life Large Chapter Two

30th April 2012:
Wow. Just those 2 chapter were the epitome of hilarious! Amelia seems to have the worst luck; one second she's being forced to work as a live in cleaner for the summer, and the next she is dueling Lord Voldemort. How smooth. I'd love to find out more about what Voldemort was doing in the town. Alas, maybe next chapter (hint hint wink wink nudge nudge). Hopefully Amelia isn't forced to do culty things or anything(; Keep it up! Until next chapter, be sure to...
Live Life Large:D

 Report Review

Review #2, by NadineS Chapter Two

21st April 2012:
Hahaha, this is amazing! "They are in a cult!" hahaha, sure thing :D
You are very good at describing Amelia's situation, because honestly, I like her reactions a lot more than those where the main character just accepts everything right away :D Oh, and were Maradeurs in this kind of situation before? I'd love to find out a bit about that too :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Rowan Cookie Chapter One

12th April 2012:
Please write more it is really good!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rowan Cookie Chapter One

12th April 2012:
Oh my good A-Ma-zing

 Report Review

Review #5, by Johanna Chapter Two

22nd February 2012:
Now Ive red this story as well and I liked it just as much. Its sad you dont update more often :(
Apparently youve got a knack for coming up with interesting stories...

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Sorry this reply is so late :/ I want to be able to be more regular with updating, so I've decided I'm going to write ahead before I keep posting the chapters. I'll definitely continue though. Thank you so much for reviewing :) x

 Report Review

Review #6, by Pen2Paper Chapter One

1st January 2012:
Hey :)
Pen2Paper here with your review finally! I know its been an incredibly long wait but I barely get free time these days. Anyway so sorry for the delay. Moving on to the review part.

I have to say I haven't read many humour fics but this was definitely a memorable one! I really enjoyed reading it and I'm certain scores of people will too :)

Your main character is delightfully entertaining. As you explained 'the facts' as a list I wasnt sure if I was going to like her but when you said it's all in the details and continued to describe I quickly became fond her. Amelia is very likable with her charming resentfulness for her scheming Stepmother and her sarcasm. She strikes me as bit of a tom boy (I've always liked tom boy protagonists :) ) and she definitely does keep the readers interested :) Well done creating her and I hope you continue to develop her character.

Your plot so far is still in the early stages of development. It's got a good foundation having established the main character and her confrontation with Voldemort! HILARIOUS! Kudos to you!
I do hope you build on that base structure nicely.

Pace and flow, nothing odd, you seem to have done well with that. I especially like how you started giving us a small peek into 'Life as Amelia' The stepmother too is a wonderful piece of work. Every story needs a villain who we can easily dislike. She's going to add a lot of flavour to this story if you decide to keep her. :P

Two tiny details :
1. Spacing in the last segment was a little off... You had a lot of stand alone sentences. If you can try and even that out I'm sure that'll be great.

2. "all in black with his skin (was) so ashen it almost looked green. He was holding a wand up in the air and laughing manically"

^ 'was' is unnecessary in the above sentence.

Overall, you have a well written, well constructed, very entertaining chapter here. I especially enjoyed her thoughts of being called up as a volunteer since I sort of share the same fears! Lol. I am also curious as to who pushed her aside and why he/she was there.
I look forward to more. You've done well with this chapter, keep up the good work :)

8/10

~Pen2Paper.

Author's Response: Thank you so so so much for your review!! And don't worry at all about the wait, you wrote such a lovely and long review :)

I'm glad you think Amelia is likeable :) I might edit the 'facts' list, but I'm not sure yet... And yes, she is definitely not a girly girl haha. The stepmother will stay in the story, I'm glad you think she makes a good villian. She's kind of stereotypical but I'm working on making her believable :)

And I'll go back and edit the 'was' part, thanks for pointing that out. And I'll try to fix the spacing, I feel like sometimes people skip over longer paragraphs so I guess I over did it on the stand alone sentances :/

Thanks again for taking the time to review! It means a lot :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Stitch Chapter Two

14th December 2011:
"they were in a cult" TRLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

Author's Response: Hahaha :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Briana Chapter Two

14th December 2011:
Oh my freaking Merlin I love this so damned much! xD the cult thing had me laughing for so long and I love the "time of the month" thing xD I can't get over this, it's so freaking awesome. Keep updating lots please!? I love love love it!

Author's Response: Thank you so so much for reviewing!! You have no idea how happy this review made me :) I'll definitely keep updating, I'm glad you liked it :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by AnnaPotter Chapter Two

11th December 2011:
Really liked this story so far! Update soon! 10/10

Author's Response: I will :) Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Cecelia Chapter Two

11th December 2011:
What a lovely chapter! It ended far too soon for me, I must say, but it was really well written. There was quite a lot of dialogue, but it flowed really well. I think I'll really like how you write the boys.

I really like how you write Amelia.

I can't wait for the next chapter!

xCecelia

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm kind of worried about the flow, I feel like a lot of the time it feels rushed so thanks a lot for saying it flowed well, it means a lot. And I'm glad you like Amelia.

Thanks for reviewing, hopefully the next chapter will be up before the queue closes but (...very very early) merry christmas anway!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Cassius Alcinder Chapter One

8th December 2011:
It's me from the forums with your review!

So I think you're off toa really good start so far. As far as characterization, Amelia seems like an interesting and relatable main character and you've protrayed her pretty well. Her relationship with her stepmother was also well handled and totally believeable.

Overall you've done a good job of incorporating a humerous tone into the story that will be greatly amusing to read. The duel with Voldemort at the end was hilarious.

If I may make a suggestion, I thought the opening of the chapter felt a little bit abrupt since it pretty much just started in the middle of a conversation and we didn't really know who the people were until the second section.

Overall it's a good start to the story

Author's Response: Hi :) Thanks for leaving such a nice review and so quickly. I completely understand what you're saying about the beginning, and I plan to edit it soon, so hopefully it won't be as abrupt or confusing :D

I'm glad you thought the characterisation was good, I do get kind of worried about how consistent it is :/ so that means a lot.

Thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by KateBlack Chapter One

25th October 2011:
nice! cant wait to see whats gonna happen!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! Next chapter should be up soon :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by NadineS Chapter One

19th October 2011:
I absolutley loved this chapter and can not wait for the next one! Unique idea and your way of writing is amazing :)
"Abra Kadabra!" well yeah, nice try :D haha :D I bet that Sirius saved her, or at least I would love if it was him :))

Author's Response: Thankyou!! And haha yeah ... abra kadabra not so much ... And as for who saved her ... it's in the next chapter :) Thanks for reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by Cecelia Chapter One

19th October 2011:
Oh, I loved it! I can't wait to find out what happens next :D

You have an excellent writing style, really, I mean, it kept my attention and kept me wanting to read more. And Amelia's cynicism was great. Spot on. A lot of the things she said had me laughing. I particularly loved this line:

'I'm about as good at cleaning as I am at flying.

Which is not very, in case you were wondering.'

So, great job. I cant wait to read more, looking forward to an update :D

xCecelia

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing and for all the lovely comments! I'm glad you liked it haha. Pace is an issue for me so it means a lot that you said it kept your attention.

I'll definately be updating soon, hope you keep reading :) x


 Report Review

Review #15, by SB Chapter One

18th October 2011:
Lol!! That was too funny and I absolutely loved your main character. Honestly you made my day by posting that! Please update soon!
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Your review made my day haha . And the next chapter should be up soon :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by corrieg Chapter One

17th October 2011:
hahaha thats cool. can't wait for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :) Next chapter should be up soon !

 Report Review

Review #17, by AceFelton72 Chapter One

17th October 2011:
Hahaha, I saw the summary and I just had to check this out! You made me laugh.
You, child, he hissed. What are you doing at this place?
Oh I was just ... you know ... I said, feeling my face turn red, just enjoying the show.
The sentence was hilarious !! :)
I wonder who pushed her to the side..
-AceFelton

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much! I'm glad I made you laugh :) And ... you'll find out in the next chapter haha

 Report Review

Review #18, by Lizzzie Chapter One

17th October 2011:
I liked it! It was really funny and update soon! I think that I haven't read one like this before :D can't wait to read more !

Author's Response: Thanks! And the next chapter should be up soon :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login