Reading Reviews for In a Brown Study
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ValWitch21 In a Brown Study

18th July 2013:
I am a massive fan of your stoies (I know, surprise, surprise), and I think this is one-of the first one-shots I ever read. Random info aside, where do I start?

This is just my headcanon of Teddy/Victoire, as are the stories that follow, that being said.

What I have to comment on is Teddy's internal monologue. Last time I heard, you are not an angsty, hormonal teenage male, yet if I didn't know this I might wonder because this really seems like a spot-on portrayal.

Yet, as you are not an angsty hormonal teenage male this makes me even more admirative of your talent as a writer.

The fact that your OCs are wonderfully rounded even in the space of a few thousand words makes me even more jealous.

I'm off to persue the reviewing/stalking/fangirling now.

CLAW POWER!

 Report Review

Review #2, by LooneyChick In a Brown Study

11th February 2012:
haha this was too cute! I liked how this connected with your other one-shot "Fish Out of Water." Once again, great writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed this story as well. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Secret Santa In a Brown Study

24th December 2011:
I don't know why you are unsure about your writing. Sure, until now, I have only read fluff and drama from you but how could ever think that you are bad at angst? If that was something out of your comfort zone, then I am jealous.

I am jealous of your writing for a host of reasons, haha, but how can you write so well when you are out of your comfort zone? This was the same Beeezie writing that I have become accustomed to in the last week or so and it was just as phenomenally good as your other stuff. So please take that uncertainty and insecureness out of your mind, okay? Repeat after me: I am a good writer and absolutely rock at everything I write. That's your homework. Say it three times every day and then maybe you will start to believe it!

It's nice to read something about friends just being friends. You don't often get that, unless it is a more filler type chapter in a longer story in fanfiction. But this was lovely. It was Teddy obsessing over Victoire (I'll get to that in a moment) and being teased by his friends. It made me smile. Because it was so familiar. I could easily see myself with my friends discussing the exact same things and all of us teasing one of our poor friends for being lovesick. It's so relatable. That is yet another thing that I am jealous of in your writing.

Now. Teddy himself. I have just read three stories of yours in a row about Teddy/Victiore and I'm kind of absolutely adoring the ship. And how you write it. Teddy is officially one of the most adorable people in the world. He is just such a teenage boy. He so obviously likes a girl and then obsesses over it and weighs up the pros and cons and he doesn't want things to go wrong and he doesn't want his friends to tease him and he is worrying and keeps getting distracted by the girl and and... *takes a breath* he is just so gosh darn cute. I know I've said it before, but it needs to be said again.

You make me fall in love with your characters. And I love it. I only wish I had gotten around to reading your stories earlier. I have seen you around the common room and never really thought about it and I am kicking myself. It's so bad that there are authors that will never get read by me and SS this year has taught me that there are phenomenally good writers out there (like you!) and I promise to read them all.

You, Beeezie, inspire me.

Author's Response: It's actually funny, because writing angst really is out of my comfort zone unless I'm actually feeling depressed, but I've struggled a lot with depression in my life. I think that's part of why I sometimes find it difficult, because having to deal with depression has given me a thick skin and a sense of humor, so I have a hard time putting myself in the shoes of somebody who's just moping or being morbid. If I really let myself lapse into that, I'd be stuck in it for weeks.

ANYWAY. My life story is probably boring to you.

I'm really glad I've converted you into a Teddy/Victoire shipper, at least where my Teddy/Victoire are concerned! Splitting them up is a bit of a pet peeve of mine (to the extent that I now refuse to read fics about Teddy with any of the other next-gens), and I know that a lot of people seem to find them boring, but aghhh I love writing them. (Was that even a coherent thought?)

♥ Thank you so much. This really makes me feel happy.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Illuminate In a Brown Study

14th November 2011:
Hi! Tag! I really liked this oneshot!

Your characterisations of Teddy and his friends are all nice and full, and it makes me feel like they have a long history and friendship together. Victoire doesn't even have any dialogue, and I already feel like she's in the room with the other characters, which is really hard to do. There's also a nice, background feeling of warm Christmassy comfort; I really don't know how you did it, but you did xD Great job!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! I'm really glad that this came across as natural - I was a little afraid that people would feel like the OCs were just randomly there and not feel connected to them, and I'm so pleased that you didn't feel like that was the case. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshp In a Brown Study

1st November 2011:
Hi there!!

First off, thanks for entering my challenge :)

I really liked this piece. I think you characterized Teddy well. His speculations about his & victoire's relationship were written well. The narrative was nicely done as well, so were the descriptions.

I would have appreciated a bit more of the angst part of it, but nevermind that, it was still a good piece to read. You did a fine job. I enjoyed the read :)

Nicely done!

Cheers!
AD

P.S. Wait for the results soon!

Author's Response: Argh, I know. This was really my first foray into angst since I was a teen in the height of my own angsting, so it definitely wasn't the most angsty piece I've ever been able to write. Sorry. :(

(On the upside, I know I've managed more angst since then, so this was great to get me back into it. :) )

Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Katelyn Isabell November In a Brown Study

28th October 2011:
I actually really liked it =)

Author's Response: Oh, good! Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Phoenix_Flames In a Brown Study

19th October 2011:
Hello there, hun! I finally got around to this request. Please forgive me for the long wait. I had mid-terms last week, so I was being an irresponsible student and cramming at the last minute. :P But that means I have all sort of free time this week, so I'm so glad you requested! I finally got around to it. :)

This was a brilliant little piece, and I enjoyed it so much. You really have a talent for Teddy/Victoire, you know? ;) And I love how you can take your wonderful story that is Fish Out of Water and create so many more plots off of it using the same characters.

I definitely felt as if this was concise with Fish Out of Water. I could see this occurring before the fic, and I did keep that in mind throughout the piece. That little thought kept me hopeful in the back of my mind. I just kept thinking 'they have so much good coming for them together.' :)

This was brilliant. I think you definitely kept Teddy in character. I could tell it was the same guy from your other two pieces. And I loved reading him somewhat fantasizing over her and all of that. It was really cute.

You wanted to know if I actually found it angsty, and I'll be honest, I only found it somewhat angsty. I know the moral base of the story was definitely angsty, so no worries there, but the teasing about Teddy and his thoughts about Victoire made it somewhat fluffy to me actually. And I don't know if that's what you were going for or not or if I was supposed to feel that way, but for that last half of the story, that was the mood I got. And that may just be because I know what they have in store for them, so I was all jittery for the two of them. That's probably it. :P I was just so excited for them. :)

But on the broad spectrum, yes. It was definitely angsty, and you could tell that that was the intended mood behind it all. :) So no worries. I think you did a wonderful job if it.

All in all, I really loved this. I think it was a perfect prequel of sorts leading up to Fish Out of Water. If I were a reader who hadn't read the other two and I had read this one first, I would have been so excited and thrilled to read Fish Out of Water. With this piece, you would have captivated me and made it a requirement for me to continue reading the follow up pieces. :) Great job.

Your OCs were great I thought! I always love seeing OCs who aren't really children of the first HP generation. I like to see what authors can come up with and if they are original enough. Generally, just a new OC out of the blue is so hard to create in the HP universe and make unique and original, but you did it really well here. I didn't find them distracting at all. I found them being a good contribution to the story. You could definitely tell that there was a good friendship and bond beneath it all. They were so relaxed, and the dialogue just flowed so easily. They were perfect.

Fantastic job! This was great, and so enjoyable. You really got the emotions across perfectly and created a very unique and one-of-a-kind Teddy/Vic piece here, but I know I never expect anything less from you. :)

I loved it. Thanks so much for requesting, hun, and I hope this was somewhat useful to you. I know I loved everything too much to go in too deep, but really! Brilliant job! :D

Drue

Author's Response: Oh good! Thank you so much!

I definitely see what you mean about it being a bit less angsty than it might have been... I dunno, it's a bit odd. It's not like I haven't had to go through bad situations in my life, but I always approach them with humor, so I find writing straight up angst to be difficult! I'm glad you felt like on the whole it was, though! :)

Thank you so much for the review! (And no worries about midterms - I remember what those were like, ughhh.)


 Report Review

Review #8, by magnolia_magic In a Brown Study

18th October 2011:
Hi again! I'm finally here to review :)

This is definitely more serious than the other stories of yours I've read, and I think you do a really good job with it. And as for characterization, I wouldn't worry about it. I have always loved your characterization, and this is no exception :)

I really liked all the OCs in this. They all have such distinct personalities, which is what makes their interactions so good, I think. I feel like I got a pretty good idea of who these characters are, just from this brief glimpse of them. I liked them all, like I said, but David is definitely my favorite because he made me laugh :)

Like I said, I definitely got a serious, introspective vibe from this, but I'm not sure I thought of it as "angsty." I mean, I really like how you describe Teddy's conflict, and his struggle with having feelings he thinks he shouldn't have. It's really well done, but I just don't think it feels like angst. That's probably because most of the angst I've read is so hopeless and dramatic. You definitely have a realistic way of showing your characters' thoughts, so it didn't have the despairing, my-life-is-over feeling that I was expecting out of an angst story. And since I've read your other Teddy/Vic stories, I know that things turn out well for them, and I think that knowledge made this story feel more hopeful. I think that if people read this story before the others in the series, they might pick up more of the angsty vibe you were going for :)

I hope all that made sense! If not, feel free to tell me and I'll try to say it another way. I definitely think this is my favorite of the stories I've reviewed for you--it's beautifully written as always! Thanks so much for requesting :D

--Maggie

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the OCs! I've got back stories for all of them, and actually a Johanna-PoV story about her Auror training, so I was hoping they came across as genuine here.

And yes, that was definitely my fear with my writing angst - I always tend to approach my problems with humor, so I have a hard time writing "oh my god the world is ending" type fics, you know?

It absolutely made sense! :) Thank you so much for your review, and I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by makemeover In a Brown Study

13th October 2011:
Aaaand back again!

Just like before, I love this. Victoire doesn't make an appearance so obviously there's nothing to comment on her, but I like seeing this side of Teddy. He was so cool and collected in Cloud Nine (for the most part) and even in Fish out of Water he had the guts to ask her out, but it's cool to see him so inside his own head. It definitely flows flawlessly into the next one.

The only thing I would have liked to see more of is more of Teddy's emotions and how feeling about Victoire that way affects the rest of his life, not just his thoughts at the moment. It was all definitely angsty and I realize this fic is also a romance so it can't be constantly depressing, but it would have been cool to see more of Teddy's fears and anxiety about Victoire.

That being said, it's of course not necessary as the story is great how it is! I just commented on it because one of your questions was whether or not you can write angst. Which you can. It would just be cool to see more of Teddy's unhappy-go-lucky side. I still enjoyed it though!

Author's Response: Oooh, I can see what you mean! Maybe I'll go through tonight or tomorrow (depending on my insomnia, haha) and see about adding more of that in, because that would be a great touch.

Thank you so much! :) You're always so helpful!


 Report Review

Review #10, by CloakAuror9 In a Brown Study

11th October 2011:
Hi, it is I again!

Angst. Angst. I don't know. I mean I don't review much of angst it always romance! But I have read quite a few of them to know that your story is pretty amazing.

I maybe not be an expert at angst but you did described Teddy's feelings for Victoire and his thoughts about her pretty well. Your story wasn't one of those 'oh-so confusing angst' ones that the reader can't see where the story is going or what the character/s are feeling.

Overall, I'd give you a 9 out of 10. I mean your story is pretty flawless. You made the whole story flow easily, you described the characters well enough to understand their feelings (or more like Teddy's feelings.) And even though Angst is out of your zone you did pretty well. And I certainly enjoyed it!

Keep writing more amazing stories!
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so glad you feel like it came across as believable. :) It's actually a bit odd - it's not like my life has been all sunshine and roses, but translating that into stories is definitely less natural for me than, say, romance or humor.

Thank you so much for reviewing, and for your very kind words! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Byrel In a Brown Study

11th October 2011:
Hey, you did great! I could certainly imagine myself in Teddy's place. Do you think you might write a longer piece about Teddy/Victoire sometime? There aren't many good fics with that pairing, but as well as you do in the one-shots on them, maybe you could do better.

Author's Response: I've actually just started a story that takes place a few months after Cloud Nine about some trouble Victoire gets into with werewolves while she's on duty, which I'm planning to be between 5 and 8 chapters long. It's less focused on her and Teddy, but there's a fair bit of them in it. I have a couple other fics jumping around in my head, but that one's actually started.

It's really all about the queue, unfortunately. :( I have about 5 things that are completely ready to go in, including the first chapter of that, but because the queue has been so long lately and I have a couple challenge deadlines coming up, I'm having to juggle it all.

Thank you so much for your reviews, and I'm glad you liked this! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login