Reading Reviews for The Three Ds
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UnluckyStar57 Devotion.

12th July 2014:
Awww, missing Ron/Hermione moment as seen by Wilkie Twycross, Apparition expert. (Is that correct?) I love the way he saw it as he would see Apparition-with the three D's. Ron and Hermione were so cute together as they bickered and as he pushed her away, embarrassed about his eyebrow. With any other couple, it would just be silly.

You did a wonderful job telling the story through the eye of a third party. Especially incorporating the three D's, and in only 504 words! :D

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Thank you! I have a habit of listening to the audiobooks when I'm revising or doing a big university project or something, and I had completely forgotten about Wilkie and the apparition lessons and everything! And HBP is perf for doing Romione lovey missing moments... et voila!

Thank you so much for reviewing! And good luck in the rest of the House Cup!


 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charm Devotion.

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, this was too cute, like way too cute that Im squeeing away like a crazy person right now. I just loved everything about it because these tiny hints of Romione are what always gets me as I was one of those rather dim-witted readers who didnt notice the ship until they kissed in the DH, so now I can relive these moments through one-shot such as these and you did it so perfectly.

The theme of apparition was so great as it always such a sore point for Ron as he always wanted to achieve and do well in it, it was rather funny seeing how it could be turned into a good thing for him here. I think Twycrosss narration just made it so great though as I always imagined him to be rather dry and boring but it was the opposite here.

This line Maybe hed apparate better, maybe hed pass his test, if she was his destination. No splinching, no half eyebrows. Devotion. So good and so lovely! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Karou_Marauder Devotion.

10th July 2014:
Hi there! N'awww, this was sweet. You show Ron's love for Hermione really well, in the Show Not Tell way that always works best. I also like how you portray Hermione: she's rolling in the compliments and obviously likes Rom, even when telling him off/pointing out his mistakes.

It took me a moment to work out it was from Wilkie's POV, but it worked oddly well. Not strange, I just mean I wouldn't have expected it to be from his POV. It's funny how examiners get attached to the kids they're examining, and I loved the part about him feeling like "pinching his cheek and ruffling his hair as an old and wise grandfather would do. Go get her, son." That's so cute, and shows that Wilkie has had experience in this sort of thing.

I also love the way you keep bringing it back to the 3 Ds, and then adding a new one, Devotion, at the end was so sweet.

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore Devotion.

10th July 2014:
Hello!

Aw, this was such a cute story! I loved the fact that you used Wilkie Twycross and the theme of Apparition to reflect on Hermione and Ron's relationship before they're actually at relationship stage - it's a really original idea and so well written! I loved the way that Wilike Twycross was so observant of the students that he'd been teaching to Apparate, and the fact that you included tiny details like the way that Ron failed his test because he left half an eyebrow behind just helped to make this story even better and more authentic. It makes me laugh to think that an outsider could see the obvious attraction between Ron and Hermione when they couldn't, and that Wilkie was commenting on it to himself and encouraging Ron along as he watched. I really liked the touch of mentioning 'you', as clearly looking at the pair of them reminded Wilkie of himself and a past love, which was really sweet (I'm not sure about the advice to go to Madam Puddifoot's, though!).

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8 Devotion.

7th July 2014:
Hi There.

Wow. This was such a good idea, and such a unique and well-written story. However did you come up with it?

I liked that the main character is Wilkie, since we see very little of him in the books. And I like how his three D's are being used to guide the story along. And I can imagine him thinking they'd apply to life as well, so it was great to see it being used for something other than apparation.

What I really loved about the story, is the fact that you stay completely true to everything we know about him from the books. We know his students didn't like him - probably because of the three D's, and you had that part in your story as well. We also know that he seemed fond of his few good students, like for example Hermione. And that much is obvious in the story as well. But I liked that he seemed to like Ron as well, although he was clearly not one of those good students. I think he can relate to him, maybe having been in a similar situation himself when he was around the same age.

I loved it. You're a really good writer. 10/10!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by lumos_knox Devotion.

4th July 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the Ravenclaw for the review tag.

Do you make your own banners? They're absolutely gorgeous!

This story is excellent. It's also something new and fresh that I've never seen before. Wilkie is definitely a character not too prevalent in fan fiction, so you've brought him and the three d's alive in this piece.

I found this so true and so amazing. Of course Ron should have acted sooner, and I sort of wish Wilkie would ruffle his hair, because the reaction would probably be priceless on Ron's part.

Describing the way Hermione's face fell was very clever. She really likes him at this stage, and yet Ron's too blind to realize that Hermione is the one for him. He's a little too... stubborn?

Even though this is short there is so much being translated through this and I love it. I like how you added the student's annoyance at Wilkie in it, because of his three d's.

When I clicked on this story, I was quite intrigued as to what it might be about. I totally forgot what the three d's were. I like how you used the d's in the story to mean something real that relates to what's happening in the story.

Hermione scolding Ron is so... Hermione. She never really means it, which is why I admire the way you drop little clues. Smiling after scolding, face dropping as he continues to deny... that's what makes this story so easy to relate to.

Thankyou so much for writing this, I think that it's beautiful!

Until next time,

Lauren.

Author's Response: Hi Lauren! And yes I do, and usually it takes me ages before my muse is ready. Thank you so much!

You're making me blush. Stop it. I really love Ron and Hermione as a couple, and when I first joined the site, my very first fanfic was about them (thankfully deleted - it was so bad!). I also love minor characters and objective viewing, so Wilkie seemed like the right man for the job! Also his three Ds could easily be used as a metaphor/analogy/allegory for RHr love.

Definitely. Stubborn is the perfect word to describe Ron. I tried to keep to canon as much as possible with their characterisations, and because Harry views from a different perspective, it was easier to do so than if I had written in first person.

Thank you for all your lovely comments! Thank you!



 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFan Devotion.

14th August 2013:
I found this incredibly cute! The thing that I loved about this is that I'm watching what's going on between Ron and Hermione from a third person point of view. I get to see the little gestures and expressions that I wouldn't get to see if this was being told from Ron or Hermone.

I like how you made it really obvious that Ron and Hermione like each other, everyone else can see it, can see that they like each other except for those two.

I want to squee so badly but I'd be hitting random keys if I did so I won't. But basically I absolutely love this and I think it's brilliant and a good try for the Every Word Counts Challenge.

The one thing I'm wondering is whose point of view this is being told from. Should I know whose point of view this is because if I am then I'm feeling stupid for not realising who it is.

Author's Response: Aaw thank you! I did really enjoy writing this little piece of fluff - and writing it from a third point of view, from the view of an outsider. It's different because we're so used to seeing Rom and Hermione from Harry's perspective, I think.

And the narrator is Wilkie Twycross - the apparition instructor from HBP - hence the three ds and that. It says so in the summary as well! Hahaha.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by ValWitch21 Devotion.

16th July 2013:
What I love about spreading Claw love is that I rediscover lots of one-shots I read before then couldn't find again. This is one of those.

Two things I adored about this story: seeing things through the eyes of a (very) minor characted that I've never read about elsewhere on the site, and the canonness of this all.

Ron and Hermione don't talk. We see them in the point of view of someone who barely knows them. And yet, they're like JK described them. The first few paragraphs were brilliant in terms of characterisations. Twycross' (I never manage to spell his name) nostalgia of his past somehow managed to make me ship Ron and Hermione even more.

I'm babbling, so I'm going to stop, but thank you so much for writing this!

Author's Response: Gahhh! That 'read then lost' feeling is the worst - I had it once with a Harry/Hermione one-shot that was really well written... it was because of coincidence that I found it again, and it was better the second time round.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments - this is by far my favourite story that I've written, even though it's the shortest. I love the EWC because I've never been a /long/ writer.

Thanks again for reviewing - CLAWS FOR THE CUP!


 Report Review

Review #9, by slytherinchica08 Devotion.

20th January 2013:
A very interesting spin on the three d's, one that I would have never thought to use. I love how they each come into play with Ron wanting Hermione and honestly now that I have read this piece it makes me wonder why exactly I haven't thought about them in this way before. It was a really cute oneshot, though I do wonder who exactly it is that's watching him admire Hermione. The characterization was done wonderfully as well. I think both Ron and Hermione were in character, her always getting everything right and Ron kind of admiring her but yet not really ready to admit it. I very much enjoyed this oneshot, it really made me think about the three d's! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Aaah, thank you! Yeah, I was re-reading that bit in HBP where they learn to apparate and thought how the words could be used in a different context - and including the scene with Ron and Hermione at the pub in Hogsmeade after their test. The person watching them is Wilkie Twycross, the apparition instructor and examiner.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Maybe Devotion.

18th July 2012:
This was absolutely adorable! What a cute little snapshot into a Romione moment. I love reading about the moments when Harry is not around because we get to see emotions come through. I thought Ron's staring was adorable (not at all creepy, haha) and I think the characterisation was great. And Wilkie Twycross' commentary, relating it to Apparition was brilliant - and I loved the idea of him wanting to pinch his cheek and say go get her. Exactly how I feel. Hooray, Wilke Twycross is a Romione shipper! :P

-Maybe

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I write one-shots very rarely, mainly because they are always so short and have very little substance... but I really love Ron and Hermione (king of OTPs) and I really wanted to write a little thing about them! Thank you for all your wonderful comments, you sure do make me blush.

 Report Review

Review #11, by niffler2400 Devotion.

24th March 2012:
This is So sweet! You always use such different POVs in your chapters but it works so well xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Indigo Seas Devotion.

16th February 2012:
This is strange - I never, ever stop to review something when I'm going through promotions, but I really needed to just pause for a moment and let you know that this little one-shot is... breathtaking.

The originality, the flow, the lack of dialogue. I loved it. So kudos to you.

xx Rin

Author's Response: EEE!!! ♥ I'm blushing and feeling happy and honoured and privileged and all of that! Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for reading and reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by charlottetrips Devotion.

14th February 2012:
How beautiful. I wasn't expecting this when I clicked on it. I actually had to go look up Wylkie Twycross and I still wasn't totally sure what it was about. But now I do!

I love that you used him to observe Ron and Hermione from a distance. It's a perspective that I don't really get to see other than in passing in other stories, but here is Wylkie, looking at them and observing and reminiscing.

And then here he is talking to someone he's obviously missed and loved and feeling it all over again to a small degree. In about 500 words you had me smile, laugh a little ("clearly the boy isnt as intelligent as her, otherwise something would have been done by now") and then sniff because it was just a little bittersweet.

Wonderfully done!

Author's Response: Yes! Wilkie! I have never written such a minor character before and I found it a little daunting, hence the very small word limit. I originally wanted to pair him with Prof Sprout but I just love me some Romione!

I really hate having characters describe themselves. In my other story, I describe a character through the eyes of a first year, etc, etc. I just love the idea of an outside observer.

Thanks for your lovely comments and for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jasnie Devotion.

25th October 2011:
Wow I like how you use somebody esle that don't even know them to describe this it's original.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Woodrow Rynne Devotion.

9th October 2011:
This was so beautiful! Honestly, never would I have imagined a Ron/Hermione written in such an unconventional way- your choice of narrator was fantastic as it was unique. That's not all, you awed me completely with the way you wrote this- their subtle relationship- even if not so subtle to an outside eye :P

Characterisation- again, simply fantastic. Twycross was so well written- your constant use of the three D's made me laugh a little actually, but it did make the character pretty canon-y (ahem) from the little that is known of him.

The last line was so beautiful. Endings really matter to me, and this one was perfect.

I'm so glad I read this fic- it was so enjoyable to read. And perhaps this good writing would inspire me to write as well (and my writer's block would go away :P)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was actually a bit timid about posting this so your kind comments are very welcome! When I first arrived at the site, all I did was read Ron/Hermione - I even tried to write one of my own that turned out to be pretty horrendous - and so there's always been a part of me that wanted to get it right.

I was also quite scared to do /anything/ with minor characters - I know that sounds stupid, seeing as major ones can be so easy to get wrong - but there's so little known about them it sorta intimidated me. I loved the idea of writing a story about Wilkie Twycross (originally he was paired with Pomona Sprout in my head) et voila!

Thank you so much for all your lovely comments and for reading and reviewing and being lovely!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Janvi Devotion.

6th October 2011:
Kewl!! I was wondering whether the narrator was Cormac, but then I understood the reality later in the story.but this was great!! I like your title, and the way you have manipulated and made use of it in this one-shot!
Cheers:D
P.S. Write more! And update Sunshine!

Author's Response: What's kewl? Haha, Cormac? Really? I would have made it much more big-headed and arrogant if Cormac had been the narrator - and the summary sort of explained it... Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm writing a Sunshine chapter as I type. :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by TenthWeasley Devotion.

3rd October 2011:
Hattie, this was gorgeous. Simply gorgeous, and it is one of the best Ron/Hermione stories I've ever read. (And let me tell you, in my early fan fiction days, that was all I read.) Somehow having the story told from an objective point of view made it all the more cute, because we were treated to views of how each sees the other. Ron's gangly awkwardness, Hermione's blushing tenderness, and the partial oblivion on both counts.

♥ They are the cutest couple ever.

I am really impressed, though, by your choice of narrator - NEVER would I have thought to use Wilkie Twycross, and yet you did it so well. The theme throughout - destination, determination, deliberation - I've never even though to apply that to anything but Apparition, and it fits so well.

Favorite line --

I feel like pinching his cheek and ruffling his hair as an old and wise grandfather would do. Go get her, son.

GAH. I was grinning so much at it. :) I have similar grandfatherly feelings (well, that's a bit awkward) in that Ron just needs a big old shove in the right direction. And that direction is preferably Hermione's lips.

Your writing was wonderful, and I really do mean that. I keep meaning to drop by your author's page and I am so sorry I haven't yet -- I've been missing out on a lot, I can tell. Sarah gives Dominique nothing but praise and I'm going to read it just as soon as time allows. But really -- this was great. I enjoyed it immensely.

♥ LOVE YOU!

Author's Response: JONOCHOL! Eee, hello! I haven't seen you around b4. Be prepared for plenty of troll speak and inexplicable amounts of ♥. 'One of the best Ron/Hermione stories you've ever read'? *Blushes* Your kind and lovely and vondahphul comments are well appreciated. ♥

But yes! Ron and Hermione! I once wrote a terrible, terrible short story (it was six chapters and involved Hermione going to work in Bulgaria and Ron being jealous that she might run into Krum and so he slept with Lavender but then she pretended he was the father of her child but really it was Seamus and so Ron and Hermione got back together and all this happened in six 1000-word chapters). It was all I used to read t3w, hence the poor attempt to write it.

I love objective points of view. I have a very hard time trying to describe characters when in third person, so having another character do it for them is basically an easy way out. I really wanted to write an en-Hogwarts R/Hr, where they are still biffles and banterous but obviously, definitely pretending not to be in love. And in sixth year, too, when there's so much dRAMa.

I was going to make this into a Wilkie-centric short story, with him being shipped with Pomona Sprout, but I love R/Hr too much to let the opportunity pass me by. I sort of characterised him as a bit of an oddball - his dialogue in the books in really awesome - and he likes to think himself as the grandparent of all of his students. He wears cardigan and smoking jackets and smokes a pipe. (Rolf?)

EEE JONOCHOL! HOW I ♥ THEE. No really, your kind words r makin meh well happeh. Thank you so much for everything, love you too.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Livi_777 Devotion.

3rd October 2011:
That's some beautiful writing. A really great concept, very well thought out and well written. The Ron/Hermione relationsip is caught really well, and like the hints of something secret that the reader doesn't know and also the fatherly moments. It's a wonderful little piece.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've been meaning to write about some minor characters and do a different era - I just love NextGen too much! Thank you for all your lovely comments, I really do appreciate them!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login