86 Reviews Found

Review #1, by reverie The Yule Ball

26th May 2014:
I just finished reading this story after stumbling across in in the archives and I have to say, I loved it! It's so cute and wonderfully written. You don't see many Oliver fics around here, and you pulled it off quite nicely. Great job :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by IDIDNOTWANTTOHAVESEXWITHSIRIUSBLACKITWASMYPMS The Yule Ball

27th February 2014:
I LOVED THIS SO MUCH. GREAT IDEAS.

Author's Response: THANK YOU!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Free Elf The Yule Ball

2nd December 2013:
I read this story a long time ago, but was not using my account for a couple of months and therefore forgot to drop in a review once you had completed it. It is one of the few work in progress fanfictions I have followed. I have recommended it heartily to all of my friends who are avid fanfiction readers. Not only have you succeeded in creating an enjoyable story, but it is also one of the sweetest and relatable stories I have read in a long while. You have incorporated some lovely moments between Oliver and Penelope that is strongly supported by brilliant characterisation and dialogue. A truly hilarious read.
Thanks for all the laughs! I look forward to re-reading this (as I undoubtebly will).

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And thank for the recommendations, I hope your friends loved it as much as you did ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by LemonSkulls  The Yule Ball

30th July 2013:
i LOVED this story, it was so funny and heartwarming and just really perfect :)

Author's Response: Thank you! This one is definitely my favourite story that I've written

 Report Review

Review #5, by nargles The Yule Ball

9th July 2013:
That was such a sweet story! I loved the plot and the characters. You don't really get a lot of info about Penelope from the books, and I liked reading your interpretation of her. It really was a wonderful story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Means a lot ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by QkStephen The Yule Ball

28th June 2013:
I really enjoyed the story great job, and im sad that it is over

Author's Response: Me too, defo my favourite that I've written

 Report Review

Review #7, by nina lupin The Yule Ball

10th March 2013:
all of this was amazing! argh, they are so cute. anyway, you did a brilliant job and so thank you for writing this!

Author's Response: And thank you for your lovely review! ♥ this really was my favourite story that I've written, probably because I've put so much of myself in it, so thank you for your lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by TimeSeer The Yule Ball

6th March 2013:
It's done... I do not know how to feel about this. I love this story and I am happy that everyone (besides Roger) ended up happy but I wish that I could continue reading it forever because it is that amazing. I have no idea what to do now. Anyway great story and I really enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much! Yeah, I could never let Roger get away with being happy, even Percy is happy in some deluded way...And aww, maybe if you're at a loose end, you could always read my other stuff? ;) just a suggestion haha.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Avis123 The Yule Ball

22nd February 2013:
Amazing!! Definitely one of my favourite stories on this site. I love your writing style and characterisation, and the twist in the plot *ehem*Percy*ehem* was brilliant! I would love to see more from these characters - maybe learn more about the past feud between Penelope and Oliver! Another well done, fantastic job! :)

Author's Response: OHH a spin-off. Now you are talking directly to my heart, I always love spin-offs and that sounds brill. I'll have a think about it and maybe, just maybe, there may be a one-off ;) I'll keep you posted

Oh wow, thank you so much! That's such high praise and I don't think I deserve it, but thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed reading ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Avis123 They'll Never Learn (Plan B)

22nd February 2013:
Ahh! I did wonder I Percy was going to make an appearance!
SO GOOD so far! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! And yep, Percy was a bit of a wildcard when I was writing, but he was so much fun to write for :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Serendipity1234 The Yule Ball

21st February 2013:
Great ending! Short, sweet, and funny as always :)
I loved the poem about taking the squid to the ball!

Author's Response: Yeah, that is about as far as my poetry finesse goes ;) But thank you! Glad you enjoyed it ♥

 Report Review

Review #12, by Avis123 Darling, Poison is an Understatement

20th February 2013:
I'm really loving this so far - 10 things I hate about you is one of my favourite films, and I'm always looking out for a story based on it. Now I've found one, and it's great! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I've just put up the last chapter so you'll be able to read it all the way through :) "10 Things I Hate About You" has got to be a teenage classic :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by ValWitch21 The Yule Ball

20th February 2013:
Hello again!

Aww, they got their happy ending and you even got me my revenge on Percy without being too mean to him, poor chap. (Drunk Percy has made my entire day, just so you know. All twenty four hours of said day.)

And Roger, bahaha, serves you right. I actually like Roger most of the time, having written him into one of my stories as a gay character, but seeing him get what he deserved in this story was a great feeling!

Anyway. This is the end. What am I going to do now? What are YOU going to do now? I'll be around, so feel free to tell me if you anything else planned for the near future &hearts

Author's Response: Wow, I think I may have to read your story about gay Roger now haha :) that sounds pretty interesting. And of course, I couldn't resist tormenting Percy a little bit, he is so fun to tease.

Um, I have quite a few things underway but I'm having major writer's block :( I'm posting a Sherlock story slowly, and then I think I'll start writing properly on a next-gen, so keep tuned! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by Serendipity1234 Oliver's Detention Date

7th February 2013:
This is such a great story!! Really, I love it! Oliver and Penelope are so incredibly cute together and so are Audrey and Derek. Though I don't really like Audrey or Derek much...I don't dislike them, I just don't love them. Derek seems kind of out of it a lot of the time, though I do find him incredibly endearing for loving Audrey so much. And Audrey is a little self-absorbed...or just kind of clueless at times. Despite what she says, she wasn't really thinking about her sister much when she agreed to the plan. She was happy that her sister actually turned out to like Oliver and she had hoped she would, but ultimately it didn't really matter to her whether Penelope liked Oliver, she just wanted to date. I do think she cares about Penelope a lot though, so I don't resent her for that. She's just not my favorite. Kathy on the other hand is a total sweetheart and definitely thinks about Penelope and her happiness. She's also a very nice person in general and I like her craziness :) I was surprised you paired her with Ernie MacMillan, but I thought it was a great idea, being so unexpected.
I really like how Penelope stands up for herself and faces her problems. It may have taken her a while to face Oliver, but she was upset, and she still did it in the end. I think she's also very sweet and I liked how she didn't make a deal with Roger because unlike everyone else, she thought about her friends first. That's admirable. I also love her childishness and the pep-talks she gives to herself. They make her even more lovable and they make her seem more real. I also liked seeing Oliver and Penelope grow as people as they grew to like each other -that was really cute. Oliver is charming even though he acts completely ridiculous sometimes (first years dancing in pink robes...I don't know where you came up with that but it was weird and hilarious).
The one thing I didn't really like in the story was the portrayal of Percy Weasley, though I suppose it fits your purposes well. I know Percy wasn't the most amicable character in the books, being pompous, snobbish, and downright annoying at times, but he found his way in the end. I think he always cared about his family a great deal and the attitude of self-importance probably had a lot to do with a desire to prove himself and his family, since the Weasleys were looked down on by a lot of the nastier purebloods and Percy was one of many Weasley children. He wanted to be the best and achieve great things and I think this started to really push him in the wrong direction once he started working at he ministry and he lost his better judgement. I don't think he was like that in Hogwarts, though. He was definitely stuck up, but his family still came first then. I'm also obliged to love him because he's a Weasely and that makes him automatically awesome (even if he wasn't awesome at all for a little while). I think it was describing him as 'greasy' and generally repulsive that got to me. He just doesn't seem likable at all in the story and I don't think that's really fair...but at the same time, I get that you wanted to show how Penelope was trying to get revenge and she didn't like him at all. It also bothers me that she's completely using Percy. It sort of shows a duplicity to her personality. Her friends come first, but with people she doesn't really care about, she acts selfish. I don't like that about her, so I'm hoping later on she'll feel some real remorse for what she's done. After all, Percy likes her. Maybe not in the same way as Oliver, but he respects her. And I think she owes him the same. She's not being honest and it's really not fair to Percy. It might have been different if she had liked Percy a little bit and was giving him a chance while making Oliver jealous...but even then, it's a pretty bad way to treat someone.
But that's just a small part. I really do like the story and that's the only thing that bothers me. And you have every right to portray characters however you see them and however they're useful to you.
Please update soon :)

Author's Response: I am just about to update right now actually! It's been far too long and I feel bad to having made everyone wait.

I understand what you're saying about Percy, but at the same time I'm glad you understand why I had to represent him in such a way as to make the story move along. Plus he was the only Gryffindor boy in Oliver's year that we were ever told about, and I thought he tied in nicely with the mix of other characters I had in terms of jokes and repartee.

Yeah, Ernie kind of came out of the darkness for me as well, I seriously just wrote his name in in one draft of a chapter and it stuck, so now Kathy is happy and in love as well haha.

Derek is a sweetheart - a sap, but good at heart. I know what you mean about Audrey, but she did try and help Penelope in the end so I guess that redeems her (to me anyway). Penelope and Oliver are my favourite though, maybe because I put so much of myself in Penelope/Kathy's personality traits, and because Oliver just hilarious to write for!

Well, I'm going to update now. Thank you so much for your lovely long review and I hope you enjoy the last (sob) chapter! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by Free Elf Oliver's Detention Date

30th January 2013:
This is an amazing story! I absolutely love it :3 you've nailed the weasley twins'mischievous personalities :D can't wait for the next chapter... No it's almost finished :'( Oliver and Penelope HAVE to get together, seriously they are meant to be :) please update soon!

Author's Response: I'll be updating within the week, I promise! It'll be sad to see this story finally finished though, I've loved writing it and getting feedback. But thank you, the Weasley twins are my favourite to write :) and you'll see about Oliver and Penelope ;) ♥

 Report Review

Review #16, by J Oliver's Detention Date

23rd January 2013:
Please please upload quickly! This is one of my favourite stories on this website- this is my third time reading it through!

Author's Response: Oh wow thank you for such wonderful praise! I'll be updating within two weeks, just want to give it a once over ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by J Oliver's Detention Date

23rd January 2013:
Please please upload quickly! This is one of my favourite stories on this website- this is my third time reading it through!

Author's Response: A second review woo! ;)

 Report Review

Review #18, by ValWitch21 Oliver's Detention Date

17th January 2013:
Pranking (ish) Penny, hehe ;)

I LOVED YOUR PORTRAYAL OF FRED AND GEORGE (and Filch as well, if I may say so).

I can't wait for the next chapter, and I hope you get Fred and George make Percy dance to 'cheer him up' or something along those lines -- you know, as some kind of revenge because he stole my Pennyliver ship?

I am going to be sad seeing this come to an end though, but you should expect reviews on the previous chapters in the future!

:)

Author's Response: Thank you! Fred and George are my favourite characters to write for because they're just so fun. You could make them say anything and it would seem pretty normal haha ;)

Oh, you'll see what I have in store, but I won't tell you what happens to Roger. That I am keeping very tight-lipped about.

Aww thank you, that would be lovely ♥ but thank you for this review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Free Elf The Prize Fool of Gryffindor

14th January 2013:
YES!!! PENELOPE FINALLY REALISES!!! Gosh... about time :3 You must update soon! I cannot wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: The next one is waiting to be validated, so you don't have long to wait! She is very slow on the uptake haha ;)

 Report Review

Review #20, by tarynrenee The Prize Fool of Gryffindor

18th December 2012:
So excited for a new chapter, and what an excellent one!

Author's Response: Thank you! There'll be one in the queue as soon as it opens again :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by batsoulini The Prize Fool of Gryffindor

11th December 2012:
At least, Percy " i have a stick shoved up in my arse, but i feel comfortable" Weasley is out of the equation! AT LAST! GO TO THE MINISTRY AND GET LOST IN THE DEPARTMENT OF MYSTERIES!

Seriously, i didn't expect him to be such an arse in the end! At least Penny knows and we'll get a fluffy happy ending! :D:D

Author's Response: Fluff fluff fluff! You know that's all I'm good for ;) but neither did I, I guess he was my arsy self-conscious form coming out ;)

I don't think there's long left now, but thank you for sticking through this ♥ it means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #22, by TimeSeer The Prize Fool of Gryffindor

9th December 2012:
So Penelope finally realizes that Oliver was telling the truth the whole time. I only have one word to describe how I am feeling: FINALLY. It took her so long to realize that. But unfortunately she is dating Percy so that proves to be a problem, because that means that she cannot just run off into the sunset with Oliver, not that she would ever do that but you get the idea. And Oliver finally got to tell Percy how he is feeling about this whole dating thing. Percy was acting like such a, for lack of a better word, jerk. Can Percy just disappear forever? Please? Anyway please update soon!

Author's Response: I will update very soon, I just have something in the queue at the moment! But you hit the nail on the head, Percy is such a jerk, and Penelope is a fool for not realising sooner. Or is Oliver the fool? Or is it Percy...? ;) I loved this review, it made me smile so much ♥

 Report Review

Review #23, by ValWitch21 The Prize Fool of Gryffindor

9th December 2012:
Oh, yay, I was just despairing earlier today about this not being updated and here's a new chapter! It must be wishful thinking...

Penelope has to get herself together and rid of Percy. Of course I feel sorry for her, but honestly, Percy, guh. I'm sure he's not too bad in the way you see him but I really, really dislike him at the moment. My tolerance levels will probably increase when he and Penny split up though!

Oliver &hearts There is nothing else to say. Go for it you idiot!

I hope you post a new chapter of this soon :)

And have a nice Christams if I don't get the chance to say it again before the 25th!

Author's Response: It was meant to be, I heard your thoughts ;) I couldn't update earlier as my laptop was being fixed, and me being a fool, forgot to send this to myself to update. Gah! But I have finally posted!

Oliver is such a beautiful human being ♥ and Percy, well Percy can just fly away and stop bothering me and you ;) you'll see how it all turns out soon, don't worry! I'll be updating pretty soon.

And merry Christmas to you too! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by Josie The Prize Fool of Gryffindor

8th December 2012:
Please, please finish this fic, it's really good. I want to know what happens next.

Author's Response: Thanks! I will update as soon as the queue lets me! ♥

 Report Review

Review #25, by TheForestAgain Cirque du Hogwarts

14th November 2012:
you are such a good writer!! I'm anxiously awaiting your next chapter. cannnot wait.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The next one should be up pretty soon :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>