Reading Reviews for Kissed by Butterflies
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TyrannicFeenix Redefining Life

12th September 2012:
Thank you LilyFire... this chapter rocks. A perfect culmination of the story.

To see such innocence desroyed like that. Truly beautifully written. I love reading this, despite where it ultimately leads. DeAnna is such a wonderful character all throughout, despite what she is put through.

And poor Igor, having to endure that twice. And so soon after losing his wife. Every minute would have been like dying himself, having to stand by while death twice took that he cared about most in this world.

And been pushed away from her at the precipice of death so that she might heal, meaning he couldn't even be with her at the end. It would have ripped him apart inside worse than any act of murder.

And that final scene is almost more chilling than the rest of the story. So perfectly finished, and shows that maybe some of the Death Eaters had more to them than simply mindless obedience to Voldemort or sadistic pleasure in their pursuits like Bellatrix.

And I love Snape too, he plays so calm and reserved. He is so damn good. I really do love this fic. I must read more of your work. I may review them, depends if I have the time you know. Great stuff though. ;)

TyrannicFeenix

Author's Response: DeAnna is my baby. I adore her even though I put her through so much. Igor's story is so so complicated and wonderful that I just wanted to write about it.

The end of this is probably one of my favorite parts and how he just left his life behind. I'm glad that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #2, by TyrannicFeenix Devastating Reality

11th September 2012:
Poor little DeAnna, it must be terrible to lose your mother at such a young age. It would tear them both apart.

"absent from the world they living crushed my" This sentence feels off, I think it's meant to read 'from the world they're living in' but I'm not certain (I'm pretty thick actually).

Yet another beautiful yet tragic chapter. Both parties so full of love for this woman, who was doomed to death. A chaos neither would ever be truly able to recover from I'm sure. And poor poor DeAnna, having to endure that, especially with what was coming too.


TyrannicFeenix

Author's Response: I couldn't imagine losing my mother at a young age either but it seems to be a common theme in my stories.

That line was messed up, I'm glad that you found it and pointed it out. The edits are now up! :D

This chapter was the hardest for me to go through and edit because I always end up crying, but I'm glad that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by TyrannicFeenix Magics Beauty

11th September 2012:
And here it is madame, my review. Told it was worth waiting for (well probably not that good but I'll post it anyway).

Ah, didn't notice on the first read, is that first paragraph a moment from after the dispairing moment from the end?

Such a beautiful relationship between the members of the family. Though we only get to see the painful end of the relationship between the older pair, but you can see the source of the pain is true and honest love.

Such a sweet and innocent little girl, and a wonderous manifesation of her latent power. Such a lovely thought to picture all those wonderful little butterflies flitting about. It would surely make for a delightfully colourful sight.

I like the way you give us more and more info on her mother as you go along slowly getting us closer to her return, never feels rushed despite months passing in only lines.

Exactly one hundred eh? Did he count them all one by one or is he a mathematical savant? What exactly are leash children? I've never heard of them before and Google is too far away.

And there it is, the beginning of the end. Poor guy, to have to endure that. It must have been truly horrific. The ending of this chapter is so good. And yet so bad all at once, such a dreadful thing to happen to him, but written so wonderfully.

Can't wait to review chapter 2. Hopefully chapter 3 will be up so i can go straight onto it as well.

TyrannicFeenix

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you enjoyed it. The butterflies are pretty much my favorite thing...which is why it's part of the title. :P I'm glad that you liked the amount of the information on the mother, because I wasn't sure that I had enough information on her.

Leash children: Children that are kept on a leash to keep them from wandering away at stores typically. :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by Mihali1432 Redefining Life

14th August 2012:
... NO! NO. NO NO NO. No. AH. Why the little child? Sad faces all around dude. All. Around. So I'm just gonna say the flow and stuff was good. Like you know. My reaction should be enough. Like yeesh. THE POOR LITTLE GIRL. WHY? Gah. More people should read this *nods* Yep yep. So, this was brilliant. I found only that one mistake you know about but I'm not sure if you said it was a mistake or not. But yeesh. C'mon! The little girl ;(

This was brilliantly sad at the end, and I loved the butterfly symbolism. And the use of muggle diseases and why he became a death eater. But sheesh. Wonderful job!

Mike.

Author's Response: Sh there there Mike, it's ok. I cried writing this and I really didn't want to but it just fit with the story sadly. I'm glad you liked it though!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Mihali1432 Devastating Reality

11th August 2012:
Oh. My. Bajeesus. What. I have to say that I really think DeAnna is a great little kid character and she acts just how I would think she would! I thought the flow in this chapter was good! And the bridge between this and the first chapter was well done. It worked in my opinion and I thought this was well done!

I wanna say I found a couple selling mistakes like Chocked should be choked. And I found a small sentence somewhere that had the word "the" left out of it, or it would've flowed just a bit better if 'the' was added in.

The end of this chapter though. It was so sad! "Hapy Birfday Mommi" oh my god. That's so... Sad. I feel so bad for DeAnna. :(

Great job and I'll be at chapter 3 soon! :D

Mike.

Author's Response: Thanks so much Mike. I think I may need to take you up as a beta for me lol. I'll have to go through and read it again to make some changes! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Mihali1432 Magics Beauty

8th August 2012:
Wow! :O I have to say this was a really interesting first chapter, and it's so cool! I thought the butterfly thing was a really interesting prospect, and I'm guessing the guy is Igor? Considering what you wrote when you requested this :p Anyways, I found a couple spelling mistakes but to find them you just need to comb a bit, it's not much.

I really thought this was cool, and I'll tell you how it flows in the next review :D

-Mike.

Author's Response: MIKE! :glomp: Thanks Mike! I can't wait to hear your input on the next chapter. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshp Magics Beauty

18th July 2012:
Aw this was a cute little story!

I really liked reading this. The butterflies part was just so sweet. The narrative flowed smoothly and I like the insight you gave into the daughter, father, and the mother. The ending was so heartbreaking, poor Arabella.

I liked your writing style. It is so straightforward and simple. There were a few grammar and spelling errors though, but you can easily re-read and fix them, or get a beta for you.

All in all, good work!

8/10

Cheers!
AD

Slytherin for the Cup 2012

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I know there are a few errors and I'm thinking about getting a beta to help me with that because it is not my strong suit. Again thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ever Magics Beauty

8th July 2012:
The last line.so suspenseful!

I like your imagery, it was beautiful. My heart was breaking, I couldn't imagine not being able to see my mom much!

How awful! I like what you have going and I'm quite curious to see where you take this!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it and hope you enjoy the rest. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Toujours Padfoot Redefining Life

26th December 2011:
Oh wow, it's Igor! I definitely would not have guessed that, but wow. It's so sad that his story is so awful and that he lost his whole family. I see that this has contributed to his hate and resentment and why he would fall in with the Death Eaters. I would like to think that every time he saw a butterfly after this, it brought him a sense of peace.

Merry Christmas, kalkay!!

Author's Response: After writing this piece I always figured that he thought of DeAnna and that's what eventually brought him back to reality and to the person we now know. Thank you again for the reviews and sorry it took so long to get back to you on them. I really do appreciate the feedback! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Toujours Padfoot Devastating Reality

26th December 2011:
This was so sad! :( :( :(

I liked this line right here:
They didn't seem to float across the air as much as push through it.

I thought that was a very fitting description, and I could easily picture the butterflies still making their way toward him, letting him know he was being thought of, that they were still family. It's very sad that he lost Arabella and then sort of lost his daughter, too, and that for all of her strength she was still so stricken with grief. I can't even imagine being seven years old and watching my mother fade away in a hospital bed. Her father had to have been gutted when she showed him the birthday card. :(

Author's Response: That's one of my favorite lines too. This chapter gave me a bit of a challenge but I really enjoyed writing it. Thank you for the feedback!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Toujours Padfoot Magics Beauty

26th December 2011:
Merry Christmas, kalkay! Your secret santa at TGS has arrived. ^ ^

What a lovely beginning! DeAnna is such an adorable child and I thought it spoke a lot about her character that some of her first experiences with magic involved summoning butterflies. It reflects her serene, happy temperament and having them flutter around makes the story all the more sweet. I don't know what the father/husband's name is at this point, but he sounds like a really great dad. It would be so hard to have a wife who taught at a boarding school. I often wondered what that would be like, being married and teaching at places like Hogwarts. I'd also like to add that I'm glad you chose to have Arabella teach at Beauxbatons, as I never hear about that school very much in fanfic. I'm a bit worried about where this is going; I hope Arabella will be all right. :(

Author's Response: First off I would like to apologize for taking so long to get back to respond to your review.
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I wanted to keep the father a mystery until the very end. Thank you again and I hope you had a lovely holiday season!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Phoenix_Flames Redefining Life

14th November 2011:
KayKay!! I'm here! Finally! First I just want to apologize for the extremely long wait. I am so sorry that it took me so long to get around to this. I have just been crazy busy with school work, and my queue has been huge. But I finally made time for this. Thank you for being so patient! I love you!

And yay! What a wonderful third chapter. You left two in such a way that made me desperate to continue on further, so I couldn't wait to get around to this third chapter. And it was brilliant!

Absolutely perfect job. You are such a brilliant author, hun. You have a way of taking small parts of the HP series and just weaving them into these brilliant things. You did that wonderfully with Stan, and in here! Things with Igor and such. You've turned it all into a brilliant story.

And your characters are so unique and so awesome! Gah. I just love all of it.

And your writing. It's lovely. The flow follows perfectly with the themes and emotions going on in the story. Everything is just perfect.

Excellent chapter.

Gah, and I can't believe how you ended it. I want to read more! Right now! Gah. Absolutely great job, love! I don't quite know what else to tell you, Kay Kay! It was all so good! Perfect job! :) Love you!

Author's Response: Much delayed response from me but thank you so much! I'm glad that you enjoyed the story and a million thanks for the reviews. Love you doll!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Phoenix_Flames Devastating Reality

23rd October 2011:
Kay kay! Here for chapter two! I'm sorry it took me so long to get here, but thankfully you requested. If you hadn't, who knows how long it would have taken me to get around to this. I have like no time for free reading these days. :(

But anyways! YAY! Chapter two! And it was so good. I loved it.

This was absolutely precious. I love Arabella and DeAnna. They are such original and unique characters. I love them. Especially DeAnna. I'm in love with her. She's precious.

And Arabella is wonderful. You've made the perfect character in her motherly figure, and you really go that across so well. GAh, so cute.

This chapter was moving and precious. You had a great way of getting the emotions across in this chapter. I really loved it.

I don't know what else to say. It was a little short, but perfect and I loved it so much. It definitely made me want to continue on to the next chapter, but unfortunately because my queue is so huge, I can only hit this chapter. But I will be back as soon as I can for the next.

This was great, Kay Kay! I loved it! And I hope you're doing better!

xx.
Drue

Author's Response: Thank you for taking your time to review! I'm so glad that you liked it. I know it was a little short...sorry.

I'm so happy that you liked it! Thanks again for the review! I've requested the next chapter so that I know you'll be able to read it. :P

Love you!
xoxo
Mikayla


 Report Review

Review #14, by Beeezie Magics Beauty

17th October 2011:
For some reason, my account is glitching out and refusing to allow me to leave a logged in review... :

But this is Beeezie, here with your review!

This was an interesting read, and on the whole, I liked it a lot.

On a purely aesthetic level, I liked it. You've got a great writing style, and the imagery was lovely. The way you talked about and described the butterflies and DeAnna's connection to them - it was new and interesting, and I honestly don't think I've ever read anything like it in any fanfics. It was really just beautiful.

I also thought that you did a nice job and at showing the narrator's connection with his daughter, and how they feel about Arabella being away for so much of the year. I could really feel DeAnna's excitement in particular for her mom to be coming home.

I pretty much liked everything that was here - I just would have also liked to see a little more. Does that make sense? Most importantly, I wanted to see the story grounded in some way. I wasn't sure what time period we were talking about, or where (other than France, presumably), and what kind of history the characters had with each other. The chapter on its own felt like it was floating without any real anchor, and I wanted an anchor. I also felt like the ending was a bit rushed - all we hear is that she wasn't looking great. I wanted more detail about that, too, you know?

On the whole, I really liked this chapter - but I think that if you fill it out a bit more, I will love it. Please feel free to rerequest if you found this review helpful. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a great and constructive review even though you're account was glitching. :)

A main reason that this story doesn't have any real anchor was because I didn't know what time period it was, or even who the narrator was when I started writing this. I just knew, "father taking care of daughter while her mother is away teaching school" and that's the extent of my notes. :D Now that I do know more about the time period (down to exact dates and birthdays) I will be going back to add more of that in as you've pointed out that it would be helpful to the story.

I also at the time was not sure what exactly was wrong with the mother, which made it difficult to write about her symptoms. With a little more research I will also be able to add to that. :)

I'm unsure on what exactly you mean by you wanted to see more though so I will be PM-ing you concerning that.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story and thank you again for taking your time to write such a helpful review! I will be sending some more of my stuff your way. :)
Thanks!
xoxo
kalkay


 Report Review

Review #15, by LoopyLemon Devastating Reality

11th October 2011:
Oh my gosh this made me so sad!! This was so wonderfully written!!! I loved DeAnna and I just want her mummy to be alive again!! I loved the butterflies and how you used them to show the change in DeAnna. Poor girl. I loved the father as well. He was so sincere and well meaning and was so good to his daughter. This was really really good!! Keep writing!! I want to see what happens to this pair and the butterflies!!!
I love this so much!!
Emma

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! The next chapter is in the queue and will be out soon so keep an eye open for it! Thank you for the lovely review. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Phoenix_Flames Magics Beauty

29th September 2011:
Mikayla! :) I'm here with your review as requested. Eee, and I'm so glad you did. I loved this piece so much. It was wonderful. Absolutely precious. I thought it was beautiful, and let's hope I can give you some good feedback other than just a fangirl rant. :P

Anyways. So! This was such a great first chapter, and I can't wait to see where you take this. It seems so unique so far! But from what I can tell, all your stories that I know of are. I don't know how you come up with all your ideas. Stan in Azkaban, everything else. You are a master at original plots, and this definitely shows here. :)

I love how you started off the story. That was an absolutely beautiful description, and just so much came across in that description. It was gorgeous and uplifting, and you just wrote it marvelously! His daughter is precious, and it sent me back to my childhood years, really. It seemed somewhat nostalgic to me just because it made me remember those good years, the good days outside with your parents when the weather is great.

Your writing made it really come off the screen. I really felt as if I was right there. The entire chapter felt like this to me. :)

There was so much personality in it all with your word choice and also within his thoughts. I found it absolutely hilarious when you mentioned 'Leash Children.' Are you talking about the kids who have the little animal backpacks that have leashes as tails?! I see those all over the place. Hahaha, crazy kids. And perfect description. I thought that was hilarious and a really great addition to his character.

It was all fairly happy-go-lucky, so at the end of the I was surprised with the drastic change. But I love cliff hangers. :) And drama. So I loved that. It was a brilliant time to end the chapter, and you definitely had me wanting more!

Gah, it was all brilliant. The dialogue fit perfectly, and you actually made me miss my parents. :) The flow was awesome. There were never too many descriptions or emotions all in one part; you organized it perfectly so that there was a great balance.

This is super good, Mikayla! And I'm really loving it. :) I don't know what else to say because I don't know exactly what you're looking for, but I hope you found this helpful then! :) I definitely enjoyed reading this piece. :)

Make sure I come back for the next chapter. ;)

ILY, hun! :)

Author's Response: Drue! First thank you so much for taking time to review this for me. A big thing that I was worried about was that it wasn't very balanced and it didn't fit together. I'm glad that you brought that up. I'm glad that it brought you back to your childhood as that was something I was trying to achieve, but after reading it so many times it's hard to know if you're just convincing yourself that it's doing that or not.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to review this for me. It was very helpful!
ILYT doll! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login