Reading Reviews for In Full Circle
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by missdagane One

10th December 2011:
Loved it! That was perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you, my dear :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Pen2Paper One

21st November 2011:
Dear Lia,

Firstly I should apologise, I'm terribly sorry for taking such an infinitely long time to review your story that you may not even remember requesting a review. I'm really very sorry for the delay.

That said, you asked for my general opinion and here it is. Not all fairy tale romances are believable or even enjoyable. Some lack depth, climax, a rich texture to the story. Some have a couple meant to find each other right from the start that there is no possible way the story would have ended if not in each others arms.

Your story Lia, was strikingly different. A romance that twists and turns and strives, as all true romances do in the real world. This story had so many places where the cards could have turned and the story turned upside down. You captured its believability perfectly. Your story is so beautifully textured and well worded that each scene comes alive taking us back to places we already knew with your characters.The story flows gently and the way you take us back and forth in time seamlessly is truly amazing.

The way you write is so rich with emotion and character. I am truly blown away by this piece of work. I've not read much Next Gen, and in general I rarely take a shrine to one-shots but this was really an unparalleled piece of work. I really admire your ability to word your thoughts so well that we possible 'see' exactly what you tried to visualise in the story.

I'm afraid I only have praise for you :) I loved everything from your characters, their personality and the DETAIL! wow! Whoever said a story is in the details, I whole heartedly agree because your masterpiece would be bland without out those memorable details that even after reading still lingers in my mind.

Your work is fantastic. In my 'general opinion' this is a solid 10/10 , maybe even more! :) Thank you so much for bringing this story to my thread and I hope that I get to read more from you in the future.

Believe this if nothing else, to some sappy romantics like me, the best stories live on long after the book ends or the end credits roll and I am left wondering how Rose and Scorpius would have embarked on their life together once they left those stands. I loved your story and the way you told it to us :)

Well done. Excellent effort :)
~Pen2Paper.

Author's Response: Pen2Paper,

O.o

Holy cow! I'm sorry for the delay in answering, but I wanted to wrap my head around this amazing review. You're right, I didn't remember I requested it however that isn't important now.

Ah fairytales. Not something I believe much anymore. Most of the time they're all the same - perhaps with a different setting thrown in and a re-labelling of the character names, but the endings are predictable. Though there are some authors who like to make things overly complex ;)

I do agree. There are many instances where things could've gone down much differently such that Rose and Scorpius might not have gotten their happy ending or Teddy could have made things rather uncomfortable or even Rose might have done something silly. For this though, I wanted things to be done properly. No drama, just a severing of the ties that needed to be cut and the understanding (of all involved) as to why, especially in Teddy's case. Someone pointed out that he could be like his father in this story and I agreed - both are noble men here.

Your compliments make me smile! I'm really glad you enjoyed it so much. I guess I did what I was supposed to do. I'm really at a loss for what else I could say in response to all of this.

I know exactly how you feel. Most people know that being a romantic isn't something I would openly admit. But sometimes there are just /those/ stories with those couples that leave you wanting more or wondering what happened to them. I get like that for my TV ships.

Thank you so much for your amazing review! I hope I responded adequately, if not, shoot me a PM!

Lia


 Report Review

Review #3, by Olympia1863 One

20th October 2011:
Hey Lia!

This was just lovely. First of all, your language choice was excellent. It flowed so well and there were a couple times when your word choice was just beautiful. I particularly liked ' her friendship with Scorpius faded like the stars did when dawn approached'. I was fittingly poetic.

It's nice to see a realistic depiction of shifting relationships. Normally this sort of thing is treated s dramatically, with Rose realizing in the middle of the night that she doesn't love Teddy, casting him aside and running into the arms of Scorpius. This was subtle, and I like how you hinted at it, rather than just blatantly saying it. It was a great reflection of Rose's own thoughts and feelings, since we sort of discover them as she does.

I also loved the characterization. Hermione and Ron are point perfect, a silly old couple still bickering and still in love. I liked the brief mention of Malfoy and his wife as well, and they way he mentions Lucius and Narcissa :) Teddy was excellent as well, especially in the final scene where he leaves, very much like his dad (or so I gathered). And Rose was appropriately introspective without being angsty. Her interactions with Scorpius, particularly at Gringrotts, were poignent, but not sappy.

Over all, I think you tackled an interesting and often poorly done concept really, really well. I'll have to read the companion! Your writing style is so easy to read. Really well done!

-Elle

Author's Response: Hey Elle!

Thank you so much! I liked that line a lot too, it was quite fitting and described exactly what happened.

I'd like to believe that Rose is the sensible type of girl who likes to do things properly. She tried really hard to make things work with Teddy and he tried to do the same but in the end, it really wasn't worth it. It was something that was inevitable which takes us back to the subject of wants vs. needs. In the companion to this one-shot, Rose spends her entire life wondering what it was about Teddy that intrigued her so much; in this one, she figures it out and unfortunately the entire thing gets a bit old. I'm glad you think my approach was realistic.

I have a habit of mentioning my favourite pairings in passing when I write these types of stories, just as a sort of pimpage; Lucius/Narcissa is my OTP so naturally I had to mention them. I brought in Ron and Hermione to show their relationship with Rose, especially on Hermione's part. It took me a while to decide who she would talk to about Scorpius and it seemed best if she heard it from her mother.

That's an interesting point there, comparing Teddy to Remus. It makes sense to me too! Remus struck me as one of those noble characters who would let go of what needed to be let go and fight when it was necessary.

The scene in front of Gringotts was one of the pivotal scenes. When Rose recalled it, something inside her clicked. For Scorpius, it was more than that - you could say that it was a bit painful for him to know that she was with someone else and looking at him like that.

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Elle! :) I really appreciate it.

Lia


 Report Review

Review #4, by SunSation Gal 07 One

17th October 2011:
Aww! This was lovely, Lia! I'm gonna have to go and read the story that this is a companion to. :)

Author's Response: I'm really glad you liked it, Lee :) :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MajiKat One

10th October 2011:
Hey darling, here to review. sorry about the wait!

well, i really liked this! what a lovely ending to their story. i had the feeling in Illogical that they were meant to be and even though you wrote Rose and Teddy so wonderfully, well, her feelings for him anyway, cause that was where the focus lay, Rose and Scorpius are a better fit in this case.

I really liked the way you delved into her feelings - you explained them but it never sounded like a lecture, a big emotional load dumped on the reader. you made it seem natural and flowing and that was really well done.

I actually loved that it was Teddy who told Scorpius about the break-up. It brings it full circle to Illogical, where Scorpius pushed Rose so hard to get things together with Teddy. I appreciated that you included that little bit here ^_^

Their coming together at the end was lovely - you really made them work. Normally i get all NOOO when Rose and Teddy fall apart, cause I love them together almost as much as Rose and Scorpius, but in this fic, I didn't feel that pain! They weren't right and you did a wonderful job in showing that.

Lovely work!! Thank you for requesting!!

Kate xx

Author's Response: Hey Kate :)

When I started writing Illogical, it was just supposed to be Teddy/Rose but by the time I got back to it, my perspective changed a lot and it drifted into the direction of pairing Rose with Scorpius. And let me tell you, I fought really hard not to ship them together, I really did. But poor Scorpius, I sort of broke his heart at the end so I wanted to make it up to him. Rose really did feel a lot for Teddy but like most of my readers pointed out, he didn't understand her like Scorpius did. Not at all.

Ah, thank you for that. I worry that I'm lacking some detail that would make things clearer for everyone. Most of the time, I think I write too little.

I don't think it would've worked any other way. I felt he had to tell his cousin how things fell apart with Rose. It makes for a very interesting conversation between the two of them because Teddy knew how Scorpius felt all the while even though the latter tried his best to let Rose live her life with who she wanted.

I was so worried that it would be a bit cheesy, you know? The cynic in me tends to cringe at happy endings. But honestly, I felt they deserved it. I tried to take them back to a familiar place (the Quidditch Pitch) where they first established their friendship (or, maybe it was just a bit of clarification for Rose). I think Teddy's expectations were a bit warped after his break-up with Victoire. Though Rose won't stop loving him, they can never get to that place and I think both of them realised that in the end, that's why the break-up was the way it was. They should get some credit for trying though.


Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm really glad you enjoyed my little one-shot!

Lia


 Report Review

Review #6, by adluvshp One

22nd September 2011:
hey there! This is AditiDraco95 from the forums with your requested review.

This was a beautiful piece. Even though it was tied with another story, it perfectly stood alone, and I didn't get confused in the slightest.

Your writing style and narrative is amazing here. It truly drew me in. I liked reading this a lot.

The characterization of Rose and Scorpius, and Hermione, it was all beautifully captured. You did a fairly good job with it.

The story flowed wonderfully - the plot and the scenes wove together nicely - and all in all this made a great read.

I could actually feel everything Rose was feeling, and I think you did justice to the ending as well.

Overall, a brilliant piece on which I find nothing to criticize.

10/10

Cheers!
AD

Author's Response: Hiya!

Thank you so much! I have to tell you, I'm a bit wary of sequels and companion pieces but this is one which I felt I really needed to tell. I wanted to show how Rose grew up and how she never wanted to give up on her friendship with Scorpius even if he had his doubts.

I think the scene with Rose and Hermione was one of my favourites to write. I thought it was best if Rose heard this from her mother. It was a nice bonding moment for them as well.

Haha, wow - nothing to criticise! Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm glad you enjoyed the story :)

Lia


 Report Review

Review #7, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme One

21st September 2011:
Hi Lia ♥

I'm so pleased that you decided to write a sequel to Illogical. My mind was whirring for ages after reading that and when I saw you'd requested this, I was very excited to read it!

I love how Rose and Scorpius have grown up in this. The time difference between the two stories was evident through their behaviour and the change in Rose's attitude towards Teddy, their relationship and love in general. I really enjoyed seeing the differences in her ideals and dreams in this one-shot as opposed to what we saw in Illogical.

I want to pick up on what the other reviewer has said because I don't think it's something to worry about: the time gap. Three years is not that much and with Rose having been so in love (supposedly) and in awe of Teddy for so long, it's understandable that she'd want to try and make it work. Perhaps I feel extra-defensive for stretching out a similar relationship over 6 years but I really don't think you should cut it down any.

I do find it quite worrying that I get so attached to certain Scorpiuses around HPFF these days. I was rooting for him from the start and this has left me wondering if Rose really deserves him. I think it might have been nice to include a little bit more about when and why she fell in love with him because that aspect wasn't entirely convincing.

Some of the dialogue was a little awkwardly phrased but it was generally very good and the story flowed really well. Once you've got someone to beta this and iron out some grammar, spelling and tense issues, it'll be brilliant.

I think you told the story of the three of these characters extremely well and generally convincingly over the two one-shots. I really am so happy that they got their happy ending.


xx

Author's Response: Hey Rachel :)

The thing about sequels, for me, is that they are never as good as the first one in the series and I don't really like them for that reason. But for this, I felt it was necessary to give Rose, Scorpius and Teddy an ending. I'm happy you were so excited to read it, hopefully I didn't disappoint.

I'm glad you saw that. It was exactly what I wanted to show. The tone, Rose's perspective, even my use of POV - I wanted all of them to differ from the first one. Her experience wasn't at all what she thought it would be and like the doll her mother mentioned, she got tired of it. However, Teddy can't be hidden away in an attic. For all that time, the reality of it all would've hit her and made her realise if this was what she really wanted.

I thought five years was pushing it for this one but three years was just enough time for her to be out of Hogwarts, living on her own and working. It would also give her some alone time to do some thinking and evaluating her relationships with Teddy and Scorpius. At the end of Illogical, she got her chance to figure out what it was about Teddy that left her so in awe of him as you put it. After those three years, she has it figured out...or at least she thinks she does. Teddy has also come to terms with the fact that Rose has grown. Things change when that happens and for certain points in her relationship, the one person who mattered was Scorpius. I'm alluding to their stand-off in Diagon Alley and how worried she was at his prompt retreat in the bookshop when she confessed her feelings about Teddy. She was right, she did love him and probably will continue to, but it doesn't come close to what she feels for Scorpius (which will be explained when I think about it some more and fill in that blank :p)

Haha. Scorpius :) Len has told me the same thing, actually. I get what you mean about whether Rose deserved him. I haven't really given her enough reason to go after him, have I? I agree with you, so I'll go see about that as soon as I can.

Ah tenses...the perpetual thorn in my side. All of that should be fixed soon. I actually sent it over to be edited when I posted this. I just wanted to get it out - it's been sitting on my laptop for a few weeks now.

I'm really glad you enjoyed this so much. Thank you so much for your review! I hope my response addresses your points, if not, my mta page is always there :)


Lia


 Report Review

Review #8, by Beeezie One

19th September 2011:
Hey, this is Beeezie, here with your requested review!

There are a few mechanical issues (forgotten punctuation, that sort of thing), but I'm sure your beta will catch that.

I'm honestly not sure how long or helpful this review is going to be. I'm going to give it a try, but I want to say from the start that I never understood pairing Teddy with Rose. I've seen it done a lot, and it creeps me out. It's nothing to do with how you executed it, but I'm not sure how much I'm going to have to say when I had a lot of trouble getting past that.

Anyway, onto the real review. I thought that your presentation was good on the whole. Her coming to terms with their not working as a couple and her feelings for her friend were depicted in a way that was realistic and made sense.

However, there were areas that confused me. I sometimes didn't understand when certain things were supposed to have taken place, and I wasn't really clear on when her friendship with Scorpius got back to where it had been. The three years also seemed like an absurd amount of time for her to be in a relationship she didn't find fulfilling or for Scorpius to go without getting over her - I might have abbreviated it to a year or maybe two.

Again, I think that you've written a decent story - I'm just having a hard time with the pairing. Sorry!

Author's Response: Hi Beeezie!

I'm so sorry the pairing didn't appeal to you! I had no idea :/ I should also apologise for asking you to review this because you hadn't read the first one. That one has much more background on Rose and Scorpius' relationship. Oh dear, I felt like I've wasted your time.

Rose finally realising what her relationship really meant was the whole point of this story. When I finished writing the prequel of sorts to this, it was open-ended - no one knew where the characters ended up, so this was to tie up loose ends, so to speak. I wanted her to realise that love isn't as simple as it appears. What she thought was love was just a way of figuring out what Teddy really represented...and well, hormones.

I agree with you there. I originally had 5 years then cut it down to three. I wanted her to have enough time to spend with Teddy and for her to be old enough to do certain...um...things. (I'm a bit of a prude:p). As for Scorpius, I want to object and say that sometimes these feelings don't really go away. They may not be on the surface but they still exist.

Thank you so much for reading this despite you not liking the pairing!

Lia



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login