Reading Reviews for Off the Rails
  
513 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Deanie epilogue

23rd February 2015:
I don't think I've ever seen such detailed quidditch but I loved it. Thank you for this amazing story I think you made me cry at some point. The way you wrote Lily was my favourite portrayal I've read of her and I loved James and Cordelia the pygmy puff:)

Author's Response: I developed the Quidditch far more than I anticipated, but I was pleased with it in the end. I'm glad you liked Lily, she's one of my favourites! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by larry epilogue

15th February 2015:
Thank you for a wonderful story. Well done. I think you channeled Ginny with everything Quidditch.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading, I'm glad you enjoyed! The Quidditch kind of took over, I didn't expect it to feature as much as it did in the end, but I really enjoyed writing it so I'm glad you liked it. :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by gigi thirty-seven

15th February 2015:
Just a small nitpick in an otherwise flawless story: Sinead had to have been at least 8 years older than Ginny since Harry never played Quidditch with or against her at Hogwarts and considering how good she was she would have been mentioned in his 1st 2 years, besides she was already winning a world cup before Harry's 4th year, which she couldn't have done if she'd been out of school only 1 year.

Author's Response: ... I usually spend AGES poring over births and dates and whatnot to make sure they all add up, how the hell did I miss this one?! Thanks for pointing that out, I'll make a note to fix it! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by gigi thirty-three

14th February 2015:
Intense! So sad :-( Very well done!

Author's Response: This chapter nearly broke me to write. Poor James. Luckily this is as low as things get for him, it's pretty rough though. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by gigi twenty-seven

12th February 2015:
First of all, I'm not sure how I forgot about this story that I started reading last summer and dont know why I didnt finish. But I luuurve it and intend to see it to completion this weekend. Now to the chapter.

Ah James! He needs to get his head out of his derriere already. In all his 21 years, has he not heard once from his family that his dad was never big on expressing his feelings? Doesn't mean he doesn't love James or isn't proud of him. Harry never chose all the media attention associated with being the Boy who Lived, the Chosen One or the Man who defeated the Dark Lord any more than James chose that associated with being Harry Potter's son. Yes, the media follows him more than his more accomplished team mates because of his parents' achievements, but they all give him his due chops for his own success, so he needs to quit feeling underappreciated and be thankful for what the wizarding Gods and his parents' genes have given him and respect his dad for what he's done instead of resenting him for it. I don't see Al and Lily doing that. And when it comes to Carla, he needs to put himself in her shoes and realize that she has a choice in whether or not she wants to be a part of this media circus that comes with being James Potter's gal, that he and his dad did not. But this story wouldn't have the title if James didn't have these insecurities and he's obviously in love with her even if he doesn't realize it because he wouldn't fall off the rails if he wasn't.

Love the story and can't wait to finish it :-)

Author's Response: A lot of the issues with Harry and James stem from the fact that neither of them are good at discussing their feelings. But yes, James is being silly. Albus and Lily are at a different point in their lives to James ... he has a lot of growing up and realisation to come. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lauri epilogue

3rd February 2015:
I just read this entire story and wow!! The plot was amazing and the way you described quidditch in so much detail kept making me forget it's not a real sport. So excited to read the sequel!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm really glad you enjoyed it! I got so immersed in the Quidditch side of things when writing this that sometimes I forgot it wasn't a real sport as well... And I think I'm now sick of it completely, whoops! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by merlins beard thirty-three

27th January 2015:
I cried through the whole chapter... hope it gets better soon, i can't take much more of this... really well written though

Author's Response: This chapter was the hardest one to write. It was oddly enjoyable, as things had been working up to this for a long time, but at the same it was very sad to put James, Harry and Ginny through this pain. It's all up from here though! :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Matthea epilogue

18th January 2015:
This story was great! You gotten it done to tell multiple stories in one. It was not just a story about quidditch, or about falling in love with a muggle, it was more than that. It had many details and background without making it boring, they were original and had emotion.
You also had many plot twists, they made mistakes or had trouble and some twist I didn´t like in the beginning, but in the end made your story better. You definitely deserve the Dobby Award you´ve won for that.
So thank you, I´m sure gonna read the sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely review, I'm really glad you enjoyed reading this! Hope you enjoy the sequel, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Syd epilogue

12th January 2015:
This was an absolute fav of mine. I wanted to post reviews on every chapter but curiosity got the better of me. I was going to go straight to Derailed but then I decided that such a wonderful story diserved a review.
I really really love this sttory. You got all the characters right.
Though it was quite hard to get used to lily being a squib I reallly loved her and Her character was lovely.
James is portrayed wonderfully. I absolutely love him.
Every one else is as Perfect as can be.
Whenever I read a fanfic I always pick up negetive aspects and edit them in my own head but this was a really delighting and wonderful story and every part was perfect.
You are an amazing writer and I will read all of the stories you have posted or will post in the future.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely review! :) I'm glad you liked Lily's plotline, it was a big thing to make her a Squib but I thought it would be an interesting way to explore what it's like for Squibs in the wizarding world. Although it's now become my headcanon and I get confused in other stories when Lily's at Hogwarts.

Hope you enjoy the sequel, thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by everBlazin_ epilogue

10th January 2015:
I absolutely loved this story. It's the first NextGen story I actually read. I usually keep to Marauders/PreHogwarts stories, but somehow I ended up reading your story. :)

The plot was amazing. I didn't expect it to go that way, thinking other stuff would happen. I did get the feeling that James would become the new professor.. He seemed to enjoy teaching those kids without really realising it at that point.

You're a really good writer. Your characters show a lot of depth. Your plot is really well thought out.

Can't wait to start on the sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading, I'm honoured that Rails was the first Next Gen you read! And I'm very glad you enjoyed it. :) Hope you enjoy the sequel too, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by drifting thirty-nine

14th December 2014:
This is a long overdue review.

I really like your story - my favourite characters are Ginny and Lily. I like your development of Ginny a lot more than the canon Ginny. Sad as it was, your writing of the scene/ confrontation between James and his parents when they come to his flat, was excellent. The part where James shuts the door on Ginny was really gut wrenching; very well written.

I never saw the plot twist coming. But looking back there were so many hints. That was beautifully done. Lily is a really fun and intense character.

I really like that your story goes so much beyond the standard fanfic romance genre. There is a lot more depth to the characters. This is so evident in the conflict in so many of the next gen characters. In fact it was this point, which sets your story apart from most others, that made me finally write this review after so many chapters (sorry about that - you really deserve many more reviews; but if it means anything the review count really is not an indicator of story quality most of the time). Ok I am rambling now.

Back to the story - the transition from World Cup call
-up James (where you had me as a reader in a really upbeat frame of mind) to downbeat James (where I was depressed) was very good. You really managed to move around my emotions as a reader all over the place.

I wish there was more to Carla so far. But there's many chapters to go, so fingers crossed.

And congrats on your Dobby win. You really deserved it in my opinion.

Author's Response: And this is a very long overdue response!

I dislike canon Ginny. I can see where Rowling was trying to go with her, but she didn't really show us enough of her. It's only fanfic that has brought me round, and the head-canon I have of her now is, I think, a lot more developed than the book canon. I do adore her in Rails, and I'm glad you liked her too. :)

The confrontation with James and his parents was hard to write, but oddly enjoyable at the same time; all of that angst had been building up for a long time and it was kind of fun to write the explosion. James shutting the door in Ginny's face was fairly brutal, but pretty vivid too.

And Lily. I'm so glad you like the twist, it was hard to not give it away but worth it for the payback, and it's interesting to delve into what life would be like for a Squib.

I always set out to write a story that was more than just a Next Gen romance - I'm all about that angst! I'm guessing that James' conversation with Fred in this chapter was what prompted you to review; I can't help but feel that the fame and life achievements of Harry and co really would affect their kids, although I didn't necessarily expect things to become QUITE as angsty as they did!

There is more to come on Carlotta - lots more - so hopefully you enjoy that. :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Rainyday epilogue

26th October 2014:
I cannot explain the way in which this story has touched my heart. This story is absolutely beautiful, in the way it's written and in the way the plot had been so thoughtfully produced. It doesn't feel like an online fan fiction, but like an award winning published book. The characters that you've made up seen like close friends because of the understanding I've gotten from your writing. It's allowed us readers to connect to the characters in a way that requires a talented author. I can't explain to you how much I adored this story. Thank you so much for taking the time to pen this art, it's actually the best story I've probably read on the Internet. x

Author's Response: Thank you so so much for your lovely words! I can't explain to YOU how much it means to pop along to find a review like this. :) I'm so glad you enjoyed reading Rails, I certainly enjoyed writing it and it's a story with characters which are very close to my heart. I hope you pop back for the sequel! Thanks again :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Roisin one

21st September 2014:
Hello!

So this story has been on my reading list for approximately FOREVER, so SotM and Dobby nominations were just the push I needed to finally jump in!

And MAN, I see why this story has been so popular! I didn't realize it before, but I haven't seen many NextGen novels from a male POV--I'm really enjoying it!

This chapter was definitely a huge amount of fun, while still setting up so many threads for the future, and overall it was pretty masterful. I also really liked how balanced your take on "playboy" was. Writing it through James' POV was really smart, because it gives the reader the space to recognize his less wonderful qualities (he's quite vain, and certainly rather inconsiderate), even if he doesn't totally recognize that himself. It was also infinitely wise to give him a female friend, and that definitely stopped me from stroppily screaming "CHAUVINIST!" at him. Because he's really not just some totally arrogant jerkface--he clearly cares about and respects Brie and he loves his family regardless of his "too cool for school" front. And really, his character is exactly reasonable with canon in mind, and he's still young!

Also, I really liked that you included all the kinds of politics involved with Sport, it really gives depth to the whole "he plays Quidditch" thing, rather than throwing that in as an obvious career choice. I'm super interested in how you visualize that in the future!

Overall, this first chapter is definitely living up to the hype, and I can't wait to read more! I'll try to stop and review, but a fair warning: I might just end up curling up and binge-reading this without stopping!

xoxo
Roisin

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, so this review has been in my unanswered list for about forever and I am a TERRIBLE PERSON. A very belated thanks for popping along and checking us out!

I always find it interesting to come back to the first chapter, as my James is a very different person by the end! He DOES come across as quite vain here, and he's certainly inconsiderate at times! But yes, his friendship with Brie has been a delight to write throughout.

The Quidditch. Oh the Quidditch. Lots more of that to come, it all kind of exploded into a much bigger ball of exposition than I'd ever planned on, and now I don't ever want to write about it again. But I did love it at the time, and my readers seem to enjoy it as well so it's all worthwhile. :)

Thanks so much for popping by and leaving a review, I hope you continue(d?) to read and enjoy! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by gigi thirteen

31st August 2014:
Lily a Squib, wow, you held on to that quite well, I'd never have guessed. I was wondering earlier why she couldn't apparate at 18 and thought that was a mistake, but now I see the truth. The reveal seems to be going well so far, better than I expected which makes me wonder if I should trust Carla, hope it doesn't backfire.

Author's Response: Ha, I struggled at times to keep this one quiet! I remember stumbling across a fair few issues when writing these early bits. I'm glad you liked it, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by gigi twelve

31st August 2014:
The SoS confuses me. There's got to be some bylaws for Muggles who have magical kids and those who marry wizards. Obliviation can't be the only option. Still, amazing read, cant quite put this down :-)

Author's Response: I'm pretty sure there is some dispensation for magical people who marry Muggles, and obviously the parents of Muggleborns learn about magic as well. Having said that, it does seem that even after marriage, magical people tend to be very hesitant to tell their Muggle spouse about magic. This instance is entirely different to those scenarios though, because James and Carlotta aren't even in a relationship, let alone married. The whole ethos of the Statute is that the fewer Muggles who need to know about magic, the better, and Carlotta definitely doesn't need to know about magic right now. Hope that makes sense! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by gigi ten

31st August 2014:
So what happened to Ron and Hermione? After 10 chapters that included a family wedding and their son's game, they're blatantly MIA. They're not goners are they? Nice story though.

Author's Response: I'll be the first to hold my hands up and say I'm not very good at juggling a large cast. In the beginning I was making a concerted effort to include all the Weasleys, but that soon fell by the wayside as other plot developments took over. They don't just vanish though, they will crop up again! Thanks for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by madness epilogue

16th August 2014:
This. Was. Amazing.







.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it! Hope to see you at the sequel :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Bijn epilogue

7th August 2014:
I really, really loved this story (although it deprived me of a lot of sleep, hehe). The thing I really liked was the fact you made the characters very credible; their relationship towards others, their personalities, it all fits. I enjoyed reading from James’ POV because his reactions and thoughts were in line with the personality you gave him.
I also liked the Quidditch-part of the story. It is evident you have put a lot of effort in it and it pays off. Although all the names, positions and so on were a bit confusing in the beginning (well, for me) I really liked the individual roles they had to play. It is nice to read a story in which you come to learn more and more about the people in it whilst reading it; a lot of things became clear in stages, a thing I love about stories. For instance, Lily being a squib was quite a revelation but once I knew, a lot of things fell into place.
I am looking forward to reading the sequel and keep up the good work, because your writing style certainly makes the lack of sleep worth it!

Author's Response: I take no responsibility for sleep deprivation, ha. :) I'm glad you liked the characters, I do try to put a lot of effort into developing them all as people. James' POV was very interesting to write; I'd never written in first person before and it's definitely very different to third person narrative. But James' head was a fun one to get into, I do miss writing him.

I ended up developing the Quidditch side of things much more than I imagined I would, but it was enjoyable and I'm pleased with how it turned out, although I can't bring myself to write any more Quidditch now. I'm done with it!

The squib revelation was fun to write, but very tricky not to give away before time. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Evans5 epilogue

29th July 2014:
So good! I couldnt put it down! Can totally see this as a movie! :D

Author's Response: Wow, that really IS a compliment! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Tris  epilogue

10th July 2014:
Read your whole story. I have found myself more wrapped up in your quidditch than any sport ever in my life. The details were amazing and carefully thought out! I love the bits of history thrown in and the unique plot line! I CANNOT Walt to read Derailed (but unfortunately I cannot start or I will never sleep again...) also I am not supriwed at all but the ending the foreshadowing was so much from the moment McGonagall asked if he know of anybody-- but anyways amazing story, reccomended it to all of my friends!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading! It's lovely to know you enjoyed the Quidditch aspect as I put a lot of thought into it, although I now never want to write another match again! Hope you go on to read Derailed! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by slytherinchica08 epilogue

17th June 2014:
Well I have made it to the end. And while I am sad that I am out of chapters to read on this story, I am also very excited to begin the next! I am sorry that I have not reviewed every chapter. It had been my intention to review every single chapter but I found that my reviews left something to be desired because I really didn't have much to say. Each chapter that I have read has been absolutely fantastic and just wonderful and so amazing to read and I sort of ran out of ways to say that. But alas I have at least finished this story and very much enjoyed it! I can say that James leaving Quidditch to become the professor isn't a huge shock for me. I was actually kind of expecting it so I was really glad when he did announce that. I thought this chapter was really well done and makes me want to continue reading onto the next story with these amazing characters that you have created! I loved all of the different pairings that were thrown into this story that all added their own arcs to them. It was such a wonderful read! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Firstly thank you so much for reading! No need to apologise for not reviewing every chapter, I often have that feeling when trying to leave a review and struggling to write it! Also all the reviews you left were so lovely to read, especially as the reveal about Lily occurred. :)

I didn't expect James' retirement to be a shock, as I had foreshadowed it a LOT. I expected people would think "but surely he wouldn't actually retire" but given all the signposting, it was hardly a left-field development. And most of all it's reassuring that people believe it as a realistic move. :)

Thanks again for all your reviews! I'm really glad you've enjoyed the fic, and I hope you continue reading Derailed!


 Report Review

Review #22, by slytherinchica08 twenty-eight

14th June 2014:
Oh poor James, things keep getting worse and worse for him! I hope that he can turn things around soon because this has to be really hard on him (and of course everyone else since he keeps yelling at them and taking out all of his stress and anger on them). I look forward to the next chapter!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: James definitely needs to cool his anger at this point! The more cross he gets, the more people he turns against him... Poor boy. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by slytherinchica08 twenty-seven

14th June 2014:
Oh no this chapter is just so very sad! From James finally telling her about his dad and his involvement with everything and how he thinks he is this huge let down and then the fight with her! Gah this has to be a horrible day probably one of the worst! But it was a really good chapter. You really made me feel his emotions and how raging he was and everything. This story is so enjoyable. I look forward to reading more!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Yeah, this was a sad chapter to write. Poor James. :( But at the same time it was a fun one to write because it was the catalyst for pretty much EVERYTHING. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by slytherinchica08 twenty-six

14th June 2014:
YAY he made the team! I'm so excited for James! But seriously, those questions he was asked were crazy. I would hate to have someone assume that I surpassed my mom and that I would be proud of that. I think I would have done the same as him and just walked out the door without a care for any of the other interviews. And then to get home and be asked about who the boy who lived is, yeah this is definitely a stressful day! Anyways great job on another chapter, I enjoyed it!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I think it would be very difficult for any Quidditch player with a parent who played professionally to deal with the comparisons. Likewise, I can't imagine it was easy for any of the Potter kids, purely due to being Harry's kids. So for James to be in both positions at the same time, the press attention is pretty horrendous. This was definitely a stressful chapter for James! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by slytherinchica08 twenty-five

14th June 2014:
Wow I felt so bad for James at how poorly he had been doing at the beginning of his match. But the fact that he had been able to pull it off and switch around his luck is pretty amazing! I hope that things go well for him tomorrow with the call! Anyways another great chapter and I can't wait to read more!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Yup, James is a much better player than he gives himself credit for, to be able to turn that match around. Poor boy lets nerves cripple him at the worst of times. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>