Reading Reviews for Off the Rails
  
535 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sweetsandstoryz epilogue

5th August 2015:
Hey, can i just say how much i enjoyed reading this fic - seriously i was crying with James when he was depressed and was genuinely happy when things went well for him. It was amazingly writtrn and the characters were PERFECTION!

 Report Review

Review #2, by am0rtentia93 one

12th July 2015:
I'm very late to the party as I just started reading this and you already have the sequel up but I just needed to drop you a very enthusiastic BRAVO for the first chapter. As a humor writer myself, I can only hope to make even my least appealing characters as funny, charming, and relatable as you have done so with James. There is already so much backstory and so many characters, and you still manage to bring the laughs in a way that does not seem forced at all. I cannot wait to keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Aleine sixteen

18th June 2015:
I had an issue with a sentence. You've indicated that magical elements and muggle elements are different. I'm not sure if you meant something else by the word "element", instead of referring to the elements of the periodic table, which are universal.

If you were indicating that the magical world has different elements, I'd love to see you explain it. I can't quite wrap my head around it, seeing as how both the universes are one and the same...

I guess I'll read ahead and see :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Aleine thirteen

11th June 2015:
Oh dear... Lily a Squib... Oh my God... I cannot believe it!!

AND YOU HID IT SO WELL!

Your award is truly deserved...

Author's Response: BAHAHA I love these kind of reviews! Thank you so much, it was ridiculously amazing winning the Dobby. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Aleine nine

11th June 2015:
I loved the last bit... So touching...

Simply, amazing!

Author's Response: That was an emotional moment to write. Poor Harry. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Aleine seven

11th June 2015:
Hey!! Spoilers!!

I do want to know more about James-Harry not seeing eye-to-eye though.

Hopefully it'll come

Author's Response: The James/Harry issue will be addressed in due course, I hope it's satisfying :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Aleine five

10th June 2015:
I still can't pronounce the Muggle's name properly.

You know, Brie is fast becoming my favourite character. You've done an excellent job with her.

The Muggle's portrayal is superb. Not just as a Muggle, but also as a girl. Her actions and reactions are so realistic, and life-like.

You've won the Dobby for the best plot twist...

You better not hurt Brie...

(Too much game of Thrones)

Author's Response: Thank you for the Brie love! She is one of my personal favourites :) Aha no need to worry, nothing Game of Thrones-esque in this! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Aleine four

10th June 2015:
I seriously thought that the girl he ends up liking is shy and innocent...

Wow...

Author's Response: Haha, definitely not! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Aleine three

10th June 2015:
"Women" I like how it ends.

I should say though, the repetitive reference to James' character as a player is putting me off.

Probably because I didn't expect him to be so... Bad :/

I'll have to read and see how it sits with me

Author's Response: Hopefully James' character will become clear in time. He's certainly not a bad person, he just has flaws. As do all of us. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Aleine two

10th June 2015:
I got really confused about the Murph thing. And I don't know if the "close shave" is going to be explained or if I missed it...

Oh well. I'll know soon enough

Author's Response: All will be revealed in due course... as you now know! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Aleine one

10th June 2015:
Wow... This is amazing. It's so lifelike and real. I wasn't a Next Gen fan to begin with, but I am now.

I did dislike the fact that there were so many rolling-eyes, but that slipped away really fast. The fact is that the Briticism in this story is amazingly done.

Need to keep reading. Will review properly when I'm done with the entire thing.

You're amazing.

Author's Response: Thanks for your comment about all the eye rolling - I tend to get quite repetitive when it comes to physical description! Glad you're enjoying, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by DancingMooncalf epilogue

29th May 2015:
I'm terribly sorry to be one of those readers that can't wait the tome to type a review before contineuing the next chapter, but i am and thats why you only hear from me now. In all honesty i lost a lot of good sleeping hours this week because i couldn't quit reading. I was impressed in every way by thus story. The plot blew my mind. I thought it was predictable but than it wasn't and than i picked up on it again thinking it could see a few chapters ahead and things change again. I did however predict very shortly after the big breakdown that james was going to retire to start teaching. i was gkad to know at least one think that was right.
Something else that blew my mind was the incredible insight in quidditch. How do you know those thinks about set up en point and matches and stuff? You must have done sone really good research!! Quite impressive indeed.
but the most mindblowing aspect of the story is the fact that it made my belief in magic as a real thing again for a bit. Much like when i was younger and reading harry potter for the first time. Those thoughts of 'Maybe its bit even that strange a thing to assume a hidden society exsist around us'. Not many fanfics have managed to get me to think in that way again. like i said the feeling i got when i first read harry potter. The feeling of a new an hidden world opening its doors, it being more than just a story. Maybe thats just the euphoria of the last few chapters speaking, but i really did feel it throughout the story.
i want to say thank you for giving me so many enjoyable hours of reading. I laughed a lot, the sarcasm, the sass, the ridiculous situation here and there. I was lovely. I got slightly depressed reading James' breakdown bit. I just wanted to be able tp hug him you know. I think said out loud that yelling at him wouldn't help because my mom looked really weird at me after that. I couldn't put my phone(my mobile fanfic reading device, more like) down to make dinner or eat it... peole must think me a social media junky woth all the time i spend with my phone this week. How wrong they are.
anyway... i'm a huge fan of james an carloota now and will definitely read the sequel to!!
Thanks again for this awsome piece of literature and you'll probably hear from me again some time!
Xxx Maya

 Report Review

Review #13, by LittleMissAutumn epilogue

30th April 2015:
Oh my gosh, I just sat back and read your entire story! It took all day but it was worth every minute of it. It's so creative, original, and I was on an emotional roller coaster the whole time. From James' s**t show to his glory win at the World Cup, I was knawing my fingers!

You are an incredible writer and I really hope you consider writing (perhaps outside of fanfiction if you have not already) as a personal career choice because you are fantastic.

Bravo. Solid 10/10.

Author's Response: Ha, s**t show is one way to describe James' troubles! Thanks so much for reading, I'm really glad you enjoyed it! And thanks for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Flying mandarin epilogue

5th April 2015:
Phiew, I've been reading this story nonstop for the past 48 hours, and now I've reached the end. I don't really have words for this story except that I'm very impressed. It might be because of the late hour or the fact that I've been reading with virtually no pause but I find it hard to find the words to describe the way I feel about this story. Deep love would be most accurate I think! It was so well put together, with as much humor as character depth and intrigue. I really like that all the characters were real, they all had flaws and insecurities and they made sense.
The fact that teaching is such an important factor in this story is really really cool and I thank you for making James a teacher and not just a big-headed young man.

Congratulations on the Dobby, it was well deserved
Louise

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks so much for reading, especially in such a short time span! I really enjoyed writing this fic so I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it. :) Thanks for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by TidalDragon eight

5th March 2015:
Well, well - the intrigue continues when it comes to the relationship between James and Harry. It really makes me wonder what happened and when or what's going on between them that James doesn't even like to be around him.

Lily continues to be an independent spitfire too of course, and so it's little surprise she'd like Carlotta, who has more than her fair share of spunk and attitude as well. James would probably do well to see that they don't ever join forces and gang up on him - that could get ugly and FAST.

I have to turn in for the moment, but I'm looking forward to picking up where I've left off soon!

Author's Response: The Harry/James relationship issue is a slow-burning one, and one which I hope is realistic when it finally comes to light.

Lily IS one hell of a character, definitely her mother's daughter. And - dangerously for James - similar in a number of ways to Carlotta. He'll definitely need to keep an eye out. :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by TidalDragon seven

5th March 2015:
Chopping the season in half?! That's downright criminal! I suppose that will give plenty more time for Carlotta and James's connection to blossom. She's certainly showing herself to be much more than just a bartender though, with the cooking skills and the helping take care of James. I wonder though, is she really going to prove that caring of a soul? I hope so - otherwise it seems awful quick for her to be cooking a freezer full of meals for him.

At any rate, I'm looking forward with interest to the next chapter - it's surprising how fast I'm able to read and enjoy this piece - KUDOS.

Author's Response: There's definitely more to Carlotta than first meets the eye. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by TidalDragon six

5th March 2015:
Despite the inclusion of the more drinking, partying, and innuendo this chapter was something of a change of pace in one major regard - the reactions of James's friends and family to the situation with Carlotta. Now, I'll have to confess straight out that I'm more on James's side. Statute of Secrecy or not, there really doesn't seem to be a problem with dating a muggle for witches and wizards. It's clear that plenty have done it over the years to no ill-effects. While I grant you that none may have been as famous as James, and accordingly, perhaps not as vulnerable (at least financially, but perhaps in additional ways), I don't really see what the big deal is.

I was right before though - smitten is definitely correct. James is all about Carlotta and it's nice to see that it appears to be partially for the right reasons - a matching sensor of humor, desire for adventure, and lack of fear when it comes to standing up to or interacting with him.

Well done!

Author's Response: This fic made me think about the Statute of Secrecy more than ever before - and it really does put witches and wizards who get involved with Muggles into a terribly difficult position. The two examples that come to mind off the top of my head are McGonagall's parents and - more recently - Seamus' parents; it seems as though the magical parent doesn't even tell their muggle spouse about magic until they simply can't put it off any more. Oddly secretive when they've committed to marriage with said muggle, and also it puts the muggle in a very awkward situation when it emerges that their magical spouse has kept such an integral secret from them for so long. In fact it makes you wonder how one can keep a magical lifestyle secret for so long...

Anyway, ramble over. I guess society is very different now, with marriages far less common, and so it's even MORE awkward for a magical person to decide at what point a relationship IS the real deal and the secret can be shared. At this point in time, James certainly isn't thinking about settling down with this girl, but it's difficult to keep your entire lifestyle a secret. And I would imagine the big deal is to do with whether you can trust said Muggle to keep the wizarding world secret? And that's AFTER you've overcome the situation of whether your Muggle has taken the news well. If it ends the relationship, I'd imagine there's a risk that said Muggle could talk - but then, as the Muggle Prime Minister in HBP mused, who'd believe them?

I just rambled even more. WHOOPS. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by TidalDragon five

5th March 2015:
Carlotta has definitely had an impact on James now. It's interesting to see him at the end of this chapter sliding into awkwardness more typical of "lesser beings." To her credit she doesn't call him out on the change with even a raised eyebrow though.

It was also interesting to see that he ISN'T entirely self-centered. Between trying to help Brigid and his detailed memory of every Weasley jumper, it seems like James is actually more "decent" (to use the word he used to describe Carlotta) than he wants to let on. Is he perhaps hiding his true self for his career or is he just changing?

I can't wait to see how he develops!

Author's Response: James has got himself into a bit of a situation here - he finds Carlotta a breath of fresh air, which is very at odds with his usual outlook on women. Bless him.

And you're right, he's not all that self-centered at all. He can just be quite obtuse, and that makes him come across as not caring about other people. Development is (hopefully) oncoming in leaps and bounds.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by TidalDragon four

5th March 2015:
What's really driven this story for me so far are the dynamics. You've done interesting things with each that you've addressed so far and that DEFINITELY carried on with James and Ginny and the references to issues between James and Harry that first appeared in at the end of the chapter with Lily's birthday. I think what I enjoyed about the James and Ginny dynamic (aside from you putting the spunk in Ginny's character that is so often lacking) is their bond over Quidditch and the fact that she knows her son like an open book and tells him how it is. Great.

You also created quite a personality for Carlotta. I'm interested to see how she develops throughout the piece, especially with James seeming to be -gasp- starting to get smitten.

Author's Response: Book!Ginny is one of my biggest peeves with the books. I never used to be a Harry/Ginny fan, but reading other fanfics has actually led me to see the character who JK INTENDED to create with Ginny, as opposed to the character who we actually saw - not that she necessarily got the portrayal WRONG, but that I don't think we saw ENOUGH of Ginny (and her spunk in particular) until she was suddenly shoved in our faces in HBP. But I digress. The point is, my headcanon of Ginny is splurged all over Rails, and her moments with James remain some of my favourite moments to write. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by TidalDragon three

5th March 2015:
It's nice to see your characters in a different setting and to get a more personal dimension on Brigid outside her professional responsibilities and friendly relationship with only James. You do a good job showing that agents have hearts and needs too - I'll keep my fingers crossed for her.

I also liked the moments in the discussion about the Witch Weekly interview where you pulled back the curtain on what the media-side of Quidditch fame is like. Seeing it through the view of two insiders was also intriguing because it gave us a view of some of the cynicism and politicking that we know is at play in our world too, but exposes it for what it is.

One thing I did note at the beginning was some occasional repetitive phrasing, but that's about it.

Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Lots of people tend to root for Brigid! Good to know you're waving a flag for her too. :)

Its been fun to delve into the professional world of Quidditch - I've tried to create the sort of media scene on a par with sports players here in Britain, partly because of familiarity - given Quidditch is evidently by far and away the wizarding world's biggest sport, it seems logical that there would be a lot of media focus on the players.

Ugh, yeah, I'm fairly guilty of repetitive phrasing, especially in the early parts of Rails. I keep meaning to re-read and edit, so I'll make a note to check this out. Thanks for the pointer, and the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by TidalDragon two

5th March 2015:
Hello again! It's been since last year's Golden Paws, but I'm back as host of the book club to read and review the rest of this fascinating story!

This chapter was one of the first I've read with so much dialogue that wasn't completely overwhelming. Usually I find myself rather put off by such a skewed balance, but you handled the tags and characters so well within it that everything stayed differentiable in terms of voice and structure - quite a treat.

James continues to develop as the consummate professional athlete - living a fast life, trying to stay connected with family, but ultimately encountering obstacles between his career and his lifestyle. It's telling in this regard that Lily has more obvious affection for Bridget than she does James - and that she knows he wouldn't have bought the present himself. Something tells me even if it HADN'T been a dress, she'd have had the same thought.

I'm enjoying the story still so far and I'm looking forward to continuing on throughout this month!

Author's Response: So I'm finally here to reply to these lovely reviews! Sorry for the delay. :(

I really do struggle with getting my head around the beginning of a fic, what with trying to set the scene and introduce people without it all seeming CLUTTERED. It's really nice to know that this chapter pulls that off, so thanks for that. :)

I think Lily sees Brigid as the older sister she doesn't have - especially when she's always on the scene and steering James so clearly. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by JilyBlack epilogue

5th March 2015:
I love your Story.

Author's Response: Really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Deanie epilogue

23rd February 2015:
I don't think I've ever seen such detailed quidditch but I loved it. Thank you for this amazing story I think you made me cry at some point. The way you wrote Lily was my favourite portrayal I've read of her and I loved James and Cordelia the pygmy puff:)

Author's Response: I developed the Quidditch far more than I anticipated, but I was pleased with it in the end. I'm glad you liked Lily, she's one of my favourites! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by larry epilogue

15th February 2015:
Thank you for a wonderful story. Well done. I think you channeled Ginny with everything Quidditch.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading, I'm glad you enjoyed! The Quidditch kind of took over, I didn't expect it to feature as much as it did in the end, but I really enjoyed writing it so I'm glad you liked it. :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by gigi thirty-seven

15th February 2015:
Just a small nitpick in an otherwise flawless story: Sinead had to have been at least 8 years older than Ginny since Harry never played Quidditch with or against her at Hogwarts and considering how good she was she would have been mentioned in his 1st 2 years, besides she was already winning a world cup before Harry's 4th year, which she couldn't have done if she'd been out of school only 1 year.

Author's Response: ... I usually spend AGES poring over births and dates and whatnot to make sure they all add up, how the hell did I miss this one?! Thanks for pointing that out, I'll make a note to fix it! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>