Reading Reviews for Like a House on Fire
  
344 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UPDATE UPDATE Home

2nd July 2014:
Ah oh my gosh pls update soon!! Sirius is so perfect

 Report Review

Review #2, by Unicorn2000 Chocolate Frogs

10th June 2014:
I love this story please write again soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! The next chapter's in the queue now, so it won't be long!

 Report Review

Review #3, by lexiatel Quidditch Alliances

30th May 2014:
I have read nine chapters so far, and I REALLY love this story. I can't wait to read more.

My only complaint is the way it's written in POV. I don't usually read stories written like this because I get easily confused, but you have done a good job with it, and I have been able to follow surprising well.

I had a great deal following the last book in the Divergent series. I was constantly getting lost, lol!

Keep it up! :) Love Serius!

Author's Response: Wow! Nine chapters in one go? That's amazing! I'm really happy that you're enjoying this story!

Ah, the changing points of view. There are places where they get ridiculously crazy. I've labelled them in places when there's more than one per chapter, but sometimes I forgot :( I hope it wasn't too bad!

Thank you so much for your lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Dani Chocolate Frogs

28th May 2014:
My heart. I need to read more ugh they're just too cute.

Author's Response: Haha! I'm glad you liked it :) This chapter is a little fluffier than the last couple ;)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Veritaserum27 Have You Even Talked to Her?

17th May 2014:
Hello! I'm tagging you from Review Tag!

I thought this chapter was much better than the first one. I could tell that it had been beta'd as it flowed much nicer.

You did a fantastic job with all of the dialogue. That is really tricky - you have many characters that all have to be part of the scene and they each have their own voice. I didn't have any problems figuring out who was talking and what they wanted to convey. It was really a top job.

I also really liked the characterization of each person. You stayed true to what we know about the marauders and Lily as well. I smiled each time she let her temper get the best of her. She really is fun to read!

I don't know if it was mentioned in the first chapter or not, but I definitely caught it this time - Millie's last name is White. That is genius! White and Black - it leads to a lot of interesting literary dichotomies.

I can't wait to read on. You've set the tone nicely for the rest of this story. Sirius admitted his crush on Millie and James obviously has it bad for Lily (of course). This is a nice set up for an interesting seventh year!

Thanks for the great read!

~Beth

Author's Response: First chapters are always a little stunted when it comes to flow for me, for some reason. I'm glad you found chapter two to be better!

I really hate description, so a lot of my story is just dialogue. Since that is the case, I'm really pleased that you find it works! This story really wouldn't work with it!

It's a fine line I've had to walk with these characters. There's so much in fanon about them, but I didn't want to go in that direction for fear of being cliche (more than I already am), but I still wanted to include enough because it's what makes them recogniseable as well as what I am used to reading. I'm glad you felt it worked.

That bit of naming was from the genius of a friend a long time before this story was written. It's something that's stayed with me over the years - it's too priceless a literary device to forget!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Rumpelstiltskin Chocolate Frogs

17th May 2014:
Hooray, another chapter!

I think one of my favorite aspects of this chapter is the fact that Remus' little note on how chocolate always fixes everything has carried over to this chapter. This was priceless, though: "...and first he goes and respects my wishes, then comes to rescue me. And then, he goes back to respecting my wishes!" The fact that Sirius is TRULY trying to be decent towards Millie is (with good reason) leaving her a bit frustrated.

As the frogs with notes continue, things become more and more funny (for me) and confusing (for Millie). While his tactic is flawless in my head, perhaps he really does need to speak with her directly. Though, the notes ARE cute ^.^.

I have to admit, I love that they're just not speaking...but corresponding in notes. It's really an adorable way for Sirius to say that he's sorry (and grovel for 10 years, evidently). ^.^ Perhaps things will work out after all!

Furthermore, I can't believe that I'm reading chapter 37! It didn't feel like that many chapters...

Fantastic, again!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Yay for quick chapter updates!

Remus is a fountain of wisdom. The words that come out of his hallowed mouth are sacred. Also, chocolate is invariably the answer to every problem, so Sirius really couldn't go wrong. And OMG - Sirius' sense of chivalry is just the best thing to write. He's tries to hide the fact that he's actually a decent person, and when it slips out, poor Millie is so frustrated!

I couldn't stop cackling as I wrote this chapter. Of all the ways they could've chosen to communicate, they chose chocolate frogs. It was a rare moment of comic genius from me (I'm not big-headed, I promise). And you're right - if someone wanted to apologise to me using chocolate frogs, I'd be all for it!

Even as the author, knowing when they'll talk, I feel a little frustrated at these two! They really need to clear the air and move on!

I remember when you left your first review on this story - I think you powered through 34 or 35 chapters in one go. I was so impressed! I'm so inordinately pleased that you've stuck through it all! Thanks for reading :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Rumpelstiltskin Chocolate Is Always the Solution

17th May 2014:
I'm here for the May review exchange, and am pleasantly surprised to see that you've updated this!

Sirius' presence in his animagus form would certainly startle anyone, especially in the hospital wing of Hogwarts. With everything that has happened between the two, it is nice to see that Sirius cares enough to try to be there for her...even if he feels that he can only do so in his dog form ^.^.

His near determination to become her pet dog, in order to be close to her and to make up for his...well, being stupid... was quite humorous. At the same time, I can't help but feel bad for him...though, he kind of brought it on himself. Then, of course, there's the unjustified feeling of jealousy when Millie smiles at Remus ^.^. That boy needs to sort out his feelings...and maybe talk about them a little (but, he is a boy...so, you know).

Remus is right...the pair of them ARE hopeless -_-. Ah, well, I suppose everything will sort itself out in the end...maybe... or maybe it won't. Do I have to shake characters? I'm not against locking characters in a room until they sort out their...issues.

Anyway, yes, chocolate is always the solution :).

Great chapter!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: My updates are so inconsistent. Curse you, real life!

I just love writing Sirius in his Animagus form! I would actually write this entire story with him as a dog, if it wasn't so weird. He's just so adorable (I totally don't have a soft spot for dogs, I swear :P ) Sirius really does genuinely care (and love) Millie. It's just that he's... well, Sirius, so it's a little opaque sometimes.

He did bring this entire situation on himself, didn't he? Although, he's not all to blame - it takes two to talk, and that's something neither of them are really good at, although Sirius has always been the one to at least make the effort. And his unjustified feelings of jealousy has sort of been a recurring theme. First Remus, then Regulus, then Remus again... he's one very insecure boy!

They ARE hopeless... but in a hopefully adorable and entertaining way ;) And maybe everything will sort itself out... there's only a few chapters left, so it's now or never...


 Report Review

Review #8, by minnie Chocolate Frogs

17th May 2014:
I love the notes on the chocolate frogs!

Author's Response: Hahaha! Me too! They're very cute, aren't they ;)

 Report Review

Review #9, by LightLeviosa5443 Have You Even Talked to Her?

6th May 2014:
Hi!

Here again for review tag! This chapter was really fun! I love that all of these chapters are going to be split POV, it's so fun and interesting!!

I really like the way that you have both parties reacting to the interactions similarly. Someone interrogating about there being a relationship, someone pointing out the possibility of a relationship. Or in the Marauders case, impossibility. I really just enjoyed this.

I think Millie and Sirius is going to be interesting, and I can see how this relationship could both work and also go down in flames. I also am excited to see the Jily aspect expand itself a bit. Also, great touch with having the Marauders use last names for Millie as well as Lily, I think that's a nice, minor detail that really added to the chapter.

I loved the bit where you had Sarah be in wonder that Remus and Millie spoke, I thought that was great and so believable. This story is turning out to be really great and fun so far, and I really can't wait to keep reading and find out what more happens!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Definitely the earlier chapters have multiple points of view. I think as the story progresses, I get more comfortable about writing a chapter from just one point of view, but I'm really inconsistent about it - you never really know what POV I'll throw in next!

Friends are friends no matter what, so it makes sense that they react similarly. I also love the idea that Lily, Sarah, James, Remus, and Peter are just a bunch of gossiping old ladies who feed off the drama that Sirius and Millie provide.

I'm so happy the strangeness of their relationship comes through so early! But I guess that's the case with any relationship - you have to put effort in to make it work. The wonderful thing about these two is that whichever way they go, they'll do it spectacularly, with fireworks and explosions. There's just no middle ground :P

I'm glad you're enjoying it (despite my horrible author etiquette, replying so late and all)! Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by LightLeviosa5443 A First Time for Everything

5th May 2014:
Hi hon! Here for review tag!

I really liked this story! I thought the way that you switched POV a few times during it was really fun and interesting. I definitely am intrigued by your characters and can't wait to learn more about them!

I definitely found the way that your characters interacted with each other was fun and believable. I loved how Lily came sprinting in panicking, and James knew she was hiding. It made me think this kind of interaction happened often, and it was very fun to read. I also loved James little conversation with Sirius. I'm super excited to see where this relationship is going to go and how hard it'll be for Sirius to win Millie over.

I don't read Marauders often, so I can't really comment on characterization much, but from the little I do know, I think you did a really wonderful job with it! I also want to commend you on the flow of the story. Even though you switched POV a couple of times, the story flowed effortlessly and was extremely enjoyable to read!

I'll definitely be coming back for more in the future!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Hello! Sorry for the exceptionally late reply. RL has been very crazy as of late!

I'm glad you enjoyed it! It's my first fanfiction ever, so it holds a special place in my heart, and therefore I burst with pride like an enthusiastic parent whenever someone compliments my baby :P

I'm glad that the characters are believable. The plot is quite fluffy, so almost all the weight of this story comes from the characters themselves. If they're not working, the story isn't working.

Ah! On the list of things that get me down: flow is right up there, so that means so much to me!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Veritaserum27 A First Time for Everything

30th April 2014:
Hello!

I'm here for review tag!

I think you've got a nice start here and I really like the Lily/James and Millie/Sirius dynamic. Lots of places to go with the story and the two sets of love interests! I really enjoyed the two different points of view because Sirius is a character that doesn't always say what he is really feeling so it is nice to see it from his side.

You've managed to subtlely include little hints about Millie's issues. Something obviously happened to her this summer and it wasn't good. Also, she is trying to avoid talking to people for some reason and doesn't seem too excited to celebrate her birthday. I am intrigued to find out what it is.

I think you've done a great job wth characterization. James, Sirius and Lily all have their classic key personalities. James is desperate for Lily, Sirius is the heartbraker and Lily is loyal to the end - and in love with James, but doesn't know it yet. Great job with that!

I also love your dialogue. There is a lot of talking between the characters in this chapter and it is handled really well. The exchanges are witty and believable without pulling you away from the storyline.

The one thing I'm not sure about is where they are living. Are all of them staying at the Leaky Cauldron because it is right before Hogwarts begins? Or are they at James's house? It was a little confusing.

I think one of my favorite lines is "Hogwarts seemed to have a sulight allergy." I loved it!

You've done a great job setting up the characters and even starting off with a little bit of mystery. What are those nightmares about?

Thanks so much for the story!

Beth (Veritaseru27)

Author's Response: Wow! Choosing a chaptered story (and one with so many chapters, too!) instead of a one-shot - brave choice. I often can't handle the commitment :P

Sirius really needs more first POV words spent on him. He's such a drama queen, and that has so much potential, especially as a romcom lead, as he is (sort of) in this story.

Millie's issues. They pop up at the strangest times in this story. I'm glad you enjoyed that. Hopefully Millie doesn't disappoint as the story progresses :P

Of course Lily doesn't know she's in love with James! What on earth would Millie and Sirius do with their time otherwise? ;)

They're at the Leaky Couldron. I really have to edit that in somewhere... It confuses me too, sometimes.

Thanks so much for the lovely review. All the lovely compliments have me blushing like crazy!


 Report Review

Review #12, by XxImAgInAiReXx A First Time for Everything

27th April 2014:
Review tag!

I can see where you're going with this, and it has most definitely been done before. But it's always fun to read a good Marauders fic, you just need to be careful to put an interesting spin on it. You've created some interesting characters. I didn't find any of them overly annoying, which is a common thing in these sorts of fics. The only piece I felt needed more explaining was Millie's aversion to Sirius... I don't think it just should come out of the blue like that.

Another thing is when Millie says 'look at it this way, there's still half the day left', it seemed too optimistic a thing to say for her character. The way she acted the rest of the chapter didn't really match up with that piece of dialogue for me.

Anyway, overall it was good, and I hope you continue with it :)

Author's Response: Yeah, I know what you mean about this plot being done to death. It's my first fanfic though, and I can't bring myself to abandon it so I'm going down with this ship, as the saying goes :P

I feel you about annoying characters - don't you just hate that? I'm glad mine aren't overly annoying, but give them time, give them time...

Hmm. It's not that Millie's averse to Sirius. They've never really crossed paths before. And it's not very obvious yet, but Sirius is a very annoying person around Millie later on in the story (I told you to just give them time - they get to the annoying stage).

Thanks for your feedback and your review! It was lovely to hear from you :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFan Rain, Rumours and Plans

22nd April 2014:
AWW YUSSS, THE GOOD STUFF IS STARTING!

Okay, so just some CC that I wanted to point out, the prank in the Great Hall with the rain and everything, I feel like Dumbledore's reaction to it was too extreme. I mean, in the series it's shown that he actually doesn't mind pranks and finds them amusing as long as they don't harm anyone. I can imagine that he would be a little bit annoyed but not so annoyed as to actually cancel the Quidditch match. I mean, it was just water, not something harmful.

He could've just as easily cast a spell and dried everyone in the hall as opposed to letting everyone squelch back to their common room with see through shirts and wet shoes and socks (how heavily was it raining?)

And I'm with Millie on another matter, Dumbledore would hardly force Gryffindor to forfeit every Quidditch match just because of some silly prank.

Oh, and, personally, I would take out Sirius's POV after Millie calls him a dog and he replies with "You have no idea," because I feel like it doesn't really add much to the chapter or helps it progress along. But, that's just my suggestion, feel free to ignore it!

The minute that Sirius said that he had a plan on how to shut Marissa up, I knew what it was going to be. I just knew it! I was still really excited when he officially announced it though. I especially love how Millie didn't just give in to what Sirius wanted no matter how much he begged (we know that she's probably going to but it's just nice to see that it wasn't immediate like in so many other stories.)

But anyway, great chapter and I look forward to coming back to the next one!

Author's Response: Yes! "The good stuff" is starting, indeed!

Dumbledore's reaction was more to get the Marauders to confess, than anything else. I don't think he'd go through with the threat at all, and it's not as if we all don't know who did it. Yes, his reaction is a little over the top though. I could say that he's just very grumpy in the morning, but that would be excusing my lazy characterisation!

Dude, this story has some of the most random and unnecessary POV changes in the history of POV changes. I know to which Sirius POV you are referring - definitely needs to go. All it adds to the story is annoying-ness.

What else could it be? This is Sirius Black we're talking about. It's sad, but his plan-making skillz don't improve at all through this story. They just get crazier and crazier!

Thanks so much for the review! Lovely to hear from you again :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by ECEL Chocolate Is Always the Solution

17th April 2014:
Love the story girl. Please continue!! It's exciting to see the relationship grow and mature. Let's have them make up already!!

Author's Response: Ah! Thank you so much! And the next chapter is in the queue so you'll find out sooner than expected where they're headed... *laughs evilly*

 Report Review

Review #15, by Pixileanin Chocolate Is Always the Solution

13th April 2014:
Yay! New chapter!

Remus is an excellent advice-giver. Absolutely! But that doesn't mean that Sirius is an excellent advice-taker. I bet Sirius isn't even listening enough to what Remus has to say to even consider maybe doing something smart about it. Too bad. It sounds like Millie might be ready to listen to him now too. Poor, confused teenagers!

And of course chocolate is always the solution, Sirius! No wonder he wasn't a very good boyfriend. For shame!

I didn't quite think that Remus was gossiping. I just thought he said what needed to be said, and got Sirius to hear what he needed to hear. Except Sirius didn't actually hear it... ahhh!!

It is funny how Millie gets along with the dog better than she thinks she gets along with Sirius, and he's thinking the same thing! I can imagine him being her pet for all that time, just so he can see her smile at him. Aw! But hopefully, they'll get to a better place soon. You can't keep them like this forever, you know. They've got to GROW and, you know, mature at least a little bit, right?

Right??

I can't wait for Millie to be fully recovered physically, and to see how she will treat Sirius the next time she sees him. I wonder what will happen...

Author's Response: And another in the queue as well! As I near the end of this story, it appears chapter updates will be almost as frequent as they were when I first started writing this story.

Remus is the best advice-giver there is. Sirius... we'll see. He does well, in typical Sirius fashion. And OMG Millie! I'm so happy with where she is emotionally in this chapter. Nothing like a life-threatening situation to give some clarity on guy problems :P

I was surprised that Sirius did not already know that chocolate is always the solution. He probably shared his chocolate bar with Millie at random intervals and then put the amazing snogging sessions afterward to his good looks and charms.

Remus felt really gossipy to me when he was chatting about what their friends were up to. I was really scared of making him sound OOC, first with the gossip, and then with the Sirius observations. But I've set up that Millie's fave Marauder is actually Remus for a very long time (chapter 2, I think) so it would be likely that she'd be receptive to advice from him.

Hopefully they will get to a better place soon! I hate writing them all confused like this.

Thanks so much for reading!


 Report Review

Review #16, by lindslo2012 Have You Even Talked to Her?

10th April 2014:
Hey there here from the review tag. :D
So I am glad I got to come back and read another awesome chapter from your story because it was just that... AWESOME!
:D
I really like the Remus, Millie, Sirius triangle idea because it will probably be very fun to read and will be funny. At the same time it will be something you will have to be careful with :) but I am sure you will do amazing with it and I can't wait to find out what happens!
I enjoy Lily's friendship with Millie and both of them would be the type of people I would probably enjoy being my friends! Lol.
I am excited to see some more action with the realtionships in your story and I can tell that it will be a good one for sure!
My favorite part of the story was this..
(So you do have a crush on Millie? asked Moony.

No! I replied again. Didnt I say that before?

But you certainly have a he paused for a second trying to think of the word, a certain interest in her?

I guess you could call it that, I mumbled.

I can tell you now youre not her favourite person.

I know that. She hardly knows me. I could eventually become her favourite person though. I mean, its not like thats difficult, wooing the opposite sex.
Moony looked sceptical. If you say so.)
I can sense some jealousy in there and it makes me very eager to know what happens. Excellent plot still! I think you should come request a review on my review thread sometime :D
-Lindsey
p.s. I don't know why those weird letter symbol things appeared but I don't know how to fix them.. lol :) thanks for the good read!

Author's Response: Ahahaha! I'm really happy you enjoyed it! I'm always a little worried when I get reviews on this story because it was my first, and thus very special to me.

The triangle... it's not exactly a triangle, really, but I love the idea of a strong Millie/Remus friendship. Sirius and Lily have one in canon, and I can imagine Sirius getting a little jealous despite this little fact!

I'm glad you feel like they could be your friends! I want my characters to be people you'd want to spend time with :)

Ah! Boys can be ridiculous about their feelings, can't they? They feel so scared about just owning up to them.

A request for this story? Perhaps I shall! I haven't actually requested a review on this one for AGES but I need more feedback on the later chapters. I'll definitely take a look when a spot opens up in your queue! Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by HEG A First Time for Everything

28th March 2014:
Hi!

Questions are alredy looming in my mind about this story. Was the bit about blood a dream? Who was killed? Who killed them? Who is Millie? Where is she? And that is what I love about the begining. You don't know what is going to happen next. The speech is very realistc and I love the switch of POV. It's nice to hear what diffrent people are thinking normally it's just one person. This was a good start to your story :)

HEG

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you have so many questions from the first paragraph alone, but that might be because of my sloppy writing... forgive me? This is my first fic so there's A LOT of room for improvement in this story. I hope you continue enjoying it, though! Thanks for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by AlexFan No Love Lost

26th March 2014:
It's been so long since I read this story but now I've finally gotten back to it since I've read everything else that's on your author's page.

Okay, so first of all, Rex. Rex needs to learn that no means no. Every time he kept forcing himself on Millie even though she'd made it very clear that she was not into him, I was just kind of like, "Let me tell you about a thing buddy." Did his parents not teach him consent or something?

I can understand Millie's hatred of the theory part of the work. I feel the same way towards physics. It's a lot more fun to do the application of physics and to do the calculations than it is to sit there and read a textbook and learn the history among other things.

And of course, Sirius. What would a Marauders story be if we didn't have a stuck up Sirius to go with it?

Author's Response: I'm always so surprised to get reviews on this story, especially the earlier chapters. And seriously? You've read EVERYTHING ELSE? I'm so flattered right now...

Rex is quite the mysogynist, isn't he? He does have to pay for it... sort of. He doesn't really appear again in the story for this reason. I always got really angry writing him!

Ah! I know how you feel about physics! It's about the physical world! Let me go do and touch the things! I'll definitely appreciate the awesomeness of Sir Isaac Newton a whole lot more if I can recreate his white light experiment for myself!

... Please excuse my completely unnecessary rant about physics.

Sirius is... yeah. He grows on you, I promise!

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Pixileanin Of Hearts and Bludgers

28th February 2014:
Christmas morning with all the fluff, and then Sirius getting to snog Millie whenever he felt like it. Oh my!

I wonder if she ever got the connection to her furry friend. She seemed to take the necklace at face value and didn't even flinch at the association to "the grim". Hmm...

"Because I'm a ninja like that."

Yes. Sure you are. It's adorably stupid. You give Sirius the best stupid lines ever! And you gave him stress, which is even better. Seriously, they've been doing this for how long now, and they're still not sure they're together?? *beats head against desk* Wow. I guess they haven't moved on to the "meaningful conversation" stage of their relationship yet.

Quidditch is a fantastically dangerous game. I love how you captured that in this chapter without even having to do a Quidditch scene. Millie, waking up slightly disoriented was a great way to get this across to the reader.

I have to tell you that I'm in the hate group with the end to this chapter. Things were going so WELL for these two, and you just had to mess it up with some inexplicable misunderstanding, didn't you??! I really hope that Millie doesn't go running off and doing something stupid, because that would be so teenaged of her! Oh, wait. Err...

DOn't do it!!!

Pineapple.

Author's Response: Those chapters from Christmas to Valentine's are basically Sirius' dream come true. In a completely exaggerated way, of course.

She hasn't made the connection yet, but there's still a little of the story to tell, so there's still a chance - is that a spoiler? I don't know...

I love writing Sirius this way. Everyone thinks they're the wittiest, coolest person ever to exist on the face of this planet at seventeen (or eighteen, in the case of Sirius) and the truth is... you're just not. And obviously these two are going to take the long road to the "meaningful conversation" stage. They'll get there. I hope.

I'm glad you liked how I wrote the Quidditch scene. I didn't want to write another one - they'd end up sounding the same. Also, I chickened out on writing an action scene *hangs head in shame*

I think everyone is in the hate group with the end of this chapter. Things were going well... but then they weren't at the same time. They never TALK. Maybe this will kick them in the right direction now...

As always, your reviews are a treat to read. Thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by lindslo2012 A First Time for Everything

25th February 2014:
Hey here for the review tag! I hope you don't mind me reviewing this story!
So let me just say I LOVED this!
From the very beginning you had me laughing at the conversations of James and Sirius and Lily and Millie.
What awesome friends they all are!
It made me laugh out loud that Sirius was after Lily because we all know what happens with Lily and James and I know that there is probably going to be conflict with that. I really liked also that James used the 'don't distract the seeker' line lol.
I really enjoyed your writing and it is hilarious that Lily forgot her best friend's birthday! How could she?
I really am starting to enjoy fics like your's these days, the marauder's era and all the other different eras along with the original Hogwarts or post-Hogwarts eras!:D

Your story really was attracting, and you did very well with plot and ect.
The only thing is I was a bit confused about who was talking where but then I figured it out and it's all good! :D
I love your writing as usual and great job!!!
-Lindsey

Author's Response: Aww! I don't mind you reviewing this story at all! This is my first fanfic, so I do get a little anxious when I get a review on it, but it's always lovely to hear people's opinions on it.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! When I started this, dialogue was about the only thing I could write with any sort of competency (which is still sort of the case...). I do a lot of character development through the conversations in this story. James is just a treat to write here.

I forget my friends' birthdays all the time, so I couldn't help give Lily the same trait. She's always shown as so perfect in fics, and I didn't want her to be that way.

Get into all the Marauders' fics! They'll break your heart, but you'll love them for doing it :P

Thanks so much for this very lovely review! It means a lot to me that you said such wonderful things about my story :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Pixileanin The Time of Your Life

11th February 2014:
Yes. I think the word to describe this part of the story IS "pineapple". I'm glad I'm not the only one. Sweet, juicy, prickly on the outside until you cut into it and get rid of all the inedible bits...

Pineapple.



"I think I'd just been checked out."

It seems like Sirius is diffusing Millie's anger without even trying. Which is cute. And irritating. And confusing. I bet Millie's loving it anyway. At least he sticks around long enough for Millie to get it all out. I bet that was an important step for her, and an intuitive move on his part. He was there with her when she went through all those memories, and he seems to have picked up a clue as to what she was going through.

I loved Sirius trying to fight the urge to kiss her when she finally came down the stairs. I mean, she's in a dress and all, and she's vulnerable, and they just had a Moment, so.. umm. Good luck with that.

Your description of the way they danced together was so feely and goosebumpy, and that was from Sirius' point of view. Wow. Great job with that, and also great job with the conflicting thoughts bouncing around in his head, because it wouldn't be this kind of story without that. :)

Millie finally allows herself to enjoy things for once! Good on her! I loved the teasing dialog that enabled them to get this far. *holds on to rocking boat* But how long will it last this time??

Author's Response: Hahaha! Yeah, pineapple is a pretty good description of this part of the story!

I just loved writing Sirius in these last few chapters. His emotional maturity is actually fantastic and the way he's always so tuned to what Millie is feeling - sometimes better than her - is adorable. And you're right in saying that it's good for Millie to get out all these feelings. She gets a little better at expressing them after this.

Sirius wants to kiss her all the time. Dresses and Moments don't help the situation :P

Aww! I'm so glad you liked the description in the dance. I think it was the first time I'd tried to actually describe something properly so if you thought that it worked, I'm really happy!

Oh, you might be surprised by how long it lasts this time ;)

Thanks so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Pixileanin Bleak House

10th February 2014:
Hey you! It hasn't been months and months, and I got you in Review Tag! How awesome is that???

Mrs. Potter is just too kind. Lots of people write her as a big-hearted, loving mother-figure, and I can really buy into that characterization. I mean, it's James Potter with his "I'm the best thing since sliced bread and I know it". He's got to have received all that self-confidence and bravado from somewhere. ;)

So now you have them falling all over each other. Literally. But the lure of lemon tart is strong. I can feel it pulling me through my computer monitor even. What evil magic is this?? You're setting us up for something dastardly, like a BALL... I knew it! That lemon tart was just a front for your nefarious plans! Cath Millie off balance, give her a false sense of security with all the Quidditch talk and then BAM!

Poor girl! You're just about killing her with the looks and the almost-kisses with the too-close-to-her-personal-space encounters here. She's never going to hold her breakfast down. And what about morning breath? Did Sirius even take that into consideration??

No wonder she stuck with tea in the morning. I can completely understand her eating habits. There was a long time when I was in my teens, (actually, the whole time I was in my teens) when my stomach just couldn't take food when I woke up. I wasn't hungry until at least several hours after I woke up. It used to drive my mom insane. Nice bit of realism you threw in there. :)

I loved Millie's reaction to Lily and Mrs. Potter's gasps. She actually thought there was something wrong with the dress. Hehe! I also love Sirius' bursts of swearing every time he doesn't get to see Millie in some state of undress. It's clear that he doesn't have to act very hard to be interested in her anymore, which is cute and keeps up the charade. Oh, wait. He IS interested in her. Ahh... hey, Millie!

Sirius was awesomely supportive when he went with Millie to her old home. She needed someone, and the fact that he was able to stand by her was an extra bonus. She should be getting a clue right about now. Shouldn't she?

Still entertained! I decided to stop here, since this chapter doesn't have too many reviews. It's a shame. You're still writing this story, right? It's not abandoned or anything sneaky like that... is it?

Author's Response: Hello! So lovely to hear from you again :)

James is an only child, and you're right - that confidence has to come from somewhere. Also, the Potters take Sirius in and that requires a pretty big heart. Mrs Potter just has to be a nice person.

Something dastardly cliche like a BALL is right. How could you not see this coming? The lemon tart was just a delicious cover... Food tends to be delicious cover for everything in this story. No one consumes food just for sustenence.

Sirius is laying on the charm really thick, isn't he? It's so blindingly obvious what he's doing, but poor Millie is just a little daft when it comes to Sirius Black. And Sirius' adoration transcends morning breath, obviously. The boy is just too far gone.

OMG! I'M SO HAPPY TO HEAR THIS DIDN'T ONLY HAPPEN TO ME. My mother was so confused when I stopped eating breakfast. She just went, "What is wrong with you?"

Sirius is just a teenage guy - his disappointment in not seeing Millie in some state of undress is quite natural, if a little creepy. Now if only Millie clued into his obvious feelings for her... we'd have no story :P

It's weird writing Sirius as the more emotionally mature person. He has an excellent understanding of other people's feelings and almost reflexively knows what they need. It's what makes him a good friend, even if his ideas are a little zany.

And yes, I'm still writing it. Slowly, but still writing! :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by toomanycurls The Deeper Things in Life

6th February 2014:
so... I feel like a turd because I read half of this over the weekend (hey, in bed, HPFF on my phone, I got a groove going)... and I didn't leave a single review! so, as time and review tags and life permits, I'm going to leave a review on each chapter. I love the story so far. Even with the 'first fic' issues you talked about, the story is interesting to me even with the first fic-isms.

Millie's humor and bickering with Sirius in potions is extremely well done. Her trade off of handwriting for potions his awesome. it had to be a bit humbling for Sirius that his only value-add was nice handwriting. I laughed out loud (and woke my husband up) with the line "Dad was pretty weird - even for an Unspeakable." All dads are weird (sometimes unspeakably weird).

I love the perfunctory friend interrogation. Really, what are friends for?!?! I like the assumption (that someone, maybe Lily) that Sirius was making Millie do the work for him. I think their lecture on relationships and partnership is quite well done (though not as well received).

Ah, poor Sirius. Stuck writing an essay instead of brooding. :D I really love how Remus is trying to direct him towards academics rather than girls. I'm guessing he had to do that quite a bit.

Great chapter - I'll be back!

-Rose

ps - reposting without my HTML goof :)

Author's Response: YAYAYAYAYAY! Now I can finally respond to what was an unexpected and lovely review. Also, you win the award for being my longest unanswered review ;)

First of all, well done for reading a good chunk in one go! Solid effort! And I'm completely blushing from all your lovely compliments concerning this being my first fic (and all the other ones as well, of course) - and yes I'm still blushing all these months later.

I loved writing Sirius in that Potions scene. Since you've read a significant chunk of this, I can say this wihout fear of spoilers. Millie never expresses her thoughts on Sirius unless they involve his looks (or his idiocy). For her, especially at this stage in their relationship, he functions as no more than a pretty boy - even his handwriting is pretty. Credit to Sirius for being perceptinve enough to figure out that Millie might think more of him.

I swear Remus spent more time telling thr others to do their work rather than doing his own. Being the Responsible Marauder is a full-time job. But what are friends for? Other than perfunctory interrogations of course ;)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Pixileanin I Wanna Hold Your Hand

3rd February 2014:
Yeah, I thought this would happen. Sirius Black has to be insanely jealous before he decides to make a move on his fake girlfriend. And, oh dear, they don't talk about it for days. Awkward.

"Hey, Moony. Do you think Millie likes me?"

Bwahahaha! Does he have to even ask anymore? Of course he does, because he's an angst-filled, insecure teenaged boy. I am really enjoying the way you play on the doubts of these characters and that you're not at all making things easy for them. Things HAVE to be hard, I think it's a rule. And if they're too easy, the characters need to make things hard on themselves. Wait. I think you did that too. That is why I keep coming back to this story.

I loved how you fabricated an excuse for Millie to meet Sirius' animagus form. Everyone warms up to a wet dog... okay, I don't, but lots of people would, I imagine, including Millie. I also love how she carries on a one-sided conversation with him, and he's powerless to respond. Take that, Black!

So here you go again, surprising me. I thought that talk in the kitchen was going to be about RELATIONSHIPs, but it's not. It's about CHRISTMAS, which is even better, because it leaves things UNRESOLVED for many chapters to go. The tension is great here, the awkward meter is running so high, and these two are again wound up.

I think you completely broke the cute meter too. I mean, it couldn't have been any cuter for Millie to fall asleep on her crush, and then have Sirius all grins in front of Mrs. Potter. What's a poor girl to think about that?

As always, you have completely adorable characters and a plot that keeps moving along with the ups and downs of teen angst and shenanigans. I'm still enjoying this story, and I hope it won't be eons before I come back for another visit.

Happy Writing!

Author's Response: Sirius is a bit weird that way. But a catalyst was needed, and who better than his own estranged brother? I love a little bit of family drama!

Both of them are so insecure! I love writing them this way though because they're quite alike in all the worst ways, which makes for a relationship filled with doubt and awkwardness! So. Much. Fun. And I don't need to make things hard for them at all - they quite happily do it for themselves. It's like writing a soap opera!

I love my dog, but I definitely don't want to be near him when he's wet. He smells terribly! Obviously, Millie's sense of smell is not functioning properly! And I loved writing that conversation. She might actually talk to Sirius more as a dog than she does when he's human :P

Can you imagine these two EVER talking about their relationship? Definitely better to talk about Christmas! And unresolved is like the catchphrase for these two!

The reason why I love writing these two is because they're just so... adorkable. They have all the best things about being awkward as well as being adorable.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! It's always so lovely to hear from you again :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by ladyrae Not Now, Not Ever

19th January 2014:
Commenting on this chapter (even though I read it 2 months ago and reviewed ch. 35) just to say please update!! Really want to know what happens!

Author's Response: An update shall come soon, I promise! I know that what I always say, but I mean it :) Thanks for reading!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>