Reading Reviews for Like a House on Fire
  
376 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maryhead A First Time for Everything

20th August 2014:
Hi! I am here for an incredibly late review! Yay!

As you know I love the Marauders and especially Sirius, so I was incredibly happy to read a Sirius/OC I didn't know about. Now, this is only the first chapter, but I can say I have found a new story to read for the rest of the summer!

I really like the beginning of this chapter. Actually I am a fan of the 'let's start this novel with a dream' thing, so there was no doubt I would be utterly hooked by this kind of introduction! I also liked the way Millie lives the nightmare, with irony and humour, even though it is clear the dream affects her and has something to do with a tragic event of her past. Generally I enjoyed the humour and bickering of the characters, they made the chapter lively and entertaining, and helped to give out the mysterious/tragic hints in a more subtle way.

I have a little observation to make regarding the descriptive element of this chapter. You focused on the dialogue a lot, and this is fine, because, as I said, the interactions as witty and easy to read, but it would have been even better if there had been some descriptions here and there. Not necessarily a description of the characters' physical appearance, mind you, because that can be introduced later on in the story, but of the location of the chapter itself. I had to admit it took me a bit to understand where the scenes were set, and it would have been lovely to know more about Millie's home (or hotel room?) and maybe even something about Diagon Alley itself. I think the part in which I felt more the need of a description was Sirius', though, because that was pure dialogue, with only vague hints about "James' room" and "something" to retrieve. That said, I am usually a description-obsessed kind of reader, who likes to "see" what she's reading, and I know that some readers/writers prefer to concentrate more on the interaction part, leaving the setting to the imagination of the reader ;).

Regarding the characterisation, I can't actually say much, since this is only the first chapter. Millie seems to be a strong, humorous girl with some shadow in her past. I like her a lot! The allure of mystery you created is great and certainly glues the reader to the monitor :). Lily seems a bit temperamental and... She forgot Millie's birthday! Poor Millie! (I actually have to say I sympathised with Lily for a couple of seconds, since I tend to forget birthdays too. Oops :P).

I really enjoyed this chapter! I know you wanted me to review later updates, but I prefer to start a novel from the beginning, especially a long one, and I usually review a chapter at a time, as I specified in one of the last updates on the thread. I hope to have been helpful, and if you want to, don't hesitate do re-request! I am really curious to know what will happen next!

Maryhead

 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16 Home

19th August 2014:
Of course it's worth the risk! Ugh, I just want them to be happy. And I'm super sad this story is almost over. But, I guess, it's gotta end sometime, right?

I can't wait for the next chapter to be updated, I'm gonna have to keep a look out for it because I really want to know what happens!

xxNix

Author's Response: I KNOW RIGHT? But I couldn't resist. Millie isn't the type to jump into things like this, especially since Sirius is giving her space to make up her mind, rather than just dragging her along as he used to do.

Thank you so much for all your wonderful reviews! It means so much to me


 Report Review

Review #3, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chocolate Frogs

19th August 2014:
Ugh, even when they're not actually talking to each other they're cute. I thought this was really sweet chapter and a super cute idea with the chocolate frogs. And there's only one chapter left! I do hope you update again soon because I am seriously hooked on this story.

xxNix

Author's Response: These two are weirdos. They're relationship is so strange, and I love writing it this way. They're so stereotypical in some respects and then completely and utterly not in others - it's part of there charm ;) I'm glad you're still enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by sweetredrose Home

18th August 2014:
So its rare for me to read incomplete fics (despite all mine being abandoned years ago, hypocrite I know) but I figured I'd give yours a chance - and god am I glad I did! Initially I thought the story was developing fairly slowly and couldn't warm to the characters very well but I persevered and again, I'm glad I did as I'm now in love with Millie and Sirius, and its also great to see how your writing style and the story in general have developed so well! I genuinely squeaked with happiness when Sirius finally blurted out that he loves her! I will be checking back regularly to see if you've updated which is rare for me as like I say, I only tend to read completed fics as I'm an impatient little sod :) so please please please update soon! x

Author's Response: I am also very glad that you gave this story a chance! It's my first fic, and I do plan to finish it, hopefully in the very near future. The story does move quite slowly (due to the lack of a coherent plot). I'm just so impressed and humbled that you decided to persevere! Thank you so much! And I was so proud of Sirius in that moment! Finally! Someone said it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by EnigmaticEyes16 Gone, Gone, Gone

18th August 2014:
Oh no! I hope she really is okay. This chapter was almost heart-wrenching, I even teared up towards the end. I can't believe the death eaters attacked Hogwarts like that! And DID Regulus have something to do with it? I want to know and read on, but it's really late and I should really get some sleep after spending a good chunk of my day reading this story.

xxNix

Author's Response: Even more drama! This is so not this story! But this was also really fun to write. The style is completely different to how I usually write these chapters, and I really enjoyed it. Might give it another go! Aww! I'm feeling very happy-sad about your feelings reading this chapter. I'm happy because YES! STRONG EMOTIONS. But on the hand I'm sad because STRONG EMOTIONS. And Regulus actually didn't have anything to do with it - directly. And I'm so very impressed by just how quickly you've read and reviewed this story!

 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16 Not Now, Not Ever

18th August 2014:
No! You must believe him! Ugh, this is for serious breaking my heart. I really hope he can convince her. If he had just admitted he'd loved her she might have forgiven him!

xNix

Author's Response: This series of chapters broke my heart too. I'm so comfortable writing fluff, and then I tried my hand at actual drama and it left me feeling a little awful. I think that's mostly because of the structure and purpose of this story, rather than an aversion to drama itself. And SO MANY PROBLEMS would have been fixed/avoided if Sirius confessed his feelings... if he even realises them.

 Report Review

Review #7, by EnigmaticEyes16 Of Hearts and Bludgers

18th August 2014:
Ugh! I hate her! I hope they survive this and Sirius is able to convince her that he doesn't want anything to do with Marissa. Where did she even come from? How did she know he'd be looking for Millie?

Must read on to see what happens.

xxNix

Author's Response: I hope you hate Marissa and not Millie! Marissa has a habit of popping out of nowhere at the most inconvenient (or convenient if seen from a plot point of view) of times. And you're right - how DOES she know about such things? What are her secrets? There's a fic right there...

 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16 Valentine's Day

17th August 2014:
Awww, that was super cute. Also wanted to note that I love how he calls her darling all the time. Not the first time I noticed, but the first time I felt the need to say it, lol. Anyway, I thought the picnic in the forest was a really sweet idea for a date and I'm glad they seem to be in such a good place. At first I thought Sirius might ask her to be his non-fake, for real FOR REAL girlfriend, but Valentine was still a cute idea.

xxNix

Author's Response: CUTENESS OVERLOAD IN THE LAST FEW CHAPTERS. Even I squee when I occasionally reread them (when I'm not wincing about my writing). And darling is just his thing. It started out as a bit patronising, but I think he really means it now. And these two making clear-cut decisions about there relationship? Never!

 Report Review

Review #9, by EnigmaticEyes16 Christmas Morning

17th August 2014:
These two just keep getting cuter by the second. I loved how Millie freaked out when she thought Sirius had told Lily what happened yesterday, only to find out he hadn't really told her anything. I thought the necklace he gave her was really cute, too. As it reminded her of the dog she met, I was hoping she would mention it to Sirius at receiving the gift, and he would tell her it was really him. But I'm sure it will come out eventually...

Onto the next chapter.

xxNix

Author's Response: Millie's concerns are so valid, because I think Sirius would have done just that earlier on in the story, not realising that it wasn't what Millie would've wanted. He still would've had the best intentions at heart, but unfortunately not the right assumptions. It's a really big moment for him, this empathy for Millie. And OMG the dog thing... hahaha. I'm curious to see what people have to say when that eventually happens.

 Report Review

Review #10, by EnigmaticEyes16 The Time of Your Life

17th August 2014:
Awww, Sirius is seriously like the perfect boyfriend. I loved the whole scene from where he bugs her about why she doesn't like dancing to the the dancing to the kiss to the end... He's just an all-around sweetheart. And I hope they soon realize they're not really pretending anymore.

xxNix

Author's Response: He's very perfect for the next few chapters. I don't know why, but the next couple of chapters are just pure unashamed fluff. He actually goes through a lot of behind-the-scenes character development, since it's when both of them start to realise that he's actually quite decent. And don't we all hope that they realise that they're not pretending anymore? ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by EnigmaticEyes16 Just Because

17th August 2014:
I almost thought they were gonna start making out again... but Sirius was super cute and nice and understanding in this. And it's good that Millie got to cry her feelings out a bit, I think she's been holding that in for far too long. Anyway, great chapter, and I am on to read the next one!

xxNix

Author's Response: I think in the first draft of this chapter, they did, but it didn't fit, especially with what I wanted with Sirius' characterisation. I think it's much sweeter this way, and shows that he can be mature and empathetic when he wants to be. And this is such an important moment for Millie, which really has nothing to do with Sirius at all except that he's there for her. Thanks for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by EnigmaticEyes16 Early Mornings, Breakfasts, Dresses and Hometowns

17th August 2014:
Jeez, I've already read like 8 chapters today, although it feels like more. Just wanted to point out, in the scene where Millie and Sirius are still on Millie's bed and Sirius is about to kiss her, James yells Prongs instead of Padfoot. But other than that, it was a really good scene. I liked the dress too. And it was cute that Sirius automatically decided he''d go with Millie without even bothering to ask. Can't wait to see what happens when they get there.

xxNix

Author's Response: Gah! I know about that HUGE typo! I feel like such an idiot for it! It is so awkward! I really must fix that very soon! Thanks for mentioning it :) I'm glad you like the dress (such an inconsequential detail in the grand scheme of things, but I agonised over it for so long). And of course Sirius just decides these things! It's because he's Sirius Black :P

 Report Review

Review #13, by EnigmaticEyes16 It's a Date

17th August 2014:
Aw, Sirius is so cute. Why can't she just give in to her feelings and stop being so mean? haha. This story really does just keep getting better.

xxNix

Author's Response: She can't give into her feelings because she's seventeen and feelings are confusing and horrible and should be avoided at all costs. I'm so glad you feel that way about this story

 Report Review

Review #14, by EnigmaticEyes16 Half-Bear Half-Wolf

17th August 2014:
Aw, I love Sirius as a dog. He evens still acts exactly like Sirius (minus the talking) as a dog. This was a cute little chapter. Although I'd thought it'd be funny if she happened to mention Sirius to Sirius. That would be interesting. Like something he might hold over her in the future and she'd find out it was really him, lol.

Great chapter!

xxNix

Author's Response: Sirius is Sirius no matter who or what he is. I don't know if that means he behaves like a dog when he's human, or if he behaves like a human when he's a dog. Let's go with he's Sirius all the time :P And I think there is a moment when she mentions Sirius to Sirius later on...

Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by EnigmaticEyes16 Brothers

17th August 2014:
Squeee! lol. Finally, it's happened! I'm very curious to see how Millie reacts after that, haha. Anyway, I enjoyed the bits with Regulus. I'm kinda surprised him and Millie dated at one point. It really did seem like she might have had real feelings about him. But I like her with Sirius so much more. I loved their fight over Regulus and how insecure Sirius is about the guy. Which is kind of understandable because as a kid Sirius used to be the favorite older son of his family until he went to Hogwarts and became a Gryffindor and Regulus suddenly because the perfect son to his pureblood, Slytherin, Gryffindor-hating parents. So it makes sense that he might be afraid of losing someone else he loves to his younger brother.

Anyway, gonna read on now to find out what happens next! Loved this chapter!

xxNix

Author's Response: OMG. I remember how excited I was when I finished writing this chapter. My first kissing scene! Millie and Sirius' first big fight! Millie and Sirius' first kiss! SO MANY FIRSTS.

There was a point in this story when I seriously contemplated switching the pairing to Millie and Regulus. They're a better fit rationally than Millie and Sirius, but love is hardly ever rational :P Also, I too, liked her with Sirius so much more. And Sirius' insecurity over Regulus is one of the first instances I think where he gets some dimension as a character. Didn't take too many chapters, did it?

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #16, by EnigmaticEyes16 New Immaturity Heigts

16th August 2014:
I thought they were supposed to break up? Not that I wanted them to, but... thought that was the plan...

Anyway, ugh! Damn it, Lily! They were so close to finally kissing! *sigh*

This story is getting so much better. And I love the super long chapters. I can't wait to read the next one but I really need to get some sleep.

xxNix

Author's Response: I bet Millie thought they were supposed to break up too :P Guess Sirius got in the way of that *winks conspicuously*

AND I KNOW RIGHT? But it wasn't the right moment for them - Lily can be a mixed blessing in that way.

And yes - sleep is definitely of priority!


 Report Review

Review #17, by EnigmaticEyes16 Claustrophobia and Confusion

11th August 2014:
Squeee! Aw, that was cute. Although I do wonder if the whole Slytherin story was a total ploy to get her into the closet in the first place...

Although, in the scene with the boy, she tells him not to miss curfew... but she was in the library, with a bunch of other people also in the library... so it couldn't have been curfew time yet, right? They would all have been in their common rooms then...

Anyway, great chapter! I can't wait to read what happens next, but it's late and I should probably go to bed now...

xxNix

Author's Response: I wouldn't put it past Sirius to actually attack Slytherins so that he could lock himself in a broom closet with Millie a little later on in the story, but at this point, he hasn't quite realised his feelings for her.

I think different year levels have different curfew times? Maybe? Or I messed up the continuity in one chapter. Or Millie is super keen about curfews... which is rather unlikely...

Haha! Good night! And thank you for continuing to read and review ^.^


 Report Review

Review #18, by EnigmaticEyes16 Together

11th August 2014:
But did James get to say what he wanted to say!?

I'm actually kinda surprised how well this plan worked out. And Millie is SO into Sirius even if she won't admit it yet!

Onto the next chapter!

xNix

Author's Response: DID HE?!?!?! That is the question (it is answered at some point in one of the chapters).

Millie is totally into Sirius by this point, but not all of Sirius if you get what I mean. She's into the part of him that's a good friend - the rest of him is still very annoying :P


 Report Review

Review #19, by EnigmaticEyes16 Perfect for each Other

11th August 2014:
Haha, oh boy. I'm super curious to see how this plan works out for them. Will it work or will it totally backfire in their faces? Guess I'll have to read on to find out.

xxNix

Author's Response: This plan... was sheer madness. And only sheer luck will make it work :P

 Report Review

Review #20, by EnigmaticEyes16 Love the Smell of Blueberries

11th August 2014:
Aw, Sirius and Millie are really kinda cute together. I loved the little fight on the couch and how she helped him with his homework. They almost seem like an actual couple. And then someone mentions about them being a couple and they suddenly get all weird and awkward, lol. I also love that the chapters are getting longer.

xxNix

Author's Response: They have their moments. They're just trying to be good friends right now (without realising it of course) but since everyone thinks they're romantically involved when they're not, it makes for some (read: a lot) of awkwardness. And yes! Sort of longer chapters! Woohoo!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ribbons Home

5th August 2014:
Obviously loving it and hoping desperately for another chapter, but also getting worried about the future of one lovely Millie. She doesn't exist in the stories so...is something bad is going to happen to her? I'm honestly terrified. Despite shamelessly adoring Sirius/OC stories, I always get nervous towards the end, because fate is cruel to Mr. Black and his loves. Anyway, I'm really impressed and hope you'll continue to write the story because it's marvelous.
Cheers!

Ribbons

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! I worry also about the future of Millie. I try not to think about it, but I might mention something. It's the worst with Sirius/OC stories, isn't it? Or maybe we can delude ourselves into a happily ever after AU...

Thanks for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ribbons Not Now, Not Ever

4th August 2014:
Awesome chapter! I really liked the last bit and the 'not now, not ever' bit. REALLY strong. I'm very impressed.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very happy that you're enjoying it :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ribbons Asphodel, Powdered Root of

4th August 2014:
I really like this story. Not only are the
characters detailed and realistic, it's really
addictive! I just can't put it down.

Author's Response: Did you read over thirty chapters all at once? Because if you did, that is amazing! Thanks for reading :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by EnigmaticEyes16 Quidditch Alliances

3rd August 2014:
I'm so glad this chapter was longer! I actually have things to comment about! lol. Anyway, I really enjoyed the indepth description of her Millie waking up and preparing for the game along with the rest of the team. Considering this is the only sport at Hogwarts and there are only so many matches a year, it must be very stressful preparing for a game when you know the whole school is watching and your whole house is counting on you to win.

I also love that James asked Lily out and she doesn't know what to say because she's discovered she might actually like him. I'd totally be like that, too. Even if I like a guy, I'm too afraid to admit it sometimes. Plus, she's hated him forever so she must be going through a lot of stressful feelings right now.

I'm super excited to see how that double date goes!

xxNix

Author's Response: Yes! Because Quidditch! I had to make a longer chapter for Quidditch. It demands nothing less :P

I've always felt as if the buildup to a match would be way more important than the match itself, since as you said, there aren't that many of them and this is literally the only sport Hogwarts offers. Also, I think it's a lot of fun to write the rituals and routines players have before games, be they mundane or weird.

Lily's internal flailing is probably my favourite part of this chapter. As the story goes on, and James and Lily progress towards their couple bliss, it starts to be Millie's turn to internally flail. It's quite funny writing them switch roles when they should sort of be at the same point in their relationship. Lily is like "what on earth is going on" a lot of the time!

Thanks for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by EnigmaticEyes16 Sleeping After Lunch

30th July 2014:
Haha, I do still love their banter and Sirius' fascination with the girl. I also liked how Lily and Sarah called it a race between them to see who would break it off first. Of course, they don't know it's a fake relationship, but I could totally see them putting up bets on who will end it first or something like that. Same with the boys. Heck, they could all be in on the bet together.

Great chapter!
xxNix

Author's Response: He's weirdly fascinated, isn't he? It's a lot of fun to write, almost as if he's never seen girls before. Hahaha! The mental image at them all running a pool! OMG! Thanks for reading and reviewing, even though nothing at all is happening :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>