Reading Reviews for Tentacles
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CloakAuror9 A Squid of a Story

29th January 2013:
You are awesome. You seriously are. How many people in the world has thought of a story about a giant squid? Not a lot, probably. This isn't the first giant squid story I've read, but the previous one consisted of James, Lily and a little bit of fluff. So I say, your story is very very unique and you are extremely awesome for writing it.

I wonder how Dumbledore would've reacted once he realises that he's the reason why there's a giant squid residing in the Black Lake. Maybe that's why he never had the heart to remove it from there. :P

A really amazing job! One of the most fascinating stories around HPFF that I've read. I really had fun reading it!

~Izzy

75th review out of 100

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you! I would imagine that dumbledore, was a bit of a trouble maker. He didn't come upon his genius without experimenting a bit :D
And the giant squid couldn't have survived for so long without some kind of magical influence- hence where the story came from.

Thanks for reviewing! And good luck with your reviewing goal!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Badname A Squid of a Story

19th January 2013:
I'm so glad I clicked on this (who could honestly not click on a banner with a giant squid, I ask you!)
Frank the Giant Squid is hilarious. And Kenny the Sponge. Oh my gosh. That's just done me.
:D

Author's Response: Hi!! I'm glad you clicked on it too :D Thanks for reviewing and finding my weird sense of humor somewhat funny :0)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Violet Gryfindor A Squid of a Story

27th June 2012:
Finally here for the reviews I have long owed you for this story and "Powerless"! It's great to be able to read more of your work, as your challenge entry was fantastic, and this story once again demonstrates your excellent storytelling skills. :D

I never expected to read a story from the Giant Squid's perspective, but that's what helped make this story unique and richly interesting. His off-hand references to the aquatic world beneath the lake's surface opens up a lot of possibility, giving glimpses of a new sort of magical world. I loved his descriptions because they were very quirky and opinionated -his condescension makes him more real and it also reveals his bitterness. He's not a happy squid - he's lost his successful lifestyle because of an adolescent prank, and now he is, like he said, a pariah. Although your story maintains a humourous mood, these hints of bitterness in Frank's monologue give it just enough depth to balance things off - certainly it also made me sympathize a little with Frank's fate.

There are a lot of other little things I really like about this story, such as the way you made Frank the only squid - I agree that it's more plausible, especially since he's living right beside a magic school (where the students are very good at wreaking some sort of havoc with the landscape :P). It was also a great twist to make Dumbledore the unknowing creator of the Giant Squid. It would be funny if he had been rather like the Maruders or the Twins when he was in school - brilliant and inventive, but also the type to push the boundaries with his adventures. But then there's the funny little things, such as Kenny the Spunge as an undersea psychologist. XD Where do you come up with these things? It's fantastic!

I'm very glad that you asked me to read this story. I can't think of any critique to give - everything flowed well, the narration was spot-on, and as I mentioned before, the amount of creativity here was amazing. :D

Author's Response: Hi!!
I'm so sorry it has taken me absolutely forever to respond. I've been away from hpff this summer- but I'm back now :)

I loved coming up with aquatic references, and it made Frank feel more real to me when I gave him an occupation, a place in society, and some of the same condescending views that some people unfortunately share. I'm glad I could draw on your sympathies though, and it was more than just a humorous tale to laugh over.

I like to believe that Dumbledore was a bit of a trouble-maker- though more for experimentation than pranking. And Kenny the Sponge is a new favorite character of mine. I imagine him as an expressionless mass of sponge with lopsided glasses O.o

Thanks for reviewing! I really appreciate it and I'm still smiling over all the comments you've given! and sorry it's taken so long to respond :/


 Report Review

Review #4, by Loopy456 A Squid of a Story

9th February 2012:
Hello :) I have been utilising the 'random story' button and I am now rather a big fan of it seeing as it brought me here...
This is genius! Poor ol' Frank, ostracised from squid society. I like the bit about Dumbledore and Doge as well. Brilliant. 10/10
By the way, the sequel to 'Journeys' had now begun publishing. I'd love it if you could take a look and let me know what you think. Thanks :)

Author's Response: Hi!!
I'm really glad you found it then! Thanks! Dumbledore and Doge were pretty fun to write in, and I love Frank :)

I'll definitely be checking it out when I have the time. I've favorited it for now so I can find it as soon as I have a long enough stretch of time to devote :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by WitnesstoitAll A Squid of a Story

31st December 2011:
Oh my goodness.

This is just, this is one of the most unique one shots I've ever seen. I love the premise of an entire squid society lurking around deep in the lake. Frank is hilarious. I love his despondent cynicism. I also adore that Albus and Elphias were the two boys responsible for the -giant- squid that is the stuff of legends for later generations of students.

Fabulous stuff, this is! Really.

Author's Response: hi!!
Thanks! I was definitely trying to make it as unique as possible. Frank is my favorite creation, he feels like some older brother I never had. I always imagined that Dumbledore was kind of a trouble-maker back in the day. Thanks for reviewing! I really appreciate it :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by AC_rules A Squid of a Story

30th December 2011:
Hey there, you requested a review from me on the forums quite awhile back and now I'm finally getting round to clearing out my queue. Sorry about the long wait.

This was such a beautiful little gem of a story. Again, its complete orginal which was just fab and Frank's tone was just really pompous and hillarious. A couple of comments really made me smile ("I hate french cephalopods," for one) and I don't think anyone could have read this without finding it funny.

Your authors note just added to it - I bet you're a hillarious person. It just seemed to drip with wit (and oh, that rhymes!) and I loved everything about it.

I liked the fact that the whole thing was Dumbledore's fault, but it was very strange to have him being called 'Al.' At first I thought you meant the next gen Al before my brain caught up with me and I reminded myself that wouldn't make any sense whatsover, but it was pretty hard for me to associate Al with Dumbledore. Still, I loved the connection you made there, all the comments about pearls and the stuff about his therapist (I hope he developes abandonment issues). Oh, you're so very funny.

I didn't spot any mistakes either. It all seemed to flow nicely. It was very... clean and easy to read.

You said you were wondering if there was too much backstory? Most definately not, I loved it. Short story/short story collection? Now, I'm not so sure about that. Whilst I thought it was a fab one-shot I'm not alltogether sure what else you could do with it. It would either be wonderful or a bit a flop. If you like you could always PM me on the forums and tell me what you were thinking of so I can give you a more insightful opinon :)

Thanks for requesting and sorry for such a long wait.

-AC

Author's Response: Hi AC!!! It's fine! thanks for taking the time to do this!

I'm actually really not hilarious in person, but I have odd notions of the world and it comes out in my writing sometimes :D I understand the confusion with 'Al' and I could change the first instance of 'Al' to Albus, I don't know if that would help much. With the story collection: I had a reviewer who really wanted to see the story expanded into Dumbledore finding out what he did and more about Frank and undersea life. I personally agree with you and think it's complete the way it is, adding to it would feel like destroying what's already there. I just wanted to get another opinion on that! Thank you so much! I really appreciated this review ^_^


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ginny Potter Gal A Squid of a Story

2nd October 2011:
I've never really thought about the giant squid before and it is sounding pretty good so far. Keep wrighting it!!

Author's Response: Hi!! I'm glad you liked it! It's actually only a one-shot, so its pretty much done, but I might write a sequel one-shot if I get the inspiration :D

thanks for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by michaelasaurus A Squid of a Story

30th September 2011:
I may be in love with Frank.

Author's Response: Yay!! I'd advise you not to fall for him- he's a bit of a heart-breaker :D

thanks for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by snapplejaz A Squid of a Story

26th September 2011:
hi. i am normally really bad at reviewing stories but this is just so different that i have to. i thought it was brilliant, i would love to see you write Albus's point of view about it as well. he must have realized what had happened and he can speak mermish so i can just see him dunking his head in the lake and talking to the inhabitants... not to mention using what he found out about the giant squid to improve his potion. Or maybe it could be how ALbus met the merfolk and why he decided to learn mermish? sorry, going off on one a little bit but ingenuity has always been inspiring to me. well done and thankyou for writing this.

Author's Response: Hi!! I'm so excited that this was different enough to incite you to review :D Thank you so much!! Albus' point of view would be intriguing, though it would have to be a whole story on its own, as it would interfere with Frank's mojo ;) but, yeah!! although I feel like this should be a stand alone piece, that sounds pretty cool- Albus' introduction to merpeople and how he learned the language- would make an awesome story! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ariellem A Squid of a Story

21st September 2011:
You are a.genius and completely insane! And I mean both those things as a compliment because if a genius is not insane then she cannot be imaginative.

And you my friend, are imaginative, beyond doubt. This was really a good story! I quite enjoyed it, I've never read a story by the giant squids point of view, but you have convinced me that I should start looking for some.

Author's Response: Hi! thanks! I don't mind being insane too much :D I'm glad you enjoyed it! Yeah, its definitely a weird point of view- I think there are two other fics on here from that POV. It was really fun to write! Thanks for your awesome comments :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Laks A Squid of a Story

17th September 2011:
Very interesting and different :)

Author's Response: Hi!! Thanks! I'm glad you found it interesting- thanks for reviewing ^_^

 Report Review

Review #12, by TheGoldenKneazle A Squid of a Story

11th September 2011:
I absolutely love this story! The minute I saw the banner and title, I really wanted to read this, and I think you've made it pretty hilarious! I love how melodramatic you've made Frank, and his life story was very funny, especially Kenny the Sponge! I love how you involved Albus and Elphias too; it gave an interesting twist to the tale, and it definitely makes more sense for Frank to have been huge for longer than is in the books - I also love how you've made him a giant among giant squid too, it's so clever! 10/10 for originality and hilarity :D

Author's Response: Hi!! thank you so much! Its currently not attracting that many reads (much lower than my usual one-shots) so its really heartening to hear that you really wanted to read it after seeing the banner & title :D

Frank is a little diva lol! And Kenny the sponge strikes me as a poor, nerdy type who's spurned by Frank. Al and Elphy were really fun to write- especially painting Al as a bit of a trouble-maker. Franks, as THE Giant Squid- I felt had to be different than normal giant squids.

thanks for reviewing so thoroughly!! your awesome :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by rogovjm A Squid of a Story

11th September 2011:
Haha! That was really funny. I especially liked the fact that he had a phsycologist named Kenny the Sponge. Nice job.

Author's Response: Hi!!! thanks! I'm glad you found it funny :D
and Kenny the Sponge is the perfect psychologist- he's just full of wisdom like that lol!

thanks for reviewing ^_^


 Report Review

Review #14, by GiddyGryffindorGirl A Squid of a Story

11th September 2011:
This story is really good. Very original! And I love the squid, so funny!

Author's Response: Thank you!! The squid does strike me as a lazy, autocratic dude, and he was really fun to write. Thanks for reviewing and favoriting :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by Mutchiie A Squid of a Story

11th September 2011:
Haha Frank is awesome (: Awesome story!

Author's Response: Thanks! I do love Frank- and his lazy ways :D

thanks for reviewing!!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login