Reading Reviews for All That's Left
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by theblacksisters All That's Left

2nd December 2013:
I like this a lot. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #2, by PhoenixPulse All That's Left

6th August 2012:
GAH! This was BEAUTIFUL!

I adore how you wrote this. It's so flawless, and just reading this, I can hear the pain in James' voice. It's as if I can actually hear him talking, rather than just reading it.

The way that you portrayed the pain, angst, and darkness of it all--I envy you. I tried my hand at writing the 'dark' and angst genre, and I just feel as if its not good enough. (I'm still giving it a try though... But still, I envy your style.)

Everything felt so realistic, and how you captured Harry's pain, that was really gut wrenching stuff. The whole thing was gut wrenching!

And I agree with the whole murder vs. suicide deal. Just reading it made me wonder why Albus would commit such a thing!

Anyway, thank you for such an amazing read! I absolutely loved it!

Author's Response: Wow. I'm so glad you liked it. :) I wrote this almost a year ago, and I'm definitely still in the dark style. For me it just comes naturally. I don't write humour very well, though.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it,. There's a sequel; 421 Hours. :D Thanks for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #3, by missclaire17 All That's Left

12th June 2012:
i love this! you're really good at writing this genre lol
wait... what is the sequel called? i tried looking for it but i cant find it.
or maybe its just me that cant find it lol

this is rly good though.
yeah, al didnt seem like the suicide type either.
it makes so much more sense for this to happen
i like how you wrote it.
and i like how u wrote of james's fury and anger at what caused this.
to me, rather than grieving, i feel like james would channel his hurt towards anger and put his efforts into finding out what actually happened.

great one shot (:

Author's Response: Thanks again for the amazing review. The sequel is called '421 Hours' and it's located one or two fics above this one. :)

Anyways, I'm glad you like it. It *is* generally my forte, so I understand if you don't want to read any more of it ...

Yeah, James and I had a bit of a battle over his characterization. He won, though. :) Thank you so much for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #4, by Katie V All That's Left

2nd June 2012:
Wow... I love this. ♥ So heartbreaking..

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #5, by BKL8008 All That's Left

26th March 2012:
I never read the first version, where it apparently was a suicide. Until I hit the end, I was thinking that it was a powerful piece that had a great capture of the grief at the loss of a loved one. I've had to deal with a suicide of someone close before, although not from bullying, but still...I recall the scream of a mother at her son's funeral...and I think you got the emotions right. I remember how I felt. All the questions I asked myself. Then , near the end, I got to thinking...what if he was murdered? And bang, there it was. Great minds think alike? :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for another amazing review. :)

Yes, the first version was a suicide . . . but the way I characterized Al, it just didn't work. But then an idea formed . . . and here is the new version/421 Hours.

I'm so sorry you had to go through that. I'm really glad you thought I got it right. It means a lot that you shared that.

Ah, yes, he was murdered. If you want to read more of this story . . . you should read 421 Hours. It's a bit more violent, though . . .

Thanks again for your review.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lillylover22 All That's Left

29th January 2012:
Wow that was so sad. I agree i dont think the al that you have protrayed would have killed himself. I cant wait for the sequel. It was devastantingly beautiful. If that makes sense. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. Yeah, I made Al such a character I felt as if I knew him . . . and I knew the Al I created would never take the (please forgive the lack of sugar-coating) easy way out. Yeah, I understand what you mean with the devastatingly beautiful. Like I replied to your review in 421 Hours, I'm one for bittersweet resolutions. Things that are tragically beautiful. (I love oxymorons)

Thanks for the amazing review!
Ellie


 Report Review

Review #7, by TeddyLupinPotter All That's Left

18th January 2012:
This is so good!!

I happened to be listening to "Fix You" by Coldplay as i read it. It made me cry. I love all the characters personalities, even though you only see them through James' eyes, you can understand how the family relationships work.

Can't wait for the sequel!!

Hannah

Author's Response: This one is also from James's POV . . . but it's very different, but still explanatory. I love 'Fix You', and I'm so glad you liked it.

The sequel should be out by Valentine's Day!
Thanks again,
Ellie


 Report Review

Review #8, by Fluffzy All That's Left

16th January 2012:
Oh my, almost made me cry!
I liked the twist though, it was very different from what I was expecting!
Definitely one of my favourites!

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so much. I love twisting things, and I currently have a sequel to this in the making (beta-ing). That one has many crazy twists. :)

Thank you so much for the review!
Ellie


 Report Review

Review #9, by weasley_potter27 All That's Left

15th January 2012:
i was crying in this story

Author's Response: Thank you so much. It was meant to stir emotions

Thanks for the review
Ellie


 Report Review

Review #10, by kestral14 All That's Left

14th January 2012:
Very good story, very sad. 10/10

Author's Response: Yeah, but not every story can have a happy ending. . . right?

Thanks for the review!
Ellie


 Report Review

Review #11, by potter_epic_riddle All That's Left

13th January 2012:
Wow... this is AWESOME...okay, a fancier word would be breath-taking and that is exactly what this story is.

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so much. I'm really glad you liked it. :)

Thanks for the review!
Ellie


 Report Review

Review #12, by ME All That's Left

20th November 2011:
this is a great story good job it shows the effect suicide has

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. I really hope I wrote it right :)

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #13, by Europa27 All That's Left

13th November 2011:
poignant..made me cry...

Author's Response: Poignant?

Thanks for the review, though. It was really emotional for me as well. . .


 Report Review

Review #14, by worleybird All That's Left

8th November 2011:
Holy shit! This has me bawling my eyes out! Please write a prequel on what happened. You are a very good writer! Keep it up.

Author's Response: I'm really busy at the moment, but I'll try to do one by. . . Christmas? Let's say?

 Report Review

Review #15, by Glitter All That's Left

14th October 2011:
Wow. This is wonderfully written. Amazing job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #16, by HP lookalike All That's Left

14th October 2011:
Wow, this is powerful, emotional and gut-wrenching, reducing me closer to tears with every sentence. This is really good and it's one of those stories where you're waiting for the resolution, for the happy ending and then you realise that there isn't one, there'll never be one, because in real life, there wouldn't be a happy ending. Brilliant 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. This story was really hard to write, and sometimes happy endings don't happen. Not every story ends with love or good grades, ya know?

 Report Review

Review #17, by nina lupin All That's Left

11th October 2011:
wow
you, honest to god, made me cry. I was planning on being an ungrateful brat and not review when I clicked on this, but it was brilliant. It felt like you captured them all completely
keep on writing (and once I've logged in I'll favourite)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I just had a review explosion, and I am glad you liked it. It was really hard to write and I am currently editing it to make it better. I really appreciate it, and believe me, I was in tears writing it.

Thanks,
Ellie


 Report Review

Review #18, by BlackIsAwesome All That's Left

10th October 2011:
That was amazing, it made me cry and thats saying alot because I have never cried, even when Dumbledore died (in the books) and i love dumbledore :O

I still have tears running down my face. I loved it so much, so bittersweet, yet so beautiful at the same time :)

This is worth like 20/10, seriously...

-Sankavi (Well, BlackIsAwesome, but I'm not signed in ;P )

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I have gotten so many reviews for this, and I really appreciate it. I think Al's death would have broke Harry. After all that, it would be so hard. I worry that this story is too depressing, and I really appreciate the review. I love the sort of bittersweet things, and thought it was a hard topic, I felt it needed to be done.

Thank you so much,
Ellie


 Report Review

Review #19, by harrylittleliars13 All That's Left

10th October 2011:
I'm in tears right now. I love the fact that this was written from James' point of view and in my opinion you portrayed his emotions brilliantly. Grief, anger, confusion...I'm practically feeling all of those emotions myself. It's a very powerful subject and I think you did a great job with it. I'd love for you to make a sequel, possibly about the events leading up to Al's suicide or how the family copes after the funeral? Well...whatever you decide to do, just keep writing because you are incredibly talented.

~Corei 10/10

Author's Response: I'll try to write a sequel. :(

I've been thinking about it and I just figured out why Al did it. So. . . soon there will be more. I have also edited it as I felt it was way too short so I will be posting it soon. I really appreciate the review. Thank you for the wonderful critique and I had to try really hard just to figure out what someone would be feeling, and it's good to know it worked. Thank you so much, Corei.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #20, by Voldys_Moldy All That's Left

10th October 2011:
oh my god. that was...amazing. i honestly felt like crying towards the end. that was just beautiful. so emotional, so well written...fantastic job. 10/10. it really makes me think about suicide and death and depression and all that other lovely stuff. nobody really wants to talk about it, or think about it, or even acknowledge its existence, but it's there. and thank you so much for writing about it in such a wonderful and caring manner. please keep on writing. HPFF would benefit from a writer like you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I've gotten a lot of feedback on this, and I really needed it. I was really unsure writing this, as the topic is so sensitive, and I have issues acknowledging its existence as well. So I try to make people see that it is real, and I am thinking of writing a companion piece or two to go with this. Thank you so much.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #21, by Janvi All That's Left

10th October 2011:
Hey!
Aw, this made me cry! You're a brilliant writer, I swear, there are very few one-shots like these, where the writers are creative enough to experiment. You're really awesome, so I'm off to check some other fanfics of yours!
Cheers:D
P.S. Keep Writing!!

Author's Response: I'm on it! I got the idea when I was looking for a piece and stumbled across a suicide one-shot. I had never seen one before and I felt I needed to add to the short collection and help people see. Thanks for the review, and I am thinking of a companion piece to this. Thanks.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #22, by meep All That's Left

9th October 2011:
that was amazing! it made me cry because it was so sad but it was well written

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm working on editing it as I type, and I am glad I have gotten so many reviews on this piece. Thank you so much.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #23, by James2009 All That's Left

9th October 2011:
This was very sad, but very very beautiful. I hope you right a sequel of some sort because I was just left wanting more. You are an amazing writer and i am of to explore your other writing,
congrats on the amazing one-shot,
James2009

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I've gotten the "sequel request" and I am going to try. Probably from Al's POV, but maybe it'll turn into a short story. . . I don't know at this point. It was so sad I was basically crying as I wrote it. THanks for the review, they mean a lot to me.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #24, by cookiesanddough All That's Left

9th October 2011:
Have to say I loved this. You captured the sadness and the anger of everyone involved perfectly. Heartfelt and emotional fic. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks. Emotions are so hard to write, yet even harder to say. I hope I captured them well. When I think of grief I think of sadness, (obviously), regret, anger, and confusion. Thank you.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #25, by christine All That's Left

9th October 2011:
WOW! This was absolutley beautiful!! I'm really crying at this point. It was amazingly written. I'm sorry, but I can't find words to cover this, one reason: I can't see the computer through the tears.. another: I

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so much. Such a hard topic to write. . . .

Thank you so much. I'm glad to see that this piece affected people in the way I wanted. (not that I want people to cry!)

I'm just glad the emotion was clear. Thanks!

Ellie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>