Reading Reviews for Oatmeal Squares
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ginnypotter242 Powdered Butter

18th July 2012:
Haha, oatmeal squares. The tings you have to do when you have no food in your house.

Powdered butter...is that a real thing? I have never heard of that. (It sounds kind of disgusting, in all honesty)

Well, that's definitely a new recipe. Cookies without any butter, and without an actual recipe.

Making it a tradition was so cute. And sharing it with the pigeons. I love your writing, you make Harry and Ginny so cute together :P

~Sara

Author's Response: Actually it is a real thing, my cousin would always use it on her mashed potatoes. I had even tired it, it wasn't to bad, it melted like butter normally does on hot food.

I made muffins once, with honey, water and flour, powdered butter and...that was it I think...They tasted really good for eggless, milkless and oilless muffins.

Thank you so much, I'm thrilled you like my writing, I try making them cute, but well sometimes I lose ideas.

Thanks so much for the review,

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #2, by CambAngst Powdered Butter

29th June 2012:
This was so sweet! I love the whole sentiment, I love the playful exchanges between the two of them and I actually love the little burst of ingenuity.

Obviously, you've ignored a substantial bit of canon here since Harry has lots of gold from his parents and godfather and Ginny is presumably well-paid as a pro athlete, but that didn't really bother me at all. The situation is so universal for young couples who are struggling to get started in life. My poison of choice was more likely to be ramen noodles or cheap ground beef, but the principle is the same. Feed yourself however you can.

Harry and Ginny had such an easygoing manor with one another. It was very relaxing to read and very easy to believe. When you've survived a war against history's most powerful dark wizard and his murderously insane followers, a little thing like eating lousy oatmeal squares for dinner isn't too likely to ruin your day.

I can see why people like this story so much. It left me with such a happy, relaxed, comfortable feeling. Bravo!

Author's Response: Wow thank you, thank you so very much.

Well yes, I did, and I know it's not good to always do things like that but you seemed to not mind so that makes me happy.

Potatoes, rice or ramen noddles, are mine. Though I do have stories. I once tried to make soup out of chill powder and made muffins with powdered butter, water, flour, and honey.No milk, eggs, butter or oil, and they tasted amazing.

I was rather proud of myself. So I wrote a story and added the kind of guy I wish was standing by me when I made those.

I think they do. I believe as soon as Harry kissed her it was like they had been dating for years, I always thought they never wanted to stress over anything, and it worked for the both of them.

Thank you, this review made my year. :)

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Powdered Butter

9th April 2012:
Oh boy. I wouldn't want to make anything with those two, they can't cook? I was sure Harry could make excellent bacon! I actually do believe Ginny would not have been a good cook, she doesn't seem like the type to have the patience to make fancy dinners. Harry would have had to help her out.

I just wish you would have described some more what the oatmeal squares actually tasted like.

Oh, two things:

I pretty sure I can make something.

'I' should be 'I'm'

I won't pull any of my usual stunts, but the rules apply to you to

'to' should be 'too'

Author's Response: They tasted like the crappy expensive cookies that people sell in the gas station. Harry can make bacon, Ginny can make toast, breakfast is there kind of meal, other than that forget it.

I'm really happy you keep reading, I'm glad I haven't chased you away just yet!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #4, by OZ123 Powdered Butter

29th February 2012:
Thats hilarious and sweet and I love it

Author's Response: Oh I'm so glad, I don't get it though why does everyone like this one-shot...all there doing is baking cookies?

I'm thrilled you liked it though, and thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Sarah Powdered Butter

29th February 2012:
Amazing! You should try to make it more chapters. And, dont write rolls eyes in every other Ginny sentence.

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so. I'm working on trying to make a novel or novella but I have no ideas, for now it's only Harry and Ginny one-shots.

Thanks for the review.

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #6, by Sarah Powdered Butter

29th February 2012:
Amazing! You should try to make it more chapters. And, dont write rolls eyes in every other Ginny sentence.

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so. I'm working on trying to make a novel or novella but I have no ideas, for now it's only Harry and Ginny one-shots.

Thanks for the review.

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #7, by forsakenphoenix Powdered Butter

29th January 2012:
I love how you write Harry as a typical boy and not a hero of the Wizarding world. It makes it very real and Harry and Ginny are a real couple that we can relate to. I love how he has no groceries and they try to bake oatmeal cookies with whatever he's got left in his kitchen. I really, really liked the line where you said something about how Ginny knows how to make groceries stretch because of her mum and I think that's such a interesting observation of the Weasley family and how they have to deal with a meager income and all those children.

Also, I've never even heard of powdered butter before but it sounds disgusting! Again, I was amused by Harry's one-track mind and I don't know how Ginny resists him all the time!

"Of all the crap muggle music you bought you forgot a mixing bowl." - I'm not really sure what music and mixing bowls have to do with each other so I was a bit confused by this sentence. But, of course Harry doesn't have mixing bowls - he can't cook! What would he do with them anyway? Ha, I was laughing when he was trying to split the eggs up.

I'm glad their oatmeal squares came out okay and I think it's adorable that they're going to make it a tradition to do that once a month - it's a really sweet couple-y thing to do.

Cute story! :)

Author's Response: I love that too. Actually I think that's one of the things I love most about Harry, because Harry and Ginny are those kind of people. They get so excited over the littlest things they talk and talk, they're happy to be around each other.

Harry is such a boy, and I love being able to say that because he truly is. He just would rather lie around, and hang out with Ginny the get food. Sometimes I think people write him as though he knows what he's doing all the time, but he really just wants to play around, and that's why him and Ginny are perfect because they both aren't ready to grow up, that's why I never got people marrying them at eighteen or something.

It's actually a real thing. It's called Butter Buds, and you would find it at Whole Foods or Bristol Farms or something like that, my cousin loved it. I thought it was weird.

Muggle music and mixing bowls really have nothing together, but I can just picture Harry buying all this cool junk and forgetting the stuff he actually needs.

Well he doesn't know how to cook, so pulling the eggs apart seems like a good idea :)

I'm glad they did to, and I'm happy you liked this one-shot, I'm actually thrilled you liked it.

Thanks a bunch,

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #8, by HGEVA Powdered Butter

22nd January 2012:
I love this story! It is so completely amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much, you're really sweet!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #9, by Random wrighter Powdered Butter

20th January 2012:
Good story wright more.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'll try to :)

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #10, by Runespoor Powdered Butter

16th December 2011:
This is best Harry/Ginny EVER.
'Nuff said.
10/10

Author's Response: Thank You! This review made me smile so hard, I love the 'Nuff, was so cute! Thanks for making my day ten times brighter :)

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #11, by SilverRoses Powdered Butter

13th December 2011:
Haha, too cute! That is so clever and ingenious and unique and well...I've never read anything that made me like the Harry/Ginny pairing so much! Great writing...wish it could've been longer, though, because it was SO GOOD!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm so thrilled that you liked it. I love writing Harry/Ginny, people put them in such a bad light and I try to fix that light...I know, I'm weird.

I wouldn't how I cloud make it longer, but still thrilled you liked. :)

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #12, by majestic_ginny Powdered Butter

12th December 2011:
This was so sweet! I really love the way you can manage to portray Harry and Ginny. Harry is the sweetest thing ever. By the way, could I have some oatmeal squares too? lol. :P

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it, and I'm thrilled you love the way I portray Harry and Ginny, that makes me so happy.

Of course you can have some Oatmeal squares, I love to share.

Thanks for the review :)

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #13, by LysLovesHP Powdered Butter

7th December 2011:
Haha! I absolutely loved that! So super cute and fun! Please keep writing!!! :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing. I have about twenty Harry/Ginny one-shots posted, so please keep reading! :)

Thanks so, so, much for the lovely review.

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #14, by annabelle Powdered Butter

10th November 2011:
Super cute and totally in character. One can actually image the whole scenario!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, your review just made my day. I love when people enjoy my writing, so thanks so much!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #15, by Grakmole Powdered Butter

28th September 2011:
Once again stunning. do I actually need to say more?

Author's Response: No I don't think you do :) I'm very happy with the word you used, stunning wow I mean I have never gotten a stunning before!

Thanks so much!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #16, by TheImaginator Powdered Butter

27th September 2011:
It's so nice to read GinnyXHarry stories. This was quite sweet, although sometimes the dialogue sounded a bit rushed. And oatmeal cookies without raisins? How-what- I'm speechless.

Author's Response: I hate raisins in my cookies! Yuck when I eat junk food I don't want fruit or nuts in it!

I'm glad you liked it though, and I love Harry and Ginny more than anything so I will keep writing them!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jenna822 Powdered Butter

27th September 2011:
This was so adorable! It was just calm and sweet and simple. A late paycheck and some random cookies with his girlfriend seems like such a normal and safe day. When you think about the life Harry's had, this just makes me smile. It was just...really really adorable. And great use of the assigned food! --Jenna

Just a side-note, in your chapter summary, it should be "Who's the..." because you're actually saying "Who is the..."

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I so glad you liked it! I was going for normal, so I glad you liked it! I was so clueless as to what to do with oatmeal, and then BAM! I thought of cookies.

Personally, I have never been a huge fan of oatmeal cookies, but hey maybe Harry and Ginny are right?

Thanks for the review!

Lizzie, and I'll be sure to fix that error!


 Report Review

Review #18, by May_Diggory_Weasley Powdered Butter

15th September 2011:
This is so adorable! I love oatmeal squares aswell, so overall awesome. i love your portrayal of Ginny and Harry! :) 10/10

Author's Response: I'm so happy you liked! Thanks so much!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #19, by slytherinchica08 Powdered Butter

12th September 2011:
This was a really cute and fun piece and I really enjoyed it! I loved the litte bits of flirting that you added into the piece and it just added more cuteness to the piece. I thought it was a good thought on what would happen with these two if they both had late checks and only these few ingrediants. I thought it was funny how neither of them can cook and weren't really trusting of the food to start with.

I love the ending how they were going to feed the squares to the birds but then end up sitting on a bench in the park eating the squares themselves and not sharing any with the birds really. I think it was a sweet little piece about a moment between Harry and Ginny when it was a little tight for money/food since their checks were late. It's nice to know that not everything is perfect in their lives and that they will never have to want again.

Personally I think this challenge would actually be really hard! I don't know if i could be given a food and then try to figure out how to incorporate it into a story and make it believable so I give you props for even doing this challenge. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I love writing Harry and Ginny flirting, I just find it so much fun!!

I hate the fact when people make it like everything becomes easy for Harry and Ginny because there rich

There normol people, and that's what I try to write. I thought this challenge was going to be hard, but it's rather fun and I like it a lot!

thanks for the review!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #20, by MrAndMrsPotter Powdered Butter

10th September 2011:
Hmm, short and sweet. A nice little feel good story. I liked it! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, I wanted Harry and Ginny to have there share of feel good stories!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #21, by bri_5_stars Powdered Butter

10th September 2011:
This was a very fluffy cute one! You actually get to understand the characters a bit. Good luck in the Food Challenge!

Author's Response: I hope I do ok, thanks for the luck I needed it! I'm glad you liked

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #22, by HorseBabexo Powdered Butter

9th September 2011:
i love this! Seriously, the cuteness is just so amazing! Harry and Ginny are such a good couple, and I feel that you've captured them exactly in character. I loved how they counted to quaffle instead of three. That's really unique!

I love how the cookies came out as squares and not circles. :) And how Harry and Ginny will bake them again as a tradition. The cuteness is...ahh! I love it!

Great job, really! 10/10

Author's Response: I'm so glad! I love Harry and Ginny, more than anything, to me they are just the best pairing in the whole wide world!

I first did it as quidditch objects, and then I was going to change it to numbers, but I forgot so it stayed!

Well when I bake crappy cookies that's how the come out, so I thought it worked well.

I'm so happy, you really made my day!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #23, by Levana Powdered Butter

9th September 2011:
Hahaha this one-shot was great :p It's really nice to just read a story where it's not all angsty and actiony. I think you do a really great job of writing Ginny. No, Mr. Hormonal. Im hungry. Try and think of something else,

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Why can't Harry and Ginny be happy, they deserve happiness!

Oh Mr. Hormonal is Ginny's nickname for Harry, I mean he is a bloke and bloke with only two things on his mind. Quidditch and Ginny ;)

I always have so much fun writing Ginny, and I will keep writing her and Harry until I get sick!

Lizze :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by BrightStar Powdered Butter

8th September 2011:
This is so cute!


Its just one of those moments i love to read when its about harry and ginny - they had such an awful time during the war, i just want them to be happy.


i already love your oneshots :D

also, i love how ginny took charge of the meal. that was so here!

Author's Response: I want them to be happy to, that's why I write these. Harry and Ginny have been through so much, why not let things be easy for them?

I'm glad you like my stuff, it makes me so happy :)

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #25, by justonemorefic Powdered Butter

8th September 2011:
Harry is rich though ;) Just saying. But he can always just forget to buy groceries, absent minded boy he is.

Hehe, I can just imagine Harry saying, I'm a bloke! I was kind of busy saving the world! Cookies, what cookies?

On the count of Quaffle! That's cute :D Quidditch things are capitalized, by the way!

I think what I said in my previous review would also count for this one. Be a bit more comfortable with writing descriptions :) It helps the reader imagine the world, and helps you imagine the world better too. Remember that they're wizards -- famous wizards!

Author's Response: Ah...Or is he?

Could it be possible that Harry didn't sign up for work right away, causing to spend money a bit faster?

B. Helped out with the fixing of Hogwarts, which might have meant money?

C. Girlfriend...Not exactly cheap.

D. Ginny gets a paycheck from the Harpies, is is possible Harry bought her the very expensive broomstick she needed to get on the team?

Just something to consider.

Maybe I should change it to that line :)

I thought that would kind of fun to use, I need to go capitalize them now :)

Famous wizards doesn't mean they're not normal :)

Thanks so much :)

Lizzie :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>