Reading Reviews for Morning People
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by purplepotter77 one

18th July 2013:
I loved this! It was so cute and fluffy and well written, and it was about my OTP, which makes it even better. I loved how it was such a different take on the usual James/Lily, not the typical Lily-hates-James-no-wait-she-loves-him fic. It's wonderful that first they become friends and then gradually, they realize that they love each other, and it's not huge and earth-shattering with tons of fanfare.

They way you portrayed Lily and James here was wonderful. James is usually seen as the arrogant toerag and Lily hates him with a fiery passion, but here, they seem so much more like real people with a believable romance. Sirius, Remus, Peter, and Petunia were all very excellent background characters, and you got all of their personalities accurately without making them too cliched or overdone.

The subtlety shown through the theme of breakfast was great, though I think all the cornflakes made me slightly hungry. :D The hand-holding part (and even McGonagall smiling at their relationship), the address part, and the part when they first kissed were so cute. When Lily received that letter and James offered her a shoulder to cry on was probably the most touching part of this, and really showed how there was also a war going on at this time.

I loved this, great work!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #2, by javct one

16th October 2012:
ALL THE JILY FEELS! ALL THE JILY FEELS! ALL THE JILY FEELS!

This isn't your best work? I beg to differ - this has got to be the best Jily one-shot I've read in a long time and can I just say that this line: "As James pulls back, he's staring at Lily as though she's a gift from Heaven itself." made me melt into a puddle. It's stories like these that make me realise just how alone I am in life.

This was just asdfghjkll;;'

Author's Response: EVERY SINGLE JILY FEEL!

No, really, thank you so much for your review! I wrote this after a really long time of...well, not writing anything, so I felt like it wasn't up to par with the rest of my work but looking back on it, I'm always really happy to have produced it. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Emma. one

24th March 2012:
This is adorable!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by daisyketurah one

28th November 2011:
I had first read this a couple of days ago, but had forgotten to review and so i just spent the better part of forever looking for it, just so i could tell you how amazing it is! Feel privaliged.
Anyway, this is very beautifully written, it's quite simple, which is nice and makes it an easy read.
Keep up the good writing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MJ one

28th November 2011:
Very cute. Thanks for sharing. :)

Author's Response: No problem! Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Phoenix_Flames one

1st November 2011:
Molly!! Hun, I love you! :D

So this just caught my eye in passing, and I couldn't not read it. :D And I'm so glad I did.

I loved this so much. This was precious, and I loved every bit of it. It was such a different take on the whole James/Lily romance, and so creative! I would like to believe that something like this or similar to it is what occurred to bring James and Lily together.

Corn flakes. :D How precious! I can't tell you how much I loved this. I loved your short descriptions. Sometimes I prefer those over the long ones. I feel like they say so much more. In those few words, there is so much said about the situation, the actions, the characters, the emotions, and the whole piece was like that. So much came from it.

Gah! I loved it, and I officially don't know what else to say. But I loved it. :) Favoriting! ILY, HUN! :)

Author's Response: Drue, darling! HI I LOVE YOU TOO!

While I do enjoy a good L/J where circumstances force them together and they can't seem to pull apart, I also love a nice slow romance, which is something I think they would've had. Friendship, to me, is so important in a relationship, especially a romantic one, and I've always felt that James and Lily would've been friends first before anything else.

Ah, yes, corn flakes. I personally hate the cereal but I didn't know what other types are popular in England, so I went with it. :P

As someone who sometimes gets carried away with descriptions, you have no idea how happy it makes me to know that you enjoyed the style I wrote this in!

Thank you, dear! I love you too!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Rumbleroar goes roar one

27th September 2011:
Aw so cute :) Loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks very much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by classicblack one

22nd September 2011:
Wow! I really liked this! It was cute and simple and without all that random drama that most other stories have. It was great! I LOVED them eating breakfast everyday and that it progressed into a friendship and eventually a relationship :) This was really a great one-shot!
~classicblack

Author's Response: Yay! I'm happy to hear that you liked it. The less drama, the better, I say. Except I don't. I love drama so much but I do think there's a time and a place for it, and it wasn't in this one-shot.

Anyway, thanks!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jaded94 one

11th September 2011:
I really adored this. I was looking for a random James/Lily story and this was absolutely perfect! I've added it to my favorites and am going to check out your page for any other stories.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. Lily/James is my OTP! That is, if you couldn't tell :P

 Report Review

Review #10, by Olympia1863 one

8th September 2011:
There was so much to like in this, so so much. I love how very unconventional the romance is; not your standard flirtatious arguments boiling over into unspoken passion. I like that you strayed away from that entirely, focusing on a much more natural sort of procession. I absolutely, positively beamed at the description of when she first holds his hand - too adorable. The culmination in their first kiss was minimal but perfectly. Excellent way to end.

I also liked the style. The switching perspectives was a lovely detail, one that I guess I don't see too often (maybe I'm not looking). I was also impressed you included Sirius, Remus and Peter's perspective; it was nice to see what they thought, and I loved Peter's little quip about the bet. More importantly, the bit where she bonds with Remus and Sirius was lovely.

This was really wonderfully done, and it might be one of my favorite Lily/James one-shots! I'll have to check out your other stuff :)

Author's Response: I think that some of the best relationships are those that start out as friendships first. And with two people like Lily and James, they're not going to go from at odds with each other to lovers in one fell swoop. It takes time, and I like to ponder exactly what happened in their seventh year that made her change her mind. I never thought it was anything big; I just thought that they finally got to know each other.

I've always thought that was one of the biggest problems with L/J - hardly ever are James' friends (and I guess Lily's friends) taken into consideration. Sure they might be in the story, but usually as an excuse for one of Lily's OC friends to get with them. And it's obvious that Lily became friends with all of the Marauders, especially after the seventh book, and as this was a piece about the growth of their relationship I thought it was sort of necessary to include.

Rambling aside, thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by prongspotter123 one

4th September 2011:
Really nice work! I love your style of writing, it's really enthralling even in such a simple piece! Lily & James were awesome and I loved this line:

Three, not four--from the professor, that was great

xoxo,

pp123

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm not always sure if my style appeals to everyone, so it's nice to be reassured. I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by The Empress one

2nd September 2011:
OH MY GOD MOLLY

Just

OH MY GOD

That was so cute. And adorable. And lovely. Sweet, even. I love that it was perfect in its simplicity. No outrageous declarations of love, no crazy fights or obnoxious humour that often accompanies L/J stories. It feels so... so real.

I told you I would like it!

Other than that one random time when I said L/J maybe wasn't meant to be and if they hadn't died they'd have divorced, I think L/J is the most fantastic love story ever. And really, since JKR gives us so little of them in the books, it's fan fiction that makes them that way. And this piece just adds to the beauty of their love. Of who they were.

Lovely, my dear.
xoxo
Shiloh

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you liked it, Shiloh. YOUR OPINION MATTERS TO ME.

♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme one

2nd September 2011:
CORN FLAKES ♥ I don't even like them but now I'm craving them. Corn flakes and more of your writing, that is.

I don't read Lily/James when you're not around. There are very few people who pull them off and you and Georgia are the only ones that spring to mind at the minute. They play off each other brilliantly and you make them so real in a way that a lot of people don't. It's a pleasant change not to have to see Lily screeching like a banshee all the time.

James has lost the arrogance, Lily's more open to him. The progression of their relationship was believable and so well executed: it made me feel all fluffy and warm. Sirius is a brilliant background character too, here, and I think you pulled him off really well.

When there is talk of the war, it's brief and quiet until someone cracks a joke and brings them back to their youth. - I think this line was the one that really stuck with me throughout the story. It really summed up both the Marauders and Hogwarts era for me and after that, it loomed over the story a bit, the fact that it's not all going to be all right forever which made it seem even more important that these two got together and got the other half they deserved.

I love this lots. I've missed you and your writing terribly and I hope your muse carries on coming up with things like this.


xx

Author's Response: CORN FLAKES WAS ALMOST THE TITLE OF THE STORY! But I changed it at the last minute. Truth is, I don't like corn flakes much either but I remembered that thread you made about breakfast foods in Britain and all I remembered was corn flakes being on the list. So I picked that, lol.

Really? That's a tragedy, but so is the lack of decent L/J fic. I could talk about this ship from here until the next life time because I love them so much. It's just a shame how one dimensional some writers make the characters, how lacking their story is. It's actually quite a beautiful story, in my mind, if only because it ends so tragically.

I'm so glad you liked Sirius. I was worried that he wouldn't come off the way I wanted him, which is as James' best friend. I know that might sound weird, but really, if Lily's got to get anyone's "approval", so to speak, it's his. And I figured that since Lily wrote to Sirius once they were out of Hogwarts, they ought to be friends. Or something.

*blushes* I actually like that line quite a lot for the very reason you listed. I didn't want to make the war a focal point of the story, just sort of a reminder looming in the background. So happy that it actually worked!

I've missed you too, dear! And your writing. I've got so much to catch up on. YOU FINISHED LOSING NEVERLAND! I'm about to cry tears of joy, really, I am.

I adore you lots! Thanks for this beautiful review, love.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Hope's Mom one

2nd September 2011:
This is an adorable, sweet and utterly irresistable story. It is well written and was thoroughly enjoyed by both me and my 12 year old daughter. Thank you so much for writing it and sharing it!

Author's Response: I'm glad the two of you enjoyed it so much. It makes me smile from ear to ear, knowing that you liked it so much.



 Report Review

Review #15, by heart4siriusblack one

2nd September 2011:
This is so precious! I adore it. So cute. Gah. I'm just a puddle of mush. Words have clearly escaped me at this early hour of the morning. But! I will say that it was very well done, and the banner is adorable :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

Isn't the banner fabulous? AccioHedwig did an amazing job on it.


 Report Review

Review #16, by RJ one

1st September 2011:
Yay! Youre back! This little gem just brightened my morning. I love Lily/James and their story. Im so over reading the overly cliche stories that are the norm, but this was simple and so sweet. You really do have such a beautiful way with words. And it is so easy to imagine. I mean, seriously - as if Lily went from hating James to loving him in one single day. This is lovely, and was one of those stories that I get sucked completely into, and then when I realise I am, infact, a muggle, I get a great big surge of disappointment. Glad to hear that everything seems to be sorting itself out for you, and Im really happy to see you back writing again. Thanks again for brightening my day with your little bit of magic x

Author's Response: I am! It's been ages, hasn't it?

I love Lily/James, too, as if you didn't notice that already. The whole reason why I wrote this is because I'm also sick of your typical L/J where she hates him and is always screaming at him, and he just sort of takes it because he's all googly-eyed over her.

Don't you hate it when you realize that you're still Muggle, no matter how involved you get in the world? Ugh, it's the worst. But this review? It's the best.

Thank you ever so much for your kind words. I'm so happy that you enjoyed it, and it's my absolute pleasure to brighten you day as you have now brightened mine.


 Report Review

Review #17, by girly1393 one

1st September 2011:
A cutesy, adorable one-shot. It had a brilliant development, and the progression was very realistic. It was pretty awesome.

Author's Response: Thank you! It pleases me that you liked it. I was worried about some of the lengthier sections, but I'm happy that you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Celestie one

1st September 2011:
Molly!

I'm so glad that you're back! You haven't updated in ages and I've really missed your writing and this was positively adorable. James/Lily fluff is so hard to write well because it's such an overdone ship, but you write it perfectly and bring something new to it every time.

I love the idea of breakfast together and their subconscious love. I love that it happens gradually and that you can see it happening, but it's done subtly. Lily and James are both in character and the part at the Quidditch game was so cute! And the hand holding and the home address and just everything. I've missed your writing! I hope you write more!

Celeste

Author's Response: Celeste!

I'm so happy to be back. And with muse, too! It's such an awesome feeling to be writing again.

First off, thank you so much for your compliments! I'm a sucker for fluff and I'm always worried that I overdo it in my fics because, well, let's face it, over half of my fics are fluff and the rest are incomplete, lol.

It's weird how the whole breakfast idea came to mind. Initially, I was going to use the first segment as the introduction to a new L/J, but after a bit of adapting I figured it would work better for a one-shot. And it did! I'm so delighted with the way it turned out, especially since it's been a while since I've written - well, anything at all!

The Quidditch game was my favorite part, too, and it was the last section I added.

Thanks again for your lovely words! They always bring a smile to my face, whether they're in the form of a review or a story. By the way, I've just started 'Bathing in Roses' and I LOVE it!

XOXO,

Molly



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login