Reading Reviews for Amaranthine
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by purplepotter77 a lifetime that passed by

18th July 2013:
Wow, this was absolutely beautiful and so moving! It's definitely not your average fluffy Lily/James story that I've seen so many times. I love how this deals with the war and how they lived when they were in hiding, but not exactly the night that Voldemort killed them. I've seen so many stories about either that night or their life at Hogwarts, so this was totally a different perspective on their relationship and their life. Also, I love baby Harry!

There were so many small little details you included that added such a lovely touch to this piece, such as the towel or the eggs. They're the kind of silly things you notice while living with someone, but gradually you become accustomed to and later, it doesn't really matter anymore. It made Lily and James seem a lot more like normal people in a hard time, trying to start their new family and live their life, but at the same time, they also had to deal with all the horrible things that were going on. Because of the war, they were stuck in a stasis with no information about what was happening around them and a different friend dying each week, and they had baby Harry to take care of, too. The progression of Lily's emotions was so realistic and so well written. I can't even begin to imagine how horrible it must have been for both of them.

"It was more than a love worth living for. It was a love worth dying for." That line really just summed up their situation and the love they had for each other so wonderfully. It foreshadowed what would happen on October 31 in such a great way.

This fic was absolutely breathtaking, thank you for this amazing story! :D

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #2, by Em a lifetime that passed by

9th September 2012:
Lovely. Just lovely. Very nice writing. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Unwritten Curse a lifetime that passed by

8th June 2012:
This is gorgeous, Celeste. The small details you add bring everything to life. Your prose has enough but not too much. The progression is flawless. This piece clearly took time and thought and care. You're quite the inspiring author, I hope you know.

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, Gina! You're still alive :o I haven't talked to you in so long!

And thank you so much :D This piece did take ages, so I'm so glad you liked it!

Thanks for reading :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by broadwaykat a lifetime that passed by

14th May 2012:
This is absolutely gorgeous.

I don't know if this'll make any sense or not, but while I've read a lot of Lily and James stories...this is one of the few that I've read that they also feel like real people. Not everything is perfectly okay - it isn't all loving, beautiful moments - it shows the anguish of these characters who are stuck together - and the idea that you can love someone so much and yet in certain circumstances try to push them away.

I also think you had a brilliant way of showing moments with how the war is going on around them. Your right, they are stuck in a stasis - they arn't allowed out to fight - and the two of them react in different ways to that. It was wonderful how to described the changes there - to the Order surrounding them to everyone slowly filtering away or dying. It was spooky - it drew the tension and the stakes of the first war up without really referencing any spellfire or massive explosions and an ever rising body count. I take my hat off to you for that - because it brought more tension with what was not said than what was.

I love Lily in this - and James. I think the characterization was spot on - moving them on to adults in a tense moment. It's a one-shot that I've had to go back and read more than once to make sure I got everything - so brava, my dear.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! What a lovely review to wake up to :D

This is one of those one-shots that came out of nowhere. It was supposed to be, strangely enough, a story that made James and Lily to be incompatible in the very beginning and then it turned into this somehow. But the response it's received from readers like you has been so wonderful.

You're absolutely right, by the way. They are in a stasis and in a strange sort of way, it forces them to grow up.

Thank you for reading! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Beeezie a lifetime that passed by

23rd April 2012:
This is definitely different from most James/Lily fics, but I don't think that that's a bad thing. Being shut in one house for such an extended period of time would realistically drive anyone crazy, and I think that a lot of people shy away from writing about their time hiding out because depicting it realistically can be uncomfortable.

And this was uncomfortable. Reading about Lily's disintegration really left me in tears. I could completely understand the progression of her feelings, though - being so isolated from everyone for so long must have been really difficult, and your interpretation of the visitors eventually drying up is completely realistic. I loved the way you depicted their relationship in regards to the situation. Toward the middle, I was a little afraid that it was just going to be Lily and James falling apart and basically breaking up, but I liked the fact that you did depict their relationship getting stronger again as well.

My only critique is that I felt like you could have showed the progression of Lily's emotions a little more smoothly - I felt like Lily's regaining hold of herself and coming back to Harry and James was a little rushed, and I wish you'd spent more time on it.

Other than that, though, this was an intriguing and different look at one of my favourite HP relationships. Excellent job.

 Report Review

Review #6, by The Empty Frame a lifetime that passed by

21st March 2012:
Aww. This is possibly the romantic-est, saddest, realistic-est Lily/James I've ever read. It really made me feel bad for them, which I've never really done before. Good old James, though, hanging in there for Lily.

Green with Envy 2012!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jexabel a lifetime that passed by

4th February 2012:
It definitely is a different perspective of Lily/James, but you made them so REAL with feelings that I had never imagined that they could have had when they were confined to their house in Godric's Hollow... definitely beautiful.

Thank you for such an amazing story.

 Report Review

Review #8, by classicblack a lifetime that passed by

10th January 2012:
Wow. You captured it. That inexplicable something that so many authors fail to capture when they write about Lily and James's last days. I thought this one-shot was brilliant.
Honestly, you changed their cliched passionate love into that which is made of the stuff that lasts for lifetimes- the love that you see in eighty year-old couples' eyes when they look at each other. You showed how realistically it could happen. How Lily and James would be discontent with being shut up, but that their last months weren't necessarily unhappy.
I loved that last part, "It was a love worth dying for." It was a really beautiful way to end the story, especially with how it foreshadowed to the near future of that fateful Halloween.
I honestly don't know why, but overall I loved this.
Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #9, by RomioneWriter a lifetime that passed by

7th January 2012:
This is really good :D If I had one small criticism it would be the drawn out parts of Lily doing nothing. You have a real talent for writing :D

If you wouldn't mind it would be great if you could Review my story. It is only in its first Chapter but it would mean a lot to see how good it is. It is called The Battle Deceased :) Thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ninaradova a lifetime that passed by

29th December 2011:
That was a really beautiful story! I loved every minute of it.
You're amazing, just amazing!!! I mean i've never expected to read something as much gorgeous as your fic on English (I'm so critical because i'm russian) The way you have written James and lily's relationship is so realistic and human. They're not perfect, thanks God! im tired of perfect characters.
I enjoyed how your convey emotions. It really touched my heart.
Would you mind if I translate this fic into Russian and post it on HogwartsNet? I will make sure to credit you as the author of the fic. Also, any additional information can be listed as well, if you wish.
Thank you once again for your wonderful work!

Nina

 Report Review

Review #11, by distant_diamond_sky a lifetime that passed by

27th December 2011:
this was a really well-written story. it definitely deserved to be placed as a featured story.
i loved your characterization of lily. in this story, even as a one-shot, she grew as a character and you could see it. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #12, by Adeline a lifetime that passed by

9th December 2011:
This was an absolutely beautiful, poignant piece of writing - just incredible!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Miss Lily Potter a lifetime that passed by

24th November 2011:
Oh, wow. This was beautiful. I love your James and Lily, the way Lily slowly goes a bit crazy, the way she falls out of love with James - well, I don't think she really falls out of love with him, just loves him in a different way, right?

I love this line: "She understood sadness, but he made her understand happiness and so, she loved him." Gah. Beautiful.

And that last line. Sweet and sad and so very well done. I've never read a James/Lily like this but I enjoyed it so much.

Great job.

 Report Review

Review #14, by vintage90vinyl a lifetime that passed by

22nd November 2011:
I cried all the way through reading this story

Author's Response: I'm sorry I made you cry, but thank you for reading! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Sonata_Eternal a lifetime that passed by

12th October 2011:
Oh WOW. WOW. Beautiful. Why are you making me cry?!
It was a very different, and really, really good approach to lily/james.
Lu-uved it. :D

Author's Response: I'm sorry! I didn't mean to make you cry! But I hope you liked reading it! ^_^ Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by presi a lifetime that passed by

10th October 2011:
I really liked this, it made me smile, it made me cry, it made me sad. But in the end it made me realize life is worth living, but most importantly it made me realize that one day I will see the people I love and have lost! :) thanks!

MEL

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you. I'm so happy that it made you feel and realize all those things. :) Thank you for reviewing! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #17, by Toujours Padfoot a lifetime that passed by

27th September 2011:
"I don't really think I'm brave enough to die."

That.

I don't even. Gahh. -ETERNAL PIT OF CONSUMING SADNESS-

..

I honestly don't think I'm going to be able to coherently review this, and I mean that in the best way possible in regards to your writing. It was beautiful. That's really the best word for it. And it was so.../real/. I could see bits of my own life in Lily's and I kept thinking to myself...how do you DO it? Having never been married or a mother, having never been trapped in a house for that long, targeted by Death Eaters...all these situations you've never experienced, but it was SO MUCH like you had been there, that this was truly Lily's story. It feels like you've met them, that you know them. The dirt under the broken linoleum tile, the twin trunks upstairs, the eggs, James's hope, Lily allowing herself to fall away in depression until one day she realizes that death is not the worst thing that can happen... This was so lovely, Celeste. I think you did Lily and James tremendous justice here, and it reads like canon. It reads like something that actually happened, right down to the tiniest details you included that really brought it to life. The memories and boredom and day-to-day monotony made ME start to feel claustrophobic. Made me want to step outside and breathe.

I love it when I read a fic and it makes me feel something.

Thank you for that. :)

P.S.
THIS IS MY 300TH REVIEW WOO WOOO!



 Report Review

Review #18, by justonemorefic a lifetime that passed by

27th September 2011:
EVERYONE STOP. LIKE, STOP RIGHT NOW.
CELESTE HAS ACHIEVED THE IMPOSSIBLE.
I LOVE A JAMES/LILY.

My issue with typically written J/L is their odd perfection, and you don't even bother with the illusion of perfection here. They are young and full of flaws, inescapable problems, that you stick bluntly in the dirt. Typically, I feel very detached from James and Lily, but here I can relate so well, just like I can to all of the characters you've written.

It's more than relate, even; it makes me want to be like Lily. I can see myself like her in the future, and parts of it now. It makes me want, in the end, to be strong and hopeful when I have to be.

It's the little details I love, and it's the little details that you're so good at. Every single one makes their love more real, especially their mistakes. This really is the perfect love story.

So yes, Celeste, to answer your question that you asked yesterday, your words really can emotionally sway people ♥ SO STOP BEING OVERLY HUMBLE ALL THE TIME.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Snapdragons a lifetime that passed by

25th September 2011:
This is one of those stories that I read a bit ago and then simply couldn't bring myself to review for the simple reason that I didn't know how. I wasn't sure how I could even begin to sum up my thoughts after reading this because it left me speechless with its beauty and its power. And even now, after having sat here, rereading it - I'm still unsure of where to start. I'm going to review anyways, though, because this story deserves to have more recognition. Everyone should read this. Honestly.

I think for me, what really makes this so perfect, aside from your prose, which is breathtakingly gorgeous and utterly amazing, is the characterization. Because it's real, it's honest, and it's a Lily and James that is never shown in fanfiction. And for that, I'm grateful.

Because it's not skipping out of Hogwarts and living happily ever after. It's being thrown into a war at the age of eighteen and getting married young and having a child before you're 21. They were children, really. Just kids and yet they're going through all of this. How is that fair?

Lily is so honest and so real to me that I felt as though I was right there with her the entire time. Her pain and her discontent were so tangible. To be stuck in the house, cut off from the rest of the world, stuck and never moving forwards while a war rages on all around you... I would go crazy, too. This was the line that really sums up everything I'm trying to say: This house was meant for living in. Instead, she was dying in it. It was just so, so powerful and heartwrenching. To be preparing for death at 21... it does break my heart.


She was born in a world that didn't want her. She was born in a waste of an age - where everything was happening but she could never change it. She was part of a reaction - chemical, mechanical, modernist - that she could forever rewrite, but would not be allowed to.

All she had was this house. Day after day. This house.


I sat here reading this, feeling as though I just wanted to sob, but the tears wouldn't come. There is nothing about this that I am not completely in love with - nothing. There is that feeling of them being forced to sit there, waiting to die, cooped up and it makes you antsy and nervous. Their separation of sorts was so realistic - because they're 21 and all the sudden they're under so much pressure it's unrealistic that everything could have continued just fine.

"I don't mind, James! I'm not frightened anymore."

"Why?"

"If anything ever happens, I know I'll see you on the other side."


That plus that last line - It was more than a love worth living for.

It was a love worth dying for.
just send shivers down my spine.

This is a work of art. In this one story, you've managed to capture a feeling and a sentiment that some stories spent 50k trying to touch upon, never really getting there. I couldn't quite cry - instead I just sat there, staring at the screen. This was perfect, beautiful - I don't even have enough words to cover this and I'm definitely repeating myself now. But please, please, never stop writing, because your talent is remarkable and everything you write is incredible.

This is definitely going to be one of those stories that sticks with me for a very, very long time. Thank you for this piece. ♥

Author's Response: Honestly, I put off responding to this review for literally over a year because it's one of the nicest, sweetest things I've ever seen and I don't know how I can possibly respond. I'm so thankful to have readers and reviewers like you. Thank you for writing this beautiful review, for sticking with my characters throughout this monstrous one-shot and for your beautiful words.

And of course, most of all, thank you for reading. I'm so very fortunate to have a reader like you. I will return to this review during times I need more inspiration to write. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by forsakenphoenix a lifetime that passed by

23rd September 2011:
So - this story was rec'd to me by Noblevyne, Violet Gryfindor and academica. They're all authors that I consider friends and respect in terms of their opinion on fanfics. They raved about this story and I've finally had time to sit down and read it. And boy, did I read it. And savor it. Every last word.

I'll admit it - I cried. I'm still crying. For an era that I solely write in, I am the biggest baby when it comes to reading other author's stories about them - especially stories as gorgeous and heartbreaking as this one.

I love your Lily and James. Absolutely adore them. It's probably some of the best characterizations I've ever read even if they weren't as they were normally written - it fits this story, the mood and the tragedy of it all. And it is tragic - everything about this era is cloaked in death and grief and I think that a lot of people forget how young Lily and James were when they die but you really drive that home in this piece and that's what makes reading this feel like a punch to the gut.

This piece is so raw and bitter and it feels like an angry rash that spreads and kind of peels my layers off one-by-one so that by the time I'm done reading it, I feel exposed. Like how you've exposed Lily.

How Lily and James start to drift apart - ripped apart but the one thing that probably should have brought them closer together. I love the contrast between their house at the beginning - their first house, how much she loved the two bedrooms and the curtains and then as the days drag on, it starts becoming a prison.

The ending was absolutely perfect too. The fact that she was willing to die for love - and in the end, that's what saved Harry. It was nice to bring them back together after being essentially separated - also, that must have been so difficult. To live in the house with your child and spouse and basically existing in separate lives.

I think these paragraphs were some of the best descriptions I've ever read and really reiterated the idea that her house was no longer a home:

This was a house that she had bought and filled with her dreams. A house that was meant to give her everything. Instead, life was becoming four walls instead of four seasons. There were small spots of decay appearing everywhere: the walls were graying, the blankets were getting worn, the sofa lumpy and the linoleum in the kitchen was breaking.

It didn't matter.

This house was meant for living in. Instead, she was dying in it.


That last line especially just broke me. I think what makes this so much more sad is that we know their fate and the fact that Lily has finally accepted that they will probably die after spending months trying to forget the fact that she can't leave her house and she's trying desperately to find that love she once had to keep her tethered to this world, it's just devastating.

There are so many other good lines in this story but I'd probably end up quoting your entire story back to you. I just...god, this is seriously probably one of the best one-shots I've ever read. There's something beautiful and haunting about your words, poetic without being flowery and just so gorgeous. Every word you've chosen is there for a reason and it really makes an impact on the reader to read a story of this magnitude with such a depth of feeling. I don't even know what else to say...I am so glad this was rec'd to me because I have a new favorite story. You've just really done a phenomenal job with these characters and made me fall in love with this era even more than I already do. I'm sorry this review is all over the place and rambling but I get that way when I can't even focus on my thoughts because I love a story so much.

WHY DOES THIS NOT HAVE MORE REVIEWS? Seriously. This story needs so much more love.

So yes, I loved it. You write beautifully. Thank you for writing some of my favorite characters with such grace and understanding for their situation. I hope this review is good enough because I'm just going to leave it as is before I start to flail and make a fool of myself.

Author's Response: My god, how does someone respond to a review like this?! Noblevyne, Violet Gryfindor and academica have all been very kind to this story and I'm grateful to them if they rec'd it to you! I still can't believe all the amazing people who've read this story - you included.

Okay, I really, really don't know how to properly respond. If I tried, all I'd have in the response box is a lot of capital letters and squeeing and happy smileys. This is such a beautiful review and I'm truly happy that this story got such a strong response from you.

Okay, my response to all the lovely things you've said is kind of pathetic. But this review means so, so much to me. It's one of those reviews that I'm going to treasure for a long time and considering that I read and love your writing, this is something very special.

Thank you for reviewing. :)



 Report Review

Review #21, by nightingale14 a lifetime that passed by

18th September 2011:
That was a really wonderful story. It give an insight as to what all of those months were like in the house, just waiting, and though you say it showed Lily and James in a different relationship, you explored a different version that seems so real and true. I loved it. It was fantastic. Truly. :) Update on "Bathing in Roses" soon, please!
10/10
nightingale14

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :) I'm thrilled you journeyed with Lily and James through their months in that house. And 'real and true' - what a lovely way to describe it. Thank you again for reviewing! And I will get to updating Bathing in Roses, I promise!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Noblevyne a lifetime that passed by

13th September 2011:
Gorgeous. Just gorgeous. I think you've captured the mood of their youth and desperation, of Lily's voice and the strain of the war and...and...hang on, I have to compose myself because this fic is just making me ramble adoringly.

The way you have written James and lily's relationship is so heartbreakingly realistic. They were young, and well...they were two people who had conflicting personalities and it's normal to fight. In their situation, the pressure would simply be too much.

I love that you've written them as getting married somewhat spontaneously. I've always pictured that, but found i hard to capture the mood and reasoning behind it, I love that they're still getting to know one another, and that Lily is learning about James in the details of their very day lives because when you live with anyone - you learn quite a lot about them.

I love that you haven't shown them as simply cookie cutter heroes who went gallantly off to death. They waited to die, they sat in their house for months and waited for the end - death, or new life and it must have been terrifying living with that hanging over them, and knowing that they could do nothing to stop it.

Lily's thoughts are honest, they are real to me - she was only twenty-one and should be out doing so many things, but she was stuck in a home with a husband and son, and nothing to show for the promise she held as an individual - even in death, she is known only as a wonderful mother and that's just a little bit cruel, I feel. Because she was more than that, she was a bright and talented and vivacious young woman, not just Lily Potter: mother of the saviour, the woman who gave her life for her child's, even though that's hardly a terrible thing to be remembered for, Lily the person gets lost in the legend.

Her desperation, her exasperation and her idle wishing are so beautifully portrayed.

The scene that broke my heart was Lily pulling out the trunks, preparing for a life they will never get to have, the hopefulness of that moment - and I do like to think they were hers and James' school trunks, side by side, waiting to be packed with everything they needed for another adventure. One day to be filled with Harry's things as he headed off for school. It just illustrated them both as child soldiers, barely of age and already doomed to die before they got the chance to live.

There are some great lines too:

This house was meant for living in. Instead, she was dying in it.

Perfectly poignant. You have a gift with words, and it was never too flowery, it just managed to hit all the right emotions.

James is great too, even though he is support character here - you can see him shining through, his ignorance, his frustration and his Gryffindor stubborn bravery. I love his cheek, and so does Lily - you can see how they work, and how they don't. You can see how they love.

Lily's acceptance towards the end was perfect, I can't quite explain it but it got to me - no one should ever have to make that active choice in life, to be prepared to die, but the way she chose to go into an uncertain future knowing she at least had James was touching.

Anyway, must stop rambling. You are amazing - thank you for this wonderful piece.

Author's Response: I'm so sorry for how long it's taken me to respond to this review; when I receive a review of this length and impact, I tend to put it off until I'm sure I can form a coherent response. I'm still not sure that I can, but I am more flattered and thrilled than I can possibly convey.

This is the kind of review, that as a writer, I'd hoped for from the beginning. It's made all my efforts worthwhile to have it. I honestly can say that this is one of the most lovely, uplifting and generous reviews that I have (or will) receive.

I'm truly thrilled that you felt so much for Lily. I'd hoped all along to chart her growth with James, her ups and downs where she understood life and where she didn't. You're right about her characterization as the perfect mother - I strived to differentiate my Lily from the perfect Lily of canon.

Thank you so much for this review, Noblevyne. I can't say how much it means to me or address the wonderful compliments you've given me very well, but it has made a year of struggling with this story's initial concept utterly worth it.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Lumos_Nox a lifetime that passed by

12th September 2011:
The beautiful thing about your writing is you really know how to convey emotion. I could almost feel the tension when Lily and James fought, the claustraphobia of being trapped in the same scenery for months at a time...no, you don't often see James and Lily written like this, but I enjoyed every word of it.

Author's Response: Thank you very much :) I'm glad the emotions came across - it was tricky to manage in such a long one-shot. And I'm really happy you liked it! Thank you for reviewing! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #24, by Violet Gryfindor a lifetime that passed by

8th September 2011:
This was gorgeous. There should be laws against writing such beautiful stories, the ones that make you feel every ounce of the characters' emotions and wish that you could reach into the story and make everything better. The ones that are so perfectly written, every word chosen with precision so as to make the story real in all its happiness and sorrow. If there were such laws, I'm afraid that this story would be filed under "absolutely illegal", and the word would be missing out on something amazing.

I spent most of my time reading this crying. I loved your portrayals of Lily and James because they weren't that fairytale couple, not entirely. They were realistic, very human. I can't recall a story that did what you have here in emphasizing their youth, the brevity of their relationship, and the painful amount of time they had to spend in confinement, a domestic prison in which they slowly go mad, only to find one another again and face death. It's definitely a trial by fire, and they survive it, but the reader knows what's going to happen next, and that's what made the ending for me. You don't show their deaths - you don't need to because we all know what happens and how. You instead write the ideal fanfiction story that fills in the blanks, giving us the people behind the legend, the story lost when Lily and James were killed.

It boggles the mind how you write these one-shots that are so intricate and full of feeling. They're a wonderful experience to read, and I really hope that you continue to get inspiration for them. I could go on forever squeeing over this story, but for now, I've favourite'd and wanted to thank you for this phenomenal piece of writing. ^_^

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, Susan. Wow. I put off responding to this review for a few days so I could properly let out all the squeeing and respond coherently.

I'm really thrilled that James and Lily got that kind of response from you. I tried to make them as realistic as I could. Too often, they're completely perfect and I hope I diverged from the fairytale stereotype you mentioned. And I didn't write the ending because I wasn't sure I could! I wanted to end the story on as hopeful of a note as I could without making it entirely depressing. I suppose that's canon's job to do.

You don't know how much it means to see such a response, especially from you! Really, I'm ecstatic you liked this story. Thank you for writing this review; your reviews still get me as nervous and excited as when you first reviewed 'Skyline' a year ago. You were one of the first authors I discovered on HPFF back in 2008, before I'd even begun writing and resigned myself to lurking and reading. One-shots like 'Enough' and 'Midnight Rose' got me attempting to write in the first place. Your writing still continues to astound and inspire me, so this means more than I can say.

Thank you for reading. :)

Celeste


 Report Review

Review #25, by academica a lifetime that passed by

5th September 2011:
Hello! I'm here with your requested review :)

First of all, lovely banner, please pass my compliments to the artist :) Also, thanks for exposing me to some quality James/Lily! I'm a diehard Snily shipper, but I can appreciate a good James/Lily fic, and I think sometimes people are afraid to give them to me because of my strong Snily leanings.

I was really affected by the emotion in this piece. It's very simple, and yet you've made the perfect Lily Potter very, very relatable. It's so heartbreaking to watch her wish and hope with all her might that she might be allowed to enjoy her young family, to watch her son grow up in love and happiness, and know that it will all be stolen away from her. After all, isn't this what any young wife and mother deserves? I also liked what you did with James -- I have trouble believing he was always perfect, that he never slipped back into his old schoolboy ways, and you did that well here.

You wrote the pairing really well here. The breakfast (lunch? brunch, perhaps?) scene was really adorable and provided a nice touch of humor to the piece. At the same time, though, I also really loved the more angsty parts, because I feel like you extended a realism to the pairing that a lot of people glaze over because they're James and Lily Potter, perfection embodied. You made me feel interested in them, which is not an easy feat. I could understand how Lily could feel like love was never enough, that no matter how she loved James, it couldn't stop the war from raging around them, nor could it keep her from falling apart and being consumed by all the feelings she was carrying around inside. In the end, I was really happy that they came back together and really came to accept life as it was, however short it might be, because they could depend on having one another. Again, if a Snily shipper is impressed by this, I can only imagine how a true James/Lily fan would love it. The character progression was reminiscent of a real marriage, a real relationship with all of its ups and downs. You made me laugh and cry, and to me, that's the hallmark of a good story.

I should also comment about how glad I am that you chose to focus on the war. So many fics concerning Marauder-era characters choose to conveniently leave it out, wanting instead to focus all of the attention on harmless fluff. But you really did a wonderful job of showcasing just how young and vulnerable Lily, James and their contemporaries were. These were not war-hardened heroes, they were young adults fresh out of Hogwarts, barely older than Harry when he killed Voldemort. They died very real deaths and made very difficult decisions, and I think that deserves some recognition.

Amazing job! Your writing flowed so well and was so beautiful. It really touched my heart. I would love to know how you came up with the idea for this (besides the banner, of course). I'm filing this under Story Recommendations, and I hope you'll re-request from me again in the future. Thanks SO MUCH for requesting, and I hope my comments are helpful to you :)

academica

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! What a lovely, long review to wake up to!

The gorgeous banner here was made by the_tofuubeaver on TDA/llyralen on the archives and she really is amazingly talented, isn't she? And I'm really glad you gave this story a chance even if you are Snape/Lily shipper. :)

I really don't know how to aptly respond to some of the lovely things you said here about this story. I'm happy you found Lily relatable - it was something I was angling for the whole time, since I find the depiction of an all too perfect James/Lily highly overdone.

You gave a lovely summary about the whole war aspect of it, which was precisely what I was going for. Lily realized that the things she felt would never be enough to influence the world outside, but that it influenced her and that was enough. She and James were definitely very young and vulnerable and that was the great tragedy of it all, I think - if they had been war-hardened heroes, it wouldn't have been half as sad.

Thanks so much for reading and for such a thorough review, academica! And of course, extra thanks for recommending it on the forums - that really means a lot. :)

Celeste


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>