Reading Reviews for Volatile
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Last Marauder Volatile

24th July 2012:
I really liked this one too - I never thought of doing a fic from Arianna's point of view. If I was doing this scene it would be from Albus's or Aberforth's, but Arianna's is by far the most interesting - I just never thought about it before.

I really liked how simple this was, how Arianna understood what was going on, and at the same time didn't. She didn't understand the danger of the fight in the sitting room. I loved how you had her count the steps, the counting was rooting her to the world, helping her stay in control. I loved hearing all her thoughts too!

Congrats on getting a podcast of this story - that's a brilliant achievement and I'll definitely listen to it later (no sound on school computers!).

Anyway great job, well done :)

Author's Response: I don't like going for the obvious. Minor characters are people too and have feelings and emotions just like the main ones. I prefer to explore those and show a whole new side to characters we don't give a second glance to.
What people tend to forget is that she wasn't a child. She was in her mid-teens, and while she hadn't had the life experience most people had by her age, she had faced so much pain that her emotions were well developed. She has bigger attachments to those who were close because they were the only people she had, and we tend to be more protective towards the people we love.
Thank you so much for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #2, by ginerva_molly_weasley Volatile

18th July 2012:
:( AMY! I think I prefer your humour because your sad pieces just blow me away and almost move me to tears within it!

I love the way you made Adriana so childlike, so innocent which really showed how much the incident when she was younger had affected her. It also showed that she was very painfully aware of what had happened to her mum, that she had done it.

I love how she just wanted them to stop fighting about her. Also the fact that she knew that Grindlewald had changed Albus made me want to cry and made me hate him even more. Albus whilst he had been ambitious was previously a good brother but even Adriana in her less than capable state could see that Grindlewald had took him away from her.

The description of her dying was heartbreaking but I really hope she achieved peace and was no longer tortured by her past.

Well done Amy

Author's Response: SUMMER! Awww!
I always imagined her more like a child inside because she hadn't had the life experience that others had, but then I tried to give her feelings of an older person because of the suffering she had been through!
I think those closest to someone can see change more than others sometimes. Plus, Albus won't have spent as much time with Arianna as he used to, so she would have noticed more.
Thank you so much for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by CloakAuror9 Volatile

9th April 2012:
Hey!

Oh-mi-gosh. PURE AWESOMENESS, and nothing else. I mean, I was reading it while listening to the podcast and the way Robbi read it was fantastic, but without you...I don't think that would've ever happen.

Omg. This is just too awesome! I really love how captured Arianna perfectly, I mean I didn't even look at the story information, but from the moment I started listening and reading I instantly thought 'It's Arianna' :P

Awesome job, pure awesomeness,
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much!! :D Robbi did do an amazing job with it! I can't think of anyone better to make it into a podcast :D

I enjoy not mentioning names since you can get a feel for how I am writing the character just from the writing instead of just seeing a character name and having predetermined thoughts about it.
Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by NeverKnew Volatile

9th March 2012:
I didn't read it, I listened to the podcast.
All I kept thinking as I listened was, "wow, this is beautifully written, I should go read it!" I've never truly been one for podcasts... lol.
So in light after I tell you that i LOVE LOVE LOVE, how this is put together, I'm going to go read it for myself.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the review! I'm so glad that you listened to the podcast! They are all so awesome so you should definitely go back and listen to more, even if you don't think they are your thing, we have something for everyone :D
Aww, thanks :D I'm glad that you enjoyed it and I hope you liked reading it too!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Kandy Volatile

21st September 2011:
This was a beautiful one-shot. There aren't enough fics about Ariana, and this one captures her perfectly. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you!! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Pia Volatile

7th September 2011:
Wow, Amy, just wow!

You put so much emotion and depth into this that I'm finding it hard to put my feelings into words. But this is supposed to be a review, after all, so I'll give it a try *takes a moment to compose herself*

I don't know whether you picked Ariana yourself or whether you were given the character as part of the challenge, but in any case I really loved the premise for this story. It's so nice to read about a character we don't know all that much about, so I found it very unique, at least as far as my fanfiction reading experience goes.
I was very impressed with the way you jumped straight in without much (or any) preamble, yet still managed to make me feel for the main character immediately. I mean, I already sympathised with Ariana and was completely drawn into the story by the end of the first line!
Your characterisation was wonderful too. I can really imagine that those kind of thoughts would have been running through her mind at the time. Some of them would not even have occurred to me, e.g. her self-perception ("They don't seem to understand that I'm dangerous", "I can't be trusted, you never know when it will happen"). Somehow it never crossed my mind that she'd be so aware of her own condition, and I loved reading that because it gave me an entirely new perspective of her.
And as I said at the beginning, this was so emotional! Especially the sentence about her mother lying limp and lifeless really got to me for some reason. I could feel tears brimming in my eyes when I read that, and when I reached the last paragraph, I could hold them in no longer. And believe me, I do not cry easily, so that's saying something!

Overall a wonderful story that not only gave me new insights into Ariana's mind, but also yours. You're always so crazy and random and fun, and you know that I love all that about you, but it was nice to see your other, more serious and thoughtful side through this story.

Author's Response: Aww, Pia, I love you so much! :D
It was a challenge, but I did pick Ariana myself! I thought that she had never really been written about, especially not in this way, so I thought it would be a nice change :D It was interesting to try and get into her head and imagine what she would think. i just hope I did it well :D I had always thought that she would understand he condition due to the age she was, and at that age you are usually more self-aware.
Awww, I'm sorry I made you cry! But I'm glad it had that kind of impact!
See? I'm not all randomness and smiley faces :P But thank you so much for your review!!! I loves you :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by TheGoldenKneazle Volatile

6th September 2011:
Omigosh, I loved this! You captured the moment beautifully, and really made me feel like I was inside Ariana's head... I felt so sorry for her, with the whole 'I can't stop it' thing, and it was really good with everything she was trying to do to make things better. I loved how you brought her family into it too, with their opinions and why they're not there.
Results will be announced in a blog when I've finished reading them all :)

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! I'm glad you liked it! I'm also glad that I achieved what I wanted with this story :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by Catairly Volatile

5th September 2011:
This is probably my absolute favourite story from all of what you have written so far, especially because you tell it from the POV of a character that you don't see very often in fanfiction, and you do it absolutely brilliantly! :D
Really congrats on this one, Ams!

-Catairly (:

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! I thought that it would be nice to do it from a less known PoV :D Thank you again!! :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by MadamePuddifoot Volatile

4th September 2011:
Wow! This is amazing, I loved it! Really well written and I loved your characterisation of Ariana. All in all, a very unique and creative piece, well done!! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! =D I'm glad you enjoyed it! =D

 Report Review

Review #10, by JohannaMarie Volatile

4th September 2011:
I think you really did capture the moment. i'm glad you wrote about ariana's point of view, because we have already heard from the other dumbledores present.

Author's Response: I first had the idea because I had never seen or heard of someone writing from Ariana's PoV and I thought it would be interesting to see how I could write it =D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login