1,052 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Veritaserum27 No More Secrets

9th December 2014:
Hiya,

I'm so into this story right now and I'm kind of mad because after today, I'm going to be so incredibly busy for the next week and a half that I'm pretty sure I won't be able to get back to it. Grrr.

So I need to start off by saying that I'm a bit confused. But knowing you, there's an explanation down the road and I just need to read until I get to it. However, I'm going to be uncharacteristically impatient and ask my question anyway. What is the deal with the book??! Tenabra threw it into the garbage bin - and now she has it? I went back and re-read to make sure that I didn't miss anything and I can't figure out what is going on. Obviously she has the book. I'm guessing it was in some way enchanted to look like Gilderoy's book, but I don't know how she got it. Hmmm...

Ah - Harry's rough night. I'm glad Rose was with him. And his night isn't getting any better. He's got a dead Auror on his hands and another one who might not make it. Not a good day to be Harry Potter.

There is no honor among thieves and this lot looks like they would sooner hex each other than act as allies. This is good for the Aurors, as the group is not very loyal to each other. This might just be their downfall.

So Kriffin knew a book was missing - I hope this helps the Aurors figure something out. It is a bit off.

So Harry is left again to navigate a minister who is more interested in political gain than in doing the right thing. Ugh. This is gonna get uglier before it gets better.

Oh man, Hermione's panic attack was frightening. That was a good bit of writing - I was gasping for breath and I thought she was having some other major issue. Not that a panic attack is anything to make light of, but it's a bit better than the alternative. Poor Hermione, I can't bear to see her like this. She is so strong, and puts up a good front for her family.

It looks like the New Blood Order wasted no time in getting their message out! Wow! It's only been a few hours.

And what is going on with Percy? I can't even try to figure that man out. He's so stubborn and odd at the same time.

Haha - Hermione on diazepam. Leave it to the magical doctors to mess up the dosage. At least she felt better for a short while.

And the scene with the wands was amazing! I felt so happy for them. You described the feeling of having your matched wand beautifully. It was nice to see that Harry could give them a little bit of comfort after all of their trials.

Oh my. ANOTHER cliffhanger?! The muggle that killed Ginny was a DNA match for the witch at the Ministry. Hmmm... That is so odd - there is definitely more to this mystery as I get deeper into this story!

Awesome job, I didn't see any typos.

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hiya, yourself! I told you I was going to get all of your reviews answered today. It just took a bit longer than I hoped.

Yeah, I could see how that would be a bit confusing **if you assume that it's the same book**. Perhaps that's not the right assumption. ;)

The dislike that Gamp, Goyle, Nott and the "fancy lads" of the group feel toward Burloch and his mercenary band of common criminals doesn't bode well for the future of the conspiracy, but Lady Tenabra seems perfectly content to pit them against one another for the time being. I wouldn't ever assume that I completely understand her motivations if I was you.

The Minister is much more concerned about his own political gain than doing the right thing here. That's going to continue to be a problem for Harry and the good guys.

I'm glad that the panic attack played well for you. I've never actually had one, so I was guessing a bit on some of the details. Hermione is down, but don't count her out yet.

What's up with Percy? Again, I'll just say that it's a little more than your usual mid-life crisis. Keep an eye on him.

There so much heavy material in this chapter that I really enjoyed writing Hermione all loopy. It gave the chapter just enough levity, I think.

Yes, another cliffhanger I'm afraid. What sort of cruel, uncaring author would do such a thing? Oh, yeah. Us. :p

Thanks again for all the love you've been showering on my story!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 The Greater Fool

9th December 2014:
Hello!

The chapter summary was right - the Burrow is a nice break from all of the drama and angst going on in Harry's life right now. However, you've managed to thread some important details into the events that transpired during that afternoon.

First off, I don't know if this is significant or not, but I'm not exactly a fan of Fiona. You mentioned in an earlier chapter that Hugo seemed to have the easier life between him and Rose, but it seems that he might have his hands full here. I don't see why she would have a problem with him visiting his mother in the hospital as much as he felt he needed to - especially considering she is not doing that well. Geez, Fiona show a little heart, will ya?

Wow. Arthur is up for fighting WWIII (That's Wizarding War III - but I'm sure you figured that out), huh? That is definitely noble of him. Let's hope it doesn't come to that.

Ah! Sibling rivalry - I've always pictured James and Albus would fight over Quidditch.

That prank was awesome. I was never expecting it. Very clever.

Great job writing all of the Weasleys. I have no idea how you managed to keep a family gathering with that many people straight. But it was just perfect. I could feel the chaos and the love and the deep discussions along with the fun times as well. Just as a family should be ♥

I do have one question - I haven't seen Aidan Malfoy make an appearance yet. I'm sorry if I missed something from an earlier chapter, but I figured that he would've graduated from Hogwarts already - probably one of the older children of the next-next gen? I know it was mentioned that Scorpius was in the States on business, but I would think Aidan's presence would be required at this family event - especially if it was implied that Ron should be there. As far as I remember, Aidan also hasn't visited Hermione. Is there something too that?

I love the Rose/Harry interaction. As you know, I'm a huge fan of the Rose/Harry relationship and you've taken this to another level. They understand each other - not because of shared experiences, but it seems like it is something deeper with those two. She finds a confidant in Harry that she can't with her immediate family and vice versa. She makes some really good points to Harry and I feel like he *might* just be willing to open up and let go of Ginny's memory - if only a small amount.

And holy cow! That was quite the attack on Malfoy Manor! I *knew* Harry should've left some more experienced duelers on the site. Draco barely made it out. At the same time, you've managed to show how much Astoria means to him. He's even willing to be brave for her - how very un-Draco like - haha!

Now I'm thoroughly confused. Was Magical Me the journal or not? Lady Tenabra threw it out!! Was it a fake?! Or just a plot to get Draco out of Malfoy Manor so she could get in there. I have no idea what to expect next!

Great job, fantastic chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I definitely think you can burn readers out on action and angst if you don't sprinkle in a little levity here and there. Authors too, for that matter. It was nice to give the characters a break for something a little more fun.

I didn't make Fiona the most likeable character, did I? She represents sort of an outsider's perspective on the non-stop circus that is the Weasley clan. Outsider with limited patience, who also happens to be French and a small fraction of Veela.

Arthur and Molly are not ones to be sidelined if there's any conceivable danger to the family. Keep that in mind, you'll see a lot more of them.

The prank was one of my favorite things I came up with for the early part of the story. George doesn't appear that often in this, but every time is a treat.

Poor Aidan. There are characters that got short-changed in this story and there are some who ended up on the cutting room floor. Aidan is unfortunately in the latter category. There just wasn't any way to get some of these characters involved without the story starting to drag. Don't read anything in particular into his absence, it was simply a matter of limited time and attention span.

Given how much you've thought about them, I'm very pleased that you liked Rose and Harry together. There is quite a bond between the two of them. Rose embodies a lot of the best -- and worst ;) -- characteristics of her parents, so I thought it was natural that Harry would be able to relate to her really well. Better than either of her parents, in some situations. She's also able to talk to Harry about difficult subjects better than the rest of the family. He's helped her through so many tough times that it would be hard for him to turn away her help, no matter how much he might want to.

Yep, you were right. It was not a good idea to pull all of the most experienced fighters away from Malfoy Manor. Draco is very selfless where his family is concerned. You'll see a lot more of that later on.

Magical Me was not what Flint was led to believe it was. The spells Lady Tenabra gave him were nothing but ruses. What is she playing at? You'll soon see...

Awesome, I'm so glad that you're enjoying the story! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Veritaserum27 The Tangled Web We Weave

9th December 2014:
Hey Dan,

I had a little bit of time, so I came back to review the next chapter :)

This one also did not disappoint. I'm really enjoying watching this mystery unfold. You truly are a master of the little details - and this story is so well fleshed out that I feel like I need to read each chapter a few times, to catch everything.

You've done a great job portraying Harry as a leader of the department. He takes care of all the little details and also delegates where needed. He's comfortable dealing with high-ranking officials on a regular basis.

Ron, Ron, Ron. Stubborn and always a tad clueless and doesn't exactly know what to do with himself with Hermione out of commission. At least he's willing to take a small amount of direction from Harry - I was getting really worried about him.

Wow! They found Ron and Hermione's wands! That is amazing. Although, I'm suspicious. Draco and Astoria already searched the place and they didn't find them.

Haha - I can't even with the horse stuff...

This is another line that caught my attention and I feel like might be a bit foreshadowing:

"Hermys," Harry replied, kneeling so he could speak to him at eye level, "if Hermione or Ron ever need anything, you always have my permission to help."

I feel like there is more coming with Hermys and Ron/Hermione or... something, I can't put my finger on it.

Haha - of course Ron and Hugo can sit next to Hermione's bed and argue for hours and not think it's getting to her... men.

At first I thought it seemed odd that Hermione wasn't getting better (especially after the horrid news that Harry received), but then I remembered that magical injuries always seemed to take a really long time to heal - especially dark magic. I was thinking of the curse that Katie Bell endured during Harry's sixth year. She was out of school for quite a while. Maybe I'm just being a hopeless optimist here, but I think, especially given the fact that they have all the top minds working on this one, that Healer Gelbard might be right and it will just take some time.

I really loved the Harry/Hermione moment. It was heart-warming.

And Dennis Northway is back. Harry obviously left an impression on him and I'm glad to see that.

Lady Tenebra... I'm going to check up on that, but the name doesn't ring a bell. And she's really, really blond... like the Malfoys.

This is really, really nitpicky, but I found a few places where the kinship names should be capitalized. Here:

"Thanks, uncle Harry," she heard her son yawn,

I think it should be "Uncle Harry."

And here:

"Bye, mum," she felt Hugo lean over and kiss her on the cheek.

Since Hugo is addressing her, it probably should be "Mum."

My uncle Leland was working in Magical Records when it was attacked

Uncle Leland

Those were the ones that I found.

And I just KNEW this was all connected to Ginny's death - there was no way that was a simple accident. I also feel like there's more going on with the whole Percy thing too. I can't wait to find out more!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth! I **will** get through these today! :)

I'm really pleased that you like the way the story is unfolding. There was a period of time in the story where I felt like I was getting ahead of myself, so I tried really hard to slow the narrative down and focus more on descriptions and making sure that I wasn't glossing over any events that added more context to the story. Harry's interactions with his coworkers were definitely a part of that. I wanted to show him really functioning in the day-to-day tasks that make up his job, and then show how things change as the story unfolds. I think the shift from the ordinary to the extraordinary helps to define how the different characters behave when the real action starts.

You're going to see Ron struggle to function a bit over the next few chapters. I think he more than makes up for it later in the story, though. Stay tuned...

I'm not sure suspicion is the right way to think about Ron and Hermione's wands, but don't forget about them, either. You'll definitely see them again. That said, while I was writing this I remember wondering what would have happened to them after the Snatchers took them away.

Your instincts are good here. You definitely haven't seen the last of Hermys. ;)

Healer Gelbard is competent and he'll do the best he can within the limits of what he knows. You're correct that dark magical injuries take a long time to heal and the dark curse that was used on Hermione is not a common piece of magic. Will she improve? Yep. But she has a long, slow process in front of her.

Dennis is another character that will be present throughout the story. He's starting to open his eyes in this chapter, to realize what's really going on around him. It's a good sign.

I really appreciate you nit-picking the capitalization. I wasn't nearly as picky when I wrote this, so it's good to go back and clean things like that up.

Lady Tenabra certainly wants her minions to believe that Ginny's death was no random act of muggle-on-magical violence. Then again, she's been known to stretch the truth a bit when it suits her. All will be revealed...

Thanks so much for the awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Veritaserum27 Fortunes

9th December 2014:
Hey Dan!

So Flint seems a bit inept at this point. He seems to be making all the wrong choices - or acting first and thinking about it later. And who is this mystery woman? She seems pretty powerful and my mind is racing through the canon possibilities, but I'm wondering if she is an OC?

As long as they were restoring the rightful order of things, women would have to relearn their place, as well.

I know it wasn't meant to be funny, but I chuckled at this line.

She's really got Flint's number and knows how to push his buttons, huh? Unfortunately for him, I'm pretty sure she is a fair bit cleverer than he is, so I don't think his plans for "eliminating the insufferable harpy" will every see daylight...

Why don't you give me the fifty word version?

Ok. So I actually counted the words and there are indeed 50. I don't know if that makes me the bigger nerd - or you. Maybe Susan is the biggest nerd. Call it a three-way tie?

Ugh. The daily responsibilities of upper management and the balancing act you have to play without giving away too much of your thoughts - even to your most trusted Aurors. I can tell that this is not his favorite part of the job, but he accepts it as part of the deal. I'm actually a bit worried that he didn't leave a good dueler at Malfoy Manor. Especially considering Flint is on his way...

Then we get to see Flint fumbling again - trying to drum up some support. He really comes off as lucky rather than good in most of these scenarios. That can't last forever.

Ron is dedicated - I'll give him that. Although I imagine his presence at work has more to do with feeling like he's getting something accomplished toward catching Hermione's attacker. He's never going to give up until there is justice.

Ugh! Now we're sending trainees to Azkaban? Yikes - I feel like this could go very, very bad. But that's government for you - they usually are reactive rather than proactive and I'm sure it'll come down on Harry if there is a situation at either one of those places.

I don't know which one I'm more worried about - Azkaban or Malfoy Manor - because Flint is also trying to organize a breakout (how DID he manage to get out, anyway?). Hmmm...

I think you used "bevvy" instead of "bevy" in this sentence:

Harry read the invitation with a bevvy of mixed feelings.

And the scene with Hermione! I thought you'd already covered so much in this chapter, but Ugh! You've hit me in the feels right at the end! Haha at Hermione pretending she can't talk to Audrey (I would probably do the same), but it actually speaks to the fact (see what I did there?) that she's feeling a little bit better.

Oh no! She might not be able to walk! You can't do that to my Hermione! Yikes.

Can't wait to find out what happens next - great chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth!

Flint is way, way out of his depth. You know it, I know it... Flint does not know it. He's convinced that his pureblood ancestry and the "worldliness" of having spent time in Azkaban makes him a match for her. He is so, so wrong.

Ha! I love it when readers count. It took a bit of tweaking to get that to come out right. I'll accept the 3-way tie. ;)

Harry tries to balance a lot of competing concerns here. It's not that he doesn't trust Susan, he just feels that Draco has placed a very small confidence in him and he knows he's going to need Draco's help. So he decides to keep some of what he knows to himself. You're right, it's a decision he may come to regret.

Ron keeps coming to work because he really doesn't know what else to do. He's horrible at handling stress and he doesn't have Hermione there to help him. You're right, the case is also very personal for him.

Ah, an important question. You'll find out soon enough how Flint and his friends managed to escape.

Hermione's injuries make up one of the central subplots of the story, one that won't be resolved until nearly the end. Keep an eye on her situation, it's important. ;)

Thanks for catching "bevvy". These chapters have been viewed thousands of times, so I'm always amazed at what's managed to slip through for so long.

Awesome review! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Bethan Epilogue

8th December 2014:
Breathtaking story, kept me up at nights and away from my uni work but it was worth it. You have a true talent for writing and I can't wait to read more from you.

Author's Response: Hi! Once again, sorry for disrupting your work, but I'm really pleased that you liked the story. I hope you get a chance to read more.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Bethan Out of Sight

5th December 2014:
Truly addictive story. Enjoying every minute but it's seriously distracting me from my uni work. You have a talent for words and have the ability to keep the reader gripped.

Author's Response: Sorry for the distraction, but I'm really happy that you're enjoying the story. :)

Thanks so much for taking the time to let me know!


 Report Review

Review #7, by GingeredTea The Silliest Thing Iíve Ever Heard

1st December 2014:
I really enjoyed the way you dealt with the logistics of a magical murder which is first identified by muggles. I think you really excelled in making it seem realistic and compelling, allowing me as a reader to believe innately in your presentation.

-He hated the smell of morgues. It reminded him of the Great Hall on the day of the battle.-

This is evidence of that a small detail can really add a large weight to a story. Bringing this up was brilliantly done.

Percy, you fool - what are you doing? On the other hand, this sounded exactly like Percy. Is this person really 'just a friend'? I know she gives him advice so the likelihood they're having a physical affair is small, but perhaps he has some emotional investment in her? He's such a fool, although I certainly understand how murdering someone and then not being able to breath a word would do that to him. He must be terrified of her closeness. At least he did go home...

That scene with the Kriffin was funny and terrible all at once. I did enjoy how Harry handled the elf!

--At the moment, miniature Percy was paused outside of the last cell on the row, pointing his wand at miniature Edwin Stoops.--

I've just now forgotten --- does Hermione and Ron KNOW Percy killed Stoops? He did, right? Oooh, now I have the itch to reread.

LUNA! :D

"Why would he write down his secret plans if he never meant to die?Ē

Yes, exactly. Excellent point, Luna. :)

I'm still unsettled by the fact that the only physical attribute you'll let us know about the Lady is she has blond hair...

I can feel the plot thickening!

Wonderful chapter, as always, and I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Oh, definitely. I love stories that aren't afraid to dive into the nuts and bolts of how the magical world works. The interface between the magical and muggle worlds is especially interesting to me.

I'm glad you liked that bit about the smell of morgues. Sometimes it's the little things that occur to you while you're writing that end up making a big difference.

Percy's involvement with the Minister's secretary is... complicated. She's definitely a friend and a confidant, but I think the rest of the family is rightly concerned about whether her interests in Percy go beyond that. You're correct that Percy's broader situation is also complex. The emotional burden he carries from the killing of Edwin Stoops weighs on him.

Poor Kriffin. Kriffin is what I imagine a more traditional house elf -- i.e., one that didn't have Dobby's thirst for freedom or Kreacher's mental illness -- would be like. He's loyal, dedicated and very emotionally attached to his house and his work. That said, he has a small -- very small -- ability to think outside of the box and make compromises when he can see that it serves his master's interests.

Hermione and Ron knew all along that Percy was the one who killed Edwin Stoops. A number of reviewers have asked about that, to the point where I'm tempted to go back and make it clear. In my mind, there was a tearful confession while Harry, Ron and Hermione were in custody. Percy probably offered to turn himself in and confess to the Ministry. Harry and Ron were probably unwilling to hear of it, and together with Hermione they devised the plan of allowing the Ministry to orchestrate a circus trial in which the Trio was all but guaranteed to be found not guilty because there was no real evidence. The trial took all the attention away from Percy.

Luna is very perceptive, in her own way. Everything is very simple to her.

I don't know that I'd read too much into Lady Tenabra's blond hair one way or the other. She's a master of deception.

Yes, the plot thickens! Many more developments to come. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by GingeredTea Searching for Answers

28th November 2014:
This whole chapter was fantastic and powerful. Somehow, you managed to keep building up the tension, never quite letting me find my bearings before moving quickly onward. Then you gave us a very small reprieve in the form of Harry's 'immaturity'. I loved every bit of this chapter!

Getting clever in your age, hmm Harry? Harry did that so perfectly and stayed in character so well - such a difference from him in his youth. I loved every minute of it and laughed at his manipulations of the secretary.

Hermione's inability to find peace seemed so far from her character and yet so close. Hermione always seemed like someone who could come to terms with anything, but I also see her as someone who would feel 'crippled' in her ability to do just that, if she wasn't one hundred percent able physically. I think that is what is really getting into her way.

It was nice for Scorpius to get some time in the story, especially to see his interaction with Draco.

I knew it was only a matter of time before the body turned up, but I hadn't actually realized that the muggles would find it. The way you had that message delivered was a great idea. I also enjoyed the moment between Albus and Harry. Albus really reminds me of a steadier Harry.

Author's Response: Hi! It's review answering day! Very exciting. Also, I'm very far behind. :-/

Harry is getting quite clever in his old age. After surviving a war and decades of serving as an Auror, he's hip to all the tricks of the trade, magical and muggle. He also very much enjoyed messing with the Minister's secretary.

Hermione is locked in a deep struggle with her own mind. She can make intellectual peace with her condition, but something is preventing her from fully accepting it. Is it the fact that she's lost a measure of her physical "ableness" or is it something more than that? We shall see...

Scorpius will get a fair bit more "screen time" before the story is all said and done. If you liked his interaction with his father, I think you'll really enjoy what I have in store.

Albus has a lot of his father in him, but in other ways he has a lot in common with Hermione. He's more reserved, analytical and deliberate. What he lacks almost entirely is the fiery temperament that his two siblings inherited from their mother.

Whee! It's fun, watching a new reader make their way through the story. It really takes me back. Thanks for the swap and thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Veritaserum27 Strange Bedfellows

11th November 2014:
Hiya Dan!

I just had to keep going with this next chapter. I really like how your writing plays out like scenes from a movie, switching back and forth between small snippets of dramatic events. It moves the story along and keeps up the drama, without overloading the reader all at once. :)

And kudos for managing to weave some humor into this chapter as well! Astoria running down Diagon Alley in that slinky number left me giggling. I really love the bond between her and Draco. I imagined a lot of pure blood marriages (even ones that were not arranged) to be loveless, mainly because they were so focused on appearances and propriety, but Draco and Astoria understand, respect and will do anything for each other. ♥

And I can't go on without Gah-ing over the Ron Hermione scene. He's just so adorably protective of her. She can totally take care of herself, and Ron knows that, but he still can't help himself.

What's this? Ron is the one telling Harry to calm down and get out of everyone's way. Wow. I guess he's matured over the years - haha! Hmm... I'm very curious about this book. Were all the restricted books removed from Hogwarts placed in the magical records office that was attacked? Or did the Ministry put them somewhere else? I'll just have to read to find out.

And this horrible, nasty spell. Ugh! Hermione is seriously lucky. But this makes me really worried about these dark wizards. I don't think they got what they were after and I fear this will just escalate their tactics. Obviously they know some really dark magic - what else is out there?

Marcus Flint clearly got a bit more savvy in his old age. I felt like he was kind of the bumbling side-kick in Detox. How did he escape from Azkaban? They don't have the dementors as guards anymore, but I'm guessing they aren't in the habit of letting people out who haven't finished their sentences... Marcus had help and I have the feeling he isn't running the show, so there's someone worse out there. Yikes!

The last scene with Harry and Draco was interesting. At first I was kind of like "Really?! You guys are in your sixties and you resort back to the childish immaturity and prejudices from your school days?" But I think that Harry is in a really bad place right now, he is still grieving for Ginny and now that Hermione's been attacked and he'd just learned about the dark magic resurfacing... Well, I guess he's not in the best of moods and Malfoy just has a way of pushing his buttons.

I'm really interested to meet Scorpius. He's been mentioned several times and seems like a really great character - especially if Harry respects and cares for him so much.

Can't wait to see where this is going!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I definitely agree that it's important to keep a long story moving and change up the scene and narration frequently to keep readers from glazing over. I feel like I was mostly successful in doing that with this story.

Humor is an important aspect of telling a long, dramatic story, I think. You have to break up the tension and lighten the mood from time to time. Draco and Astoria's marriage is about as far from loveless as you can get. They are crazy for one another.

Hermione can take care of herself in general, but at the moment she can use all the help she can get. She was the victim of a very nasty curse, as you'll soon see.

Ron has always been a good balance against some of Harry's more obsessive tendencies, and he plays that role very well here. Someone has to remind Harry from time to time that he can't solve all the world's problems by himself.

You're correct that we've only scratched the surface of the dark magic you'll see in this story. Much more to come on that topic.

Flint had a lot of time to sit in prison and reconsider his youthful idiocy. And while he's more forceful and savvy in his old age, he still doesn't choose sides very well. You'll find out very soon how he managed to get out of prison.

Harry and Draco will never be friends. I think that's simply a given, considering the past they share. The way that Harry chooses to prod at Draco's insecurities isn't *just* because of the place he's in at this point, either. He truly enjoys inflicting a bit of mental suffering on his former nemesis. That said, the two of them can work together when they have a common interest.

Scorpius's first actual appearance is in chapter 11, although you'll find out more about his relationship with Rose in chapter 10. To me, his character starts to get interesting in chapter 12. He's another one who'll be an important part of the story for quite a while.

I'm really excited to see your reactions! I always love to see a new reader making their way through. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Veritaserum27 A Friend Indeed

10th November 2014:
Hey there Dan,

I recently realized how incredibly long it's been since I left you a review and I actually read this chapter THREE TIMES with the intent of reviewing and ummm... I get sorta busy?

But I have this weird thing of not letting myself read ahead so that I can leave a review with predictions and reactions without knowing what is going to happen next.

Ok. Done with the rambling half-explanation and on to the proper review.

Loved the switch to Draco and Astoria in this chapter. As usual, you did a fantastic job with their characters. And I'm actually in complete and total awe of the connections between the little subtleties that you mention in this chapter and the happenings of Detox. Did you base that entire story off of the details you gave in this chapter? Or did you go back and edit this chapter to reflect what goes on in that story? OR... are your notes, head canon and back stories so in depth that you always had their story in your head and you just decided to write it on a whim? Because I would never, ever, ever believe that this story was written first. I'm just astounded.

And I'm pretty much in love with Astoria here. I might even love her more than your Narcissa - maybe. She is smart, clever and loyal (where her family is concerned). She knows how to play the game and how to manipulate (I don't love using that word here, but it fits) her husband. I think her personality blossomed over the years because we only saw an inkling of these traits in Detox. She was only sixteen during that story and had a lot of other things going on - falling in love, trying not to be killed, blah, blah, blah. Pure genius to have her character grow into her full potential here. Or rather, working backwards, have it be less developed in her teen years for that story (I still can't believe that was written after this).

Back to Astoria, she gives her husband the advice he needs, not the advice he wants, helps him search the manor and even tries to play her cards with Hermione, all to protect her family. Love her.

And Hermione. She is perfect. She realizes instantly what Astoria is up to and won't back down, insisting that they use the "proper channels." Not going to play Astoria's game. I just am so excited to see someone portray these characters with their true personalities.

What is going on?! Hermione sure has a penchant for being in the wrong place at the wrong time. She was right to be suspicious. Hmmm... Is this couple looking for the same thing that Flint wanted from Draco? I'm wondering if they are working together or separately...

Someone was killed? Everything went black for Hermione. No. You wouldn't. You already had Ginny murdered. You could not possibly do this to me. I need my Hermione. I guess I'll just have to read on to find out what happens next!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth! I'm also not big on reading ahead. It creates a difficult level of temptation for me. I tend to get lazy about reviewing.

From this point onward in the story, you'll find that I switch settings and points of view very frequently. I read a piece of advice somewhere once that said to always tell the story from the point of view of the character who knows the least about the situation or has the most to lose.

This was all written long before Detox, so certain parts of Detox were written to harmonize with the past that Draco recalls in this chapter. Detox was actually based on a request from a reader of this story to find out how Draco and Astoria came to be together. My version of events, at least. I'm flattered that it seems as though Detox was written first!

Astoria has grown into a strong, proud woman who is able to manage her husband -- sounds better than manipulate, although they pretty much mean the same thing -- very well while remaining fairly true to her pureblood roots. I'm really glad you like her. Her character will be an important part of the story until nearly the very end.

I really enjoyed writing the back-and-forth between Astoria and Hermione. I feel like I was able to create two very astute, very perceptive women having a high-stakes conversation where each side brings a slightly different agenda to the table.

Hermione is definitely in the wrong place at the wrong time. What happens? Well, you'll find out shortly. Mum's the word. ;)

I'm really glad you enjoyed it. The plot of the story begins in earnest with this chapter. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by GingeredTea No More Secrets

1st November 2014:
Here for our review swap! I was sad to see your latest story hasn't been updated, but really glad to come back to this one!

I fumbled for a minute to place myself and had to read the last couple sentences in the prior chapter, but then it all fell into place. As always, you are spot on with your characters actions, even the smallest ones, and I feel like you are doing a great job with how Ron would experience and muddled through his worry/grief/anger.



ďWhat happened to you?Ē Ron blurted out, unaccustomed to seeing Harry in such a disheveled state. ďI thought the house looked bad...Ē
. This made me laugh. Ron would revert back to his impulsive, no-filter, self in unusual situations. And he hasn't had any sleep, so I'll give him credit there.

I question whether the 'designs' Tenabra mentions are truly the Dark Lord's or if they are truly her own, disguised under a name that held loyalty and sway - a name under which these men once felt powerful and important. Stupid people tend to forget the fire something ended with.

"Itís the same old claptrap that landed him in prison in the first place.Ē. I never did peg Draco for someone completely stupid. Foolish - absolutely. Clearly, he remembers the way everything ended - then again I don't think being a Death Eater was ever that beneficial to him.

The collide between Hermione's logic and her emotions was perfectly portrayed.

You pulled those wands out of the bag just in time! :D A happy moment in all this chaos and sadness.

Then Susan - ugh. Okay, not her, but boy did she bring the cliffhanger with her! If you've mentioned Stoops before, I can't recall...but I really want to know more!

Thanks for the review swap, Dan! :D

Author's Response: Two weeks?!?! I guess it's high time I was responding to this. :-/

I'm glad you were able to reacquaint yourself with the story quickly. I love getting that feeling when I come back to a story I haven't read in a while.

Ron has been on a huge emotional roller coaster with Hermione's injuries. All things considered, he's actually holding it together a bit better than he probably should be. He'll have his moments, though.

You *could* be onto something with regard to Lady Tenabra's designs. Time will tell, but I think you're right to be suspicious of anything she says or does.

Draco is far from stupid. He also suffered mightily at the hands of the Dark Lord and he remembers exactly what it was like to be cannon fodder in someone else's war. He has no intention of winding up in that position again, which is why he told Flint to buzz off. Unfortunately for him, that didn't get him completely disentangled from the mess.

Whew! I've never been quite sure how that scene with Hermione reads. I'm glad it worked for you.

The wands were a random idea that came to me as I was writing the chapter before. One of the most fun things about writing in JKR's sandbox is all the little toys and details that she left behind along the way. You can dig them up and toss them into a story anytime you need a bit of a mood change.

Stoops is the muggle who murdered Ginny. So now there's concrete evidence tying him to the blond witch in Magical Records. This just became a lot more personal for our heroes.

This is fun. I'm glad we do it often. Thanks for the swap and thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lady Asphodel Any Sufficiently Advanced Technology

11th October 2014:
Another amazingly-written chapter!

Your story-telling is so soft and gentle - yet with a hint of mystique and danger.

I always love trio moments, and actually, it's been quite a while since I've read a trio-based story.

The scene with them was perfect! They're trying to carry on with their lives, though without Ginny, things are difficult.

I love the mild-mannered interaction between Ron and Hermione. I feel nostalgic because reading that.. I imagined Harry, Ron, and Hermione when they'd hang out in the Common Room or so forth. *going through the feels*

I absolutely love Octavia! She's the most awesomest little OC girl (or is she canon?) I ever read about!

I loved how she tried to cheer up Rose and Harry. The thing about innocence - something you can never gain back once lost. *sad face*


I also love the tidbit with Harry and the unicorn. A great insert of brief humor.



Now the whole part with the gunman, Percy, and Ginny. Can't wait to learn of what happened with that.



Chapter 3 - next!





- Asphodel

Author's Response: Hi, there!

So, uh, fair warning. The storytelling won't stay this soft and gentle for much longer. Things are destined to get pretty rough along the way. I hope you don't find it too off-putting.

I am a huge fan of "trio moments", myself. They take me back to reading the books when the trio was young. That got to be a pretty precious thing after writing so much of a grieving, sexagenarian trio. They definitely miss Ginny.

Ron and Hermione get on better now, but from time to time you will still see the flashes of conflict there.

I'm really glad that you like Octavia. She's an integral part of the story and she'll be there until the very end.

I think you need to balance out a "heavy" story with a little humor now and then. It helps to keep the reader from getting bored.

You will find out what happened with Percy and the gunman in the next chapter. I hope you enjoy it!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lady Asphodel Everything That Ever Mattered

11th October 2014:
Ah My G. Why??? SO sad!

This chapter has amazing dialogue in here - even though Harry is mostly talking to himself!

Gosh - I could just feel the absence of Ginny - which puts a damper on my shipper heart. *insert image of heart breaking in half*


I didn't notice before... but It's cool that you were in a way summarizing everything that is going on with Harry and everyone without being so obvious about it!

I can see why this story is so recommended and won such recognition!


Off to chapter 2!




- Asphodel

Author's Response: Why. Why, indeed. I've asked myself that an awful lot over the three-ish years since I started writing this story. Having Ginny not be alive was absolutely the hardest decision I made. I can't really explain it all right now without giving away a huge chunk of the plot. All I can say is that there's a good reason and when you're finished I hope you agree that it was worthwhile.

I'm glad that the "back story dump" didn't feel obvious. I tried really hard to put it in context.

That's a very kind thing to say. I hope the story continues to live up to its reputation.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Veritaserum27 Those Who Donít Learn From History

11th October 2014:
Hello Dan,

You were right - this chapter is much less intense in terms of emotions. But it was no less enjoyable to read! Lots of good information here, and knowing you, most of it is in place to set up the mystery part of the story.

I have to keep reminding myself that we are two generations out from the dark times when Voldemort terrorized the Wizarding world. On one hand, it seems crazy that the sacrifices and hardships would be so easily forgotten, but when you think about it - it is totally believable. I liken it to the Muggle WWII. My grandfather fought, but I am sure that I will never fully appreciate the service he and his contemporaries provided to our country - and the world. And the next generation can't even relate because they don't even have relatives to recount the stories. Growing up in a world that always feels safe has a distinct disadvantage. You could tell that even Harry's grandson doesn't fully understand the situations that his grandparents and great-grandparents were in. While everyone wants the best for our kids, history is bound to repeat itself if we don't educate.

On that note, I am flabbergasted at the serious lack of instruction the students are getting on this topic. I can see Neville's issue. No one ever seemed to enjoy History of Magic in Harry's time and I'm sure that subject has not increased in popularity over time. Perhaps Hermione would be willing to be a guest lecturer - kind of what Harry does, at least for the older kids. She seemed to be the only one who actually listened in History of Magic and I think she would be really good at setting the record of recent history straight. Ok. You can tell I'm really into your story when I'm giving suggestions and I know its been completed for over two years...

I found a couple of typos. Here:

I doubt you're going to be able to conjur a bighorn sheep, but let's not take any chances, right?

Should it be "conjure" instead of "conjur?"

And here:

After a while, be noticed that they had begun to alternate their casting of offensive spells, trying to spread Harry's defenses.

I think you mean "he" and not "be." ♥

Harry seems the happiest when he is working with the kids - or perhaps it is just that he is at Hogwarts - his first true home. Either way, this is a very different Harry than we've seen in previous chapters and it made my heart warm. I was so happy to see that he still has the ability to cast a patronus. It is a small thing, but to me it speaks volumes that the real Harry is still in there, somewhere.

I really love the concept you've created that the more you talk to a portrait, the more it responds. It explains so much about the portraits in the Headmaster's office. Years and years of seeking advice from the current Headmaster or Headmistress has led them to be really chatty and so much like their own personalities from when they were alive. I can't imagine that the Dumbledore and Snape portraits won't agree with Harry about the teachings of recent magical history lessons.

What?! The kids don't even know what dementors are??!! Geez, kids these days - they just live in a bubble of peaceful oblivion, don't they...

Awesome chapter, Dan!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth!

I think complacency and naiveté are almost to be expected when you have two whole generations that have come of age in a world where things are safe and easy (relatively) and predictable. I like the World War II analogy, it captures the state of affairs pretty well. You'll definitely see some conflict in this story between wanting the keep the younger generations safe and needing them to have a stake in the well-being of the magical world.

Magical History has always been such a dry, dull subject at Hogwarts that very few people ever keep going with it. Also, having the subject taught by a ghost is an obvious path of least resistance. He never complains, calls in sick or retires. There's definitely a problem, though, and as Harry fairly points out, a danger. Hang onto that idea about Hermione. You might be pleasantly surprised. ;)

Wow. My hat is off and I humbly bow to your proof-reading skills. You caught not one but two typos in a chapter with 43 previous reviews that hasn't been updated in nearly 2 years. Bravo! I shall get those tidied up right away.

Harry does take a lot of joy in working with the Hogwarts students. I think he'd enjoy it no matter what, but it also helps to take his mind off of Ginny. I hope you'll see a lot of sides of Harry in this story. At the time, I couldn't get enough of writing his PoV.

I always loved the idea of the magical portraits in the books and like a lot of other things, I wished that JKR had used them more. They offer this amazing continuity between past and present. The idea that they would start off lifeless and become more alive as you talked to them came to me before I started writing this and it was one of the things that motivated me to start writing.

In fairness to the students, they don't really have a need to know much about Dementors since the Ministry rounded them up and imprisoned them. The Dementors, that is, not the students. ;) But you're right, their bubble is warm and comfortable.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lady Asphodel Prologue

11th October 2014:
Hi! I've been wanting to read this for such a long time now, hehe. Now that I am, this prologue has really piqued my interest. Heck - when you requested the banner, this story intrigued me.

This chapter here made me immensely sad. I did take notice of Ginny not really being in the picture when I looked at the pairings... *sad face*

Again though, I am still interested to see how this goes... Even if this ends sadly.

In conclusion of this review, I love your style of writing! Very close to Rowlings, yet it's through your voice... your hands - ya know-...

Well... I am off to read Chapter 1!



- Asphodel

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Wow, if you remember back to when I requested this banner, I have to say that your memory is really good. Feels like ages ago.

It made me sad to write this chapter. Large parts of this story left me feeling sad, to be honest. I'll talk a little more about Ginny in my next review response.

I'll say this one thing about the prologue and I don't think it will ruin any surprises: the prologue is the first part of a scene that finishes in chapter 39.

Thank you so much for the compliments! And thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Mariano_Pingitore Epilogue

8th October 2014:
Another wonderful story comes to an end. I've been leaving reviews here and there throughout the story but I wanted to save some things for the end. First of all, this is the first fic I've read that takes place so long after the events from the books and it's been very enjoyable to see the main characters as grandparents. It makes for a different angle. The plot was very addictive from start to finish, too. I really liked the way you portrayed the characters, in particular Neville, Susan and Draco,and the growing pains of the new generation, so different to what it was like for the ones who were teenagers during the war. It was a masterful mix. The only thing I really missed was Arabela's background, I would have liked to know her story and her motivations.

All in all, heartfelt congratulations for the quality of your work and the ability to stick with the project until it was seen through. That would be an ability I seriously lack. Thank you again for this wonderful story, it's time for me to check the rest of your work!!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

One of the biggest things that appealed to me about the idea for this story was the fact that it was set long after most other HPFF stories I've read. I liked the fact that all of the canon characters are very well-established as leaders and elders of their world. It allowed, I thought, for a better contrast with some of the low points of the story. Being able to show two additional generations of the family was also a big benefit. I enjoyed writing them all.

Strangely enough, Arabela was being honest with Percy about her true background. She was born to a half-blood/muggle-born couple who died during the war. She was raised by her father's school friends who never trusted the Ministry again due to the things they saw during the war. Her foster parents taught her that if anyone ever learned the truth about her parents, she would be in danger. As she grew older, the fear and loss she felt during and after the war twisted into an all-consuming need to control her own safety and destiny. I hope that helps you to understand her a bit better. There's definitely a short story in this somewhere...

Thank you so much for all of the kind words. Writing this was a labor of love and I really appreciate the feedback.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Mariano_Pingitore Impossible Choices

7th October 2014:
Wow... What a great battle, flawless work!

Author's Response: Hi!

I really enjoy writing battle scenes, so I'm especially happy that you thought it was good.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Mariano_Pingitore All Too Familiar

5th October 2014:
It's been some time since you finished this story, so I was thinking of leaving an extensive review of the whole tale once I finished with the last chapter. However, I am enjoying it greatly so I wanted to emphasize just that. I'm curious as to where the story is going with Esme, and practically sure that Percy's being manipulated by Arabela. Congratulations again on a well written, addictive story!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

It has been quite a while, but I still really enjoy finding out what readers think about it. I'm really pleased that you're enjoying it and finding it addictive. I hope you'll let me know what other reactions you have along the way.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Silver Holly End Game

4th October 2014:
I love the way you have redeemed Percy in this chapter! Always such a prat but, ultimately, he's a decent,loving, and loyal Weasle! Desperate to do the right thing but clueless to what that is... I think it is right in character for him to have this moment of clarity at the last possible second and to reach deep within himself to find the strength to do what needed to be done even at the possible cost of his own life. Kudos to you for the way you have written this! It is authentic and touching without being at all maudlin or sentimental. I have really enjoyed reading this story!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Percy was never meant to be a bad guy in this story. Hey's still sort of clueless and a little full of himself, but he comes through when it counts.

I'm really pleased that you liked the story! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Mariano_Pingitore Fortunes

2nd October 2014:
Amazing story so far. You have a great eye for detail and the plot is shaping out quite nicely indeed. I can't tear my eyes off the screen

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you're enjoying it! Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #21, by MLW Epilogue

28th September 2014:
Great story! Thank you for sharing your gifts.

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Veritaserum27 Losses

20th September 2014:
Hey there!

I had a little time this weekend and spent the day reading/reviewing all my must-reads.

I really don't know if I can take another emotionally draining chapter. This one had me tearing up (if I'm being honest, it was more than just tearing up) - and that's something I don't normally do for fanfiction, so I guess you can take that as a compliment - haha!

I know I've said this before and I don't want to sound redundant, but your writing is brilliant. The way you handled the trial scene was perfect. It was captivating yet flowed beautifully. But the scene that followed just tore me up. I felt their emptiness and pain. I already told you I was upset about Ginny, Dan - and now this chapter. Ugh! (I know you're smiling because you like the fact that you've made me feel something - and I can't blame you - you did a great job!)

Geez, Percy. I did not see that coming. Oh man. So that explains why Harry is concerned about Percy's actions in the last chapter. I'm concerned too. Percy going off the deep end could be very bad for him.

My first instinct was that Molly was the killer. She's killed for Ginny before. Although, I must admit that I think the Minister of Magic exercised a serious lack of judgement in sending Ginny's brother - no matter how much he'd proved himself as a Ministry Man through and through. All the same, Percy is Ginny's brother and I guess the Minister thought he had no other options of who to send. He also probably reasoned that Percy would be able to talk whomever showed up out of murdering the Muggle and it would've been swept under the carpet.

I love the portraits. Of course Harry would surround himself with the people most important to him. I'm wondering if there is a reason that he hasn't had one commissioned of Ginny. Maybe he can't bear to interact with her that way.

Sirius is harboring a serious (see what I did there?) grudge against Dumbledore. I'm gonna guess it is because of what Dumbledore put Harry through in DH - and maybe a little has to do with Sirius being holed up in Grimmauld Place during OOTP. Either way, I liked his snarky attitude.

Wow. Harry is that depressed, huh? I thought you characterized Dumbledore perfectly - all knowing and giving out advice in a way that makes you think it was your own idea.

This was another fabulous chapter!

Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth!

OK, so after this one, I promise there are no emotionally draining chapters for a little while. Things get a good deal more action-packed before the emotional drain returns. And I do take it as a compliment, even though I feel badly about making anyone, erm, tear up. ;)

The trial scene was one of the first things I wrote for this story, even before the prologue, I think. Usually, things I wrote that long ago make me cringe when I reread them, but that scene has held up pretty well for me. The scene that followed was a tough one.

Not many reviewers have seen Percy's revelation coming. He's not the one you think of in that context. Which is obviously one of the things I liked most about having him be the one who did it. The Minister's judgment was horrible, but you're right, his options were limited.

I loved the idea of the portraits so much and I never felt like JKR made enough use of them in the books. It's like being able to interact with the past, in a way. You're right, Harry wouldn't be able to stand seeing Ginny as a portrait. That would have been torture on par with using the Resurrection Stone to bring her back. It never would have been the same.

Sirius seems Dumbledore in a very different light from his peers. Very similar to a lot of fan fic authors, however. ;) He suffered a great deal from Dumbledore's errors and machinations.

Harry is in a very bad place at this point in the story. And because he's older and widowed and lives alone, not many people realize just how bad off he is. Sadly, the portraits probably have a better idea of his mental state than his own children.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Veritaserum27 Any Sufficiently Advanced Technology

20th September 2014:
Hi Dan!

Here for another chapter. Your chapters are long, but riveting. I'm totally sucked in.

The way you've portrayed Harry's grief and loneliness is so real it's uncanny. My heart breaks as I read each inflection or glance at a photograph. He hasn't completely moved on, but he is still living his life. Even as close as he is to Ron and Hermione, he knows (and they do as well) that they can't replace the loss that Harry has suffered. The love between Harry and Ginny that you've described is so deep. It is exactly how I view it. Great job - breaking my heart!! (haha)

I love this Ron and Hermione. They've settled down a bit and come to appreciate each other's quirks. But I can still believe that they go at it every now and again. It is nice to see them enjoying their new granddaughter. I feel like I'm looking at a family photo album.

I can totally see the tumultuous relationship between Rose and Scorpius. She always lets her temper get the best of her, but she does love Scorpius in a way that is deeper than most.

Harry and Rose's relationship is exactly how I picture it. She feel less judged by him than her parents. Sometimes I think it is easier to be understanding of your close nieces and nephews than to your own kids. This works out great for Rose and Harry.

Little Octavia seems a tremendously gifted young witch! I'm trying to place her age. If she's missing a tooth, I'm going to guess around five or six? I also figured Rose was close to forty, but I'm not exactly sure. Sorry, but I can't help myself trying to sort out where everyone is on the timeline and all that...

So Percy acting all weird. He must be close to seventy?? His actions are not just out of character, but they are seriously creepy. I feel like there is more to that story.

The boggart. I must say I see a future Gryffindor in the works. Octavia is brave and bold. I found it really weird that they could hear Ginny's scream in the background. It reminded me of how Harry could hear Lily's scream when the Dementors came near him. Only this time both Rose and Harry heard it - and maybe Octavia as well. You've left a little clue that Ginny was possibly killed by a Muggle with a gun. Hmmm... I guess I'm just gonna have to read on!

Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth!

I hate to break anyone's heart, but I'm glad that Harry's loss feels real to you. He is still pretty far from moving on, and living life has been a struggle for him. Ron and Hermione do their very best to be there for him, but it's just not the same.

Ron and Hermione still have that stubbornness toward one another that guarantees they will have the occasional blow-out. But they are much older and more mature and, more than anything, they finally appreciate how their fights affect those around them. So they tend to keep it more low key.

I think of Rose as being sort of a linear mix of her parents. She inherited some of their good qualities -- Hermione's quick thinking, Ron's affable sense of humor -- but also some of their worst -- Hermione's tendency to be a know-it-all and Ron's temper. The love she shares with Scorpius is deep and passionate. It has to be, otherwise they'd kill one another. ;)

I'm sure that Harry has always been drawn to Rose because he reminds her of his two best friends in the world. He gets her. In turn, she's drawn to him because she feels like he understands and he's had enough perspective on her parents' personalities that it's easy for him not to judge.

Octavia is a very gifted youngster, but as you'll see, she suffers from many of the difficulties that often plague bright children. She is six years old at the start of this story, so good reasoning!

Percy is right at seventy, and he is experiencing something akin to a mid-life crisis. Since wizards commonly live to be 120 or so, he's only a little past mid-life. There is definitely more to his story.

You know, I could also see Octavia being a Slytherin. Maybe an outside chance of Ravenclaw. The only thing I'm sure of is that she's no Hufflepuff.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Ginerva Weasley All Too Familiar

15th September 2014:
This story remains excellent. It is sad and frightening at times, mainly because you are willing to write about difficult issues, but is also extremely beautiful. Reading it feels a lot like reading the eight installment in the wonderful Harry Potter series. Thank you for this wonderful contribution to Harry Potter fan-fiction!

Author's Response: Hi!

I really appreciate the compliments. And that last one is a high compliment, indeed.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Veritaserum27 Everything That Ever Mattered

14th September 2014:
Hey there!

Back for the first official chapter. You've done it to me this time. Oh dear. I was bracing myself for the entire chapter, trying to tell myself that she wasn't dead, not Ginny. But I couldn't convince myself, not after the prologue and the fact that she wasn't talking back to Harry.

I love how you carried their love through generations. And how he is grieving for her. It shows how strong they were and I completely agree that they were fit for each other and completely, wholly in love for ever and ever. Ginny was Harry's first real family. She made him a father and gave him the one thing he craved for so many years. Losing her pulled a part of that away from him.

His favorite thing to talk about is his family. You can hear the pride and contentment in him when he mentions each one of them.

I love that you've chosen to write this from "Grandpa Harry's" POV. It is really ingenious. I haven't seen it done before, but really makes sense. I can also see Harry as a DADA teacher (making assumptions here, but I'm pretty sure that's what he would chose to teach). It is fitting that after he retires as an Auror, he would find fulfillment in sharing his knowledge with others - especially when they include his own grandkids!

Neville as Headmaster! Awesome! My own headcanon is that Neville would find his confidence after killing Nagini and would be a completely different character than he was in the books. Headmaster headcanon accepted!

Of course Harry blames himself for Ginny's death. It's so Harry. This is a great setup for the rest of the story. I'm curious how she died, why Harry thinks he could've saved her and generally what happened. All I know is that Jeremy Gamp is involved somehow - but I'm kind of glad I don't know more because I want to read and find out on my own.

Very captivating first chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi there. I hope I didn't bum you out too badly. As I've said in a lot of review responses, the decision not to have Ginny be a part of this story was the hardest one I made. It was also one of the most important, however. Harry's guilt and grieving is a central theme of the story, and I hope you like the resolution to it in the end.

"Grandpa Harry" was fun and very rewarding to write. I felt like he deserved all of the happiness and love that came from being part of such a large family. All of these characters deserve that.

So Harry isn't actually a full-time teacher at Hogwarts. More like a guest lecturer. He is still Head Auror at the start of the story and he thinks of the classes he teaches as a sort of recruiting. He also just enjoys it. :)

I don't think I ever say this explicitly, but I imagine Neville succeeding Flitwick as Headmaster, who in turn succeeds McGonagall. By the time he rises to the post of Headmaster, he had taught Herbology for many years and probably served as head of Gryffindor House. Head canon complete!

Jeremy Gamp is involved, although possibly not in exactly the way you think. You're not the only one who can spin a mystery. ;)

I'm really, really excited to see what you think of the rest! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>