Reading Reviews for Becoming Uncle Harry
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ginger Lust Becoming Uncle Harry

11th October 2012:
Don't know if you're still around but just wanted to say that this piece is excellent! I enjoyed it very much.
You got the characters perfect. The whole story was perfect. Summing up all those years together was like going down memory lane. And we got to see how Harry felt about their friendship and how he was afraid of losing Ron and Hermione to love.
Plus the 'Rose' parts are so cute too. Ron becoming a father. Loved it.
Great job.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I am so glad you enjoyed this. I am not really around...that is, I am working on another writing project and no longer active on HPFF...but I do occasionally come back here to check for (and respond to) reviews :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Anonymous Becoming Uncle Harry

26th November 2011:
There are many decent writers on this site. They can create an intriguing plot line and several interesting characters, then sprinkle in some impressive words and a few memorable scenes.

Then there are a handful of exceptionally talented writers here. They occasionally compel me to think or view something in the Harry Potter universe in a different light with their astoundingly lovely writing. But it is rare for a writer or their story to classify as exceptional in my eyes; I am a very harsh critic.

But this stunning piece exceeds exceptional. This work is worthy of J.K. Rowling herself. And I never thought I would say that of any writer. But it is simply the truth.

By far, this was the most breathtaking, heartwrenching, emotional piece I have ever read. The words flowed flawlessly, poetically.

The way you constructed this story was just lovely. Such raw emotion. Just. magnificent. I cannot believe someone other than J.K. Rowling could have articulated the relationship of the trio so beatifully.

In addition, this is the only story- with the exception of the Half-Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows- that has ever made me cry.

I'm simply astounded. When your first novel is published, I will be the first to get mine signed. :)

Author's Response: see my response to your other review :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Anonymous Becoming Uncle Harry

26th November 2011:
There are many decent writers on this site. They can create an intriguing plot line and several interesting characters, then sprinkle in some impressive words and a few memorable scenes.

Then there are a handful of exceptionally talented writers here. They occasionally compel me to think or view something in the Harry Potter universe in a different light with their astoundingly lovely writing. But it is rare for a writer or their story to classify as exceptional in my eyes; I am a very harsh critic.

But this stunning piece exceeds exceptional. This work is worthy of J.K. Rowling herself. And I never thought I would say that of any writer. But it is simply the truth.

By far, this was the most breathtaking, heartwrenching, emotional piece I have ever read. The words flowed flawlessly, poetically.

The way you constructed this story was just lovely. Such raw emotion. Just. magnificent. I cannot believe someone other than J.K. Rowling could have articulated the relationship of the trio so beatifully.

In addition, this is the only story- with the exception of the Half-Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows- that has ever made me cry.

I'm simply astounded. When your first novel is published, I will be the first to get mine signed. :)

Author's Response: I'M crying now. Thank you so, so, so much. That is one of the greatest compliments anyone has ever paid me, and I can't thank you so much; I will remember it always. I worked incredibly hard on this fanfiction-I think it's the probably the fan fiction that I'm most proud of-and it means the world to me that others enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by sara Becoming Uncle Harry

15th November 2011:
AMAZING! IT COMPLETELY CAPTURED THE SPIRIT OF THE BOOKS!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Tonks1247 Becoming Uncle Harry

30th October 2011:
Hello :) I have to say, to start this out, I absolutely adore this story! I ran across this while searching for something to read, and I'm glad I did. You lay out memories and thoughts in such a mesmorizing way...I couldn't stop reading, and the emotion hidden...the theme of friendship changing...it was so strong throughout the full piece...It was amazing. And you had me tearing up by the end of it. It was just so...delicate and true. It had such a real theme and it just...it flowed together nicely. I have absolutely no complaints! Amazing job!
~Grimmerz

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by AVR Becoming Uncle Harry

11th October 2011:
A beautiful writeup!. The characterizations in this writeup have come up true to the characters of harry, ron and hermione. Its really a smooth and practical writeup of how they would be when they grow up.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! It especially means a lot to hear that you think I have gotten the trio down well.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Hollie Becoming Uncle Harry

10th September 2011:
brilliant it would be great if there was another chapter

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have no idea what I would write about if I did another chapter, but if you have any ideas, let me know. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Singularity Becoming Uncle Harry

10th September 2011:
Gah! That last line just killed me (in the best possible way :P)

I'm am a ridiculously sentimental person, and there is nothing I love more than a sweet, sentimental, post-Hogwarts trio story (I've written one myself called Purpose and Priorities *cough*shamelessplug*cough*)

I really liked the way you characterized Harry. He's really a sentimental guy. That's not one of the characteristics one would initially think of to describe him, but it's true. I mean, we see him in the epilogue pull out the used pocket-watch he had received for his seventeenth birthday. If that doesn't scream sentimental, I don't know what does.

Anyway, I thought you wrote him really well. I think his thoughts were really realistic. Speaking from experience, it's tough when you get older and your childhood friends start getting married. It would be especially rough for the trio since they were so close and so self-contained for all those months. You really captured the push and pull between him being happy for his friends and happy for his life with Ginny, but still wishing he, Ron, and Hermione could have the relationship they'd had before.

The last segment really did me in. I think the birth of a baby has everyone feeling emotional, so it seemed to fit when they were talking about how much they meant to one another. And again, that last line. Wow, just really a perfect way to end this.

Much love to you.

~Singularity

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for the lovely review! This story is currently my baby (I say "currently," as sooner or later I will write another story I am prouder of) and it means so much to me that you took the time to write such a nice review and that you believe I was able to get down the characters well. The last line just sort of came to me-I was really struggling with how to end it, and after two or three wrong sentences, I suddenly had it. As for your fic, I would be happy to read it and am equally glad that there are others who enjoy post-Hogwarts trio fics...as much as I love my ships, I think sometimes the friendship between the trio, possibly the most important relationship in the HP books, gets lost in fan fiction. To get a little off-topic myself, my aunt's reaction after seeing the DH2 epilogue was the fact that the trio were still friends. I think we've all become so used to the strength of the trio that we forget how miraculous it is that the three remain as close in their adult years as they were as 11, and that's what inspired me to write this fic :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by mindifislytherintom Becoming Uncle Harry

3rd September 2011:
this was a very sweet story. made me tear up a bit, great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Lovin_Severus Becoming Uncle Harry

31st August 2011:
you made me cry!! I loved this soo much!!!

Author's Response: aw! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by lvnharrypttr Becoming Uncle Harry

26th August 2011:
I loved this story! I especially love the double meaning behind the last part, "The three of us". You did a great job capturing the how childhood friendships change when you reach adulthood.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm pleased that to know that the story succeeded the way I wanted it to. It took me a LONG time to figure out the last line-I could have gone in many different directions-so I'm glad it paid off!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login